

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

A REASONABLY ACCOMMODATING PRIMER ON THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT

February 20, 2019 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. R.J. Hughes Justice Complex 4th Floor Conference Room A Trenton, New Jersey

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

Program Summary

This program will provide attorneys with practical advice for navigating the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. It will cover the purpose and scope of Title I of the ADA, who it protects, and what is required of the reasonable accommodation process. This course will also discuss ADA issues that commonly arise in the workplace, including:

- What words supervisors and managers should be listening for that technically trigger the ADA when uttered by employees;
- The usefulness of insulating supervisors/managers from medical information, and how they should be trained to avoid "regarding" an employee as disabled;
- The interface of the ADA with the FMLA;
- Whether attendance, conduct and performance standards can be enforced; and
- The elements that should be included in a reasonable accommodation policy.

Who Should Attend?

This program will be of special interest to attorneys who advise State agency clients, handle personnel matters and/or directly supervise staff. Others, however, may find the issues discussed to be of interest.

Who Is the Faculty?

Deputy Commissioner Bonny Fraser is with the Department of Children and Families Office of Policy, Legal Affairs and Compliance where she is responsible for legislative, legal and policy research and providing legal support for the agency. She renders advice and counsel in the areas of OPRA, HIPAA, Inter-agency MOU's, Litigation, Regulations, Policy, EEO, Ethics, Employment, CEPA, and the ADA. Prior to her position with DHS, Ms. Fraser was the Assistant Commissioner for Legal Affairs at the Department of Human Services for four years. While at DHS, Ms. Fraser was the ADA Coordinator for the department and directed the Department's implementation and compliance efforts. She has also served as an attorney with the New Jersey State Ethics Commission, the Office of Information Technology, and the Department of Environmental Protection. Ms. Fraser is a graduate of Wheaton College and holds both a J.D. and an M.S. from Vermont Law School.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 total qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>njagai@njoag.gov</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course

Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.