
 

 

 

 

  
PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 

 
The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present 

 
INTRODUCTION TO HANDLING MEDICAID MATTERS FOR HEALTH AND 

HUMAN SERVICES DEPUTIES 
 

Friday, March 22, 2019 
10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. 

R.J. Hughes Justice Complex 
8th Floor, West Wing Conference Room 8-130 

Trenton, New Jersey 
 
 

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS 
 

Course materials will be provided on the day of the program. 
 
 

Program Summary 
 

This program will provide deputies in the Health and Human Services Section with an 
introduction on how to handle Medicaid cases.  It will identify the types of Medicaid matters 
which are typically assigned and provide an overview of the controlling statutes, regulations, and 
cases governing each type of matter.   
 

Who Should Attend? 
 

Attendance at this program is limited to Deputy Attorneys General in the Division of Law’s 
Health and Human Services Section and Assistant Attorneys General in the Trenton 
Administrative Practice Group.   
 
 

Who Is the Faculty? 
 
DAG Stephen Slocum is a member of the Health and Human Services Section of the Division 
of Law.  His practice primarily focuses on Medicaid cases and the Sexually Violent Predators 
Act.  In 2017, DAG Slocum served on a mobility assignment in the Office of Counsel to the 
Governor, where he was responsible for matters involving Medicaid, the Department of Health, 
and OPRA.  Prior to joining the Division of Law, he worked in medical malpractice defense.  
DAG Slocum clerked for the Honorable Jose L. Fuentes, P.J.A.D. He holds a B.A. in English 



from Rutgers University and a J.D. from Rutgers School of Law – Newark. 
 

CLE Credit 
 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for  2.0 hours of total CLE credit.  Of these, 0.0 qualify as 
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism. 
 
NY CLE Credit:  2.0 Substantive Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy). 
 
PA CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive Credits ($3.00 mandatory registration fee required). 

 


