

# **PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT**

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

#### VICTIMS' RIGHTS AND SERVICES OF NEW JERSEY: VICTIMS OF CRIME COMPENSATION OFFICE (VCCO)

May 6, 2019 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. R.J. Hughes Justice Complex 4th Floor Conference Room A Trenton, New Jersey

## NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

## Program Summary

This course will provide an overview of the Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO), including a discussion of the claims process, eligibility criteria, and recent regulatory changes.

## Who Should Attend?

This program is for Division of Criminal Justice attorneys and detectives. Please do not attempt to register for this course if you are not an attorney or detective within the Division of Criminal Justice.

## Who Is the Faculty?

**AAG Louise T. Lester** is the Director of the Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO). She previously served as its Deputy Director. Before joining the VCCO, AAG Lester was Chief of the Corruption Bureau and an attorney in the Prosecutors Supervision and Training Bureau in the Division of Criminal Justice. She has also served as Acting Senior Counsel with the Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor, Investigative Counsel with the Office of the Inspector General and as an Assistant Counsel with the Office of Governor's Counsel Prior to entering State service, AAG Lester was an Assistant United States Attorney with the U.S. Attorney's Office in Camden, New Jersey, where she prosecuted and tried various criminal matters including bank robberies, fraud, theft, immigration, and drug trafficking cases. She also worked as an Assistant Prosecutor in the Bergen County Prosecutor's Office where she prosecuted juvenile, domestic violence and other criminal matters and as an associate with the law firm of Riker, Danzig, Scherer, Hyland & Perretti. AAG Lester is a graduate of Rutgers College and Rutgers School of Law, Newark.

#### CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.2 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

**NY CLE Credit:** 1.0 Substantive Credit (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.0 Substantive Credit (\$1.50 mandatory registration fee required).

#### How Do I Register?

#### **State Employees**

employees able to register for going Most State are this course by to http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.