
 
 
 
 
  

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 
 

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present 
 

DON’T PANIC!  EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT  
AT THE STATE AND FEDERAL LEVELS 

 
May 29, 2019 

1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. 
New Jersey Governor’s Office 

225 West State Street 
5th Floor, Conference Room 1 

Trenton, New Jersey 
 

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS 
 

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of the 
course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.  

 
 

Program Summary 
 

This seminar will include an overview of emergency management authorities at the State and 
federal levels, including the New Jersey Civilian Defense and Disaster Control Act and the Federal 
Stafford Act.  Topics of discussion will include the process for declaring a State of Emergency, 
the powers invoked under a Governor’s emergency declaration, requesting a Presidential 
Declaration of an Emergency or Major Disaster, and a walk through of the Federal Emergency 
Management Agency’s disaster assistance programs. 
 

Who Should Attend? 

Registration for this course is limited to those who have been selected to participate in the State 
House Series programs. Please do not attempt to register if you have not been notified of your 
eligibility for this series. 

Who Is the Faculty? 
 

AAG Jonathan Garelick is the Deputy Chief of Staff to the Attorney General. He joined the 
Attorney General’s Executive Leadership Team in 2015, serving as a Special Assistant to the 
Attorney General until February 2018. DAG Garelick previously worked in the Department’s 
Legal Affairs and Employee Relations Section and at the National Pollution Funds Center of the 
United States Coast Guard. He graduated from Rutgers University and Villanova University 
Charles Widger School of Law. 



 
CLE Credit 

 
NJ CLE Credit:  This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit.  Of these, 0.0 qualify as 
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.   
 
NY CLE Credit:  2.0 Substantive Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy). 
 
PA CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive Credits ($3.00 mandatory registration fee required). 

 
How Do I Register? 

 
State Employees 

 
Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course 
Registration account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State 
Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 
Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 
selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI 
Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to 
register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and password 
for your records.  
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