PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

LEGAL AND ETHICAL LESSONS FROM THE
WRITTEN AND UNWRITTEN RULES OF BASEBALL

May 7, 2019
10:30 a.m.-11:45 a.m.
R.J. Hughes Justice Complex
4th Floor Conference Room A
Trenton, New Jersey

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of
the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

Program Summary

There are many written and unwritten rules of baseball. Some of them hold great lessons for life,
and some hold great lessons for lawyers. This presentation will explore some of those rules,
their intersection with the Rules of Professional Conduct and how they can be applied to foster a
better, more collegial and hopefully more ethical way to practice law.

Who Should Attend?
This presentation is open to all government attorneys, space allowing.
Who Is the Faculty?

Stefanie A. Brand is the Director for the Division of Rate Counsel, a position she has held since
October 1, 2007. The Division of Rate Counsel represents the interests of consumers of regulated
electric, natural gas, water/sewer, telecommunications, cable TV service, and insurance
(residential, small business, commercial and industrial customers). Prior to joining the Division
of Rate Counsel, Stefanie was the Assistant Attorney General in Charge of Litigation for the
Division of Law in the Department of Law and Public Safety. In that position she oversaw all
civil litigation for the State. Her tenure with the Division of Law as an assistant and deputy
attorney general included work in the areas of federal litigation, child welfare, environmental



regulation, human services, employment and tort law. Stefanie was in private practice before
joining the Division of Law. Stefanie graduated from Columbia University School of Law and
clerked for Associate Justice Gary Stein of the New Jersey Supreme Court. She is the daughter
of two long-time Brooklyn Dodgers fans and has been a die-hard Mets fan nearly all of her life.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.5 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 1.5 qualify as
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 1.5 Ethics Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).
PA CLE Credit: 1.0 Ethics Credit ($1.50 per credit mandatory registration fee required).
How Do | Register?
State Employees

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to
http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course
Registration account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden
State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the
Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include
you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and
password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration
System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at:
njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course
Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the
portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey
portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created
you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need
only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to
request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at
http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney
General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on
our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System


http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://www.state.nj.us/

account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/.
Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create
Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you
selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and
password for your records.
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