

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

AN INTRODUCTION TO NEW JERSEY'S WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW AND PROCEDURES

October 15, 2019 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. R.J. Hughes Justice Complex 4th Floor Conference Room A Trenton, New Jersey

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

Program Summary

This program will cover the exclusive jurisdiction of the workers' compensation system for workplace injuries, workers' compensation coverage and benefits and the process and procedures utilized in workers' compensation court proceedings.

Who Should Attend?

This program is open to all government attorneys, space providing.

Who Is the Faculty?

Judge Peter J. Calderone was the Director and Chief Judge of the New Jersey Division of Workers' Compensation for 13 years. Prior to this appointment, Judge Calderone was the Supervising Judge of the Middlesex County Workers' Compensation Court. Judge Calderone has also served as Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Labor, Assistant Commissioner of the New Jersey Civil Service Commission and as a Deputy Attorney General. Prior to joining State government, Judge Calderone was associated with the law firm of Wilentz, Goldman and Spitzer and was a law clerk to the late Justice Frederick Hall of the New Jersey Supreme Court. Judge Calderone has served on various State commissions including the New Jersey Economic Development Authority, the New Jersey Master Plan Commission and the New Jersey Enterprise

Zone Commission. He is a graduate of Rutgers College and Rutgers Law School-Newark. Judge Calderone retired from State service in February 2015 and is engaged in consulting, arbitration and mediation services.

Judge Dolores M. McNamee was a Workers' Compensation Judge for over ten years, retiring as the Supervising Judge of the Trenton Workers' Compensation Court. During her tenure on the bench, she presided over matters in six vicinages, including Bridgeton, Camden, Freehold, Mt. Holly, New Brunswick, and Trenton. Prior to her judicial appointment, Judge McNamee was a Deputy Attorney General in the Department of Law and Public Safety's Division of Law, where she represented the Second Injury Fund in Workers' Compensation Courts throughout New Jersey. Before entering State service, Judge McNamee was an associate in a small general practice law firm in Haddonfield. Judge McNamee served as a law clerk for the Honorable Judith A. Yaskin J.S.C.. She holds an undergraduate degree from Widener University and a J.D. from Rutgers School of Law in Camden.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.8 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 1.8 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in Workers' Compensation Law.

NY CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive Credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

employees able to register for Most State are this course by http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.