
 
 
 
 
  

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 
 

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present 
 

LITIGATING PRETRIAL DETENTION APPEALS 
  

November 14, 2019 
10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. 

R.J. Hughes Justice Complex 
4th Floor Conference Room A 

Trenton, New Jersey 
 
 

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS 
 

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of the 
course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.  

 
 

Program Summary 
 
This presentation will cover a range of topics that all prosecuting attorneys should master to ensure 
the best possible result in a pretrial detention appeal. The program will cover the decision whether 
to appeal, documents required to perfect appeals, requests for stays, motions for reconsideration, 
responding to checklists and briefs, and how to write pretrial detention appeals if DCJ is the 
appellant. 
 

Who Should Attend? 
 

This program is only open to Deputy Attorneys General and Assistant Attorneys General within 
the Department of Law and Public Safety. If you are not a DAG or an AAG within the Department 
of Law and Public Safety, please do not attempt to register for this program.  
 
 

Who Is the Faculty? 
 

DAG Sarah Hunt serves in the Appellate Bureau of the Division of Criminal Justice, where she 
litigates criminal appeals in the Appellate Division and Supreme Court. She is a member of the 
Bureau’s Pretrial Detention/Speedy Trial Team and received an Attorney General’s Award for 
Outstanding Contribution to a Special Project for her work on Criminal Justice Reform. Prior to 
joining the Division, DAG Hunt clerked in the Appellate Division for the Honorable Garry S. 
Rothstadt, J.A.D. She received a B.A. from Bates College and a J.D. from Rutgers School of Law 



- Newark, where she was a Managing Notes Editor of the Rutgers Law Review, a Marsha Wenk 
Public Interest Law Fellow, and a Proskauer Rose Fellow. 
 

CLE Credit 
 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.2 hours of total CLE credit.  Of these, 0.0 qualify as 
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.   
 
NY CLE Credit:  1.0 Substantive Credit (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy). 
 
PA CLE Credit:  1.0 Substantive Credit ($1.50 mandatory registration fee required). 
 

 
How Do I Register? 

 
State Employees 

 
Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course 
Registration account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State 
Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 
Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 
selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI 
Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to 
register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and password 
for your records.  
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