PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

ARREST, SEARCH & SEIZURE

November 17, 2020
1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

WEBINAR

Program Summary

This program is a “whirlwind tour” of New Jersey search and seizure law, starting with the
fundamentals for prosecutors and officers when addressing stop, frisk, arrest, and search issues
under both the Fourth Amendment and Article 1, paragraph 7 of the New Jersey Constitution. The
presentation will also provide guidance on handling suppression motions and recent developments
and trends in the law, and employ hypothetical exercises to apply the concepts discussed.

Eligibility

This program is mandatory for new assistant prosecutors and Division of Criminal Justice deputies
hired after October 2019 who have been selected to attend by each county prosecutor’s office and
the Division of Criminal Justice. Other assistant prosecutors and Division of Criminal Justice
deputies are welcome to register.

Faculty

DAG Jennifer Kmieciak is a Deputy Chief in the Division of Criminal Justice’s Appellate
Bureau. She handles criminal matters before the Law Division, Appellate Division and Supreme
Court and filed a United States Supreme Court amicus brief on behalf of New Jersey and 17 other
states in Birchfield v. North Dakota, a case implicating the constitutionality of DUI implied-
consent laws. DAG Kmieciak is a PTC certified instructor and regularly teaches programs on the
Fourth Amendment to law enforcement officers and prosecutors. She received an Attorney
General’s Award for Excellence in Appeals in 2016 and for Trial Assistance in 2012. DAG
Kmieciak clerked in the Appellate Division for the Honorable Victor Ashrafi, J.A.D. She received
a B.A. from The College of New Jersey, summa cum laude, and a J.D. from the Rutgers School of
Law-Camden, magna cum laude.




DAG Frank Muroski is a Deputy Chief in the Division of Criminal Justice’s Appellate Bureau,
where he has served for 17 years. Before joining DCJ, DAG Muroski worked as an Assistant
Prosecutor in Union County for 6 years. DAG Muroski was a law clerk for two criminal trial
judges in Union County. He graduated from Rutgers-Camden Law School.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of Alternative Verifiable Learning Format
(AVF) total CLE credit. Of these, 2.0 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in criminal
trial law, 2.0 qualify as hours of credit towards newly admitted lawyers’ requirements/criminal
trial preparation, and 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

Registration

Those who are eligible to apply should use the Zoom Webinar registration link in the Program
Announcement email.

Students must download Zoom before the webinar in order for the AGAI to record polling
question responses that are required for attendance verification and CLE credit.

LPS employees can download Zoom by searching for Zoom Meeting Software in the LPS
software center and clicking install.

The AGAI will be unable to verify attendance or grant CLE credit to students who have not
downloaded Zoom before the webinar.



