

## State of New Jersey

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL DEPARTMENT OF LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE PO Box 085 Trenton, NJ 08625-0085

TELEPHONE: (609) 984-6500

Peter C. Harvey Attorney General

VAUGHN L. McKoy Director

#### MEMORANDUM

TO: All County Prosecutors

All Municipal Prosecutors

Col. Joseph R. Fuentes, Superintendent, Division of State Police

All Law Enforcement Chief Executives

FROM: AAG Vaughn L. McKoy, Director

Division of Criminal Justice

**DATE:** June 8, 2004

JAMES E McGreevey

Governor

**SUBJECT:** Guidelines: Implementation Insurance Fraud Laws, Effective June 9, 2004

*N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29 & 39:3-29.1a - Warrant of Impoundment

Guidelines below, developed by the Division of Criminal Justice to assist law enforcement agencies and prosecutors with the implementation of Laws of 2003, chapter 89, sections 78 and 79. P.L.2003, c.89, became effective on June 9, 2003, but sections 78 and 79 each had a delayed implementation date of June 9, 2004. Please distribute these Guidelines immediately.

Section 78 amended N.J.S.A. 39:3-29 (which requires production and exhibition of the operators drivers' license, the vehicle registration and the insurance identification card for the vehicle begin operated) increasing the fine for a violation of this statute to \$150.

On May 21, 2004, a Governor's Task Force on Motor Vehicle Fines, presented Recommendations to amend sections 78 & 79 of P.L. 2003, c.89. However, until such time as the Legislature takes action to implement those Recommendations, the provisions of N.J.S.A. 39:3-29 and N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1a remain unchanged.





Section 79 enacted an entirely new statute, *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29.1a. It requires a person charged with a violation of *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29 to produce, within 24 hours, to the issuing law enforcement agency the insurance identification card or other satisfactory proof of insurance for the vehicle which was being operated at the time of the violation. Failure to produce proof of insurance within 24 hours will result in the issuance of a warrant for the immediate impoundment of the vehicle that was being operated at the time of the offense.

Working with the Administrative Office of the Courts, this Division agreed to the use of a standardized form that will enable law enforcement officers, under the provisions of *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29.1a, to apply to the Court for the issuance of a warrant for the immediate impoundment of the vehicle that was being operated at the time of the offense. This standardized form to obtain a Warrant of Impoundment consists of two parts: a Certification, to be completed by the law enforcement officer; and a Warrant of Impoundment, to be completed by a Judge. A copy of that form is appended to this memorandum. This standardized form is the only form that will be accepted by Courts in New Jersey.

Under separate cover, the Administrative Office of the Court has distributed this standardized form to municipal court judges, municipal court directors and municipal court administrators. Municipal Police Departments are to contact the Court Administrator of their Municipal Court to obtain the version of the form to be utilized by that Municipal Police Department. Multijurisdictional police and law enforcement agencies such as: the Division of State Police; other State law enforcement agencies (State Park Rangers, Fish & Game Wardens); County Police and County Park Police Departments or Sheriff Departments; and bi-state agencies, such as Port Authority Police Departments, will need to obtain the official version of the form from the Judiciary Internet web site (<a href="www.njcourtsonline.com">www.njcourtsonline.com</a> or <a href="www.njcourtsonline.com">www.judiciary.state.nj.us</a>) and then arrange for reproduction of the forms for use by those agencies.

In addition to the standardized form, this Division has prepared a Written Notice of Possible Impoundment, which must be given to the operator of the motor vehicle, when that person has been charged with failing to possess and exhibit proof of insurance, a violation of *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29. That Written Notice of Possible Impoundment, informs the operator of the motor vehicle that he or she must comply with the provisions of *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29.1a, within 24 hours, or that vehicle may be subject to impoundment. A copy of the Written Notice of Possible Impoundment is appended to this memorandum and is also available on the Division of Criminal Justice Internet web site (www.njdcj.org or www.njdcj.com).

Law enforcement officers must fully and completely familiarize themselves with the requirements of *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29, as amended, and the provisions of the newly enacted statute, *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29.1a, before applying to a court for a Warrant of Impoundment of any vehicle under these laws. The full text of each statute is appended to this memorandum.

If any law enforcement officer does not understand these statutory requirements, or has any questions concerning the implementation of these laws or these Guidelines, those questions must be directed through the appropriate chain of command in the law enforcement agency to the Municipal Prosecutor or the Office of the County Prosecutor. Under no circumstances are law enforcement officers to call or contact this Division or the Attorney General for advice regarding these Guidelines.

# <u>Preparation of the Certification portion of the standardized form to obtain a Warrant of Impoundment</u>

The standardized form to obtain a Warrant of Impoundment consists of two parts. The upper half is a Certification statement to be completed by the law enforcement officer. This Certification must be completed, **in full**, before it is presented to the Court. On the exemplar attached to these Guidelines, each of the fields to be completed by the law enforcement officer has been numbered, *e.g.*, ①. Those numbers correspond to the explanations below.

- ① In the upper left-hand box, under "State of New Jersey v.", the full name of the defendant, as identified on the Complaint-Summons (Traffic Ticket), charged with a violation of *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29, is to be placed on the line marked "defendant."
- ② In the first paragraph on the first line, insert the numeric date, Month, Year, and time in the appropriate blank fields. Circle the "a.m." or "p.m.," designation following the time entry.
- ③ On the second line insert the number of the Complaint-Summons (Traffic Ticket) issued to the defendant.
- Wext, and of critical importance, all of the fields for the Model Year, Make, Model, License Plate #, and the VIN number of the vehicle, identified on the Complaint-Summons (Traffic Ticket) must be completed. Note: If the VIN number is missing, the Court will not consider the application for a Warrant of Impoundment.
- In order to complete the field "Registered to," the law enforcement officer must obtain a printout from the N.J. Motor Vehicle Commission (NJ MVC), formerly the Division of Motor Vehicles, database, containing the information pertaining to the registration and registered owner of the vehicle identified on the Complaint-Summons (Traffic Ticket). Using the MVC printout, insert the name of the registered owner of the vehicle identified on the Complaint-Summons (Traffic Ticket), then insert, after the word "at," the address at which that vehicle is registered.

- In the next paragraph, the law enforcement officer is to insert the name and address of the Police Department, State Police Station or other law enforcement entity where the defendant was to present proof of insurance, within 24 hours of the issuance of the Complaint-Summons (Traffic Ticket). Municipal Police Department may elect to have this field pre-printed at the time the standardized form is prepared and distributed.
- The law enforcement officer will than complete the Certification by **printing** his/her name and badge number on the lines indicated, and then write in the date and sign the Certification signature line.

#### Presentation to the Court to Obtain a Warrant of Impoundment

If a law enforcement officer intends to seek a Warrant of Impoundment under the provisions of *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29.1a, the officer must complete the Certification portion of the standardized form and present it, along with a copy of the Written Notice of Possible Impoundment and a copy of the MVC printout pertaining to the vehicle to be impounded, to a Judge.

The procedure for appearing before the Court and obtaining a Warrant of Impoundment, will require coordination and cooperation between law enforcement agencies and the courts. Therefore, it is recommended that, law enforcement officers seeking a Warrant of Impoundment make their request during the normal business hours of the court. The law enforcement officer should contact the appropriate Court Administrator and inform him or her that the law enforcement officer wishes to appear before the Court to apply for a Warrant of Impoundment under the provisions of *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29.1a. This will permit the Court to arrange for the necessary personnel to be present, and for the proceeding to be transcribed. In addition, the law enforcement officer should also inform the Municipal Prosecutor of that jurisdiction that the Court will be hearing an application for a Warrant of Impoundment, under, *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29.1a.

At the hearing the law enforcement officer should be prepared to present, to the Court, the completed Certification, along with a copy of the Written Notice of Possible Impoundment and a copy of the MVC printout pertaining to the vehicle sought to be impounded. If the Municipal Prosecutor is present, he or she may elect to make the presentation to the Court.

After reviewing the Certification and related documents, the Court will have the option of issuing or denying the Warrant of Impoundment. If the Judge determines to issue the Warrant of Impoundment, he/she will date and sign the Warrant and present the original to the law enforcement officer.

A copy of the Warrant, shall be forwarded, by mail, by the law enforcement officer or law enforcement agency, to the Chief Administrator of the NJ MVC.

A dated and signed Warrant of Impoundment will then empower any law enforcement officer, to whom the Warrant is provided, to execute the Warrant, pursuant to the provisions of *N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29.1a. However, local police agencies should consult with their Municipal Attorney and Municipal Prosecutor regarding the issuance and execution of Warrants of Impoundment originating from other jurisdictions or municipalities.

As a convenience to law enforcement, this memorandum and its attachments will be available on the Division of Criminal Justice Internet web site (<a href="www.njdcj.org">www.njdcj.org</a> or <a href="www.njdcj.com">www.njdcj.com</a>), under Guidelines.

### SM:jk Attachments

c. Attorney General Peter C. Harvey

First Assistant Attorney General Mariellen Dugan

AAG Daniel Giaquinto, Director, Office of State Police Affairs

Peter Traum, Chief of Staff, Division of Criminal Justice

AAG Jessica S. Oppenheim, Chief, Prosecutors Supervision & Coordination Bureau

AAG Greta Gooden Brown, Insurance Fraud Prosecutor

SDAG Stephen Moore, Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor

DAG Stephen Monson, Division of Criminal Justice

DAG Neil Magnus, Division of Law

Sharon Harrington, Chief Administrator, NJ MVC

Hon. Richard D. Williams, J.A.D., Administrative Director,

Administrative Office of the Courts

John P. McCarthy, Jr., Director, Administrative Office of the Courts

Robert Smith, Asst. Director, Municipal Court Services, AOC

#### Distribution List: State, Bi-State & Other Law Enforcement Agencies

#### State Law Enforcement Agencies

Dept. Human Services Police, Chief R. Brennan Division of Fish & Wildlife, Chief R. Winkel State Park Service, Chief T. Genardi New Jersey Transit Police, Chief J. Bober

#### **Bi-State Law Enforcement Agencies**

Port Authority of NY & NJ Police, Dir. S. Plumeri Palisades Interstate Parkway Police, Chief J. Parr Delaware River & Bay Authority Police, Col. J. McCarnan Delaware River Port Authority Police, Chief Dir. V. Borrelli Burlington County Bridge Commission Police, Dir. G. Daniels

#### Federal Law Enforcement Agencies

Department of Defense Police, Fort Dix, Fort Monmouth, Lakehurst Picatinny Arsenal Police Department US Air Force Security Police, McGuire AFB US Naval Security Department, USN Weapons Station Earle National Park Service Police, Sandy Hook, Morristown Nat'l Historic Park

#### **Educational Institution Police Departments**

Brookdale Community College, Chief of Police
Burlington County College, Director Security & Safety
College of New Jersey, Police Director
Essex County College, Chief of Police
Kean University, Chief, Dept. of Public Safety & Police
Middlesex County College, Chief of Police
Monmouth University, Chief of Police
Montclair State University Police, Chief of Police
NJ Institute of Technology, Chief, Public Safety Dept.
Richard Stockton College of NJ, Chief of Police
Rowan College, Police Director
Rutgers University Police, Essex, Middlesex, Camden
UM&D, NJ, Dep. Chief of Police
William Paterson University, Chief of Police

#### Instructions for Law Enforcement Officers

The Written Notice of Possible Impoundment, below, **Must** be Given the Operator of a Motor Vehicle, When That Person Has Been Charged With a Violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-29, Failure to Possess and Exhibit Proof of Insurance or Insurance Identification

## **Written Notice of Possible Impoundment**

You have been issued a Traffic Ticket charging you with failing to possess and exhibit an insurance identification card for the motor vehicle you were operating at that time, in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-29. Within 24 hours of the time entered on the Traffic Ticket issued to you, N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1a.a, requires you to present the insurance identification card or other satisfactory proof of insurance for this motor vehicle, to the law enforcement agency that issued that Traffic Ticket. If you do not comply with those requirements within 24 hours, the law enforcement agency may apply to the Court for a Warrant of Impoundment of the motor vehicle you were operating at the time of the Traffic Ticket was issued. If the Court issues a Warrant of Impoundment for the motor vehicle you were operating, that vehicle will be subject to immediate impoundment under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1a.a. The registered owner of that motor vehicle will be responsible for the costs for removal and storage of that vehicle.

## WARRANT OF IMPOUNDMENT - A.O.C. STANDARDIZED FORM

Anytown, N.J. Output been desirable as a result of the defendant  State of New Jersey  (Signature of law enforcement officer)  State of New Jersey  (Date)  State of New Jersey  (Date)  THIS MATTER having been brought to the attention of this Court by the above Certification signed by a duauthorized law enforcement officer, and the Court having considered the Certification and supporting document(s) submitted TI IS THEREFORE ORDERED ON THIS  Make:  (Wame & Model:  (Name & Modress of Law Enforcement Agency)  (Name Name Rejster Sum of Law Enforcement Agency)  (Name Name Rejster Sum of Law Enforcement Officer)  (Name Name & Address of Law Enforcement Officer)  (Name Name Market Manuel of Name Address of Law Enforcement Officer)  (Name Name Market Manuel officer)  (Name Name Market Manuel officer)  (Name Name Market Manuel officer)  (Name	State of New Jersey v. ① Defendant			Certification		
Registered to:	#	to the abov	e-named defendan			
Immediately thereafter, I provided a Written Notice of Possible Impoundment to the defendant of his/her responsibilist under N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1 a to provide proof of insurance to the within 24 hours, a copy of which is attached. (Name & Address of Law Enforcement Agency)  More than 24 hours have elapsed since I issues this Complaint-Summons to the defendant and the defendant has fail to provide an insurance identification card or other satisfactory proof of insurance at the law enforcement agency indicate above.  Therefore, I request that the Court issue a Warrant of Impoundment for this vehicle pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1  Submitted by:	Year:	<u></u>	Make:	4	Model:	4
Immediately thereafter, I provided a Written Notice of Possible Impoundment to the defendant of his/her responsibili under N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1a to provide proof of insurance to the	License Plate #:	4	VIN #:		4	
under N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1a to provide proof of insurance to the within 24 hours, a copy of which is attached. (Name & Address of Law Enforcement Agency)  More than 24 hours have elapsed since I issues this Complaint-Summons to the defendant and the defendant has fail to provide an insurance identification card or other satisfactory proof of insurance at the law enforcement agency indicate above.  Therefore, I request that the Court issue a Warrant of Impoundment for this vehicle pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1  Submitted by:  (PRINT Name of law enforcement officer)  (Signature of law enforcement officer)  WARRANT OF IMPOUNDMENT N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1a  Warrant OF IMPOUNDMENT N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1a  THIS MATTER having been brought to the attention of this Court by the above Certification signed by a duauthorized law enforcement officer, and the Court having considered the Certification and supporting document(s) submitted IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED ON THIS day of, 200 that this Warrant Impoundment be issued as a result of the defendant's failure to provide an insurance identification card or other satisfacto proof of insurance within 24 hours of the above referenced Complaint-Summons for failing to possess or exhibit an insuran identification card in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.  Any law enforcement officer to whom this Warrant of Impoundment is presented is hereby commanded to impoundment is presented in hereby commanded to impoundment.	Registered to: (Name	(5) Registered Owner)	at:	(	<b>5</b> Address & Town)	
State of New Jersey   WARRANT OF   IMPOUNDMENT   123 Main Street   Anytown, N.J. 00000	More than 24 ho to provide an insurance i above.  Therefore, I req	ours have elapsed sin dentification card o uest that the Court is	ace I issues this Cor or other satisfactor ssue a Warrant of I	mplaint-Summons to y proof of insurance Impoundment for th	o the defendant and the at the law enforcen	e defendant has faile nent agency indicate N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1a
State of New Jersey  v.  IMPOUNDMENT  INJ.S.A. 39:3-29.1a  THIS MATTER having been brought to the attention of this Court by the above Certification signed by a duauthorized law enforcement officer, and the Court having considered the Certification and supporting document(s) submitted IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED ON THIS day of, 200 that this Warrant Impoundment be issued as a result of the defendant's failure to provide an insurance identification card or other satisfactor proof of insurance within 24 hours of the above referenced Complaint-Summons for failing to possess or exhibit an insurance identification card in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.  Any law enforcement officer to whom this Warrant of Impoundment is presented is hereby commanded to impound the complaint is presented in the properties of the properties		<b></b>			<u> </u>	
THIS MATTER having been brought to the attention of this Court by the above Certification signed by a duauthorized law enforcement officer, and the Court having considered the Certification and supporting document(s) submitted IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED ON THIS day of, 200 that this Warrant Impoundment be issued as a result of the defendant's failure to provide an insurance identification card or other satisfactor proof of insurance within 24 hours of the above referenced Complaint-Summons for failing to possess or exhibit an insurant identification card in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.  Any law enforcement officer to whom this Warrant of Impoundment is presented is hereby commanded to impound	State of New Jersey v.		WARI IMPOU	WARRANT OF IMPOUNDMENT		in Street
	THIS MATTER authorized law enforcem IT IS THEREF Impoundment be issued proof of insurance within identification card in vio Any law enforce	R having been brought officer, and the CORE ORDERED Cas a result of the defined 124 hours of the about of N.J.S.A. 3 tement officer to who	Court having consi ON THIS fendant's failure to ove referenced Con 9:3-29. om this Warrant of	dered the Certificat day of	ion and supporting do, 200 nce identification card or failing to possess o	that this Warrant of that this Warrant of or other satisfactor r exhibit an insurance

#### P.L. 2003, c. 89, §§ 78, 79, eff. June 9, 2004

*N.J.S.A.* 39:3-29. License, registration certificate and insurance identification card; possession; exhibit upon request; violations; fine; defense

The driver's license, the registration certificate of a motor vehicle and an insurance identification card shall be in the possession of the driver or operator at all times when he is in charge of a motor vehicle on the highways of this State.

The driver or operator shall exhibit his driver's license and an insurance identification card, and the holder of a registration certificate or the operator or driver of a motor vehicle for which a registration certificate has been issued, whether or not the holder, driver or operator is a resident of this State, shall also exhibit the registration certificate, when requested so to do by a police officer or judge, while in the performance of the duties of his office, and shall write his name in the presence of the officer, so that the officer may thereby determine the identity of the licensee and at the same time determine the correctness of the registration certificate, as it relates to the registration number and number plates of the motor vehicle for which it was issued; and the correctness of the evidence of a policy of insurance, as it relates to the coverage of the motor vehicle for which it was issued.

Any person violating this section shall be subject to a fine of \$150, of which \$25 shall be deposited in the Uninsured Motorist Prevention Fund established by section 2 of P.L.1983, c. 141 (C.39:6B-3).

If a person charged with a violation of this section can exhibit his driver's license, insurance identification card and registration certificate, which were valid on the day he was charged, to the judge of the municipal court before whom he is summoned to answer to the charge, such judge may dismiss the charge. However, the judge may impose court costs.

#### P.L. 2003, c. 89, §§ 78, 79, eff. June 9, 2004

N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.1a. Failure to provide proof of insurance; impoundment and sale of vehicle

- a. Upon the issuance of a summons for failing to possess or exhibit an insurance identification card in violation of R.S.39:3-29, the violator or registrant shall have 24 hours from the time of the citation to provide the issuing law enforcement agency with the insurance identification card, or other satisfactory proof of insurance. Failure to provide the insurance identification card or other satisfactory proof of insurance within the 24 hour time frame shall result in the issuance of a warrant for the immediate impoundment of the vehicle that was being operated when the summons was issued. A motor vehicle impounded pursuant to the provisions of this subsection shall be removed to a storage space or garage. The registrant shall be responsible for the cost of the removal and storage of the impounded motor vehicle.
- b. (1) If the registrant fails to claim a motor vehicle impounded pursuant to subsection a. of this section and pay the reasonable costs of removal and storage by midnight of the 30th day following impoundment, along with a fine of \$100 to cover the administrative costs of the municipality wherein the violation occurred, and after a hearing, the municipality may sell the motor vehicle at public auction. The municipality shall give notice of the sale by certified mail to the registrant of the motor vehicle and to the holder of any security interest filed with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, and by publication in a form to be prescribed by the director by one insertion, at least five days before the date of the sale, in one or more newspapers published in this State and circulating in the municipality in which the motor vehicle has been impounded.
- (2) At any time prior to the sale, the registrant or other person entitled to the motor vehicle may reclaim possession of it upon providing satisfactory proof of motor vehicle liability insurance coverage and payment of the reasonable costs of removal and storage of the motor vehicle and any outstanding fines or penalties; provided, however, if the other person entitled to the motor vehicle is a lessor or the holder of a lien on the motor vehicle, he may reclaim the motor vehicle without payment. In such cases, the registrant shall be liable for all outstanding costs, fines and penalties, and the municipality shall have a lien against the property and income of that registrant for the total amount of those outstanding costs, fines and penalties.
- (3) Any proceeds obtained from the sale of a motor vehicle at public auction pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection in excess of the amount owed to the municipality for the reasonable costs of removal and storage of the motor vehicle and any outstanding fines or penalties shall be returned to the registrant of the vehicle.