New Jersey Division of Highway traffic Safety + FEBRUARY 2010, BULLETIN NUMBER 1

MAY 1, 2010 CHANGES TO THE GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE (GDL) LAW

On May 1, 2010, the requirements for <u>all teens (16-20 years of age) holding a permit or provisional license under New Jersey's Graduated</u> <u>Driver License (GDL) Law</u>, will change. To ensure that GDL holders comply with the law, they and their parents should be aware that the teen driver:

may not be on the road between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m.

may transport only one passenger in the vehicle besides his or her dependents. (Note: If a parent or guardian is in the vehicle, the passenger restriction is waived and the teen may transport as many passengers as there are seat belts.)

may not use a cell phone (hand-held or hands-free), ipod or other wireless electronic device. (Note: GPS systems — portable or built-in — and ipods connected to a vehicle's sound system are permitted, but a teen should not make any adjustments to these devices while driving.)

– must ensure that all vehicle occupants are properly restrained in child safety seats or seat belts.

— must display a decal on the front and rear license plate.

may not plea bargain any point carrying offenses.

There will be NO grandfathering of existing permit and provisional license holders. Regardless of how much time a GDL holder has remaining on her or his permit or provisional license, s/he must abide by these requirements beginning May 1. In addition, the name of the provisional license will change to probationary; this will be reflected on documents issued after May 1.

THE DECAL

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission is charged with designing and distributing the decal, which must be displayed on a vehicle's front and rear license plate when a permit or provisional license holder under 21 years of age is driving. The decal will be:

 affixed with a velcro system to allow for its removal when the GDL holder is not behind the wheel.

- reflectorized so that it can be seen at night.
 - non-descript
 - (it is intended for enforcement purposes).
 - \$4 per pair at MVC agencies.

(Note: MVC is developing a bulk purchase program for driving and high schools, police departments, and other organizations.)



WEB RESOURCE

The preceeding information can be found at <u>www.njteendriving.com</u> — New Jersey's online resource for all things teen driving. Please promote this website to families in your district by including a link on the middle and high school homepages and on your driver education web page(s).



PARENT/TEEN ORIENTATION

Legislation requiring teens (under 18) to attend an orientation with a parent, guardian or supervising adult as a pre-requisite for obtaining a permit (one of 14 essential recommendations in the Teen Driver Study Commission report) failed to gain passage prior to

the conclusion of the legislative session that ended in early January. A coalition of teen driving advocates is working with key legislators to re-introduce the "permit" bill during the current, two-year legislative session.

Even without a mandate, many schools, traffic safety organizations and community groups are conducting orientation sessions for teens and their parents. The 60-90 minute sessions typically cover teen driver risk, the GDL law and pending changes, driver education and training, vehicle selection, insurance requirements, and resources available to teens and parents. Ideally, the orientation should be directed toward families with teens who have not yet obtained their permits or who are early in the permit stage. Eighth/ninth grade students and their parents are the most appropriate audience. However, sophomores/juniors and their parents will also benefit from this information. Some high schools tie attendance at an orientation session to parking privilege and/or successful completion of the classroom driver education requirement.

Pam Fischer, Director of the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety, has worked



with a number of high schools to help them develop and deliver a parent/teen orientation program. In addition, AAA (Dare to Prepare) and the New Jersey State Safety Council (Alive at 25) can assist with teen/parent orientations.

To learn more, call 609-633-9021 or e-mail: pam.fischer@lps.state.nj.us or violet.marrero@lps.state.nj.us

SAFE PASSAGE

moving toward zero fatalities www.njsaferoads.com

This Driver Education Bulletin is provided as a public service to driver education/training and traffic safety professionals in New Jersey. Questions pertaining to the information in this bulletin, should be directed to the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety at : **609-633-9021** or **pam.fischer@lps.state.nj.us** or **violet.marrero@lps.state.nj.us**