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Dear Parent:

This guide contains research based tools and resources you can use to cultivate safe driving attitudes and behaviors in 
your teen. By supporting and monitoring your young driver, you can substantially lower their risk of being involved in 
a motor vehicle crash. In fact, research conducted by the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) points to specific 
actions you can take to lower your teen’s crash risk by as much as 50 percent;

Understand the Graduated Driver License (GDL) 

The GDL is one of the most complex traffic laws and can be very confusing.  This guide presents reference tools that 
simplify the licensing process.

Be a Good Role Model

Research by CHOP, Travelers Insurance and other institutions found that teens mimic their parent’s driving behaviors.  
You’ll find that the resources enclosed in this guide will help you set strong examples of safe driving behaviors. 
“Children are great imitators. So give them something great to imitate.”- Anonymous

Effectively Enforce the GDL at Home

Although each part of the GDL was designed to create better, safer drivers, the two restrictions of the GDL that have the 
most lifesaving potential are the curfew and passenger restrictions.  Forty percent of all teen fatal crashes occur after 
9pm and teens with just one passenger have nearly twice the risk of being involved in a fatal crash as teens driving 
alone.  The driving contracts enclosed will support you in effectively enforcing the GDL at home.  

Increase Practice Driving Hours

During the first 12-24 months of driving, teens are at the greatest risk for being involved in a crash. That risk decreases 
with driving experience.  In addition to the resources presented in this guide, the Motor Vehicle Commission’s Parent 
Guide will assist you in your instruction and practice driving with detailed lessons and progress checklists.  

Control the Keys

Research conducted by CHOP revealed that teens who requested permission to use the car were 50% less likely to be 
involved in crashes when compared to teens that had primary access.  Drivers whose parents controlled the keys were 
also less likely to violate the provisions of the GDL.  By using the techniques presented in the orientation and the 
contracts within this guide, you can help your teen successfully build safe driving behaviors.

Use the tools and resources presented in this guide to develop safe driving attitudes and behaviors that will ensure your 
child’s safety and help keep New Jersey’s roadways safe for everyone.   

	 Gary Poedubicky
	 Acting Director
	 New Jersey Division of
	 Highway Traffic Safety

Dr. Claudia Knezek
Kean University

http://www.chop.edu/
http://www.njsaferoads.com
http://www.kean.edu/
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Please take a few minutes to complete this anonymous survey before the program begins and return it before you leave.

Pre-Survey for Parents

Thank you! Please complete the Post Survey on the reverse side after the program concludes.

•	 Program Information:

	 Date  ___________________     Location  ____________________________________________  

•	 Does your teen currently have:

	 ___  Permit     ___  Probationary     ___  License Basic License

•	 Check one statement that best describes your attitude about your teen’s driving.

	 ___  I trust my teen will drive safely.	

 ___  My teen will have to learn from his/her mistakes.

	 ___  I support my teen’s safety by ensuring he/she earns all driving privileges.    

	 ___  When it comes to driving, my teen will do as I say.

•	 On a scale of 1 to 5, how would you rate your understanding of the Graduated Drivers License (GDL) requirements? 

	  1	 2	 3	 4	 5

	 ___	 ___	 ___	 ___	 ___
	 Don’t Understand...................................................Somewhat Understand...................................................Fully Understand

•	 How would your teen describe your driving? (Check)

	 ___  Excellent     ___  Good     ___  Fair     ___  Poor

•	 How many hours per month do or did you dedicate to practice driving with your teen?

	 ___  0-3 hours     ___  3-5 hours     ___  5-7 hours     ___  7 or more hours

•	 I am confident that when my teen is behind-the-wheel, s/he: (Check all that apply)

	 ___  Follows the nighttime driving curfew	

 ___  Only drives with one passenger 

	 ___  Requires everyone wear a seatbelt 

	 ___  Has asked for permission to use the car

	 ___  Does not text or use a cell phone while driving

	 ___  Does not drive under the influence of alcohol/drugs

•	 List one of your driving behaviors that you would not want your teen to imitate?

	 ___________________________________________________________________________
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Please take a few minutes to complete this anonymous survey after the program concludes and return it before you leave.

Post-Survey for Parents

Thank you! Your feedback is important to us and will be used to improve this program.

•	 On a scale of 1 to 5, how would you now rate your understanding of the (GDL) requirements? 

	  1	 2	 3	 4	 5

	 ___	 ___	 ___	 ___	 ___
	 Don’t Understand...................................................Somewhat Understand...................................................Fully Understand

•	 Based on the information you received during the program, are you likely to increase the amount of time you spend 
practice driving with your teen?  (Check One)

	 ___  Yes     ___  No

•	 Do you feel more inclined to enforce the GDL restrictions as a result of this presentation?

	 ___  Absolutely     ___  Not sure, but giving it more thought     ___  Not at all

	 Comments:  ___________________________________________________________________

•	 Based on the information you received during the program, will you control the keys to your teen’s vehicle? (Check One)

	 ___  Yes     ___  No

•	 Do you feel that the materials provided in the resource guide will help you? (Check all that apply)

	 ___  Better Understand the GDL

	 ___  Increase Practice driving with your teen

	 ___  Enforce the GDL restrictions at home

	 ___  Control the keys

	 ___  Establish a driving agreement (contract) with my your teen

•	 What additional materials would you like to see included in the resource guide?

	 ___________________________________________________________________________

•	 Comments:

	 ___________________________________________________________________________

	 ___________________________________________________________________________

	 ___________________________________________________________________________

	 ___________________________________________________________________________

	 ___________________________________________________________________________
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New Jersey Parent/Teen Safe Driving Orientation

Kean University in partnership with the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety and New Jersey State Police has 
developed Share the Keys, a research based, data-driven orientation designed to reduce teen driver crash risks by 
increasing parental involvement.  

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are recognized as the single most effective tool for reducing teen driver crashes, 
injuries and deaths. While New Jersey’s GDL is considered one of the most progressive and stringent in the United States, 
it must be clearly understood and supported by parents to save lives. To that end, ensuring that parents and teens fully 
understand the risks and responsibilities associated with driving is essential to teen driver safety.  

Parental involvement has a significant impact on teen driver safety.  Driving through the Eyes of Teens, A Closer Look, 
a research report from the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute and State Farm, examined the impact 
parenting styles had on teen driver safety and found that teens whose parents set rules and pay attention to their driving 
activities in a helpful, supportive way are half as likely to be involved in a crash.  The report presents the numerous safety 
gains experienced through this balanced parenting approach (authoritative) and provides a series of best practices.

These best practices were used to define the key objectives for the orientation program:

Understanding the Graduated Driver License (GDL) 
The GDL is one of the most complex traffic laws and can be very confusing.  

Being a Good Role Model
Research by CHOP, Travelers Insurance and many others found that teens mimic their parent’s driving behaviors.  

Effectively Enforcing the GDL at Home 
The two restrictions of the GDL that have the most lifesaving potential are the curfew and passenger restrictions. Forty percent 
of all teen fatal crashes occur after 9:00 pm and teens with just one passenger have nearly twice the risk of being involved in 
a fatal crash.  

Increasing Practice Driving Hours
During the first 12-24 months of driving, teens are at the greatest risk for being involved in a crash, which decreases with 
driving experience.  

Controlling the Keys
CHOP’s research also revealed that teens who requested permission to use the car were fifty percent less likely to be involved 
in crashes when compared to teens that had primary access.  Drivers whose parents controlled the keys were also less likely to 
violate the provisions of the GDL.

Share the Keys

http://teendriving.statefarm.com/system/article_downloads/State_Farm_Teen_Driving_Driving_Through_Eyes_of_Teens_Closer_Look.pdf
http://www.njsaferoads.com
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The Facts About the Numbers

•	 Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death 
and disability to young people in New Jersey and across 
the nation.  Graduated Driver Licensing laws are proven 
effective in reducing crash rates among young drivers.  
New Jersey has one of the most comprehensive laws in 
the nation.

•	 In 2014, there were 66 deaths related to young driver 
crashes.  23 were teen drivers, 15 teen passengers and 
28 others who were outside of that age group (16-20).

•	 Every 13 minutes a teen crashes in New Jersey.  In 2014, 
there were 40,236 crashes involving teen drivers between 
16 and 20 years of age.    

•	 Teen crashes are most often the result of inexperience, 
distraction, following another vehicle too closely, failure 
to yield to other vehicles or pedestrians, and speeding.

•	 Teens represent the largest contingent of New Jersey 
drivers involved in crashes. They account for only seven 
percent of the licensed drivers in the state and are 
involved in 11 percent of the crashes.

•	 Seat belt use among teens is the lowest for any age group.

•	 More male drivers than female drivers are involved in 
teen crashes.

•	 A greater number of teen crashes occur in June than any 
other month and on Friday and Sunday than any other 
day of the week.

•	 One quarter of all young driver crashes in 2014 occurred 
between 2 and 5 p.m.; 6% of young driver crashes occurred 
from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. during restricted driving hours.

•	 may not drive between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m.

•	 may only transport one passenger, unless the driver is 
accompanied by a parent or guardian or the passengers 
are the driver’s dependents (children).

•	 can not use a cell phone (hand-held or hands-free), 
hand-held video games or any other hand-held wireless 
electronic devices (i.e., ipod, GPS).

•	 must ensure that they and all of their passengers wear 
seat belts.

•	 must display the GDL decals on any vehicle they drive.

•	 face a fine of $100 for a violation under the GDL law.

•	 may not plea bargain any point carrying offense to a     
non point carrying offense.  

The Facts About the Law
Teens (16-20 years of age) holding a probationary license under New Jersey’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) law:

The Facts About New Jersey Teen Driving
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Permit Stage

•	 Be at least 16 years old

•	 Obtain consent of a parent or guardian  

•	 Enroll in an approved behind-the-wheel driver    
training course    

•	 Pass the knowledge and vision test

•	 Be at least 17 years old

•	 Obtain consent of a parent or guardian

•	 Pass the knowledge and vision test

•	 Practice supervised driving for at least a 6 month 
period of time.

License Stage

A. SPECIAL LEARNER’S PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

B. BASIC DRIVER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS A. PROBATIONARY LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

•	 Be at least 17 years old

•	 Pass the MVC road test  

•	 Practice unsupervised driving for at least a 12 month 
period of time

•	 Be at least 18 years old

•	 Complete the unsupervised 12 month practice      
driving period

•	 Pay the required fee

B. EXAMINATION PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

Permit and Probationary License Restrictions

For more information about the GDL licensing process, please visit www.njmvc.gov

DRIVING HOURS...................................................... NO DRIVING BETWEEN 11:01PM - 5:00AM
•	 Restriction does not apply to drivers 21 years of age or older
•	 To qualify for the work or religious exemption, drivers must carry legible documentation on letterhead signed by the 

employer, organization or religious institution stating the reasons for the request to exempt from the curfew restriction. The 
letter must include signature, title, address and telephone number of the designated official.

PASSENGERS...................................................................NO MORE THAN ONE (1) PASSENGER
•	 Restriction does not apply to drivers 21 years of age or older
•	 Unless the teen is accompanied by a Parent/Guardian or the passengers are the driver’s dependents (children)

GDL DECAL.....................................................................................................REQUIRED

ELECTRONIC DEVICES....................................................................................NOT ALLOWED
•	 No use of cell phones (handheld or hands-free), iPods etc.

SEATBELTS......................................................................................................REQUIRED

PLEA BARGAIN AGREEMENTS............................................................................ 0 POINT BAN
•	 Effective September 17, 2008, the Attorney General banned municipal prosecutors from offering 0 point plea agreements 

to all GDL holders

New Jersey’s Graduated Driver License Program



www.SharetheKeys.com7

Parent – Teen Driving Agreement

Number of Passengers (1)
The presence of even one passenger can nearly double a teen’s 
risk of being involved in a fatal crash.

______________________________________
AGREEMENT

______________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

______________________________________
REWARD

Curfew (11:01 PM – 5:00 AM)
40% of fatal teen driver crashes occur at night.

______________________________________
AGREEMENT

______________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

______________________________________
REWARD

Seatbelts – All Occupants
56% of teens killed while behind-the-wheel, weren’t wearing 
their seatbelts. Seatbelts significantly increase your chances of 
surviving a crash when worn.

______________________________________
AGREEMENT

______________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

______________________________________
REWARD

Speeding
Speed is a leading contributing factor in 40% of fatal teen 
driver crashes.

______________________________________
AGREEMENT

______________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

______________________________________
REWARD

Teen Driver		
I promise to abide by the agreement outlined above. If I break any part 
of this agreement, I will accept the consequences.

______________________________________
TEEN SIGNATURE	 DATE

Cell Phones & Texting
The University of Utah found that people talking or texting 
while driving were as impaired as when they drove under the 
influence of alcohol at the legal limit.

______________________________________
AGREEMENT

______________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

______________________________________
REWARD

Driving Under the Influence
One in 10 teens in high school drinks and drives. Young drivers 
are 17 times more likely to die in a crash while driving drunk. 

______________________________________
AGREEMENT

______________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

______________________________________
REWARD

Distractions
Anything or anyone that takes my focus from driving 
is a distraction.

______________________________________
AGREEMENT

______________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

______________________________________
REWARD

House Rules

______________________________________
AGREEMENT

______________________________________
CONSEQUENCE

______________________________________
REWARD

Parent/Guardian
I promise to help my teen succeed in following this agreement and make 
time to help my child become a safe and responsible driver. I understand 
this is an evolving agreement and promise to make myself available to 
discuss these rules and their consequences when necessary.

______________________________________
SIGNATURE OF PARENT/GUARDIAN	 DATE
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Teen Driver Pledge
I pledge to Put It Down! and Just Drive.  Beginning right now, I will do my part to help put an end to 
distracted driving by pledging the safest driving behavior.  I commit to: 

*Under the New Jersey Graduated Driver Licensing Law, permit and probationary drivers are prohibited from using electronic devices, handheld or handsfree.

___   I will not text or use my phone while I am driving.  If I need to use my phone, I will 
pull over to the side of the road.*

I will ask other drivers I know to do their part to end distracted driving.  I pledge to make a difference.

________________________________________________________________________________
	 TEEN SIGNATURE	 DATE

Just Drive. Pledge

Parent/Guardian Driver Pledge
I pledge to Put It Down! and Just Drive.  Beginning right now, I will do my part to help put an end to 
distracted driving by pledging the safest driving behavior.  I commit to: 

___   I will not text while I am driving.*

___   I will not text while driving and will use only handsfree calling if I need to speak on 
the phone while I am driving.

___   I will not text or use my phone while I am driving.  If I need to use my phone, I will 
pull over to the side of the road.

I will ask other drivers I know to do their part to end distracted driving.  I pledge to make a difference.

________________________________________________________________________________
	 PARENT/GUARDIAN SIGNATURE	 DATE

*Under New Jersey law, driving while texting is prohibited.

http://www.njsaferoads.com
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Distracted Driving Kills 

The Facts About Distracted Driving

•	 Distracted driving is any activity that could divert a person’s attention away from the primary task of driving. All distractions 
endanger driver, passenger, and bystander safety.

•	 More than a third of young adults say they have been involved in a near-crash because of their own or another motorist’s 
distracted driving. 

•	 Cell phone use was reported in 18% of distracted related fatalities in America. 

•	 Our youngest and most inexperienced drivers are most at risk, with 16% of all distracted driving crashes involving 
drivers under 20. 

•	 Texting is the most alarming distraction because it involves manual, visual, and cognitive distraction simultaneously.

•	 A quarter of teens respond to a text message once or more every time they drive. 20 percent of teens admit that they have 
extended, multi-message text conversations while driving.

The friends, family, and neighbors of the thousands of people killed each year in distracted driving crashes will tell you it is a 
very serious safety problem. The nearly half a million people injured each year will agree.

STOP THE TEXTS.
STOP THE WRECKS. JUSTDRIVE.COM

Don't text. Don't call.
Just drive.

http://www.stoptextsstopwrecks.org
http://www.justdrive.com/
http://www.distraction.gov/
http://www.adcouncil.org/
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Teen Driver Agrees to:

Parent/Guardian Agrees to:

This contract empowers teens to make decisions based on their personal safety, eliminating peer pressure and judgment.  The agreement 
between parent and teen provides young drivers with a safe way out of dangerous – and potentially life threatening – situations.  

The contract’s name originated from the Rebeka Verea Foundation’s motto Say Yes to Life. The foundation’s mission is to create awareness 
about the life saving importance of safe driving behaviors and encourage young drivers to make responsible decisions. Modeled after that 
mission and from research conducted by the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, the intention of this contract is to save young lives.

contact  _________________________________ if I ever find myself in a situation in which I do not 

feel safe (i.e. the driver has been involved in an argument, is drinking or has taken drugs etc.) with the code word 

____________________ to indicate I need help to get home safely.  I understand that I will be asked to discuss 

what happened following a cool off period and will be expected to work on strategies that will assist me in avoiding 

dangerous situations in the future.  I also agree to do my best to avoid situations involving risky behaviors.

__________________________________________________
                                                       Teen Signature	                  Date

pick up  _________________________________ if I receive a text or call that includes our code word 

____________________ no matter the time of day or night.  I will do my best to avoid a socially awkward situation 

for my teen by either creating an excuse for picking them up or by acting in an overprotective manner relieving them from 

any social judgment or pressure.  I further agree to reward my teen for making a courageous and responsible decision 

by not penalizing or lecturing them.  I will take the cool off period to gain more perspective before discussing what 

they’ve learned and work with them to develop strategies for avoiding situations that involve risky behaviors.

__________________________________________________
                                              Parent/Guardian Signature	    Date

Say Yes to Life Contract

WWW.NJSAFEROADS.COM

http://www.nj.gov/oag/
http://www.njsaferoads.com
http://www.rebekavereafoundation.com
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Choosing a Driving School

Quality driver education can provide a great foundation for safe driving. Driving instructors help teens get road ready by ensuring 
they have the basic skills and knowledge needed for safe driving. 
When deciding on the right driving school for you and your teen, consider the following tips:

Seek Advice
Ask other parents and teens about their experiences with driving schools, why they selected the school and if they would 
recommend it to others.  

Use a Licensed Driving School
Make sure the driving school is licensed by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. For a list of licensed schools visit: 
http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Licenses/LicensedDrivingSchools.htm

Visit the Driving School 
•	 Is behind-the-wheel training thorough and personalized based on the needs of each teen?

Make sure they offer personalized training that addresses your teens’ unique training needs. 
•	 Do they address issues like road rage, cell phones, and text messaging?

These are all important safety issues that should be addressed.
•	 What is their student-to-teacher ratio?

The Motor Vehicle Commission requires licensed schools to provide one-on-one behind-the-wheel instruction.
•	 What percentage of the time is spent on real driving, classroom learning, and driving simulations?

Choose a program that offers your teen maximized on-road driving lessons, as well as tips for you to continue 
supervised parental practice and involvement.  

•	 Does the school prioritize face-to-face interaction between the driving instructor and the parent?
It’s important for parents to know what skills they need to work on with their young driver during practice driving.

•	 Is the course designed to make sure students pass the driving test, or is it focused on developing safe driving skills?
Passing a driving test doesn’t mean your teen has developed the skills needed to handle complex driving situations.    

Make Sure Your Teen is Comfortable With the Driving School and Its Instructors
A good driving school will involve a lot of time alone or in small groups with the instructors. Teens can find it difficult to learn 
when they’re not comfortable with their instructor.
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Selecting a Vehicle for Your Teen Driver

According to the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, teens who have primary access to a vehicle were 50% more likely to be 
involved in a crash. Research shows in order to reduce crash risk it is best for your teen driver to share, not own a car for at least 
the first year of driving. Then, based on the successful completion of the GDL process and even after they obtain a basic license, 
parents need to honestly assess whether their teen is ready to have his or her own car. You know your teen best. If you’re unsure, 
consider postponing the purchase. Remember, your role is to keep your teen safe. 

When selecting the vehicle your teen will drive, keep these important points in mind:

Avoid high performance vehicles: They are too advanced for inexperienced drivers. 
Teen drivers not only lack experience, the area of their brain used for risk assessment and risk taking hasn’t fully developed 
resulting in a disconnect between risk assessment and risk taking. As a result, speeding and reckless driving are common among 
young drivers and sports cars and other vehicles with high performance features, encourage these behaviors. 

Avoid driving vehicles that are not as stable. 
Sport utility vehicles & minivans, especially the smaller ones, are inherently less stable than cars because of their higher centers of 
gravity. Abrupt steering maneuvers commonly occur with inexperienced drivers and can cause rollovers.  

Pick a vehicle that offers modern crash protection features. 
Teenagers should drive vehicles that offer state-of-the-art protection in case they do crash. The best models have side and 
curtain airbags, as well as the standard driver and passenger ones. Electronic Stability Control (ESC) and an Anti-lock Braking 
System (ABS) are also great features for helping your teen avoid a crash, but new drivers need to be thoroughly trained 
in their use. Unfamiliarity with (ABS) systems can affect emergency braking. To obtain safety ratings for a vehicle, visit         
www.safercar.gov.

Size matters. 
Small vehicles offer much less protection in crashes than larger ones. However, this doesn’t mean you should put your teen 
in the largest vehicle you can find. Many mid- and full-size cars offer more than adequate crash protection. Pick a vehicle, 
preferably a passenger sedan between 3,500 and 4,500 pounds curb weight.

http://www.njsaferoads.com
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Practice SAFE Driving

Since crash risks decreases dramatically with driving experience, it is crucial that teens get at least one-hour per week of 
deliberate practice driving. Finding the time for practice can be difficult but is achievable.  Plan your teen driver’s practice 
driving around your normal day-to-day activities. The following are examples of opportunities to fit in deliberate practice 
driving. We call it, “SAFE” driving;

Parents are also encouraged to focus on difficult driving situations such as driving at night, during inclement 
weather, gradually introducing different speed zones, merging, lane changes and how to always maintain a 
safe following distance.

Shopping trips can be an excellent opportunity for a new driver to learn how 
to successfully navigate commercial districts which pose unique challenges to 
new drivers.  

Activities, whether it’s after school or meeting friends at the movies, every 
activity is a new driving experience that can be used to teach navigation, the use of 
alternate routes and build on regular driving lessons.   

Family outings can provide teens with experience driving on different 
roadways such as “toll roads” and “multiple lane highways”. They can also 
learn how to manage the distraction of additional passengers.  

Errands such as picking up a prescription or the dry cleaning can provide a 
young driver with additional time behind-the-wheel.  Use them to assess their 
progress, refresh a lesson such as entering and exiting a commercial district or 
yielding when entering a roadway.

S
A
F
E
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Practice Driving Log

Skills & Conditions  •  Example: Following Distance, Nighttime, WeatherDate Amount of 
Practice Time

Total Practice Driving Hours:
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Practice Driving Log Continued

Skills & Conditions  •  Example: Following Distance, Nighttime, WeatherDate Amount of 
Practice Time

Total Practice Driving Hours:
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www.cdc.gov/parentsarethekey
http://www.njsaferoads.com
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PARENTS: Get the Facts on Safe Teen Driving

Car crashes—the #1 killer of teens—take about 3,000 young lives every
year. That’s up to eight teen deaths a day that can be prevented. New
drivers—even straight-A students and "good kids"—are more likely to be
involved in a fatal crash, mostly due to driver inexperience. It's a fact. The
good news is that you can make a difference by getting involved with your
teen’s driving. Here’s how:

Fact: Proven Steps Save Lives
Practice driving as often as you can with your teen. The more experience
he or she has behind the wheel, the safer they’ll drive. Make sure your
new driver and their passengers always wear seat belts. Prohibit driving
when crashes are more likely to occur—at night and when there are other
teens in the car. And be sure to learn and enforce your state’s teen driving
laws—you can find them at www.cdc.gov/parentsarethekey.

Fact: A Parent-Teen Driving Agreement Sets the Rules of the Road
Discuss your rules of the road with your teen. Talk about why they are
important to follow, as well as consequences for breaking them. Believe it
or not, your children listen to you, particularly when they know you have
their best interests at heart. Reinforce your talks by working with your
teen to create a parent-teen driving agreement. You can find a sample at
www.cdc.gov/parentsarethekey.

Fact: Parents Must Lead by Example
Don’t wait until your teen is old enough to drive to start modeling good
driving behaviors. If you talk on the phone, text, speed or drive without
your seat belt, so might your teen.

Fact: Other Parents Need This Information
Share your rules of the road with parents of other teens. Tell the parents
of your teen’s friends about “Parents Are the Key,” because working
together helps save lives. Take the next step by showing your support and
sharing information on Facebook and Twitter.

www.cdc.gov/parentsarethekey
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Talking Teen Driver Safety With Other Parents 

Parent to Parent

Starting a friendly conversation with other parents about working together creates a better support system to protect teen 
drivers and passengers.  

Share what you’ve learned.
A casual “Did you know?” conversation is friendly and helpful way to support other parents in protecting their teen driver.  

Provide tools and resources.  
•	 Share the Keys: www.SharetheKeys.com
•	 Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia: www.teendriversource.org
•	 Center for Injury Research and Prevention: www.teendriversource.org
•	 New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission: www.state.nj.us/mvc
•	 New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety: www.njsaferoads.com
•	 National Highway Traffic Safety Administration: www.nhtsa.gov
•	 Center for Disease Control and Prevention: www.cdc.gov/parentsarethekey

Talk about your Parent/Teen contract.
Discuss the rules, consequences and rewards you’ve established.  Explain how the contract protects your teen driver.  Note that 
each section of the contract is supported by a related fact about teen driver safety.    

Discuss ways you can support each other to ensure the safety of your teen drivers.
Picking up additional passengers and providing transportation in the event that driving privileges have been revoked are two 
of many great ways parents can work together to create a safer driving environment for their teens.

Work on a Get Home Safe contract (Say Yes To Life)
This agreement can include other parents as alternative or shared contacts.

Establishing good communication and mutual safety goals between parents are essential for your teens safe and successful 
completion of the teen driver’s GDL process.



The following websites contain useful information and resources related to teen driver safety.

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
www.state.nj.us/mvc
Parent guide, driving manual, driver abstracts and list of 
licensed driving schools
 
New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety
www.njsaferoads.com
Teen driver safety programs, awareness and educational 
resources and more

Brain Injury Alliance of New Jersey
www.bianj.org
Programs, resources and tools supporting 
teens: www.ugotbrains.com
parents: www.njteendriving.com
educators: www.njdrivereducation.com

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia 
Research Foundation
www.teendriversource.org
Tools and guides for parents, teens, policy makers 
and researchers

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
www.underyourinfluence.org
Tips, driving contracts, message boards and conversation 
starters for parents

Center for Disease Control and Prevention
www.cdc.gov/parentsarethekey

National Safety Council
www.driveithome.org
Alive at 25 teen driver awareness program and resources for 
teens and parents

National Organization for Youth Safety
www.noys.org
Tool kits, scholarships and more

The Rebeka Verea Foundation
www.rebekavereafoundation.com
Say Yes to Life, Drive Responsibly
Project Graduation and teen driver safety educational and 
awareness programs

WWW.NJSAFEROADS.COM

Teen Driving Web Resources
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www.SharetheKeys.com

www.njsaferoads.com
http://www.kean.edu/
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