

TEENS CRASH FOUR TIMES MORE OFTEN THAN ANY OTHER AGE GROUP NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (NHTSA)

Teens are at the highest risk of being involved in a car crash during their first two years of driving. Leading causes of teen crashes include distraction, passengers in the car, nighttime driving, and speeding. (NHTSA)

A teen driver's fatality risk increases by 44 percent with one passenger, doubles with two passengers, and quadruples when there are three or more passengers in the car. American Automobile Association (AAA)

The more guided experience a young driver has, the safer that driver will be on the road.

FOUR OF EVERY TEN TEEN CRASH DEATHS OCCUR AT NIGHT (NHTSA)





NEW JERSEY PARENT/TEEN SAFE DRIVING ORIENTATION

Kean University in partnership with the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety and New Jersey State Police developed **Share the Keys**, a research based, data-driven orientation designed to reduce teen driver crash risks by increasing parental involvement.

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are recognized as the single most effective tool for reducing teen driver crashes, injuries and deaths. New Jersey's GDL is considered one of the most progressive and stringent in the United States. However, to be effective, it must be supported by parents, and they and their teens need to understand the risks and responsibilities associated with driving.

Parental involvement has a significant impact on teen driver safety. A research report, <u>Driving through the Eyes of Teens:</u> <u>A Closer Look</u>, commissioned by the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Institute, examined the impact parenting styles had on teen driver safety. It found that teens whose parents set rules and pay attention to their driving activities in a helpful, supportive way are **half as likely** to be involved in a crash. The report presents the many safety gains realized through this balanced parenting approach (authoritative) and provides a series of best practices.

For more information about **Share the Keys** visit: www.SharetheKeys.com

Division of Highway Traffic Safety

140 East Front Street, 7th Floor P.O. Box 048 • Trenton, NJ 08625-0048 Tel: 609.633.9300 • Fax: 609.633.9020 800.422.3750 • www.njsaferoads.com



FIND US ON SOCIAL MEDIA!



STK-30 (3/20)



UNDERSTANDING NEW JERSEY'S GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE PROGRAM



The Graduated Driver License Program for First Time Drivers

THE GDL IS A THREE STAGE LICENSING GIVE PROCESS THAT DESIGNED TO IS DRIVERS INCREASED, **STEP-BY-STEP** NEW INSTRUCTION AND DRIVING EXPERIENCE ON THE ROAD TO OBTAINING A BASIC DRIVER LICENSE. THE GDL HAS REDUCED TEEN DRIVING FATALITIES BY 50% SINCE IT WAS IMPLEMENTED.

New Jersey residents who have never had a driver license must follow New Jersey's Graduated Driver License (GDL) program to get their first unrestricted basic driver license.



THE FACTS ABOUT THE LAW

- May not drive between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.
- May only transport one passenger, unless the driver is accompanied by a parent or guardian or the passengers are the driver's dependents (children)
- Use of a cell phone (hand-held or hands-free), hand-held video games or any other hand-held wireless electronic devices (i.e., iPods, GPS) is prohibited
- Must ensure that they and all of their passengers wear seat belts
- Must display the GDL decals on any vehicle they drive
- Face a fine of \$100 for a violation under the GDL



STAGE 1 - PERMIT REQUIREMENTS Special Learner's Permit

- Be at least 16 years old
- Obtain consent of a parent or guardian
- Enroll in an approved behind-the-wheel driver training course
- Pass the knowledge and vision tests

Examination Permit

- Be at least 17 years old
- Obtain consent of a parent or guardian
- Pass the knowledge and vision tests
- Practice supervised driving for at least six months

STAGE 2 - PROBATIONARY LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

- Be at least 17 years old
- Pass the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) road test
- Practice unsupervised driving for at least one year

STAGE 3 - BASIC LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

- Be at least 18 years old
- Complete one year of unsupervised driving with probationary license restrictions
- Pay the required fee

PERMIT AND PROBATIONARY LICENSE RESTRICTIONS

Driving Hours

- No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.*
 *Restriction does not apply to drivers 21 years of age or older
- Work or religious exemption*

*Drivers must carry legible documentation on letterhead signed by the employer, organization, or religious institution stating the reasons for the request to be exempt from the curfew restriction

Passengers

No more than one passenger*

*Restriction does not apply to drivers **21 years of age** or older, teens accompanied by a parent/guardian, or passengers who are the driver's **dependents (children)**

GDL Decal

• Required on **front and rear license plates** by all drivers under age 21 who possess a permit or probationary license

Electronic Devices

• No use of cell phones (hand-held or hands-free)

Seatbelt

Must be worn at all times

Plea Bargain - O Point Ban

• Effective September 17, 2008, the Attorney General banned municipal prosecutors from offering 0 point plea agreements to all GDL holders

For more information about the GDL licensing process, please visit njmvc.gov.