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A Bikcets Nota 1oy
IT’S AVEHICLE

Every year, bicyclists throughout New Jersey are
involved in crashes that result in both injuries and
tragically, fatalities. While many of these crashes
involve motor vehicles, many do not. Injuries can
occur in parks, bike paths and driveways.

Injuries to the head are often the most serious
and are the most common cause of death among
bicyclists. The most severe injuries are those to the
brain that cause permanent damage.

The simple safety tips outlined in this brochure
can help reduce the chance of serious injuries
occurring when bike riding. Following these
guidelines every time you ride will help ensure a
safe and enjoyable ride.

AV eV N 1 ELVLET.
IT’S THE LAW

New Jersey law states that bike riders under the
age of 17 must wear a properly fitted and fastened
helmet that meets the standards of the Snell
Memorial Foundation, the American Society of
Testing and Materials (ASTM) or the U.S. Consumer
Product Safety Commission. Always ensure a
proper fit by tightening the chin strap to keep
the helmet from slipping. Only two fingers should

fit under the chin strap. The extra padding that
comes with the helmet can be used to further
adjust the fit.

A child who violates the law will be warned
of the violation by the enforcing official. The child’s
parent or legal guardian can be fined up to $25 for
the first offense and up to $100 for a subsequent
offense. While the law addresses those under the
age of 17, all riders are strongly encouraged to
wear a helmet.
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BES eerisNeava:
Wear clothes that make you more visible. Wearing
neon, fluorescent or other bright colors helps you
be easily seen by motorists. Under New Jersey
law, all bicycles must be equipped with a horn
or bell. Use this equipment to alert drivers and
pedestrians of your presence.

Avoid Riding at Night

It's far more dangerous to ride a bicycle at night
than during the day. Most bicycles are equipped
for daylight riding, but need to be adapted for
nighttime use.

New Jersey law requires bicycles to be equipped
with rear and pedal reflectors. In addition, the
bike should have side reflectors or reflective tire
sidewalls. If you're planning to ride at night, you
must also have a white light installed in front.

O Witn trne FLow.
Always Ride on the Right
Side of the Road, with Traffic.

Ride no more than two abreast (as long as it
does not impede the flow of traffic), in a straight,
predictable path. Riding against traffic will put you
where motorists don't expect you.

Obey All Traffic Laws,
Signs & Signals

Bicycles are considered vehicles and must obey
the same rules as motorists. Always signal your
intentions and be courteous to pedestrians and
other vehicle operators.

NAND OIGNALS

Slow Down or Stop

Optional Right Turn




