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Yuti, LLC d/b/a News Plus
138 Baldwin Road
Parsippany, New Jersey 07054
c/o Mehul Shah, Owner

NOTICE OF VIOLATION AND OFFER OF SETTLEMENT

Dear Mr. Shah:

The New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, Office of Consumer Protection
(“Division”} is charged with the enforcement of the New Jersey Consumer Fraud Act,
N.J.S.A. 56:8-1 to -224 (“CFA”), including the portion of the CFA concerning the sale or
attempted sale of merchandise without a tag or label with the total selling rice, N.J.S.A.
56:8-2.5 to -2.6 (“Merchandise Pricing Statute”).

The Merchandising Pricing Statute, specifically N.J.S.A. 56:8-2.5, states:

It shall be unlawful practice for any person to sell, attempt to sell or offer for
sale any merchandise at retail unless the total selling price of such
merchandise is plainly marked by a stamp, tag, label or sign either affixed to
the merchandise or located at the point where the merchandise is offered for
sale.

In addition, the Merchandise Pricing Statute, N.J.S.A. 56:8-2.5, states:

For purposes of this act, each day for which the total selling price is not
marked in accordance with the provision of this act for each group of
identical merchandise shall constitute a separate violation of this act and
the act of which it is a supplement.

On March 12, 2020, the Division conduced an inspection of the retail
location in the State of New Jersey operated by Yuti, LLC d/b/a News Plus (“You,”
“Your” or “Yourself”) (hereinafter “Investigation”). As a result of the Division’s
Investigation, You have been found to have attempted to offer for sale merchandise
at retail without the total selling price plainly marked. These facts are set forth in
the attached Certification of Investigator Ronald Regen. In doing so You have
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attempted to sell or offer for sale merchandise without a tag or label indicating the
total selling price, in violation of N.J.S.A. 56:8-2.5.

Each failure to comply with the requirements of the Merchandise Pricing Statute
comprises a separate violation of the CFA and subjects You to civil penalties pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 56:8-13, as well as reimbursement of investigative costs and/or attorneys’ fees,
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 56:8-11 and N.J.S.A. 56:8-19.

IF YOU DO NOT CONTEST THE VIOLATIONS ALLEGED and wish to avail
Yourself of this opportunity to settle the Investigation, within fifteen {15) days from the
date of this Notice, You should sign and return the enclosed Answering Certification
and agree to the following:

1. Cease and desist from engaging in any acts or practices in violation of
the CFA;
2. Cease and desist from selling, attempting to sell or offering for sale

merchandise unless the total selling price of such merchandise is
plainly marked by a stamp, tag, label or sign affixed to the
merchandise or located at the point where the merchandise is offered
for sale, as required by the Merchandise Pricing Statute, N.J.S.A.
56:8-2.5; and

3. Pay a civil penalty in the amount of $500.00.

If the above-referenced payment in the total amount of $500.00 is received by
the Division within fifteen (15} days of the date of this Notice, along with your
signed Answering Certification, You need not do anything further.

IF YOU DO NOT CONTEST THE VIOLATIONS ALLEGED, but want to present
information to Division representatives about any mitigating circumstances in Your case
that may persuade the Division to reduce the civil penalty, You may request an informal
Mitigation Conference. If You request a Mitigation Conference You will waive Your
right to an Administrative Hearing. The Mitigation Conference date is Tuesday June
23, 2020 at 10:00 a.m., at 124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor, Newark, New Jersey 07102
with Investigator Regen, a representative of the Division. You may be accompanied
by an attorney. Should you have any questions regarding this procedure, or seek an
adjournment of this date, please contact Investigator Regen at (973) 792-421 or by
email at RegenR@dca.njoag.gov. Alternatively, You may send written documentation
to the Division concerning any mitigating circumstances that You believe may persuade
the Division to reduce the civil penalty. To elect either of these options, You must
return the enclosed Answering Certification within fifteen (15) days from the date of
this Notice. The Division will then review this material and respond to You.

IF YOU CONTEST THE VIOLATIONS ALLEGED, and do not wish to settle the
matter consistent with the terms set forth above, You may request a formal
Administrative Hearing by returning the enclosed Answering Certification within
fifteen (15) days from the date of this Notice. In that event, this Notice will serve as
notice of the violations against you. You should be aware that in making his final
decision, the Director of the Division may, if violations of the above-referenced statute and
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regulations have been proven, order civil penalties and remedies other than the settlement
offer above. Specifically, You may be ordered to: pay civil penalties in an amount up
to $10,000 for the first violation and up to $20,000 for the second violation and
each subsequent violation pursuant to N.J.S.A. 56:8-13; pay consumer restitution
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 56:8-15; and pay investigative costs and attorneys’ fees to the
Division, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 56:8-11 and 56:8-19; and cease and desist from acts
or practices in violation of CFA, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 56:8-18.

Before a determination is made with regard to whether an Administrative Hearing
will be conducted before the Director of the Division or referred to the Office of
Administrative Law, a Pre-Hearing Conference will be held. If You request an
Administrative Hearing, your Pre-Hearing Conference will be scheduled on Tuesday
June 23, 2020 at 10:00 a.m., at 124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor, Newark, New Jersey
07102 with Investigator Regen, a representative of the Division. You may be
accompanied by an attorney. Should You have any questions regarding this procedure,
or seek an adjournment of this date, please contact Investigator Regen, who may be
reached at (973) 792-421 and email at RegenR@dca.njoag.gov. Your attendance at
this Pre-Hearing Conference is mandatory. Any failure to appear without a satisfactory
explanation may result in an order barring You from raising certain defenses at the
Administrative Hearing, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:1-14.4. The purpose of this Pre-
Hearing Conference is to discuss the issues in this matter and the defenses which You
may wish to raise. You should be prepared to discuss the evidence You will propose to
offer at the Administrative Hearing. It may be helpful if You bring to the Pre-Hearing
Conference a copy of any documentation that supports Your position. If the Director of
the Division determines that there are no material facts in dispute, You will have an
opportunity to submit legal arguments and any documentation that may be relevant to the
ultimate disposition of this matter. If there are material facts in dispute, an
Administrative Hearing will be scheduled. During the Administrative Hearing, You,
either personally or with the assistance of an attorney, will have an opportunity to respond
to the alleged violations and submit evidence and present testimony as may be necessary
for the Director of the Division to make a final determination. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:1-
5.1, and except as provided in N.J.A.C. 1:1-5.4, a corporation must be represented
by an attorney.

IF YOU FAIL TO RESPOND to this Notice within fifteen (15) days of the date of
this Notice, the settlement offer will be withdrawn, and You will be deemed in
default. The allegations against You will be deemed uncontested. Thereafter, this Notice
and the underlying proofs may be reviewed by the Director of the Division, and a Final
Decision and Order on Default {“Order”) will be issue, and You may be ordered to:
pay civil penalties in an amount up to $10,000 for the first violation and up to
$20,000 for the second violation and each subsequent violation pursuant to N.J.S.A.
56:8-13; pay consumer restitution pursuant to N.J.S.A. 56:8-15; and pay
investigative costs and attorneys’ fees to the Division pursuant to N.J.S.A. 56:8-11
and 56:8-19. You will receive no further notice from the Division prior to issuance
of an Order. Once an Order has been entered, Your failure to pay any civil penalties,
attorneys’ fees, investigative costs and/or restitution within the time allowed will result in
the filing of a Certificate of Debt. Any subsequent violation of an Order with a cease
and desist provision may subject You to a penalty of up to $25,000 per violation
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 56:8-18. Service of an Order will be deemed effective if sent by
first-class mail and certified mail, return receipt requested, to your last known mailing
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Should Youhave any questions, please contact Investigator Regen at(973} 792-
4210 or email to RegenR@dca.njoag.gov.
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ANSWERING CERTIFICATION
Yuti, LLC d/b/a News Plus
I, , hereby acknowledge that I have

read and reviewed the Notice, regarding alleged Vzolat1ons of the CFA, N.J.S.A. 56:8-1 to -
224, including the Merchandlse Pricing Statute, N.J.S.A. 56:8-2.5 to -2.6.

PLEASE CHECK ONE OF THE OPTIONS BELOW:

(OPTION 1}:

I DO NOT CONTEST THE VIOLATIONS ALLEGED and acknowledge the conduct
that has been alleged and agree to:

1. 1. Cease and desist from engaging in any acts or practices in violation
of the CFA;
2. Cease and desist from selling, attempting to sell or offering for sale

merchandise unless the total selling price of such merchandise is
plainly marked by a stamp, tag, label or sign affixed to the
merchandise or located at the point where the merchandise is offered
for sale, as required by the Merchandise Pricing Statute, N.J.S.A.
56:8-2.5; and .

3. Pay a civil penalty in the amount of $500.00.

I understand that if the above-referenced payment in the total amount of
$500.00 is received by the Division, along with my signed Answering Certification, I
need not do anything further.

I am also aware that the action taken against Yuti, LLC d/b/a News Plus by the Division
herein is a matter of public record, and that the Division’s Notice and this Answering
Certification are public documents. I am enclosing herewith a cashier’s check or money
order in the sum of $500.00 made payable to the “New Jersey Division of Consumer
Affairs”, which I am mailing or delivering to: New Jersey Department of Law and Public
Safety, Division of Consumer Affairs, Office of Consumer Protection, 124 Halsey Street,
P.O. Box 45025, Newark, New Jersey 07101, ATTN: Van Mallet.

Dated: By:

SIGN NAME

Name:

PRINT NAME
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(OPTION 2)

I DO NOT CONTEST THE VIOLATIONS ALLEGED and hereby waive any
rights I may have to a hearing in this matter to defend Yuti, LLC d/b/a News Plus against
any alleged violations, BUT I ask the Division to consider mitigating circumstances before
rendering its final decision.

____Irequest a Mitigation Conference to present information to Division
representatives; I understand that the Mitigation Conference will be held on
Tuesday June 23, 2020, at 10:00 a.m., at 124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor,
Newark, New Jersey 07101. I am aware that I may be represented by an
attorney at the Mitigation Conference. '

I am submitting written documentation concerning mitigating
circumstances; [ understand that the Division will consider this material
before rendering a final decision.

I understand that, if, after considering the mitigation evidence presented, the Division is
not persuaded that any reduction in the amounts set forth above and in the Notice is
warranted or that any of the other terms or conditions should be modified, the following
terms may be ordered and Yuti, LLC d/b/a News Plus will be obligated to:

1. Cease and desist from engaging in any acts or practices in violation
of the CFA;
2. Cease and desist from selling, attempting to sell or offering for sale

merchandise unless the total selling price of such merchandise is
plainly marked by a stamp, tag, label or sign affixed to the
merchandise or located at the point where the merchandise is offered
for sale, as required by the Merchandise Pricing Statute, N.J.S.A.
56:8-2.5; and

3. Pay a civil penalty in the amount of $500.00.

If a modification in these terms is accepted by the Division, I will be notified of the
amounts that I must pay. I am also aware that the action taken against Yuti, LLC d/b/a
News Plus by the Division herein is a matter of public record, and that the Division’s
Notice and this Answering Certification are public documents. I am further aware that
failure to comply may subject Yuti, LLC d/b/a News Plus to further enforcement
proceedings and any failure to make a required payment will result in the filing of a
Certificate of Debt.

Dated: By:

SIGN NAME

Name:

PRINT NAME
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(OPTION 3)

I CONTEST THE VIOLATIONS ALLEGED and request a formal Administrative
Hearing. I understand that I am required to attend a Pre-Hearing Conference on
Tuesday June 23, 2020 at 10:00 a.m., at 124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor, Newark, New
Jersey 07102, at which the issues in this matter will be discussed. I am aware that I
may be represented by an attorney at the Pre-Hearing Conference.

If the Division and I agree upon any essential settlement terms at the Pre-Hearing
Conference, I understand that:

1. These terms will be included in a document (“Pre-Hearing Settlement
Sheet”);
2. The Division representative and I will sign the Pre-Hearing Settlement

Sheet and Yuti, LLC d/b/a News Plus will be bound by it; and

3. The Division will send me a Consent Order, which will include all
settlement terms. I also understand that I must sign and return the
Consent Order and any required payment to the Division within
thirty (30} days of the date that the Division sends it to me.

I further understand that if I fail to do so, the Division will present this matter to
the Director of the Division based upon the Notice, and a Final Decision and Order After
NOV (“Order”) will be issued. I will receive no further notice from the Division prior
to issuance of an Order.

If the Division and I do not agree upon settlement terms at the -Pre-Hearing
Conference, I will thereafter be advised of the time, date and place for the Administrative
Hearing if a determination has been made that there are material facts in dispute. Iam
aware that I may be represented by an attorney at the Administrative Hearing. [ am
also aware that at the time of the Administrative Hearing, I may offer testimony,
documentation and legal argument relevant to the alleged violations. I understand that
in making a final decision, the Director of the Division may, if unlawful activity has
been proven, assess civil penalties, restoration of donor contributions, as well as
attorneys’ fees and investigative costs and/or issue a cease and desist order
exceeding the settlement offer in the Notice, and may order such other remedies as
deemed appropriate. Iam also aware that this proceeding is a matter of public record and
that the Notice and this Answering Certification are public documents.

Dated: By:

SIGN NAME

Name:

Yuti, LLC d/b/a News Plus
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138 Baldwin Road
Parsippany, New Jersey 07054

INVESTIGATIVE CERTIFICATION

I, Ronald Regen, being of full age, do hereby certify as follows:

1.

I am employed as an Investigator by the Office of the Attorney General,
Division of Consumer Affairs, Office of Consumer Protection (“Division”),
located at 124 Halsey Street, Newark, New Jersey 07101, and have held that
position at all times relevant to this Certification.

On March 12, 2020, the Division commenced an Investigation with respect
to Yuti, LLC d/b/a News Plus (“News Plus”) located at 138 Baldwin Road,
Parsippany, New Jersey 07054. Specifically, the Division received a
complaint concerning News Plus. The complaint stated that News Plus was
overcharging for products due to COVID-19; specifically, that a small bottle
of hand sanitizer was being sold for eight dollars {$8.00).

On March 12, 2020 at 2:20 PM I arrived at News Plus located at 138
Baldwin Road, Parsippany, New Jersey 07054, to conduct an on-site
inspection and located the bottles of hand sanitizer. An inspection of the
hand sanitizers showed that no price was displayed to the item or where the
merchandise was offered for sale. A further inspection of products on the
store shelves showed numerous products without the total selling price
affixed to the item or at the point where the merchandise is offered for sale.
I took photographs of these items which are attached as Exhibit A.

All documents submitted with this Certification are true copies of
documents in possession of the Division.

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. I amsgware that if any

of the foregoing statements made by me are willfully false, I am subject“t%

unishment.

;‘ if 7%,
wd Regen % \&

Dated: May 28, 2020
Newark, New Jersey
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