Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation

N.J.A.C. T. 13, Ch. 64, Refs & Annos

Currentness

Editors' Notes

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Credits

R.2013, effective September 25, 2013.

2013.. See: 45 N.J.R. 2335(b).

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

End of Document

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 1. Designation of Rental Operation Area

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.1

13:64-1.1 Operation prohibited

Currentness

- (a) No person engaged in the business of renting personal watercraft for use on the waters of this State shall permit a person to operate a rented personal watercraft unless the operator is 16 years of age or older and has proof of age and that he or she successfully completed a boat safety course approved by the Superintendent of State Police pursuant to N.J.S.A. 12:7–60, or has proof of successful completion of a boat safety course substantially similar to an approved boat safety course, unless the business has been issued a permit for a personal watercraft rental operation area pursuant to this chapter. For the purposes of this section proof of completion of a substantially similar boat safety course means written proof of completion of a boat safety course endorsed or approved by another state, the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators or its successor organization, or the United States Coast Guard.
- (b) Persons engaged in the business of renting personal watercraft may rent personal watercraft to persons 16 years of age or older without proof of completion of a boat safety course upon issuance of a permit by the Superintendent subject to the requirements of this chapter.

Credits

Adopted by R.1996 d.330, effective July 15, 1996. Amended by R.2001 d.272, effective August 6, 2001; R.2006 d.405, effective November 20, 2006.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.1, NJ ADC 13:64-1.1

End of Document

4–1.1 Operation prohibited, NJ ADC 13:64-1.1						

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 1. Designation of Rental Operation Area

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.2

13:64–1.2 Expiration of permit

Currentness

Permits issued in accordance with this chapter shall expire at the end of the calendar year in which they are issued.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.2, NJ ADC 13:64-1.2

End of Document

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 1. Designation of Rental Operation Area

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.3

13:64–1.3 Contents of application for permit
Currentness
(a) Applications for a permit shall be submitted on business letterhead addressed to:
Marine Services Bureau
Division of State Police
P.O. Box 7068
West Trenton, New Jersey 08628-0068
(b) Applications shall include the following information:
1. The name and address of business;
2. The name of the manager or contact person and a daytime telephone number;
3. The hours of rental operation;
4. The number of personal watercraft available for rent;
5. The area requested, defined by longitude and latitude; and

- 6. The chart or photocopy of chart indicating proposed location of boundary marker buoys (minimum of four).
- (c) Two or more businesses may submit a joint application for a designated area, provided, however, that the information required in (b) above shall be submitted as to each applicant.

Credits

Adopted by R.1996 d.330, effective July 15, 1996. Amended by R.2001 d.272, effective August 6, 2001; R.2006 d.405, effective November 20, 2006.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.3, NJ ADC 13:64-1.3

End of Document

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 1. Designation of Rental Operation Area

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.4

13:64-1.4 Conditions for approval

Currentness

Permits for a designated area will be approved in the discretion of the Superintendent based on the information provided by the applicant(s) and the suitability of the requested area for personal watercraft operation. The designated area shall be at least 100 feet from the boundaries of a marked channel and must allow for the free passage of other vessels on all sides.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.4, NJ ADC 13:64-1.4

End of Document

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 1. Designation of Rental Operation Area

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.5

13:64-1.5 Marker buoys

Currentness

- (a) The designated area shall be marked by at least four buoys supplied by the permittee(s).
- (b) Buoys must comply with the Uniform State Waterway Marking System and be visible from a distance of one half mile.
- (c) Buoys shall be set by the permittee at the beginning of the business day and shall be removed before sunset.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.5, NJ ADC 13:64-1.5

End of Document

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 1. Designation of Rental Operation Area

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.6

13:64–1.6 Operation of personal watercraft

Currentness

- (a) Rented personal watercraft may be operated outside the designated area solely for the purpose of transit to and from the rental location.
- (b) Rented personal watercraft shall be escorted to and from the designated area by a supervisor.
- (c) Rented personal watercraft are subject to all laws and regulations applicable to power vessels on the waters of the State while in transit and while operating in the designated area.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.6, NJ ADC 13:64-1.6

End of Document

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 1. Designation of Rental Operation Area

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.7

13:64–1.7 Revocation or suspension of permits

Currentness

The Superintendent or designee may suspend or revoke a permit for violation of conditions by the permittee or its employees, or for operation of rented personal watercraft outside the designated area, except as permitted in N.J.A.C. 13:64–1.6 or for other good cause, including, but not limited to, unsafe conditions in the designated area. The permittee may request an informal conference by making a written request to the Marine Services Bureau within 14 days of receipt of written notice of suspension or revocation. Any matter not resolved by informal conference will be treated as a contested case under the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B–1 et seq.

Credits

Adopted by R.1996, d.330, effective July 15, 1996. Amended by R.2006 d.405, effective November 20, 2006.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-1.7, NJ ADC 13:64-1.7

End of Document

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 2. Supervision of Designated Rental Operation Area

N.J.A.C. 13:64-2.1

13:64-2.1 Supervisors required

Currentness

Permittee(s) shall provide a qualified supervisor in the designated area during operation of rented personal watercraft. Each supervisor may supervise up to seven personal watercraft.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-2.1, NJ ADC 13:64-2.1

End of Document

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 2. Supervision of Designated Rental Operation Area

N.J.A.C. 13:64-2.2

13:64-2.2 Qualifications of supervisors

Currentness
(a) Supervisors shall:
1. Be at least 18 years of age;
2. Have at least 100 hours of experience operating personal watercraft;
3. Have completed a boating safety course approved by the Superintendent; and
4. Carry the boating safety certificate issued by the Superintendent while supervising or operating a personal watercraft.
(b) Supervisors shall remain in the designated area while rented personal watercraft are operating.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

(c) Supervisors shall display a signal pennant, which shall be yellow in color and triangular in shape and not less than 12 inches

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

on any dimension, at least four feet above the vessel's highest point.

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-2.2, NJ ADC 13:64-2.2

End of Document

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 3. Instruction to Renters

N.J.A.C. 13:64-3.1

13:64-3.1 Contents of instruction

Currentness
(a) Permittees shall instruct each renter in boating safety prior to allowing such renter to operate. Instruction shall include a least the following topics:
1. United States Coast Guard Navigation Rules:
i. Meeting situation;
ii. Crossing situation;
iii. Overtaking situation;
iv. Meaning of proper lookout; and
v. Safe speed and distance;
2. Handling characteristics of personal watercraft;
3. Equipment requirements for Class A vessels;

4. Operating instructions for the vessel being rented; and

5. Operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-3.1, NJ ADC 13:64-3.1

End of Document

Title 13. Law and Public Safety

Chapter 64. Personal Watercraft Operation (Refs & Annos)

Subchapter 4. Rental Agreements

N.J.A.C. 13:64-4.1

13:64–4.1 Contents of rental agreements

Currentness

(a) The permittee shall maintain a written rental agreement for each personal watercraft rented, which shall contain at least the following information:
1. The full name, address, date of birth and telephone number of the renter;
2. The date and time of rental;
3. The name of the agent or employee renting the vessel;
4. The registration number of the rented vessel;
5. The statement "I have received and understand the instruction in safe boating covering the United States Coast Guard Navigation Rules, equipment requirements for Class A vessels, and operation of personal watercraft"; and
6. The signature of the renter.
(b) The written agreement shall be kept on file for at least one year after rental.

Credits

(c) Agreements shall be subject to inspection by the Marine Services Bureau during normal business hours.

Adopted by R.1996, d.330, effective July 15, 1996. Amended by R.2001 d.272, effective August 6, 2001; R.2006 d.405, effective November 20, 2006.

CHAPTER EXPIRATION DATE

<Chapter 64, Personal Watercraft Operation, expires on September 25, 2020. >

<Pursuant to Murphy Executive Order No. 127 (2020), the expiration date of any rule or emergency rule scheduled to expire during the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), 52 N.J.R. 549(a), or within 90 days thereafter, is extended until 90 days after the last day of the Public Health Emergency declared in Executive Order No. 103 (2020), if the expiration date would otherwise occur sooner.>

Current through amendments included in the New Jersey Register, Volume 52, Issue 15, dated August 3, 2020.

N.J.A.C. 13:64-4.1, NJ ADC 13:64-4.1

End of Document