
 NEW JERSEY STATE POLICE PRIVATE DETECTIVE UNIT 
 

 Instructions for Employee Registration  
  
 
The Private Detective Act requires that all employees of a New Jersey licensed private detective 
agency submit fingerprints as part of the hiring and registration process. All employees will submit 
for livescan fingerprinting via the vendor, IdentoGo.   
 
Employees may not be scheduled for work until they have provided their employer with the 
fingerprinting receipt from IdentoGo and completed and employee statement. The NJ Private 
Detective Agency is required to send in employee registrations within 48 hours of 
fingerprinting/hiring.  
 
Employee registrations must conform to the following procedures: 
 
Documentation/fees submitted the Private Detective Unit: 

 
1.  A notification on the agency’s letterhead indicating the agency license number, 

the employee’s full name, date of birth, full social security number, position and 
date of hire.  

 
2. Original fingerprinting receipt from IdentoGo as proof of fingerprinting. 

 
3. Registration fee $15.00 per new employee payable to State of New Jersey.  

 
 

Payments:  
 

1. Payment for all remitted items shall be a money order, cashier’s check, certified 
check or business check.  NO personal checks or cash accepted. 

 
2. One check may include multiple registration fees.  However, DO NOT combine 

the payment for new hires and renewed employees, submit separate checks for 
each category. 

 
The licensee shall keep the following on file at the place of business for inspection purposes: 
 

1. Employees Statement (Form 202) must be completed, signed, and notarized. DO 
NOT SEND EMPLOYEE STATEMENT TO THE PRIVATE DETECTIVE 
UNIT. NO COPIES. 

 
2. Copy of fingerprint receipt from IdentoGo as proof of fingerprinting.  
 

  
 
 
            

 


