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conditions 
n	The crime must have occurred in  

New Jersey or to a New Jersey resident
n	The victim must have reported  

the crime to police
n	The victim should cooperate with  

the investigation and prosecution  
of the crime, if reasonable 

n	The claim must be filed within  
5 years of the date of the crime  
in most cases

eligible crimes
This is a list of the types of crimes 
that may qualify. Certain conditions 
may apply. For more information, 
please contact the VCCO:
n	Assault 
n	Arson
n	Bias crime
n	Burglary*
n	Disorderly conduct offenses
n	Domestic violence
n	Human trafficking
n	Indecent acts with children 
n	Kidnapping 
n	Lewd, indecent or obscene acts 
n	Manslaughter 
n	Motor vehicle offenses
n	Murder 
n	Robbery
n	Sexual assault
n	Stalking
n	Threats to do bodily harm 
 
*Must be in structure during burglary.

New Jersey 
Victims of Crime  
Compensation Office

dignity
support 

helprespect

caring 

our mission
The New Jersey Victims of Crime Compensation Office 
(VCCO) reimburses certain victims of crime for some of 
the expenses they suffer as a result of a crime. The VCCO  
is mindful of the special needs of victims and their right  
to be treated with fairness, compassion and respect.

www.njvictims.org
Toll Free 877-658-2221

apply online at...
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Can the VCCO reimburse 
me directly for expenses?
Yes. Victims or claimants can be 
reimbursed for some expenses.

Can I still file a claim  
if the suspect has not been 
arrested or if the accused  
is acquitted at trial?
Yes. Compensation may be made 
whether or not a person is prosecuted  
or found guilty.

Can the VCCO  
pay providers directly?
Yes. Once a claim is approved, 
payment can be made directly  
to providers.

I have received additional 
bills that were not considered 
in my initial award.  
Can I still submit them?
Yes. Crime related bills can  
be considered for additional 
reimbursement after the initial  
payment award has been made.

What is Crime Victims’ 
Compensation?
The Victims of Crime Compensation 
Office (VCCO) reimburses victims  
of a crime for some of the expenses 
they incur as a result of a crime.
	

Do all crime  
victims get paid?
Not always. The law sets forth the  
types of crimes that can be covered 
by the VCCO. Further, if victims 
participated in the crime or contributed 
to their injuries, they may be denied 
compensation.

Who is eligible to file?
n Victims may file their own applications. 
n Family members, and dependents  

of victims or the estate of the victims
n A person who paid for some  

of the services for the victim
n The guardian, guardian ad litem, 

estate representative, authorized 
agent of the victim or the victim’s 
dependents

If I qualify, what 
can the VCCO pay?
Expenses that may be eligible  
for reimbursement include:
n	Hospital, physician and medical  

expenses
n	Mental health counseling expenses  

up to $20,000
n	Loss of earnings up to $600 per week

n	Temporary disability, not to exceed  
24 months

n	Permanent disability, maximum  
60 months

n	Loss of earning for dependants  
or family members

n	Bereavement, maximum two weeks
n	Loss of wages due to court 

attendance
n	Loss of financial support up to  

$600 per week, maximum 48 months
n	Funeral expenses maximum $7,500
n	Attorney fees:

n	Victims’ rights attorney fees up to 
$275 per hour, maximum $10,000

n	Representation with the VCCO claim 
up to 15% of award at $275 per hour

n	Relocation expenses up to $3,000
n	Crime scene clean up to $4,000
n	Child care/day care/domestic  

help services up to $6,500

The VCCO is a payer of last resort
n	Victims must first utilize and exhaust  

other resources including State  
benefits and insurance.

NJ Office of the Attorney General
Victims of Crime Compensation Office 
www.njvictims.org • Toll Free 877-658-2221

Frequently Asked Questions How do I apply?
Complete the online VCCO claim  
form at www.njvictims.org. Include    
police reports and any documentation 
showing financial loss or need if possible. 
Once an application is received, a claims 
specialist will contact you.

Applications are also available from 
any of the 21 County Prosecutors’ 
Offices through their Victim Witness 
Coordinators.

For more information or for a claim  
application, please contact us by phone, 
mail, fax, or visit our web site.

NJ Office of the Attorney General 
Victims of Crime Compensation Office 
50 Park Place, 5th Floor 
Newark, NJ 07102

Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Walk-in Clients: Please visit our  
web site, or call our toll free number 
for details.

Toll Free: 877-658-2221

Phone: 973-648-2107

Fax: 973-648-3937

Web site: www.njvictims.org
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