

GUIDELINES FOR SUBMITTING MANDATORY REPORTS

TO THE NJ OFFICE OF THE LONG-TERM CARE OMBUDSMAN

LTCO Update

Under New Jersey law, certain individuals are legally mandated to report known or suspected instances of abuse, exploitation, crime and serious bodily injury of residents in long-term care facilities as defined by N.J.S.A.52:27G-2. Any caretaker, social worker, physician, registered or licensed practical nurse, managed care representative, staff or other professional, who, as a result of information obtained in the course of his/her employment, has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a long-term care consumer is being or has been abused or exploited, shall report such information.

WHAT DOCUMENTATION IS REQUIRED BY THE LTCO?

Mandatory Reports are to be emailed to <u>MandatoryReports@ltco.nj.gov</u> or faxed to **609-943-3479** using the NJ DOH "Reportable Event Record/Report" AAS-45 form. This form can be found on the LTCO website at <u>www.nj.gov/ltco</u> at the bottom of the page under:

Information for Facilities

Please include the following information with the AAS-45 form:

- Resident's face sheet
- A brief summary of the incident
- If resident-to-resident altercation, please include names of victim and perpetrator and face sheet of both or all residents

CONTACTING THE LTCO AT 1-877-582-6995

 Phone calls regarding mandatory reportable events will not be accepted. The report is not official until the LTCO receives an email or faxed AAS-45 with the face sheet(s) attached.

Facilities continue to be required to notify NJ DOH of mandatory reportable events. In certain circumstances local law enforcement must be also contacted.

Facility should maintain the sent confirmation in their records.

This information provided is HOW to report, not WHAT to report. Please refer to the LTCO website www.nj.gov/ltco for additional mandatory reporting responsibilities.

PLEASE NOTE: THE OFFICE OF THE STATE LONG-TERM CARE OMBUDSMAN IS NOT A FIRST RESPONDER

*Failure to report in accordance with the dictates of the Mandatory Adult Abuse Reporting Act can result in a fine from this Office in an amount up to \$500 per individual and up to \$2500 per facility (N.J.S.A. 52:27G-7.1(f)). Please note that these fines are assessed against the individual professional and the facility employing the individual who had the duty to report and failed to do so

** For more information regarding New Jersey's laws on criminal offenses and serious bodily harm, please refer to NJ Rev Stat § Title 2C—The New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice.

New Jersey Office of the Long-Term Care Ombudsman www.NJ.GOV/LTCO Laurie Brewer, LTC Ombudsman

Long-Term Care Ombudsman

1-877-582-6995
Guidance. Support. Advocacy.



MANDATORY REPORTING

For LTC facilities:

Mandatory reports should be

emailed to MandatoryReports@ltco.nj.gov or faxed to 609-943-3479 using the DOH Reportable Event Record/ Report.

Please include a face sheet for the resident.

Facility should maintain the confirmation in their records. Phone calls will not be accepted.

Other mandatory reporters should call or email the LTCO at:

Phone: 1-877-582-6995 Email: ombudsman@ltco.nj.gov

Facilities continue to be required to notify DOH of mandatory reportable events. In certain circumstances local law enforcement must be also contacted.

Under New Jersey law, certain individuals are legally mandated to report known or suspected instances of abuse, exploitation, crime and serious bodily injury of residents in long-term care facilities as defined by N.J.S.A.52:27G-2. Any caretaker, social worker, physician, registered or licensed practical nurse, managed care representative, staff or other professional, who, as a result of information obtained in the course of his/her employment, has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a long-term care consumer is being or has been abused or exploited, shall report such information.

Please note: The NJ Office of the Long-Term Care Ombudsman is not a First Responder.

Mandatory Reports* willful infliction of pain, injury, mental anguish (by staff or other residents); Abuse unreasonable confinement; or willful deprivation of services Reported to the LTCO within 24 hours **Exploitation** residents' resources used for another person's profit or advantage Reported to the LTCO within 24 hours Crime is defined by the law of the applicable political subdivision where a Crime LTC facility is located. LTC facilities must coordinate with local law Reported to local law enforcement and LTCO enforcement entities to determine what actions are considered a crime.** Immediately but not later than 24 hours an injury involving extreme physical pain; involving substantial risk of death; **Serious Bodily Injury** involving protracted loss or impairment of the function of a bodily member, Reported to local law enforcement and LTCO organ, or mental faculty; or requiring medical intervention such as surgery, Immediately but not later than 2 hours hospitalization, or physical rehabilitation**

Transfer/Discharge

Copies of all facility initiated (non-resident driven) discharge notices shall be provided to the LTCO.

Other Reports Accepted

Any person may report to LTCO any concern regarding health, safety, welfare, or rights of a resident.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A 52:27G-1 et seq; N.J.A.C 17:41-1 et seq; 42 U.S.C. 1301 section 1150B; and 42 CFR Part 483.15 (Please note, there may be additional mandatory reporting requirements or fines under other state and federal laws.)



^{*}Failure to report in accordance with the dictates of the *Mandatory Adult Abuse Reporting Act* can result in a fine from this Office in an amount up to \$500 per individual and up to \$2500 per facility (N.J.S.A. 52:27G-7.1(f)). Please note that these fines are assessed against the *individual professional* and the *facility employing the individual* who had the duty to report and failed to do so.

^{**} For more information regarding New Jersey's laws on criminal offenses and serious bodily harm, please refer to NJ Rev Stat § Title 2C—The New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice.