

# **New Jersey State Archives**

225 West State Street, PO Box 307 Trenton, NJ 08625-0307

nj.archives@sos.nj.gov

# New Jersey State Archives ~ Guide to Reproduction and Research Services, Policies and Fees ~ effective May 1st, 2023

#### **General Considerations**

Given the statutory mission of the State Archives to preserve New Jersey's public documents, the following general considerations apply to our reproduction services and policies:

- a) The State Archives maintains accessioned public records that have been legally transferred into the ownership of the Archives. It is the statutory obligation of the Archives to provide access and reproduction of such materials under the public records law and the Open Public Records Act of 2001.
- b) The State Archives also maintains—as reference material—printed books, microfilm of county records, federal censuses, vital records, etc., and other materials including database and CD-ROM resources. Reproduction and printing from these media is discretionary on the part of the Archives management and not subject to public records law. While photocopying from printed books and microfilm is available on premises, we do not offer color photocopying or photographic reproduction of published sources, illustrations from books, or copyrighted material.
- c) The Archives professional staff have been authorized by the Director to make a determination as to the fragility of manuscript and graphic material and, when appropriate, to deny direct photocopying requests. It is generally the Archives' policy to allow photocopying whenever possible in cases where an alternate media such as microfilm of the original does not exist. However, manuscript and graphic material (including photographs) suffers damage from repeated light exposure and requests for multiple photocopies of such material may be denied for this reason.
- d) In order to protect original materials the Archives prohibits the use of outside scanning and photography equipment other than a non-lighted/non-flash hand-held camera. Special arrangements must be made in advance of a visit for non-flash photography and non-lighted video. Special service charges may apply in cases where extensive staff time is required (see below). The State Archives' photographic equipment is for use by Archives staff only.

- e) Reproduced images used in publications and websites or otherwise widely distributed should credit New Jersey State Archives, Department of State.
- f) All payments (except for professional photographers' charges as explained below) should be payable to New Jersey General Treasury.

All services subject to the availability of staffing and equipment. Outside vendors may be required at the discretion of NJDARM, in which case the requestor shall pay the outside vendor directly in addition to applicable hourly or other fees of NJDARM.

Fees are authorized pursuant to P.L. 2003, c. 117, sec. 40; rules pending.

If you have further questions, please email <u>nj.archives@sos.nj.gov</u> or call 609-984-2396 (reference) or 609-777-3596 (photo reproduction).

#### **Photocopying - General**

Copies from reference books for patrons in person, up to 11"x17"	\$0.10 per page
Copies of manuscript materials, up to 11"x17"	\$1.00 per page
Copies from microfilm, up to 11"x17"	\$1.00 per page

#### **Search Fees**

Note: fee includes copy if record found; NJDARM to determine data elements required in order to perform search.

Marriage Bonds and Licenses, 1666-1799	\$5.00 per record
County Marriage Records, 1795-1878, when original is owned by	\$5.00 per record per 5
NJSA	years searched
Birth, Marriage and Death records (originals held by NJSA and	\$10.00; \$15.00 for 2-year
dating back to May 1848)	search; \$5.00 for each
	additional copy made
	for certification
Wills and Estate Inventories, 1670-1952	\$10.00 per packet, up to
	10 pages; \$1.00 for each
	additional page
Secretary of State, Oaths of Office for State Officials, 1785 to most	\$5.00 per official for a 2
current holdings	year search (*see
	footnote*)
Secretary of State's Deeds, Surveys and Commissions, ca. 1650-	\$5.00
1785	
Proprietors' Surveys, 1680s-early 1900s	\$5.00
Military service records: Revolutionary War, 1793 Militia Census,	\$5.00
Wars of 1794-1815, and Mexican War (1846-1848)	
Military service records: Civil War	\$15.00
Military service records: World War I "Unofficial Service Record"	\$5.00
Military service records: World War I "Death Information Card"	Please see <u>database</u>
Inventories of Revolutionary War Damages, 1776-1782	\$5.00

County-Level Naturalizations, 1790s-1948, when original is owned	\$10.00 for 5-year search
by NJSA	
New Jersey Supreme Court Case Files, 1704-1844	\$15.00 per packet, up to
	10 pages; \$1.00 copy fee
	for each additional page
Chancery Court Case Files up to 1948	\$5.00 for 5-year search
	(\$1.00 copy fee for each
	page will be charged
	separately)
New Jersey Newspapers articles, 1778 - mid-1900s when NJSA	\$5.00
owns microfilm of the newspaper	
Name Change Judgments, 1847-1947	\$10.00
New Jersey Home for Disabled Soldiers Case Files, 1866-1920s	\$10.00 per file, up to 10
	pages; \$1.00 for each
	additional page
Military Appropriation Vouchers (Civil War), 1861-1865	\$5.00 per item

## **Photographic Reproduction**

Scanned Image	\$25.00 per 11" x 17" scan
CD/DVD	\$5.00
Laserjet print up to 8.5 " by 14"	\$5.00
Inkjet print up to 8.5" by 14"	\$10.00
Inkjet print, 11" by 17"	\$15.00
Matte print, 16" by 20"	\$25.00
Matte print, 20" by 24"	\$35.00
Matte print, 30" by 40"	\$85.00
Matte print, 40" by 60"	\$170.00
Matte print, other sizes	\$10 per square foot
Staff time for use of, transport to and oversight of	\$25 per hour, including travel time
outside vendors	
Scanned Image	\$25.00 per 11" x 17" scan

# **Microfilming and Microfilm Reproduction**

Master negative	Please inquire - vendor pricing
Print negatives	Please inquire - vendor pricing
Service copies	Please inquire - vendor pricing

## **Certification**

Certification of record with raised State Seal	\$25.00 in addition to any applicable
	photocopy and/or search fee

<sup>\*</sup>As per P.L. 2015, chap. 59, copies of oaths of office taken after May 11, 2015 are confidential except for the full name, title, and oath date.