Skip to main content
Department of State

Business Assistance Programs

The Hon. Tahesha Way, Secretary

Urban Enterprise Zones Program

Urban Enterprise Zone Program

New Jersey's Urban Enterprise (UEZ) Program, enacted in 1983, is administered by the NJ Urban Enterprise Zone Authority which is in but not of the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs (NJDCA). The UEZ program fosters an economic climate to help revitalize designated urban communities and stimulate their growth by encouraging businesses to develop, grow, and create private sector jobs through public and private investment.

Business incentives are provided to certified zone businesses through employment and investment tax credits, reduced sales tax collections on certain retail sales, and sale tax exemptions on qualified business purchases. The annual cost to the State for this program has averaged $220 million dollars per year over the last several years. “Public Investment” is the reduction in the retail sales tax rate (3.5%), plus effect of the sales tax exemptions on purchases. Data is self-reported by firms. There are 32 zones encompassing 37 municipalities.

Businesses Benefits:

  • Reduced Sales Tax – 3.3125%
  • Tax Free Purchases on certain items such as capital equipment, machinery, facility expansion, and upgrades.
  • Financial Assistance from agencies such as NJEDA
  • Subsidized unemployment insurance costs for employees who earn less than $4,500 per quarter.
  • Energy Sales Tax Exemption for qualified manufacturing firms with at least 250 employees, 50% of whom are working in manufacturing.
  • Tax Credit Options - Businesses may elect one of the following:
    • Up to $1,500 for new permanent full-time employees hired
    • Up to 8% Corporate Business Tax credit on qualified investments.

Find help enrolling in the Program: UEZ Website at www.nj.gov/dca/affiliates/uez or 877-913-6837 609-292-1912.

Local UEZ Coordinators List

www.nj.gov/dca/affiliates/uez/coordinators/

ASBURY PARK
Sonia Spina, Director of Communications
City of Asbury Park
One Municipal Plaza
Asbury Park, NJ 07712
732-502-5749 Fax: 732-775-1483
E-mail: sonia.spina@cityofasburypark.com
NEWARK
Al-Qadr Camillo and/or Francisco Gleim
Community Economic Development Corp.
111 Mulberry Street (Market Street Suite LL)
Newark, NJ 07102
973-273-1040
E-mail: acamillo@newarkcedc.org
fgleim@newarkcedc.org
BAYONNE
Terrence Malloy, UEZ Coordinator
City of Bayonne
630 Avenue C
Bayonne, NJ 07002
201-858-6357 Fax: 201-858-6079
E-mail: Terrencemalloy@gmail.com
NEW BRUNSWICK
Glenn Patterson
Planning, Community & Economic Development
City of New Brunswick
25 Kirkpatrick Street, PO Box 269
New Brunswick, NJ 08903
732-745-5050 Fax: 732-565-7532
E-mail: patterson@cityofnewbrunswick.org
BRIDGETON
Roberta Copeland, UEZ Coordinator
City of Bridgeton, Development and Planning Office
181 E. Commerce Street
Bridgeton, NJ 08302
856-451-3407 Fax: 856-455-7421
E-mail: copelandr@cityofcridgeton.com
NORTH BERGEN
Kim Nicoliello, UEZ Coordinator
Township of North Bergen
1116 – 43rd Street, 2nd Floor
North Bergen, NJ 07047
201-392-2084 Fax: 201-392-2153
E-mail: knicoliello@northbergen.org
CAMDEN
Joe Thomas, Business Development Rep
City of Camden
520 Market Street, 4th Floor, Suite 409
Camden, NJ 08101
856-968-3531 Fax: 856-963-1841
Email: Jothomas@ci.camden.nj.us
ORANGE
Christopher Mobley, UEZ Coordinator
City of Orange Township
29 N. Day Street
Orange, NJ 07050
973-266-4061 Fax: 973-677-7847
E-mail: CMobley@ci.orange.nj.us
CARTERET
Diana St. John, Director, Community Development
Borough of Carteret
61 Cooke Avenue
Carteret, NJ 07008
732-541-3835 Fax: 732-541-1192
E-mail: stjohnd@carteret.net
PASSAIC
Soraya Stam, UEZ Coordinator
Enterprise Zone Development Corp.
City of Passaic, City Hall
330 Passaic Street, Room 205
Passaic, NJ 07055
973-365-5520 Fax: 973-365-5567
E-mail: uez@cityofpassaicnj.gov
EAST ORANGE
Gregory Good, UEZ Coordinator
Economic Development Office
City of East Orange
44 City Hall Plaza
East Orange, NJ 07017
973-266-5140 Ext. 5144 Fax: 973-673-4077
E-mail: greg.good@eastorange-nj.gov
PATERSON
Penni Forestieri, UEZ Division Director
City of Paterson
125 Ellison Street
Paterson, NJ 07505
973-321-1220 Ext. 2267 Fax: 973-321-1359
E-mail: pforestieri@patersonnj.gov
ELIZABETH
Dan Devanney, Acting UEZ Coordinator
Elizabeth Development Company/UEZ
205 First Street, PO Box 512, 1st Floor
Elizabeth, NJ 07206
908-289-0262 Ext. 218 Fax: 908-558-1142
E-mail: ddevanney@edcnj.org
PEMBERTON
David Benedetti, Director Community Development
Township of Pemberton
500 Pemberton-Browns Mills Road
Pemberton, NJ 08068-1539
609-894-3306 Fax: 609-894-7976
E-mail: dbenedetti@pemberton-twp.com
GLOUCESTER CITY
Bob Booth, UEZ Coordinator
Gloucester City Economic Development Corp.
114 N Broadway, PO Box 602
Gloucester City, NJ 08030
856-742-8011 Fax: 856-494-1157
E-mail: Bob.Booth@gloucestertravel.com
PERTH AMBOY
Junel Hutchinson, UEZ Coordinator
Business Administration
City of Perth Amboy
260 High Street
Perth Amboy, NJ 08861
732-442-6421 Fax: 732-826-1160
E-mail: jhutchinson@perthamboynj.org
GUTTENBERG
Yomaris Alcantara
Building Department Clerk
6808 Park Avenue
Guttenberg, NJ 07093
201-868-3647 Fax: 201-351-6353
E-mail: yalcantara@myguttenberg.com
PHILLIPSBURG
Pasquale Dragotta, UEZ Coordinator
Phillipsburg Town
Town Hall, 120 Filmore Street
Phillipsburg, NJ 08865
908-329-0661
E-mail: patd.uez@phillipsburgnj.org
HILLSIDE
Steeve Augustin
Office of the Mayor
Township of Hillside
1409 Liberty Avenue
Hillside, NJ 07205 973-926-3002
Cell: 908-418-2913
E-mail: saugustin@hillsidenj.us
PLAINFIELD
Jeannette Aparicio, UEZ Coordinator
Economic Development
515 Watchung Avenue
Plainfield, NJ 07060
908-226-2513 or 2513 Fax: 908-226-4909
E-mail: jeannette.aparicio@plainfieldnj.gov
IRVINGTON
Genia Philip, Director
Economic Development & Grants Oversight
Township of Irvington
Town Hall, One Civic Square, Room 102
Irvington, NJ 07111
973-399-6785 Fax: 973-399-6628
E-mail: gphilip@irvingtonnj.org
PLEASANTVILLE
Rick Ginotte, UEZ Coordinator
Urban Enterprise Zone Program
City of Pleasantville
18 N. First Street
Pleasantville, NJ 08232
609-652-7788 Fax: 609-641-8642
E-mail: rick_ginotte@pleasantvillenj.us
JERSEY CITY
Florence Baron, Development Officer
Jersey City Economic Development Corp.
City of Jersey City
298 Academy Street
Jersey City, NJ 07306
201-284-9478 Fax: 201-333-9323
E-mail: fbaron@jcedc.org
ROSELLE
Isiah Barr Administration Clerk
Borough of Roselle
210 Chestnut Street
Roselle, NJ 07203
908-259-3014 Fax: 908-259-3005
E-mail: ibarr@boroughofroselle.com
KEARNY
John Peneda, UEZ Coordinator
Urban Enterprise Zone Program
Town Hall Annex
410 Kearny Avenue
Kearny, NJ 07032-2604
201-955-7982 Ext. 8041 Fax: 201-955-1827
E-mail: jpeneda@kearnynj.org
TRENTON
Thomas McGough, UEZ Coordinator
Department of Housing & Economic Development
City of Trenton
319 E. State Street
Trenton, NJ 08608-1866
609-989-3508 Fax: 609-989-4249
E-mail: mailto:tmcgough@trentonnj.org
LAKEWOOD
David Klein, Executive Director
Lakewood Development Corp.
Municipal Bldg., 231 Third Street
Lakewood, NJ 08701
848-222-6341 Fax: 732-719-4838
E-mail: dklein@lakewoodnj.gov
UNION CITY
Tammy Zucca, Treasurer Urban
Enterprise Zone Program
City of Union City
3715 Palisade Avenue, 4th Floor
Union City, NJ 07087
201-348-2778 Fax: 201-348-0639
E-mail: tzucca@ucnj.com
LONG BRANCH
Jacob L. Jones, UEZ Coordinator
City of Long Branch
228 Broadway
Long Branch, NJ 07740
732-923-2040 Fax: 732-263-0218
E-mail: jjones@longbranch.org
VINELAND
Sandra Forosisky, UEZ Coordinator
City of Vineland
640 E. Wood Street PO Box 1508
Vineland, NJ 08362-1508
856-794-4000 Ext. 4623 Fax: 856-405-4607
E-Mail: sforosisky@vinelandcity.org
MILLVILLE
Nichole Almanza
City of Millville
12 S High Street PO Box 609
Millville, NJ 08332
856-825-7000 Ext. 7341 Fax: 856-825-7401
E-mail: Nichole.Almanza@millvillenj.gov
WEST NEW YORK
Jamie Cryan Municipal Administrator
Town of West New York
428 – 60th Street
West New York, NJ 07093
201-295-5119 Fax: 201-861-2797 Cell: 201-803-1299
E-mail: jcryan@westnewyorknj.org
MILLVILLE/VINELAND
Samantha Silvers, UEZ Coordinator
Vineland/Millville UEZ
Vineland City Hall
640 E. Wood Street, 4th Floor
Vineland, NJ 08360
856-794-4000 Ext. 4622 Fax: 856-405-4607
E-mail: samantha.silvers@millvillenj.gov
CITY OF WILDWOOD/BOROUGH OF WILDWOOD CREST/
CITY OF NORTH WILDWOOD/BOROUGH OF WEST WILDWOOD

Ernie Troiano, Mayor, City of Wildwood
Enterprise Zone Develop. Corp.
4400 New Jersey Avenue
Wildwood, NJ 08260
609-846-2044 Fax: 609-523-2444
E-mail: troiano@wildwoodnj.org
MOUNT HOLLY
Josh Brown, UEZ Coordinator
Mount Holly Township
23 Washington Street
Mount Holly, NJ 08060
609-845-1163 Fax: 609-267-1951
E-mail: jbrown@twp.mountholly.nj.us
 

Back
to top