How Communities Can Participate in

NJ HIGH SCHOOL VOTER REGISTRATION WEEKApril 6, 2025 – April 12, 2025

WAYS TO PARTICIPATE

- During the April 6-12th week of action organize and run non-partisan voter registration tables/kiosks at community events where high school students attend.
- Conduct non-partisan voter registration activities for high school students in your community through May 20th, the voter registration deadline for the Primary Election.
- Share Lieutenant Governor Way's video on your social media pages on April 7th.
- Work with your local high school to help them run a voter registration activity.
- Promote NJ High School Voter Registration Week on your social media pages. Use hashtag #NJStudentsVote

SUGGESTED VOTER REGISTRATION ACTIVITY

- Run the brief 2 minute video from Lt. Governor Way
- Share or present our provided self-guided slide presentation: <u>How to Be An Informed NJ Voter</u>
- Provide the <u>linked event flyer</u> to each student.
 The QR code takes them to the <u>Student Voting</u> and <u>Registration Page</u>. That page is also located on the NJ Voter Info Portal at **Vote.NJ.Gov**.

The student page contains:

- 1.A link to the state's Online Voter Registration Tool so students can easily register.
- 2. For those students who need it, they can find links to their county's postage paid printable paper voter registration forms.
- 3. A link for Mail-in Ballot application forms.



WHO IS ELIGIBLE TO REGISTER?

To register in New Jersey, you must be:

- A US Citizen
- At least 17 years old, though you cannot vote until you turn 18.
- A resident of the county for 30 days prior to the election
- You cannot be serving a prison sentence as a result of a conviction of an indictable offense under the laws of this or another state. Citizens on parole or probation can register to vote in New Jersey.

HOW TO REGISTER VOTERS

- Online: Requires a tablet, laptop, or PC
- In Person: Print and distribute paper registration forms.
- The <u>linked event flyer</u> can be distributed on social media.
 Have students scan the QR code on the flyer to access the Student Voter Registration and Voting Website.
- Direct students to the state's <u>Online Voter Registration</u>
 <u>Application.</u>

Keep in mind the Voter Registration Deadline for the Primary Election is May 20th.

IMPORTANT DATES FOR THE UPCOMING PRIMARY

May 20: Voter Registration Deadline

June 3-June 8: In Person Early Voting Period

June 10 by 8 PM: Mail-In Ballot Return Deadline

April 19: Mailing of Mail-In Ballots Begins

June 3: Mail-In Ballot Request (By Mail) Deadline June 9 by 3 PM: Mail-In Ballot Request Deadline with County Clerk (In Person) June 10: Election Day! Polls are open from 6:00 AM-8:00 PM

