
Garden State Film and Digital Media Jobs Act 
 

Film General Overview 
 

o Creates a transferable tax credit equal to 30% (35% in the following 
municipalities: Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, 
Gloucester, Mercer, or Salem County) of qualifies production expenses 
provided the production company meets the following requirements:   

 
o Incurs at least 60% of total film production expenses in-state (exclusive of 

postproduction costs) or incurs more than $1 million in qualified production 
expenses; 

 
o Commences principal photography within 180 days from the original 

application date or 150 days from the date of approval of the application; 
and, 

 
o Withholds 6.37% from each payment to a loan out company or 

independent contractor; 
 

o Excludes payments in excess of $500,000 made to a highly compensated 
individual for: 

 
o Costs for a story, script, or scenario used in the production of a film; and, 

 
o Wages or salaries or other compensation for writers, directors, including 

music directors, producers, and performers; and,  
 

o Reality television shows qualify for tax credits only if the production 
company producing the show has owned or leased a production facility of 
at least 20,000 sq. ft. for a minimum of 24 months, and has invested at 
least $3 million in the facility, which must be located in a designated urban 
enterprise zone.  

 
o Allows the production entity an additional credit equal to 2 percent of the 

qualified film or digital media production expenses provided that: 
 

o The application is accompanied by diversity plan; 
 

o The plan is approved; and, 
 

o The authority has verified that the applicant has met or made good faith 
efforts in achieving the goals stated within the diversity plan. 

 
o Establishes an annual cap of $75 million per fiscal year (July 1-June 30) 

thru June 30, 2023. 
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o Digital media project earn 20%-25% and have different requirements. 

 
o Applications will be considered on a first come, first serve basis. 

 
o A production company’s New Jersey production costs, and in some cases 

total production costs, must be certified by a New Jersey CPA according 
to agreed upon procedures.   

 


