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1. INTRODUCTION AND BACKGROUND 

The New Jersey Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program is one of the most 
progressive and stringent GDL systems in place in the United States.  The NJ GDL 
program was instituted on January 1, 2001.  Like other GDL programs in the U.S., the 
NJ GDL program is intended to provide teen drivers with a progressive system that 
allows for growth in their driving abilities through experience. The regulations are meant 
to limit exposure to more complicated driving scenarios. Specifically, the age at which 
full driving privileges are allowed is extended compared to previous licensing systems, 
the hours in which teens are allowed to drive are restricted, and the number of 
passengers allowed in a vehicle driven by a teen is also limited.  These are all means 
intended to lessen the number of crashes and fatalities in vehicles driven by teens.   

Although the NJ system is the most stringent GDL system in the US, little research has 
been conducted to determine the effectiveness of the New Jersey GDL program.  
Williams et al (2010) performed a preliminary analysis of the New Jersey GDL 
regulations, however this study only included data up to 2005.(1) The study reported 
crash and fatality reductions for teen drivers in New Jersey in the years immediately 
following GDL. Specifically, when normalized by adult crash rates (crashes per age-
specific census counts), 16 year old drivers experienced a 43 percent reduction in crash 
rate and 17 year old drivers experienced a 25 percent reduction in crash rate. 

Several important enhancements have been made to the NJ GDL program since the 
Williams study.  In March 2007, the State of New Jersey initiated a Teen Driving 
Commission which was charged with evaluating the state of teen driving in New Jersey 
and making recommendations that would reduce crashes involving teens.(2) 

Since the publication of the Commission’s report in 2008, New Jersey has implemented 
many of the recommendations in the report as well as other enhancements to the NJ 
GDL.  On September 17, 2008, the New Jersey Attorney General placed a ban on plea-
agreements for traffic violations charged to teen drivers.  Previously, teen traffic 
offenses were believed to be frequently plea-bargained to ‘Unsafe Operation’ – a 
citation which carried no points and hence would not trigger MVC remedial programs for 
teens.  In addition, in May 2010, the State of New Jersey modified the GDL program to 
include the following: 

 Passenger Restrictions.  Restrict teen drivers with a learner’s permit or 
probationary license to carry only one passenger unless the parent/guardian was 
in the vehicle. 

 Night Driving Restriction.  For teen drivers with either a learner’s permit or 
probationary license, no driving is allowed between 11:01pm to 5am.  Previously 
the curfew was midnight to 5am for probationary licenses. 

 Probationary License Placard (Kyleigh’s Law).  Teen drivers a probationary 
license -must display an identifying placard on their vehicles.  
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Objective 

The objective of this study is to determine the effectiveness of the New Jersey 
Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program in reducing teen crashes, traffic fatalities 
and traffic violations.   

Background and Previous Research 

In the United States since 2000 there has been an average of 5,300 fatalities in motor 
vehicle crashes involving a teen driver every year (FARS, 2000-2008). This accounts for 
14.6 percent of all fatalities in motor vehicle crashes, yet, according to the Federal 
Highway Administration, teen drivers only account for 4.8 percent of all licensed 
drivers.(3) Furthermore, 4,900 teens die every year in motor vehicle crashes, comprising 
11.7 percent of all fatalities. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) reports 
that motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for all persons aged 13-19 
years old.(4) This is all despite a decline in overall teen fatalities over the last two 
decades as shown in figure 2. 

 

Figure 1. Teen Drivers are particularly at risk of crashes at night.  In this New Jersey crash, a 17-year old 
driver struck a tree after leaving the road minutes before midnight.  The impact fractured the lumbar spine 

of the teen’s passenger (NASS/CDS Case 2005-04-070) 

 

Figure 2. Teen Fatalities in motor vehicle crashes by age from 1988-2008 (FARS 1988-2008). 
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Teen motor vehicle crashes (MVCs) are believed to occur for a number of reasons 
ranging from driver inexperience, inability to deal with distractions, and a propensity for 
excessive risk taking among some teens.(5,6)

 Support of these findings has led to 
significant changes in the way that teens are exposed to driving. 

Graduated Driver Licensing 

Graduated driver licensing (GDL) programs have been widely enacted to reduce the 
crash involvement of teenagers.  The fundamental theory behind GDL programs is that 
driving skills are acquired through practice and experience. Furthermore, novice drivers 
need time to accumulate the experiences necessary to develop their driving skills. Also, 
it has been demonstrated that driver responsibility increases with age.  Thus, placing 
restrictions on younger drivers may lead to a reduction in accident rates for the affected 
age group.(7)  The recognition of these teen-specific crash factors has led to a basic 
GDL framework that is designed to address these issues. A typical GDL system 
includes three stages of licensure and various restrictions that gradually expose the new 
driver to more challenging situations. The following characteristics are employed in the 
majority of GDL programs worldwide: 

Stage 1: Learner’s Permit 

- Supervised driving with a licensed driver  
- 6-12 month duration 

 
Stage 2: Provisional License 

- Unsupervised driving 
- 6-24 month duration 
- Passenger Restrictions 
- Night driving restrictions 

 
Stage 3: Full Licensure 

- Full driving privileges 
- Barring no traffic violations / crashes while under GDL regulation 

Teen Drivers 

The universe of literature concerning GDL is large. The literature describes the complex 
issues associated with teen drivers and the effectiveness of policies to reduce teen 
crash risk. The large volume of research on teen driving has provided insight into the 
successes and failures of licensing systems worldwide and offered perspective about 
why teens are in particular need of intervention and training prior to licensure. 

Naturally, teenagers have not reached a maximal maturity in many areas of life, 
including their approach to driving.(8) Furthermore, it has been shown that any beginning 
driver, regardless of age or maturity, possesses a higher crash risk as compared to 
more experienced drivers.(9,10) Novice drivers possess the highest crash risk in the first 
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6 months of driving, and crash risk steadily declines with age.(10)  Both age (i.e. maturity) 
and experience have been identified as the largest contributors to increased teen crash 
risk.(See references 6, 8, 10, 11, 12, and 13.) This has created what has been labeled the “Teen 
Driver Paradox”.(8) Essentially, the teen driver paradox states that teen drivers require 
experience to develop their driving skills but increasing their exposure concurrently 
increases their chances of a crash. Deery (1999) reported that teen drivers are quite 
adept at acquiring basic driving skills.(14) However, their limited experience does not 
allow them to develop the high-order cognitive abilities required to safely address many 
complex driving situations.  Furthermore, Brown and Groeger (1988) reported that risk 
perception is controlled by two inputs: 1) information on the potential hazards and 2) 
information on a person’s abilities to handle these hazards.(15) A recent study examined 
the driving abilities of Finnish and Dutch novice drivers and found that 30-40 percent of 
novice drivers over estimate their own driving abilities.(16)  

To mitigate these influences, GDL programs have been adopted by many countries and 
across the United States. The central focus is to gradually expose new drivers to 
increasingly difficult driving environments. Historically, many new drivers in the United 
States have gone through a driver training course that exposed them to driving 
environments under the supervision of a certified instructor. However, it has been found 
that traditional driver education courses alone have not been effective at reducing crash 
risk of new drivers.(17) Instead, increasing the time that a teen is under direct supervision 
of a licensed driver can help to provide more situational training. This is addressed by 
enlisting the support and supervision of parents. The inclusion of the learner’s permit in 
a GDL program can be considered as an apprenticeship-style solution to the need for 
increased supervision and training for a teen driver.(8) Under the skilled direction of an 
experienced driver, the teen (apprentice) gains event specific training that hones their 
abilities. Crashes under supervised conditions are relatively infrequent. Therefore, this 
has provided a lower risk, gradual, and exposure based training process for the new 
driver.(12)  In fact, Gregersen et al (2000) investigated the effects of a regulation change 
that lowered the minimum age for obtaining a permit (from 17 ½ to 16 years old) while 
maintaining the minimum age for full licensure (18 years old).(18) It was shown that teen 
drivers who had a prolonged stay in the permit stage had lower crash rates after full 
licensure as compared to those who spent less time in the permit stage. Most 
importantly, it was found that the decrease in crash rate for licensed drivers who spent 
more time in the permit stage was not offset by an increase in supervised driving crash 
rate. Therefore, it was concluded that the experience gained through supervised driving 
was in fact producing better drivers after licensure, despite the fact that they began 
supervised driving at a younger age. 

Presumably, once a teen driver has completed the learner’s stage of licensure, they 
would be ready to face the challenges of driving with the knowledge and experience 
they have acquired. However, other complications and distractions come with 
unsupervised driving, namely distractions from passengers and an increase in risky 
behavior. In fact, it has been shown that crash risk for teen drivers is the highest in the 
first month of unsupervised  licensing.(10) Efforts to minimize factors that may increase 
the likelihood of an unsupervised teen driver crash are an important component of GDL 
regulation. For instance, the number of passengers in a teen driver vehicle has been 
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shown to be directly correlated to increased crash risk.(19) As  a result, restrictions on 
the number of allowed passengers for those licensed in the provisional stages has 
become an integral part of many GDL programs.(6) Furthermore, a restriction on 
nighttime driving has also been shown to effectively reduce crashes during this time 
frame.(20,21) While this may be largely due to a reduction in exposure, it may also allow 
the teen driver to gain more experience prior to undertaking the challenges associated 
with nighttime driving. It was found that while only 14 percent of the miles driven by a 
teen occurred between 9pm and 5:59am, these hours accounted for 39 percent of all 
teen MVC fatalities prior to GDL implementation.(22) 

The implementation of GDL programs is dependent on legislative change, and thus, 
potential obstacles. It has been suggested that resistance to the program may result 
from a belief that restrictions on teen driving are “unfair” to teen drivers who would not 
be considered high risk. However, many GDL proponents argue that, regardless of 
individual differences in maturity or propensity for risk taking, all beginner drivers are 
subject to increases in crash risk because of inexperience, thus necessitating a 
progressive licensing system.(8) Also, in a program that requires direct parental 
involvement, it is necessary that the parent be committed to the process. Interviews of 
both parents and teens have shown strong support for GDL.(23) This will help to advance 
the process of enhancing the current GDL programs.  

Graduated Driver License in the United States 

The licensing of new drivers in United States has been an enterprise controlled by the 
individual States. As a result, there has always been a large variation in the 
requirements and restrictions associated with licensing. Historically, many of the pre-
GDL licensing systems included varied learners permit requirements. The learner’s 
permit was instituted to increase the amount of supervised driving prior to full licensing. 
However many States had little or no requirements that dictated how long a driver had 
to remain in this stage.(8) In 1977, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
(NHTSA) outlined their recommendations for a progressive system of licensing new 
drivers. This was intended to promote upgrades in the structure and requirements of 
State licensing programs. These recommendations were an improvement over many of 
the existing systems, however, they were never fully introduced in the United 
States.(8,12) In fact, it was not until 1987 when New Zealand became the first 
Government to introduce what would be considered a modern GDL system.(24) Ontario 
implemented the first GDL system in North America in 1994 and Florida was the first 
State to implement a modern GDL system in the U.S. in 1996.(25,26) All States have 
updated their licensing laws since this time to include at least some features of a 
modern GDL program. However, significant differences exist in the requirements and 
restrictions associated with each State licensing laws. As a result, the Insurance 
Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) has created a scoring system to evaluate each 
State’s licensing laws based on what they consider an “Optimal” program.(27) The 
requirements for such a program are given below: 

IIHS Optimal GDL Requirements 
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o 3 stages (Learners Permit (supervised), Provisional License (unsupervised), and 
Unrestricted License) 

o Entry age of 16 years old 
o 30-50 hours of supervised practice 
o Restrict night driving at 9 or 10 pm  
o No teen passengers / no more than one teen passenger 
o Learners permit for at least 6 months 
o Unrestricted licensure at 18 years old 

Graduated Driver License Regulation by State 

The varying regulations included in the licensing laws of each State and Washington 
D.C. are included in the table 1.(27) IIHS has scored each of these GDL systems as 
either “Good (G),” “Fair (F),” “Marginal (M),” or “Poor (P)” based on how well they match 
up with the optimal system that IIHS has outlined. Currently, 35 States have a “Good” 
rating, 10 have a “Fair” rating, 6 have a “Marginal” rating and no State received a “Poor” 
rating. 
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Table 1. The GDL regulations of each State and Washington D.C.
(27) 

  
Learner Stage 

Intermediate Stage Restrictions on Driving while 
Unsupervised 

Minimum Age at 
Which Restrictions 
May Be Lifted 

IIHS 
Rating 

State 
Min. 
Entry 
Age 

Mandatory 
Holding 
Period 

Min. Amount of 
Supervised Driving 

Min. Age 
Unsupervised 
Driving Prohibited 

Restriction on Passengers 
(family members excepted 
unless otherwise noted) 

Nighttime 
Restriction 

Passenger 
Restriction 

G 
Optimal 
provisions 

16 yr. 6 mo 30–50 hr 
16 yr., 
6 mo 

9/10 pm–5 am 
No more than 1 teenage 
passenger* 

Until age 
18 

Until age 
18 

G Alabama 15 yr. 6 mo 
30 hr (none with 
driver ed.) 

16 yr. Midnight–6 am 
No more than 1 
passengers 

17 yr. 17 yr. 

G Alaska 14 yr. 6 mo 
40 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night or 
in inclement weather 

16 yr. 1 am–5 am First 6 mo: No passengers 
16 yr., 
6 mo 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

F Arizona 
15 yr., 
 6 mo 

6 mo 

30 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 
(none with driver 
ed.) 

16 yr. Midnight–5 am 
First 6 mo: No more than 1 
passenger younger than 
18 yr. 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

G Arkansas 14 yr. 6 mo None 16 yr. 11 pm–4 am No more than 1 passenger 18 yr. 18 yr. 

G California 
15 yr., 
6 mo 

6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 11 pm–5 am 

First 12 mo: No 
passengers younger than 
20 yr. (limited exception for 
immediate family) 

17 yr. 17 yr. 

G Colorado 15 yr. 12 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. Midnight–5 am 
First 6 mo: No passengers 
Second 6 mo: No more 
than 1 passenger 

17 yr. 17 yr. 

G Connecticut 16 yr. 
6 mo (4 
mo with 
driver ed.) 

40 hr 
16 yr., 
4 mo 

11 pm–5 am 

First 6 mo: No passengers 
other than parents or 
driving instructor; Second 
6 mo: No passengers 
other than parents, driving 
instructor, or members of 
immediate family 

18 yr. 
17 yr.,  
4 mo 

G Delaware 16 yr. 6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr., 
6 mo 

10 pm–6 am No more than 1 passenger 17 yr. 17 yr. 
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Learner Stage 

Intermediate Stage Restrictions on Driving while 
Unsupervised 

Minimum Age at 
Which Restrictions 
May Be Lifted 

IIHS 
Rating 

State 
Min. 
Entry 
Age 

Mandatory 
Holding 
Period 

Min. Amount of 
Supervised Driving 

Min. Age 
Unsupervised 
Driving Prohibited 

Restriction on Passengers 
(family members excepted 
unless otherwise noted) 

Nighttime 
Restriction 

Passenger 
Restriction 

G 
Washington, 
D.C. 

16 yr. 6 mo 

40 hr in learner’s 
stage; 10 hr at night 
in intermediate 
stage 

16 yr., 
6 mo 

September–June: 11 
pm–6 am Su–Th, 
12:01 am–6 am Sa–
Su; July–August: 
12:01am–6 am 

First 6 mo: No passengers; 
Thereafter, no more than 2 
passengers 

18 yr. 18 yr. 

F Florida 15 yr. 12 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 
11 pm–6 am (age 
16), 1 am–5 am (age 
17) 

None 18 yr. — 

G Georgia 15 yr. 12 mo 
40 hr, 6 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. Midnight–6 am 

First 6 mo: No passengers 
Second 6 mo: No more 
than 1 passenger younger 
than 21 yr. Thereafter, no 
more than 3 passengers 

18 yr. 18 yr. 

G Hawaii 
15 yr., 
6 mo 

6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 11 pm–5 am 

No more than 1 passenger 
younger than 18 yr. 
(household members 
excepted) 

17 yr. 17 yr. 

M Idaho 
14 yr., 
6 mo 

6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

15 yr. Sunset to sunrise 

First 6 mo: Licensees 16 
yr. and younger can have 
no more than 1 passenger 
younger than 17 yr. 

16 yr. 
15 yr.,  
6 mo 

G Illinois 15 yr. 9 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 
Starts 10 pm Su–Th, 
11 pm Fri–Sat, ends 
6 am 

First 12 mo: No more than 
1 passenger younger than 
20 yr. 

18 yr. 17 yr. 

G Indiana 
15 yr., 
6 mo 

6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr., 6 mo 
(16 yr., 9 mo 
without 
driver ed.) 

First 180 days, 10 
pm-5 am then 11 
pm–5 am Su–F 1 
am–5 am Sa–Su 

First 180 days: No 
passengers 

18 yr. 

17 yr. (17 
yr., 3 mo. 
without 
driver ed.) 

4 Iowa 14 yr. 6 mo 
20 hr, 2 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 12:30 am–5 am None 17 yr. — 
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Learner Stage 

Intermediate Stage Restrictions on Driving while 
Unsupervised 

Minimum Age at 
Which Restrictions 
May Be Lifted 

IIHS 
Rating 

State 
Min. 
Entry 
Age 

Mandatory 
Holding 
Period 

Min. Amount of 
Supervised Driving 

Min. Age 
Unsupervised 
Driving Prohibited 

Restriction on Passengers 
(family members excepted 
unless otherwise noted) 

Nighttime 
Restriction 

Passenger 
Restriction 

G Kansas 14 yr. 
12 mo  
(eff 
1/1/10) 

25 hr, in learner 
phase; 25 hr before 
age 16; 10 of the 50 
hr must be at night 

16 yr. 
9 pm–5 am 
(eff 1/1/10) 

First 6 mo: No more than 1 
passenger younger than 
18 (eff 1/1/10) 

16 yr.,  
6 mo  
(eff 
1/1/10) 

16 yr.,  
6 mo  
(eff 1/1/10) 

G Kentucky 16 yr. 6 mo 
60 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

Midnight–6 am 

No more than 1 passenger 
younger than 20 unless 
supervised by a driving 
instructor 

17 yr. 17 yr. 

F Louisiana 15 yr. 6 mo 35 hr 16 yr. 11 pm–5 am None 17 yr. — 

G Maine 15 yr. 6 mo 
35 hr, 5 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. Midnight–5 am 
First 180 days: No 
passengers 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

G Maryland 
15 yr., 
9 mo 

9 mo 
60 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

Midnight–5 am 
First 5 mo: No passengers 
younger than 18 

18 yr. 
16 yr.,  
11 mo 

G 
Massachusett
s 

16 yr. 6 mo 40 hr 
16 yr.,  
6 mo 

12:30 am–5 am  
(between 12:30 am–
1:00 am and 4:00 
am–5:00 am the 
night driving and 
passenger 
restrictions are 
subject to 
enforcement;) 

First 6 mo: No passengers 
younger than 18 

18 yr. 17 yr. 

F Michigan 
14 yr., 
9 mo 

6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. Midnight–5 am None 17 yr. — 

G Minnesota 15 yr. 6 mo 
30 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 
First 6 mo: 
Midnight–5 am 

First 6 mo: No more than 1 
passenger younger than 
20 Second 6 mo: No more 
than 3 passengers 
younger than 20 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

17 yr. 

F Mississippi 15 yr. 12 mo None 16 yr. 
10 pm–6 am Sun–
Thu; 11:30 pm–6 am 
Fri–Sat 

None 
16 yr.,  
6 mo 

— 
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Learner Stage 

Intermediate Stage Restrictions on Driving while 
Unsupervised 

Minimum Age at 
Which Restrictions 
May Be Lifted 

IIHS 
Rating 

State 
Min. 
Entry 
Age 

Mandatory 
Holding 
Period 

Min. Amount of 
Supervised Driving 

Min. Age 
Unsupervised 
Driving Prohibited 

Restriction on Passengers 
(family members excepted 
unless otherwise noted) 

Nighttime 
Restriction 

Passenger 
Restriction 

G Missouri 15 yr. 6 mo 
40 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 1 am–5 am 

First 6 mo: No more than 1 
passenger younger than 
19 yr. Thereafter: No more 
than 3 passengers 
younger than 19 yr. 

17 yr.,  
11 mo 

17 yr.,  
11 mo 

M Montana 
14 yr., 
6 mo 

6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

15 yr. 11 pm-5 am 

First 6 mo: No more than 1 
passenger younger than 
18 yr. Second 6 mo: No 
more than 3 passengers 
younger than 18 yr. 

16 yr. 16 yr. 

G Nebraska 15 yr. 6 mo 

50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 
(none with driver 
ed.) 

16 yr. Midnight–6 am 
First 6 mo: No more than 1 
passenger younger than 
19 yr. 

17 yr. 
16 yr.,  
6 mo 

G Nevada 
15 yr., 
6 mo 

6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 10 pm–5 am 
First 6 mo: No passengers 
younger than 18 yr. 

18 yr. 
16 yr.,  
6 mo 

F 
New 
Hampshire 

15 yr., 
6 mo 

None 
40 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 1 am–5 am 
First 6 mo: No more than 1 
passenger younger than 
25 yr. 

17 yr., 1 
mo 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

G New Jersey 16 yr. 6 mo None 17 yr. 
Midnight–5 am until 
5/1/10; then 11 pm–
5 am 

No more than 1 passenger 
(household members 
excepted) until 5/1/10 
when the exception will be 
limited to the drivers’ 
dependents 

18 yr. 18 yr. 

M New Mexico 15 yr. 6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

15 yr.,  
6 mo 

Midnight–5 am 
No more than 1 passenger 
younger than 21 yr. 

16 yr., 6 
mo 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

G New York 16 yr. 
6 mo  
(eff 
2/22/10) 

50 hr, 15 of which 
must be at night (eff 
2/22/10) 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

9 pm–5 am 
No more than 1 
passengers younger than 
21 yr. (eff 2/22/10) 

17 yr. (18 
yr. without 
driver ed.) 

17 yr. (18 
yr. without 
driver ed.) 
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Learner Stage 

Intermediate Stage Restrictions on Driving while 
Unsupervised 

Minimum Age at 
Which Restrictions 
May Be Lifted 

IIHS 
Rating 

State 
Min. 
Entry 
Age 

Mandatory 
Holding 
Period 

Min. Amount of 
Supervised Driving 

Min. Age 
Unsupervised 
Driving Prohibited 

Restriction on Passengers 
(family members excepted 
unless otherwise noted) 

Nighttime 
Restriction 

Passenger 
Restriction 

G North Carolina 15 yr. 12 mo None 16 yr. 9 pm–5 am 

No more than 1 passenger 
< 21yr.; if a family member 
younger than 21 yr. is 
already a passenger then 
no other passengers 
younger than 21 who are 
not family members 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

M North Dakota 14 yr. 6 mo None 16 yr. 
 

— 
  

G Ohio 
15 yr., 
6 mo 

6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 
Midnight–6 am (age 
16)  1 am–5 am (age 
17) 

No more than 1 passenger 18 yr. 17 yr. 

G Oklahoma 
15 yr., 
6 mo 

6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 10 pm–5 am No more than 1 passenger 

16 yr., 6 
mo (17 yr. 
without 
driver ed.) 

16 yr., 6 
mo (17 yr. 
without 
driver ed.) 

G Oregon 15 yr. 6 mo 
50 hr (100 hr without 
driver ed.) 

16 yr. Midnight–5 am 

First 6 mo: No passengers 
younger than 20 yr. 
Second 6 mo: No more 
than 3 passengers 
younger than 20 yr. 

17 yr. 17 yr. 

G Pennsylvania 16 yr. 6 mo 50 hr 
16 yr.,  
6 mo 

11 pm–5 am None 
17 yr. (18 
yr. without 
driver ed.) 

— 

G Rhode Island 16 yr. 6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

1 am–5 am 
First 12 mo: No more than 
1 passenger younger than 
21 yr. 

17 yr.,  
6 mo 

17 yr.,  
6 mo 

M 
South 
Carolina 

15 yr. 6 mo 
40 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

15 yr.,  
6 mo 

6 pm–6 am EST, 8 
pm–6 am EDT 

No more than 2 
passengers younger than 
21 yr. (driving to and from 
school excepted) 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 
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Learner Stage 

Intermediate Stage Restrictions on Driving while 
Unsupervised 

Minimum Age at 
Which Restrictions 
May Be Lifted 

IIHS 
Rating 

State 
Min. 
Entry 
Age 

Mandatory 
Holding 
Period 

Min. Amount of 
Supervised Driving 

Min. Age 
Unsupervised 
Driving Prohibited 

Restriction on Passengers 
(family members excepted 
unless otherwise noted) 

Nighttime 
Restriction 

Passenger 
Restriction 

M South Dakota 14 yr. 
6 mo (3 
mo with 
driver ed.) 

None 

14 yr., 6 mo 
(14 yr., 3 mo 
with driver 
ed.) 

10 pm–6 am None 16 yr. — 

G Tennessee 15 yr. 6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 11 pm–6 am No more than 1 passenger 17 yr. 17 yr. 

G Texas 15 yr. 6 mo 
20 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. Midnight–5 am 
No more than 1 passenger 
younger than 21 yr. 

17 yr. 17 yr. 

G Utah 15 yr. 6 mo 
40 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. Midnight–5 am First 6 mo: No passengers 17 yr. 
16 yr.,  
6 mo 

F Vermont 15 yr. 1 yr 
40 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. None No passengers — 
16 yr.,  
6 mo 

G Virginia 
15 yr., 
6 mo 

9 mo 
45 hr, 15 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr.,  
3 mo 

Midnight-4 am 

First 12 mo: No more than 
1 passenger younger than 
18 yr.; thereafter, no more 
than 3 passengers 
younger than 18 yr. 

18 yr. 18 yr. 

G Washington 15 yr. 6 mo 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 1 am–5 am 

First 6 mo: No passengers 
younger than 20 yr. 
Second 6 mo: No more 
than 3 passengers 
younger than 20 yr. 

17 yr. 17 yr. 

G West Virginia 15 yr. 6 mo 

50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 
(none with driver 
ed.) 

16 yr. 10 pm–5 am 

First 6 mo: No passengers 
younger than 20 yr. 
Second 6 mo: No more 
than 1 passenger younger 
than 20 yr. 

17 yr. 17 yr. 

G Wisconsin 
15 yr., 
6 mo 

6 mo 
30 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. Midnight–5 am No more than 1 passenger 
16 yr.,  
9 mo 

16 yr.,  
9 mo 

F Wyoming 15 yr. 10 days 
50 hr, 10 of which 
must be at night 

16 yr. 11 pm–5 am 
No more than 1 passenger 
younger than 18 yr. 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 

16 yr.,  
6 mo 
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The STANDUP Act 

The Safe Teen and Novice Driver Uniform Protection Act (STANDUP Act) was 
introduced to the House of Representatives in April of 2009. The bill proposes that 
States that adhere to a minimum set of GDL regulations be awarded incentive grants. 
The minimum requirements include: 

 Three stage licensing process (learner’s permit, intermediate license, basic 
license). 

 Minimum entry age of 16 years old. 

 Nighttime driving restrictions until full licensure at 18 years old. 

 Cell phone / texting while driving prohibited until full licensure at 18 years old. 

 Passengers restricted to no more than one non-family member passenger until 
full licensure at 18 years old, unless accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 
years old. 

Any State that adopts these regulations would be awarded an incentive grant for each 
of the three years following enactment. Currently, only New Jersey and Washington 
D.C. adhere to all of these regulations with their enacted GDL laws. However, many 
States have instituted regulations that include at least some of these recommendations.  

Graduated Driver Licensing in New Jersey 

Teen fatalities in New Jersey continue to occur at a rate of roughly 80 deaths per year 
despite the implementation of a Graduated Driving Licensing in 2001. In response to 
this unresolved issue, the State of New Jersey instituted a Teen Driver Study 
Commission (TDSC) to seek new methods to reduce both the number and severity of 
crashes involving novice drivers.   

The New Jersey GDL program is considered to be one of the most progressive and 
stringent in the United States. It is comprised of three stages of licensure for new teen 
drivers: learner’s permit at a minimum of 16 years of age; probationary license at 17 
years old; and a basic license at 18 years old. Each phase carries restrictions which 
reduce novice driver exposure to risky situations, such as driving at night.  In New 
Jersey, the learner’s permit requires a minimum of six months of supervised driving.  
The provisional license allows unsupervised driving for one year, but carries several 
restrictions including a ban on driving between 11:01pm-5:00am, and limits on the 
number of passengers.  At each stage, these restrictions are gradually lifted if the driver 
adheres to the GDL regulations until full driving privilege is reached. The New Jersey 
GDL has been given a “Good” ranking by the IIHS standards. The only IIHS 
recommended regulation that is missing from the New Jersey system is a requirement 
of at least 30 hours of supervised driving for drivers in the learner’s stage. The New 
Jersey GDL system also lost a ranking point for a night-time restriction that occurs after 
10 pm. The current specifications of the New Jersey GDL laws at the time of this report 
are the following: 
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1.  Learner’s Permit (Supervised) 

 Requirements 
o Minimum age, 16  
o Display reflective decal on the license plate 
o Pass vision screening and written test  
o Complete 6 hour behind-the-wheel driver training (required for 16 year 

olds, optional for 17-20 year olds)  

 Restrictions 
o Must be accompanied by an adult who is at least 21 years of age and has 

held a NJ driver license for at least 3 years  
o Limit of one, non-family member passenger; may transport as many family 

member passengers as there are seat belts in the vehicle  
o No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m.  
o No use of hand-held or hands-free wireless, interactive devices (cell 

phones, iPods, video games)  
o Driver and all passengers must wear seat belts  

2. Probationary License (unsupervised)  

 Requirements 
o Minimum age, 17  
o Display reflective decal on the license plate 
o Complete all requirements of the learner’s permit listed above  
o Hold learner’s permit for a minimum of six months without suspensions or 

postponements  
o Pass road test  

 Restrictions 
o Limit of one passenger, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian  
o No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m. (waiver available for 

employment and religious activities and/or emergency situations)  
o No use of hand-held or hands-free wireless interactive devices (cell 

phones, ipods, video games)  
o Driver and all passengers must wear seat belts  

3. Basic License (unsupervised, no restrictions)  

 Requirements 
o Minimum age 18  
o Hold provisional license for a minimum of 12 months without suspensions 

or postponements 
o Complete all the requirements of the provisional license  

 

A table that exhibits how the New Jersey GDL system compares to the GDL in  
Washington D.C. and the recommendations of IIHS and the STAND UP Act are given in 
table 2. 
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Table 2. The GDL recommendations of IIHS and the STAND UP Act compared to those in place in New 
Jersey Washington D.C.

(27) 

 
Learner Stage Intermediate Stage Minimum Exit Age 

 

Min.  
Entry  
Age 

Holding  
Period 

Min.  
Supervised  
Driving 

Min.  
Age 

Night  
Restrictions 

Passenger 
Restriction 

Nighttime  
Restriction 

Passenger  
Restriction 

IIHS 16 yr. 6 mo 30–50 hr 
16 yr.,  
6 mo 

9/10 pm 
– 5 am 

No more than 1  
teenage passenger 

18 yr. 18 yr. 

STAND UP  
Act 

16 yr. - - - 
None  
Specified 

No more than 1  
teenage passenger 

18 yr. 18 yr. 

New Jersey 16 yr. 6 mo - 17 yr. 11pm – 5am 
No more than 1  
passenger 

18 yr. 18 yr. 

Washington, 
D.C. 

16 yr. 6 mo 50 hr 
16 yr.,  
6 mo 

11pm  – 6am 
No more than 2  
passenger 

18 yr. 18 yr. 

 

Enhancements to the Current GDL Regulations 

The TDSC report offered a series of recommendations to revise, update, and 
strengthen New Jersey’s Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program. As a direct result 
of the 47 recommendations provided by the TDSC report, a number of legislative bills 
have been proposed and/or signed into law that allow for further enhancements to the 
current GDL regulations. This includes “Kyleigh’s Law,” named after Kyleigh D’Alessio, 
a 16 teen year old that was killed in a vehicle driven by a fellow teen. Changes to the 
New Jersey GDL requirements include a requirement that all permit and provisional 
license drivers display a reflective decal on their vehicle that identifies them as a GDL 
driver. This is meant to make it easier for law enforcement to identify teen drivers and 
monitor their behavior. Also, the nighttime restrictions for provisional license drivers 
were moved from midnight to 11 pm and the number of passengers was reduced to 
one, regardless of family affiliation, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. All of 
these new regulations went into effect on May 1, 2010.  

Other requirements that have been presented but are waiting for approval will require 
teen drivers to log 50 hours of supervised practice driving for those who participate in 6 
hours of behind-the-wheel training. The proposed law would require 100 hours for those 
who do not participate in the behind-the-wheel training before receiving their provisional 
license. In addition, it has been proposed that the minimum length of time that a teen 
must hold a permit before being allowed to obtain a provisional license be extended 
from 6 months to 12 months. 

Finally, a directive from the New Jersey Attorney General, Anne Milgram, eliminated 
plea agreements for GDL holders, effective September 17, 2008. It was found that 
many teen drivers had entered plea agreements after receiving traffic violations. Under 
a plea agreement, a fine was assessed but all points on the driver’s license were 
removed. This allowed teen drivers who were cited for a violation to circumvent rules 
that would have resulted in postponements in the GDL licensing process. It was thought 
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that if teens were no longer able to avoid the GDL penalties associated with receiving a 
violation, they may become more conscientious drivers.    

The Need to Evaluate New Jersey’s GDL Law 

Both the original GDL regulations and the subsequent enhancements were meant to 
improve teen driver safety and ability. However, as noted in recommendation 1.9 in the 
TDSC report, without an analysis of real world crash and traffic violation data, 
improvements based on GDL implementation are only speculative. Also, it would be 
sensible to establish the potential benefits of the enacted and proposed enhancements, 
including an analysis of the ban on plea agreements for GDL holders.  

The benefits of the stringent New Jersey GDL may allow for an early evaluation of the 
STANDUP Act, prior to its enactment. At the time of this thesis, New Jersey and 
Washington D.C. were the only two jurisdictions in the United States that met or 
exceeded the STANDUP act minimum regulations. With the availability of New Jersey 
police reports and the Motor Vehicle Commission’s (MVC) violations records, it is 
possible to identify the benefits that are unique to a more stringent licensing program. In 
particular, the effectiveness of the New Jersey GDL program, compared to other 
programs, may provide insight into the effectiveness of increasing the minimum age 
requirements for all stages and regulations.  

Previous Graduated Driver License Effectiveness studies 

A number of research efforts that have highlighted the successes of the current GDL 
programs. Studies, both domestically and abroad, have shown reductions in crash rates 
associated with GDL regulations. It has been shown that the crash rates in the first year 
of restricted, unsupervised driving have been reduced by 14-24 percent. However, only 
a 3-6 percent reduction in crash rates in the first year of unrestricted, unsupervised 
driving has been identified.(See references 20, 28, 29, and 30.) This indicates that the 
improvements in teen crash rates seen with GDL are most pronounced while the drivers 
are subject to the regulations of GDL.  

Similarly, studies have shown reductions in the fatality rates of teen drivers as well. 
However, it has been found that the fatality rates amongst teens can vary by age. All 
studies that investigated the fatality rate for drivers in the first year of unsupervised 
driving who are subject to nighttime and or passenger restrictions showed a decrease in 
fatality rates of 15-57 percent with GDL implementation.(See references 20, 21, 28, 31, 32, 33, and 34.) 
However, the fatality rates for teenage drivers who have graduated from the GDL 
programs are more mixed. For example, Males (2007) noted a decrease in fatality rates 
for 16 year old drivers but an increase in fatality rates for 18 year olds, resulting in an 
overall increase in fatality rates for all teen drivers under GDL regulation in California.(34) 
Agent (2001) also found an overall increase in teen driver fatality rates from the pre-
GDL period to the GDL era.(31) However, it was found that the fatality rates of teen driver 
decreased for 16 and 18 year olds, while increasing for 17 and 19 year olds.  

These studies have indicated that crash rates involving teens may have been reduced, 
but the severest crashes (i.e. fatal crashes) involving teen drivers may not have 
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changed, particularly for those who have graduated from the GDL program. It is 
possible that the restrictions of GDL have reduced exposure and increased driver 
conscientiousness while subject to the regulations of the program. It is difficult, 
however, to determine if these effects translate into more conscientious or prepared 
drivers after graduation from GDL. 

 

  



   18 

2. THE EFFECTIVENESS OF NEW JERSEY’S GRADUATED DRIVER’S 
LICENSE REGULATIONS IN REDUCING TEEN DRIVER CRASH AND 
FATALITY RATES 

Introduction 

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) was introduced in New Jersey in 2001. This licensing 
system allows new drivers to gain driving experience under a more controlled 
environment by restricting conditions under which new drivers can operate a vehicle. 
The current New Jersey system has three tiers of licensure: (1) examination permit, (2) 
probationary license, and (3) full license. The permit can be obtained at age 16, and 
drivers with a permit are required to have a supervising driver in the passenger seat. 
After at least six months of holding a permit and a minimum age of 17, drivers can 
obtain a probationary license.  The probationary license does not require drivers to be 
supervised, but does restrict the number of passengers in the vehicle and the time 
during which the vehicle can be operated. As the final tier, drivers can obtain a full 
license with no restrictions at age 18 or after the probationary license has been held for 
a year.  

Since the enactment of GDL in 2001, two initiatives have been instituted which impact 
the regulations on those with a GDL. On September 17, 2008, the New Jersey Attorney 
General banned GDL participants from plea-bargaining from a point-carrying violation to 
a zero point-carrying violation.(35) Next, Kyleigh’s Law was passed on May 1, 2010, 
requiring those in the GDL system to display a decal on the front and rear license 
plates.(36) Another law enacted simultaneously with Kyleigh’s law amended the 
restrictions on those with a GDL.(36) Drivers with a probationary license are not allowed 
to drive between 11:01 pm and 5:00 am. Previously, those with a probationary license 
were not allowed to drive between 12:01 am and 5:00 am. Additionally, those on a 
probationary license are limited to only one other passenger, including family members, 
unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. Hands-free and hand held devices cannot 
be used at any time, and seat belts must be worn by the driver and all passengers and 
all times.(37)  

Objective 

The objective of this study is to determine the effect of the GDL laws on teen crash 
rates in New Jersey. All three major components of the NJ GDL law were evaluated, 
including the original GDL law implemented in 2001, banning of plea-bargaining in 
2008, and the Kyleigh’s Law in 2010.  

Data Sources 

The following section describes the data sources used to compute the effectiveness of 
the NJ GDL program in reducing teen crashes and teen crash related fatalities.  
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NJCRASH  

The largest source of data for crashes in the State of New Jersey is the NJCRASH 
database provided by the New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT). This 
publicly available database is a record of all police reported crashes in New Jersey from 
1997-2012. The NJCRASH data is available in two separate formats: 1997-2000 crash 
years and 2001-2012 crash years. The format changeover coincided with the 
implementation of the GDL program. As a result, the formatting, and any differences 
directly related to the change in formatting were considered as possible confounding 
factors when comparing the licensing populations. This is of particular importance 
because the 1997-2000 crash data is known to have data quality problems.  

Fatal Automotive Reporting System (FARS)  

The Fatal Automotive Reporting System (FARS) is a database of all traffic related 
fatalities in the United States starting in 1975. The database is maintained by the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and includes all automotive 
related fatalities on public roadways where the person died of crash related injuries 
within 30 days of the crash. This data was used to investigate the effect of GDL on the 
number of teen fatalities and fatal crashes involving teen drivers in New Jersey with the 
implementation of GDL. 

Methods 

The NJCRASH database from 1997-June, 2012 was used for this analysis. Only drivers 
with a New Jersey license were included, since the GDL laws would not apply to out-of-
State teen drivers. Relative crash rates were computed using three different metrics 
were computed: teen crashes to adult crashes not involving a teen driver, single vehicle 
teen crashes to single vehicle adult crashes, and teen drivers in crashes to adult drivers 
in crashes. 

Crashes from 1997-1999 were used as the pre-GDL phase. The year 2000 was not 
included in this pre-GDL phase in order to reduce the influence of teens obtaining 
licenses before the GDL laws were implemented. Case years 2000-2004 were 
removed. This approach has two advantages. First, this limits the influence that the 
GDL implementation may have had on teen licensing trends. This includes variations in 
teen licensing just prior to and just following GDL implementation. Uncharacteristic 
swings in licensing may be the result of teens trying to avoid the new, stricter 
regulations by licensing before the changes were instituted.(20, 28, 38)  Secondly, by 
defining the GDL period as 2005-2011, we ensured that only teen drivers who were 
licensed under the GDL regulation were included. The removal of the 2000-2004 case 
years produced two distinct populations of teen drivers: 1) 16-20 years olds licensed 
prior to GDL regulation (pre-GDL) and 2) 16-20 year olds licensed under GDL regulation 
(GDL era). Lastly, the months that new legislation was introduced were not included in 
the analysis to reduce the effects of these transition months.  
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Fatalities in New Jersey 

The FARS data was used to compute the number of teen fatalities and fatalities 
associated with teen drivers in New Jersey. Three different metrics were used to 
investigate fatal crashes: (1) teen fatalities in crashes, (2) fatalities in cars driven by 
teen drivers, and (3) teen fatalities in cars driven by teen drivers. 

Measuring Crash Rate 

A major challenge in selecting a measurement of crash rate was identifying a suitable 
measure of exposure.  We needed to normalize the number of crashes for the fact that 
the number of teen drivers on NJ highways is unlikely to have remained constant over 
the 1997-2012 time period.  As shown in figure 3, the population in New Jersey has 
grown and the number of vehicle miles traveled (VMT) has generally increased over this 
period. It was important to account for these changes when comparing crash rates 
across multiple years. In general, these trends may be accounted for by dividing the 
number of crashes by an exposure metric that is known to have changed over time. 

 

Figure 3. The annual population in New Jersey according to the United States Census Bureau and the 
annual total vehicle miles traveled (VMT) in New Jersey according to the New Jersey Department of 

Transportation
(39,40) 

 
While VMT is a widely used exposure measure, it was not possible to obtain data 
pertaining to individual age groups within New Jersey, e.g. teens. (39,40) Another 
exposure measure would be the number of licensed teen drivers in New Jersey. The 
Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) publishes an annual report of the number of 
licensed drivers by age and State.(3) Unfortunately, this data is reported to have 
errors.(41) IIHS reports that there were large variations in year-to-year violation counts 
for some States and there appeared to be issues associated with the reporting of the 
number of licensed teen drivers. Our inspection of the FHWA licensing dataset also 
found that 16 year old drivers appeared to be largely under reported in New Jersey. 
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From 2007-2009 there were less than two hundred 16 year old drivers reported each 
year. Instead, our study used the population of teens of driving age as a surrogate for 
the number of licensed drivers.  This exposure measure however suffers from the fact 
that not all teens of driving age are licensed; however census data was the only 
available, reliable age-specific exposure metric for New Jersey teens. 

Crash Rate Ratio 

One other factor that affects crash rates for a specific group of drivers is the overall 
crash rate of the driving population. Direct comparison of the teen crash rate before and 
after GDL will confound with the other contributing factors. For example, if the number 
of overall drivers and vehicles on New Jersey roads increases with time, it may 
influence environmental factors such as congestion and traffic speeds, thus affecting 
the crash rate for all drivers in the before and after period.  

We assumed that most factors affecting teen drivers will likely also affect adult drivers in 
the same time period. However, the GDL law will only affect teen crash rates. 
Therefore, changes in the crash rate ratio for the teen population relative to the 
reference adult population before and after GDL was implemented should be due to 
GDL law. For this study, the reference adult population consisted of an age range where 
the drivers were not subject to the GDL regulations, but were assumed to be exposed to 
the same changes in driving environment.  

For these reasons, we adopted a teen-to-adult crash rate ratio to represent the relative 
risk between teen and adult as defined as follows:  
 

                               
               

                
 

                           ⁄

                             ⁄
 

(1) 

 
The adult crash rate in equation (1) provides a reference baseline that represents the 
general driving risk in New Jersey for the given period. Adult drivers were defined as 
those between 35 and 55 years of age. For the study period, the 35-55 driving 
population included no drivers who were licensed under the GDL regulations. All the 
crash rate ratios were estimated using the following two age groups: 

 Teen Drivers: 16 – 20 years of age  

 Adult Drivers: 35 – 55 years of age 
 
Figure 4 presents the number of crashes for each of these age groups from 1997-2012.  
These crash counts account for the total number of crashes involving at least one teen 
driver or at least one adult driver. A crash involving both a teen and an adult driver 
would be double counted, as both a teen crash and an adult crash in figure 4. 
Fluctuations in annual crash counts were observed for all driver ages from 1997-2000 
based on the NJCRASH data. However, it was assumed that the problems in this 
dataset were evenly distributed across all crashes, regardless of age. Thus, the effects 
of these inconsistencies were canceled out when normalizing the teen crash rates by 
the adult crash rates. As shown in figure 4, the adult and teen crashes by year appear 
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to follow the same uneven distributions by year, thus increasing confidence in the 
assumption that the errors are evenly distributed across all driver ages.  

 

Figure 4. The total number of crashes involving teen drivers and the total number of crashes involving 
adult drivers (NJCRASH 1997-2011) 

Negative Binomial Regression Model  

We used the negative binomial (NB) regression to model crash risk. The NB model is 
the state-of-the-practice in modeling crash frequency.(42) The general setting of the 
model is as follows. Let     be the number of crash for age group   and time period  .  

The NB model assumes  

               

where     is the number of drivers for age group   and time period  .  The     represents 

the expected crash rate for age   and time period  . A log-link function was used to link 
the expected crash rate with age and time factor: 
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In the above model setup, the exponential of the regression coefficient          
corresponds to the Teen to Adult Crash Rate Ratio in the post-GDL period and before-
GDL period. The 95 percent confidence intervals were computed for the relative rates. 
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The negative binomial distribution was used instead Poisson models to account for 
potential over dispersion issue, which occurs when the variation about a fitted value is 
greater than what is consistent with the Poisson distribution (i.e. the variance of the 
fitted variable is not equal to the mean). The negative binomial compensates for the 
level of over dispersion within the model and computes the variance accordingly.(42) 

Separate models were constructed for each age group (16-20), as well as for all teens 
combined. In the comparison of the different GDL time periods, this model was used for 
each of the three crash rate metrics:  

 Teen crashes to adult crashes not involving a teen driver 

 Single-vehicle teen crashes to single-vehicle adult crashes 

 Teen drivers in crashes to adult drivers in crashes.  

 

Teen crashes are those that involved at least one teen driver. If two teen drivers 
crashed with each other this would only be counted as one teen crash. The teen driver 
crash rate metric accounts for this by analyzing all teens involved in crashes. Therefore, 
the aforementioned crash would be counted twice in the teen driver crash metric.  

This model was used to investigate changes in crash rates between three different time 
periods. Table 3 summarizes these comparisons and the months used for each 
analysis. 

Table 3. GDL Time Periods used in Negative Binomial Model for Crash Rates 

GDL Change 
Comparative 

Period 
Post-Change 

Analysis Months 
Comparative 

Analysis Months 

GDL Implementation Pre-GDL Jan 2005 - Aug 2008 
Jan 1997 - Dec 

1999 

Plea-bargain Ban GDL Implementation Oct 2008 - Apr 2010 
Jan 2005 - Aug 

2008 

Kyleigh’s Law/New Restrictions GDL Implementation Jun 2010 - Jun 2012 
Jan 2005 - Aug 

2008 

 

Results 

Figure 5 shows the total number of crashes per age group 1997 through 2011. The 
number of crashes for 17 and 18 year old drivers has been gradually decreasing over 
the past five years. Additionally, in the pre-GDL period, there was a large variation in 
number of crashes by age. However, in 2011, there is nearly no difference in the 
number of crashes between the different age groups (with the exception of 16 year olds 
who have few crashes compared to teens aged 17-20). 
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Figure 5. Distribution of teen driver crashes per year (NJCRASH 1997-2012) 

 

However, the number of crashes per month was shown to vary seasonally. Crashes per 
month from 2007 through 2011 are shown in figure 6 as an example of this variation. 
Crashes in other years exhibited similar trends. For both teens and adults, the greatest 
number of crashes generally occurred in the summer or winter months.  

 

Figure 6. Total crashes per month for all teen drivers by year (Ages 16-20, NJCRASH 2007- 2011) 
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Fatal Crashes 

From 1997-2011 there were 7,421 fatalities for either drivers or passengers of vehicles. 
The distribution of fatalities by age is shown in figure 7. Generally, the number of teen 
fatalities has been decreasing since 2006. Likewise, the number of adult fatalities also 
decreased over the same time period. Figure 8 shows the number fatalities associated 
with teen crashes in New Jersey. For reference, the total number of teen fatalities is 
also included, though these were not necessarily in vehicles driven by a teen.  

 

Figure 7. Driver and Passenger Fatalities in New Jersey (FARS 1997-2011) 

 

 

Figure 8. Fatalities associated with teen crashes (FARS 1997-2011) 
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Teen Crashes and Teen Fatalities by County 

To determine the statewide distribution of teen crashes in the post-GDL time period, 
teen crash metrics were computed for each county based on NJCRASH 2005-2010. 
This range of crash years would only include teen drivers who were licensed under the 
GDL regulations. The average annual population by county is given in figure 9. The five 
counties with the largest number of teen driver crashes from 2005- June 2012 are given 
in figure 10. Figure 11 normalizes the number of teen driver crashes by county to the 
number of adult driver crashes to note the five counties with the highest normalized teen 
crash rates. 

 
Figure 9. The average annual New Jersey Population from 2005-2010 by county (USCB, 2010) 
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Figure 10. Teen Driver Crashes by County (2005-June 2012) 

 

Figure 11. Crash Rates per County (2005-June 2012) 

 

Crash Rate Ratio 

The relative annual crash rate ratio for teens in each age group compared to adult 
drivers was computed as in equation (1). The crash rate ratios were normalized by the 
yearly population. The annual relative crash rates for total crashes, single vehicle 
crashes, and drivers involved in crashes are shown in figure 12 through figure 14, 
respectively. The relative crash rates also exhibit fluctuation based on the month of the 
crash.  
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Figure 12. Relative rate ratio of all teen crashes to adult crashes not involving a teen  

(normalized by population) 

 

 

Figure 13. Relative rate of single-vehicle teen crashes to single-vehicle adult crashes (normalized by 
population) 
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Figure 14. Relative rate ratio of teen drivers in crashes to adult drivers in crashes  
(normalized by population) 

 

Relative Risk of Crashes  

Using the negative binomial regression model previously described, the relative crash 
rate for teens (as compared to adults) between different GDL phases was computed. 
Table 4 shows the relative crash rate for teens between pre-GDL period months and 
post-GDL period prior to the plea bargain ban by age group and crash type. As 
described in table 3, the pre-GDL period was between January 1997 and December 
1999 and the post-GDL period was between January 2005 and August 2008. There was 
a significant decrease in crash rate for teens aged 16-18 after the GDL system was 
implemented. The greatest effect was experienced by 16 year olds for all three crash 
metrics. However, for 19 and 20 year olds there was a significant increase in the relative 
crash rate for teens after the GDL took effect. 

Table 4. Relative crash rates for teen drivers compared to adult drivers after GDL implementation 

Age All Crashes Single Vehicle Crashes Teen Drivers in Crashes 

16 0.72 (0.63 - 0.83) * 0.68 (0.61 - 0.75) * 0.71 (0.66 - 0.77) * 

17 0.80 (0.76 - 0.83) * 0.72 (0.68 - 0.75) * 0.79 (0.76 - 0.82) * 

18 0.93 (0.89 - 0.97) * 0.87 (0.82 - 0.92) * 0.91 (0.87 - 0.96) * 

19 1.10 (1.05 - 1.15) * 1.08 (1.02 - 1.15) * 1.08 (1.03 - 1.13) * 

20 1.09 (1.04 - 1.13) * 1.06 (1.01 - 1.11) * 1.06 (1.02 - 1.11) * 

All Teens (16-20) 0.93 (0.90 - 0.97) * 0.88 (0.84 - 0.93) * 0.92 (0.88 - 0.96) * 
* Statistically significant result (p < 0.05) 
Reference: Teen to Adult Crash Rate Ratio from Jan 1997 to Dec 1999 
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Similar models were then used to compute the relative crash rates of teens before and 
after the plea bargain ban. The time frames for comparison are given in table 3. As 
shown in table 5, 17 and 18 year olds had a significant decrease in crashes in all crash 
categories over these time periods. Overall, the rate of single vehicle crashes among 
teen drivers decreased. However, the plea bargain ban will likely have a greater effect 
on violations than crash rates.  

Table 5. Relative crash rates for teen drivers compared to adult drivers after plea bargain ban 

Age All Crashes Single Vehicle Crashes Teen Drivers in Crashes 

16 0.91 (0.73 - 1.13)  0.81 (0.70 - 0.93) * 0.84 (0.76 - 0.93) * 

17 0.90 (0.86 - 0.95) * 0.88 (0.83 - 0.94) * 0.91 (0.87 - 0.95) * 

18 0.94 (0.89 - 0.99) * 0.92 (0.86 - 0.99) * 0.94 (0.89 - 1.00)  

19 0.96 (0.91 - 1.01)  0.95 (0.89 - 1.02)  0.97 (0.92 - 1.02)  

20 1.00 (0.95 - 1.05)  1.00 (0.94 - 1.07)  1.01 (0.96 - 1.06)  

All Teens (16-20) 0.96 (0.91 - 1.00)   0.94 (0.89 - 1.00) * 0.96 (0.92 - 1.01)   
* Statistically significant result (p < 0.05) 
Reference: Teen to Adult Crash Rate Ratio from Jan 2005 to Aug 2008 

 

Lastly, the relative crash rate between the post-GDL period and after the new GDL 
restrictions was estimated using the Negative Binomial regression analysis. The months 
included for these time periods are shown in table 3. As shown in table 6, there was an 
overall decrease in crash rate after the implementation of the new GDL restrictions and 
Kyleigh’s Law. The only teen group that did not have a significant decrease in crash 
rates for at least one of the crash categories was the 16 year old group. However, the 
point estimates for this group show a decrease in crash rates.  

 

Table 6. Relative crash rates for teen drivers after Kyleigh’s Law and new GDL restrictions based on a 
Negative Binomial Regression analysis 

Age All Crashes Single Vehicle Crashes Teen Drivers in Crashes 

16 0.83 (0.64 - 1.08)  0.91 (0.79 - 1.04)  0.89 (0.81 - 0.98) * 

17 0.81 (0.78 - 0.84) * 0.79 (0.75 - 0.84) * 0.82 (0.79 - 0.86) * 

18 0.83 (0.79 - 0.88) * 0.79 (0.74 - 0.85) * 0.84 (0.80 - 0.89) * 

19 0.86 (0.82 - 0.90) * 0.85 (0.80 - 0.90) * 0.88 (0.84 - 0.92) * 

20 0.92 (0.88 - 0.96) * 0.90 (0.84 - 0.95) * 0.93 (0.89 - 0.97) * 

All Teens (16-20) 0.87 (0.83 - 0.91) * 0.84 (0.80 - 0.89) * 0.88 (0.84 - 0.92) * 
* Statistically significant result (p < 0.05) 
Reference: Teen to Adult Crash Rate Ratio from Jan 2005 to Aug 2008 
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Comparing the New Jersey Model to the US 

Other studies, both domestically and abroad, have shown similar successes associated 
with GDL regulations. However, because of New Jersey’s strict licensing regulations, it 
was not completely appropriate to directly compare the crash rates of a particular age 
group against the same age group from another State. Instead, this section compares 
the New Jersey effectiveness results to those reported for teens of an age 
corresponding to a similar licensing stage in another State. The reported effectiveness 
for other GDL programs in the United States are given in table 7. 
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Table 7. Reported crash rate effectiveness measures from other GDL programs in the United States 

 

State Author Teen Population Adult Population Pre-GDL  GDL  % Difference 

Michigan Shope et al, 2001 16* 25+* 2.170 1.630 -24.9% 

Maryland Kirley et al, 2008 16 30-59 - - -18.0% 

California Rice et al, 2004 16 25-34 - - -23.0% 

    17 25-34 - - -6.0% 

California Zwicker et al, 2006 16 24-55 - - -23.0% 

North Carolina Foss, 2001 16 25-54 - - -27.0% 

Florida Ulmer et al, 2000 15* 25-54* 0.140 0.110 -21.4% 

    16* 25-54* 1.230 1.090 -11.4% 

    17* 25-54* 1.630 1.530 -6.1% 

    18* 25-54* 1.870 1.870 0.0% 

Connecticut Ulmer et al, 2001 16* 25-54* 1.280 1.000 -21.9% 

    17* 25-54* 1.620 1.710 5.6% 

    18* 25-54* 1.820 1.990 9.3% 

Kentucky Agent,2001 16-19 20+ 0.168 0.160 -4.8% 

New Jersey Daniello, 2013 16-20* 35-55* 2.34 2.19 -6.3% 

    16* 35-55* 0.22 0.16 -27.5% 

    17* 35-55* 3.46 2.75 -20.4% 

    18* 35-55* 3.11 2.89 -7.1% 

    19* 35-55* 2.57 2.84 10.4% 

    20* 35-55* 2.39 2.57 7.7% 

*Normalized by Population 
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A study by Rice et al (2004) investigated the crash rates of 16 (minimum age for a 
provisional license) and reported a 23 percent and 20 percent reduction in 16 year old 
crash rates in California when normalized by the crash rates of 25-34 year olds in 2000 
and 2001 (GDL era), when compared to the same crash ratio in 1997 (pre-GDL).(28) In a 
similar study Foss et al (2001) computed a crash ratio for 16 year old (minimum age for 
a provisional license) drivers normalized to the crash rates of 25-54 year olds in North 
Carolina.(20) The crash ratios of two years pre-GDL (1996 and 1997) were compared to 
the crash ratios of one year in the GDL era (1999). The crash ratio in 1999 was 23 
percent lower compared to the ratio in 1996 and 28 percent lower when compared to 
1997. Fohr et al (2005) showed a 13.8 percent reduction in 16 year old crashes post-
GDL when normalized by 25-59 year old drivers in Wisconsin.(29) Interestingly, Kirley et 
al (2008) found a statistically significant 18 percent (CI: 29%-4%) reduction in crash 
rates for 16 year old drivers when normalized to population but a statistically 
insignificant 9 percent (CI:-7%-27%) increase in crash rate when normalized to the 
number of licensed drivers in Maryland.(30) An appropriate comparison population from 
the New Jersey population would be 17 year old drivers because this is the minimum 
age for restricted but unsupervised driving. Our study showed 20.4 percent reduction in 
17 year old driver involved crashes.  This is in the same range as what was seen from 
other State GDL programs.  

The same study by Rice et al (2004) also investigated the crash rates 17 year olds 
(minimum age for GDL graduation).(28) However, only a 6 percent and 3 percent 
reduction was seen for 17 year olds in these same years. Similarly, Fohr et al (2005) 
only showed a 6.2 percent reduction in 17 year old crashes in the GDL era when 
normalized by 25-59 year old drivers in Wisconsin.(29) Our study showed an 7.1 percent 
reduction in the rate of 18 year old driver involved crashes in all counties. Again, the 
New Jersey GDL program appears to possess an effectiveness which is in line with 
other, similar studies.  

Each of the referenced studies employed different statistical approaches to present their 
results, making it difficult to directly compare with the results of the New Jersey 
experience. For example, the results presented in the literature often compared only 
one year pre-GDL vs. one year in the GDL era. The effectiveness values presented in 
our study were averaged over a much larger range of crash years both before and after 
GDL implementation. Despite, the differences in GDL regulations and effectiveness 
calculation methodologies, the computed GDL effectiveness metrics for New Jersey 
appear to reflect the conclusions of similar studies with regard to teens that were 
licensed under the regulations of GDL programs nationwide. 

Our study also includes older teens (18-20 years old); these ages were not included in 
other studies. This provides a unique perspective. It was found that while 18 year old 
crashes decreased in a similar manner as other reported by other studies that analyzed 
the crash rates of teen drivers in their first year after GDL implementation. However, the 
crash rates of 19-20 year old drivers increased significantly. This suggests that teen 
drivers in New Jersey who have graduated from the GDL program are actually more 
likely to be in a crash when compared to their pre-GDL peers.  
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Williams et al (2010) Comparison 

A study performed by Williams et al (2010) investigated the effectiveness of the New 
Jersey GDL program as well. However, their methodology varied from our study in 
some significant ways.(1) First, fewer crash years were included in their analysis:   the 
pre-GDL period was defined as 1998-2000 and the GDL period was defined as 2002-
2005. Furthermore, the study compared the crash and fatality rates for drivers aged 16-
24 years old. This becomes a methodological issue because some drivers included in 
the time period defined as the GDL era were not licensed under the GDL system. Also, 
our study showed that normalized crash rates did not appear to reach a constant rate 
for all teen drivers (16-20 years old) until 2005, the last year of data included in the 
Williams study. We speculated that the crash rates did not plateau until 2005 because 
GDL did indeed have an effect on the crash rates of teen drivers and it was not until 
2005 that all 16-20 year old drivers would have been licensed under the New Jersey 
GDL system. However, Williams et al stated that their rationale for limiting the dataset in 
this way was to eliminate some of the known errors in the dataset, particularly from 
1997-2001. Despite these differences, the results published by Williams et al showed 
similar GDL effectiveness calculations when compared to our study. It was reported that 
there was a 16 percent reduction in crash rate for 17 year old drivers and a 10 percent 
reduction in crash rate for 18 year old drivers. This compares to our 18.8 percent 
reduction in 17 year old driver crashes and 8.2 percent reduction in 18 year old driver 
crashes. Also, Williams et al stated that crash rates of 19 and 20-24 year old drivers 
were not significantly different from pre-GDL to GDL time periods. However, this would 
be expected because many of the drivers in these age groups would have been 
licensed prior to GDL implementation. In contrast, our study only looked at 19-20 year 
old drivers who were licensed after GDL implementation and found that the crash rates 
actually increased when compared to pre-GDL drivers of the same age.(1) 

County Analysis 

New Jersey is the most densely populated State in the United States, yet it is comprised 
of a wide range of rural and urban landscapes. As such, the distribution of crashes 
across the 21 counties can vary greatly. As shown in figure 10, 43 percent of all teen 
crashes from 2005-2009 in New Jersey occurred in five counties: Essex, Ocean, 
Monmouth, Bergen, and Middlesex. For these analyses, the 2005-2009 crash period 
was chosen to determine the counties where teen driver issues are most prevalent after 
GDL implementation. The large teen driver crash counts in these five counties are most 
likely due to larger populations. However, it is interesting to note how teen crashes rates 
normalized to adult crash rates within individual counties vary, regardless of population. 
The five counties with the highest ratio of teen crashes vs. adult crashes included four 
counties with relatively low populations (Sussex, Gloucester, Warren, and Cape May 
counties) and only one with a relatively high population (Ocean county). This suggests 
that the remaining issues may be more prevalent in low population areas.  
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Limitations 

With regard to crash rate, it appears as though the GDL has succeeded in reducing 
crash risk for teen drivers who are under the regulations of GDL in New Jersey. 
However, the limitations of this research must be acknowledged. First, the 1997-2000 
NJCRASH format has data quality problems. However, if we assume that these errors 
are evenly distributed across both the teen and adult driving populations, and as a result 
are cancelled out through the use of age group normalization.  

The exposure metric used in these analyses was age range-specific New Jersey 
census counts. The assumption for using this data as an exposure metric would be that 
the census counts are at least proportional to the number of drivers for each age range. 
Therefore, if the proportion of licensed teens per population and the number of licensed 
adults per population remain relatively constant, then all reported results would 
decrease by a constant scaling factor for each year relative to the number of licensed 
drivers. However, this assumption may not be completely accurate. First, it was shown 
that the ratio of teens vs. adults was not constant from 1997-2009. Also, with the new 
regulations associated with the GDL program, it is very probable that the proportion of 
licensed teens has changed from the pre-GDL period to the GDL period. Nonetheless, 
reliable licensing data was not available for New Jersey drivers, and as such, the 
census data served as the best available normalizing exposure metric. 

Finally, an induced exposure approach was utilized to account for changes in the driving 
environment for all drivers that are unrelated to GDL implementation. An underlying 
assumption of this approach is that the ratio of exposure, e.g. vehicle miles traveled, for 
teen and adult drivers would have remained constant with time. However, it is possible 
that the travel exposure of teen drivers decreased after GDL implementation as a direct 
result of the restrictions that were instituted as part of the program. Unfortunately, age-
specific VMT was not available for New Jersey drivers so a check of this assumption 
was not possible. 

Conclusions 

Three different crash metrics were investigated for this study: total crashes, single 
vehicle crashes, and drivers involved in crashes. Crash rates were modeled using a 
negative binomial distribution, and relative crash rates between teen and adult drivers 
were compared. This study investigated the effects of GDL implementation, as well as 
the effects of new laws and restrictions for teens with a GDL.  

Generally, the total number of teen crashes (drivers aged 16-20) has been decreasing 
each year after the implementation of the GDL system. Moreover, the teen crash rate 
compared to adult drivers (and normalized by teen and adult populations) has also been 
decreasing. After the GDL was implemented, crash rates decreased for 16-18 year old 
drivers. In 2011, the crash rates were nearly the same for all teens in this age range, 
whereas in the pre-GDL period these rates varied greatly.  

Decreases in relative crash rates were observed for teen drivers aged 16-18. However, 
significant increases in crash rates were seen for 19 and 20 year old drivers over the 
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periods investigated. The GDL system is designed to provide experience for younger 
drivers, thus the greater decrease for younger teens was expected.  

After the implementation of the plea bargain ban in September, 2008, crash rates for 17 
and 18 year old teen drivers significantly decreased in the period from October, 2008 
through April, 2010 as compared to the period between January, 2005 and August, 
2008. Also, 16 year old drivers had a significant decrease in the number of single 
vehicle crashes after the implementation of the no-plea bargain.  

Lastly, the crash rates from January, 2005 and August, 2008 were compared to those 
after new restrictions were added to the GDL in May, 2010. Along with these new 
restrictions, Kyleigh’s Law was passed, requiring teen drivers to display a decal on the 
license plate while driving. From June, 2010 to December, 2011 a significant decrease 
in teen crash rates was observed as compared to those from January, 2005 and 
August, 2008. It should be noted that this decrease also may incorporate effects of the 
plea bargain ban, since the comparative period is before the ban was implemented.  
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3. THE EFFECTIVENESS OF NEW JERSEY’S GRADUATED DRIVER’S 
LICENSE REGULATIONS ON TEEN DRIVER VIOLATION RATES 

Introduction 

Many States have reported reductions in the crash rates for teen drivers after GDL 
implementation. Monitoring crash rates, however, does not evaluate how teen driver 
behavior in risky, but non-crash, events may have changed as a result of GDL 
implementation. It is unclear whether or not the behaviors of teen drivers have changed 
after GDL implementation. One method for comparing teen driver behaviors before and 
after GDL implementation is to investigate the type and frequency of violations for teen 
drivers in both the pre-GDL period and after GDL implementation. If GDL has improved 
the driving behavior of teens, we would hope to see a reduction in the number of traffic 
violations and a change in the type of traffic violations. 

Graduated Driver’s Licensing 

Graduated driving licensing laws have been implemented in all 50 U.S. States and the 
Washington, D.C.(43) GDL licensing regulations allow for the gradual accumulation of 
driving experience for teen drivers through practice in lower risk driving scenarios. 
These programs often require a period of supervised driving, restrictions on the number 
of passengers, restrictions on the hours of operation, or any combination of these and 
other regulations. In 1996, Florida became the first State to implement a modern GDL 
system in the U.S.(25,26) All other States have updated their licensing laws since this time 
to include at least some features of a GDL program. However, significant differences 
exist between each State’s licensing laws.  

The New Jersey GDL program is considered to be one of the most progressive and 
stringent in the United States.(1) It is comprised of three stages of licensure for new teen 
drivers: learner’s permit at a minimum of 16 years of age; provisional license at 17 years 
old; and a basic license at 18 years old. Each phase carries restrictions which reduce 
novice driver exposure to risky situations, such as driving at night.  In New Jersey, the 
learner’s permit requires a minimum of six months of supervised driving.  The 
provisional license allows unsupervised driving for one year, but carries several 
restrictions including a ban on driving between 11pm and 5am, and limits on the number 
of passengers.  At each stage, these restrictions are gradually lifted if the driver is 
violation-free until full driving privileges are reached. Our analysis of the New Jersey 
GDL system has shown that after GDL implementation, the crash rate for 16 year old 
drivers has decreased by 30 percent and the crash rate for 17 year old drivers has 
decreased by 19 percent. This is similar to the 20-30 percent reduction from shown in 
other published reports concerning GDL programs in the United States.(8,44,45) 

Violation Analysis 

While the literature on crash and fatality rates for teen drivers following GDL is large, 
analyses of violation rates for teen drivers are limited. Nonetheless, a few studies have 
shown reductions in the number of teen driver violations or convictions after the 
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implementation of GDL within a given State. Raymond et al (2007) reported a reduction 
in the teen driver conviction rate after the implementation of GDL in Oregon.(46) 
However, these rates were not compared to a non-GDL population (e.g. adult drivers) to 
see if this trend was teen-specific or simply a reflection of a statewide trend. On the 
other hand, the rate of license suspensions for teen drivers were normalized to the rate 
of suspension for adult drivers and it was found that teen drivers had a lower 
suspension rate after GDL implementation. Also, 18- and 19-year old novice drivers had 
higher conviction and suspension rates compared to 16- and 17- year old novice 
drivers. It was stated that this is most likely a reflection of differences in exposure rather 
than a result of differences in driver behavior or ability. This is because, in Oregon, 
teens that are licensed after turning 18 are not subject to the requirements of GDL. 
Furthermore, GDL restrictions are lifted for all drivers when they turn 18, regardless of 
their progress in the GDL program. Interestingly, teens that were licensed at 18- or 19-
year old (i.e. no GDL regulation) were shown to have lower convictions rates after GDL 
implementation when compared to the same population pre-GDL. This indicates that 
while conviction rates may have decreased for 16- and 17-year olds, this result is not 
entirely an effect of GDL because the rates decreased for non-GDL drivers as well. 

A study performed by Falb (2005) reported a 47-56 percent decline in the number of 16-
year old driver violations in the 3-6 years after GDL implementation in Iowa.(47) Sixteen 
years old is the minimum age for a provisional license in Iowa. This study only 
compared the violation rates to those of the last year before GDL implementation and 
did not specify if the number 16-year old licensed drivers declined as well. However, 
such a dramatic decrease reveals a promising result following GDL implementation. 

Other reports have touched upon the types of violations that teens receive. For 
example, a study found that the citation risk for teen drivers is highest in their first few 
months of licensure.(48) Furthermore, a study performed prior to GDL implementation in 
the United States reported that teen drivers, when involved in multiple vehicle crashes, 
were more likely to be cited for errors when compared to adult drivers.(49) To date, 
however, little is published on how GDL implementation has influenced the traffic 
violation rate of teen drivers.  

In the New Jersey GDL program, penalties are triggered when violation points are 
accumulated by a teen driver. In the event that a teen driver is convicted of a violation 
that carries two points, a warning letter is sent to the driver to instruct them that if they 
are convicted of another point carrying violation while a GDL driver, they will be subject 
to further penalty. Following the accumulation of three or more points while holding a 
GDL license, the driver is required to participate in a four hour probationary driver 
program (PDP) safe driving course. After the completion of this course, the GDL driver 
is given a credit of three violation points on their record, but subjected to a 12-month 
probationary period. During this time, if the driver is convicted of another point carrying 
violation, their license will be suspended. For non-GDL drivers, license suspensions 
most often occur after the accumulation of more than 12 violation points. However, point 
credits can be awarded if the driver is violation-free for a year or completes a driver 
improvement program.  
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Despite the existence of this GDL penalty program, problems have been identified in 
this point-based monitoring approach. The TDSC Report found that the system that was 
in place to track the violations of teen drivers was limited in its principal role. First, 
certain violations, such as failing to wear a seat belt, result in a fine but no points on the 
license. As a result, the infraction would not count towards a GDL sanction, despite the 
fact that belt-use by all passengers in a GDL driven vehicle is required and is the 
responsibility of the GDL driver, per GDL regulation. Furthermore, many teens were 
pleading to a lesser charge of “Unsafe Operator” when a more severe violation was 
originally assessed. “Unsafe Operator” carries a fine and no points, and as a result will 
not count towards GDL sanctions for the teen driver. In response to this practice, the 
New Jersey Attorney General banned plea agreements that resulted in point-carrying 
violations being reduced to non-point carrying violations for all GDL drivers, effective on 
September 17, 2008.(35) The ban on plea agreements was meant to be a temporary 
solution until an event based system could be instated. An event based system is being 
developed by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJ MVC) that will track all 
violations of all drivers in the GDL program, regardless of points.  

Objective 

The objective of this study is to determine the frequency of traffic violations teen drivers 
in New Jersey, and to compare these to the frequency of traffic violations for adult 
drivers. A secondary goal is to analyze the effect of the plea bargain ban on recidivism 
amongst teens. 

Methods 

The approach of this study was to compare teen driver traffic violation rates and crash 
rates before and after the implementation of GDL and changes in regulation of the GDL 
laws. This study contains two analyses that identify changes associated with the ban on 
plea-agreements. The NJ MVC dataset was used to determine the effect on violation 
rates and violation types for teen drivers. Additionally, the Administrative Office of the 
Courts (AOC) records in New Jersey were used to identify the extent of the plea-
agreement problem before the ban. 

Effect of Graduated Driver License Regulations on Violation Rates 

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) driver history dataset from 1997-
2012 was used to analyze violations over this time period. This dataset contains a 
record of all events reported in driver history including, but not limited to, violations, 
suspensions, and crashes. Details associated with each event, such as the date and 
violation point value, were also included in the data set. Lastly, driver information such 
as date of birth and gender was included. Driver age at the time of each event was 
computed from the event date and the date of birth.  All personal identifiers, e.g. name 
and address, were removed from the dataset prior to analysis. 

For this study, teen drivers were defined as those between the ages of 16 and 20, 
inclusive.  Teen drivers were compared to a control group of adult drivers of ages 
ranging between 35 and 55 years, inclusive.   Since GDL was implemented in New 
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Jersey in 2001, this age range for adults ensures that they were not subjected to these 
licensing laws. However, they were exposed to the same driving environment.  

All events with event type ‘V’ (Violation) were included in this analysis. Analyses were 
conducted on all violations, i.e. both point-carrying violations and zero-point violations. 
Drivers with all license classes were included (Basic, Commercial, Motorcycle, etc.). 
Those drivers who never held a NJ license (License Class ‘I’) were excluded from the 
analysis.  

The dataset received in October, 2012 included driver history events which occurred 
through August 23, 2012. Since there was only a partial year of data available for 2012, 
this year was excluded from analyses of violations per year. However, events through 
June, 2012 were included in monthly analyses. 

Teen and Adult Crash Rate Ratio 

Violation rates were computed by dividing the number of teen violations by the number 
of adult violations, as shown in equation 1. The number of adult violations was used 
since adults were exposed to the same driving environment and provides a means of 
normalization.  

                                   
                               

                                 
 (1) 

 

Negative Binomial Model of Violations  

We used the negative binomial regression to model violation rate risk. The general 
setting of the model is as follows. Let     be the number of violations for age group   and 
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In the above model setup, the exponential of the regression coefficient         
corresponds to the Teen to Adult Violation Rate Ratio for the different GDL periods. The 
95 percent confidence intervals were computed for the relative rates. The negative 
binomial distribution was used instead Poisson models to account for potential over 
dispersion issue. Over dispersion occurs when the variation about a fitted value is 
greater than what is consistent with the Poisson distribution (i.e. the variance of the 
fitted variable is not equal to the mean). The negative binomial compensates for the 
level of over dispersion within the model and computes the variance accordingly.(42) 

Separate models were constructed for each age group (16-20), as well as for all teens 
combined. Adults were used as a comparison for all these models. In the comparison of 
the different GDL time periods, this model was used for three different violation types: 
all violations, zero point violations, and point-carrying violations. Lastly, we conducted 
three comparisons for the different GDL time periods. Table 8 summarizes these 
comparisons and the time periods used for each analysis. 

Table 8. GDL Time Periods used in Negative Binomial Model for Violation Rates 

GDL Change 
Comparative 
Period 

Post-Change  
Analysis Months 

Comparative 
Analysis Months 

GDL Implementation Pre-GDL Jan 2005 - Aug 2008 
Jan 1997 - Dec 
1999 

Plea-bargain Ban GDL Implementation Oct 2008 - Apr 2010 
Jan 2005 - Aug 
2008 

Kyleigh’s Law/New Restrictions GDL Implementation Jun 2010 - Jun 2012 
Jan 2005 - Aug 
2008 

 

Extent of Plea Agreement 

The AOC dataset that we obtained consisted of all amended violations in New Jersey. 
Included in the dataset was information on the original violation code, amended violation 
code, the event date, and the court appearance date.  This allowed us to analyze the 
characteristics of traffic violation plea-agreements in New Jersey. The AOC dataset 
does not explicitly contain driver age or birthdate, but birth month and birth year are 
coded into the driver’s license number in New Jersey. Therefore, it was possible to 
conduct an age-specific analysis of the plea-agreement trends despite the lack of a 
given age or date-of-birth field in the dataset. As a result, the age of the driver at the 
time that the violation was originally given was computed. For confidentiality, the date of 
birth code was pulled from the Driver License Number and a random driver record 
number was assigned to each record. The final dataset that we used for all analyses 
included no personal identifiers and the original dataset was stored in a separate, 
secure location.  

This dataset contained amended violation records for November 1, 2004-November 30, 
2007. Therefore, it was not possible to compare the violation trends before and after the 
implementation of the plea-agreement ban. Nonetheless, it was possible to identify the 
trends associated with plea-agreements for teen drivers before the implementation of 
the ban. 



   42 

The AOC dataset allowed us to identify the ways that teen drivers had been using the 
plea-agreements to circumvent the penalties built into the GDL legislation. Specifically, 
we were able to identify the most amended violations as well as identify which violations 
were most commonly amended, i.e. the original violations. This also helped to explain 
changes in the violation frequencies that were seen in the MVC database from the pre-
ban to post-ban periods. The New Jersey driver’s license number contains the driver’s 
birth month and birth year. In order to compute the age of drivers in the AOC dataset, 
the driver’s license number had to be decoded. However, not all records in the dataset 
contained a full license number. In some cases, the license number was in an unknown 
format. In all, 84 percent of the records had a full driver’s license number that could be 
used to determine driver date of birth. It was assumed that the distribution of the 
violations from the records with a full license number were representative of all the 
amended violations. 

Results 

From 1997-2011 there were 11 million violations in New Jersey, with an average of 
750,000 violations per year. Teen drivers had a total of over 1.7 million violations over 
the 15 year period, averaging 117,000 violations per year. Figure 15 shows the number 
of violation events by year for teen drivers, adult drivers, and all drivers in New Jersey. 
As shown, violations peaked in 2008 for drivers of all ages. Since then, violations have 
in general been decreasing.  

 

Figure 15. Violations per Year in New Jersey (1997-2011) 

 

The number of violations fluctuated widely by month and exhibited a seasonal pattern. 
Figure 16 shows the number of violations per month for 2007-2012. There were more 
violations for both teens and adults in the early summer months. The number of 
violations is generally lowest between December and January.  
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Figure 16. Number of Violations by Month (01/2006-06/2012) 

 

Effect of Graduated Driver License Regulations on Violation Types 

The ten most frequent violations were tabulated for teens and adults over the 15 year 
time period. These violations accounted for 78 percent of all teen violations and 76 
percent of all adult violations. Figure 17 shows the ten most frequent violations, 
regardless of whether or not the violation carried points. As shown, speeding was the 
most common violation. The second most common violation was ‘Unsafe Operation of a 
Motor Vehicle.’ Both of these violations were common for teens than for adults. Adults 
had a greater likelihood of receiving a violation due to failure to observe a traffic control 
device than teens.  

 

Figure 17. Distribution of Most Common Violations (1997-2011) 

Next, zero point violations were investigated. The most common zero-point violation for 
both teens and adults was ‘Unsafe Operation of a Motor Vehicle,’ as shown in figure 18. 
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These top violations accounted for 85 percent of all zero-point carrying violations for 
teens and 88 percent of those for adults. Using a cell phone was more common for 
adults than for teens.  

 

Figure 18. Ten Most Common Zero Point-Carrying Violations (1997-2011) 

 

Figure 19 shows the ten most common point-carrying violations for teens as adults. 
Speeding accounted for about 50 percent of all point-carrying violations for both teens 
and adults. Careless driving was the second most common point-carrying violation for 
teens and adults.  Table 9 shows the potential point values associated with each of 
these violations.  

 

Figure 19. Ten Most Common Point-Carrying Violations (1997-2011) 
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Table 9. Point values for common point-carrying violations (NJMVC) 

Violation 

Points 

2 3 4 5 

Speeding x   x x 

Careless Driving x       

Fail to Observe Traffic Control Device x       

Disregard Of Stop Sign Regulations x       

Improper Oper-Hwys W/ Marked Lanes x       

Improper Passing     x   

Improper Right and Left Turns   x     

Improper Turn Marked Course   x     

Improper Turn Traffic Control Signal   x     

Failure To Give Proper Signal x       

Unsafe Operation of A Motor Vehicle*     x   

Wrong Way On One Way Street x       

* Only a point carrying violation if driving with a suspended license 

 

We next investigated the effect of each of the laws enacted during the GDL period. Our 
approach was to compare the number of point-carrying violations and zero point-
carrying violations for teens in the time periods before and after these laws took effect. 
Three different periods were compared: (1) GDL implementation before the plea bargain 
ban, (2) after implementation of the plea bargain ban and before implementation of 
Kyleigh’s Law and new restrictions, and (3) after implementation of the plea bargain ban 
and Kyleigh’s laws and the new restrictions. Common zero point-carrying violations are 
shown in figure 20 for these different periods of the GDL law in New Jersey and the pre-
GDL phase.  In 2000, the “Unsafe Operation of Vehicle” violation was introduced, which 
explains the small number of citations in the pre-GDL phase for this violation.  

As shown, ‘Unsafe Operation of Vehicle’ was most common after GDL was 
implemented, but before the no-plea bargain law was introduced. However, ‘Failure to 
Wear a Seat Belt’ was cited more often after the plea-bargain ban was introduced. Also, 
‘Use of Hand-Held Device’ violation citations appear to have increased for the second 
two time periods during GDL. This is likely related to the fact that using a hand-held 
device became a primary offense in New Jersey on March 1, 2008 (PL 2007, c.198).  
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Figure 20. Ten Most Common Zero Point-Carrying Violations by Time Period 

 

Lastly, the ten most common point-carrying violations were analyzed over the same 
time periods. As shown in figure 21, speeding was the most common point carrying 
violation for all time periods analyzed. Though the percent of speeding violations 
decreased over time, the percent of ‘Careless Driving’ violations increased each time 
period. 

 

Figure 21. Ten Most Common Point-Carrying Violations by Time Period 

 

Based on an evaluation of the AOC data, more violations were pleaded to “Unsafe 
Operation” than any other violation before the plea-agreement ban, as shown in table 



   47 

11. The most common plea-bargained violations were “Speeding” and “Careless 
Driving” as shown in table 10. These two violations types were also among the top ten 
amended violations. Seven of the ten most frequent original violations were point-
carrying violations. Alternatively, only two of the top ten amended violations were point 
carrying violations.  

 

Table 10. Top 10 original violation types given for 16 and 17 year old drivers in New Jersey  
(AOC, 2004-2007) 

Violation Count % Points 

Speeding 17,420 42% 2/4/5 

Careless driving 10,827 26% 2 

Failure to obey stop or yield signs 2,513 6% 2 

Failure to observe traffic signal 1,864 4% 2 

Reckless driving 1,062 3% 2 

Driving without Insurance 956 2% 0 

Improper Passing 901 2% 4 

Driving with an expired license 627 1% 0 

Failure to observe traffic lanes 617 1% 2 

Violation of GDL Restrictions 388 1% 0 

Total 41,820 100% - 

 

Table 11. Top 10 amended violation types for 16 and 17 year old drivers in New Jersey (AOC, 2004-
2007) 

Violation Count % Points 

Unsafe Driving 25,306 61% 0 

Speeding 6,582 16% 2/4/5 

Obstructing passage of vehicles 3,448 8% 0 

Failure to possess ID, registration, or insurance card 1,776 4% 0 

Careless driving 1,310 3% 2 

Vehicle in unsafe condition 458 1% 0 

Use of a cell phone while driving 440 1% 0 

Delaying traffic 436 1% 0 

Driving with an expired license 389 1% 0 

Failure to Report Accident 284 1% 0 

Total 41,820 100% - 

 

Effect of Graduated Driver License Regulations on Violation Rates 

As shown in figure 15, violations have declined for teens since 2008.  However, 
violations have also declined for our adult control group over this same time period, and 
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hence does not allow us to know whether this decline in teen violations was due to GDL 
or some other factor experienced by both teens and adults.  Our approach was instead 
to investigate the ratio of teen to adult violations as a function of time for both point-
carrying and zero-point carrying violations.  As adults are not subject to GDL but drive 
on the same highways and are subject to the same level of enforcement, this is a simple 
method of controlling for changes in the traffic environment over time. If GDL had no 
effect on teens, the ratio should stay constant.  If GDL had a beneficial effect, the ratio 
should decrease. 

As shown in figure 22, the ratio of teen to adult violations zero point-carrying violations 
(normalized by population) decreased over the time period investigated.  As shown in 
figure 15, the total number of violations for both the teen and adult group generally 
decreased after 2008. The rate of zero point-carrying violations for teen drivers, as 
compared to adult drivers, generally decreased over time. The violation rate among 17 
year olds decreased the most of all age groups investigated. These rates were 
computed using on an annual basis.  

 
Figure 22. Teen Violation Rate for Zero Point-Carrying Violations (1997-2011) 

 
However, the ratio of teen to adult point-carrying violations stayed relatively constant 
over time for older teens, as shown in figure 23.  This suggests that GDL had little effect 
on the rate of point-carrying violations for teens.  Seventeen year old drivers had the 
lowest violation rate among all age groups investigated, with the exception of 16-year 
old drivers.  
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Figure 23.  Teen Violation Rate for Point-Carrying Violations (1997-2011) 

 

Next, the ten most common violations were analyzed as a function of time for both teen 
and adult drivers, as shown in figure 24 and figure 25 respectively. As previously 
described, ‘Unsafe Operation of a Motor Vehicle’ became a violation in 2000. The 
number of speeding citations has decreased over time, though the violations included in 
our dataset are those mandated by courts. Thus, we do not know the original violation. 
The number of violations for using a hand-held device exceeded those for ‘Unsafe 
Operation of a Motor Vehicle’ starting in 2010 for adults. However, this was not one of 
the ten most common violations for teens. ‘Using a Handheld Cell While Driving’ was 
the 14th most common violation among teens (1.5%). Additionally, ‘Failure to Wear a 
Seat Belt’ surpassed ‘Unsafe Operation of a Motor Vehicle’ in 2008 for both adults and 
teens. 

Figure 26 and figure 27 present the top point-carrying violations for teens and adults as 
a function of time. Speeding was the most common point carrying violation for both 
teens and adults for all years analyzed. The second most common point-carrying 
violation for teens was ‘Careless Driving’. However, for adults, ‘Careless Driving’ and 
‘Failure to Observe a Traffic Control Device’ were nearly equally as common for all 
years.  
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Figure 24. Ten Most Common Violations for Teens (1997-2012) 

 

Figure 25. Ten Most Common Violations for Adults (1997-2012) 
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Figure 26. Ten Most Common Point Carrying Violations for Teens (1997-2011) 

 

Figure 27. Ten Most Common Point Carrying Violations for Adults (1997-2012) 

 

The negative binomial model was constructed to estimate the relative change in 
violation rates between teens and adults between different phases of the GDL period. 
First, the change in violations rates before the GDL was implemented to the initial GDL 
phase between January 2005 and August 2008 (prior to the implementation of the plea 
bargain ban). Relative violation rate is defined in equation (3).  
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Table 12. Change in relative violation rate before and after GDL implementation 

Age All Violations 
Zero-Point 
Violations 

Point Carrying 
Violations 

16 0.56 (0.50 - 0.63) * 0.40 (0.35 - 0.46) * 0.66 (0.58 - 0.75) * 

17 0.66 (0.60 - 0.73) * 0.74 (0.64 - 0.86) * 0.58 (0.56 - 0.62) * 

18 0.83 (0.75 - 0.93) * 0.88 (0.75 - 1.03)  0.84 (0.79 - 0.89) * 

19 1.02 (0.92 - 1.14)  0.97 (0.83 - 1.15)  1.10 (1.04 - 1.16) * 

20 1.03 (0.92 - 1.15)  0.95 (0.80 - 1.12)  1.13 (1.07 - 1.19) * 

All Teens (16-20) 0.86 (0.77 - 0.95) * 0.85 (0.73 - 1.00)   0.87 (0.83 - 0.92) * 
* Statistically significant result (p < 0.05) 
Reference: Relative violation rate for teens from Jan 1997-Dec 1999 

 

As shown table 12, there was a significant reduction in violation rate for teen drivers 
between the ages of 16 and 18 after the implementation of the GDL law. Likewise, both 
point-carrying violation rates were significantly decreased for these age groups after 
GDL employed, and a significant decrease in zero-point violations was seen for 16-17 
year old drivers. However, there was a significant increase in point-carrying violation 
rates for 19 and 20 year-old drivers in the post-GDL period. The GDL law appears to 
have reduced the relative violation rates for teens driving on a probationary license. 
However, once teens graduate from GDL, the violation rate increased.  

Next, the relative violation rate in post-GDL periods before and after the implementation 
of the plea bargain ban was compared. As shown in table 13, there was a significant 
decrease in violation rates for 16 year old drivers for both all violations. There was a 
significant decrease in zero-point violations for 16 and 17 year old drivers. This was 
accompanied by a significant increase in point-carrying violations for these age groups. 
Since the plea bargain ban prevents teens from converting a point-carrying violation to a 
zero-point violation, this increase in point carrying violations was expected.  

Table 13. Relative violation rate for teen drivers before and after the plea bargain ban 

Age All Violations 
Zero-Point 
Violations 

Point Carrying 
Violations 

16 0.59 (0.51 - 0.69) * 0.44 (0.37 - 0.53) * 1.24 (1.05 - 1.46) * 

17 0.89 (0.78 - 1.01)  0.65 (0.54 - 0.77) * 1.50 (1.41 - 1.61) * 

18 0.90 (0.79 - 1.04)  0.84 (0.69 - 1.03)  1.06 (0.98 - 1.14)  

19 0.93 (0.81 - 1.08)  0.90 (0.73 - 1.11)  1.02 (0.95 - 1.10)  

20 0.95 (0.82 - 1.11)  0.94 (0.76 - 1.16)  1.01 (0.95 - 1.09)  

All Teens (16-20) 0.93 (0.81 - 1.08)   0.85 (0.70 - 1.04)   1.13 (1.06 - 1.21) * 
* Statistically significant result (p < 0.05) 
Reference: Relative violation rate for teens from Jan 2005 -Aug 2008 

 
Lastly, the rate of violations after the implementation of Kyleigh’s Law and the new GDL 
restrictions was compared to the initial post-GDL phase (table 14). These relative rates 
also include effects of the plea bargain ban since it was implemented between the two 
study periods. There was a significant decrease in the rate of all violations and the rate 
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of zero-point violations for 16-18 year old drivers. Seventeen year old drivers were the 
only group who experienced a significant change in point-carrying violation rates. As 
seen after the plea bargain ban implementation, the rate of point carrying violations 
significantly increased as compared to the initial GDL period.   

Table 14. Relative violation rate for teen drivers after the Kyleigh’s Law and new restrictions 

Age All Violations 
Zero-Point 
Violations 

Point Carrying 
Violations 

16 0.53 (0.46 - 0.62) * 0.39 (0.33 - 0.47) * 1.15 (0.98 - 1.36)  

17 0.84 (0.75 - 0.94) * 0.65 (0.56 - 0.76) * 1.36 (1.28 - 1.46) * 

18 0.85 (0.75 - 0.96) * 0.80 (0.67 - 0.95) * 0.98 (0.91 - 1.06)  

19 0.89 (0.79 - 1.01)  0.88 (0.74 - 1.06)  0.95 (0.89 - 1.02)  

20 0.95 (0.83 - 1.08)  0.94 (0.78 - 1.13)  0.99 (0.92 - 1.06)  

All Teens (16-20) 0.90 (0.80 - 1.02)   0.85 (0.71 - 1.01)   1.07 (1.00 - 1.14)   
* Statistically significant result (p < 0.05)  
Reference: Relative violation rate for teens from Jan 2005 -Aug 2008 

Conclusions 

This study has investigated the effect of changes to GDL law on violations and violation 
rates for teens in New Jersey. GDL was initially enacted on Jan. 1, 2001. Nearly eight 
years later, the NJ Attorney General banned those with a graduated driver license 
(GDL) from plea-bargaining traffic violations. Under this directive, a person with a GDL 
who received a violation with points could not plea for a different violation that did not 
carry any points. In May 2010 the most recent set of regulations for those with a GDL 
were enacted. First, Kyleigh’s Law requires those with a GDL to display a decal 
signaling they are a GDL driver on the front and rear license plate. Also, new restrictions 
on number of passengers and permissible driving times were placed on those with a 
probationary license. The following are our conclusions:  

 The overall number of violations remained relatively constant between 1997 and 
2006. From 2006-2008, violations increased for both the teen (17 to 20 year old) 
population and adult (35 to 55 year old) population. Since 2008, the overall 
number of violations has been decreasing across the State. The most common 
violation for both teens and adults over the 15 year period studies was speeding. 
Speeding was more prevalent in teen violations than in adult violations.  

 The most common violation that did not carry any points was unsafe operation of 
a motor vehicle. This specific violation was first enacted in 2000 and was the 
most common violation for adults from 2003 to 2005. Likewise, this was the most 
cited violation for teens from 2002 to 2006. After the enactment of the plea-
bargain ban, this violation was cited 50 percent less frequently. Since 2007 the 
most common violation for teens has remained speeding. The number of ‘Unsafe 
Operation of Motor Vehicle’ violations for adults also decreased over the same 
time period.  
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 Unsafe driving was the most common amended violation prior to the plea bargain 
ban took effect. Prior to the plea ban, speeding accounted for 42 percent of all 
original violations, and only 16 percent of amended violations.  

 A greater percentage of ‘Careless Driving’ violations by teens was seen after 
each GDL law enactment. With this increase, also came a decrease in the 
percentage of violations that where ‘Speeding’ violations.  

 Using a hand-held phone while driving was one of the ten most common 
violations for adults; however, this was not the case for teen drivers. Under 
current GDL laws, teens are banned from using a phone, both hand-held and 
hands-free, and texting while driving.   

 Since the enactment of GDL, the rate of zero point violations for teens, as 
compared to adults, has generally decreased. However, after the enactment of 
the no-plea bargain law, the rate of point carrying violations for teens as 
compared to adults initially increased (from 2007 to 2009), and has generally 
been decreasing since 2009. Overall, 17 year-old drivers had lower violation 
rates for both point-carrying and zero point-carrying violations than 18-, 19-, and 
20-year old drivers.  

 Significant decreases in violation rates were seen after the start of the GDL for 
16-18 year old drivers. The relative rate of violations for 17 year olds in the years 
after the GDL was enacted was about two-thirds of that in years prior to GDL. 
However, there was a significant increase in point-carrying violation rates for 19 
and 20 year-old drivers in the post-GDL period; 19 and 20 year olds were about 
1.1 times more likely to have a point carrying violation after the GDL was 
enacted. After the implementation of Kyleigh’s law and the new GDL restrictions, 
there was a significant decrease in the rate of all violations and the rate of zero-
point violations for 16-18 year old drivers. Relative violation rates for 17 year old 
drivers were about 0.8 times than those before any changes were made to the 
GDL laws.  

  



   55 

4. EFFECT OF THE PLEA BARGAIN BAN ON RECIDIVISM AMONG 
TEEN DRIVERS 

Introduction 

Traffic violations are a negative reinforcement for negative behavior. Violations may or 
may not carry points, and those with points are for more severe violations than those 
without. However, even after receiving one violation, many drivers still continue to be 
cited for traffic violations. The act of receiving this second violation, and all violations 
thereafter, is defined as recidivism. Even though driver’s behavior has been negatively 
reinforced, they continue to repeat the same behavior. 

If a teen driver in a GDL program commits a traffic violation or fails to comply with a 
GDL restriction (e.g. nighttime driving, cell phone use), GDL programs in several states 
assess driver privilege penalties. In New Jersey, the accumulation of violations can 
result in three sanctions: 1) a postponement of advancements through the GDL 
program, 2) require participation in a safe driving course, or 3) license suspension. 
Currently, these penalties are triggered when violation points are accumulated by a teen 
driver. In the event that a teen driver is convicted of a violation that carries two points, a 
warning letter is sent to the driver to instruct them that if they are convicted of another 
point carrying violation while a GDL driver, they will be subject to further penalty. 
Following the accumulation of three or more points while holding a GDL license, the 
driver is required to participate in a four hour probationary driver program (PDP) safe 
driving course. After the completion of this course, the GDL driver is given a credit of 
three violation points on their record, but subjected to a 12-month probationary period. 
During this time, if the driver is convicted of another point carrying violation, their license 
will be suspended. 

In New Jersey, there were teens that received point carrying violations, but 
subsequently pleaded to have these more severe violations changed to a zero-point 
violation in court.(35) On September 17, 2008, the New Jersey Attorney General banned 
GDL participants from pleading a point-carrying violation to a zero point-carrying 
violation.(35) It is anticipated that this ban would further encourage teen drivers to follow 
the rules of the road since the consequences are more severe. Moreover, this should 
further discourage teens from recidivism, or having multiple violations.  

Objective 

The objective of this chapter is to determine the effect of the plea bargain ban on 
recidivism rates among teen drivers.  

Methods 

The NJ MVC data from 2005-2011 was used to analyze the frequency of violations 
among teen drivers in the periods before and after the plea bargain ban. The plea 
bargain ban took effect on September 17, 2008.(35) Teen drivers were again defined as 
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drivers between the ages of 17 and 20 since this analysis was conducted based on 
when the driver received his/her license (minimum age of 17). 

The period before the plea bargain ban was defined between October 1, 2005 and 
August 31, 2008. September was excluded from the analysis to reduce the effects of 
the new law on the analysis. Likewise, the period after the plea bargain ban was defined 
between October 1, 2008 and August 31, 2011. The same month range was used for 
both the before and after period to accommodate seasonal fluctuations in the number of 
violations. Only active violations that occurred in New Jersey were included in this study 
since the plea bargain-ban mainly affects this group of violations.  

The reported GDL license date was used to determine when each driver received a 
probationary license. However, from the data, it was unclear as to when the driver 
received a basic license. New Jersey Law mandates that all drivers licensed under the 
age of 21 in New Jersey hold the probationary license for at least one year.(37) Since the 
driver must hold the probationary license for this length of time, violations within one 
year of receiving this license were assumed to have occurred while the driver was in the 
probationary period. Nonetheless, not all drivers receive a basic license exactly one 
year from receiving a probationary license. Therefore, a second analysis was conducted 
to include violations within two years of receiving the probationary license.  

Only drivers who were licensed in either of the periods of interest for this study were 
included in the analysis. Additionally, these studies were limited to drivers who 
completed either one or two years within a period of interest for the study. A driver who 
was licensed in the period before plea bargain ban, but did not complete a year of 
driving until after the ban took effect was excluded from the dataset for this study.  

The effectiveness of the plea bargain ban on recidivism was analyzed using three 
metrics: 

 Total violations within one or two years of receiving a GDL license. 

 Accumulated points within one or two years of receiving a GDL license. 

 Odds ratio of multiple violations to a single violation within one or two years of 

receiving a GDL license before and after the implementation of the plea bargain 

ban. 

Number of Violations and Points Accumulated 

The number of violations was tallied for each driver in the periods before and after the 
plea bargain ban. This was done separately for zero point and point-carrying violations. 
However, these sets were not exclusive of each other; if a driver had one zero point and 
one point-carrying violation, they appeared in each tally as having only one violation. 
Total violations (zero point and point-carrying) were also computed, and the driver 
previously described would appear as having two total violations.  

Next, the cumulative number of points a driver received within one and two years after 
licensure was tallied. Only drivers with violations were included in this analysis. For 
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each violation reported in the NJ MVC dataset, the number of points received was also 
reported. These reported points were used for this analysis. This analysis did not 
account for any reduction in points due to defensive driving courses. Only violations that 
occurred between the dates of interest were included in the analysis.  

Odds of Multiple Violations 

Recidivism can be defined as the probability of having multiple violations, given that a 
driver has had a violation. Overall, the probability of recidivism can be defined as  

              
                         

                       
 (4) 

 

This probability of recidivism can be extended to compute the odds of recidivism. The 
relationship between odds and probability is shown in equation (5). The odds of having 
multiple violations versus a single violation were computed for the period before the 
plea bargain and after the plea bargain using equation (6). 
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To compare the periods before and after the plea bargain ban, the odds ratio (OR) of 
multiple violations was computed as 
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(7) 

 

If the OR is greater than 1, the likelihood of having multiple violations was greater during 
the period after the plea bargain ban. The confidence limits were computed using 
Mantel-Hansel statistics. All analyses were conducted using SAS 9.2 (SAS Institute, 
Cary, North Carolina). 

Results 

There were 98,774 teen drivers included in the analysis of drivers with violations one 
year after licensure and 72,434 drivers included in the analysis of drivers with violations 
two years after licensure. The distribution of licensure age and the period during which 
each driver received a license is shown in figure 28. There was approximately the same 
number of drivers included in the study for each period (before and after the ban). The 
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decreased number of drivers in the period two years from the date of licensure is due to 
fewer drivers having completed two years of driving within the study period.  

  
(A) 1 Year (B) 2 Years 

Figure 28. License age of drivers with violations by license issue period for (A) drivers with violations one 
year after licensure and (B) drivers with violations two years after licensure 

 

For comparison, figure 29 shows the number of teen drivers who completed either one 
or two years of licensure during the pre-plea bargain ban period or the post-plea bargain 
ban period. The number of drivers who completed two years of licensure is lower than 
those who completed one year of licensure since the time frame is longer. 

  
(A) 1 Year (B) 2 Years 

Figure 29. License age of drivers by license issue period for (A) drivers who completed one year of 
licensure and (B) drivers with violations two years after licensure 

Number of Violations and Cumulative Points 

Figure 30 shows the distribution of the cumulative number of violations per driver for the 
periods before and after the plea bargain ban was implemented for drivers one year and 
two years after licensure, respectively. Overall, there were more drivers with violations 
in the period after the plea bargain ban than before the plea bargain ban. However, the 
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total number of violations was comparable for drivers with violations one year after 
licensure in both the period before and after the plea bargain ban was enacted. In the 
pre-plea bargain ban period, 69 percent of teens with violations had received only one 
violation within a year of licensure and 31 percent received two or more violations. 
Comparatively, in the post-plea bargain ban period, 66 percent of teens with violations 
were cited with one violation and 34 percent had multiple violations. 

  
(A) 1 Year (B) 2 Years 

Figure 30. Cumulative violations after (A) one year of licensure and (B) two years of licensure 

Next, the number of drivers with zero point and point carrying violations was computed. 
Again, these groups are not exclusive of each other since drivers may have both a zero 
point and point carrying violation. Figure 31 shows the number of drivers with zero point 
violations both one and two years after licensure. Fewer drivers had zero point 
violations within a year of licensure after the plea bargain ban. 

  
(A) 1 Year (B) 2 Years 

Figure 31. Cumulative zero point violations (A) one year after licensure and (B) two years after licensure 

 

Likewise, the number of drivers with point-carrying violations is shown in figure 32 for 
one and two years after licensure. As shown, the number of drivers with point-carrying 
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violations increased after the plea bargain ban was implemented for drivers both one 
and two years after licensure.  

  
(A) 1 Year (B) 2 Years 

Figure 32. Cumulative point-carrying violations (A) one year after licensure and (B) two years after 
licensure 

Figure 33 shows the number of drivers by their cumulative number of points both before 
and after the plea bargain ban. As previously discussed, only drivers with violations are 
included in these charts, thus the number of drivers with zero cumulative points is those 
who received only zero-point violations.  It should be noted that this chart does not give 
a measure of multiple violations; e.g. those with a two-point violation and a zero-point 
violation would be tallied the same as those who received only a two-point violation. The 
number of drivers with an accumulation of two points increased after the plea bargain 
ban was implemented (figure 33). This was complemented by a decrease in drivers with 
zero-point violations for drivers both one and two years after licensure.  

  
(A) 1 Year (B) 2 Years 

Figure 33. Cumulative points for drivers with violations (A) one year after licensure and (B) two years after 
licensure 
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Odds of Recidivism 

The odds of having multiple violations one year after licensure significantly increased 
after the implementation of the plea bargain ban (figure 34).  There was also a 
significant increase in the odds of having multiple zero point violations both one and two 
years after licensure after the implementation of the plea bargain ban. However, two 
years after licensure, there was a significant decrease in the odds of having multiple 
point carrying violations.  

 
Figure 34. Odds Ratio of multiple violations as compared to one violation before and after the plea 

bargain ban (Oct. 2005-Aug. 2008; Oct. 2008- Aug., 2011) 

 

Discussion 

One limitation of this method is that it is restricted to drivers who both received their 
license and completed a specified amount of driving with the period before or after the 
plea bargain ban took effect. Since there are few years included in this period, this 
analysis excludes a large portion of teens that received their license in the period before 
the ban, but did not complete one or two years of driving within the period. Likewise, 
teens licensed towards the end of the period after the ban took effect were also not 
included since they did not complete the specified driving period.  

It should be noted that the groups of drivers with point-carrying and zero-point carrying 
violations are not mutually exclusive. A driver with one point carrying violation and one 
zero-point carrying violation would appear as having a single violation in each of these 
analyses, but having multiple violations in the analysis of all violations.  

All analyses were conducted based on only court-ordered violations. Therefore, we do 
not know if drivers with zero-point violations in the period before the plea bargain ban 
took effect had received this violation or had bargained to this violation. Additionally, the 
effects of out-of-State violations were not included in this analysis. 
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This increase in recidivism rates was unexpected; however, we have a couple theories 
as to why this may have occurred. One theory is that the behavior of people who were 
more likely to receive multiple violations was not changed by the enactment of the plea 
bargain ban, though it did affect those who may have only received one violation. 
Therefore, since the recidivism metric is normalized with drivers who had one violation, 
the odds of recidivism increased since fewer people receive one violation. A second 
theory is that the first year after the plea bargain ban was passed is a transition year, 
where drivers are becoming aware of the new law.  

Conclusions 

After the implementation of the plea bargain ban, the number of teen drivers with point 
carrying violations increased. Likewise, there was a decrease in the number of teen 
drivers with zero-point carrying violations. However, there was a significant increase in 
drivers with multiple zero-point carrying violations after the plea bargain ban was 
employed. Additionally, the likelihood of drivers having multiple violations overall 
increased between the two comparative periods.  

There was a significant increase in the odds of having multiple point carrying violations 
one year after licensure between the two time frames. This increase is also supported 
by the analysis of cumulative points, which showed that more teen drivers in this period 
accumulated two points on their license than teens in the period immediately before the 
ban was implemented. Likewise, point-carrying violation rates for teens as compared to 
adults increased initially after the plea bargain ban was enacted, as demonstrated in 
Chapter 3. However, two years after licensure, teens had a significant decrease in the 
odds of recidivism after the ban was enacted. Though there was an initial increase in 
the likelihood of recidivism one year after receiving a license, the plea bargain ban is 
effective in reducing the likelihood of recidivism for point carrying violations over a 
longer time frame.  
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5. CONCLUSIONS 

The New Jersey Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program is one of the most 
progressive and stringent GDL systems in place in the United States.  The NJ GDL 
program was instituted on January 1, 2001.  Like other GDL programs in the U.S., the 
NJ GDL program is intended to provide teen drivers with a progressive system that 
allows for growth in their driving abilities through experience. The regulations are meant 
to limit exposure to more complicated driving scenarios. Specifically, the age at which 
full driving privileges are allowed is extended compared to previous licensing systems, 
the hours in which teens are allowed to drive are restricted, and the number of 
passengers allowed in a vehicle driven by a teen is also limited.  These are all means 
intended to lessen the number of crashes and fatalities in vehicles driven by teens.   

Since the enactment of GDL in 2001, two initiatives have been instituted which impact 
the regulations on those with a GDL. On September 17, 2008, the New Jersey Attorney 
General banned GDL participants from plea-bargaining from a point-carrying violation to 
a zero point-carrying violation.(35) Next, Kyleigh’s Law was passed on May 1, 2010, 
requiring those in the GDL system to display a decal on the front and rear license 
plates.(36) Another law enacted simultaneously with Kyleigh’s law amended the 
restrictions on those with a GDL.(36) Drivers with a probationary license are not allowed 
to drive between 11:01 pm and 5:00 am. Previously, those with a probationary license 
were not allowed to drive between 12:01 am and 5:00 am. Additionally, those on a 
probationary license are limited to only one other passenger, including family members, 
unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. Hands-free and hand held devices cannot 
be used at any time, and seat belts must be worn by the driver and all passengers and 
all times.(37) 

The objective of this study is to determine the effectiveness of the New Jersey 
Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program and the additional GDL initiatives in 
reducing teen crashes, traffic fatalities and traffic violations.   

Four different data sets were used to conduct this study. Both the NJCRASH and the 
national Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) databases were utilized to 
investigate the effect of GDL on crash rates. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle 
Commission (NJMVC) database of driver history and the Administrative Office of the 
Courts (AOC) records in New Jersey were used to analyze the effects of GDL laws on 
violations. Teen driver crashes and violations were compared to adult driver crashes 
and violations as a normalizing metric. For our study, teen drivers were defined as 16-
20 year old drivers and adult drivers were defined as 35-55 year old drivers.  

The conclusions on the effect of each of the GDL initiatives are discussed below. Each 
is evaluated in the context of crashes and crash rates as well as for violations and 
violation rates.  
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Effect of Graduated Driver License Implementation  

The pre-GDL period was defined as January 1997-December 1999 and the post-GDL 
period was defined as January 2005-August 2008. The years 2001-2004 were excluded 
to ensure all teens in the post-GDL period became licensed through the GDL system. 
Additionally, 2000 was excluded to reduce the effect of more teens becoming licensed 
before the GDL laws went into effect. The effects of the GDL implementation on crashes 
and violations are discussed below.  

 

Crashes and Crash Rates 

 

 Generally, the total number of teen crashes (drivers aged 16-20) has been 
decreasing each year after the implementation of the GDL system. Seventeen 
year old drivers experienced the largest decrease in crashes. Likewise, fatalities 
among teens generally decreased after 2006.  

 Prior to the GDL laws, there was variation in the number of crashes involving 
drivers of each teen age year. However, this variation decreased drastically in 
2009 and later years. Likewise, variation in the relative crash rates of teen drivers 
as compared to adults drivers decreased over time.  

 After GDL was implemented, 16-18 year old drivers experienced a significant 
decrease in crash rates, as compared to adult crashes. For seventeen year old 
drivers, the rate of crashes in the post-GDL period was only 0.80 (95% CI: 0.76-
0.83) than that of seventeen year olds in the pre-GDL period. However, there 
was also a significant increase in crash rates amongst 19-20 year old drivers. 
After GDL, the crash rate was about 1.1 times that of the pre-GDL crash rates for 
these age groups. It may be that 17-18 year old drivers on a probationary were 
not experiencing as many driving scenarios, and then exposed to them as an 
older teen.  

Violations and Violation Rates 

 

 The overall number of violations remained relatively constant between 1997 and 
2006. From 2006-2008, violations increased for both the teen (17 to 20 year old) 
population and adult (35 to 55 year old) population. 

 The most common violation that did not carry any points was unsafe operation of 
a motor vehicle. This specific violation was first enacted in 2000 and was the 
most common violation for adults from 2003 to 2005. Likewise, this was the most 
cited violation for teens from 2002 to 2006. 
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 Significant decreases in violation rates were seen after the start of the GDL for 
16-18 year old drivers. The relative rate of violations for 17 year olds in the years 
after the GDL was enacted was about two-thirds of that in years prior to GDL. 
However, as shown with crash rates, there was a significant increase in point-
carrying violation rates for 19 and 20 year-old drivers in the post-GDL period; 19 
and 20 year olds were about 1.1 times more likely to have a point carrying 
violation after the GDL was enacted. 

Effect of Plea Bargain Ban  

 
The plea bargain was implemented on September 17, 2008. For the analysis of crash 
rates, we defined the period before the plea bargain ban from January 2005 to August 
2008 and the period after the plea bargain ban from October 2008 to April 2010.   
 

Crashes and Crash Rates 

 

 After the implementation of the plea bargain ban in September, 2008, crash rates 
for 17 and 18 year old teen drivers significantly decreased in the period from 
October, 2008 through April, 2010 as compared to the period between January, 
2005 and August, 2008. Seventeen year old drivers had a crash rate 0.90 (95% 
CI: 0.86-0.95) times the crash rate in the period immediately before the plea 
bargain ban. No significant change in crash rates was seen for 19-20 year old 
drivers.  

 Teen drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 had a significant decrease in the 
number of single vehicle crashes after the implementation of the no-plea bargain.  

 

Violations and Violation Rates 

 

 After the enactment of the plea-bargain ban, the ‘Unsafe Operation of a Motor 
Vehicle’ violation was cited 50 percent less frequently. This is a zero-point 
violation that was shown to be the most commonly amended violation in the 
period prior to the plea bargain.  

 Zero-point violation rates among teen drivers significantly decreased among 16-
17 year old teen drivers after the plea bargain ban was implemented. However, 
there was also a significant increase in point-carrying violations for these age 
groups. This implies that the plea-bargain ban is effective in preventing teens 
from converting point carrying violations to zero point violations.  

 Sixteen year old drivers had a violation rate 0.6 times that in the pre-plea bargain 
ban period. This was the only age group to experience a significant decrease in 
all violations.  
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Recidivism 

 
This analysis was conducted based on the number of violations a teen drivers received 
within the first or second year of driving. Since there were evident seasonal variations in 
the number violations and this component of the analysis was not normalized by adult 
driver violations, equal time periods before and after the plea bargain ban were used. 
The before and after periods of the plea bargain ban were defined as October 2005-
August 2008 and October 2008-August 2011, respectively. Our conclusions on the 
effect of the plea bargain ban on recidivism rates are as follows:  

 There was a significant increase in the odds of having multiple point carrying 
violations one year after licensure after the plea bargain ban was implemented. 
Likewise, more teen drivers in this period group accumulated two points on their 
license than teens in the period immediately before the ban was implemented. 

 The likelihood of recidivism two years after licensure significantly decreased after 
the plea bargain ban was implemented. Though there was an initial increase in 
the likelihood of recidivism one year after receiving a license, the plea bargain 
ban is effective in reducing the likelihood of recidivism for point carrying violations 
over a longer time frame. 

 

Effect of Kyleigh’s Law and New Graduated Driver License Restrictions 

 
At the time of this report, Kyleigh’s Law and the new GDL restrictions implemented in 
May 2010 were the latest changes to the GDL laws. The effect of these laws was 
analyzed by comparing crash and violation rates (both point-carrying and non-point 
carrying) after they were enacted to violation rates prior to any changes were made to 
the initial GDL system. Therefore, the period before these changes was defined as 
January 2005-August 2008 and the period after was defined as June 2010 to June 2012 
for the violation analysis. Our conclusions about the effects of these regulations on 
crash and violation rates are summarized below.  
 

Crashes and Crash Rates 

 

 Significant decreases in crash rates for teens from 17-20 were seen after 
Kyleigh’s Law and the new GDL restrictions were implemented. For 17 year olds, 
crash rate ratios after these laws took effect were 0.81 (95% CI: 0.78-0.84) times 
those from before any changes were made to the GDL laws. This decrease also 
takes into account any crash rate violations from the plea bargain ban.  

Violations and Violation Rates 

 

 There was a significant decrease in the rate of all violations and the rate of zero-
point violations for 16-18 year old drivers after these laws were enacted. Relative 
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violation rates for 17 year old drivers were about 0.8 times than those before any 
changes were made to the GDL laws.  

 

 A significant increase in the relative violation rate of point carrying violations 
among 17 year old drivers was seen after these laws were enacted. The rate was 
1.36 (95% CI:  1.28-1.46) times greater after these laws were passed than prior 
to any changes in the GDL laws. However, the plea bargain ban took effect 
between these two time periods, and this increase in violations may be affected 
by that policy change.  
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