
12:8-1 Appointment; term; qualifications; vacancies; name changed; transfer of Board in
but not of DOT; redesignated commission.

The Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, shall appoint six
commissioners of maritime and docking pilots, hereinafter in this chapter called
“commissioners”, who shall hold their offices, respectively, for three years and until a successor
is appointed and qualified. No more than three of the commissioners shall be members of the
same political party, and they shall be selected from among such persons as have been officers in
our naval, Coast Guard or merchant service, or have been duly qualified as United States
Merchant Marine Officers.

The Board of Commissioners of Pilotage of the State of New Jersey, together with its
functions, powers and duties is continued as the New Jersey Maritime Pilot and Docking Pilot
Commission (the “commission”) but is transferred to the Department of Transportation. The
commission shall be in, but not of, the Department of Transportation. This transfer shall be
subject to the “State Agency Transfer Act,” P.L. 1971, c.375 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.). Nothing in
this section shall be construed as affecting the terms of office of the present commissioners of
pilotage. The commission shall consist of the commissioners appointed pursuant to this section.

Each January, the commission shall elect from its membership a president, vice president,
treasurer and secretary. The commission may employ an executive director an other employees
on such terms and conditions as it deems appropriate, without regard to the provisions of Title
11A of the New Jersey Statutes.

The commissioners and officers and employees of the commission shall be enrolled in
the Public Employees’ Retirement System and shall be eligible to participate in the State Health
Benefits Program established pursuant to the “New Jersey State Health Benefits Program Act,”
P.L. 1961, c.49 (C.52:14-17.25 et seq.). The commissioners and officers and employees who
may currently be member of the Public Employees’ Retirement System shall continue in
membership.

In case any commissioner shall die or resign, or otherwise become disqualified to act, the
governor shall forthwith fill such vacancy in the same manner and for the same term as an
original appointment.

A true copy of the minutes of every meeting of the commission shall be forthwith
delivered by and under the certification of the secretary thereof to the Governor. No action taken
as that meeting by the commission shall have force or effect until earlier of 15 days, exclusive of
Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays, after the copy of the minutes shall have been so
delivered, or the approval thereof by the Governor. If, in the 15-day period, the Governor returns
the copy of the minute with veto or any action taken by the commission or any member thereof
at that meeting, the action shall be null and of no effect. The minutes of any meeting at which
the commission proposed or approves its operating or capital outlay budget shall include a copy
of that budget. This paragraph shall not apply to any disciplinary proceedings or actions taken
by the commission.



Amended 2004, c.72, s.3.

12:8-1.1 Findings, declarations relative to pilotage.

The Legislature finds and declares:

a. The State of New Jersey has responsibility for port security in the Port of New
York and New Jersey and, pursuant to federal law, has the right and responsibility to regulate
maritime pilotage in the port.

b. In the aftermath of the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, increased emphasis
has been required by both the federal and state governments on homeland security, with
particular attention to the security of American ports.

c. Although efforts have been made to enhance the defense of the New York and
New Jersey port area from terrorist attacks and to implement improved immigration and customs
procedures, modernization and clarification of New Jersey’s laws relating to those who pilot and
dock foreign and domestic vessels have not yet occurred.

d. There is a need to provide for a system that will ensure the proper and consistent
identification, training, selection, oversight and monitoring of both maritime pilots and docking
pilots.

e. It is therefore in the public interest to modernize, clarify, revise and expand New
Jersey’s maritime pilotage laws, and to strengthen the New Jersey pilotage commission by
expanding its powers and duties and clarifying that docking pilots are under its jurisdiction.

f. It is further in the public interest that the commission be charged with the
concurrent responsibility to ensure the safe operation and navigation of vessels, to protect the
environment and enhance the economic viability of the port.

L.2004,c.72,s.1.

12:8-1.2 Definitions relative to pilotage.

As used in chapter 8 of Title 12 of the Revised Statutes:

“Apprentice” means a person who is listed as a qualified apprentice with the commission
pursuant to section 34 of P.L.2004, c.72 (C.12:8-50) or who is on the commission’s books as an
apprentice pursuant to R.S.12:8-10, R.S.12:8-11 or R.S.12:8-12.

“Bar of Sandy Hook” or “bar” means the built-up are under the waters between the
northern most point of Sandy Hook extending generally northeastward to the south shore of
Long Island caused by a deposit of sediment. The location of the bar is not static.



“Commission” means the New Jersey Maritime Pilot and Docking Pilot Commission
established pursuant to R.S.12:8-1.

“Commissioners” means the commissioners of maritime and docking pilots appointed by
the Governor pursuant to R.S.12:8-1.

“Docking pilot” means a person licensed by the commission and entered in the register
maintained pursuant to section 36 of P.L. 2004, c.72 (C.12:8-52).

“Independent Pilot Association” means any association of pilots or docking pilots, other
than the United New York or New Jersey Sandy Hook Pilots’ Benevolent Associations, whose
members are qualified to pilot vessels in pilotage waters.

“Maritime pilot,” “Licensed pilot” or Sandy Hook pilot” means a person who is licensed
by the commission to pilot regulated vessels pursuant to R.S.12:8-12 and who is a member of the
United New Jersey Sandy Hook Pilots’ Benevolent Association or the United New York Sandy
Hook Pilots’ Benevolent Association.

“Pilotage waters” means boundary waters of the states of New Jersey and New York,
ports on those boundary waters, the Sandy Hook, Raritan, Upper and Lower Bays of the Port of
New York and New Jersey; the rivers Raritan, Hackensack, Passaic and Shrewsbury, Newark
Bay, Arthur Kill, Kill van Kull, the Bar at Sandy Hook and water easterly of the Bar on which
regulated vessels navigate when entering or departing the port of New York and New Jersey,
ports south of Sandy Hook to Atlantic City and waters easterly of these ports which regulated
vessels navigate when entering or departing these ports.

“Pilots’ Association” or association” means the United New Jersey Sandy Hook Pilots’
Benevolent Association or the United New York Sandy Hook Pilots’ Benevolent Association.

“President” means the president of the commission.

“Regulated vessel” means a vessel required by the laws of the states of New Jersey or
New York to take a state licensed maritime pilot.

“Tugboat” means any vessel employed to assist the movement of a regulated vessel on
pilotage waters.

12:8-1.3 References deemed changed to NJ Maritime Pilot and Docking Pilot Commission.

On and after the effective date of P.L. 2004, c.72 (C.12:8-1.1 et al.) any reference in any
law, rule, regulation, order, contract or document to the “Board of Commissioners of Pilotage of
the State of New Jersey” or the “board of New Jersey pilot commissioners” shall be deemed to
mean or refer to the New Jersey Maritime Pilot and Docking Pilot Commission in but not of the
Department of Transportation.

L.2004,c.72,s.4.



12:8-2 Rules, orders, regulations.

The commission may make and establish such rules, orders and regulations, in
accordance with the “Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L. 1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.), not
inconsistent with the constitutions or the laws of this state or of the United States, for the better
government of the maritime pilots, docking pilots, and apprentices, as defined in section 2 of
P.L.2004, c.72 (C.12:8-1.2), to ensure safe operation of vessels and safe navigation, and to
ensure the most current and exacting levels of training and may provide for such fines and
penalties for the violation of these rules, orders and regulations, as it shall deem proper. It may
from time to time revoke or amend any such rule order or regulation.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.5.

12:8-3 Interest in pilotage business prohibited.

No commissioner shall have any direct or indirect financial interest in pilotage business.

12:8-4 Compensation of commissioners; fees, certain, for expenses of commission.

The commission shall from time to time establish the percentage of the fees received by
maritime pilots for pilotage which is to be remitted to the commission for its services under this
chapter. However, the percentage amount shall not be greater than three percent of the pilotage
fees. The amount received by the commission shall be used to pay the commission’s
administrative expenses including, but not limited to, the compensation of the commissioners,
their expenses, rent, utilities, employee salaries and benefits. Compensation of the
commissioners shall be $28,000 per annum. They shall not be entitled to receive the
commissions on extra pilotage for boarding offshore, or for fees received for what is called
transportation or harbor pilotage or any percentage of the fees received by docking pilots.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.7.

12:8-5 Annual report to Legislature, Governor, State Treasurer.

The commission shall lay before the Legislature, the Governor and the State Treasurer
annually:

a. (Deleted by amendment, P.L.2004, c.72);

b. A report of the activities of the commission within the last year;

c. A statement of the number of licensed maritime pilots, docking pilots and the
number of vessels taken in and out; and

d. Such observations in relation to the system of pilotage as in its opinion may tend
to the benefit of the cause of commerce and be of advantage to the general interest of the State.



The report shall also include:

(1) The commission’s receipts and disbursements or revenues and expenses during
that year in accordance with the categories and classifications established by the commission for
its own operating and capital outlay purposes and as may be requested by the State Treasurer;

(2) Its assets and liabilities at the end of the year;

(3) A list of all contracts exceeding $17,500 entered into during the year; and

(4) A table of organization of the commission’s employees.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.8.

12:8-6 Authority to administer oaths, subpoena power.

The president or in the absence of the president, any member of the commission may
administer the oath of office to any newly appointed commissioner, deputy maritime pilot, full
branch maritime pilot, docking pilot or apprentice and an oath to any person appearing before the
commission. By majority vote of the authorized membership, the commission may cause the
issuance of subpoena to compel the appearance of persons or the production of documents for
use in accident investigations, incident investigations, licensure investigations and revocation
proceedings.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.9.

12:8-7 Order, judgment considered final agency action; judicial review.

An order or judgment of the commission shall be considered final agency action for the
purposes of the “Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L.1968, c.410 (c.52:14B-1 et seq.) and shall
be subject only to judicial review as provided in Rules of Court. Any and all proceedings,
hearing or meetings of the commission shall be conducted in conformance with the “Open Public
Meetings Act,” P.L.1975, c.231 (C. 10:4-6 et seq.) including disciplinary and license
proceedings, complaints against pilots by users of pilotage services, rates disputes, and any other
proceeding resulting in an opinion or order of the commission.

Amended 2004, c.72. s.10.

12:8-8 Employment of maritime pilots; rotation system.

Whenever the services of a maritime pilot are required to pilot a vessel in pilotage waters,
the maritime pilots so to be employed shall be employed in rotation.

The commission shall approve any changes in the rotation system by regulation.



Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to authorize the commission to establish,
effect, regulate or control any rotation system or method of assignment of docking pilots or to
approve or disapprove any changes in the contractual relationships between docking pilots and
shipping or tugboat companies.

12:8-8.1 Provision of vessels, aircraft for embarkation, disembarkation; inbound,
outbound discharge.

The maritime pilots shall provide vessels or aircraft to embark and disembark maritime
pilots to and from vessels required to take a maritime pilot. The general location and type of
vessels or aircraft shall be approved by the commission after consultation with the maritime
pilots and Commissioners of Pilotage of the State of New York. Maritime pilots assigned to
inbound vessels or vessels operating on the waters of this State or boundary waters of this State
and the state of New York are not entitled to their discharge until the vessel has arrived at a safe
anchorage or is secure in a berth. Maritime pilots assigned to outbound vessels are not entitled to
their discharge until the vessel has been brought to a safe anchorage or has reached the pilot
station or a point substantially seaward of the sea buoys, or, upon their removal, of the entrance
buoys, for Ambrose or Sandy Hook channels.

L.2004,c.72,s.31.

12:8-9 Licensing of maritime, docking pilots.

No person shall be licensed as a maritime pilot or docking pilot of this State, except as
hereinafter in this chapter provided.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.12.

12:8-9.1 Pilotage requirements not extended.

Nothing in this amendatory and supplementary act shall be construed to extend the
requirement of pilotage to any type of vessel that is not required to be piloted pursuant to the
laws of this State, and any rules or regulations established thereunder by the commission or that
is otherwise exempted from the requirements of state pilotage regulations by statues of the
United States.

12:8-10 Pilot boats in Sandy Hook service; apprentices, control and direction of; docking
boats.

The pilot boats employed by or belonging in whole or in part to the United New Jersey
Sandy Hook Pilots’ Benevolent Association, or to the united New Jersey Sandy Hook Pilots’
Association, shall be the only maritime pilot boats in the New Jersey Sandy Hook pilot service,
or in any bays, rivers, harbors, or ports of the waters of this State or approaches to the waters of
this State between Sandy Hook, in the county of Monmouth and the city of Atlantic City, in the
country of Atlantic. Apprentices shall be attached to the pilot boats of said association and the
pilot boats may have more than one apprentice.



The apprentices shall be entered in the books of the commission in the name of and
indentured to the association, and shall serve as apprentices under the laws of this State.

The association shall have the sole control of all apprentices, subject to the regulations of
the commission, until they have served a term of at least four years and shall see that all
apprentices entered in the commission’s books are fully instructed in their duties in such manner
as is necessary to fully qualify them in every respect to perform the duties of a maritime pilot.

Docking pilot boats may be employed by docking pilots for the performance of their
duties as needed.

Amended 1991, c.76, s.2:2004, c.72, s.14.

12:8-11 Apprentices, term of service, licenses as deputy maritime pilot after examination.

Apprentices shall serve at least four years and for such longer periods of time as may be
required by the commission. They shall be examined by the commission as directed by law and
thereafter licensed as a deputy maritime pilot, at the discretion of the commission. The
apprentices herein provided for shall be the only apprentices to be appointed or employed by the
New Jersey Sandy Hook pilots.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.15.

12:8-12 Licensing as Sandy Hook Pilot, requirements.

Only a person who has successfully served an apprenticeship with the United New Jersey
or New York Sandy Hook Pilots’ Benevolent Associations and passed an examination approved
by the commission shall be licensed as a deputy maritime pilot or maritime pilot of the State of
New Jersey. A person so licensed is to be known as a Sandy Hook Pilot. No New Jersey
licensed maritime pilot or deputy maritime pilot may be licensed by another state without the
prior permission of the commission and under such terms and conditions as the commission may
require.

12:8-13 Acting as maritime, docking pilot during emergency.

Upon a specific finding of an emergency, the commission may permit for such time as
the emergency exists and at its discretion, any person to act as a maritime or docking pilot as
hereinafter provided for, off the bar of Sandy Hook, or the river Raritan, or of the harbor of
Jersey City, Newark or Perth Amboy, after having examined such person in the manner
hereinafter mentioned and made such inquiries in respecting such person and the person’s
qualifications as to the commission shall appear necessary and expedient.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.17.

12:8-14 Examination for deputy maritime pilot license; eligibility.



The commission, before granting to an applicant a license to serve as a deputy maritime
pilot, shall require the applicant to pass a qualifying examination approved by the commission
for such service, examining in particular, the applicant’s knowledge of the tides, soundings,
bearings and distances of the several shoals, rocks, bars and points of land, and such other
soundings, bearings and distances of the several shoals, rocks, bars and points of land, and such
other matters deemed by the commission as relevant to the safe navigation of vessels in the
navigation for which the applicant applies for a license. Only an applicant certified by the New
Jersey or New York Sandy Hook Pilots’ Benevolent Association as having successfully
completed the apprenticeship shall be eligible to apply for a license to serve as a maritime deputy
pilot.

The examination shall be prescribed, administered and graded under the supervision of
the commission and may be conducted in the presence of one or more full maritime branch pilots
of this State. The commission shall by regulation establish grades of maritime pilots. For each
grade, the commission shall specify the draft and tonnage of vessels a maritime pilot in that
grade is authorized to pilot and the time in grade required to advance to the next highest grade.
Maritime pilots achieving the highest grade shall be full branch maritime pilots.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.18.

12:8-15 Certificate of appointment as a maritime pilot.

Certificate of appointment as a maritime pilot. The commission shall give to every
person appointed by it as a deputy or full branch maritime pilot, a certificate of appointment or
license signed by a majority of the commissioners. At the time the commission advances a
maritime pilot in grade, the secretary shall endorse the certificate noting the advancement in
grade.

12:8-16 Oath taken by maritime pilot.

Whenever a person is first licensed as a maritime pilot, the president of the commission,
or in the absence of the president, any commissioner, shall administer to that person the
following oath:

“I, A.B., do solemnly swear (or affirm), that I will well and faithfully, and according to
the best of my skill and knowledge, execute and discharge the business and duty of a deputy or
full branch maritime pilot for pilotage waters including, but not limited to, the bar, Jersey City,
Newark, and Perth Amboy and harbor of Sandy Hook, and any bays, rivers, harbors, or ports of
the waters of this State between Sandy Hook, in the country of Monmouth and the city of
Atlantic City, in the country of Atlantic, and that I will at all times use my best endeavors to
repair on board all ships and vessels that I shall see and conceive to be bound for, or coming into,
or going out of the harbor and bodies of water aforesaid, unless I am well assured that some
other licensed pilot is then on board the same; and I do further swear (or affirm), that I will, from
time to time and at all times, make the best dispatch in my power to bring safely over the bar at
Sandy Hook and into any bays, rivers, harbors, or ports of the waters of this State between Sandy



Hook, in the county of Monmouth and the city of Atlantic City, in the county of Atlantic, every
vessel committed to my care in coming in or going out; and that I will, from time to time and at
all times, truly observe, follow and fulfill, to the best of my skill, ability, and knowledge, all such
orders and directions as I shall or may receive from the New Jersey Maritime Pilot and Docking
Pilot Commission, relative to all matters or things that may appertain to the duty of a pilot.”

Amended 1987, c.435, s.2; 1991, c.76, s.3; 2004, c.72, s.20.

12:8-17.1 Access to certain records of pilots.

A docking pilot or maritime pilot licensed by the State of New Jersey or applying for a
license is deemed to authorize the commission to obtain, from time to time, the National Drivers
Registry records pertaining to the docking pilot or maritime pilot and from his employer or
association records pertaining to the docking pilot’s or maritime pilot’s participation in a drug
testing program and the results of drug or alcohol tests issued by a testing facility.

L.2004, c.72, s.38.

12:8-18 New Licenses; forfeiture.

The commission may direct all maritime pilots to deliver up their former and take out
new licenses whenever so required, but no maritime pilot shall be charged a fee for such a new
license. Every maritime pilot not complying with these conditions shall forthwith forfeit his
license and be disqualified to act as a maritime pilot for twelve months, and shall afterwards
obtain no maritime pilot’s license unless he be readmitted under the same formalities as one
applying in the first instance.

12:8-19 Revocation, suspension of license; grounds.

The commission may, upon majority vote of its authorized membership, revoke or
suspend the license or route or reduce the grade of a maritime pilot or the license of a docking
pilot who has willfully or negligently infringed on or violated this chapter or the regulations of
the commission, or has failed to perform the duties in a manner expected of a prudent maritime
pilot or docking pilot or the commission may set such other conditions as it deems appropriate
for such infringement or violation. An order or judgment of the commission shall be considered
a final agency action for the purposes of the “Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L.1968, c.410
(C.52:14B-1 et seq.) and shall be subject only to judicial review as provided in Rules of Court.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.22.

12:8-20 Surrender of license.

If a maritime pilot or a docking pilot has forfeited any license or is no longer entitled to
the use of such license by virtue of sections 12:8-18 and 12:8-19 of this title, and of section 36 of
P.L.2004, c.72 (C.12:8-52), the commission shall demand the surrender of the license. Upon a
refusal to give up the license on demand, the commission shall notify those individuals and



agencies as it shall deem appropriate and necessary, that such person has no longer a right to act
as a maritime pilot or a docking pilot.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.23.

12:8-21 Notice, hearing of revocation of license, suspension from acting as pilot, or
reduction in grade.

Before a maritime pilot or a docking pilot shall be deprived of a license, or suspended
from acting thereunder, or reduced in grade, he shall be compelled to appear before the
commission to show cause against his suspension or the revocation of his license or reduction in
grade. The notice shall be delivered to such maritime pilot or docking pilot not less than fifteen
days before the time specified in the notice for his appearance. If the maritime pilot or docking
pilot neglects or refuses to appear before the commission at the time specified in the notice, or if
the cause shown by him against his suspension, or the revocation of his license or reduction in
grade shall appear insufficient to the commission, it may, upon a majority vote of the full
membership of the commission, either revoke the license or suspend him from acting as a
maritime pilot or a docking pilot or reduce him in grade; except that the president of the
commission, or in the absence of the president, the president’s designee, may immediately and
temporarily, for a period not to exceed 30 days, suspend the license of any maritime pilot or
docking pilot upon a determination that, because of the maritime pilots’ or docking pilot’s
mental or physical health or use of alcohol or controlled dangerous substance, the pilot cannot
safely perform the pilot’s duties. An order or judgment of the commission shall be considered
final agency action for the purposes of the “Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L.1968, c.410
(C.52:14B-1 et seq.) and shall be subject only to judicial review as provided in the Rules of
Court.

12:18-24.1 Fees for maritime pilotage, use of pilotage rates.

The fees for maritime pilotage for vessels not exempted from State pilotage by this
chapter or any law of the United States shall be as follows:

a. For every vessel entering or departing underway on pilotage waters, but not
including those south of Sandy Hook, the pilotage rates shall be the same as those charged by
maritime pilots licensed by the State of New York; except that, unless otherwise ordered by the
commission, a change in rates by New Jersey licensed pilots shall not be effective until thirty
days after the effective date of a rate change by pilots licensed by the state of New York.

b. Pilotage rates for vessels entering or departing ports and underway on waters of
ports south of Sandy Hook to, and including, Atlantic City shall be established by the
commission.

c. Maritime pilotage rates for intermediate or intra-harbor movement of vessels shall
be established by the commission after conferring with the New York Pilotage Commission.

d. Nothing in this section shall pertain to the rates charged by docking pilots.



L.2004,c.72,s.32.

12:8-31 Pay of maritime pilot carried to sea.

A maritime pilot who is carried to sea when a boat is attending to receive him shall
receive at the rate of 500 dollars per day and his reasonable expenses during his absence.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.25.

12:8-35 Vessels required to take maritime pilot; exceptions.

Every United States vessel and every foreign vessel shall take a State-licensed maritime
pilot when entering or leaving pilotage waters and shall take licensed maritime pilot or docking
pilot, as provided for herein, when otherwise underway in pilotage waters. This requirement
shall not apply to:

a. a vessel documented under the United Stats flag and operating in a coastwise
trade; or

b. a public vessel of the United States or a vessel otherwise exempt from state
pilotage regulation by United States law; or

c. a yacht of less than 200 feet in length.

If a regulated vessel underway on State pilotage waters fails to take a maritime pilot, the
master, owner, agent or charterer shall pay the pilotage fees as if one had been employed and be
subject to penalties under the commission’s regulations.

12:8-35.1 Rights of owner, operator, master of vessel.

Nothing in this chapter shall affect the right of the owner, operator or master of a
regulated vessel to choose, select or engage an individual docking pilot or tugboat company, or
be construed to permit the commission to exercise any control or authority over docking pilot
rates, pensions, benefits or other compensation of docking pilots.

L.2004,c.72,s.39.

12:8-36. Licensed pilots not required for New Jersey coasting vessels

No citizen of this state, being master of a vessel navigated under a coasting license,
employed in the coasting trade, and whose vessel is bound either in or out of any of the waters of
this state or over which it has concurrent jurisdiction with other states, constituting waters where
in pilotage is usually demanded or received whether the same be in or out of the capes of the
Delaware river, in the Delaware river or bay, or in or over the bar of Sandy Hook, shall be
required to employ a licensed pilot.



12:8-37. Pilotage to be taxed or certified when amount disputed

If the owner or consignee of a vessel is dissatisfied with the amount of pilotage charged
against the vessel, the pilot shall have the amount of pilotage claimed by him taxed or certified
by the commissioners who shall examine and certify the same without charge. No action shall
be maintained for such pilotage until the same has been so taxed or certified.

12:8-38. Liability for pilotage; where payable

The master, owner, agent or consignee entering or clearing the vessel shall be jointly and
severally liable for the pilotage which shall be payable at either of the ports of Jersey City,
Newark, Perth Amboy or New York.

12:8-39 Master to give pilot draft of vessel; penalty, proceeding, judicial review.

Every master of a vessel shall give an account to the maritime pilot and docking pilot,
when boarding, of the deep drafts, air drafts an other information necessary to the safe navigation
of the vessel. If the information is not provided or incorrect, the master shall be liable to a
penalty of up to twenty-five thousand dollars which may be sued for by the commission and
applied to the General Fund of the state. Any proceeding of the commission in this regard shall
be conducted in accordance with the “Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L. .1968, c.410
(C.52:14B-1 et seq.), and any finding of the commission shall be considered final agency action
for the purposes of such statute and shall be subject only to judicial review as provided in the
Rules of the Court.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.27.

12:8-40 Maritime pilots to account for fees.

The maritime pilots shall, once in each month, account to the commission for the fees
received by them for pilotage. The commission may require such additional financial
information as it deems necessary to effectuate the purposes of this chapter, provided that such
additional information, being proprietary, shall not be subject to public disclosure under
P.L.1963, c.73 (C.47:1A-1 et seq.).

12:8-44 Production of identity badge, card, documents.

The commission shall from time to time issue each commissioner, employee, maritime
pilot and docking pilot a badge signifying his office. The commission shall, on the anniversary
date of each maritime pilot and docking pilot, issue an identity card bearing a picture of the
recipient, along with the recipient’s description and other pertinent identifying information as the
commission deems necessary for the security in the port of New York and New Jersey.

Every maritime pilot and docking pilot, on offering his services to the master of a vessel,
shall produce and show to the master his identity badge, identity card or such documents as the
commission may require by regulation.



Amended 2004, c.72,s.29.

12:8-47 Piloting without license, fourth degree crime; fine.

Any person not holding a license as a maritime pilot or docking pilot under the laws of
this state or of the state of New York, who shall pilot or offer to a pilot a regulated vessel, on
state pilotage waters, or any person on board a steam tug or towboat who shall tow a regulated
vessel on pilotage waters not having a licensed pilot or docking pilot on board the tug or tow
boat or on board the vessel shall be guilty of a crime of the fourth degree, except that the fine
may be up to $50,000.

Amended 2004, c.72, s.30.

12:8-48. Disposition of penalties.

All forfeitures, fines and penalties recovered pursuant to this chapter and not otherwise
appropriated, shall be applied, in the first instance, toward the payment of such costs of suit and
disbursements of the commissioners, in their prosecutions and proceedings against offenders, as
shall not be received by them from the parties prosecuted or proceeded against. The residue, if
any, shall be accounted for and paid over on the first Monday in June in each year to the pilots’
charitable fund for the benefit of that association.

12:8-49 Qualification of docking pilot without apprenticeship; requirements.

Unless the commission for good cause determines otherwise, a personal shall qualify
within 12 months of the effective date of P.L.2004, c.72(C12:8-1.1 et al.) as a docking pilot
without fulfilling the apprentice docking pilot requirements of this chapter if the person:

a. Has been regularly engaged, other than as a member of a vessel’s crew, for the
purpose of docking and undocking and the movement of not fewer than one hundred seagoing
vessels of not less than ten thousand registered gross tons on the waters of the port of New York
and New Jersey during the two-year period immediately prior to the effective date of P.L.2004,
c.72 (C.12:8-1.1 et al.);

b. Holds a current first class pilot’s license issued by the United States Coast Guard
or a first class pilot endorsement to a license issued by the United States Coast Guard authorizing
the piloting of vessels of any tonnage, and endorsed for the routes in which the service of a
docking pilot are permitted, and executes an authorization permitting the commission to obtain
from the United States Coast Guard information pertaining to the applicant’s Coast Guard
license and records;

c. Holds a current unlimited radar observer’s certificate required by the United
States Guard;



d. Has participated in and successfully completed a United States Department of
Transportation, Department of Homeland Security, or their successors’ drug screening and
testing program mandated for mariners and executed to authorization permitting the commission
to obtain from that organization information pertaining to the applicant’s drug screening and
testing;

e. Has been examined by a licensed physician in the manner prescribed by the
United States Coast Guard no less than once each year and been declared by the examiner
competent to perform the duties of a docking master;

f. Submits an application for review and approval by the commission within six
months of the effective date of P.L.2004, c.72 (C.12:8-1.1 et al.), which approval shall not be
unreasonably withheld; and

g. Pays any required annual fee established by the regulations of the commission,
such fee not to exceed the reasonable cost of administration directly attributable to the licensing
of docking pilots.

A docking pilot who meets the requirements of subsections a. through e. of this section
and who submits the docking pilot’s name and a summary of qualifications to the commission
within 30 days of the effective date of P.L.2004, c.72 (C.12:8-1.1 et al.) may continue to perform
the work of a licensed docking pilot until such time as the commission acts upon the application
of that docking pilot. Prior to the issuance of a docking pilot license, such docking pilots shall be
subject to all provisions of this chapter, as if the license had been issued upon the effective date
of P.L.2004, c.72 (C.12:8-1.1 et al.).

L.2004,c.72,s.33.

12:8-50 Documentation for consideration as docking pilot apprentice.

To be considered as a docking pilot apprentice, a person shall submit the following
documentation to the commission:

a. A current first class pilot’s license or a first class pilot endorsement to a license
issued by the United States Coast Guard authorizing the piloting of vessels of any tonnage and
endorsed for the waters for which service may be required and an authorization executed
permitting the commission to obtain from the United States Coast Guard information pertaining
to the applicant’s Coast Guard license and records;

b. Evidence that the person holds a current unlimited radar observer’s certificate
required by the United States Coast Guard;

c. Evidence of participation in a United States Department of Transportation
required drug screening and testing program;



d. Evidence of a current physical examination by a licensed physician in a manner
prescribed by the United States Coast Guard and that the person has been declared competent by
the physician to perform the duties of a docking pilot;

e. Written documentation that the person has not less than ten years’ experience in
the maritime industry, including, but not limited to, credits at an approved United States
maritime college; and deck experience, provided that the person shall have served not less than
five years as a licensed mate or master in the towing industry and is endorsed by an independent
pilot association providing docking pilot services on pilotage waters; and

e. Such additional documentation as the commission may require by regulation.

L,2004,c.72,s.34.

12:8-51 Additional requirements for qualifications as a docking pilot.

To qualify as a docking pilot a person shall, in addition to the requirements of section 34
of P.L.2004, c.72 (C.12:8-50), have:

a. Performed at least 25 dockings or undocking movements of vessels not less than
10,000 gross tons on pilotage waters assigned by a tugboat or tugboats on routes for which the
applicant applies to be licensed as a docking pilot under the supervision of a docking pilot;

b. Observed not less than 200 dockings or undockings of seagoing vessels of not less
than 10,000 registered tons on pilotage waters assisted by a tugboat or tugboats under the close
supervision of a docking pilot;

c. Successfully completed a docking pilot apprentice program approved by the
commission prior to application to the commission for licensing as a docking pilot; and

d. Submitted an application to the commission for review and approval.

Upon having the application declared complete and acceptable by the commission, and
endorsed by an independent pilot association, the applicants name shall be added to a list of
qualified docking pilots. After considering the need for additional qualified docking pilots, the
commission may, in its sole discretion, thereafter appoint successful applicants as docking pilots.
To ensure recency, prior to issuing a license under this section, the commission may require the
applicant to conduct additional dockings, undockings and intra-harbor movements under the
supervision of a licensed docking pilot.

L.2004,c.72,s.35.

12:8-52 Registration of docking pilots; fee.

The commission shall enter on a register maintained by it the names and status of all
persons who demonstrate to the satisfaction of the commission that they meet the requirements



of section 33 or 35 of P.L. 2004, c.72 (C.12:8-49 or C.12:8-51) and who submit to the
commission an initial license fee not to exceed the reasonable cost of administration directly
attributable to the licensing of docking pilots and an annual license fee thereafter not to exceed
the reasonable cost of administration directly attributable to the licensing of docking pilots. The
commission may refuse to license or may suspend or revoke the license of any person who does
not comply with the requirements of section 33 of P.L.2004, c.72 (C.12:8-49), or other lawful
requirements of the commission.

L.2004,c.72,s.36.

12:8-53 Authority of docking pilots.

a. A docking pilot is authorized upon the approval of the master of a vessel pilotage
waters as defined in section 2 of P.L.2004, c.72 (C.12:8-1.2) to:

(1) Dock or undock vessels; direct the navigation of vessels within the harbor being
moved from an anchorage to an anchorage or to a berth; direct the navigation of vessels within
the harbor being moved from a berth to an anchorage or another berth; direct the navigation of
vessels departing the port until relieved by a maritime pilot licensed by the commission or the
Commissioners of Pilotage of the State of New York, at such locations where by custom and
practice prior to the effective date of P.L.2004, c.72 (C12:8-1.1 et al.) such relief took place,
provided that the maritime pilot, docking pilot and the vessel’s master concur that the relief can
be accomplished without compromising the safe navigation of the vessel; and

(2) Direct the navigation of vessels entering the port upon relieving a maritime pilot
licensed by the commission or the Commissioners of Pilotage of the State of New York for the
purpose of docking such vessels at such points where by custom and practice prior to the
effective date of P.L.2004, c.72 (C.12:8-1.1 et al) such relief took place, provided that the relief
can be accomplished without compromising the safe navigation of the vessel.

b. Nothing in the provisions authorizing the licensing of docking pilots is intended to
authorize licensed docking pilots to pilot regulated vessels on pilotage waters as they enter or
leave the Port of New York and New Jersey.

c. Nothing in the provisions of this section is intended to preclude licensed maritime
pilots from docking or undocking vessels, conducting in harbor movements of vessels or piloting
vessels on pilotage waters.

d. When the services of a tugboat are employed to dock or undock a vessel, a
docking pilot shall be employed by the vessel if requested by the vessel owner or agent.

L.2004,c.72,s.37.


