STATE OF NEW JERSEY
ExXEcUTIVE DEPARTMENT

WHEREAS, law enforcement officers, tow truck operators, firefighters and EMS personnel, Department of
Transportation/Safety Service Patrol personnel, and Road Service Technicians conduct valuable and often life-saving
operations on the roadside; and

WHEREAS, these on-scene personnel provide a critical public service as first responders; and

WHEREAS, they are called to duty at all hours of the day and night, in adverse weather conditions, and in a
dangerous roadside environment; and

WHEREAS, across the country, 32 emergency responders who were working on the roadside were struck and
killed to date in 2024, including 15 law enforcement officers, seven tow truck operators, three firefighters and EMS
personnel, two Department of Transportation/Safety Service Patrol personnel, and one Road Service Technician; and

WHEREAS, Crash Responder Safety Week is a nationally recognized initiative to bring awareness and educate
motorists about responder safety during traffic incidents and the importance of abiding by established Slow Down,
Move Over laws that protect first responders and motorists during crashes; and

WHEREAS, in New Jersey a driver who fails to slow down or move over for law enforcement officers,
firefighters, emergency medical personnel, public service utility workers, transportation road crews, and tow operators
that have emergency lights on is subject to a fine between $100 and $500; and

WHEREAS, in March 2024, to give drivers of disabled vehicles added protection, Governor Phil Murphy
expanded the Slow Down Move Over law that requires a motor vehicle driver approaching a disabled vehicle
displaying hazard lights, road flares, or reflective triangles to either move to a lane that is not next to the disabled
vehicle or, if the driver is unable to safely move over, to slow down to a speed that is less than the posted speed limit;
and

WHEREAS, in New Jersey, if a driver is convicted of this offense three or more times in a single year, they will
incur two motor vehicle points on their driver’s license, which may result in additional penalties, including surcharges

and license suspension; and

WHEREA, there is a need in New Jersey to bring awareness to crash responder safety and the dangers of failing
to abide by laws established to protect first responders and motorists at crash scenes;

NOW THEREFORE, I, Philip D. Murphy, Governor of the State of New Jersey, do hereby proclaim:

NOVEMBER 18 THROUGH NOVEMBER 22, 2024
AS
RESPONDER SAFETY WEEK

CRASH

in New Jersey.

GIVEN, under my hand and the Great Seal of the
State of New Jersey, this first day of November
in the year two thousand twenty-four, the two
hundred forty-ninth year of the Independence
of the United States.
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