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Division of Taxation to Offer Extended Hours  

As April 15 Filing Deadline Approaches 
 
TRENTON – State Treasurer David Rousseau today reminded taxpayers that all 
individual income tax returns and payments for 2008 must be postmarked or 
electronically submitted by Wednesday, April 15, 2009, in order to avoid penalties and 
interest. 

The Treasurer encouraged taxpayers who have not yet submitted their New Jersey returns 
to file electronically using New Jersey’s “FastFile” options: NJ WebFile or NJ E-File. 
These easy-to-use systems enable taxpayers to submit paperless returns via the Internet or 
through the use of a computer software package.  

“If you want your income tax refund quickly, the best thing to do is file electronically,” 
Rousseau said. Electronic filing offers taxpayers a fast, convenient and user-friendly 
alternative to completing and mailing a paper form. Electronic filers can also opt to have 
their refunds directly deposited, a choice that is not available to those filing paper returns.  

Last year the number of returns filed electronically exceeded 2.6 million, and the upward 
trend is expected to continue this year. Of the more than 2.6 million returns filed so far 
this season, more than 1.8 million, or 70 percent, have been filed electronically. 

Taxpayers who need help completing their returns may contact the Division of Taxation’s 
Customer Service Center by calling 609-292-6400. They may also visit one of the 
Division’s Regional Offices located throughout the State. Taxation representatives will 
be available to provide assistance during the period leading up to the filing deadline as 
follows:  
 
 Customer Service  

(Phone) Center 
Trenton 

Regional Office 
Other 

Regional Offices 
April 8 – 9 (W – Th) 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
April 10 (Good Friday) Closed Closed Closed 
April 11 (Saturday) Closed Closed Closed 



April 13 (Monday) 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
April 14 (Tuesday) 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
April 15 (Wednesday) 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
 
Taxation Regional Offices are located at the following addresses:  
Asbury Park ................ 630 Bangs Avenue 
Camden ....................... 2 Riverside Drive, One Port Center, Suite 200 
Fair Lawn .................... 2208 Rt. 208 South 
Newark ........................ 124 Halsey Street, 2nd Floor 
Northfield .................... 1915-A New Road (Rt. 9) 
Somerville ................... 75 Veterans Memorial Drive East, Suite 103 
Trenton ........................ 50 Barrack Street, 1st Floor Lobby 

Division of Taxation employees will be available at each regional office to answer 
questions, assist with return preparation, accept completed tax forms, or supply blank 
forms. Directions to the offices are available on the Division’s Web site at: 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.shtml 

The Treasurer also reminded taxpayers who owe tax not to overlook the advantages of 
making their payments electronically. “You can file now and pay at any time until 
midnight on April 15th,” Rousseau said. New Jersey’s electronic payment methods 
include electronic check (e-check) and credit card. There is a credit card convenience fee 
of 2.49 percent paid directly to Official Payments Corporation based on the amount of the 
tax payment.  

Financially distressed taxpayers who are struggling to meet their tax obligations can find 
information about available assistance on the Division of Taxation’s Web site 
(www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/helpwithdebt.shtml) or by calling 609-292-6400. 

Taxpayers who need more time to file their returns can request a six-month extension of 
time to file. Extension requests can be submitted online through the Division of 
Taxation’s Web site (www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/eservicesother.shtml#git) or by 
mail using the traditional paper form, Form NJ-630, Application for Extension of Time to 
File New Jersey Gross Income Tax Return, which can be printed from the Division of 
Taxation’s Web site (www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml). However, at least 
80 percent of a filer’s actual New Jersey income tax must be paid by April 15 in order to 
receive an extension. Mailed extension applications must be postmarked on or before 
Wednesday, April 15, 2009; online extension requests can be submitted until midnight on 
April 15. Anyone making a payment of tax due with an online extension must pay by 
e-check or credit card.  

Taxpayers who apply for an automatic extension of time to file their Federal returns may 
receive an extension for their New Jersey returns by including a copy of the Federal 
application when they submit their New Jersey income tax returns, provided they meet all 
other requirements (including the requirement that at least 80 percent of the actual New 
Jersey income tax liability be paid on or before April 15.) Taxpayers who file for a 
Federal extension but also need to make a payment of New Jersey tax by the April 15 due 
date must submit Form NJ-630 with that payment or file and pay online. 



“Taxpayers must remember that an extension of time to file an income tax return is not an 
extension of time to pay the tax due under the Gross Income Tax Act,” Rousseau 
explained. “Penalties and interest are imposed whenever tax is paid after the due date.” 

Attached is a list of important contacts for New Jersey taxpayer information and 
assistance.  

 

New Jersey Taxpayer Information & Assistance 
Customer Service Center ......................................................................... 609-292-6400 

Speak directly to a representative for income tax information and assistance, 
Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., except holidays 

Division of Taxation Web Site ................................ www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 

Electronic Filing 
NJ WebFile ............................................................................... www.njfastfile.com 
File State returns for free from a secure Internet site  

Electronic Payment 
Make payments of 2008 income tax or 2009 estimated tax by e-check or credit card 
(Visa, American Express, MasterCard, or Discover) 
• Online ...................... www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/eservicesother.shtml#git 
• Phone 

E-check ...................................................................................... 609-292-6400 
Credit Card .......................................................................... 1-800-2PAYTAX 

Earned Income Tax Credit Information ................................................ 609-292-6400 

Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) 
for Hard-of-Hearing Users ..................................... 1-800-286-6613* or 609-984-7300 

These numbers are accessible only from TTY devices. Submit a text message on any 
tax matter. Receive a reply through NJ Relay Services (711). 

Automated Tax Information System .................... 1-800-323-4400* or 609-826-4400 
Touch-tone phone information and assistance including: refund inquiries, recorded 
tax information, and a forms/publications request system 

NJ TaxFax ................................................................................................. 609-826-4500 
Request facsimile State tax returns and publications 

Property Tax Reimbursement (Senior Freeze) Hotline .................. 1-800-882-6597* 
Speak directly to a representative for property tax reimbursement information and 
assistance, Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., except holidays 

 
*Toll-free within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD 
 


