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The agency proposal follows: 

Summary 

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 66 (1978) and N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1, 
N.J.A.C. 18:38 was set to expire on August 27, 2015. Since this notice of 
proposal has been filed with the Office of Administrative Law prior to 
that date, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.c(2), the expiration date of the 
chapter is extended 180 days to February 23, 2016. The Division of 
Taxation (Division) has reviewed these rules and has determined them to 
be necessary, reasonable, and proper for the purpose for which they were 
originally promulgated. The Division proposes to readopt all eight 
subchapters with minor amendments. 

The rules proposed for readoption are intended to provide guidance to 
fee payers under the provisions imposing the litter control fee as set out in 
the Clean Communities Program Act, N.J.S.A. 13:1E-213 et seq. 

The litter control fee is a user fee imposed for the privilege of 
engaging in business in New Jersey as a manufacturer, wholesaler, 
distributor, or non-exempt retailer of litter-generating products measured 
by gross receipts from sales of such products within or into New Jersey. 

The rules proposed for readoption describe the scope of the fee, the 
rate, and procedures that apply to the reporting and remittance of the fee. 
The proposed amendments are primarily technical, to update the 
historical content, to correct improper word usage, to make minor 
grammatical changes, to improve examples, and to update references to 
Division forms to accurately reflect those that are used for reporting and 
registration purposes. 

Subchapter 1 provides the effective date, scope, and definitions. 
N.J.A.C. 18:38-1.1 is proposed for amendment to reflect the name change 
provided by P.L. 2007, c. 311, from “Clean Communities and Recycling 
Grant Act” to the “Clean Communities Program Act” and to remove 
reference to retroactive effect language that no longer applies. 

Subchapter 2 states the fee rates and the imposition provisions for 
wholesale and retail sales of litter-generating products. The redundant 
definitions in N.J.A.C. 18:38-2.1 and 2.2 for “wholesale sales” and “retail 
sales,” respectively, are proposed to be deleted. 

Subchapter 3 outlines the 15 categories that define the litter-generating 
products subject to the fee. 

Subchapter 4 provides three alternative fee computation methods and 
gives examples of their use to aid fee payers in completing their returns. 
Minor changes in wording are proposed to make the subchapter more 
readable. The improper term “feepayer” is replaced with “fee payer” in 
N.J.A.C. 18:38-4.1(a). The capitalization of “percentage of sales method” 
and “total sales method” is removed so the references to the various fee 
calculation methods remain consistent. 

Subchapter 5 describes the $500,000 retailer exclusion and the 
exclusion for certain restaurants. The text explaining retailer exemption 
was corrected to conform to the statute where the $500,000 threshold in 
annual gross receipts applies only to retail sales of litter-generating 

products and not the total sales of litter-generating products. In addition, 
the proposed amendments explain allowable deductions for certain 
wholesaler, distributor, and wholly owned company sales. A technical 
change is proposed to add reference to the Litter Control Fee Return 
(Form LF-5) as the means by which to take the deduction referenced in 
the subchapter. 

Subchapter 6 provides requirements for registration. The date of 
December 31, 2001, is removed from the subchapter to reflect current 
registration requirements. This date, which was initially identified to aid 
fee payers when the fee was newly imposed on January 1, 2002, is no 
longer necessary. Text within the subchapter is also modified to 
distinguish the registration procedures for new businesses operating in 
New Jersey who are subject to the fee from those that subsequently 
become subject to the fee after such businesses have registered and filed 
returns for other taxes and fees administered by the Division. The 
proposed amendment would require already registered businesses to 
complete and file a Change of Registration Information form. The 
improper term “feepayer” is also replaced with “fee payer.” 

Subchapter 7 provides filing dates and administrative requirements for 
filing returns, fee payment, and retaining records. The proposed 
amendments replaces “litter control fee return” with the name of the form 
for clarity. 

Subchapter 8 specifies the disposition of litter control fee revenues. 
Because the Division has provided a 60-day comment period on this 

notice of proposal, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar 
requirements pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)(5). 

Social Impact 

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments are necessary as 
the rules provide guidance to fee payers on how to comply with litter 
control fee obligations imposed by the Clean Communities Program Act 
(N.J.S.A. 13:1E-213 et seq.). 

Economic Impact 

There is no change in the economic impact of the rules proposed for 
readoption with amendments the class of fee payers since the last rule 
readoption in 2008. The rules proposed for readoption with amendments 
primarily state and implement basic requirements of the statutory 
provisions. Accordingly, the rules proposed for readoption with 
amendments are anticipated to have minimal, if any, impact. 

Federal Standards Statement 

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the rules 
proposed for readoption with amendments are not subject to any Federal 
requirements or standards. The rules proposed for readoption with 
amendments are in regard to a State statute imposed litter control fee and 
are independent and separate from Federal standards or requirements. 

Jobs Impact 

The Division does not anticipate that jobs will be generated or lost as a 
result of the rules proposed for readoption with amendments. The rules 
proposed for readoption with amendments continue previously 
established policies for administration of the litter control fee. 

Agriculture Industry Impact 

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will have no 
impact on the agriculture industry. 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments impose reporting, 
recordkeeping and compliance requirements on fee payers as required by 
N.J.S.A. 13:1E-213 et seq., with regard to the payment of fees on the 
gross receipts of wholesale sales and retail sales of litter-generating 
products. Some of the fee payers may be considered small businesses, as 
the term is defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 
et seq. The compliance requirement to pay a fee on the gross receipts 
generated from wholesale sales and retail sales of litter-generating 
products is imposed by N.J.S.A. 13:1E-213 et seq.; the reporting 
requirements specified in the rules provide a convenience for fee payers 
to process their statutory obligations. The Division anticipates that the 
rules proposed for readoption with amendments will have no impact on 
capital costs. In addition, the Division does not anticipate the rules would 
require for professional services since the litter control fee has been in 
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place in prior years. However, there may be some additional costs or 
accountants’ fees related to the need to monitor certain accounts and/or 
file returns with the Division. The reporting requirements involve annual 
submission of a Litter Control fee return (Form LF-5) and the 
recordkeeping requirements involve retaining the records and supporting 
documents used to complete Form LF-5. These requirements are 
necessary for the Department to assure the proper tax has been paid. The 
statute has a $500,000 exclusion for retailers intended to eliminate small 
“mom and pop” stores from subjectivity to the fee. 

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis 

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will not result in 
changes to the average costs associated with housing or on the 
affordability of housing because the rules involve reporting and 
recordkeeping requirements for those fee payers who are obligated to pay 
user fees on the gross receipts of certain wholesale and retail sales of 
litter-generating products as required under N.J.S.A. 13:1E-213 et seq. 

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis 

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will not result in a 
change in housing production within Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within 
designated centers, under the State Development and Redevelopment 
Plan. The rules proposed for readoption with amendments have no direct 
application to housing production, either within Planning Area 1 or 2, 
within designated centers, or anywhere in the State of New Jersey. The 
rules proposed for readoption with amendments deal with the obligation 
of certain businesses to pay the litter control fees on the gross receipts 
generated from certain wholesale sales and retail sales of litter-generating 
products. 

Full text of the rules proposed for readoption may be found in the 
New Jersey Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 18:38. 

Full text of the proposed amendments follows (additions indicated in 
boldface thus; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]): 

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

18:38-1.1 Effective date 
The litter control fee is imposed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 13:1E-213 

through 13:1E-223 [(P.L. 2002, c. 128),] cited as the Clean Communities 
[and Recycling Grant] Program Act. The Act was signed into law 
December 20, 2002, and the fee imposition sections [as amended, are 
retroactive to] have been effective since January 1, 2002. 

18:38-1.2 Nature of fee 
The litter control fee is [an excise] a user fee on the privilege of 

engaging in business in New Jersey as a manufacturer, wholesaler, 
distributor, or retailer of litter-generating products measured by the gross 
receipts from sales of such products within or into New Jersey. 

18:38-1.3 Definitions 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
“Distributor” means a wholesaler. The [“]wholesaler or distributor[”] 

designation is limited to those persons primarily engaged in the business 
of making wholesale sales. [“]Primarily[”] means that more than 50 
percent of gross receipts from all sales are wholesale sales. 

“Engaged in business in the State” means the participation in any 
commercial activities in New Jersey with the object of gain, benefit, or 
advantage to the [feepayer] fee payer or to another person or class, 
directly or indirectly. 

“Gross receipts” means all receipts, of whatever kind and in whatever 
form, derived from sales of litter-generating products, without any 
deduction therefrom on account of any item of cost, expense, or loss. 
Gross receipts are reportable on [the] an accrual basis and not as 
collections are made. New Jersey sales and use tax collections are not 
includible as gross receipts. 

“Manufacturer” means any person who engages in the making, 
fabricating, or processing of any litter-generating product regardless of 
whether the manufacturing activity occurs within or outside New Jersey. 
Farmers, ranchers, fishermen, and those engaged in similar occupations 
exclusively involved in the growing, harvesting, and producing of raw, 

unprocessed food products for human or animal consumption are not 
deemed to be manufacturers. 

“Retailer” means every person engaged in the business of selling or 
exchanging goods for cash or barter or any consideration on the 
assumption that the purchaser of such goods has acquired the same for 
ultimate consumption or use. The [“]retailer[”] designation is limited to 
those persons primarily engaged in the business of making retail sales. 
[“]Primarily[”] means that more than 50 percent of gross receipts from all 
sales are retail sales. [“]Retailer[”] includes the owner or operator of a 
take-out or drive-through restaurant, the principal activity of which 
consists of selling any meal or food prepared and ready to be eaten for 
consumption off the premises of the restaurant. [“]Retailer[”] does not 
include the owner or operator of a restaurant with less than 10 percent in 
annual retail sales of meals or food prepared and ready to be eaten for 
consumption off the premises of the restaurant; or the owner or operator 
of a restaurant, the principal activity of which consists of preparing for 
consumption within the restaurant a meal or food to be eaten on the 
premises; or those persons that make an isolated or occasional sale of a 
litter-generating product who are not regularly engaged in the business of 
making sales at retail where such litter-generating product was obtained 
by the person making the sale, through purchase or otherwise, for his or 
her own use. [“]Principal activity[”] means more than 50 percent of the 
restaurant’s food and beverage sales. 
. . . 

“Sale” means any transfer of title or possession or both, exchange, or 
barter of tangible personal property, conditional or otherwise, in any 
manner or by any means whatsoever for a consideration or any agreement 
therefor. [“]Sale[”] does not include a rental or lease transaction. 

“Sales within the [state] State” means all retail sales and all wholesale 
sales by taxpayers engaged in business within New Jersey of litter-
generating products for use and consumption within New Jersey[. It shall 
be presumed that all sales of litter-generating products sold within the 
state are for use and consumption within the state] unless the taxpayer 
shows that the products are shipped [out-of-state] out-of-State for [out-
of-state] out-of-State use. Additionally, [“]sales within the [state”] State 
or [“]sold within New Jersey[”] means all sales of litter-generating 
products from points outside New Jersey having a New Jersey destination 
made by every manufacturer, wholesaler, distributor, and retailer having 
nexus with New Jersey without regard to the state in which title passes or 
delivery takes place. 

“Wholesaler” means any person who sells litter-generating products 
for the purpose of resale to another wholesaler or a retailer or both, but 
does not include manufacturers. The [“]wholesaler or distributor[”] 
designation is limited to those persons primarily engaged in the business 
of making wholesale sales. [“]Primarily[”] means that more than 50 
percent of gross receipts from all sales are wholesale sales. 
. . . 

SUBCHAPTER 2. FEE IMPOSITION AND FEE RATES 

18:38-2.1 Fee imposed on persons engaged in wholesale sales 
A litter control fee at the rate of 3/100 of [1] one percent (.0003) is 

imposed on gross receipts from wholesale sales of litter-generating 
products sold within or into New Jersey by each person engaged in 
business in the State as a manufacturer, wholesaler, distributor, or retailer 
of such litter-generating products. [“Wholesale sales” are sales for 
resale.] 

18:38-2.2 Fee imposed on persons engaged in retail sales 
A litter control fee at the rate of 2.25/100 of [1] one percent (.000225) 

is imposed on gross receipts from retail sales of litter-generating products 
sold within or into New Jersey by each person engaged in business in the 
State as a manufacturer, wholesaler, distributor, or retailer of such litter-
generating products. [“Retail sales” are sales for ultimate consumption or 
any purpose other than resale.] 

SUBCHAPTER 3. PRODUCTS SUBJECT TO THE FEE 

18:38-3.1 Sales of litter-generating products 
(a) Litter-generating products means the 15 categories of products 

listed in (b) below which meet any of the following conditions: 
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1. They are produced, distributed, or purchased in disposable 
containers, packages, or wrappings; [or] 

2. (No change.) 
3. They are of an unsightly or unsanitary nature commonly thrown, 

dropped, discarded, placed, or deposited by a person on public property, 
or on private property not owned by [him] that person. 

(b) [It is presumed that all products] Products in the categories listed 
below [satisfy] qualify as litter-generating products provided they 
meet at least one of the conditions [stated] listed in (a) above [and 
qualify as a litter-generating product]. 

1. Beer and other malt beverages[—] means beer, lager beer, ale, stout, 
porter, and all similar fermented malt beverages having an alcoholic 
content of [1/2 of 1] one-half of one percent or more by volume. 

2. Cigarettes and tobacco products: 
i. Cigarettes means any roll for smoking made wholly or in part of 

tobacco, or any other substance or substances other than tobacco, 
irrespective of size, shape, or flavoring, the wrapping or cover of which is 
made of paper or any substance or material, excepting tobacco. 

ii. Tobacco products means all products containing tobacco except 
cigarettes, including, but not limited to, cigars, little cigars, cigarillos, 
chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, smoking tobacco, and other products 
containing tobacco, including snuff. 

3.-4. (No change.) 
5. Food for human or pet consumption: 
i. Food for human consumption means any substance, the chief general 

use of which is for human nourishment. It includes sales of all food by 
food manufacturers, wholesalers, and retailers. Certain restaurants 
described in N.J.A.C. 18:38-5.1(b) are excluded as retailers of food. 

ii. Food for pet consumption means any substance the chief general 
use of which is for pet nourishment. 

(1) [“]Pet[”] means any domesticated animal which is not a productive 
animal. [“Productive] A productive animal[” means] is an animal which 
is raised for its meat, for the edible products which it produces, for its fur, 
wool, or skin, for breeding purposes, or for farm work. [The following 
are examples] Examples of productive animals include, but are not 
limited to: dairy cows, poultry, swine, sheep, food fish, rabbits, and other 
game animals raised for meat or fur, chinchillas and minks[; also], cows 
and bulls held for breeding purposes, stallions, brood mares, and plow 
horses. 

6. (No change.) 
7. Groceries means all nonperishable edible products, except drugs, 

sold by persons in a place of business engaged in selling food for off 
premises consumption. Food sold in such establishments and not included 
in this category would be included in the [“]food for human or pet 
consumption[”] category. 

8. Metal containers sold as such means articles made wholly or in 
substantial part of materials such as iron, steel, tin, aluminum, copper, 
zinc, lead, silver, or like substances and any alloys thereof and which can 
be, or are, used to hold other things within themselves and sold in an 
empty state for the purpose of resale or transfer in a filled or partially 
filled state. 

9. Motor vehicle tires means all tires, regardless of composition, 
designed for use on any vehicle propelled otherwise than by muscular 
power including motorcycles, motor driven lawn and garden equipment, 
[and] construction equipment, and including trailers, semi-trailers, 
housetrailers, or any other type of vehicle drawn by a motor-driven 
vehicle. 

10. Newsprint and magazine paper stock: 
i. Newsprint means machine-finished paper made from ground wood 

and chemical pulp or recycled paper in whole or in part as commonly 
used to manufacture newspapers but [shall] does not mean newspapers in 
their published form. 

ii. (No change.) 
11. Drugstore sundry products means all products, goods, or articles, 

except newspapers, magazines, and drugs, whether prescription or 
nonprescription, sold by persons in a place of business selling drugs at 
retail. 

i. [“]Drugs[”] means substances or products appearing in the latest 
listing of United States Pharmacopoeia or National Formulary the chief 
general use of which is as medicine for treating disease, healing, or 

relieving pain, but excluding devices, apparatus, instruments, prostheses, 
and the like. 

ii. [“]Place of business[”] for purposes of this category, means any 
location, department, or division even though it [be a] is part of a larger 
business physically, operationally, and in its books and records. Thus, a 
department store which consists of a drug department and a clothing 
department, each with its own space and having separate employees, cash 
registers, and accounting records, would not be subject to the litter 
control fee on sales of [its] the clothing department merely because it was 
located in the same building under the same ownership as the drug 
department. 

12. Paper products and household paper means all items of tangible 
personal property made or substantially derived from paper including all 
paper products for home or other personal use but does not include 
newspapers, magazines, books, and roll stock produced by paper product 
manufacturers, and wood pulp[,] sold as such. 

i. [“Newspaper”] A newspaper is a printed publication issued at 
regular intervals, usually daily or weekly, and which contains news, 
editorial comment, feature articles, and advertisements. 

ii. [“Magazine”] A magazine is a printed publication issued 
periodically, at least four times a year, and is usually bound with a paper 
cover and contains many and miscellaneous articles on a variety of 
topics. 

iii. [“Book”] A book is a set of written or printed pages bound on one 
side and comprising a literary composition, [or] academic, or 
authoritative work. Examples of a book include soft or hard covered 
novels, textbooks, reference resources, such as dictionaries or 
encyclopedias, and nonfiction volumes. The term [“]book[”] does not 
include pamphlets, brochures, flyers, periodicals, or advertising. 

13. Plastic or fiber containers made of synthetic material and sold as 
such means articles which can be, or are, used to hold other things within 
themselves and which are made of synthetically produced ethylene 
derivatives, resins, waxes, adhesives, or polymers, or by synthesis of fiber 
materials with adhesives, polymers, waxes, resins, or other materials, but 
not including any container which is routinely reused, has a useful life of 
more than one year, and is ordinarily sold empty at retail. It includes 
containers made of paper, pasteboard, or cardboard in which the 
container material consists of fibrous substances synthesized with other 
materials. Synthetic material means that produced by synthesis which is 
the process of making or building up by a composition or union of simple 
parts or elements as distinguished from the process of extraction or 
refinement. 

14. Soft drinks and carbonated waters means all beverages, whether 
carbonated or noncarbonated, except alcoholic beverages, including fruit 
juices, milk, carbonated water, and all mixtures or dilutions of 
nonalcoholic beverages, but does not include noncarbonated water. 

15. Wine means all wines whether known as dry wines, sweet wines, 
still wines, or fortified wines, and any artificial or imitation wine or 
compound sold as wine, and any fruit juice containing [1/2 of 1] one-half 
of one percent or more of alcohol by volume, and any other beverage 
containing alcohol produced by the fermentation of the natural sugar 
content of fruits or other agricultural products containing sugar, which 
beverage contains [1/2 of 1] one-half of one percent or more of alcohol 
by volume, including vermouth and cider. 

SUBCHAPTER 4. FEE COMPUTATION 

18:38-4.1 Fee computation methods 
(a) Litter control fee liability may be computed by any manufacturer, 

wholesaler, distributor, or retailer subject to the fee using any one of three 
fee computation methods: general method, total sales method, or 
percentage of sales method. 

1. The general method of fee computation is as follows: 
i. The fee is computed using the general method by applying the fee 

rate as stated in N.J.A.C. 18:38-2.1, Fee imposed on persons engaged in 
wholesale sales, to gross receipts from all wholesale sales of litter-
generating products within New Jersey and applying the fee rate as stated 
in N.J.A.C. 18:38-2.2, Fee imposed on persons engaged in retail sales, 
to gross receipts from all retail sales of litter-generating products sold 
within New Jersey [sold] during the calendar year. 



PROPOSALS TREASURY — TAXATION 

 NEW JERSEY REGISTER, MONDAY, OCTOBER 5, 2015 (CITE 47 N.J.R. 2489) 

ii. Use of the general method requires the [feepayer] fee payer to 
separately account for [his] sales of each of the 15 categories of litter-
generating products to properly substantiate [his] gross receipts subject to 
the fee. 

Example: The M&M General Store is a retail establishment 

located in New Jersey with total sales of $1,000,000 for all products 
sold within New Jersey. $650,000 of the sales are retail sales of litter-
generating products, and $225,000 of the sales are wholesale sales of 

litter-generating products. The owner of M&M General Store 
chooses to pay the fee using the general method of computation and 
separately accounts for sales from each of the 15 categories of litter-

generating products. The fee due for the calendar year is calculated 
below. 
$650,000 x 0.000225 = $146.25 

$225,000 x 0.0003 = $67.50 
$146.25 + $67.50 = $213.75 
The fee due for the calendar year is $213.75. 

2. The total sales method of fee computation is as follows: 
i. The fee is computed using the total sales method by applying the fee 

rate as stated in N.J.A.C. 18:38-2.1, Fee imposed on persons engaged in 

wholesale sales, to gross receipts from all wholesale sales of all products, 
both litter-generating and non litter-generating, within New Jersey and 
applying the fee rate as stated in N.J.A.C. 18:38-2.2, Fee imposed on 

persons engaged in retail sales, to gross receipts from all retail sales of 
all products, both litter-generating and non litter-generating, sold within 
New Jersey [sold] during the calendar year. 

[Example: The XYZ Liquor Store is a retail establishment in New 
Jersey with total retail sales of $1,000,000 for all products sold in New 
Jersey. The owner of XYZ Store having reviewed the list of litter-
generating products, is aware that most, if not all, of his sales involve 
litter-generating products and, therefore, elects to pay the fee using the 
Total Sales Method of Computation. His total fee due for the calendar 
year would be: 
$1,000,000 x .000225 = $225.00 fee due. The low amount of his fee 
liability, $225.00 supports his use of this method rather than separately 
accounting for sales of litter-generating products and using the general 
method of computation.] 

ii. Use of the total sales method requires the [feepayer] fee payer to 
account for total sales of all products in New Jersey but does not require 
separate accounting for sales of litter-generating products. 

Example: The XYZ Liquor Store is a retail establishment located 

in New Jersey with total sales of $1,000,000 for all products, both 
litter-generating and non litter-generating, sold within New Jersey. 
$700,000 of the sales are retail sales, and $300,000 of the sales are 

wholesale sales. The owner of XYZ Liquor Store, having reviewed 
the list of litter-generating products, is aware that most of the sales 
are litter-generating products and, therefore, elects to pay the fee 

using the total sales method of computation thus, eliminating the 
need to separately account for sales from each of the 15 categories of 
litter-generating products. The fee due for the calendar year is 

calculated below. 
$700,000 x .000225 = $157.50 
$300,000 x .0003 = $90.00 

$157.50 + $90.00 = $247.50 
The fee due for the calendar year is $247.50. 

3. The percentage of sales method of fee computation is as follows: 
i. The fee is computed using the percentage of sales method by 

applying the fee rate as stated in N.J.A.C. 18:38-2.1, Fee imposed on 
persons engaged in wholesale sales, to that proportionate amount of 
gross receipts from wholesale sales of all products within New Jersey 
which properly reflects wholesale sales of litter-generating products 
within New Jersey and applying the fee rate as stated in N.J.A.C. 18:38-
2.2, Fee imposed on persons engaged in retail sales, to that 
proportionate amount of gross receipts from retail sales of all products 
within New Jersey which properly reflects retail sales of litter-generating 
products sold within New Jersey [sold] during the calendar year. 

[Example: The ABC Auto Supply Store is a retail establishment in 
New Jersey with total retail sales of $2,000,000 for all products sold in 
New Jersey for the calendar year. ABC owner, upon review of the list of 
litter-generating products, is aware that while his store does sell many 

litter-generating products such as motor vehicle tires, cleaning agents, 
paper products, etc., he also sells many products not listed. He may, 
therefore, elect to compute his fee due using the Percentage of Sales 
Method and eliminate much of the expense of recordkeeping needed for 
the General Method of computation. He can substantiate that the proper 
proportionate amount of his total sales that can be attributed to sales of 
litter-generating products is $500,000. His total fee due for the calendar 
year would be$500,000 x .000225 = $112.50 fee due.] 

ii. The percentages of sales must reflect the portion of total retail sales 
and total wholesale sales [represented by sales] of litter-generating 
products in [those sales] the 15 categories. The percentages must be 
determined from actual sales data from a sample period of at least one 
month within the return period which is representative of the [feepayer’s] 
fee payer’s sales activity during the entire period covered by the return. 
This percentage is computed by dividing the gross receipts from sales of 
litter-generating products by the gross receipts from total sales for the 
sample period. 

[Example:] iii. [This] The sampling procedure as provided in 
(a)3iii(1) through (6) below, should be applied to both retail sales and 
wholesale sales: 

(1)-(2) (No change.) 
(3) Distinguish between litter-generating product sales and [nonlitter] 

non litter-generating product sales for the sample period. 
(4)-(5) (No change.) 
(6) Multiply the product obtained in [step] (a)3iii(5) above by the 

proper fee rate to determine the fee due for the calendar year. 
[iii.] iv. A [feepayer] fee payer electing to determine [his] the litter 

control fee liability by using the percentage of sales method [would] is 
not [be] required to separately account for [his] the total sales of litter-
generating products. However, [he would be] the fee payer is required to 
maintain such records to substantiate the proportionate amounts used. 

Example: The ABC Auto Supply Store is a retail establishment 

located in New Jersey with total sales of $2,000,000 for all products 
sold within New Jersey for the calendar year. ABC Auto Supply 
Store’s owner, Frank, is aware that while his store sells many litter-

generating products from the 15 categories, such as motor vehicle 
tires, cleaning agents, paper products, etc., the store also sells many 
non litter-generating products. Frank, may, therefore, elect to 

compute the fee using the percentage of sales method and eliminate 
much of the expense of recordkeeping needed for the general method 
of computation. The fee due for the calendar year is calculated below. 

Sampling Period (1 month) 
Total sales: $200,000 
Total retail sales of litter-generating products in the sampling period: 

$7,000 
Proportionate amount of total sales attributed to retail sales of litter-
generating products in the sampling period: 

$50,000/$200,000 = 0.035 
Total wholesale sales of litter-generating products in the sampling 
period: $13,000 

Proportionate amount of total sales attributed to wholesale sales of 
litter-generating products in the sampling period: 

$80,000/200,000 = 0.40 

Proportionate amount of total sales attributed to retail sales of litter-
generating products in the calendar year: 

$2,000,000 x 0.25 = $500,000 

Proportionate amount of total sales attributed to wholesale sales of 
litter-generating products in the calendar year: 

$2,000,000 x 0.40 = $800,000 

Fee due for calendar year: 
$500,000 x 0.000225 = $112.50 
$800,000 x 0.0003 = $240.00 

The fee due for the calendar year is $112.50 + $240.00 = $352.50. 

SUBCHAPTER 5. EXCLUSIONS AND DEDUCTIONS 

18:38-5.1 Exclusions 
(a) Any retailer with less than $500,000 in annual gross receipts from 

[all sales, both] retail sales [and wholesale sales,] of litter-generating 
products within the State is excluded from filing and payment of the fee 
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for any year in which such amount is not met. When annual gross receipts 
from all retail sales of litter-generating products are $500,000 or more, a 
retailer is subject to the fee on total annual gross receipts from all sales of 
litter-generating products, including the initial $500,000 of retail sales of 
such products. 

(b) For purposes of this section, the [“]retailer[”] designation [is 
limited to those persons including manufacturers] includes a 
manufacturer primarily engaged in the business of making retail sales. 
[“]Primarily[”] means that more than 50 percent of gross receipts from all 
sales are retail sales. 

[(b)] (c) Any owner or operator of a restaurant with less than 10 
percent in annual retail sales of meals or food prepared and ready to be 
eaten for consumption off the premises of the restaurant or any owner or 
operator of a restaurant, the principal activity of which[, as defined by 
N.J.A.C. 18:38-1.3,] consists of preparing for consumption within the 
restaurant a meal or food to be eaten on the premises, is excluded from 
filing and payment of the fee for any year in which such conditions are 
met. 

18:38-5.2 Deductions 
(a) The following sales of litter-generating products [shall be] are 

considered [as] deductions on the Litter Control Fee Return (Form 
LF-5): 

1. A sale of a litter-generating product by a wholesaler or distributor to 
another wholesaler or distributor. For purposes of this section, the 
[“]wholesaler or distributor[”] designation [is limited to those persons 
primarily engaged in the business of making wholesale sales. 
“Primarily”means that more than 50 percent of gross receipts from all 
sales are wholesale sales. The designation “wholesaler or distributor”] 
does not include a manufacturer. 

2.-3. (No change.) 

SUBCHAPTER 6. REGISTRATION 

18:38-6.1 Registration requirements 
(a) Any person subject to the litter control fee [commencing] at the 

time the person commences or [opening] opens a new place of business 
[subsequent to December 31, 2001] is required to register as a litter 
control [feepayer] fee payer [with the Division] on Form NJ-REG, 
Application for Business Registration, at least 15 business days prior to 
the commencement or opening of such business. 

(b) Any person who is already registered [under any law administered 
by the Division or who is subject to] and files returns under any [of these] 
laws [is not required to register as required by (a) above] administered 
by the Division, and becomes subject to the litter control fee, must 
complete and file Form REG-C-L, Change of Registration 

Information. 

SUBCHAPTER 7. RETURN FILING, FEE PAYMENT, AND 
RECORD RETENTION 

18:38-7.1 Annual filing and fee payment 
Every person subject to the litter control fee is required to file, under 

oath, a [litter control fee return] Form LF-5, and pay the full amount of 

the fee due [thereon], on or before March 15 of each year for the 
preceding calendar year’s fee liability. 

18:38-7.2 Litter control fee return 
[A litter control fee return,] Form LF-5[,] must be filed[,] as required 

by N.J.A.C. 18:38-7.1, with the Division, indicating the dollar value of 
sales [within the State] of litter-generating products within the State. 

18:38-7.3 Record retention 
All records and other supporting documentation used in completing 

the LF-5 [Litter Control fee return,] must be retained and made available 
for examination on request by the Division of Taxation or its authorized 
representatives, for at least five years following the filing of a return. 

SUBCHAPTER 8. DISPOSITION OF REVENUES 

18:38-8.1 Revenues deposited in the Clean Communities Program 
Fund 

Litter control fee revenues, and penalties and interest derived from the 
imposition of the litter control fee, will be deposited in the Clean 
Communities Program Fund, a [nonlaspsing] non-lapsing, revolving 
fund in the Department of the Treasury administered by the Department 
of Environmental Protection. 

__________ 
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(a) 

CAPITAL PROGRAM MANAGEMENT 

Notice of Extension of Public Comment Period 
Utility Accommodation 

Proposed Repeals and New Rules: N.J.A.C. 16:25 

Take notice that the Department of Transportation is extending the 
public comment period on the above notice of proposal, published in the 
August 3, 2015, New Jersey Register at 47 N.J.R. 1903(a), for 30 days. 
The comment period now ends on November 2, 2015. 

Submit written comments by November 2, 2015, to: 

Miriam Weeks, Administrative Practice Officer 
New Jersey Department of Transportation 
1035 Parkway Avenue 
PO Box 600 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0600 
Fax: (609) 530-4638 
Submit electronically at njdotRules@dot.state.nj.us. 

This rule may be viewed or downloaded from the Department’s 
website at http://www.state.nj.us/transportation/about/rules/proposals. 
shtm. 

__________ 


