DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY
DIVISION OF REVENUE AND ENTERPRISE SERVICES
NOTARY PUBLIC APPLICATION
PHONE (609) 292-9292

Important: Please read instructions on reverse side.
Complete lines 1 — 8. New Jersey Non-Residents also complete line 9. Lines 10 and 11 must be completed by State Legislator.

1) Application type [] New [] Renewal (Please enter the following information from your current commission certificate)

Commission Number

Expiration Date / /
. ] Name Change/ 0
2) Print Name L] Correction
(First Name) (M.l.)  (Last Name)
Address Change/ m
3) Home Address Correction

(Number and Street, including apartment number and rural route)

State Zip Code + 4 -

City/Town

County

4) Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) / /
5) Has your commission ever been denied, suspended or revoked? [ Yes [ No (If yes, enclose a statement of details)

6) Have you ever been convicted of acrime? [ Yes [ No (If yes, enclose a statement of details)

7) Occupation

8) Signature of Applicant Date / /

New Jersey Non-Residents Only
9) Please list New Jersey Business Name and Address

Business Name

Business Address

(Number and Street, including apartment number and rural route)

N|J Zip Code + 4 -

City/Town State

New Jersey County

10) Signature of State Legislator 11) Legislative District Number

For internal use onl

C D / / E / /




STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY
NOTARY PUBLIC INFORMATION AND APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

A Notary Public serves as an impartial witness to the signing of documents, attests to the signature on the

document, and may also administer oaths and affirmations. The State Treasurer commissions notary publics for

a five-year period.

A1423: A notary public who is not licensed as an attorney-at- law shall not use or advertise the title of lawyer or

attorney-at-law. A notary who advertises his services must provide a statement “l am not an attorney licensed

to practice law and may not give legal advice about immigration or any other legal matter or accept fees for

legal advice”.

PREREQUISITES FOR A NOTARY PUBLIC COMMISSION

A Notary Public must be a resident of New Jersey or a resident of an adjoining state who maintains, or
is regularly employed in an office in New Jersey; and

A Notary Public must be 18 years or older; and

A Notary Public may not have been convicted of a crime under the laws of any State or the Federal
Government, for an offense involving dishonesty, or a crime of the first or second degree.

STEPS FOR APPLYING TO BECOME A NOTARY PUBLIC

1.

Visit the New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services (DORES) website at
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/ to apply for a Notary Public Commission online, or

Complete the paper application form as follows:

e Enter the appropriate information in lines 1-8.

e |[fyou are a current Notary Public and your Name or Address has changed, make sure to check the
appropriate box(es) on lines 2/3.

e |[fyou are a non-resident of New Jersey, enter the business name and address of your office or
place of employment in New Jersey in line 9 and attach an affidavit to your application attesting to
your home address.

e Receive an endorsement from a member of the New Jersey State Legislature on lines 10/11.

Send the completed and endorsed paper application form with a check for the filing fee of $25.00
(non-refundable) to: DORES, Notary Public Section, PO Box 452, Trenton, NJ 08646. Make check
payable to: Treasurer, State of New Jersey.

Provided your application form is properly completed, DORES will mail you a Notary Public
Commission Certificate together with an Oath Qualification Certificate within 30 days.

Take your Notary Public Commission Certificate and Oath Qualification Certificate to the Office of the
County Clerk where you reside (for non-residents, where you are employed in New Jersey) to swear to
the Oath of Office.

Note that you will be required to pay the filing fee per the County Clerk's statutory fee schedule. Your
County Clerk will send your Oath Qualification Certificate to DORES.



IMPORTANT NOTES: DORES will reject your Oath Qualification Certificate if it is not submitted by the Office of
the County Clerk where you reside. If this happens, DORES will mail you a letter providing instructions about

how to complete the application process. In addition, DORES will cancel your Notary Public commission if you
do not take your oath within 3 months from the date of your Commission Certificate. [f this happens, you will
need to submit a new application and filing fee.

DORES maintains a database of Notary Publics at http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/notary.shtml




