

# **Income Tax**

# **Filing Deadline**

The filing deadline is Tuesday April 15, 2025 for calendar year taxpayers – matching the due date for the federal Form 1040.

### **Child Tax Credit**

Resident taxpayers with taxable income of \$80,000 or less are eligible for a refundable credit of up to \$1,000 for each dependent who is age 5 or younger on the last day of the tax year (born 2019 or later). Taxpayers whose filing status is married filing separately are not eligible for this credit.

If the taxable income (line 42) is:	The credit per child is:
\$30,000 or less	\$1,000
Over \$30,001 but not over \$40,000	\$800
Over \$40,001 but not over \$50,000	\$600
Over \$50,001 but not over \$60,000	\$400
Over \$60,001 but not over \$80,000	\$200

### **Earned Income Tax Credit**

Resident taxpayers who meet the federal Earned Income Tax Credit eligibility requirements also qualify for the New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit. The New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit for 2024 is 40% of the federal Earned Income Tax Credit.

Dependents	Single, Head of Household, Widowed	Married Filing Joint
0	\$18,591	\$25,511
1	\$49,084	\$56,004
2	\$55,768	\$62,688
3	\$59,899	\$66,819

# Credit for Excess UI/WF/SWF; DI; FLI Withheld

For 2024, the maximum employee unemployment insurance/workforce development partnership fund/supplemental workforce fund contribution was \$179.78. The maximum employee disability insurance contribution was \$0.00. The maximum employee family leave insurance contribution was \$145.26. Workers who had two or more employers may have contributed more than the maximum amount(s). To claim credit on the tax return for excess withholding, complete Form NJ-2450. **Note:** The rate for NJ disability insurance contributions was reduced to 0% for Tax Year 2024. If an employer withheld disability insurance contributions in error, the taxpayer must contact that employer to get the refund.

# **Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions**

Philadelphia's 2024 nonresident wage tax rate was 3.44% (.0344).



# **Property Tax Relief**

### **New Application for Seniors and Certain Disabled Residents**

Residents who are 65 or older or receiving Social Security Disability benefits on December 31, 2024, will use a new form, the Property Tax Relief application, to apply for benefits under the ANCHOR, Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement), and the new Stay NJ programs for 2024. The new application is expected to be available in February 2025 and must be filed by October 31, 2025. This application will have both a paper and online filing option.

# Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement)

The Senior Freeze program reimburses eligible senior citizens or disabled persons for property tax increases on their principal residence (main home). Eligible residents must file the **new** Property Tax Relief application.

The 2024 applications will be part of the combined Property Tax Relief application as required by Stay NJ legislation.

### **Eligibility Requirements:**

Age 65 or older or receiving social security disability as of 12/31/23

Owned and lived in your New Jersey home since 12/31/2020

Property taxes or site fees must be paid in full

Income Limits, total annual income must be:

2023: \$163,050 or less, and 2024: \$168,268 or less

**Income.** Significant changes have been made to the income calculation for Property Tax Reimbursement. Income is no longer based on PAAD guidelines.

Income Calculation includes:

- Income reported on Form NJ-1040,
- Tax Exempt Interest,
- Distributions from or rollovers to a Roth IRA,
- Other retirement income excluded from taxation (e.g., military pension); and
- Federal Social Security

**First-time filers.** The requirement for an applicant to be a New Jersey resident for 10 consecutive years has been removed. The residency requirement now only requires applicants to have owned and lived in their home for 3 years.

**Filers with an established base year.** There is now a one-time exception that allows second year and later filers to retain their base year if their income exceeds the limit one year. As long as their income in the subsequent tax year does not exceed the income limit again *and* they meet all the other filing requirements, the filer will not have to establish a new base year. By filing the application, the claimant may retain their base year; however, they will be ineligible for reimbursement in the year that their income exceeds the limit.

**Proof of property taxes** are no longer required for **first year filers** or **second year and later** filers.

# THE TOTAL OF TAXABLE PARTY OF TAXABLE PA

### **2024 TAX UPDATES**

### **ANCHOR Program**

New Jersey residents who owned or rented their principal residence (main home) in New Jersey may be eligible for an ANCHOR benefit. The home must have been subject to property taxes in 2024. Both homeowners and renters must also meet certain income limits.

Homeowner Income Limits	Renter Income Limits
\$250,000 or less	\$150,000 or less

# **Filing**

Seniors (age 65 and older) or Disabled Residents (receiving SSD benefits)

- Combined Property Tax Relief Application
  - o Paper or Electronic
  - Available February 2025
  - o Due Date October 31, 2025

Non-Senior & Non-Disabled

Applications Available Summer 2025

### **2021 ANCHOR**

- Filing deadline was extended to December 6, 2024
- Payments began Mid-October
  - May take up to 90 days from filing

### **STAY NJ**

The Stay NJ Program established under <u>P.L. 2024, c.88</u>, is New Jersey's newest property tax relief program for senior homeowners. This program allows senior homeowners meeting eligibility requirements to receive half of their property taxes, up to \$6500, as property tax relief.

### **Eligibility Requirements:**

Age 65 or older as of 12/31/24

New Jersey homeowner for one full tax year as of 12/31/23

Income in the prior tax year must be under \$500,000

### Filing:

The Stay NJ Program establishes a joint property tax relief application for seniors. In February 2025 the new Property Tax Relief application will be released and will include Stay NJ, Property Tax Reimbursement, and ANCHOR. The due date will be October 31, 2025.

Note: All property tax relief programs are subject to State budget approval.



# **Business Taxes**

# **New Jersey Sales Tax Holiday**

The New Jersey Sales Tax Holiday that began in August 2022, allowing no Sales Tax to be charged on eligible back to school items, was repealed under <u>P.L. 2024, c.19</u>.

### Sales Tax Exemption on Zero Emission Vehicles

Beginning October 1, 2024, the exemption on zero emission vehicles is being repealed under P.L. 2024, c.19. The repeal of this exemption will take place in phases as listed below:

Period when Zero Emission Vehicle is Sold	Sales Tax Rate
10/01/2024 - 06/30/2025	3.3125%
06/30/2025 and on	6.625%

Prior to the repeal of this exemption, sales, leases, and rentals of zero emission vehicles were not assessed Sales Tax in New Jersey. The customer to obtain this exemption used an ST-4 and the dealer used an ST-4EV to report the exemption to the Division.

### **Sales Tax Exemption on Contractor Purchases**

<u>P.L. 2024, c.3</u> establishes a new Sales Tax exemption for contractors or repair people in conjunction with affordable housing projects. The exemption includes materials, supplies, and some services for qualified projects. If a project meets the qualifications listed below, a contractor or repairperson may provide the ST-13 to the supplier in order to claim the exemption.

### **Qualifications:**

- Real property of housing sponsors engaged in affordable housing
- All units intended for moderate, low, or very low income
  - Defined by the Fair Housing Act
- New Construction, Repairs, and Improvements

### **Corporate Transit Fee**

<u>P.L. 2024, c.20</u> imposes a Corporate Transit Fee in the amount of 2.5% on taxable net income over \$10 million. The Corporate Transit Fee is effective January 1, 2024, and does not apply to public utility companies or New Jersey S Corporations.

Note: The previous Corporation Business Tax Surtax expired 12/31/23.

# **Business Entity Conversion or Domestication**

Effective November 4, 2023, you may convert entity types from corporation to LLC or LLC to corporation. You may also change from a foreign entity to a domestic entity. These changes may be made through the Division of Revenue by using Form CD-100 (resulting business will be a NJ entity) or Form CD-101 (resulting business will be a non-NJ entity). In order to be granted the requested change, you must pay a \$75 fee when filing and be in good standing.



# Resources

### **Tax Practitioner Contacts**

Tax Practitioner Hotlines
Business Hours 8:30am – 4:00pm
Income Tax (609) 633-6657
Business Tax (609) 633-6905

Tax Practitioner Priority Email Practitioner.Tax@treas.nj.gov

### **General Contact Information**

Customer Service Center Business Hours 8:00am – 4:00pm 609-292-6400

ANCHOR Hotline
Business Hours 8:30am – 5:30pm
1-888-238-1233
Make an appointment:
https://www.nj.gov/treasury/taxation/contact-office.shtml

Senior Freeze Hotline Business Hours 8:30am – 5:30pm 1-800-882-6597

### **Regional Offices**

You may visit our website for address to our Regional Offices located in Cranford, Fair Lawn, Freehold, Galloway, and Trenton

https://www.nj.gov/treasury/taxation/contact-office.shtml

Appointments are recommended but not required

### **Social Media**

Connect with us on social media

