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Introduction  The taxability of sales made through coin-operated vending machines is based on several factors. This 

bulletin will clarify the different tax treatments required on a variety of vending transactions. 

Non-food Items  The gross receipts from all sales of tangible personal property (other than food and drink) such as laun-
dry detergent, cigarettes, nail clippers, barrettes and bobby pins sold through coin-operated vending 
machines are taxable. Sales of items which are exempt by law, such as clothing and footwear (e.g., shoe 
laces and bathing caps), as well as sales of any items for 25 cents or less, are not taxable and should be 
deducted from gross receipts before calculating tax. 

Postage stamps purchased for mailing purposes only are exempt from tax. Stamps (postage and other) 
purchased as collector�s items are taxable. 

To calculate the tax due on receipts from the sale of taxable non-food items, multiply the total gross 
receipts (less exempt sales if any) by the current sales tax rate (6%). Follow the example below. 

Example: 
Receipts from sales of non-food items $ 1,000 
Tax due ($1,000 x 6% sales tax rate) $ 60 

Food and Drink  Sales of food and drink for 26 cents or more through coin-operated vending machines are taxable. The 
only exceptions to this are the sale of milk and sales in cafeterias or other eating facilities in elementary, 
secondary and higher education schools. Student lounges, dormitories, gymnasiums, libraries, etc. are 
not considered to be eating facilities. 

  Operators of vending machines which dispense food and drink must report and pay sales tax on the 
wholesale price of these items. The wholesale price is defined as 70% of the retail vending machine 
selling price. The receipts from the sales of exempt items should be deducted from gross receipts prior to 
calculating the tax. To calculate the tax due on sales of food and drink, subtract sales of milk and 30% of 
sales of food and beverages from total vending machine sales. Then multiply this amount by 
the current sales tax rate of 6%.  

  Example:  
  Receipts from sales of milk $ 1,000   
  Receipts from sales of food and 

 beverages (other than milk) 
 
$ 8,000 

 

  Total vending machine sales   $ 9,000 
  Less deductions:   
  Milk $ 1,000  
  30% of sales of food and 

 beverages (other than milk) 
 ($8,000 x 30%) 

 
 
$ 2,400 

 

  Total deductions   $ 3,400 

  Sales subject to tax   $ 5,600 
  Tax due ($5,600 x 6% sales tax rate)   $ 336 
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Registration  Vendors operating coin-operated vending machines must register with New Jersey in order to do busi-
ness in this State by filing an Application for Business Registration (Form NJ-REG). One sales tax 
registration number will be given to each vendor for all machines. On each machine there must be the 
following statement: �This vending machine is operated by Name of Vendor at Place of Business of 
Vendor� and �New Jersey Sales Tax Registration Number                .� 

A Public Records Filing may also be required depending upon the type of business ownership. For more 
information on Public Records Filing call 609-292-9292. 

Resale  The vendor may purchase all items to be sold through coin-operated vending machines without paying 
New Jersey sales tax by issuing a New Jersey Resale Certificate (Form ST-3) to a supplier who is 
registered to accept such certificates. If the vendor purchases the items out-of-State, the vendor may have
to pay the other state�s sales tax. For further information on out-of-State purchases and on the use of 
exemption certificates, request ANJ-10, Out-of-State Sales & New Jersey Sales Tax, and Tax Topic 
Bulletin S&U-6, Sales Tax Exemption Certificates. 

For More 
Information 

 For more information on vending machines and New Jersey sales tax, call the Division�s Customer
Service Center at 609-292-6400, e-mail us at taxation@tax.state.nj.us, or write to: 
 

NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF TAXATION 
INFORMATION AND PUBLICATIONS BRANCH 
PO BOX 281 
TRENTON  NJ  08695-0281 

Many State tax forms and publications are now available, both by fax and through the World Wide Web.
Call NJ TaxFax from your fax machine�s phone at 609-826-4500 or access the Division�s home page via
your computer�s modem at:  http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 
 

 


