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What is Use 
Tax? 

 The New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act (N.J.S.A. 54:32B-1 et seq.) provides for use tax to be imposed when 
taxable goods and services are purchased for use in New Jersey but sales tax was not collected by the retailer 
in the state of purchase or was collected at a rate less than the New Jersey sales tax rate. 

When sales tax is not collected at the time of purchase or is collected at a rate less than the New Jersey sales 
tax rate (currently 6%), the purchaser is liable for use tax to New Jersey. 
 

Imposition of 
Use Tax  

 Examples of when use tax is due: 
• Taxable goods and services are purchased out of State for use in New Jersey and no sales tax was 

collected. In most cases, the purchaser owes use tax. However, special rules apply to lease transactions. 
For information on paying use tax on leased property, request Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-12, Leases and 
Rentals. 

• Taxable goods and services are purchased out of State for use in New Jersey and sales tax was collected 
at a lower rate than New Jersey�s. The purchaser owes use tax. See Reciprocity below. 

• Items of inventory which were purchased tax free with a resale certificate are used by the vendor  
(e.g., are given away as part of a promotion). The vendor owes use tax. 

 

Reciprocity  When you purchase goods and services in another state and pay sales tax to that state, New Jersey will allow 
a credit against the use tax due, provided that the other state allows a similar credit for sales tax paid to New 
Jersey. If the sales tax rate in a reciprocating state is equal to, or greater than, New Jersey�s 6% tax rate, you 
would not be subject to use tax. 

If the sales tax rate in the state where you made your purchase is less than New Jersey�s, use tax is due at the 
rate of 6%. However, if the other state has sales tax reciprocity with New Jersey, a credit for the sales tax 
you paid there is allowed against the use tax due. For example, if your out-of-State purchase was for $100 
and the sales tax rate was 4%, you paid $4 in sales tax. The New Jersey use tax is $6 (6% × $100), less a 
credit for the $4 already paid, for a use tax due of $2. 
 

Registered 
Vendors 

 When you purchase taxable tangible personal property from an out-of-State vendor and take possession of it 
in New Jersey, the vendor will collect New Jersey sales tax if registered to do business in this State. In that 
case, no use tax is due. On the other hand, an out-of-State vendor that is not registered to do business in New 
Jersey cannot legally collect New Jersey sales tax. If you purchase taxable merchandise from an out-of-State 
vendor which does not charge New Jersey sales tax, it does not mean that tax isn�t due, but rather that the 
vendor is not authorized to collect it. In such instances, you are required to remit use tax directly to New 
Jersey. 
 

Remitting 
Use Tax 

 Use tax can be reported and remitted on several different forms. Individual taxpayers report and remit any 
use tax due on Form ST-18 (see below) or on their New Jersey Resident Income Tax Return, Form NJ-1040 
or Form NJ-1040EZ. Vendors and those nonvendors who file monthly and/or quarterly sales and use tax 
returns with New Jersey report and remit use tax on Forms ST-50 and ST-51. Certain nonvendor businesses, 
if qualified, are authorized to report and remit use tax using the Annual Business Use Tax Return (Form 
ST-18B). For more information on filing Forms ST-50, ST-51 and ST-18B, request Tax Topic Bulletin 
S&U-7, Filing Sales and Use Tax Returns. 
 

Self-Audit 
Programs 

 From time to time the Division of Taxation conducts Use Tax Self-Audit Programs of businesses and li-
censed professionals in the State. These programs are geared towards businesses which regularly purchase 
taxable services and taxable goods such as office supplies and equipment from out-of-State vendors for use 
in New Jersey without paying sales tax. These businesses and professionals are required to remit use tax on 
these purchases. With very few exceptions, the Sales and Use Tax Act does not exempt from tax items used 
in conducting business.  
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  There are some items that are taxable because they are used in business. For example, paper products are 
exempt when purchased for household use but are taxable when purchased for use in a business (e.g., toilet 
tissue for a rest room). If sales tax is not paid on the purchase of the paper products, use tax is due. 

 

For More 
Information 

 For more information on New Jersey use tax, call the Division�s Customer Service Center at 609-292-6400, 
e-mail us at taxation@tax.state.nj.us, or write to: 

NEW  JERSEY DIVISION  OF  TAXATION 
INFORMATION  AND  PUBLICATIONS  BRANCH 
PO  BOX  281 
TRENTON  NJ  08695-0281 

Many State tax forms and publications are available by fax and on our Web site. Call NJ TaxFax at 609-
826-4500 from your fax machine�s phone or access the Division�s home page at: 
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 

 

USE TAX 
Form  ST-18  (09/00) 

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 
DIVISION OF TAXATION 

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY� 

    

PURCHASER�S NAME AND ADDRESS 

  

  

  

  

Social Security or Federal Identification Number 

SELLER�S NAME AND ADDRESS 

  

  

  

  

Attach Rider if Necessary 

1. AMOUNT OF 
PURCHASE $   

2. USE TAX 
(Line 1  x  .06)   

3. CREDIT, IF ANY, FOR 
TAX PAID IN  

TAXABLE ITEM(S) PURCHASED POSSESSION DATE PRICE PAID 

a) /  $   

b) /    

c) /    
 (If more taxable items were purchased, attach rider) (Carry Total to Line 1) 

JURISDICTION OF  
PURCHASE (See  
instruction for Line 3)   

4. AMOUNT DUE 
(Line 2 Less Line 3) $   

I CERTIFY THAT ALL THE INFORMATION GIVEN IS CORRECT 

 Signature
 

Date 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING USE TAX RETURN (Form ST-18) 
LINE 1 -  Enter the Total amount of all purchases subject to the Use Tax. 

LINE 2 -  Multiply Line 1 by 6% (.06) and enter the amount of Use Tax. 

LINE 3 -  Enter credit for sales tax previously paid ONLY on purchases where items or services were received outside of New Jersey. 

A.  TAX PAID TO ANOTHER STATE AT 6% OR HIGHER - If you paid Sales Tax on the purchase at the current New Jersey rate 
of 6% or a higher rate to another state or jurisdiction and did not take delivery in New Jersey, NO Use Tax is due New Jersey. 
No credit will be given for such payments on items or services delivered into New Jersey or for taxes paid in foreign countries. 

B. TAX PAID TO ANOTHER STATE AT LESS THAN 6% - If you paid sales tax on the purchase at less than the current New 
Jersey rate of 6% and did not take delivery in New Jersey, Use Tax is due New Jersey in the amount of any difference.  

LINE 4 -  Subtract line 3 from line 2 and enter the result on line 4. Make payment to:  State of New Jersey-Use Tax. 

Mail this form upon completion together with your payment to:  State of New Jersey-Division of Taxation, Revenue Processing Center, Use 
Tax, PO Box  261, Trenton, NJ  08646-0261. (KEEP A COPY FOR YOUR RECORDS) 

For information regarding the ST-18 and its completion contact:  New Jersey Division of Taxation, Customer Service Center at (609) 292-
6400. 

PRIVACY ACT NOTIFICATION 

The Tax Reform Act of 1976, P.L. 94-455, modified at 42USC 405(c)(2)(c)(i), authorizes the use of social security numbers in the 
administration of a tax law. The Division will use the number for tax account identification and tax administration and collection purposes. 

 


