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Introduction 

This bulletin explains how New Jersey sales 

and use tax applies to charges for admission to 

places of amusement, entertainment and sports 

activities in this State. It also explains the reg-

istration and sales tax collection obligations of 

amusement activity and entertainment event 

producers, promoters and ticket agents. 

 

General Information 
The New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act imposes 
a tax on any admission charge in excess of $0.75 
to or for the use of any place of amusement in 
New Jersey or to any entertainment event or 

sporting activity which takes place in this State. 
The sales and use tax rate is currently 6%. 

Places, events and activities to which admis-
sions are taxable include, but are not limited to, 
amusement parks; motion picture theaters; dra-
matic or musical arts performances; race tracks; 
baseball games, basketball games, football 
games and other similar exhibitions performed 
for the benefit of spectators. Charges by a roof 
garden, cabaret or other similar establishment in 
this State are also subject to sales tax if such 
charges have not been taxed pursuant to the 
provision of the Sales and Use Tax Act which 
imposes tax on the sale of food and drink.  

Certain admissions, such as those charged to a 
patron for admission to, or for the use of facili-
ties for sporting activities in which the patron 
will be a participant, are exempt from tax. Also 
exempt are charges for admission where all of 
the proceeds are for the exclusive benefit of a 
qualified New Jersey exempt organization (ex-
cept admissions to carnivals, rodeos or circuses 
in which a professional performer or operator 
participates for compensation). Admissions to 
boxing matches and other combative sports 
contests or exhibitions that are subject to tax 
under any other law of this State are exempt 
from sales tax also. 
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Taxable Admissions 
It is usually easy to distinguish between a tax-
able and a nontaxable admission charge. How-
ever, the distinction may be more difficult to 
make if the term �Place of amusement� is not 
accurately understood. For New Jersey sales tax 
purposes, a place of amusement means any pri-
vately or publicly owned and operated place 
within New Jersey where facilities for entertain-
ment, amusement or sports are provided, such as 
a theater, stadium, museum, arena, racetrack or 
other place where performances, concerts, ex-
hibits, games, contests or other activities are 
held, and for which an entry fee is charged. 

Furthermore, transactions which contain charges 
for items that are merely related or ancillary to 
admission charges are sometimes confused with 
the actual admission charges themselves.  

Equipment Rentals 
Charges for admission to sporting activities in 
which the patron will be a participant are some-
times confused with charges for the rental of 
equipment or accessories used in such activities 
(e.g., bicycles, boats and canoes, bowling shoes, 
fishing equipment, horses (for horseback rid-
ing), skates, golf carts, jet skis, slot cars, etc.). 
Rentals of tangible personal property are taxable 
transactions in New Jersey even when the rented 
property is used to engage in a participatory 
activity the admission to which is exempt. 

Example 
Claudette Kiley pays $75 for a lift ticket at a ski 
resort in New Jersey. The ticket entitles her to 
unlimited access to the resort�s slopes, trails and 
lifts for two days. Claudette does not have her 
own equipment so she rents skis, boots and 
poles at the resort�s ski shop for $55. 

As an admission charge to a participatory sport-
ing activity, the cost of the lift ticket is exempt 
from sales tax. However, Claudette is required 
to pay sales tax on the equipment rental charge 
since rentals of tangible personal property in 
New Jersey are taxable. 

Atlantic City Luxury Tax 
Admission charges to any theater, show, pier, 
exhibition, place of amusement or ride located 
in Atlantic City are subject to Atlantic City 
Luxury Tax in addition to sales tax, for a total 
tax of 12%. 

NOTE: Some charges in Atlantic City are sub-
ject only to the 9% Luxury Tax and not 
to sales tax (e.g., rolling chair and tram 
rides, and horoscope/fortune 
machines). 

For more information on Atlantic City Luxury 
Tax, request publication ANJ-17, Atlantic City 
Luxury Tax and New Jersey Sales Tax. 

Amusement Equipment 
Purchases of amusement ride equipment are 
purchases of tangible personal property and are 
subject to sales tax when purchased in New 
Jersey. If purchased out-of-State for use in New 
Jersey from a vendor who is not registered to 
collect New Jersey sales tax, the purchaser owes 
New Jersey use tax. If use tax is due, credit may 
be taken for any sales tax that was legally due 
and paid to the state where the equipment was 
purchased provided that state has reciprocity 
with New Jersey. For more information on use 
tax, request publication ANJ-7, Use Tax in New 
Jersey. 
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Nontaxable Admissions 
Charges paid by a patron to enter and/or use 
facilities for sporting activities in which the 
patron will participate are exempt from sales tax 
as are admissions to boxing matches and other 
combative sports contests or exhibitions held in 
New Jersey that are subject to tax under any 
other law of this State. Admissions sold by a 
qualified exempt organization are also tax 
exempt (subject to the exceptions described 
below) provided all of the proceeds are for the 
exclusive benefit of the exempt organization. 

Participatory Sporting Activities 
Charges for admission to facilities such as bowl-
ing alleys, swimming pools, golf courses, base-
ball batting cages, billiard parlors, etc., where 
the patron actively participates in a sporting 
activity, qualify for exemption from sales tax. 
The mere fact that the patron is active rather 
than passive is not relevant to the exemption 
unless the activity is considered a sport. 

Example 
Shannon pays $5 for one half-hour at an indoor 
play gym/house. Since Shannon is not partici-
pating in a sporting activity, the admission 
charge is subject to sales tax. 

Combative Sports  
Charges for admission to boxing matches or 
other combative sports contests or exhibitions 
are not subject to sales tax if they are taxed 
under any other law of this State. For example, 
the New Jersey Boxing Commission is required 
by law (N.J.S.A. 5:2A-20) to tax all boxing 
matches originating in this State. Since they are 
taxed under the provisions of a New Jersey stat-

ute other than the Sales and Use Tax Act, admis-
sion charges to these events are not subject to 
sales tax. However, admissions charged for the 
privilege of viewing a combative sports contest 
which originates out-of-State, are subject to 
New Jersey sales tax. Such events are typically 
viewed by means of a subscription to a closed 
circuit or pay-for-view television outlet. 

Admission charges to professional wrestling 
matches are, however, subject to sales tax. 
These events are not regulated or taxed by the 
State Athletic Control Board because they are 

deemed to be activities in which the primary 
purpose of the participants is to provide enter-
tainment for spectators, not to engage in a bona 
fide athletic contest.  

Exempt Organizations  
Charges for admission to events are not taxable 
when all of the proceeds from the admissions 
are for the exclusive benefit of a qualified New 
Jersey exempt organization conducting the event 
and do not personally benefit any individual 
stockholder or other member of that organiza-
tion. This exemption does not apply in the case 
of admissions to carnivals, rodeos or circuses in 
which any professional performer or operator 
participates for compensation. This exemption 
does apply to: 

Agricultural fairs � provided all of the pro-
ceeds of the admissions are used for the improve-
ment, maintenance and operation of the fair. 

Athletic games or exhibitions � where the 
admission proceeds exclusively benefit an ele-
mentary or secondary school, or the admission 
charge is to an athletic contest between two 
elementary or secondary schools and the entire 
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gross proceeds benefit one or more exempt 
organizations. 

Historical sites � such as houses, shrines, etc., 
as well as any museums conducted in connec-
tion therewith, which are maintained and oper-
ated by a society or organization devoted to the 
preservation and maintenance of such historic 
sites, houses, shrines and museums. 

Symphony orchestras and operas � where the 
proceeds exclusively benefit a society or organi-
zation conducted for the sole purpose of main-
taining symphony orchestras or operas and 
which receives substantial support from volun-
tary contributions. 

Arcade Games  
Coin-operated arcade-type games such as video 
games, pinball machines or virtual reality type 
games are not considered to be �places of amuse-
ment.� Therefore, charges for their use are ex-
empt from sales tax. 

Aircraft/Balloon Rides 
Airplane, helicopter and balloon rides sold at 
fairs, carnivals, etc., are nontaxable transporta-
tion charges. However, in cases where the bal-
loon remains tethered, the activity is considered 
a ride and the charge is a taxable admission. 

 

Examples of Taxable Admissions 

• Amusement parks 

• Amusement rides  

• Animal shows 

• Antique shows 

• Automobile races 

• Automobile shows 

• Balloon rides (where the 
balloon is tethered)  

• Baseball games 

• Basketball games 

• Bumper cars 

• Cabarets 

• Children�s play gyms/houses 

• Children�s rides 

• Circuses 

• Concert halls  

• Craft shows 

• Dance performances 

• Dramatic performances  

• Exhibitions  

• Expositions 

• Fairs  

• Football games  

• Hockey games 

• Ice shows  

• Motion picture theaters  

• Museums 

• Musical performances 

• Opera houses  

• Pony rides 

• Race tracks  

• Roof gardens  

• Soccer games 

• Sports arenas and stadiums 

• Sports collectibles shows  

• Tennis exhibitions 

• Theaters (or other place of 
assembly where live dra-
matic, choreographic or 
musical performances are 
presented) 

• Trade shows 

• Wrestling matches 
(professional) 

• Zoos 
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Examples of Nontaxable Admissions 
• Baseball batting cages 
• Basketball courts (when 

patron participates)  
• Billiard parlors (pool halls)  
• Bowling alleys  
• Bungee jumping  
• Fishing piers 
• Go cart rides/speedway 

• Golf courses (including 
miniature golf)  

• Golf driving ranges  
• Health clubs or spas, 

(membership dues and fees) 

• Laser tag 
• Parachute jumping  
• Paintball 

• Skating rinks 
• Skeet shooting ranges  
• Skiing facilities 
• Speedways 

• Swimming pools  

• Tennis courts (when patron 
participates)  

• Water slides 

Promoters and Ticket Agents 
A promoter is anyone who holds, produces or 
sponsors an event, the admission to which is 
subject to sales tax. A ticket sales agent is any 
person who sells tickets or receives admission 
charges for a promoter. A promoter or ticket 
sales agent can be either a private or public 
entity and may operate for or without profit.  

Registration 
Promoters, ticket sales agents and other ticket 
sellers are required to register as vendors with 
the State of New Jersey to obtain a Certificate of 
Authority (Form CA-1) for sales tax. An Appli-
cation for Registration must be filed with the 
State at least 15 business days prior to beginning 
business in New Jersey.  

Collection and Remittance of Tax  
Tickets which state the price of admission must 
also state the amount of New Jersey sales tax 
due. The tax must be collected by the person 
who sells the tickets or collects the admission 
charge. However, a ticket sales agent for a pro-
moter may turn the tax collected over to the 
promoter (who is then responsible for remitting 
it to the State) provided all of the following 
conditions are satisfied: 

1. Both the ticket sales agent and the promoter 
agree in writing that the promoter will remit 
the tax to the State. 

2. The promoter provides the ticket sales agent 
with a photocopy of his New Jersey Certifi-
cate of Authority (Form CA-1) for sales tax. 

3. The ticket sales agent has no reason to be-
lieve that the promoter will not remit the 
sales tax. 

4. The ticket sales agent maintains proper re-
cords showing: the number of tickets or ad-
missions sold; the gross receipts from ticket 
sales; the amount of sales tax collected; the 
promoter�s name, address and telephone 
number; and a copy of the promoter�s New 
Jersey Certificate of Authority for sales tax. 
This information must be available to the 
Division of Taxation upon request. 

5. The Division of Taxation has not advised 
the ticket sales agent in writing to remit the 
tax directly to the State in the case of a par-
ticular promoter.  
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Tickets Sold Above Face Value 
If a ticket dealer purchases tickets for a taxable 
event and pays sales tax on the face value of the 
tickets, no tax need be charged when the tickets 
are resold. If the tickets are resold at a premium, 
the amount in excess of the face value is consid-
ered a nontaxable charge for the service of mak-
ing tickets more conveniently available to cus-
tomers. It is understood that the premium does 
not go to either the sponsor or promoter of the 
event. The service charge of a retail ticket outlet 
such as Ticket Master is not considered part of 

the taxable admission price and is also not sub-
ject to tax. 

Permanent Seats and Boxes 
For any person having the permanent use or 
possession of a box or seat or lease or a license, 
other than a season ticket, for the use of a box  
or seat at a place of amusement, the tax shall be 
upon the amount for which a similar box or seat 
is sold for each performance or exhibition at 
which the box or seat is used or reserved by the 
holder, licensee or lessee. 

 

Taxpayers� Bill of Rights 
The New Jersey Taxpayers� Bill of Rights ensures that taxpayers are accorded fair 
and equitable treatment and receive the information and assistance they need to 
understand and meet their State tax responsibilities. To find out more, contact the 
Division of Taxation. 

 
For More Information 

For more information about admission charges, contact the Division�s Tax 
Hotline at 609-588-2200, or write to: 

NEW  JERSEY  DIVISION  OF  TAXATION 
TECHNICAL SERVICES  
TAXPAYER SERVICES BRANCH 
PO BOX  281 
TRENTON   NJ   08646-0281 

Many State tax forms and publications are now available, both by fax and 
through the World Wide Web. Call NJ TaxFax at 609-588-4500 from your fax 
machine�s phone, or access the Division�s home page via your computer�s 
modem at: http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 




