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Introduction 

This publication explains how sales and use tax 

applies to lease and rental transactions in New 

Jersey. It provides information on the difference 

between rentals and leases and the correct pro-

cedures for charging, collecting and remitting  

tax on both types of transactions. It also explains 

who is responsible for paying sales and use tax 

and which transactions are exempt from tax. 

 

General Information 
The rental or lease of most tangible personal prop-
erty in New Jersey is subject to the State�s  
6% sales and use tax. Tangible personal property 
means physical property other than real property 
(land and buildings).  

Use tax is a compensating tax which the buyer 
must pay directly to the State whenever sales tax 
has not been collected on a taxable product or 
service. Use tax is calculated at the same rate as 
sales tax. Request publication ANJ-7, Use Tax 
in New Jersey, for more information about use 
tax. 

Registration 
Every vendor of taxable goods or services main-
taining a place of business in New Jersey, em-
ploying workers in this State, owning any busi-
ness property here or otherwise conducting busi-
ness in this State is required to register with 
New Jersey by filing a business registration ap-
plication (Form NJ-REG). �Vendor� includes 
anyone who purchases tangible personal prop-
erty for lease (or rental), whether in this State or 
elsewhere. Having leased tangible personal 
property present in New Jersey constitutes hav-
ing a place of business in this State. Accord-
ingly, out-of-State businesses which own leased 
property located in New Jersey must register and 
remit tax. 

Rentals vs. Leases  
The New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act makes a 
distinction between rentals and leases. Although 
both are agreements for the temporary posses-
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sion and/or use of tangible personal property, a 
rental is a short term transaction with an origi-
nal contract term of no more than 28 days, while 
a lease has an original contract term longer than 
28 days. A lessor is any owner of property 
which is leased or rented to others. A lessee is 
someone who leases or rents property from a 
lessor. The term renter is often substituted for 
lessee when referring to someone who rents 
(rather than leases) property.  

NOTE: A lessee who subleases the property he 
is leasing is also a lessor.  

Rentals 
Rental transactions are treated as retail sales. The 
renter is considered to be the end user of the prop-
erty being rented and is responsible for paying 
sales tax on the amount of each rental payment. 
The lessor collects the tax from the renter and 
remits it to the State.  

Example 
Ann rents a car for one week. The rental agency 
must collect 6% sales tax from Ann on the 
rental charge and remit it to the State by the date 
the agency�s next sales and use tax return is due. 

Leases 
Leases are treated differently than rentals for 
sales and use tax purposes. Under the law, the 
lessor is considered to be the end user of leased 
property and the one responsible for paying use 
tax when the property is leased. The lessor does 
not collect sales tax from the lessee. However, 
nothing in the law prohibits a lessor from in-
creasing the lessee�s monthly payment to re-
cover this tax expense. Lessors may elect to pay 
use tax by using either: 

1. The Original Purchase Price Method;  
or  

2. The Total Lease Payments Method. 

Regardless of the method selected, the tax is due 
in full up front. 

Option 1 � Original Purchase Price Method 
Under this method, use tax is paid only once on 
the property. The lessor�s use tax liability is cal-
culated on: 

• The amount paid by the lessor for the prop-
erty which will be leased, less  

• Any separately stated charges for transportation 
to the lessor�s place of business, plus  

• The cost of any accessories or options installed, 
or any services performed, by the lessor (or 
others on the lessor�s behalf) on or in connec-
tion with the property being leased.  

The value of any trade-in allowance received by 
the lessor at the time the property is acquired 
may not be deducted from the purchase price 
when computing use tax. Where the lessor is 
also the manufacturer of the leased property, the 
purchase price is considered to be the price at 
which items of the same kind are ordinarily sold 
in the regular conduct of business.  

Option 2 � Total Lease Payments Method 
If this method is used, use tax must be paid 
every time the property is leased. The lessor�s 
use tax is calculated on: 

• The total of the lease payments less 

• The total interest expense or lease service 
charge of a financial institution which accepts 
assignment of the lease; and/or 

• The amount of the lessee�s trade deficit paid 
off through the lease. 
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When the total of lease payments method is used 
to determine the lessor�s use tax, the amount of 
any cash buy down payment or the value of a 

trade-in that reduces the cost of the lease to the 
lessee must be added back to the total lease pay-
ments before calculating the use tax due.

 

Example 
A lessor pays $16,500 for a new vehicle after being given an $800 trade-in allowance on an older ve-
hicle. The price included $975 in transportation costs. The manufacturer�s suggested retail price 
(sticker price) of the new vehicle is $19,100. The lessor enters into a 60 month lease with a lessee who 
requests that $1,800 worth of additional options be installed in the vehicle. The lessee makes a $2,500 
cash buy down payment and the lessor pays off the $3,210 balance of the lessee�s existing lease. Total 
interest and non-taxable fees amount to $4,740, which brings the monthly lease payments to $339.  

The lessor may choose either of the following methods to determine the amount of use tax due: 

 
Option 1 � Original Purchase Price Method  Option 2 � Total Lease Payments Method 

Lessor�s purchase price $16,500.00  Lease payments  ($339 x 60) $20,340.00 
Lessor�s trade-in allowance + 800.00  Interest and fees  ($79 x 60) � 4,740.00 

 17,300.00   15,600.00 
Transportation charge � 975.00  Cash buy down  + 2,500.00 

 16,325.00   18,100.00 
Lessor installed options + 1,800.00  Trade deficit � 3,210.00 

Lessor�s tax base 18,125.00  Lessor�s tax base 14,890.00 
New Jersey use tax @ 6% x .06  New Jersey use tax @ 6% x .06 

Lessor�s use tax due $1,087.50  Lessor�s use tax due $893.40 
 

Once use tax is paid on the property�s pur-
chase price, it is never again due from the 
same lessor of that particular item of property, 
no matter how many times the property is 
subsequently leased. 

  

If tax is paid on the total of the lease pay-
ments, each time a lease ends and a new lease 
begins the lessor must again choose whether 
to pay tax on the purchase price (not the fair 
market value at the time) or on the total of the 
new lease payments.  
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Remitting Sales and Use Tax 
Whichever method is chosen to compute use tax, 
the total amount of tax must be remitted in full to 
the State by the due date of the lessor�s next quar-
terly sales and use tax return (Form ST-50) or 
monthly remittance (Form ST-51). The lessor 
must provide the lessee with a properly com-
pleted Sales and Use Tax Lessor Certification 
(Form ST-40) to verify that the use tax obliga-
tion has been satisfied. Request Tax Topic Bul-
letin S&U-7, Filing Sales and Use Tax Returns, 
for information on how and when to remit sales 
and use tax. 

Assigned Leases 
When the original lessor (assignor) assigns the 
rights to a lease over to an assignee, whether the 
assignment is of all rights and title to the leased 
property or only of the rights to the remaining 
lease payments, the assignor is obligated to pay 
the lessor�s use tax as the first person purchas-
ing property for lease. The assignee should ob-
tain a Lessor Certification (Form ST-40) as 
proof that tax was paid by the original lessor. 

Purchasing Property  
Intended for Lease 
Lessors do not pay sales tax when purchasing 
property they intend to rent or lease. They issue 
a valid New Jersey Resale Certificate (Form 
ST-3) to their registered New Jersey supplier in-
stead. The lessor then either (1) collects sales 
tax from the renter on each rental payment; or  
(2) if the property is leased, remits use tax based 
on either the original purchase price or the total 
lease payments as described above. 

Open-Ended Rentals  
Whether a transaction is a lease or a rental often 
depends not only on the 28 day criterion but also 
on the normal business practices of the lessor 
and the intent of the parties to the agreement. 
For instance, property leased to many lessees 
over its life may indicate that the lessor�s normal 
business practice is to rent rather than lease the 
property, even though a particular customer may 
use the property for several months before re-
turning it. Likewise, property use agreements 
that have a stated term not greater than 28 days 
but which can be extended by the renter for any 
number of successive 28 day periods or portions 
thereof, are still considered rentals subject to the 
payment of sales tax by the renter, not leases 
subject to the lessor�s use tax.  

Conditional and Installment Sales 
Certain property use agreements, although cast 
in the form of a lease, may in substance actually 
be installment or conditional sales contracts. 
This determination can only be made by an ex-
amination of the facts existing at the time the 
agreement is entered into, including the intention 
of the parties thereto. In general, however, financ-
ing or capital leases are considered to be sales 
rather than lease transactions. So too are agree-
ments which provide for: 

• The lessee to acquire title to the property after 
a required number of lease payments. 

• The property to be acquired by the lessee for a 
nominal sum at the end of the lease term. 
(Amounts less than 10% of the lessor�s acqui-
sition cost are considered nominal.) 

Sales tax must be collected from the purchaser 
by the vendor on the contract price of such sales 
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and remitted in full to the State by the due date 
of the vendor�s next quarterly sales and use tax 
return (Form ST-50) or monthly remittance 
(Form ST-51). Since these are sales transactions 
rather than leases, the lessor�s use tax does not 
apply. 

Exempt Transactions  
Transactions involving the lease or rental of cer-
tain kinds of property or of property intended for 
certain specific uses or by certain lessees are ex-
empt from New Jersey sales tax by law. If a 
lease or rental transaction qualifies for exemp-
tion, the lessee will issue the appropriate, prop-
erly completed exemption certificate to the les-
sor. When a valid exemption certificate is is-
sued, no New Jersey sales or use tax is due. 

If the leased property is subsequently leased for a 
nonexempt use or is leased to a nonexempt les-
see or is converted to a nonexempt use, use tax is 
due from the lessor. 

A New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Lessor Certifi-
cation (Form ST-40) should always be issued by 
the lessor, even when the transaction is exempt 
from tax. The exemption certificate issued by 
the lessee should be attached to the lessor�s copy 
of Form ST-40 and retained for at least four 
years.  

Property Exempt Due to Its Use 
The law stipulates that certain property is ex-
empt from tax when rented or leased with the in-
tention of being used for a particular purpose. 
For example, certain machinery and equipment 
used directly and primarily to produce tangible 
personal property is exempt because of its use. 
Heavy trucks and trailers as well as buses for 
public transportation, are also exempt. When 
renting or leasing such property, the lessee issues 

a valid Exempt Use Certificate (Form ST-4) to 
the lessor. Request Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-4, 
New Jersey Sales Tax Guide, for more informa-
tion about which products and services are sub-
ject to tax. Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-6, Sales 
Tax Exemption Certificates, contains further in-
formation about exemption certificates.  

Exempt Organizations 
Many churches, hospitals and other exempt or-
ganizations are not required to pay sales tax on 
rentals or leases of property for the exclusive 
use of the organization. The Division of Taxa-
tion issues a New Jersey Exempt Organization 
Certificate (Form ST-5) to those organizations 
which apply and qualify for exempt status with 
the State of New Jersey. When a lessor rents or 
leases to an exempt organization, he must obtain 
a photocopy of the organization�s ST-5 certifi-
cate as evidence of the exempt nature of the 
transaction. 

Agencies of the Federal government, the United 
Nations and the State of New Jersey (as well as 
its political subdivisions) are also exempt from 
paying sales tax. Since they are not issued ST-5 
certificates, a valid purchase order or contract, 
signed by an authorized official, is adequate 
evidence of these organizations� exempt status. 
If the amount involved is $150 or less, a New 
Jersey Exempt Use Certificate (Form ST-4) may 
be accepted from these government agencies in 
place of a purchase order or contract.  

Urban Enterprise Zones 
A qualified business located within a designated 
urban enterprise zone is exempt from paying 
sales tax on many items it rents or leases for its 
own use. In the case of a rental or lease to an ur-
ban enterprise zone business, the lessor must ob-
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tain a properly executed Urban Enterprise Ex-
empt Purchase Certificate (Form UZ-5) from the 
lessee. 

NOTE: The urban enterprise zone exemption is 
not valid for transactions which involve 
automobiles, telecommunications serv-
ices, room rentals or admissions. Thus, 
a qualified business cannot use the 
UZ-5 to obtain a tax exemption on the 
purchase, rental or lease of a motor ve-
hicle. 

Out-of-State Lessees 
When a New Jersey lessor leases property to an 
out-of-State lessee who takes delivery of the 
property outside of New Jersey, the lessor is not 
liable for the New Jersey lessor�s use tax pro-
vided the lessee does not bring the property back 
into New Jersey for use in this State. If the 
property is brought back into New Jersey, use 
tax is due. 

Property Leased Out-of-State Brought 
into New Jersey for Use in This State 
When property which was leased outside of 
New Jersey is brought into New Jersey for use 
in this State, the lessor must pay use tax unless 
he can claim a credit for tax paid to the other 

state. A reciprocal credit for use tax legally paid 
to another State is available only if the other 
state also treats it as a tax primarily on the les-
sor, rather than the lessee. New Jersey will not 
allow a credit for tax paid in another state by the 
lessee to the account of the lessor. 

If a credit cannot be claimed, the lessor�s tax is 
based on either the original purchase price of the 
property or the remainder of the lease payments 
attributable to the number of months the prop-
erty is used in New Jersey. For example, an 
automobile is brought into New Jersey in mid-
lease. The lessor elects to pay use tax based on 
the lease payment option which amounts to $400 
on a 48 month lease. If the property is used in 
New Jersey for one year, the lessor would pay 
$100 New Jersey use tax. 

Property Leased in New Jersey  
Transferred Out-of-State 
When property leased in New Jersey is subse-
quently transferred out of State, the lessor of the 
property is not eligible for a refund of any New 
Jersey use tax which was paid up front at the 
time of the lease. No refund is warranted in such 
instances because the tax is based on the pur-
chase of the leased property by the lessor.  



 Leases and Rentals 

12/98  7 

 

Taxpayers� Bill of Rights 
The New Jersey Taxpayers� Bill of Rights ensures that taxpayers are accorded fair 
and equitable treatment and receive the information and assistance they need to 
understand and meet their State tax responsibilities. To find out more, contact the 
Division of Taxation. 

 
 

For More Information 
For more information about leases and rentals, contact the Division�s Tax Hotline at 
609-292-6400, or write to: 

NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF TAXATION 
TECHNICAL SERVICES  
TAXPAYER SERVICES BRANCH 
PO BOX  281 
TRENTON  NJ  08646-0281 

Many State tax forms and publications are now available, both by fax and through the 
World Wide Web. Call NJ TaxFax at 609-826-4500 from your fax machine�s phone, 
or access the Division�s home page via your computer�s modem at:  
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 
 




