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Homestead Benefit 
Filing Under Way
New Jersey homeowners are now 
filing their 2015 Homestead Benefit 
applications. The Division of Taxa-
tion mailed worksheets and instruc-
tions for the homeowner benefit to 
more than 1.1 million New Jersey 
residents over a three-week period 
that began in mid-September 2017. 
During the same period, the Division 
sent emails containing instructions 
for downloading the application 
packet to an additional 84,000 
residents. The homeowners who 
received emails had filed online in 
a prior year and indicated that they 
wanted to receive future applications 
electronically. 

To be eligible for the Homestead 
Benefit, applicants had to be New 
Jersey residents who owned and 
occupied a home in New Jersey 
that was their principal residence on 
October 1, 2015, paid property taxes 
on that home, and had 2015 New 
Jersey gross income of $75,000 or 
less ($150,000 or less for homeown-
ers 65 or older or blind or disabled).

Benefit amounts vary based on the 
applicant’s income, filing status, 
property taxes, and whether the ap-
plicant was age 65 or older or blind 
or disabled. 

Most homeowners can file their 
applications either online or by 
phone (1-877-658-2972). Appli-
cants should read the instructions 
in the packet before attempting to 
file. Homeowners who sold or plan 

to sell their home should pay 
particular attention to the instruc-
tions for their situation to ensure they 
complete the application correctly.

The filing deadline for 2015 Home-
stead Benefit applications is Novem-
ber 30, 2017. More information on 
the Homestead Benefit, including 
eligibility requirements, is available 
online. 

Small Business 
Outreach
Over the next several months, the 
Division of Taxation will be increas-
ing its door-to-door outreach to 
familiarize small business owners 
with State tax laws and how to com-
ply with them. This outreach, also 
referred to as canvassing, is an on-
going part of the Division’s mission 
to promote voluntary compliance.

The focus of the outreach will be 
on educating newly registered busi-
nesses and businesses that have 
not yet filed a tax return. Personnel 
from the Division’s Collection and 
Enforcement Branch will explain 
the New Jersey taxes for which a 
business may be responsible and 
what the business owner needs to 
do to meet those responsibilities. 
Each business also will be provided 
with an investigator’s direct contact 
information in case there are follow-
up questions. 

This expanded educational effort 
is part of a series of initiatives 
announced by the Department of 

Correction: On Demand 
Streaming and Downloadable 
Videos Subscription, see page 7.

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/homestead/geninf.shtml
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The current workshop schedule  
 is available online. The Division up-
dates the schedule as new workshops 
are added. 

local property tax
Tax Assessor 
Certificates
The Tax Assessor Examination is 
held in accordance with the Assessor 
Certification and Tenure Act, which 
requires anyone taking office as a tax 
assessor after July 1, 1971, to hold a 
tax assessor certificate.

Twelve persons passed the March 25, 
2017, C.T.A. exam. They are:

Atlantic County: Neil 
McGettigan, Absecon City; 
Charles Woolson, Hammonton 
Town. 

Burlington County: Douglas 
Standriff, Ho-Ho-Kus Borough.

Camden County: Abrina Carson, 
Pennsauken Township; Patrick 
Dymond, Collingswood Borough.

Essex County: Carol Callahan, 
Livingston Township; Jason 
Weinstein, Maplewood Township.

Monmouth County: Taras 
Olesnyckyj, Manalapan; Howard 
VanSalisbury, Matawan Borough.

Ocean County: Barbara Bielawne, 
Forked River.

Sussex County: Kristen Umansky, 
Stockholm.

Warren County: William 
Kanyuck, Stewartsville.

The next C.T.A. examination is 
scheduled for March 24, 2018. To 
apply, complete the Application for 
Admission to a Tax Assessor Cer-
tification Exam, Form AC-1. The 

the Treasury last spring. The 
purpose is to make it easier for 

taxpayers to understand their tax 
obligations. 

Small Business 
Workshops
The Division of Taxation provides 
free workshops designed to assist 
small business owners in meeting 
their New Jersey tax obligations. The 
workshops are half-day seminars 
presented at locations throughout 
the State. The Internal Revenue 
Service does not participate in these 
seminars. 

The workshops include the follow-
ing topics:

•• Identifying types of business 
ownership and the tax conse-
quences of each type;

•• Registering a business with the 
Division of Taxation, Division of 
Revenue and Enterprise Services, 
and Department of Labor and 
Workforce Development;

•• Determining what is taxable and 
what is exempt for New Jersey 
Sales Tax purposes;

•• Procedures for collecting and re-
mitting various New Jersey taxes;

•• Filing Sales and Use Tax returns;

•• Meeting employer responsibilities;

•• Reporting business income.

To attend a workshop, review the 
schedule and register with the con-
tact person listed for each event. The 
contact person can also provide the 
time of the workshop, parking infor-
mation, and directions to the event. 
The Division does not manage the 
registration process.
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deadline to file applications for this 
exam is February 22, 2018. The filing 
fee is $10. If you have any questions 
regarding this exam, please contact 
Marilyn Gaines at 609-292-8823 or 
write to Property Administration, PO 
Box 240, Trenton, NJ 08695-0240. 

local property tax

Tax Assessors’ 
Calendar
October 1 (on or before)–
•• Agricultural land values for farm-

land assessed under Farmland As-
sessment Act published by State 
Farmland Evaluation Committee 
(F.E.C.).

•• Table of Equalized Valuations for 
State School Aid promulgated by 
Director, Division of Taxation.

•• Initial Application, Form F.S.1, 
for blast or radiation fallout 
shelter exemption filed with tax 
assessor. 

•• Initial Application, Form WS-1, 
for water supply and sewage dis-
posal facilities exemption filed 
with tax assessor. 

October 1–
•• All real property in taxing district 

valued for tax purposes (pretax 
year).

•• $250 veteran’s property tax de-
duction eligibility established 
(pretax year).

•• $250 real property tax deduc-
tion for senior citizens (age 65), 
disabled persons, or surviving 
spouses/civil union partners (age 
55) eligibility established (pretax 
year). Age or disability status es-
tablished by December 31 (pretax 
year).

•• Added Assessment List and dupli-
cate filed with County Tax Board. 

•• Omitted Assessment List and 
duplicate filed with County Tax 
Board.

•• Limited Exemption and Abate-
ment Audit Trail report filed with 
Property Administration and the 
County Tax Board.

•• Taxable property value in all dis-
tricts designated by the munici-
pality, including district proposed 
in ordinance, certified by assessor 
as not exceeding 15% or 20% of 
the total taxable property assessed 
in the municipality (pretax year). 

•• Proposed preliminary revenue 
allocation plan and property tax 
increment base of district, esti-
mate of taxable value of assessed 
property, statement of tax abate-
ments or exemptions expected 
to be granted, etc., certified by 
assessor.

•• Exempt real property 
sold to nonexempt owner 
or any real property improved 
after October 1 and before Janu-
ary 1 valued and assessed as of the 
first day of the month following 
completion or sale of property.

•• True taxable value of improve-
ment, conversion, or construc-
tion of property for which the 
owner has applied for exemption 
and/or abatement determined by 
assessor.

October 1 (after)–
•• Assessor notified of structural 

material depreciation occur-
ring after October 1 and before 
January 1. 

October 25 (on or before)–
•• Added Assessment Certification 

for Fire Districts, Form CNC-3, 
provided by assessor/collector. 

November 1 (on or before)–
For Monmouth County, see Mon-
mouth County Assessment Demon-
stration Program below.	

•• Initial Statements, Forms I.S., and 
Further Statements, Forms F.S., 
for property tax exemption filed 
with tax assessor.

•• Notice of Disallowance of farm-
land assessment issued by tax 
assessor.

•• Assessor  comple tes  Form 
CNC-3 and forwards original to 
tax collector.

continued on page 2Current Amnesty Programs
The following jurisdictions are conducting tax amnesty programs. During the designated amnesty period, taxpay-
ers have a chance to pay back taxes with reduced (or eliminated) penalty and/or interest. For more information, 
including eligibility requirements, or to obtain an application, visit the jurisdiction’s website.

Ohio 	 1/1/18 – 2/15/18 	 www.tax.ohio.gov
Rhode Island 	 12/1/17 – 2/15/18	 www.taxamnesty.ri.gov
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November 15–
For Monmouth County, see 

Monmouth County Assessment Dem-
onstration Program below.	

•• Deadline for filing proposed com-
pliance plans with Division of 
Taxation and County Tax Board.

•• Deadline for taxing districts’ ap-
peals of Table of Equalized Valu-
ations to New Jersey Tax Court.

December 1 (prior to)–
•• Deadline for filing Form FA-1, 

Application for Farmland Assess-
ment (pretax year), in cases where 
assessed values reflect revalua-
tion of all property.

December 1 (on or before)–
•• Appeals from added assessments 

filed with County Tax Board, or 
30 days from the date collector 
of the taxing district completes 
bulk mailing of tax bills for added 
assessments, whichever is later.

•• Appeals from omitted assess-
ments filed with County Tax 
Board, or 30 days from the date 

collector of the taxing district 
completes bulk mailing of tax 
bills for the omitted assessments, 
whichever is later.

December 20 (on or before)–
•• County Tax Board certifies to 

Director, Division of Taxation the 
aggregate decline, if any, in the 
true value of vacant land, com-
paring current year to base year.

December 31 (on or before)–
•• Legal advertisement of avail-

ability of Tax List for public 
inspection.

•• Applications for veterans’ deduc-
tions and senior citizens, disabled 
persons, and surviving spouses/
civil union partners property tax 
deductions must be filed with 
assessor during the pretax year, 
thereafter with collector during 
the tax year. 

The complete 2017 Work Calendar is 
available on the Division’s website.

Monmouth County Assessment 
Demonstration Program
P.L. 2013, c.15, established a Real 
Property Assessment Demonstration 
program to make the assessment of 
real property more precise by using 
technology-driven procedures. This 
was designed to benefit municipali-
ties by reducing the number of suc-
cessful appeals, thereby protecting 
funding of municipal budgets from 
the impact of losses due to appeal 
refunds. Monmouth County was the 
first county to adopt this program, 
which began October 1, 2013. 

The following dates on the assessors’ 
calendar have been revised for mu-
nicipalities in Monmouth County: 

November 1 (on or near)–
•• Legal advertisement of avail-

ability of Tax List for public 
inspection.

November 1–
•• Preliminary assessment list com-

pleted by assessor and certified to 
County Tax Board (pretax year).

November 15–
•• Assessor to notify each taxpayer 

by mail of the current assessment 
and preceding year’s taxes (pretax 
year).

November 25 (on, before, or 
after)–
•• Assessor to file certification of 

bulk mailing of Notification of 
Assessment with the County Tax 
Board within 10 days of comple-
tion of mailing. If County Tax 
Board completes bulk mailing, 
the County Tax Administrator 
prepares the certification within 
10 days of the date the bulk mail-
ing was completed.

End of November–
•• Deadline for taxing districts’ ap-

peals of Table of Equalized Valu-
ations to New Jersey Tax Court. 

The complete 2017 Monmouth 
County Work Calendar is available 
on the Division’s website.  

Criminal 
Enforcement
••  On April 27, 2017, special agents 

from the Office of Criminal In-
vestigation (OCI) conducted an 
inspection at Kaman Mini Mar-
ket in Lodi, New Jersey, which 
is owned by Aziz Kanan and his 
brother, Mawarfaq Kanan. The 
inspection resulted in the sei-
zure of 21 cartons of contraband 
cigarettes and more than 2,000 
untaxed cigars. Both owners 
were arrested and charged with 
indictable offenses. The Kanan 
brothers were transported to the 
Lodi Police Department, where 

Interest 6.50%
The interest rate assessed on amounts 
due for the period January 1, 2017 – 
December 31, 2017, will be 6.50%.

The assessed interest rate history is 
listed below.
	 Effective	 Interest
	 Date	 Rate
	 1/1/11	 6.25%
	 1/1/12	 6.25%
	 1/1/13	 6.25%
	 1/1/14	 6.25%
	 1/1/15	 6.25%
	 1/1/16	 6.25%
	 1/1/17	 6.50%
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they were processed by OCI and 
released without incident. 

•• On April 28, 2017, OCI special 
agents arrested the target of an 
ongoing investigation into con-
traband cigarette offenses related 
to the possession of 19 cartons 
of untaxed cigarettes. The ciga-
rettes were discovered during a 
retail compliance inspection on 
March 10, 2017. Five cartons con-
tained unstamped cigarettes, and 
14 cartons had counterfeit New 
Jersey tax stamps. The suspect 
was taken to the U.S. Homeland 
Security Office in Newark, New 
Jersey, for processing by OCI, 
and was released on his own 
recognizance.

•• On May 4, 2017, OCI conducted 
joint Quality of Life sweeps with 
Jersey City officials. As a result, 
numerous cartons of contraband 
cigarettes, untaxed tobacco, and 
packages of illegally imported 
hookah tobacco were seized. 
Charges were filed by OCI against 
each of the local businesses where 
the seizures occurred. 

•• On May 5, 2017, S&K Wholesaler 
LLC (formally S&K Imports, 
Inc.), located in Philadelphia, 
was denied a New Jersey nonresi-
dent cigarette distributor license. 
The cigarette supply company 
changed ownership last year, and 
neither the Pennsylvania Depart-
ment of Revenue nor the New 
Jersey Division of Taxation were 
properly informed. However, 
when the company submitted 
its license application this year, 
background research revealed 
that certain principals had a crimi-
nal history. As a result, the com-
pany was ineligible for a license. 

•• On May 5, 2017, Alex Frank, 
owner of Hammer Maintenance 
LLC and/or Hammer Equip-
ment LLC; Sonny Frank, owner 
of Hydraulic Breaker Services, 
LLC; and Rocky Frank, owner 
of Trinity Hydraulic Services 
LLC and/or Trinity Machine 
LLC, each waived indictment 
(accusation) on charges of third-
degree failure to file NJ-1040 and 
third-degree failure to file Sales 
and Use Tax returns. Alex Frank 
failed to file NJ-1040s for Tax 
Years 2010–2014, and Sales and 
Use Tax returns for the quarters 
ending March 30, 2011, through 
December 31, 2015. Sonny Frank 
failed to file an NJ-1040 for Tax 
Year 2014, and Sales and Use 
Tax returns for the quarters end-
ing March 30, 2011, through 
December 31, 2015. Rocky Frank 
failed to file NJ-1040s for Tax 
Years 2012–2014, and Sales and 
Use Tax returns for the quarters 
ending March 30, 2011, through 
December 31, 2015. The re-
quest to be tried by accusation 
was granted. The three defen-
dants entered into the Pretrial 
Intervention (PTI) program and 
a consent judgment was agreed 
upon. They will collectively pay 
to the New Jersey Department of 

the Treasury a total of 
$803,874.50. This was a 
cooperative investigation with the 
New Jersey Division of Criminal 
Justice, the Social Security Ad-
ministration, and OCI’s Freehold 
Financial Investigations Unit.

•• On May 19, 2017, Donald Horner, 
Denise Horner, and Dianna 
Horner were accepted into the 
Pre-Trial Intervention program. 
All three had been arrested on 
charges of filing false tax returns 
for Tax Years 2010–2013. Their 
arrests were the result of a joint 
operation with the Burlington 
County Prosecutor’s Office and 
OCI’s Freehold Financial In-
vestigations Unit. Donald and 
Denise Horner also were charged 
with failure to pay Income Taxes 
based on $178,890 in unreported 
income for those years. Dianna 
Horner filed amended tax returns. 
Donald and Denise Horner filed 
amended tax returns and paid 
taxes due of $11,375. 

•• On May 23, 2017, more than 
$100,000 was seized from an 
illegal lottery operation in New 
Jersey. The seizure was the re-
sult of information elicited from 
a confidential informant by an 
OCI Task Force Officer while 

Enforcement Summary Statistics
Third Quarter 2017

Following is a summary of enforcement actions for the quarter ending 
September 30, 2017.

Number	 Amount	         
•	 Bank Levies	 850	 $  2,225,467
•	 Certificates of Debt	 3,633	 70,463,769
•	 Seizures	 73	 936,773
•	 Auctions	 15	 158,093
•	 Warrants of Satisfaction	 4,368
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the Division if this income, which 
is reportable for federal income tax 
purposes in 2017, is subject to New 
Jersey Gross Income Tax at that time 
even though he is now a nonresident. 

The Division responded that any 
compensation earned from or for 
services rendered in New Jersey by 
a nonresident is subject to Gross 
Income Tax in accordance with 
N.J.S.A. 54A:5-8a(2). It is report-
able to New Jersey at the same 
time that it is reportable for federal 
income tax purposes under N.J.S.A. 
54A:8-3(c). These two statutory 
sections provide that New Jersey 
sourced income earned in a prior pe-
riod and reportable in a subsequent 
period is subject to Gross Income 
Tax, regardless of the residency of 
the taxpayer when reported.

Therefore, the taxpayer must source 
to New Jersey the IRC Section 457A 
deferred compensation income that 
is attributable to services performed 
in the State and report this income 
for New Jersey Gross Income Tax 
purposes in the same tax year as 
reported for federal income tax 
purposes.

Errors and Omissions on Form 
GIT/REP-3 — An attorney asked if 
an error on a completed Form GIT/
REP-3 that accompanied a deed at 
recording would invalidate that deed 
and impair title to the property, even 
though there were no errors made on 
the recorded deed itself. 

The Division cited N.J.S.A. 54A:8-
10(g), which states: 

“If a deed is recorded notwith-
standing an omission or inac-
curacy in the form prescribed 
pursuant to subsection a. of 
this section or in any certifica-
tion by the transferor on such 
form or a deficiency in the 

the latter was on assignment 
with the U.S. Homeland Security 

Investigations (HSI) Financial 
Unit. The seizure stopped the out-
bound transfer of U.S. currency to 
the Dominican Republic. OCI’s 
continued involvement with HSI 
contributes to the protection of 
State revenue, and in this case, 
helped reduce the erosion of the 
State Lottery program caused by 
a competing illegal lottery. 

•• Alexandra Masso, along with 
her husband Leonardo, used her 
position as an office manager 
to embezzle money from Miller 
Dental Arts. On May 26, 2017, 
Alexandra Masso pleaded guilty 
to second-degree theft by unlaw-
ful taking and third-degree failure 
to pay. Leonardo Masso pleaded 
guilty to second-degree theft by 
unlawful taking. This investiga-
tion was conducted by the Hudson 
County Prosecutor’s Office in 
conjunction with OCI’s Freehold 
Financial Investigations Unit. 

•• On June 7, 2017, special agents 
from OCI conducted a compli-
ance inspection of Mina Tobacco 
in Jersey City. Agents seized 
40,452 cigars, 2,090 tobacco 
wraps, 24 hookah boxes, 225 
cans of snuff, and 48 loose to-
bacco pouches. Two business 
officers, Mina A. Abdelaziz and 
Mar J. George, were arrested and 

charged with the following: filing 
a false return (third degree); fail-
ure to pay (third degree); failure 
to maintain books/records (third 
degree); offering false informa-
tion to a public officer (disorderly 
person); falsifying records (fourth 
degree); possession of untaxed 
tobacco (disorderly person); and 
failure to keep tobacco records 
(disorderly person). After OCI 
processed the defendants, they 
were released on their own re-
cognizance. This investigation 
was conducted by OCI’s Special 
Investigations Unit.

•• On June 26, 2017, six people 
were arrested in Lakewood, on 
State and federal charges involv-
ing benefit fraud. The charges 
allege that the defendants mis-
represented their income when 
they submitted applications for 
government assistance programs 
– declaring inaccurate amounts 
that were low enough to qualify. 
They are accused of manipulat-
ing their tax returns and related 
business accounts to commit 
this fraud. The arrests were the 
result of a joint operation, dubbed 
Operation Blue Claw, with the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation, 
the New Jersey Office of the State 
Comptroller, the Ocean County 
Prosecutor’s Office, and OCI. 

Tax Briefs
Gross Income Tax
Deferred Compensation Received 
by a Nonresident Hedge Fund 
Manager Under IRC Section 457A  
— A hedge fund manager, who 
while a resident of New Jersey and 
performing services in this state, de-
ferred a portion of his compensation 
into an account in an offshore bank 
under IRC Section 457A. He asked 

Public Auction 
Information

Announcements of upcoming 
public auctions of seized prop-
erty are published on the Divi-
sion of Taxation’s website under 
Auction Information. Select the 
name of the business from the 
list for details about that auction.
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payment of estimated gross 
income tax required by this 
section, the recording of such 
deed shall not be invalidated 
by reason of such omission, 
inaccuracy, erroneous certifi-
cation or deficiency nor shall 
the title founded on such deed 
be impaired thereby.”

Therefore, the fact that a completed 
Form GIT/REP-3 contained errors 
does not invalidate the recorded deed 
transferring title from the sellers to 
the buyers. If a buyer, seller, or some 
other third party wishes to challenge 
the validity of the deed on some 
other grounds, they should consult 
their own independent legal counsel. 

Sales and Use Tax
Fishing and Hunting Licenses Is-
sued by Governmental Agencies 
— A taxpayer inquired if charges for 
State hunting licenses, State fishing 
licenses, and federal duck stamps 
issued by the United States Fish and 
Wildlife Service are subject to New 
Jersey Sales and Use Tax.

The Division responded that sales of 
services or property not ordinarily 

sold by private persons are exempt 
from Sales and Use Tax when 
sold by federal or New Jersey 
governmental agencies. N.J.S.A. 
54:32B-9(a). Therefore, charges for 
State hunting licenses, State fishing 
licenses, and federal duck stamps 
issued by the United States Fish and 
Wildlife Service are exempt from 
Sales and Use Tax.

Medical Grade Glue — A taxpayer, 
who provides medical services, 
inquired if Sales or Use Tax is due 
when purchasing medical grade glue 
that will be used by the taxpayer 
when providing medical services to 
treat patients. Medical grade glue is 
a medical adhesive that is used in 
lieu of stitches or staples to join the 
edges of a wound together or to close 
minor wounds. 

The New Jersey Sales and Use Tax 
Act imposes tax on charges for retail 
sales of tangible personal property, 
unless a valid exemption exists. One 
of those exemptions is for charges 
for prosthetic devices for human 
use. N.J.S.A. 54:32B-8.1(a)(4). A 
“prosthetic device” is defined as a re-
placement, corrective, or supportive 

device including repair 
and replacement parts for 
same worn on or in the body in 
order to: artificially replace a miss-
ing portion of the body; or prevent 
or correct a physical deformity or 
malfunction; or support a weak 
or deformed portion of the body. 
N.J.S.A. 54:32B-8.1(b). 

The Division responded that medical 
grade glue meets the definition of a 
prosthetic device because it artifi-
cially replaces a missing portion of 
the body (skin), it corrects a defor-
mity or malfunction (open wound), 
and it supports a weak or deformed 
portion of the body (closes the 
open wound and allows it to heal). 
Therefore, charges for the taxpayer’s 
purchases of medical grade glue are 
exempt from Sales and Use Tax. 

Correction: On Demand Streaming 
and Downloadable Videos Sub-
scription — On page 8 of the Spring 
2017 issue of the New Jersey State 
Tax News, the Division addressed 
the taxability of a lump-sum charge 
for a subscription that provides both 
streaming and downloadable videos 
and television shows on demand. 
Although the Division correctly con-
cluded that the charge was subject 
to Sales Tax because the sales price 
consisted of taxable and nontaxable 
products sold together for one price, 
the article included this incorrect 
sentence: “The Division responded 
that streaming videos are not con-
sidered specified digital products 
and are not subject to Sales Tax.” 
The correct sentence should have 
stated: “The Division responded 
that streaming videos are considered 
specified digital products, but are 
exempt from tax based on the facts 
provided because they are only ac-
cessed and are not delivered to the 
purchaser.” We regret the error.  

Pay NJ Taxes Electronically
Individuals: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/payments-notices.shtml 
Businesses: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/payments-notices.shtml

Electronic Check (E-Check)

Credit Card Pay online or by phone (1-888-673-7694).

Make a payment directly from 
your bank account online or 
by phone (609-292-6400).
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In Our 
Legislature
Corporation Business Tax
Garden State Create Zones — P.L. 
2017, c.221, signed into law on 
August 7, 2017, and effective im-
mediately, establishes Garden State 
Create Zones under the Grow New 
Jersey Assistance program, and pro-
vides increased tax credits for certain 
businesses that have collaborative 
research relationships with colleges 
or universities located in New Jersey. 

Funds for County Farmland Pres-
ervation Grants — P.L. 2017, c.225, 
signed into law on August 7, 2017, 
and effective immediately, appropri-
ates $32.5 million from constitution-
ally dedicated Corporation Business 
Tax revenues to the State Agriculture 
Development Committee for plan-
ning incentive grants to counties 
for farmland preservation purposes. 

Funds for Municipal Farmland 
Preservation Grants — P.L. 2017, 
c.226, signed into law on August 7, 
2017, and effective immediately, 
appropriates $7.5 million from con-
stitutionally dedicated Corporation 
Business Tax revenues to the State 
Agriculture Development Commit-
tee for planning incentive grants to 
municipalities for farmland preser-
vation purposes. 

Gross Income Tax
Checkoff for NJ Memorials to War 
Veterans Maintenance Fund — 
P.L. 2017, c.190, signed into law 
on August 7, 2017, effective imme-
diately, and applicable to tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 
2018, establishes the NJ Memorials 
to War Veterans Maintenance Fund. 
It also allows taxpayers to donate 
to the fund by specifying that a 
certain amount of their Income Tax 
overpayments should go to that fund 

or by enclosing a contribution with 
their tax returns. 

Checkoff for Jersey Fresh Program 
Fund — P.L. 2017, c.197, signed 
into law on August 7, 2017, effective 
immediately, and applicable to tax 
years beginning on or after Janu-
ary 1, 2018, establishes the Jersey 
Fresh Program Fund. It also allows 
taxpayers to donate to the fund by 
specifying that a certain amount 
of their Income Tax overpayments 
should go to that fund or by enclos-
ing a contribution with their tax 
returns.

Checkoff for NJ World War II Vet-
erans’ Memorial Fund — P.L. 2017, 
c.203, signed into law on August 7, 
2017, effective immediately, and 
applicable to tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2018, allows 
taxpayers to donate to the NJ World 
War II Veterans’ Memorial Fund 
by specifying that a certain amount 
of their Income Tax overpayments 
should go to that fund or by enclos-
ing a contribution with their tax 
returns.

Property Tax Assessment Concern-
ing Depreciation — P.L. 2017, 
c.228, signed into law on August 7, 
2017, and effective immediately, 
amends P.L. 1945, c.260. It revises 
dates used by assessors in the Prop-
erty Assessment Demonstration 
program for determining the value of 
property following material depre-
ciation that occurs during a certain 
period of time. Currently, this only 
effects Monmouth County.

Property Tax Relief Programs
Installment Payment Plan — P.L. 
2017, c.207, signed into law on 
August 7, 2017, and effective im-
mediately, allows an individual who 
is age 65 or older or blind or disabled 
to set up an installment payment plan 

to repay any amounts owed for the 
Homestead Benefit or Senior Freeze 
(Property Tax Reimbursement) 
programs. 

Tax Calendar 
The following three calendars pro-
vide listings of filing and payment 
dates for Tax Year 2017 (January 1, 
2017 – December 31, 2017) and 
Tax Year 2018 (January 1, 2018 – 
December 31, 2018) for businesses 
and individuals:

•• Chronological List of Filing 
Deadlines — This calendar is for 
use by both businesses and indi-
viduals. If you are responsible for 
a return that is not in this calendar, 
please refer to the instructions 
that accompanied the return, or 
contact the Customer Service 
Center at 609-292-6400 for the 
appropriate filing deadline.

	 	 2017	 2018

•• Alphabetical Summary of Due 
Dates by Tax Type

	 	 2017	 2018

•• Payment Dates for Weekly 
Payers — An employer or other 
withholder of New Jersey Gross 
Income Tax is a “weekly payer” 
if the amount of tax it withheld 
during the previous tax year was 
$10,000 or more. 

		 2017	 2018 
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http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/chronolist17.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/chronolist18.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/alphasum17.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/alphasum18.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/paydates17.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/paydates18.pdf


       important
            phone
         numbers

Customer Service Ctr.....609-292-6400
Automated Tax Info....1-800-323-4400
........................................609-826-4400

Homestead Benefit Hotline
	 for Homeowners......1-888-238-1233
Senior Freeze 

Hotline.....................1-800-882-6597
Earned Income Tax Credit  

Information................609-292-6400
Business Paperless  

Telefiling System........609-341-4800
Alcoholic Bev. Tax..........609-633-7068
Corp. Liens, Mergers, Withdrawals   

& Dissolutions...........609-292-5323
Director’s Office.............609-292-6400
Inheritance Tax...............609-292-5033
Local Property Tax.........609-292-7974
Motor Fuels Tax  

Refunds......................609-633-8870
Public Utility Tax............609-633-2634
Report Tax Fraud...........609-588-2001
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http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/catch.shtml

