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on Oct. 1, 2012, paid property taxes
on that home, and had 2012 New
Jersey gross income of $75,000 or
less ($150,000 or less for homeown-
ers 65 or older or blind or disabled).

As a result of the amount appro-
priated in the State Budget for
property tax relief programs, only
homeowners who met the eligibility
requirements, including the income
requirements, received homestead
benefits for 2012.

Benefit amounts vary based on the
applicant’s income, filing status,
property taxes, and whether the ap-
plicant was 65 or older or blind or
disabled.

certain homeowners who may be
eligible but did not claim the credit.

In most tax years, senior and dis-
abled homeowners who are not
required to file a New Jersey income
tax return receive their property tax
credit automatically as part of their
homestead benefit. However, no
homestead benefits were issued for
tax year 2013. These homeowners
will need to apply for a property
tax credit using the 2013 Prop-
erty Tax Credit Application, Form
NJ-1040-H.

Homeowners can file the 2013 Form
NJ-1040-H only if they:

continued on page 2
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e Were 65 or older or blind or dis-
abled on Dec. 31, 2013; and

e Had 2013 New Jersey gross in-
come that was $20,000 or less
($10,000 or less if filing status is
single or married/civil union part-
ner, filing separate return); and

e Have not filed a 2013 New Jer-
sey income tax return (Form
NJ-1040)

OR

Filed a 2013 resident return but
did not claim a property tax credit
on Line 49.

The due date for filing a 2013 prop-
erty tax credit application is April 17,
2017.

For more information on the 2013
property tax credit, see the 2013 New
Jersey resident return instructions.

Tax Assessor
Certificates

The Tax Assessor Examination is
held in accordance with the Asses-
sor Certification and Tenure Act,
requiring anyone taking office as a
tax assessor after July 1, 1971, to
hold a tax assessor certificate.

Nine persons passed the March 20,
2014, C.T.A. exam, and five persons
passed the Sept. 20, 2014, exam.
They are:

Atlantic County: Johanna Casey,
Margate City; Mandi Johnson, Egg
Harbor City.

Bergen County: Richard Seibel,
Fair Lawn Borough.

Camden County: Kirsten
Sherwin, Haddon Township.

Cape May County: Alexandra
Fasy, Upper Township.

Essex County: Bryan Flynn,
Newark City.

Gloucester County: Robin Hague,
East Greenwich Township.

Hunterdon County: Michael
Pierce, Clinton Township.

Middlesex County: Robert
Morrison, Woodbridge Township.

Monmouth County: Gregory
McPhillips, Belmar Borough;
Amanda Norakus, Tinton Falls
Borough; Nicholas Spracklen, Wall
Township.

Morris County: Joseph John
Norcia, East Hanover Township;
Matthew Petracca, Pequannock
Township.

The next C.T.A. examination is
scheduled for Sept. 26, 2015. The
deadline to file applications for this
exam is Aug. 27, 2015. The filing
fee is $10. If you have any questions
regarding this exam, please contact
Marilyn Gaines at 609-292-8823, or
write to Property Administration, PO
Box 251, Trenton, NJ 08695-0251.

The Application for Admission to
a Tax Assessor Certification Exam,
Form AC-1, is available on the Divi-
sion’s website. 4

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX
Tax Assessors’

Calendar

April 1-

e Deadline for filing appeals of as-
sessed valuations in nonrevalued
and nonreassessed municipalities
to County Tax Boards by taxpay-
ers and taxing districts and for
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appeals of assessed valuations
over $1,000,000 to State Tax
Court.

o Percentage level of taxable value
of real property established by the
County Tax Boards.

e [f appeal petition or complaint is
filed April 1 or during the 19 days
preceding April 1, the taxpayer or
taxing district has 20 days from
date of service of appeal petition
or complaint to file cross-petition
with County Tax Board or coun-
terclaim with State Tax Court.

o Total tax amount to be raised for
county purposes sent by County
Board of Freeholders to County
Tax Board, apportioned among
the taxing districts.

April 10—

e Copy of County Tax Board reso-
lution of real property taxable
value percentage level mailed to
assessors, municipal clerks and
Director, Division of Taxation.

Interest 6.25%

The interest rate assessed on amounts
due for the period Jan. 1, 2015 —
Dec. 1, 2015, will be 6.25%.

The assessed interest rate history is
listed below.

Effective Interest
Date Rate
1/1/09 7.00%
1/1/10 6.25%
1/1/11 6.25%
1/1/12 6.25%
1/1/13 6.25%
1/1/14 6.25%
1/1/15 6.25%

May 1-

e Residential properties identi-
fied by assessors and certified to
County Tax Board.

e Deadline for filing assessment
appeals to the County Tax Board
or where assessed values ex-
ceed $1,000,000 to the State Tax
Court in taxing districts that have
implemented a municipality-wide
revaluation or reassessment.

1st Business Day in May—

o County Tax Board to organize and
elect a president for one year, or
until his successor is elected.

May 10—

e Form TL-45 filed with Property
Administration by County Tax
Administrator.

May 20—

e Table of Aggregates completed
by County Tax Board from asses-
sor’s Tax Duplicates and Taxation
Director’s certification of 2nd
class railroad property.

e General tax rates certified by
County Tax Boards.

May 23—

e Table of Aggregates signed by
County Tax Boards and transmit-
ted to County Treasurer who files,
prints and transmits a certified
copy to the Director, Division of
Taxation; State Auditor; Director,
Division of Local Government
Services in the Department of
Community Affairs; the clerk of
the Board of Freeholders; and the
clerk of each municipality in the
county.

June 1-

e County Tax Administrator to fur-
nish to Director, Division of Taxa-
tion, a list of current members,
the appointment and expiration

dates of their terms of
office and the status of
their required courses.

e Assessors’ Property Tax De-
duction Disallowance Notices,
Form PD4, sent.

June 3—

e Corrected Tax Duplicates sent by
County Tax Board to tax collec-
tors for billing purposes.

Note: Complaints (appeals) from
County Tax Board judgments must
be filed with the Tax Court within
45 days of service.

The complete 2015 Work Calendar is
available on the Division’s website.

Monmouth County Demonstration
Program

P.L. 2013, c.15, established a Real
Property Assessment Demonstration
Program to make the assessment of
real property more precise by using
technology driven procedures and to
benefit municipalities by reducing
the number of successful appeals,
thereby protecting funding of mu-
nicipal budgets from the impact of
losses due to appeal refunds. Mon-
mouth County was the first county
to adopt this program, which began
Oct. 1, 2013. The following dates
on the assessors’ calendar have
been revised for municipalities in
Monmouth County:

April 1-
e Tax appeals are heard February,
March and April.

May 5-

e Assessor to file assessment lists
and duplicates with County Tax
Board.

continued on page 4
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May 10 (after)-

e County Tax Board may permit
tax collector to have custody of
tax duplicate.

May 15 (before)—
e County Tax Board to complete
equalization table hearings.

May 15—

o Total tax amount to be raised for
county purposes sent by County
Board of Freeholders to County
Tax Board, apportioned among
the taxing districts.

e County Tax Board to notify
Director, Division of Local Gov-
ernment Services, when copy of
budget resolution (in CY mu-
nicipality) showing amount to be
raised is not received.

e County Tax Administrator to sub-
mit copy of equalization table to
County Tax Board; each assessor;
Division of Taxation; Director,
Local Government Services (two
copies); and post a copy at the
courthouse.

May 25—

¢ Following confirmation of equal-
ization table, County Tax Board
to submit copy to each taxing
district in the county; Director,
Division of Taxation; Tax Court;
and Director, Local Government
Services (two copies).

Public Auction
Information

Announcements of upcoming
public auctions of seized prop-
erty are published on the Divi-
sion of Taxation’s website under
Auction Information. Select the
name of the business from the
list for details about that auction.

May 31—
e General tax rates certified by
County Tax Boards.

e County Tax Board to file final
SR-3A forms with Property
Administration.

e Tax rate set by County Tax Board.

June 15-

e County Tax Board Presidents to
file annual appeal statistics report
(Form TAS) with Director, Divi-
sion of Taxation.

The complete 2015 Work Calendar
for the Monmouth County Demon-
stration Program is available on the
Division’s website. 1

Criminal
Enforcement

Criminal enforcement over the past
several months included:

e OCI’s Special Investigations Unit
continues to assist the Excise Tax
Branch in their ongoing project to
issue cigarette wholesale dealer
licenses to existing cigarette
distributors that sell directly to re-
tailers. This process is intended to
close a reporting gap between the
two license tiers. OCI has been
providing background informa-
tion for company officers not on
the original cigarette distributor
licenses.

e Seneca Distributions LLC, lo-
cated in Bradford, Pennsylvania,
was approved for a New Jersey
nonresident cigarette distributor
license. This new company will
replace Canadian Agricultural
Depot and Everything Tobacco
as the supplier of Seneca brand
cigarettes and filtered cigars to
New Jersey retailers. Seneca
Distributions LLC is a subsidiary

Spring 2015

of Grand River Enterprises Six
Nations Ltd., a manufacturer of
tribal brand cigarettes that has,
thus far, been compliant with the
provisions of the Master Settle-
ment Agreement.

On Jan. 22, 2015, OCI’s special
agent in charge was a speaker
at the Agostino & Associates-
sponsored continuing education
for tax practitioners program
concerning OCI’s criminal en-
forcement activities. One of OCI’s
cases involving the successful
use of the New Jersey money
laundering statute in an identity
theft-entrusted funds criminal tax
case was highlighted.

On Jan. 23, 2015, Pine State
Trading Company, located in
Gardiner, Maine, was approved
for a New Jersey nonresident
cigarette distributor license. This
company holds cigarette tax
stamping licenses in seven other
states along the Eastern Seaboard
and has the ability to buy product
from all of the major cigarette
manufacturers.

On Dec. 2, 2014, the Office of
Criminal Investigation (OCI)
became a participant in the Real
Time Crime Center, which is
a joint operation between the
Newark Police Department and
the New Jersey State Police. The
operation focuses on the greater
Essex/Passaic area and provides
high-level direct intelligence
for street-level law enforcement
personnel.

On Dec. 23, 2014, special agents
responded to a motor vehicle
stop by the Lakehurst Police
Department. The special agents
arrested and criminally charged

continued on page 5
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Louis Rondinella of Toms River,
New Jersey, for possession of
Delaware-stamped cigarettes.

e On Jan. 2, 2015, Hatim Mo-
hamed of Richmond, Virginia,
was stopped by the Mahwah
Police Department. Police found
252 cartons of Virginia-stamped
cigarettes in the trunk of his vehi-
cle. OClI special agents responded
and charged Mohamed with pos-
session of 100 or more cartons
of out-of-State cigarettes; failure
to maintain records; engaging in
a transaction with an unlicensed
person; failure to obtain a New
Jersey cigarette retail dealer
license; and individuals in pos-
session of contraband cigarettes.

e Bobbi J. Medley, Tamika Crump,
Chanel Bostic and Pierre Borders
were indicted on March 28, 2014,
on charges related to a New Jersey
income tax refund fraud scheme
for the tax year 2008. Each in-
dividual received a tax refund
using false employer information
and cashed the refund checks at
an Atlantic City check casher in
2009.On Jan. 9, 2015, in Atlantic
County Superior Court, Bobbi
J. Medley was admitted into the
Pretrial Intervention Program

(PTI). As a condition of the civil
judgment entered on Nov. 14,
2014, Ms. Medley agreed to make
restitution of $984. On Jan. 23,
2015, in Atlantic County Superior
Court, Tamika Crump was sen-
tenced to 24 months of noncus-
todial probation. As a condition
of the civil judgment entered on
Dec. 5,2014, and filed on Jan. 26,
2015, Ms. Crump agreed to make
restitution of $1,983. On Jan. 23,
2015, Chanel Bostic entered a
guilty plea to a charge of fourth-
degree false reporting to law en-
forcement authorities in violation
of N.J.S.A. 2C:28-4. Bostic was
sentenced as a disorderly person
and ordered to pay a $250 fine.
Pierre Borders was sentenced
on Feb. 27, 2015, to the State
recommendation of a period of
noncustodial probation. Borders
was ordered to pay restitution
to the State of New Jersey in the
amount of $434.20, and a civil
consent judgment was entered
against him for that amount.

On March 29, 2014, OCI filed
charges against Burlington county
resident and former Willingboro
police officer Brian Lewis for
failing to file corporation busi-
ness tax returns and failure to pay
corporation business taxes for

March 31, 2015.

Enforcement Summary Statistics
First Quarter 2015

Following is a summary of enforcement actions for the quarter ending

the years 2008 through

2013. Lewis owned and
operated Lewis Lawn Care &
Landscaping Inc. but did not file
any of the required tax returns.
On Jan.16, 2015, Brian Lewis
was sentenced to five years in
State prison for his involvement
in several schemes in which he
defrauded his victims out of
$101,000. Lewis was charged
with two counts of third-degree
theft by deception, one count of
second-degree theft by extortion
and one count of failure to file
business tax returns. As part of his
sentencing, Lewis is required to
file all of his missing tax returns.

e On Jan. 30, 2015, special agents
performed a compliance inspec-
tion in Paterson, New Jersey.
During the course of the inspec-
tion, agents found and seized 10.4
cartons of contraband cigarettes,
1,422 contraband tobacco prod-
ucts and multiple prescription leg-
end drugs. The owner of the store
was arrested and charged with
various indictable offenses. U

Tax Briefs

Sales and Use Tax

Reiki Touch Therapy — A taxpayer
inquired as to whether charges for
Reiki touch therapy are subject to
New Jersey sales and use tax.

The Division responded that the
New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act
imposes sales tax on the retail sale
of massage, bodywork or somatic

services that are rendered in the

Number Amount ¢
« Bank Levies 697 $ 2,120,429 State except when provided pur-
] suant to a doctor’s prescription.
e Certificates of Debt 4,074 53,155,511 NJSA5432B—3(b)(9) N.J.A.C.
e Seizures 127 1,833,326 18:24-33.2; N.J.A.C. 18:24-33.4(a).
¢ Auctions 14 82,381 To qualify for the prescription
e Warrants of Satisfaction 4,007

continued on page 6
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exception, the doctor’s prescription
must be in writing; must contain the
name of the patient and the name and
signature of the referring doctor; and
must state the purpose of the referral
and describe the conditions to be ad-
dressed by the prescribed treatment.
N.J.A.C. 18:24-33.4(b).

“ ‘Massage, bodywork and somatic
services’ means systems of activity
of structured touch, which include
holding, applying pressure, position-
ing and mobilizing soft tissue of the
body by manual technique and use
of visual, kinesthetic, auditory and
palpating skills to assess the body
for purposes of applying massage,
bodywork or somatic principles.
Such application may, for example,
include the use of therapies, such as
heliotherapy or hydrotherapy, the
use of moist hot and cold external
applications and external application
of herbal or topical preparations.”
N.J.A.C. 18:24-33.3(a). Reiki touch
therapy is generally understood to be
a form of therapy that uses simple
touch, no-touch and visualization
techniques for the purpose of im-
proving the flow of life energy in
a person.

Based on the above, Reiki touch
therapy falls within the definition
of massage, bodywork and somatic
services. Therefore, receipts from
charges for those services are subject

to New Jersey sales tax, except when
performed pursuant to a doctor’s
prescription.

Sale of Airline Tickets — A taxpayer
inquired as to whether charges for
the sale of airline tickets are subject
to New Jersey sales and use tax.

The Division responded that the
New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act
imposes sales tax on the receipts
from every sale (except for resale)
of certain enumerated services un-
less an exemption exists. N.J.S.A.
54:32B-3(b). Receipts from charges
for the transportation of persons or
property are exempt from tax except
for: delivery charges; transportation
services provided by a limousine
operator; and the transportation of
energy. N.J.S.A. 54:32B-8.11.

Based on the above, receipts from
charges for the sale of airline tick-
ets are exempt from sales and use
tax whether purchased to transport
persons or property. 1

In Our Courts

Gross Income Tax

Loss Carryforward — Constance
Dinallo v. Director, Division of
Taxation, decided Aug. 16, 2013;
Tax Court Docket No. 013971-2010.

Dinallo (Plaintiff) was a limited part-
ner in Empire, Ltd. (Empire), which
was a limited liability partnership

whose only asset was a single piece
of land. The land was sold in 2004.

Plaintiff received a 2004 New Jersey
K-1 from Empire which showed
a $2,533,468 distributive share of
partnership income. On her 2004
New Jersey gross income tax re-
turn, Plaintiff offset the partnership
income by $1,749,716 of partnership
losses from prior years. In 2005,
Plaintiff received a New Jersey K-1
from Empire which showed a $5,678
loss. The Division audited Plain-
tiff’s 2004 return and disallowed
the use of the partnership losses
from prior years because losses in
any category of income can only be
applied against gains in that same
category of income in the same year.
N.J.S.A. 54A:5-2.

At issue was whether the Plaintiff
could carry forward pre-2004 part-
nership losses to offset the 2004
partnership income and whether the
New Jersey Supreme Court’s hold-
ing in Koch v. Director, Division of
Taxation, 157 N.J. 1 (1999) applied.
In Koch, the Court held that the Di-
rector cannot use a federal adjusted
basis if it results in a taxpayer being
taxed on a return of capital. In other
words, a taxpayer can use losses
from prior years to ensure that he
is only taxed on the economic gain
resulting from a sale.

The Tax Court determined that
N.J.S.A. 54A:5-2 did not permit

continued on page 7
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losses from prior years to be carried
forward and that Koch did not ap-
ply because Plaintiff’s partnership
interest was not sold, exchanged
or disposed of in 2004 even though
the partnership sold its only asset
in 2004.

Plaintiff appealed the Tax Court’s
decision. The appeal was recently
dismissed.

Statute of Limitations Regarding
Credit for Taxes Paid to Other
Jurisdictions — Frederic W. Bernard
v. Director, Division of Taxation,
decided Oct. 31, 2013, and supple-
mented Dec. 4, 2013; Tax Court
Docket No. 014563-2012, affirmed,
Appellate Division Docket No. A-
1445-13T4, decided Feb. 23, 2015.

Bernard (Plaintiff) filed his 2002
New Jersey gross income tax return
on April 15, 2003, but did not claim
a credit for taxes that he paid to New
York state and city in that year. In
2004, New York assessed additional
income taxes against Plaintiff for tax
year 2002. The matter was settled
in 2006. In 2008, Plaintiff filed an
amended New Jersey return for
the 2002 tax year, claimed a credit
for taxes paid to New York and
requested a refund. The Division
denied the refund because Plaintiff
did not claim the credit on his 2002
return and filed his amended return
more than three years after the date
he filed the original return.

In general, the statute of limitations
for claiming a refund of gross in-
come tax is the later of three years
from when the return was filed or
two years from when the tax was
paid. N.J.S.A. 54A:9-8. However,
N.J.S.A. 54A:4-1(e) provides an
exception to the three-year limitation

when there is a readjustment of the
tax due to another state. The Tax
Court has previously determined
that, as used in that statute, the word
“readjustment” means “when a tax
has been paid to another state and a
credit taken on the New Jersey re-
turn for the subject year and the tax
paid is later increased or decreased
by the other state.” See Bonanno v.
Director, Division of Taxation, 12
N.J. Tax 552 (Tax 1992). In this case,
the Tax Court found that Plaintiff’s
amended return did not qualify for an
exception to the three-year statute of
limitations because he did not claim
a credit for taxes paid to New York
on his original 2002 New Jersey re-
turn. Hence, the credit for taxes paid
on the amended 2002 New Jersey
return was not a readjustment.

Plaintiff appealed the Tax Court
decision to the Appellate Division,
which affirmed. The Appellate Court
emphasized the plain language of
the statute and the strong policy of
strictly construing limitation periods
to provide finality and predictability
of state and local revenues.

Limitation on Credit for

Taxes Paid to Other Ju-
risdictions — Michael & Inge
Trachtenberg v. Director, Division
of Taxation, decided Nov. 21, 2013;
Tax Court Docket No. 008689-2008.

Michael and Inge Trachtenberg
(Plaintiffs) were New Jersey resi-
dents who reported the sale of real
property located in New York on
their nonresident New York income
tax return. On their NJ-1040, Plain-
tiffs were able to use capital losses
to offset the capital gain from the
sale of the New York property, but
they were not permitted to do so on
their New York return. However,
Plaintiffs were able to deduct rental
losses on their New York return
that were not deductible on the
New Jersey return. The total gross
income reported to New Jersey was
$4,738,325. Plaintiff used the total
New York income subject to tax of
$9,810,462 in the numerator of the
credit calculation and contended that
they should receive a credit for all
of the New York taxes paid because
their New York income was greater

continued on page 8
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than their New Jersey income. The
Division limited the numerator of
the credit calculation to $4,349,471,
which was the amount of income
taxed by both New York and New
Jersey.

The Tax Court stated that the pur-
pose of the credit is to provide
relief from New Jersey taxes where
income is taxed by both New Jersey
and another jurisdiction, not to pro-
vide a credit for taxes on income that
is not subject to tax in New Jersey.
The credit statute “is not designed to
ameliorate the effects of decisions
by other States to tax income that
is not subject to tax in New Jersey.
The resident credit is not a panacea
for the taxing practices of other ju-
risdictions. The statute is designed to
address the limited circumstances in
which both New Jersey and another
State tax the same income earned by
a New Jersey resident.” The Court
held that the Division’s calculation
of the credit accurately reflected the
intent of the statute.

Plaintiff appealed the Tax Court’s
decision. The appeal was recently
dismissed.

Cigarette Tax

Untaxed Cigarette Purchases —
Rosa Jovanovic v. Director, Division
of Taxation, decided Sept. 23, 2014;
Tax Court Docket No. 016785-2011.

As required by the federal Jenkins
Act, Smart Smoker, an out-of-State
seller of cigarettes, provided the
Division of Taxation with informa-
tion concerning the purchase of
cigarettes that they shipped into New
Jersey. The information provided in-
cluded cigarette purchases made by
Jovanovic (Plaintiff). The cigarettes
did not contain a New Jersey tax

stamp; therefore, neither cigarette
tax nor sales tax was charged or
paid on these purchases. The Divi-
sion of Taxation assessed Plaintiff
for both the excise tax per carton of
cigarettes and the sales tax due on
each purchase.

Plaintiff claimed that she did not
make the purchases, never received
the cigarettes and that she was a
victim of identity theft. Plaintiff
claimed to have disputed the charges
for the cigarette purchases and can-
celed the credit card in question. At
the trial, it was revealed that Plaintiff
continued using the credit card in
question and paid the amount due
on the credit card statements for
the purchases made. The credit card
company did refund some money,
but not for the cigarette purchases.

The Tax Court affirmed the Divi-
sion’s assessment finding that the
testimony of Plaintiff and her hus-
band lacked credibility.

Corporation Business Tax
Taxes Included in Determining
Entire Net Income — Duke Energy
Corporation v. Director, Division of
Taxation, decided Dec. 2, 2014; Tax
Court Docket No. 010448-2008.

N.J.S.A. 54:10A-4(k)(2)(C) of the
Corporation Business Tax Act re-
quires that a taxpayer must add back
certain taxes when determining New
Jersey entire net income, including
taxes on or measured by profits or
income or business presence or busi-
ness activity that were deducted for
federal tax purposes. In this case,
the Division required Duke Energy
Corporation (Plaintiff) to add back
electrical utility taxes. At issue was
whether the (1) North Carolina tax
imposed on electrical utilities and/
or (2) South Carolina tax imposed
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on electrical utilities must be added
back to determine New Jersey en-
tire net income for tax years 2000
through 2003.

The North Carolina utilities tax
is imposed on an electric power
company’s taxable gross receipts
from furnishing products such as
electricity, current or power and
contained a sale for resale exemp-
tion. The Court found that the tax
is measured by gross receipts and
not profits as it does not allow for
a deduction of costs. Additionally,
the Court stated that the tax did not
apply to all corporations and did not
have broad application to in-State
business activities. Consequently,
the Court ruled that the taxpayer
was not required to add back this
tax to determine New Jersey entire
net income.

The South Carolina utilities tax is
imposed on the fair market value of
property owned and used by utilities
and electrical cooperatives and on
gross sales of electricity services.
The Court noted that according to
N.J.A.C. 18:7-8.7(%), property taxes
are not considered business presence
or business activity taxes. Thus, the
taxpayer was not required to add
back this tax to determine New Jer-
sey entire net income. 4

In Our Legislature
Gross Income Tax

Checkoff for New Jersey Nonprofit
Veterans Organization Fund —
P.L. 2015, c.26, signed into law on
March 23, 2015, effective imme-
diately, and applicable to tax years
beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2016,
allows taxpayers to donate to the
New Jersey Nonprofit Veterans Or-
ganization Fund by specifying that

continued on page 9



Spring 2015

in our legislature - from page 8

a certain amount of their income tax
overpayments should go to that fund
or by enclosing a contribution with
their gross income tax returns.

Meadowlands Regional Hotel
Use Assessment

Hackensack Meadowlands Agency
Consolidation Act, Hackensack
Meadowlands Transportation Plan-
ning District Act of 2015 and New
Jersey Meadowlands Tax Relief Act
— P.L. 2015, c.19, was signed into
law on Feb. 5, 2015, and took effect
immediately.

The law consolidates the New Jersey
Meadowlands Commission and the
New Jersey Sports and Exposition
Authority, reestablishes the Hack-
ensack Meadowlands Transportation
Planning District and revises the
funding method for the intermunici-
pal tax sharing program in the New
Jersey Meadowlands.

Sections 82 through 85 of P.L. 2015,
c.19, comprise the New Jersey
Meadowlands Tax Relief Act. The
Act imposes a 3% Meadowlands
Regional Hotel Use Assessment
on the rental charge for a room in a
hotel, motel or similar facility in the
Meadowlands district, including any
hotel located on land owned by the
State. The assessment is imposed on
room rentals that are subject to the
New Jersey sales tax and is in addi-
tion to any other tax or fee imposed
by statute or local ordinance, includ-
ing the hotel/motel State occupancy
fee and municipal occupancy tax.
The assessment applies to all hotel
occupancies that occur on or after
March 1, 2015.Q

Tax Calendar

The following three calendars pro-
vide listings of filing and payment
dates for tax year 2014 (Jan. 1,
2014 — Dec. 31, 2014) and tax year
2015 (Jan. 1,2015 — Dec. 31, 2015)
for businesses and individuals:

e Chronological List of Filing
Deadlines — This calendar is
for use by both businesses and
individuals. If you are responsible
for a return that is not listed in
this calendar, please refer to the
instructions that accompanied the
return, or contact the Customer
Service Center at 609-292-6400
for the appropriate filing deadline.

2014 015

¢ Alphabetical Summary of Due
Dates by Tax Type

2014 201

e Payment Dates for Weekly
Payers — An employer or
other withholder of New Jersey
gross income tax is designated a
“weekly payer” if the amount of
tax it withheld during the previous
tax year was $10,000 or more.

2014 2015 Q4

NJ TaxFax

Discontinued
Effective June 1, 2015, the NJ
TaxFax Service was discontinued.
Forms and Publications are available
on our website.

4 N\
important
phone
numbers

Customer Service Ctr....609-292-6400
Automated Tax Info ...1-800-323-4400
609-826-4400
Homestead Benefit Hotline

for Homeowners.....1-888-238-1233
Property Tax Reimbursement

Hotline..........cc...... 1-800-882-6597
Earned Income Tax Credit

Information............... 609-292-6400
Business Paperless Telefiling

SyStem .....ccceeeceuecencee 609-341-4800
Alcoholic Bev. Tax ......... 609-633-7068
Corp. Liens, Mergers, Withdrawals

& Dissolutions........... 609-292-5323
Director’s Office ............ 609-292-6400
Inheritance Tax.............. 609-292-5033

Local Property Tax........ 609-292-7974
Motor Fuels Tax

Refunds ......cceevueennnene 609-633-8870
\Public Utility Tax........... 609-633-2634)



http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/chronolist14.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/chronolist15.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/alphasum14.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/alphasum15.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/paydates14.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/paydates15.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/forms.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml

New Jersey State Tax News

ADMINISTRATION

Bankruptcy (Courts)

Dishonored Electronic Funds Transfers
Criminalized (Legislature)

Dishonored Payments Recovery Process
(Legislature)

EFT Payments That Fail, New Laws for

Penalties (Courts)

State Agencies Required to Post Certain
Rule-Making Procedures and Documents
Online (Legislature)

AMNESTY

Amnesty Programs in Other States

CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX

Corporate Partner Entitled to Refund (Courts)

Grow NJ

Rental Properties

Taxes Included in Determining Entire Net
Income (Courts)

ENFORCEMENT

Criminal Enforcement

Enforcement Summary
—First Quarter 2014
—Second Quarter 2014
—Third Quarter 2014
—Fourth Quarter 2014

GENERAL
Fall Outreach a Success

Grant and Credit Monitoring Unit Formed, New

Index for State Tax News 2013 (Vol. 42)
Legislation: Synopsis of 2013 Tax Laws
Small Business Workshops

What’s New for Tax Year 2014

GROSS INCOME TAX

Checkoff for ALS Association Support Fund
(Legislature)

Checkoff for Homeless Veterans Grant Fund
(Legislature)

2014 (Volume 43)
INDEX
No. Page
Checkoff for Leukemia & Lymphoma
4 7 Society — New Jersey Fund (Legislature)
Checkoff for Local Library Support Fund
3 10 (Legislature)
Checkoff for New Jersey Farm to School and
3 10 School Garden Fund (Legislature)
4 3 Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions
4 8 (Courts)
Employee Death Benefits & 9/11 Victims’
Compensation
3 10 National Guard Pension
Northern New Jersey Veterans Memorial
Cemetery Development Fund (Legislature)
4 9 Overtime Pay
Time to File for Refund (Courts)
2 8 INHERITANCE/ESTATE TAX
2 7 IRS Enrolled Agents to Prepare Returns
2 7
INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAX
4 8 Retaliatory Tax Credit
LITTER CONTROL FEE
1 4 Gross Receipts From Sales of Cigarettes
2 6
3 5 LOCAL PROPERTY TAX
4 4 Blue Acres Properties Exempt From Taxes,
Certain (Legislature)
1 5 Tax Assessor Certificates
2 5 Tax Assessors’ Calendar
3 5 — Second Quarter 2014
4 5 — Third Quarter 2014
— Fourth Quarter 2014
3 1 MISCELLANEOUS
4 2 Business Taxes, State Investigators
1 insert Recover Unpaid
1 insert Business Taxes, Taxation Investigators Recover
2 3 $1.2 Million in Unpaid
4 1 Economic Opportunity Act of 2014, Part 3
(Legislature)
Interest Rate for 2014
4 9
Interest Rate for 2015
3 11
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2014 INDEX (continued)

No. Page No. Page
State Tax Compliance Standards and Benefit Cellular Phone, Charges for Services
Restrictions, Certain (Legislature) 3 11 Offered in Connection With the Sale of a 3 9
Voluntary Disclosure Initiatives 1 1 City of Camden Motor Vehicle Parking
Surcharge Ordinance 2 7
PARTNERSHIPS Donation Made Through a Crowdfunding
Filing Requirements 3 3 Website 4 7
Floating Boat Dock Installation 2 8
PROPERTY TAX RELIEF PROGRAMS Marine Terminal Facility (Courts) 1 10
“Senior Freeze” Checks on the Way 2 1 Postage Sold in Connection With Printed
Advertising Material 3 9
SALES AND USE TAX Prescription Drugs for Animals 1 2
Admission to a Museum Owned by an Remote Controls and Converters (Courts) 1 9
Exempt Organization, Charges for 1 8 Tattooing With Reconstructive Breast Surgery, 2 2
Bankruptcy (Courts) 3 10 Exemption for Certain (Legislature) 3 12
Boat Owners, Taxation Collects Unstamped Cigarette Purchases (Courts) 1 10
Back Taxes From 3 1 Walk-In Bathtubs, Taxablhty of 4 7
Breast Radiation Treatment Catheter Device 3 8
2 Spring 2015



2014 TAX LAWS

CH. DATE SYNOPSIS TAX* BILL
Establishes the Northern New Jersey Veterans Memorial Cem-
4 5/15/14 | etery Development Fund and provides for voluntary contribu- GIT A-126(1R)
tions by taxpayers on gross income tax returns.
Adjusts and clarifies certain State tax compliance standards and
13 6/30/14 restricts certain State tax benefits. MULT A-3486
Establishes the New Jersey Farm to School and School Garden
38 8/25/14 | Fund and provides for voluntary contributions by taxpayers on GIT A-2641(1R)
gross income tax returns.
45 9/10/14 Amends the law to include e.:lec‘Fron%c funds trapsfers within the ALL A-1153
scope of the statute concerning issuing or passing bad checks.
A the law to incl lectronic fi transfers in th -
46 9/10/14 mends the aw to inc ude electronic funds transfers in the pro ALL A-1162
cess for recovering dishonored payments.
Establishes the Local Library Support Fund and provides for
47 9/10/14 | voluntary contributions by taxpayers on gross income tax GIT | A-1314(1R)
returns.
Creates the Economic Opportunity Act of 2014, Part 3, which
63 10/24/14 | modifies laws concerning incentives for certain economic de- MISC | A-3213(5R)
velopment projects.
Establishes the ALS Association Support Fund and provides
80 12/11/14 | for voluntary contributions by taxpayers on gross income tax GIT A-3290
returns.
*Legend for 2014 Tax Laws
ABT = Alcoholic Beverage Tax LIT = Litter Control Fee
ADS = Admissions Surchage LPT = Local Property Tax
ALL = All Taxes Administered by the Division MFT = Motor Fuel Tax
CAS = Casino Taxes and Fees MIS = Miscellaneous
CBT = Corporation Business Tax MULT = Multiple Taxes
CIG = Cigarette Tax PPT = Petroleum Products Gross Receipts Tax
CMC = Cape May County Tourism Sales Tax PTRP = Property Tax Relief Programs
CMPT = Cosmetic Medical Procedures Gross Receipts Tax PUT = Public Utility Taxes
DSF = Domestic Security Fee RTF = Realty Transfer Fee
ENV = Environmental Taxes S&U = Sales and Use Tax
ERF = 9-1-1 System & Emergency Response Fee SCC = Spill Compensation & Control Tax
FBT = Financial Business Tax TEFA = Transitional Energy & Facility Assessment
GIT = Gross Income Tax TIR = Motor Vehicle Tire Fee
HMO = Hotel Motel Occupancies TIT/ET = Transfer Inheritance & Estate Tax
IPT = Insurance Premium Tax TPT = Tobacco Products Tax
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