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Homestead Benefit
Payments for 2013
Coming in May

Most New Jersey homeowners who
were eligible and filed for a 2013
homestead benefit will receive their
benefit as a credit on their May
2016 property tax bills. However,
homeowners will receive their ben-
efit in the form of a check (or direct
deposit) in early May if their home
was a unit in a co-op or a continu-
ing care retirement community, or
they indicated when filing that they
no longer owned the home that was
their principal residence on Oct. 1,
2013.

To be eligible for a 2013 homestead
benefit, applicants had to be New
Jersey residents who owned and
occupied a home in New Jersey
that was their principal residence
on Oct. 1, 2013, paid property taxes
on that home and had 2013 New
Jersey gross income of $75,000 or
less ($150,000 or less for homeown-
ers 65 or older or blind or disabled).

Benefit amounts vary based on the
applicant’s income, filing status,
property taxes and whether the ap-
plicant was 65 or older or blind or
disabled.

The 2013 benefit is based on the
2006 property taxes for the ap-
plicant’s Oct. 1, 2013, principal
residence. If no property taxes were
assessed on the home for 2006, the
Division of Taxation determines the
amount of property taxes that would
have been due.
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Homeowners can check the
status of their homestead benefit
online. Additional information about
the Homestead Benefit Program,
including information on how the
benefit is calculated, is also available
on our website.

SALES AND USE TAX
Reporting Tax on

Boat/Vessel Sales
Recent legislation (P.L. 2015, ¢.170)
amended the Sales and Use Tax Act
to: (1) provide a 50 percent Sales and
Use Tax exemption on the sale of
new and used boats or other vessels
and (2) cap the amount of sales tax
or use tax due on an individual sale
at $20,000.

These changes affect how busi-
nesses that sell, rent or lease new and
used boats or other vessels that are
“eligible” for the partial sales tax ex-
emption (3.5% sales tax rate) and the
$20,000 sales tax cap complete and
file their Sales and Use Tax returns.
See page 9 for more information.
The Frequently Asked Questions
on Boats and Other Vessels in that
section include the definition of an
“eligible boat or other vessel” as
well as examples of “noneligible”
watercraft.

For filing periods beginning on
and after Feb. 1, 2016, businesses
that make eligible sales of boats
or other vessels must file all Sales
and Use Tax returns and remittance

continued on page 2
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statements (if applicable) online and
make payments electronically.

These businesses will complete
new, online returns (ST-50B, ST-
350B, ST-450B or UZ-50B) and
must provide information about the
number of eligible boats or other
vessels sold, rented or leased during
the filing period and the total gross
receipts for those transactions. This
information is needed to ensure
that the amount of tax due on these
transactions is properly calculated.

Businesses that sell, rent or lease
eligible boats or other vessels must
use the new “B” returns for any filing
period (month or quarter) in which
they made “eligible” sales. These
businesses will also report on the
“B” return any sales that are subject
to sales tax at the regular rate.

Businesses that do not sell, rent or
lease “eligible” boats or other ves-
sels will continue to file the quar-
terly/monthly returns they have in
the past (ST-50, ST-350, ST-450 or
UZ-50).

“Noneligible” sales, rentals or
leases involve items to which the
partial sales tax exemption (3.5%

sales tax rate) and the $20,000 sales
tax cap do not apply. Examples
include: canoes, kayaks, paddle-
boards, paddleboats (other than
mechanically powered), rowboats,
rafts, surfboards and inflatable rafts
with oars. Sales, rentals and leases
of these “noneligible” items are sub-
ject to the full sales tax rate of 7%,
unless another exemption provision
applies. For example, sales, leases
or rentals of canoes or kayaks made
by qualified sellers in Salem County
or in an Urban Enterprise Zone are
subject to tax at the reduced rate of
3.5% that applies to certain sales of
tangible property in those locations.

The Sales and Use Tax return a busi-
ness must file depends on where it is
located and whether or not it sells,
rents or leases “eligible” boats or
other vessels. See the “Which Form
to File” chart below.

Online Filing for Cape May
County Businesses

For filing periods beginning on
and after Feb. 1, 2016, taxpayers
required to file Cape May County
Tourism Sales Tax and Tourism
Assessment monthly returns that
make eligible sales of boats or
other vessels (i.e., they sell, rent or

continued on page 3

Businesses That Sell, Rent or Lease Boats or Other Vessels
Which Sales and Use Tax Return to File
Cape May
Statewide County UEZ/UEZ-Impacted
Business sells, (Except Salem | Salem (certain Business District
rents, or leases... County) County | municipalities) (qualified businesses)
Eligible boats or
other vessels only ST-50B ST-450B | ST-350B Uz-50B
Both eligible and
noneligible boats ST-50B ST-450B | ST-350B Uz-50B
or other vessels
Noneligible
boats or other ST-50 ST-450 ST-350 uUz-50
vessels only
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lease boats or other vessels that are
eligible for the partial sales tax ex-
emption and the sales tax cap) must
file the ST-350B return online and
make payments electronically. These
Cape May County businesses can no
longer use a paper Form ST-350.

The Division of Taxation is phas-
ing out the paper Form ST-350
monthly returns at the end of 2016.
For filing periods beginning on and
after Jan. 1, 2017, all taxpayers
that file Cape May County Tourism
Sales Tax and Tourism Assessment
monthly returns will be required to
file online and make payments elec-
tronically. However, businesses that
file Form ST-350 can begin to file
online and make payments electroni-
cally immediately if they wish.d

Pioneer Credit

Recovery
Pioneer Credit Recovery, Inc. (PCR)
is a company contracted by the

Interest 6.25%

The interestrate assessed on amounts
due for the period Jan. 1, 2016 —
Dec. 1, 2016, will be 6.25%.

The assessed interest rate history is
listed below.

Effective Interest
Date Rate
1/1/10 6.25%
1/1/11 6.25%
1/1/12 6.25%
1/1/13 6.25%
1/1/14 6.25%
1/1/15 6.25%
1/1/16 6.25%

Division of Taxation through the
public bidding process to assist
in the collection of deficient (un-
derpaid) and delinquent (unfiled)
State taxes, as permitted under P.L.
1992, c.172. PCR is the Division’s
authorized collection agency and is
overseen by the Division’s Compli-
ance Branch.

PCR and its employees who work on
this contract are bound by the same
confidentiality rules in the State Tax
Uniform Procedure Law (N.J.S.A.
54:50-8 and N.J.S.A. 54:50-9), the
Internal Revenue Code (U.S.C.
§§6103, 7213) and the State ethics
guidelines and procedures required
of all other Division employees.
Violators of these laws are subject
to prosecution.

If you are contacted by PCR, re-
spond directly to that caseworker to
expedite your case.

The Collection Process

After you file a tax return, if you do
not pay the balance in full, the Di-
vision sends a billing notice for the
amount due. This amount includes
any penalties and interest. Ifyou fail
to make payment within 30 days of
the billing notice, your account/tax
liability will be forwarded to PCR
for debt collection.

If you fail to file a tax return, your
account is considered to be delin-
quent, and your tax liability will be
arbitrarily assessed. If you fall into
this category, it is imperative that
you file all missing returns. This will
ensure that the Division’s records
reflect your true liability.

After your account is forwarded to
PCR, the collection process proceeds
as follows:

e PCR reviews the debt and assigns
the account to a caseworker.

e The caseworker mails
an initial contact letter
along with an updated Sched-
ule of Liabilities detailing the
current balance due.

e PCR will attempt to contact the
taxpayer (or their authorized rep-
resentative) in an effort to resolve
the matter.

o [f the debt remains unresolved
after 30 days, PCR will issue a
“Notice of Demand for Payment”
via certified mail. This official no-
tification allows taxpayers either
30 days (for deficient items) or
90 days (for delinquent items) to
resolve the issue. It is important
that taxpayers with delinquent
returns are aware that penalties
and fees assessed on delinquen-
cies are higher than if a return had
been filed timely.

o [f the debt is still outstanding, a
Certificate of Debt (COD) is en-
tered with the Clerk of the New
Jersey Superior Court. A COD
has the same force and effect as
a Docketed Judgment adjudicated
in any court of law. [fa COD is is-
sued for the outstanding liability,
a cost of collection fee is added
to the docketed judgment and
becomes part of the outstanding
liability.

e Once the COD is in place, the
case is returned to the Division
for further collection action.

e All cases with CODs are assessed
a cost of collection fee, which
is in addition to a referral cost
recovery fee.

Referral Cost Recovery Fee

Beginning in October 2003, the
Division began imposing a referral
cost recovery fee as authorized by

continued on page 4
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N.J.S.A. 54:49-12.3 and N.J.A.C.
18:2-2.5(d).

In cases in which any State tax
remains unpaid and your account
1s referred to PCR for collection, a
referral cost recovery fee of 10% of
the amount referred will be assessed
and added to the tax liability. This
fee is in addition to any interest or
penalties imposed. If your returns
have not been filed (account is de-
linquent), and your tax liability has
been arbitrarily assessed, the referral
cost recovery fee will be 10% of the
assessed amount.

The referral cost recovery fee is not
compensation paid to PCR. This
fee is assessed to cover the expense
incurred by the Division when taxes
are not filed and paid in a timely
manner or not resolved upon the is-
suance of an initial bill. Generally,
each payment sent to Pioneer will
have 10% of that payment applied to
the referral cost recovery fee items
until all referral cost recovery fee
items are satisfied.

Cost of Collection

If any State tax is not paid within
the time prescribed by law, and the
Director of the Division of Taxation
issues a Certificate of Debt pursu-
ant to R.S.54:49-12, a fee for the
cost of collection of the tax may be
imposed. The fees imposed pursuant
to the statute are in addition to any
interest or penalties, or both, other-
wise allowed by law. U

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX
Tax Deferment for
Deployed Military

Personnel

P.L. 2015, ¢.277, approved Jan. 19,
2016, provides a deferment from
property taxes that are due while a
military serviceperson is deployed
for active service in time of war.

The deferment begins on the tax
due date and ends 90 days after the
end of deployment. No interest is
charged when the amount due is paid
on or before the first day following
the 90-day grace period. However,
interest will accrue from the origi-
nal due date on any amount that is
unpaid after the first day following
the grace period.

The deferment is limited to property
owned solely by the deployed mili-
tary serviceperson or owned with a
spouse/civil union partner. Property
owned by a corporation or with oth-
ers (parents, siblings or children)
does not qualify for the deferment.
The law permits a person acting on
behalf of the serviceperson to file
the application for deferment with
the tax collector of the municipality
where the property is located.

The Director of the Division of Taxa-
tion will prescribe the application
form and make it available on the
Division’s website. To qualify, the
deployed serviceperson must submit
the application, military orders and
a DD Form 214. The municipal tax

collector will review the application
and determine eligibility.

In order to avoid an unfunded man-
date, the law requires that the State
annually pay each municipality
the total amount deferred plus 2%
administrative costs in the same
manner as is currently done for the
veterans’ property tax deduction.
The municipal tax collector is re-
quired to reimburse the State upon
receipt of the deferred payment
from each qualified military servi-
ceperson, along with any interest
collected for payments made after
the deferment period. 4

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX
Nonresidential
Development Fee

The following information has been
promulgated by the Department of
Community Affairs, Local Planning
Services:

“The Non-Residential Develop-
ment Fee Act, N.J.S.A. 40:55D-8.1
through 8.8, was established by P.L.
2008, c. 46. The first moratorium
on the fee, which ended on July 1,
2010, was instituted by P.L. 2009,
c. 90. The moratorium was extended
by P.L. 2011, c. 122 for projects re-
ceiving site approval prior to July 1,
2013 and a construction permit as of
January 1, 2015.” (That moratorium
extension has not been renewed by

continued on page 5

Massachusetts

4/1/16 —5/31/16

Current Amnesty Programs
The following jurisdiction is conducting a tax amnesty program. During the designated amnesty period, taxpay-
ers have a chance to pay back taxes with reduced (or eliminated) penalty and/or interest. For more information,
including eligibility requirements, or to obtain an application, visit the jurisdiction’s website.

http://www.mass.gov/dor/
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the New Jersey Legislature and is
currently expired.)

“Thus, as of July 1, 2013 all mu-
nicipalities are required to impose a
Non-Residential Development Fee
of 2.5 percent of the equalized as-
sessed value on projects receiving
site approval after that date pursuant
to the Statewide Non-residential
Development Fee Act, N.J.S.A.
40:55D-8.6.

“The NRDF Certification/Ex-
emption Form (Form N-RDF rev.
1/2016) has been updated to include
an exemption for developments
that received both appropriate site
plan approval prior to July 1, 2013
and a construction permit prior to
January 1, 2015. All previous ex-
emptions or exclusions under the
Non-Residential Development Fee
Actremain.” (Form N-RDF is avail-
able on the Division’s website.)

If a developer is claiming an ex-
emption from the Nonresidential
Development Fee, then the assessor
determines if the exemption is justi-
fied. If not exempt, the assessor must
prepare an estimated assessment
based on a review of the documenta-
tion submitted by the developer with
the construction permit application.
Once notified that the property is
ready for a final assessment, the as-
sessor enters the assessed value of
the completed construction on the
form and calculates the Nonresi-
dential Development Fee due on the
project.

If the municipality is participating
in the Fair Housing Act, payment
is remitted to the town. If the mu-
nicipality is not a Fair Housing Act
participant, payment is made to the
State Treasurer.

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX
Tax Assessors’

Calendar

April 1-

e Deadline for filing appeals of as-
sessed valuations in nonrevalued
and nonreassessed municipalities
to County Tax Boards by taxpay-
ers and taxing districts and for ap-
peals of assessed valuations over
$1,000,000 to State Tax Court.

e Percentage level of taxable value
of real property established by the
County Tax Boards.

o [fappeal petition or complaint is
filed April 1 or during the 19 days
preceding April 1, the taxpayer or
taxing district has 20 days from
date of service of appeal petition
or complaint to file cross-petition
with County Tax Board or coun-
terclaim with State Tax Court.

e Total tax amount to be raised for
county purposes sent by County
Board of Chosen Freeholders to
County Tax Board, apportioned
among the taxing districts.

April 10—

e Copy of County Tax Board reso-
lution of real property taxable
value percentage level mailed to
assessors, municipal clerks and
Director, Division of Taxation.

April 15—

e County Board of Taxation files
Form SR-3A with Property
Administration.

May 1-

e Residential properties identi-
fied by assessors and certified to
County Tax Board.

e Deadline for filing assessment
appeals to the County Tax Board
or where assessed values ex-
ceed $1,000,000 to the State

Tax Court in taxing
districts that have im-
plemented a municipality-
wide revaluation or reassessment.

May 10—

e Form TL-45 filed with Property
Administration by County Tax
Administrator.

May 20—

e Table of Aggregates completed
by County Tax Board from asses-
sor’s Tax Duplicates and Taxation
Director’s certification of 2nd
class railroad property.

e General tax rates certified by
County Tax Boards.

May 23—

o Table of Aggregates signed by
County Tax Boards and transmit-
ted to County Treasurer who files,
prints and transmits a certified
copy to the Director, Division of
Taxation; State Auditor; Director,
Division of Local Government
Services in the Department of
Community Affairs; the clerk of
the Board of Freeholders; and the
clerk of each municipality in the
county.

June 1-

o County Tax Administrator to fur-
nish to Director, Division of Taxa-
tion, a list of current members,
the appointment and expiration
dates of their terms of office and
the status of the required courses.

o Assessors’ Property Tax Deduc-
tion Disallowance Notices, Form
PD4, sent.

June 3-

e Corrected Tax Duplicates sent by
County Tax Board to tax collec-
tors for billing purposes.

continued on page 6


http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/lpt/n-rdf.pdf

Spring 2016

“assessors’ calendar - from page 5

June 15 (on or before)—

e County Board of Taxation cer-
tifies to Director, Division of
Taxation, the number and total
dollar amount of property tax
and veterans’ deductions allowed
and disallowed for the current
tax year on Forms PD-65.15 and
VE-WVE-2.

Note: Complaints (appeals) from
County Tax Board judgments must
be filed with the Tax Court within
45 days of service.

The complete 2016 Work Calendar is
available on the Division’s website.

Monmouth County Demonstration
Program

P.L. 2013, c.15, established a Real
Property Assessment Demonstration
Program to make the assessment of
real property more precise by using
technology driven procedures and to
benefit municipalities by reducing
the number of successful appeals,
thereby protecting funding of mu-
nicipal budgets from the impact of
losses due to appeal refunds. Mon-
mouth County was the first county
to adopt this program, which began
Oct. 1, 2013. The following dates
on the assessors’ calendar have
been revised for municipalities in
Monmouth County:

Public Auction
Information

Announcements of upcoming
public auctions of seized prop-
erty are published on the Divi-
sion of Taxation’s website under
Auction Information. Select the
name of the business from the
list for details about that auction.

April 1-
e Tax appeals are heard February,
March and April.

May 5-

e Assessor to file assessment lists
and duplicates with County Tax
Board.

May 10 (after)—

e County Tax Board may permit
tax collector to have custody of
tax duplicate.

May 15 (before)—
e County Tax Board to complete
equalization table hearings.

May 15—

o Total tax amount to be raised for
county purposes sent by County
Board of Freeholders to County
Tax Board, apportioned among
the taxing districts.

e County Tax Board to notify
Director, Division of Local Gov-
ernment Services, when copy of
budget resolution (in CY mu-
nicipality) showing amount to be
raised is not received.

e County Tax Administrator to sub-
mit copy of equalization table to
County Tax Board; each assessor;
Division of Taxation; Director,
Local Government Services (two
copies); and post a copy at the
courthouse.

May 25—

o Following confirmation of equal-
ization table, County Tax Board
to submit copy to each taxing
district in the county; Director,
Division of Taxation; Tax Court;
and Director, Local Government
Services (two copies).

May 31—
e General tax rates certified by
County Tax Board.

e County Tax Board to file fi-
nal SR-3A forms with Property
Administration.

June 15—

e County Tax Board President to
file annual appeal statistics report
(Form TAS) with Director, Divi-
sion of Taxation.

The complete 2016 Monmouth
County Work Calendar is available
on the Division’s website. 1

Criminal
Enforcement

Criminal enforcement over the past
several months included:

e On Sept. 11, 2015, Henry R. De
La Rosa, t/a Busanka Restaurant
LLC, was indicted in Middlesex
County Court for failure to file
New Jersey sales tax returns
(Form ST-50) for the first quar-
ter of 2010 through the fourth
quarter of 2014 and failure to
remit sales taxes to the State of
New Jersey for the first quarter
0f 2010 through the fourth quarter
of 2014. An Office of Criminal
Investigation (OCI) auditor deter-
mined that De La Rosa owes res-
titution in the amount of $74,719,
including penalty and interest.

e On Oct. 8, 2015, OCI arrested
Osama Rawashdeh, owner of the
Grab and Go in Paterson, New
Jersey. Seized were 58.5 car-
tons of New Jersey counterfeit-
stamped cigarettes. New Jersey
State Fire Marshals assisted with
the inspection using their tobacco
K-9, Scout.

e OnNov. 13,2015, Vivian Farney
of Middletown, New Jersey, was
sentenced to probation on four

continued on page 7
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counts of filing a fraudulent tax
return. A joint investigation be-
tween OCI and the Monmouth
County Prosecutor’s Office re-
vealed that she made numerous
cash deposits into her bank ac-
count (funds allegedly embezzled
from her employer) that she did
not claim on her tax returns dur-
ing the years 2007 through 2010.
Farney was ordered to pay $8,000
in restitution to the New Jersey
Division of Taxation. Ms. Far-
ney’s common-law husband, Wil-
liam Seward, pled guilty to failure
to file a tax return for the years
2007 through 2010. He was also
put on probation on the condition
that he file the delinquent returns
within 90 days of sentencing.

On Nov. 17, 2015, OCI special
agents performed a compliance
inspection with the Englewood
Police Department at Crown
Fish and Chicken, LLC in Engle-
wood, New Jersey. The inspec-
tion resulted in the seizure of
5.1 cartons of Virginia-stamped
cigarettes, 5,148 untaxed tobacco
products and 190 loosies. Dur-
ing the search, agents also found
multiple bags of marijuana, brass
knuckles and possible bags of

synthetic marijuana, to which the
agents alerted the members of the
municipal police department. The
two employees of the store were
placed under arrest. One of the
employees present at the time of
inspection lived in the apartment
located directly behind the busi-
ness. He was asked if he would
sign a “consent to search” his
apartment, to which he agreed.
A search was conducted by the
special agents that resulted in the
seizure of 99.7 cartons of Vir-
ginia-stamped cigarettes, 11,245
untaxed tobacco products and 7
pieces of paperwork/invoices.
The owner of the store, Manfooz
Khan, has been charged with all
of the contraband cigarette and
tobacco counts.

On Dec. 3, 2015, an Ocean
County Grand Jury handed up
indictments on two separate cases
referred to the Prosecutor’s Office
and jointly investigated with the
New Jersey State Comptroller’s
Office, Medicaid Fraud Divi-
sion and OCI. Peter Cerruto and
his wife, Lisa Cerruto, of Bar-
negat, New Jersey, were indicted
on charges of theft by decep-
tion, Medicaid fraud, tampering
with government records, filing
fraudulent tax returns and failure

to pay tax. It is alleged

that the Cerrutos provided

false information on their ap-
plications for New Jersey Fam-
ily Care, a Medicaid program,
and received benefits totaling
approximately $69,000 between
February 2010 and July 2013. The
tax counts cover the tax years of
2010 through 2013. The general
nature of the allegations is that
income was understated in both
the Medicaid and tax matters.
All counts of the indictment
were in the third degree, and the
defendants face up to five years
in State prison.

OnDec. 3,2015, an Ocean County
Grand Jury handed up a second
indictment on Yosaf Laskin and
his wife, Gila Neger, of Lake-
wood. Mr. Laskin was indicted
for theft by deception, Medicaid
fraud and tampering with govern-
ment records. It is alleged that
he provided false information on
his applications for New Jersey
Family Care and received ben-
efits of approximately $148,000
between November 2010 and July
2013. Ms. Neger was indicted for
theft by deception and tampering
with government records. It is
alleged that she filed a false ap-
plication for food stamps under
the Supplemental Nutritional
Assistance Program (SNAP) and

Enforcement Summary Statistics
First Quarter 2016

Following is a summary of enforcement actions for the quarter ending
March 31, 2016.

received approximately $8,000
in benefits. Both Laskin and
Neger were also indicted for
filing fraudulent tax returns for
tax years 2010 and 2011. The

Number Amount general nature of the allegations

) is that income was understated

e Bank Levies 643 $ 1,975,891 in the Medicaid, SNAP and tax

e Certificates of Debt 3,686 51,151,283 matters. Mr. Laskin faces up to

e Seizures 117 1,562,453 10 years in State prison on the

e Auctions 14 185,952 second-degree charge of theft by
e Warrants of Satisfaction 4313

continued on page 8
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deception. The remaining counts
are all third-degree charges, and
the defendants face up to five
years in prison.

On Dec. 7, 2015, in Mercer
County Superior Court, former
New York Giants football star
Plaxico Burress agreed to serve 5
years of probation and 364 days
in jail for failing to pay $46,000
in taxes on his $1 million income
in 2013. In exchange for the guilty
plea, prosecutors dropped an ad-
ditional charge of issuing a bad
check or electronic funds transfer,
a third-degree felony. Burress
must repay his back taxes, with
penalty and interest, by the time
the probation period ends or
face jail time. Burress filed his
2013 income tax return with the
New Jersey Division of Taxa-
tion, but the electronic payment
failed. Burress was alerted to the
nonpayment by the Division of
Revenue and Enterprise Services,
but he did not respond. A criminal
complaint came in February 2015
after additional efforts by OCI to

reach Burress were unsuccess-
ful. Under a 2014 bill signed by
Governor Christie, New Jersey
allows criminal penalties to be
imposed on people who send
insufficient e-payments just as
if those payments were bounced
checks. Burress was sentenced
on Feb. 5, 2016. This case was a
joint investigation between OCI’s
Technical Enforcement Unit and
the Mercer County Prosecutor’s
Office. 4

Tax Briefs

Controlling Interest Transfer
Tax

No De Minimis Exception — A tax
practitioner inquired as to whether
there is a de minimis exception to
the Controlling Interest Transfer Tax
(CITT) when one owner purchases a
five percent interest in an entity own-
ing Class 4A commercial property
from the other owner, which results
in the purchaser having a controlling
interest. In this case, taxpayers A
and B each own a 50 percent share
in entity C. Taxpayer A buys an ad-
ditional five percent of entity C from
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taxpayer B for $1,200,000. Taxpayer
A now owns a controlling interest
(55 percent) in entity C.

The Division responded that when
there is a sale or transfer of an
ownership/membership interest in
an entity that owns Class 4A com-
mercial property, and the purchaser/
transferee gains a controlling inter-
est as a result of the sale or transfer,
the CITT is due if the consideration
for the purchase of the interest is in
excess of $1,000,000 in accordance
with N.J.S.A. 54:15C-1.

Because the purchase by taxpayer A
resulted in his owning a controlling
interest in entity C, he now owes the
CITT even though the interest pur-
chased was not itself a controlling
interest. As long as consideration
for the purchase exceeds $1 million,
there is no de minimis exception for
a purchase/transfer that results in
the purchaser/transferee owning a
controlling interest.

Partnerships

Claiming a Federal Tax Credit on
Form NJ-1065 — A taxpayer in-
quired as to whether the research and
development credit authorized under
LR.C. §41 and taken on federal Form
6765 is allowed as a deduction for
partnerships on the NJ-1065 return.

As required in the instructions for the
NJ-1065, for New Jersey purposes,
the partnership’s income reported
on Line 1 of Form NJ-1065 is the
amount of ordinary income or loss
derived from the partnership’s trade
or business activities. This will
be the amount reported on Line 1,
Schedule K, federal Form 1065.

There is no provision in the New
Jersey Gross Income Tax Act that
allows the use of federal tax credits

continued on page 9
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or an adjustment of income for New
Jersey Gross Income Tax purposes
when a partnership takes a federal
credit.

Therefore, the research and devel-
opment credit under I.LR.C. §41 is
not available as a deduction at the
partnership or individual level, and
partnerships are required to report
ordinary income on Form NJ-1065
in the same manner as reported for
federal purposes.

Sales and Use Tax

Partial Exemption (3.5% Tax Rate)
and $20,000 Tax Cap for Sales and
Uses of Boats and Vessels; Grace
Period for Use Tax Imposition —
Amendment to the Sales and Use
Tax Act, enacted Dec. 9, 2015.

P.L. 2015, ¢.170 amends the Sales
and Use Tax Act to provide a 50
percent sales and use tax exemption
on the sale of new and used boats
or other vessels (including motor-
boats, sailboats, yachts and cruisers)
and caps the amount of Sales and
Use Tax so that the most the State
can collect on a particular sale is
$20,000. As a result, the Sales and
Use Tax rate goes from 7 percent
to 3.5 percent. There is no further
reduction of the Sales and Use Tax
rate on sales in an urban enterprise
zone or in Salem County. The ex-
emption and cap apply to purchases
occurring on and after Feb. 1, 2016.
Because rental/lease transactions are
treated as retail sales under the Sales
and Use Tax Act, these changes also
apply to rentals and leases of boats
or other vessels.

In addition to the exemption and cap,
for uses on or after Jan. 1, 2016, the
law allows a grace period for certain
boats or other vessels purchased out
of State by a New Jersey resident to

be used in New Jersey for up to 30
days in a calendar year without trig-
gering use tax so long as:

1. The boat or other vessel is legally
operated by the resident purchaser
and meets all current require-
ments pursuant to applicable
federal law or pursuant to a feder-
ally approved numbering system
for boats and vessels adopted by
another state; and

2. The resident purchaser is not
engaged in or carrying on in this
State any employment, trade,
business or profession in which
the boat or vessel will be used in
this State.

Frequently Asked Questions: Boats
and Other Vessels — Partial Sales
Tax Exemption (3.5% Sales Tax
rate); 320,000 Sales Tax Cap

Q1. What is the definition of “boat
or other vessel”’?

A. Based on legislative intent, a
“boat or other vessel” is a means of
conveyance for travel on water and
propelled otherwise than by mus-
cular power, such as a motorboat,
sailboat, yacht and cruiser.

Q2. Does the new law apply to leases
and rentals of boats or other vessels?

A. Yes. The statutory definition of
“sale” includes leases and rentals, so
the partial sales tax exemption (3.5%
sales tax rate) and the $20,000 sales
tax cap (maximum amount of Sales
and Use Tax the State can collect on
an eligible sale) also apply to leases
and rentals of boats or other vessels.

Q3. Does the new law apply only
to noncommercial boats or other
vessels?

A. No. The new law does not dis-
tinguish between commercial and

noncommercial boats or

other vessels, so the partial

sales tax exemption (3.5% sales
tax rate) and the $20,000 sales
tax cap apply to both commercial
and noncommercial boats or other
vessels. (NoTE: Several types of
commercial boats and vessels are
currently exempt from sales tax in
full.)

Q4. Do the partial sales tax ex-
emption (3.5% sales tax rate) and
the $20,000 sales tax cap apply to
sales, leases and rentals of personal
watercraft?

A. Yes. The partial sales tax ex-
emption (3.5% sales tax rate) and
the $20,000 sales tax cap apply to
sales, leases and rentals of personal
watercraft.

“Personal watercraft” means a
power vessel defined as a Class “A”
vessel by the United States Coast
Guard, and that:

a. Is designed to be operated from
a sitting, standing or kneeling
position;

b. Is equipped with an internal
combustion engine that powers a
water jet pump; and

c. Cannot be operated in a manner
so as to disengage the pump so as
to prevent the vessel from making
headway (N.J.S.A. 12:7-62).

QS. Do the partial sales tax ex-
emption (3.5% sales tax rate) and
the $20,000 sales tax cap apply to
sales, leases and rentals of canoes
and kayaks?

A. No. Based on the definition in
question 1, the Division has deter-
mined that canoes and kayaks are
not entitled to the partial sales tax

continued on page 10
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exemption (3.5% sales tax rate) or
the $20,000 sales tax cap. Thus,
sales, rentals and leases of canoes
and kayaks are subject to the full
sales tax rate of 7% unless another
exemption provision applies (e.g.,
sales of tangible property made by
qualified sellers in Salem County or
in an urban enterprise zone).

Q6. Do the partial sales tax exemp-
tion (3.5% sales tax rate) and the
820,000 sales tax cap apply to used
and brokered boats or other vessels?

A. Yes. The new law does not distin-
guish between new and used boats or
other vessels, so brokered sales (in
which a dealer acts as a go-between
for the seller and the purchaser) and
casual sales (sales between individu-
als with no broker) are eligible for
the partial sales tax exemption (3.5%
sales tax rate) and the $20,000 sales
tax cap.

Q7. Does the partial sales tax ex-
emption (3.5% sales tax rate) apply
to services, parts and labor?

A. No. The new law only applies to
sales, rentals and leases of boats or
other vessels. Therefore, charges for
all services (repairs, maintenance,
etc.), parts and supplies are subject
to the full sales tax rate of 7% unless
another exemption provision applies
(e.g., sales of tangible property made
by qualified sellers in Salem County
or in an urban enterprise zone).

Q8. What are examples of items that
are not entitled to the partial sales
tax exemption (3.5% sales tax rate)
and the $20,000 sales tax cap?

A. The partial sales tax exemption
(3.5% sales tax rate) and the $20,000
sales tax cap do not apply to sales,
rentals and leases of canoes, kayaks,

paddleboards, paddleboats (other
than mechanically powered), row-
boats, rafts, surfboards and inflatable
rafts with oars. Thus, sales, rentals
and leases of these items are subject
to the full sales tax rate of 7% unless
another exemption provision applies
(e.g., sales of tangible property made
by qualified sellers in Salem County
or in an urban enterprise zone).

Q9. Do the partial sales tax ex-
emption (3.5% sales tax rate) and
320,000 sales tax cap apply to
new boats or other vessels sold as
packages with trailers, motors and
accessories?

A. Trailers are separate and distinct
from the boat or other vessel and
are not eligible for the partial sales
tax exemption (3.5% sales tax rate)
or the $20,000 sales tax cap; there-
fore, the price for the trailer must be
separately stated on the invoice for
the boat or other vessel or the entire
sales price will be subject to the full
sales tax rate of 7%.

If the accessories and motors are
included in the sales price of the
boat or other vessel and are affixed
thereto at the time of purchase, the
partial sales tax exemption (3.5%
sales tax rate) and the $20,000 sales

tax cap apply.

Q10. What is the tax treatment of
sales of boats and other vessels that
occurred prior to the Feb. 1, 2016,
effective date of the new law?

A. The statutory definition of “sale”
is any transfer of title or possession
for consideration. If the boat or other
vessel is sold and physical delivery
or transfer of title took place before
Feb. 1, 2016, the sales tax rate is
7%. If the boat or other vessel is sold
but physical delivery or transfer of
title takes place on or after Feb. 1,
2016, the sales tax rate is 3.5%. This

applies whether or not payment has
been made in whole or in part prior
to delivery.

Q11. What is the tax treatment if
the sale of the boat or other vessel
occurs in Salem County or an urban
enterprise zone?

A. Qualified sales of boats and other
vessels in Salem County or in an
urban enterprise zone are already en-
titled to a partial sales tax exemption
(3.5% sales tax rate). The new law
does not allow a further reduction of
this already reduced rate. However,
sales of boats and other vessels in
Salem County or in an urban enter-
prise zone are entitled to the $20,000
sales tax cap.

Q12. Can a purchaser obtain a
refund of sales tax if the purchaser
was incorrectly charged more than
the 3.5% sales tax rate or an amount
that exceeded the $20,000 sales tax
cap on an eligible purchase of a boat
or other vessel?

A. Yes. If a purchaser was charged
more than the 3.5% sales tax rate
or an amount that exceeded the
$20,000 sales tax cap on an eligible
purchase of a boat or other vessel,
the purchaser may apply for a refund
of tax paid to either the seller or the
State of New Jersey. The Division of
Taxation will refund the tax so long
as the tax was “erroneously, illegally
or unconstitutionally collected or
paid.” To request a refund from the
Division, the purchaser must file a
Claim for Refund (Form A-3730)
within four years from the date of
payment of the sales tax. The pur-
chaser must enclose all supporting
documentation of the sales tax paid
in order to substantiate the claim. 4


http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/a3730.pdf
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In Our Courts

Gross Income Tax

S Corporation Distributions —
Morris & Charlotte Cohen v. Direc-
tor, Division of Taxation, decided
June 9, 2015; Appellate Division,
Docket No. A-5827-12T4.

Morris Cohen (Plaintiff) is a New
Jersey resident who was a 25%
shareholder in Conway Stores (Con-
way), a New York S corporation.
During tax year 2003, Plaintiff
received a distribution of $554,292
from Conway but did not report this
distribution on his NJ-1040. Plaintiff
believed that because he had been
unable to use S corporation losses
to reduce his taxable income in prior
years, the losses could not be used to
reduce his New Jersey accumulated
adjustments account (NJ AAA) be-
low zero, and the distribution was
not taxable. The Division issued
a notice of deficiency to Plaintiff
that reclassified the distribution as
a taxable dividend under N.J.S.A.
54A:5-14.

Plaintiff argued that based on the
principles in Koch v. Director, Divi-
sion of Taxation, 157 N.J. 1 (1999),
losses that are passed through to a
shareholder but that cannot be used
to offset income cannot reduce NJ
AAA because they provide no tax
benefit. The Tax Court declined to
address the argument because the
taxpayer did not comply with the
rules for properly calculating the NJ
AAA. The Court denied Plaintift’s
motion for summary judgment and
upheld the Division’s position that
the distribution is to be taxed as a
dividend.

Plaintiff appealed the Tax Court’s
decision. The Appellate Court found
that the statute expressly requires the
application of federal principles to

calculate AAA and found no basis
in the statute or case law to support
Plaintiff’s argument that NJ AAA
should not be reduced by S corpora-
tion losses. Plaintiff filed a motion
for reconsideration, which the Ap-
pellate Court denied.

New Jersey Residents Not Entitled
to Credit for Taxes Paid to Other
Jurisdiction — Ravinder Palwai
v. Director, Division of Taxation,
decided Nov. 18, 2015; Tax Court,
Docket No. 017418-2010.

Ravinder Palwai and his wife (Plain-
tiffs) closed on the purchase of their
home in New Jersey in 2005 and
moved into the State in 2006. They
filed a joint 2006 NJ-1040 and did
not claim a credit for taxes paid to
another jurisdiction. Plaintiffs also
filed 22006 Form I'T-203 (New York
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident
Income Tax Return) reporting a
zero tax liability after deducting al-
lowable New York state refundable
credits.

After reviewing Plaintiffs’ return,
the Division of Taxation adjusted
their New Jersey gross income as
follows: (1) increased wage income
for New York wages that were not
reported to New Jersey; (2) added
back a deduction for an IRC Section
125 cafeteria plan; and (3) denied the
credit for taxes paid to New York
because Plaintiffs reported $0 tax
was due to New York after deduct-
ing the credit for taxes paid to other
jurisdictions.

Plaintiffs filed a timely administra-
tive protest but failed to participate
in the process, so the Division’s
determination was upheld. Plaintiffs
filed a timely complaint with the
Tax Court. After numerous adjourn-
ments, the Division filed a summary
judgment motion to dismiss the

complaint. The Tax Court

granted the motion finding

that: (1) Plaintiffs were New
Jersey residents and were subject
to tax on all earnings regardless
of where earned, so the New York
wages were reportable to New Jer-
sey; (2) Plaintiffs failed to provide
any documentation to prove that the
contributions to the IRC Section
125 cafeteria plan qualified to be
excluded from gross income; and
(3) aresident is allowed a credit for
taxes paid to another jurisdiction
only if the income is actually taxed
in New Jersey and the other jurisdic-
tion. Their New York return showed
$0 tax due; therefore, Plaintiffs are
not entitled to a credit for taxes paid
because the income earned in New
York was not actually taxed. U

In Our Legislature

Gross Income Tax

Achieving a Better Life Experience
(ABLE) Program for Persons With
Certain Disabilities — P.L. 2015,
c.185, signed into law on Jan. 11,
2016, and effective on the first day of
the tenth month after enactment, al-
lows persons with certain disabilities
to establish ABLE accounts, which
may be used for certain qualifying
disability expenses. Earnings on
qualified distributions from qualified
ABLE accounts will be exempt from
State income taxation. In addition,
ABLE accounts will not be consid-
ered when determining income eligi-
bility for State assistance programs.

Checkoff for New Jersey Yellow
Ribbon Fund — P.L. 2015, c.278,
signed into law on Jan. 11, 2016, ef-
fective immediately, and applicable
to tax years beginning on or after
Jan. 1, 2017, allows taxpayers to

continued on page 12
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donate to the New Jersey Yellow
Ribbon Fund by specifying that a
certain amount of their income tax
overpayments should go to that fund
or by enclosing a contribution with
their Gross Income Tax returns.

Local Property Tax

Tax Deferment for Deployed Mili-
tary Personnel — P.L. 2015, c.277,
signed into law on Jan. 19, 2016,
and effective immediately, allows
New Jersey residents enlisted in any
branch of the United States Armed
Forces to defer the amount of any
property tax bill for taxes assessed
on property they own alone or with
a spouse that becomes due during
the period of their deployment for
active duty in time of war. The defer-
ment begins on the due date for the
property tax payment and ends 90
days after the end of the resident’s
deployment. No interest will be
charged if the property taxes owed
are paid in full before the expiration
of this 90-day grace period. Any
portion of the property taxes not
paid before the grace period expires
will be subject to interest from the
original due date until paid in full.
The Act requires the State to annu-
ally pay each municipality the total
amount of property taxes deferred.
Tax collectors must reimburse the
State when they receive payment of
the deferred taxes.

Multiple Taxes

Business Employment Incentive
Program —P.L.2015, c.194, signed
into law on Jan. 11, 2016, and ef-
fective immediately, allows certain
businesses that have previously been
approved for a grant under the Busi-
ness Employment Incentive Program
to direct the New Jersey Economic
Development Authority to convert
the grant to a tax credit. The Act

establishes a priority schedule for
the issuance of tax credits that favors
older, outstanding grant obligations
over grants that will become payable
in future years. The tax credits issued
can be applied to reduce a business’s
tax liability under the Corporation
Business Tax or Insurance Premiums
Tax prior to all other credits and
payments. Ifthe tax credit issued ex-
ceeds the amount of the tax liability
otherwise due from a business that
pays tax under the Corporation Busi-
ness Tax, the amount of the excess
may be treated as an overpayment
of tax and refunded to the business.

Economic Incentive Programs
— P.L. 2015, ¢.217, signed into
law on Jan. 11, 2016, and effective
immediately, modifies and clarifies
provisions of the GROW NIJ As-
sistance Program, the Economic
Redevelopment and Growth Grant
Program (ERG) and a tax credit pro-
gram for redevelopers that provide
public infrastructure to government
entities. U

Tax Calendar

The following three calendars pro-
vide listings of filing and payment
dates for tax year 2015 (Jan. 1,
2015 — Dec. 31, 2015) and tax year
2016 (Jan. 1,2016 — Dec. 31, 2016)
for businesses and individuals:

e Chronological List of Filing
Deadlines — This calendar is for
use by both businesses and indi-
viduals. If you are responsible for
areturn that is not in this calendar,
please refer to the instructions
that accompanied the return, or
contact the Customer Service
Center at 609-292-6400 for the
appropriate filing deadline.

2015 2016

¢ Alphabetical Summary of Due
Dates by Tax Type

2015 2016

e Payment Dates for Weekly
Payers — An employer or other
withholder of New Jersey Gross
Income Tax is a “weekly payer”
if the amount of tax it withheld
during the previous tax year was
$10,000 or more.

2016 O

2015

( N\

important
phone
numbers

Customer Service Ctr....609-292-6400
Automated Tax Info ...1-800-323-4400
609-826-4400
Homestead Benefit Hotline

for Homeowners.....1-888-238-1233
Property Tax Reimbursement

Hotline.......ccoceeeueeeee 1-800-882-6597
Earned Income Tax Credit

Information............... 609-292-6400
Business Paperless Telefiling

SYStem e.c.cocceverevecnsanes 609-341-4800
Alcoholic Bev. Tax ......... 609-633-7068
Corp. Liens, Mergers, Withdrawals

& Dissolutions........... 609-292-5323
Director’s Office ............ 609-292-6400
Inheritance Tax.............. 609-292-5033

Local Property Tax........ 609-292-7974
Motor Fuels Tax

Refunds ..................... 609-633-8870
Public Utility Tax........... 609-633-2634
(& J
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2015 TAX LAWS

CH.

DATE

SYNOPSIS

TAX*

BILL

19

2/5/15

Creates the New Jersey Meadowlands Tax Relief Act, which
imposes a Meadowlands Regional Hotel Use Assessment of 3%
of the rent charged for the occupancy of every room in hotels
located in the Meadowlands District.

Also consolidates the New Jersey Meadowlands Commission
and the New Jersey Sports and Exposition Authority, reestab-
lishes the Hackensack Meadowlands Transportation Planning
District and revises the funding method for the intermunicipal
tax sharing program in the New Jersey Meadowlands.

MHUA

A-3969(3R)

26

3/23/15

Establishes the Fund for the Support of New Jersey Nonprofit
Veterans Organizations and provides for voluntary contribu-
tions by taxpayers on Gross Income Tax returns.

GIT

A-2313(IR)

69

7/6/15

Amends the New Jersey Economic Stimulus Act of 2009 (P.L.
2009, ¢.90) to allow municipal redevelopers to receive Eco-
nomic Redevelopment and Growth Grant Program tax credits
for certain mixed-use parking projects.

MULT

S-2458 (3R)

73

7/6/15

Increases the benefit under the New Jersey Earned Income Tax
Credit Program from 20 percent of the federal credit amount to
30 percent beginning in tax year 2015.

GIT

A-4602(1R)

88

8/10/15

Requires State agencies to periodically review permits they
issue and make necessary changes to expedite and facilitate
permitting.

MISC

S-1813(2R)

113

10/1/15

Allows retail dealers, during a state of energy emergency, to
sell higher grade motor fuel at the same price as the lowest
grade motor fuel if their supply of the lowest grade motor fuel
is exhausted.

MFT

A-1733

170

12/9/15

Provides a 50 percent Sales and Use Tax exemption on sales of
boats and other vessels; caps the amount of tax on a particular
sale or use at $20,000; and establishes grace period for use

tax imposition on certain boats and vessels used by resident
purchasers.

S&U

A-3213(2R)

185

1/11/16

Allows persons with certain disabilities to establish Achieving
a Better Life Experience (ABLE) accounts, which may be used
for certain qualifying disability expenses. Earnings on quali-
fied distributions from qualified ABLE accounts will be exempt
from State income taxation. In addition, ABLE accounts will
not be considered when determining income eligibility for State
assistance programs.

GIT

S-2770

Spring 2016




2015 TAX LAWS

CH. DATE SYNOPSIS TAX* BILL

Allows certain businesses that are eligible to receive a grant
under Business Employment Incentive Program to instead
194 1/11/16 | receive a tax credit. The tax credit can be applied towards the MULT | S-3232(1R)
business’s Corporation Business Tax or Insurance Premiums
Tax liability.

Modifies and clarifies provisions of the GROW NIJ Assistance
1/11/16 Program, the Economic Redevelopment and Growth Grant

Program (ERG) and a tax credit program for redevelopers that
provide public infrastructure to government entities.

217 MULT | A-4518 (IR)

Allows New Jersey residents on active duty in any branch of
277 1/19/16 | the United States Armed Forces to qualify for deferment of any | | pp A-2935
property tax amount that comes due during their deployment in
time of war.

Establishes the New Jersey Yellow Ribbon Fund and provides
for voluntary contributions by taxpayers on Gross Income Tax
278 1/19/16 | returns to support active duty members of United States Armed | GIT A-2943(1R)
Forces, Reserve components thereof and National Guard from
New Jersey.

*Legend for 2015 Tax Laws

ABT = Alcoholic Beverage Tax LPT = Local Property Tax

ADS = Admissions Surchage MFT = Motor Fuel Tax

ALL = All Taxes Administered by the Division MISC = Miscellaneous

CAS = Casino Taxes and Fees MHUA = Meadowlands Regional Hotel Use Assessment
CBT = Corporation Business Tax MULT = Multiple Taxes

CIG = Cigarette Tax PPT = Petroleum Products Gross Receipts Tax
CMC = Cape May County Tourism Sales Tax PTRP = Property Tax Relief Programs

CMPT = Cosmetic Medical Procedures Gross Receipts Tax PUT =  Public Utility Taxes

DSF = Domestic Security Fee RTF = Realty Transfer Fee

ENV = Environmental Taxes S&U = Sales and Use Tax

ERF = 9-1-1 System & Emergency Response Fee SCC = Spill Compensation & Control Tax

FBT = Financial Business Tax TEFA = Transitional Energy & Facility Assessment
GIT = Gross Income Tax TIR = Motor Vehicle Tire Fee

HMO = Hotel Motel Occupancies TIT/ET = Transfer Inheritance & Estate Tax

IPT = Insurance Premium Tax TPT = Tobacco Products Tax

LIT = Litter Control Fee
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