New Jersey Division of Taxation

Estimating Income Taxes

Introduction

Individuals (residents and nonresidents) and certain
estates and trusts who have income that is not sub-
Ject to sufficient withholding of New Jersey tax and
who estimate their tax liability to be more than $400
(after deductions, exemptions, credits, and with-
holdings) are required to make New Jersey estimated
tax payments. This bulletin describes:

o Estimated tax requirements;

e How to estimate income to determine if estimated
payments are necessary;

o Methods for making estimated payments;

o [Interest imposed for failing to make required pay-
ments,; and

o Completion of Form NJ-2210, Underpayment of
Estimated Tax by Individuals, Estates or Trusts.

Important

o The forms and worksheets in this publication are
for tax year 2014 and are provided for illustration
only. The amounts shown in the examples may not
reflect current tax and interest rates.

o Any reference in this publication to a spouse also
refers to a spouse that entered into a valid same-
sex marriage in another state or foreign nation
and a partner in a civil union (CU) recognized un-
der New Jersey law.

This document is designed to provide guidance
to taxpayers and is accurate as of the date issued.
Subsequent changes in tax law or its interpreta-
tion may affect the accuracy of this publication.
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General Information

New Jersey’s income tax is a “pay as you go” tax.
You must pay the tax as you earn or receive income
throughout the year. There are two ways to pay your
income tax:

o Withholding. If you are an employee, your em-
ployer withholds income tax from your pay and
sends the tax to the Division of Taxation on your
behalf. Tax may also be withheld from other
income, including bonuses and gambling win-
nings. You may request that tax be withheld from
pensions.

o Estimated Tax Payments. Estimated tax means
the amount of income tax you estimate you
will owe for the year, after you subtract with-
holdings and other credits. If you do not pay your
tax through withholding, or if you do not have
enough tax withheld, you must make estimated
tax payments yourself to meet the requirement
that the income tax due be paid periodically
throughout the year. You are required to make es-
timated tax payments when your estimated tax is
more than $400.

When you file your income tax return, you report
any withholdings, estimated tax payments, and/or
other credits and deduct them from your total New
Jersey income tax due. You must pay additional tax
you owe, if any, at that time.

You may have to make estimated tax payments if
you have income that is not subject to withholding.
This may include income from self-employment, re-
tirement income (pension, annuity, IRA withdrawal),
interest, dividends, capital gains, rental income,
prizes, and awards. You may also have to pay esti-
mated tax if not enough income tax is being withheld
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from your wages or other income. In addition, you
may have to make estimated tax payments if you (or
you and your spouse/civil union partner) have two
or more sources of income which, when combined,
place you in a higher tax bracket than the bracket(s)
at which tax was withheld on the income.

To avoid having to make estimated tax payments,
you may ask your employer to withhold an addi-
tional amount from your wages by completing
Form NJ-W4.

If you have pension or annuity income, you may also
request that the payer withhold New Jersey income
tax from those payments. For more information see
our publication GIT-1, Pensions and Annuities.

Nonresident individuals, estates, or trusts that sell

or transfer real property in New Jersey must make

an estimated income tax payment on the gain from
the transfer or sale. The estimated payment can be
prepaid at any of the Division’s regional offices or
provided to the settlement agent at closing along
with the appropriate GIT/REP form. The settlement
agent then files the payment and/or documentation
with the county recording officer at the time the deed
is filed. For more information or to obtain GIT/REP

forms, see Realty Transfer Information and Require-

ments for Sale/Transfer of Real Property in New Jersey.

Please consider the following when determining
whether or not estimated tax payments are required.

Filing Threshold Amount. You are not required
to file a New Jersey income tax return or pay tax

if your gross income for the entire year from all
sources is equal to or less than the filing threshold
amount for your filing status. If you file as single
or married/CU partner filing separately or are filing
on behalf of an estate or trust, the filing threshold
amount is $10,000. If your filing status is married/
CU couple filing joint return, head of household, or
qualifying widow(er)/surviving CU partner, the fil-
ing threshold is $20,000.

Retirement Income Exclusion. The maximum
amount you may exclude depends on your filing
status. If you are married or in a civil union and file
a joint return, you may exclude up to $20,000. If
you file as single, head of household, or qualifying
widow or widower/surviving civil union partner, you
may exclude up to $15,000. If you and your spouse/
civil union partner file a separate return, you may
exclude up to $10,000.

Note: Only taxpayers whose total income for the
entire year from Line 26, Form NJ-1040
(Line 26, Column A, Form NJ-1040NR) is
$100,000 or less are eligible for the retire-
ment income exclusion.

Estimated Tax Requirements

Any individuals (residents or nonresidents) who
can reasonably expect their New Jersey income
tax liability to be more than $400, after subtracting
withholdings and credits, must make estimated tax
payments to New Jersey. This includes estates and
trusts other than those meeting the two-year limita-
tion and other criteria under Internal Revenue Code
Section 6654(/)(2). You must file a Declaration of
Estimated Tax Voucher (Form NJ-1040-ES) with
your payment unless you are making a payment by
credit card or electronic check (e-check).

You may be required to make estimated tax pay-
ments to New Jersey even if you are not required to
file Federal estimates. Likewise, part-year residents
and nonresidents must make New Jersey estimated
tax payments if they meet the requirements.

Due Dates. For estimated tax purposes, the year is
divided into four payment periods, each with a spe-
cific payment due date. For calendar year taxpayers,
the periods are January 1 — April 1, April 2 — June 1,
June 2 — September 1, and September 2 — Decem-
ber 31. If you do not pay enough tax on the income
you receive for a given period by the payment due
date, you may be charged interest. See Interest on

Underpayment on page 7.
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You may pay your New Jersey estimated tax in
full on or before April 15 of the current tax year,
or in equal installments due on or before April 15,
June 15, and September 15 of the current tax year,
and January 15 of the following year. When a due
date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday,
that payment is due on the following business day.

Fiscal year taxpayers must estimate their tax for the
period covered by their fiscal year, and change the
payment due dates to correspond with the 15th day
of the fourth, sixth, and ninth month of their fiscal
year, and the first month after the end of their fiscal
year.

If you were required to make quarterly estimated
payments and you neglected to make estimated pay-
ments until the second, third, or fourth quarter, all
past installments are due with your first filing and
the remaining installments are payable as if all dec-
larations had been filed on time.

Income Changes. After filing one or two decla-
rations during the year, you may experience an
unanticipated increase or decrease in income,
credits, exemptions, or deductions. Under these
circumstances, your estimated payments should be
amended to reflect any increase or decrease in the
quarterly amount due. When filing the next quarterly
estimate, simply indicate any necessary changes.
The instructions for Form NJ-1040-ES contain an
amended worksheet that will assist you in calculat-
ing the amended figures to be reported.

If you were not originally required to make esti-
mated payments and you unexpectedly receive a
sum of money during the year that, when added to
your income, necessitates estimated filing, an esti-

mated payment should be made by the next due date.

You may pay the estimated tax in full on the next
due date, or in equal installments on the remaining
payment due dates. See Due Dates on page 2.

Farmers. If your estimated New Jersey income
from farming (including oyster farming) for the
taxable year is at least two-thirds of your total es-
timated income for the taxable year, you may file a
declaration of estimated tax at any time on or before
January 15 of the following year (or the 15th day of
the first month of the following tax year for fiscal
year filers) without penalty. However, farmers filing
estimated declarations by January 15 must pay esti-
mated tax in full at the same time.

January Payment. If you are a calendar year filer
and file your New Jersey income tax return (Form
NJ-1040, Form NJ-1040NR, or Form NJ-1041) by
February 15 following the end of the tax year, and
you pay any remaining balance due in full with your
return, it is not necessary to file the fourth quarter es-
timate, due on January 15. This also applies to origi-
nal estimated payments due because unanticipated
income was received after September 1.

Estimating Income

To determine your estimated income for the year,
use the Estimated Tax Worksheet in the instructions
for Form NJ-1040-ES. An example of a completed
Estimated Tax Worksheet follows.

In the example, the taxpayer completes the work-
sheet before April 15 and makes four estimated pay-
ments, beginning with the first on or before April 15.
When paying by check or money order, the taxpayer
indicates on each estimated tax voucher the payment
amount of $105 remitted with each voucher. If the
taxpayer completes the worksheet in August, he/she
completes two vouchers (Voucher 3 and 4), indicates
$210 on each voucher and remits a check or money
order for $210 with each voucher. Do not send in the
vouchers when paying by e-check or credit card. See
Making Estimated Payments on page 5.
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*ESTIMATED TAX WORKSHEET FOR INDIVIDUALS (Keep for your records) — DO NOT FILE

(Estates and trusts should use a Fiduciary Return, Form NJ-1041, to calculate estimated tax)

TOTAL INCOME EXPECTED IN TAXABLE YEAR (before exclusions).............ccccooeveiiiinnnne 1.

30,000

TOTAL PENSION AND OTHER RETIREMENT INCOME EXCLUSION

0

NEW JERSEY GROSS INCOME (Subtract Line 2 from Line 1) ........cocoiiiiiiiiiiiiii e 3.

30,000

N -

X $1,000. .o, 4a. 2,000

b. Number of Exemptions X $1,500....cccceeeeeeeeeeies 4b.
To determine number of exemptions on Line 4a and 4b
see instructions.

a. Number of Exemptions 2

5. Medical Expenses in excess of 2% (.02) of gross income (Line 3),
qualified Archer MSA contributions, and health insurance costs
of the self-employed...........ocoiiiiiiii e 5.

. Alimony and separate maintenance payments

6
7. Qualified Conservation Contribution..........c.cccoeeeeeiiieiiiiiicieccccceieees 7.
8

. Health Enterprise Zone Deduction

9. Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment............ccccccceviiiiiiiienennenn. 9.

Total exemptions and deductions (Add Lines 4a through 9)

2,000

. Taxable Income (Subtract Line 10 from LiN€ 3).....cuieeiiiiiiiiiiee et

28,000

. Property Tax Deduction (See instructions NJ-1040)

0

NEW JERSEY TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 12 from Line 11) ..o

28,000

. TAX —S€E TaX RAtE TADIES.....euvieieiiiiieieieeeeeeeee ettt e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e eeeeeeeensssnraenes

420

Credit for income taxes paid to other jurisdictions (See instructions NJ-1040)............cccccvvenen.

0

BALANCE OF TAX (Subtract Line 15 from Line 14)

New Jersey income tax withheld or to be withheld
Other CreditS........ocvviiiieiiiie e
Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 17 and 18).....
. ESTIMATED TAX (Subtract Line 19 from Line 16)

420

420

If the amount on Line 20 is more than $400, estimated tax payments are required.

. Computation of installments:
If first declaration is due to be filed on:

April 15, enter '/4 of Line 20 here
June 15 .o, enter 1/3 of Line 20 here
September 15............... enter 1/2 of Line 20 here, or
January 15.....cccccernne. enter full amount of Line 20 here
and in the space provided on your voucher .............cccccooiiiiieenniis

105

If you are applying an overpayment from the previous year, see instructions.

*The forms and worksheets in this publication may not reflect current tax rates. The figures shown are for
illustration only.
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You can also use a blank income tax return (Form
NJ-1040, Form NJ-1040NR, or Form NJ-1041) to
estimate income and tax. Using a blank tax return to
calculate estimated tax is recommended since this
form has all the income, credit, and deduction lines
that will automatically remind you to take all in-
come, credits, deductions, and payments into consid-
eration when calculating estimated tax payments. If
you cannot readily project your income for the cur-
rent year, you should use the previous year’s income
as a basis for determining the present year’s income.
If you expect an increase (or decrease) in any cat-
egory of income, increase (or decrease) your income
figure(s) accordingly.

Making Estimated Payments

Once you have estimated your income and deter-
mined that you are required to make estimated pay-
ments, there are a variety of ways you can make
your payments. You may pay your estimated tax in
full by the first due date or in four equal installments.

Estimated Tax Vouchers. If you have made esti-
mated tax payments in the past, you may receive a
packet which includes four preprinted estimated tax
vouchers and envelopes. If you are making estimated
payments for the first time, or you did not receive pre-
printed vouchers, you may obtain Form NJ-1040-ES
vouchers and instructions online. Forms are also
available by calling NJ TaxFax at 609-826-4500
from your fax machine’s phone. (Note: Effec-

tive June 1, 2015, the NJ TaxFax service will be
discontinued.)

Check or Money Order. Enter your social security
number(s) or Federal employer identification num-
ber (estates and trusts), indicate the amount of the
installment payment, and mail each voucher along
with your payment for the amount due. If you are
not using preprinted vouchers, you must enter your
name(s) and address in the spaces provided. If your

filing status is married/CU couple, filing a joint re-
turn, list each spouse’s/civil union partner’s social
security number in the order these numbers appear
on your income tax return. Make your check or
money order payable to State of New Jersey — TGL.

Note: Do not use the preprinted payment vouchers
if you filed a joint return last year and this
year you are filing your return using only
your own social security number or you are
filing a joint return with a different person.

Write your social security number(s) or Federal em-
ployer identification number (estates and trusts), the
form number (NJ-1040-ES), and the tax period the
payment applies to on your check or money order.
Mail your voucher and payment to:

STATE OoF NEW JERSEY
DivisioN oF TAXATION
REVENUE PROCESSING CENTER
PO Box 222

TrenTON NJ 08646-0222

Electronic Check (e-check). You can make esti-
mated payments by e-check. Taxpayers who do not
have Internet access can make a payment by e-check
by contacting the Division’s Customer Service Center
(609-292-6400) or by visiting a regional office. Do
not send in the estimated tax voucher(s) if you pay by
e-check.

When using e-check on the web, you will need your
social security number and date of birth to make a
payment. Estates and trusts will use their Federal
employer identification number and the date of the
decedent’s death or the date the trust was formed.
You can also schedule e-check payments of esti-
mated tax in advance.

Note: E-check payments made using an account
that is funded from a financial institu-
tion outside the United States will not be
accepted.
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Credit Card. You may make payments of esti-
mated tax by credit card enline or by phone
(1-888-673-7694) using a Visa, American Express,
MasterCard, or Discover card. You can also make
credit card payments by contacting the Division’s
Customer Service Center (609-292-6400) or by visit-
ing a regional office. Do not send in the estimated tax
voucher(s) if you pay by credit card.

Overpayments Carried Forward. If you overpaid
your New Jersey income tax last year and you
elected to credit all or part of that overpayment

to the following year’s estimated taxes, include

that credit when calculating this year’s estimated
payment(s). The credit will automatically be applied
to your first quarterly installment, but if you prefer,
you may apply the credit partially or fully to any
installment. Some taxpayers divide the credit evenly
so that their installment payments are also equal.
When applying your credit, subtract the amount

of the credit you are applying from the installment
amount due for the period, then remit the balance.
If you are completing a voucher, indicate only the
amount you are actually remitting.

Records. Complete the Record of Estimated Tax
Payments schedule in the instructions for Form
NJ-1040-ES each time you make an estimated pay-
ment. This schedule will provide you with a record
of your estimated payments when you file your tax
return for this year. You can also verify the amounts
of your estimated payments online.

Credit for Estimated Tax on Return. When you
file your resident, nonresident, or fiduciary tax
return, take credit on your return for all the estimated
tax payments you made for the taxable year. Be sure
to include:

o Estimated tax payments made for the cur-
rent tax year, including any payments made by

nonresident individuals, estates, and trusts in con-
nection with the sale or transfer of real property in
New Jersey

o Overpayment from last year’s return that was
credited to this year’s estimated tax

o Payments made by an S corporation on behalf of a
nonresident/nonconsenting shareholder (nonresi-
dent individuals, estates, and trusts only).

Spouses/civil union partners may make joint esti-
mated tax payments unless they are separated under
a decree of divorce/dissolution or separate mainte-
nance or they have different taxable years. If joint
payments are made, but the spouses/civil union part-
ners choose to file separate income tax returns, the
estimated tax paid may be treated as the estimated
tax of either spouse/civil union partner, or it may be
divided between them, as they agree. If the spouses/
civil union partners make separate estimated tax
payments and file separate tax returns, each spouse/
civil union partner may take credit only for his or her
own payments.

If you changed your name because of marriage/

civil union, divorce/dissolution, etc., and you made
estimated tax payments using your former name, en-
close a statement with your return explaining all the
payments you and/or your spouse/civil union partner
made for the taxable year and the name(s) and social
security number(s) under which you made payments.

If your spouse/civil union partner died during the
year and any estimated payment(s) were made under
the deceased spouse’s/civil union partner’s social
security number and other payments were made
under your social security number, you must enclose
a statement with your return listing the social secu-
rity numbers and the amounts submitted under each
social security number.
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Interest on Underpayment

If you fail to remit (by withholdings or estimated
payments) at least 80% of your tax liability during
the year (66%:% for farmers) and your total tax is
more than $400 in excess of any credits allowable
against the tax, interest charges will be assessed on
the underpayment even if you pay all the taxes due
by the April 15 deadline for filing your tax return un-
less you meet one of the exceptions determined on
Form NJ-2210. The amount of your underpayment
is the difference between what you actually paid and
the lesser of 80% of this year’s total tax (66%:% for
farmers) or 100% of last year’s total tax. However,
no interest will be assessed if you meet one of the
exceptions discussed below, or you had no tax lia-
bility on the previous year’s tax return (which cov-
ered a full year).

Example

A taxpayer has a total tax liability on Line 44 of
Form NJ-1040 of $1,000. The taxpayer had $500 in
New Jersey withholdings, made timely estimated
payments of $200, and paid the remaining $300 of
tax due with Form NJ-1040 on April 15. An un-
derpayment of estimated tax exists even though

the taxpayer paid all taxes due by the return filing
deadline. This is because the taxpayer remitted only
$700 in the form of withholdings, timely estimated
payments, or other credits — less than the required
80% ($800) of the total tax liability. Interest will be
assessed unless the taxpayer meets one of the excep-
tions on Form NJ-2210.

If required estimated payments are made late, in-
terest charges will be assessed on the underpayment
from the due date of the payment(s) to the actual
payment date(s).

Interest is assessed at the rate of 3% above prime
rate from the date the underpayment was incurred
(due date of the estimated payment) to the date the
underpayment was paid, but only up to April 15.

Calculating Interest on
Underpayment

If you think you owe interest on an underpayment of
estimated tax, there are two ways to determine the
amount due:

o If you do not want to calculate the interest and re-
port it when you file your tax return, the Division
of Taxation will calculate the amount due and bill
you, or

e You can calculate the interest by completing Form
NJ-2210 and enclosing it with your return.

Form NJ-2210

Complete Form NJ-2210 to determine underpay-
ments of estimated tax, and to calculate the interest
due on the underpayments. If you are completing
and enclosing Form NJ-2210, mark the indica-

tor at Line 46 on Form NJ-1040 or Line 43, Form
NJ-1040NR. Enter the amount due on Line 46, Form
NIJ-1040 or Line 43, Form NJ-1040NR.

The following example illustrates how to complete
Form NJ-2210, Part I, to determine the amount of
underpayment for each quarter.
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Example
Peter has a tax liability of $800 on Line 44 of his Form NJ-1040. He has $360 in New Jersey income tax
withholdings. He made one estimated payment of $150 on January 15. Peter completes Form NJ-2210,

Part I, as follows:

PART I FIGURING YOUR UNDERPAYMENT
1. Tax (Line 44, FOIM NUJ-T040).......ei ittt ettt ettt et esbeeebeesaad e beeamneeabeeanbeeeneesneeesbneanne 1. 800
2. Enter the total of Lines 48, 49, 51, 52, 53, and 54, FOrM NJ-1040 ......ccooo.vmrvuerrmrierienreeseneessreeseneeoone 2. 360
3. Subtract Line 2 from Line 1 (If less than $400, do not complete the rest of this form)..............ccco........ 3. 440
4a. Multiply the amount on Line 1 by .80 (80%) (Two-thirds for qualified farmers) .........c.ccoovrieiniiiiinnnen. 4a. 640
4b. Enter last year’s tax (From last year’'s Form NJ-1040, LiN€ 44)........ccccooiiiriiiiiieiieeiie e 4b. 600
PAYMENT DUE DATES
(A) (B) (©) (D)
April 15 June 15 Sept 15 Jan 15
5. Use the lesser amount on either Line 4a or 4b and divide by
four. Enter the result in each column................ccooiiiinn e 5. 150 150 150 150
6. Estimated tax paid and tax withheld per period (see instructions).
If each column on Line 6 is greater than the corresponding
column on Line 5, do not complete the rest of this form.............. 90 90 240
7. Enter the overpayment (Line 13) from the previous column.
(Complete Lines 7 through 13 for one column before completing
the NeXt COIUMN.) ...t 0 0 0
8. AddLine B and Line 7 .......cccooiieriiiieieeic e 90 90 240
9. Enter the total underpayment (Line 11 plus Line 12) from the
PreVIOUS COIUMN ......eeiieeiiiieeiiiieeeieeeeeaceeasneeeeesneeeeeneeeeeseeesnneeeens 60 120 180
10. Enter Line 8 minus Line 9. If zero or less, enter zero.................. 30 0 60
11.  Remaining underpayment from previous period. If Line 10 is
zero enter Line 9 minus Line 8 otherwise enter zero .................. 0 30 0
12. UNDERPAYMENT (If Line 5 is greater than Line 10, enter
Line 5 MinUS LiN€ 10) ...c.ccieuiiiieireeceeee e 12. 60 120 150 90
13. OVERPAYMENT (If Line 10 is greater than Line 5, enter
Line 10 MiINUS LiN€ 5) ...ccuviiiiiiiiiiiiecee e 13.

When there is an underpayment in any column on Line 12, complete Form NJ-2210, Part II, to determine if
any of the four exceptions eliminate interest charges on the underpayment for the quarter. Since Peter has an
underpayment of estimated tax for all four quarters, he will complete Part II.

The following examples illustrate how to complete Form NJ-2210, Part II and the worksheets for Exceptions
2,3, and 4.
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Exceptions

The law allows certain exceptions which eliminate
the imposition of interest charges on underpayments
of estimated tax. Complete Form NJ-2210 (and
worksheets) to determine if you meet any of the
exceptions. Meeting any of the four exceptions for
any quarter eliminates interest charges on the under-
payment for that quarter. One, two, three, or all four
exceptions may be attempted if necessary. You may
meet different exceptions for each quarter. Once you
have met an exception for each of the four quarters,
it is not necessary to complete the worksheets for
any other exceptions. In general, you should attempt
the exceptions in the following order: Exception 1,
Exception 4, Exception 3, Exception 2. For this bul-
letin, the exceptions will be explained in numerical
order.

Exception 1
To qualify for Exception 1:

e You must have filed a tax return and had a tax li-
ability with New Jersey for the prior year; and

e Your prior year return must have covered the full
taxable year (12 months).

If you meet these qualifications and during the tax-
able year you paid (in the form of timely estimated
payments in four equal installments and/or with-
holdings) 100% of your prior year’s tax liability, you
will meet Exception 1 for one or more quarters. If
you meet Exception 1 for all four quarters, it is not
necessary to file Form NJ-2210. The Division will
automatically verify these amounts.

Example

Peter had a prior year tax liability of $600. As stated earlier, Peter’s tax on Line 44, Form NJ-1040 was $800,
his New Jersey withholdings were $360, and he made one estimated payment of $150 on January 15. This is
how Peter completes Form NJ-2210, Part 11, for Exception 1.

PART II EXCEPTIONS

(See instructions, complete worksheets for exceptions 2, 3, and 4 and enclose computations for each exception claimed.)
If you meet exception 1 at Line 15, do not file this form.
These amounts will be automatically verified by the Division of Taxation.

14. Total amount paid and withheld from January 1 through APRIL 15 JUNE 15 SEPT 15 JAN 15
payment due date shown. (Do not include withholdings after
December 31.) (See inStruCtions)............coceeveeinieniieeniecee e 14. 90 180 270 510
25% of Tax 50% of Tax 75% of Tax 100% of Tax
15. Exception 1 — Enter prior year’s tax ................ $600 15. 150 300 450 600

You meet an exception and eliminate the interest charge on the underpayment of estimated tax for a quarter
when the amount on Line 14 (the amount paid to date) is equal to, or more than, the amount on the exception
line (Line 15, 16, 17, or 18) in the same column. Peter did not meet Exception 1 for any quarter.
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Exception 2
In Exception 2, you calculate what your tax would be using last year’s income, but this year’s exemptions and
tax rates.

Example
Peter’s gross income (Line 28, Form NJ-1040) last year was $31,000. He claimed three exemptions (of $1,000
each) on his return this year. He did not claim a credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction. Peter completes
the Exception 2 Worksheet and Part II as follows:

EXCEPTION 11 Tax on prior year’s Gross Income using this year’s exemptions and tax rates
1. Enter last year's NJ Gross Income (Line 28, NJ-1040) ............cocooueuriierrereeeesieuereesieeeeeseseesenennas 1. 31,000
2. Enter this year’s Total Exemptions (Line 29, NJ-1040)..........cccceuiiriiueriiieeieeeeseeeeeeeseseees e senens 2. 3,000
3. SUDrACt LIN@ 2 fTOM LINE T ...ttt ettt eee s e e te e s e e e aeee e e e et et e et e eaeseesenanea 3. 28,000
4. Compute Tax on Line 3 (this YEar's taX rateS) ............cciveereeriueieieerereieeeieeeeeeeiesesees s eseseessseresen s 4, 420
5. Enter Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions (Line 41, NJ-1040) .........ccccccoeerninrennnn 5. 0
6. Subtract Line 5 from Line 4. Enter the applicable percentage of this amount on Line 16,

Part 11 OF this FOMM ......oueuieiiecectcie ettt ettt sttt et et eae et etess s et etese e s eseseaneseseseasesaneses 6. 420

PART IT EXCEPTIONS
(See instructions, complete worksheets for exceptions 2, 3, and 4 and enclose computations for each exception claimed.)
If you meet exception 1 at Line 15, do not file this form.
These amounts will be automatically verified by the Division of Taxation.

14. Total amount paid and withheld from January 1 through APRIL 15 JUNE 15 SEPT 15 JAN 15
payment due date shown. (Do not include withholdings after
December 31.) (See iNStruCtions)............couiiriieiireenieciiceie e 14. 90 180 270 510
25% of Tax 50% of Tax 75% of Tax 100% of Tax
15. Exception 1 — Enter prior year’s tax .................. $600 15. 150 300 450 6
25% of Tax 50% of Tax 75% of Tax 100% of Tex
16. Exception 2 — Tax on prior year’s gross income using this year’s
€XEMPLONS AN tAX FAES ............c..eviveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeresees 16. 105 210 315 420

Peter did not meet Exception 2 for the first three quarters. However, since Line 14 in the fourth quarter column
(January 15) is equal to or more than Line 16 in the same column, Exception 2 “worked” for the fourth quar-
ter underpayment. When Peter submits his Form NJ-2210 with his return, no interest will be assessed on the

fourth quarter underpayment. Drawing a single diagonal line across the column (as illustrated in the example)
will remind you that you have met an exception for that period. When an exception is met, you do not need to
calculate interest for that period.
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Estimating Income Taxes

Exception 3

You compute Exception 3 by annualizing your in-
come. To annualize your income, compute Excep-
tion 3 for each installment period as follows:

1.

Determine the amount of your New Jersey
Gross Income (Line 28, Form NJ-1040) that

is applicable to the months in the tax year that
occurred prior to the month in which the install-
ment was due (e.g., actual income from Janu-
ary, February, and March for an installment due
April 15, actual income from January, February,
March, April, and May for an installment due
June 15). These amounts are determined by re-
viewing actual records (W-2s, pay stubs, bank
and other statements, etc.). Enclose a copy of
your computations with Form NJ-2210 if you
are using Exception 3 to eliminate interest on
an underpayment. For calendar year taxpayers,
the time period is indicated in each column of
the Exception 3 Worksheet. However, to deter-
mine the amount of New Jersey Gross Income
for an estate or trust, use period ending dates of
February 28, April 30, and July 31.

Multiply the income for the period by the num-
ber of months in the entire taxable year (a full
year would be 12). Then divide the result by the

number of months that occurred in the taxable
year prior to the month in which the installment
was due. For full-year calendar year taxpayers,
the math has already been done on the Excep-
tion 3 Worksheet. In this case, simply multiply
the income for the period (Line 1, Exception 3
Worksheet) by the multiplier on Line 2 of the
Exception 3 Worksheet. For an estate or trust,
the multipliers are 6, 3, and 1.7143 respectively.
This is your annualized income for each install-
ment period.

Deduct the total amount claimed for personal
exemptions (Line 29, Form NJ-1040) from the
annualized income in each column.

Calculate the New Jersey tax on the annualized
income and then subtract any credit claimed for
taxes paid to other jurisdictions (Line 41, Form
NJ-1040) for each period.

Multiply the tax calculated for each period by
the applicable percentage (20% for the first quar-
ter, 40% for the second quarter, and 60% for the
third quarter). Exception 3 may only be com-
puted for the first three quarters of the year.

Example
Peter’s gross income for each period was as follows:

January 1 — March 31
January 1 — May 31
January 1 — August 31

$ 7,890
$13,500
$24,650

He claimed three exemptions (of $1,000 each) on his return this year. He did not claim a credit for taxes paid to
another jurisdiction. Peter completes the Exception 3 Worksheet and Part II as follows (see next page):

Rev. 12/14
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Bulletin GIT-8

EXCEPTION III

Tax on this year’s Annualized Income (attach computations)
Estates and trusts, do not use the period ending dates shown, instead use the

following ending dates: 2/28, 4/30, and 7/31. Also, estates and trusts cannot use the
annualization amounts shown on Line 2 and must use 6, 3, and 1.7143 respectively.

1. Enter the portion of NJ Gross Income (Line 28, NJ-1040) that is
applicable to each period ShOWn ...

2. AnNnUalization @mMOUNTS ........ccoiuiiiiiiii e
3. Annualized Income (multiply Line 1 by Lin€ 2).......ccooviiiiniiiiiiieiiee e
4. Enter Total Exemptions (Line 29, NJ-1040).......ccceviiiiiniiiiiiiie e
5. Subtract Line 4 from LiNe 3 .......ooiiiiiiiiiieiiiie ittt

6. Compute Tax ON LINE B......ooiiiiiiiiiiie et

7. Enter the portion of the Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions
(Line 41, NJ-1040) that is applicable to each period ..........ccccoveiiiiiiiiieeiniicins

8. Subtract Line 7 from Line 6. Enter the applicable percentage of this amount
on Line 17, Part |l of this form

1/1-3/31 | 1/1-5/31]| 1/1-8/31
1. | 7,890 [ 13,500 | 24,650
2. 4 24 1.5
3. | 31,560 | 32,400 | 36,975
4. | 3,000 | 3,000 3,000
5. | 28,560 | 29,400 | 33,975
6. 430 445 525
7 0 0 0
8. 430 445 525

PART II EXCEPTIONS

(See instructions, complete worksheets for exceptions 2, 3, and 4 and enclose computations for each exception claimed.)

If you meet exception 1 at Line 15, do not file this form.
These amounts will be automatically verified by the Division of Taxation.

14. Total amount paid and withheld from January 1 through APRIL 15 JUNE 15 SEPT 15 JAN 15
payment due date shown. (Do not include withholdings after
December 31.) (See inStructions)...........cocuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiicie 14. 90 180 270 10
25$§f Tax 50% of Tax 75% of Tax 100%pf Tax
15. Exception 1 — Enter prior year's tax ................. $600 15. 150 300 450 60
25% of Jax 50% of Jax 75% of Tax 100% of Ta:
16. Exception 2 — Tax on prior year’s gross income using this year’s
exemptions and tax rates ........ccceeiieieiriie e 16. 105 210 315 420
20% of Tax 40% of Tax 60% of Tax
17. Exception 3 — Tax on this year’s annualized income...........cccceeuee..... 17. 86 178 315

As the Exception 3 Worksheet above shows, Peter met Exception 3 for the first and second quarters. Conse-

quently, no interest charges will be assessed for those two quarters.

12
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Estimating Income Taxes

Exception 4

In Exception 4, you calculate the tax on your actual
New Jersey taxable income for each installment pe-
riod. To compute Exception 4 for each period:

1. Determine the amount of your New Jersey tax-
able income (Line 39, Form NJ-1040) that is ap-
plicable to the months in the year that occurred
prior to the month in which the installment was
due. As in Exception 3, these amounts are deter-
mined by reviewing actual records (W-2s, pay
stubs, bank and other statements, etc.). Enclose a
copy of your computations with Form NJ-2210
if you are using Exception 4 to eliminate interest
on an underpayment. For calendar year taxpay- 2.
ers, the time period is indicated in each column
of the Exception 4 Worksheet.

Note: Remember, when calculating your actual
taxable income for the period, deduct your 3.
total exemptions and deductions (Line 35,

Form NJ-1040) and property tax deduction
(Line 38, Form NJ-1040) applicable to the
period, from your actual New Jersey gross
income. In other words, deduct prorated
exemptions (¥i2, 12, %12 of total) plus the
actual alimony paid during the period, the
actual deduction for medical expenses, the
actual deduction for qualified conservation
contributions, the actual health enterprise
zone deduction, the actual alternative busi-
ness calculation adjustment, and actual
property tax deduction allowed for the
period.

Calculate the New Jersey tax on the actual tax-
able income and then subtract any credit claimed
for taxes paid to other jurisdictions (Line 41,
Form NJ-1040) applicable to each period.

Multiply the tax calculated for each period by
90%. Like Exception 3, Exception 4 may only
be computed for the first three quarters of the
year.

Example

Peter’s taxable income for each period was as follows:
January 1 — March 31 $ 7,140
January 1 — May 31 $12,250
January 1 — August 31 $22,650

He had no credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction. Peter would complete the Exception 4 Worksheet and

Part II as follows:

EXCEPTION IV  Tax on this year’s Actual Taxable Income over 3, 5, and 8-month periods. (attach computations)

1. Enter the actual amount of NJ Taxable Income (Line 39, NJ-1040) that is

applicable to €ach PEriod SNOWN ...........c.coieieeieieeee ettt eae e eae e e 1. 7,140 12,250 22,650

11 -3/31 11 -5/31 11 -8/31

2. ComMPULE TAX ON LINE T .viiiiieieieeee ettt ettt et eae e teeteeeesteenteareenaeanes 2. 100 172 327
3. Enter the portion of the Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions
(Line 41, NJ-1040) that is applicable to each period Shown.............cccccueveeieieiiecrecieee, 3 0 0 0
4. Subtract Line 3 from Line 2. Enter 90% of this amount on Line 18, Part Il of
ENES FOIMN ...ttt ettt et et e st eeaeeseeetesaeebesbe e s e eseenseeseensenean 4. 100 172 327
Rev. 12/14 13



Bulletin GIT-8

PART II EXCEPTIONS

If you meet exception 1 at Line 15, do not file this form.
These amounts will be automatically verified by the Division of Taxation.

14. Total amount paid and withheld from January 1 through
payment due date shown. (Do not include withholdings after

December 31.) (See inStructions)..........ceevcvveeiiieeeiiie e

15. Exception 1 — Enter prior year’'s tax ..................

16. Exception 2 — Tax on prior year’s gross income using this year’s

18. Exception 4 — Tax on this year’s income over 3, 5, and 8-month

exemptions and tax rates .........ccccooeeeiiiiiiniiee e

17. Exception 3 — Tax on this year’s annualized income......................

(See instructions, complete worksheets for exceptions 2, 3, and 4 and enclose computations for each exception claimed.)
APRIL15 JUNE 15 SEPT 15 JAN 15
...... 14. 90 180 270 10
ﬁ: of Tax \i(: of Tax 75% of Tax 106%:5%
$600 15. 50 00 450 6
25% of Tax 50% of Tax 75% of Tax 100% of Rax
...... 16. 105 210 315 420
20% of\ix 40% of\Xax 60% of Tax
...... 17. 86 178 315
90% of Ta: 90% of Ta: 90% of Tax
...... 16. 90 154.80\| 294.30

9115 oo [Pt

After completing all four exceptions on Form NJ-2210, Part II, Peter did not meet an exception for the third
quarter. Therefore, Peter owes interest on the underpayment for that quarter.

Calculating Interest Charges

If none of the exceptions eliminated interest charges
on the underpayment for a period, calculate the in-
terest due for the period(s) using the Option 1 Table
or the Option 2 Interest Rate Schedule in the Form
NJ-2210 instructions. You may use Option 1 only if:

e You are a calendar year taxpayer; and

o The estimated payments that you made during the
year were paid by the appropriate due dates.

Example

Peter met exceptions for all but the third quarter
underpayment. Line 5 of Form NJ-2210 is $150 for
each quarter (see page 8). Payments made for each
quarter (Line 6, NJ-2210) were: 1st quarter—$90; 2nd
quarter—$90; 3rd quarter—$90, and 4th quarter—$240.
Each installment was paid by the appropriate due
date. Peter would complete Option 1 as follows (see
next page):

14
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OPTION 1*
3 A B C D E F G
A Amount Due Balance Due Total Due Total Paid Balance Multiplier* Interest
R |PERIOD | (Line 5, NJ-2210) | Previous Qtr. (Col. A+ B) (Line 6, NJ-2210) (Col.C-D) (Col. E x Col. F)
T (Col. E)
E
R
1. | 4n6-6/15 - .010
2. |en6-9/15 .015
3. |9ne-115 150.00 0 150.00 90.00 60.00 .021 1.26
4. | 116-4115 .015
TOTAL INTEREST 1.26
Peter enters the total interest amount on Line 19, Form NJ-2210 and on Line 46, Form NJ-1040.
19. TOTAL INTEREST ...ttt e e e e e e s e e et e e eeaeaeaeas $ 11 26
Example
If Peter had not met exceptions for any of the four quarters, he would have calculated the interest due as shown
below:
OPTION 1*
3 A B C D E F G
A Amount Due Balance Due Total Due Total Paid Balance Multiplier* Interest
$ PERIOD | (Line 5,NJ-2210) |  Previous Qtr. (Col. A+ B) (Line 6, NJ-2210) (Col. C-D) (Col. E x Col. F)
(Col. E)
R
1. | 4116-6/15 150.00 - 150.00 90.00 60.00 .010 0.60
2. |ene-91s 150.00 60.00 210.00 90.00 120.00 .015 1.80
3. |9ne-115 150.00 120.00 270.00 90.00 180.00 .021 3.78
4. | 116 -4/15 150.00 180.00 330.00 240.00 90.00 .015 1.35
TOTAL INTEREST 7.53
The total interest amount would be reported on Line 19, Form NJ-2210 and on Line 46, Form NJ-1040.
19, TOTAL INTEREST ..ottt e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e $ 7| 53

* This worksheet may not reflect current interest rates. The figures shown are for illustration only.

Rev. 12/14
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Bulletin GIT-8

Do you expect
to owe more
than $400 after
subtracting
income tax
withholding
and credits
from your
total tax? (Do
not subtract
estimated tax
payments.)

No

v

—>

Do you expect
your income
tax withhold-
ing and credits
to be at least
80% (66%:% for
farmers) of the
tax that will be
reported on
your income
tax return?

Yes

v

Should You File Form NJ-2210?

Do you expect your
income tax withholding
and credits to be at least
100% of the tax reported
on your last year’s New
Jersey income tax return?
Note: You must have had
a New Jersey tax liabil-
ity and filed a tax return
last year which covered a
12-month period.

Yes

v

You do NOT need to complete Form NJ-2210.

A4

You may reduce or eliminate underpayment interest
charged to you by completing Form NJ-2210.

16
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Estimating Income Taxes

For More Information

Online By Phone

¢ Division of Taxation website: e (all the Division of Taxation’s Customer
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ Service Center at 609-292-6400.

e Email general State tax questions: e Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) for
nj.taxation@treas.nj.gov Hard-of-Hearing Users: 1-800-286-6613
Do not include confidential information such as (toll-free within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD)
social security or Federal tax identification num- or 609-984-7300. These numbers are acces-
bers, liability or payment amounts, dates of birth, sible only from TTY devices. Submit a text
or bank account numbers in your email. message on any New Jersey tax matter and

e Subscribe to NJ Tax E-News, the Division receive a reply through NJ Relay Services
of Taxation’s online information service, at: (711).
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml

In Person In Writing

Visit a New Jersey Division of Taxation regional New Jersey Division of Taxation

office. For the address of the regional office Technical Information Branch

nearest you call the Automated Tax Information PO Box 281

System at 1-800-323-4400 or visit www.state.nj.us/ Trenton, NJ 08695-0281
treasury/taxation/otl.shtml

Forms and Publications

e Visit the Division of Taxation’s website:
Forms — www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/forms.shtml
Publications — www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml
e (Call NJ TaxFax at 609-826-4500 from your fax machine’s phone. (Note: Effective June 1, 2015,
the NJ TaxFax service will be discontinued.)

e (all the Forms Request System at 1-800-323-4400 (within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or
609-826-4400 (Touch-tone phones only) to have printed forms or publications mailed to you.
Note: Due to budgetary constraints, supplies are limited and only certain forms and publications
can be ordered through this System.
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