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New Jersey Resident Return Examples (Tax Year 2017) 

Introduction 
The New Jersey Gross Income Tax Act imposes tax on the income of resident and nonresident 
individuals and estates and trusts. Residents are subject to tax on all income regardless of where it was 
earned.  

This bulletin illustrates the correct return completion of a 2017 New Jersey Resident Income Tax Return 
(Form NJ-1040) and a Property Tax Credit Application (Form NJ-1040-H) for full-year and part-year 
residents in selected situations. 

Important 
Any reference in this bulletin to a spouse also refers to a spouse who entered into a valid same-sex 
marriage in another state or foreign nation and a partner in a civil union (CU) recognized under New 
Jersey law. 

Changes for Tax Year 2017 
• Qualified taxpayers can exclude more pension and other income on their New Jersey return. The

increased exclusion amounts are being phased in over a four-year period;

• Veterans who were honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from active duty
in the Armed Forces of the United States are eligible for an additional $3,000 exemption. See more
information.

This document is designed to provide guidance to taxpayers and is accurate as of the date issued. 
Subsequent changes in tax law or its interpretation may affect the accuracy of this publication.  

Filing Requirements 
Every resident individual, even a minor, whose gross income received during the tax year is more than 
$20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or married/CU partner, filing separate return) is required to file a 
New Jersey Resident Income Tax Return (Form NJ-1040). If you are a full-year resident and your annual 
gross income is equal to or less than the applicable filing threshold amount, you do not need to file a 
return except to claim a refund of taxes withheld or estimated taxes paid. You also must file a return to 
receive a New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit even if you have no tax liability to New Jersey. See more 
information on gross income. 

If you became a resident of this state or moved out of this state during the year, you may be required to 
file a New Jersey Income Tax return and pay tax on the portion of income you received while you were a 
resident of New Jersey. Part-year residents must prorate all exemptions, deductions, and credits, as well 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/civilunionact.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/military/vetexemption.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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as the pension and other retirement income exclusions, to reflect the period covered by the return. For 
more information, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT‑6, Part-Year Residents. 

Filing Status 
In general, you must use the same filing status on your New Jersey return as you do for federal income 
tax purposes, unless you are a partner in a civil union. 

If a married couple files a joint federal return, they also must file a joint New Jersey return. If spouses file 
separate federal returns, separate State returns also must be filed. However, if you are a civil union 
couple, your filing status for New Jersey may not match your federal filing status for the year.  

If during the entire tax year one spouse was a resident and the other a nonresident, the resident can file 
a separate New Jersey return. The resident calculates income and exemptions as if a federal married, 
filing separate return had been filed. The spouses have the option of filing a joint return, in which case 
their joint income would be taxed as if both were residents.  

If your spouse died during the year, you can file a joint return for the two of you if you did not remarry 
or enter into a new civil union before the end of the year. You may be eligible to use the filing status 
“qualifying widow(er)/surviving CU partner” for 2017, but only if your spouse died in either 2015 or 
2016, you did not remarry or enter into a new civil union before the end of 2017, and you meet the 
other requirements to file as qualifying widow(er) with dependent child for federal purposes.  

If you meet the requirements to file as head of household for federal income tax purposes, you can file 
as head of household for New Jersey. Certain spouses living apart can file as head of household for New 
Jersey if they meet the requirements to file as head of household for federal purposes. For information 
on filing status for federal purposes, contact the Internal Revenue Service. For more information on filing 
status for New Jersey purposes, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-4, Filing Status. 

Gross Income 
For New Jersey purposes, gross income includes income received in the form of money, goods, property, 
benefits, and services. A New Jersey resident must report all taxable income received, whether from New 
Jersey sources or not, on the State return. 

Taxable Income 
Taxable income includes the following: 

• Wages and other compensation; 

• Interest and dividends; 

• Earnings on nonqualified distributions from qualified State tuition program accounts, including the 
New Jersey Better Educational Savings Trust program (NJBEST) accounts; 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git6.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git4.pdf
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• Earnings on nonqualified distributions from qualified State 529A Achieving a Better Life Experience
program (ABLE) accounts;

• Net profits from business, trade, or profession;

• Net gains or income from sale or disposition of property;

• Pensions, annuities, and IRA withdrawals;

• Net distributive share of partnership income;

• Net pro rata share of S corporation income;

• Net rental, royalty, and copyright income;

• Net gambling winnings, including New Jersey Lottery winnings from prize amounts exceeding
$10,000;

• Alimony;*

• Estate and trust income;

• Income in respect of a decedent;

• Prizes and awards, including scholarships and fellowships;

• Value of residence provided by employer;

• Fees for services rendered, including jury duty.

New Jersey taxable income also includes the following that are not subject to federal income tax: 

• Interest from obligations of states and their political subdivisions, other than New Jersey and its
political subdivisions;

• Income earned by a resident from foreign employment;

• Certain contributions to pensions and tax-deferred annuities;

• Employee contributions to federal Thrift Savings Funds, 403(b), 457, SEP, or any other type of
retirement plan other than 401(k) plans.

*Alimony paid to a spouse could be considered nontaxable if the divorce decree stipulates that
the other spouse who is paying the alimony agrees not to claim it as a deduction. Alimony is
taxable to the recipient under State law N.J.S.A. 54A:5-1(n). However, the Division would consider
the terms of a divorce decree when deciding whether such a stipulation is allowable. You may be
asked to submit a copy of the divorce decree so it can be reviewed by Division personnel.

Exempt Income 
The following examples of exempt income should not be included when deciding if a return must be 
filed. With the exception of tax-exempt interest, these items should not appear anywhere on the State 
tax return. 
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• Social Security benefits;

• Railroad Retirement benefits (Tier 1 and Tier 2);

• United States military pensions and survivor’s benefit payments;

• Life insurance proceeds received because of a person’s death;

• Employee’s death benefits;

• Permanent and total disability, including VA benefits;

• Temporary disability received from the State of New Jersey or as third-party sick pay;

• Workers’ Compensation;

• Gifts and inheritances;

• Qualifying scholarships or fellowship grants;

• New Jersey Lottery winnings from prizes in the amount of $10,000 or less;

• Unemployment Compensation received from the State (but not supplemental unemployment benefit
payments);

• Family Leave Insurance (FLI) benefits;

• Interest and capital gains from: (a) Obligations of the State of New Jersey or any of its political
subdivisions; or (b) Direct federal obligations exempt under law, such as U.S. Savings Bonds and
Treasury Bills, Notes, and Bonds;

• Distributions paid by mutual funds to the extent the distributions are attributable to interest earned
on federal obligations;

• Certain distributions from “New Jersey Qualified Investment Funds;”

• Earnings on qualified distributions from qualified State tuition program accounts, including the New
Jersey Better Educational Savings Trust program (NJBEST) accounts;

• Earnings on qualified distributions from qualified State 529A Achieving a Better Life Experience
program (ABLE) accounts;

• Employer and employee contributions to 401(k) Salary Reduction Plans (but not federal Thrift Savings
Funds);

• Some benefits received from certain employer-provided cafeteria plans (but not salary reduction or
premium conversion plans);

• Benefits received from certain employer-provided commuter transportation benefit plans (but not
salary reduction plans);

• Contributions to and distributions from Archer MSAs if they are excluded for federal income tax
purposes;

• Direct payments and benefits received under homeless persons assistance programs;
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• Homestead Benefits; 

• Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) program benefits; 

• Income Tax refunds (New Jersey, federal, and other jurisdictions); 

• New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit payments; 

• Welfare; 

• Child support; 

• Amounts paid as reparations or restitution to Nazi Holocaust victims; 

• Assistance from a charitable organization, whether in the form of cash or property; 

• Cancellation of debt; 

• Amounts received as damages for wrongful imprisonment; 

• Qualified disaster relief payments excluded under IRC §139; 

• Payments from the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund. 

Exemptions 
Every resident taxpayer is allowed a personal exemption, even if that individual can be claimed as a 
dependent on another tax return. Taxpayers whose filing status is “married/CU couple, filing joint return” 
are allowed an additional exemption for their spouse. A member of a domestic partnership that was 
registered in New Jersey on the last day of the tax year can claim an exemption for his or her domestic 
partner, but only if the domestic partner does not file a New Jersey Income Tax return.  

The additional exemptions for age, disability, blindness, or for certain veterans can be claimed only by 
the taxpayer and/or spouse. These additional exemptions do not apply to a domestic partner or to 
dependents. The exemption for dependents who attend college is in addition to the exemption claimed 
for that child or other qualified dependent. This exemption applies only to dependents and does not 
apply to the taxpayer, spouse, or domestic partner. 

Proof of Age. If either you or your spouse are eligible for an additional exemption for age, you must 
enclose proof of age such as a copy of a birth certificate, driver’s license, or church records with your 
return the first time you claim the exemption(s). 

Proof of Disability. If either you or your spouse are eligible for an additional exemption for disability or 
blindness, you must enclose a copy of the doctor’s certificate or other medical records with your return 
the first time you claim the exemption(s). 

Veteran’s Proof of Honorable Discharge or Release. If either you or your spouse are eligible for a 
veteran exemption, you must provide documentation certifying that you were honorably discharged or 
released under honorable circumstances from active duty the first time you claim the exemption(s).   

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/military/vetexemption.shtml
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Proof of Domestic Partnership. If you are able to claim an exemption for your domestic partner, you 
must enclose a copy of your New Jersey Certificate of Domestic Partnership with your return the first 
time you claim the exemption. You may be asked to provide additional information at a later date.  

Dependent Information. If you are claiming a dependent exemption, you must provide the full name, 
Social Security number, and year of birth for each dependent child and other dependent claimed on 
Form NJ-1040. If you qualify for the New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit, you must provide this 
information for each “qualifying child” listed on your federal Schedule EIC who is not claimed as a 
dependent on your New Jersey return. You also must fill in the oval for each dependent who does not 
have health insurance coverage (including NJ FamilyCare/Medicaid, private, or other health insurance) 
on the date you file the return. Do not fill in the oval for any dependents who have health 
insurance. 

Deductions 
• Medical Expenses. Certain unreimbursed medical expenses that were paid during the year can be 

deducted on the New Jersey Income Tax return. However, only expenses exceeding 2% of income, as 
shown on Line 28 of Form NJ‑1040, can be deducted. 

Archer MSA Contributions. Qualified Archer medical savings account (MSA) contributions that do not 
exceed 75% of the amount of your annual health plan deductible (65% if you have a self-only plan). 

Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction. Self-employed individuals and more‑than‑2% 
shareholders of S corporations are allowed a deduction (up to 100%) for the cost of health insurance 
for the taxpayer and the taxpayer’s spouse or domestic partner and dependents, but only to the 
extent that the taxpayer has earned income from the business under which the insurance plan is 
established. A taxpayer cannot deduct any amount paid for health insurance coverage for any month 
in which the taxpayer was eligible to participate in any subsidized health plan maintained by an 
employer of the taxpayer or the taxpayer’s spouse or domestic partner.   

NOTE:  Amounts paid for health insurance for a taxpayer’s child who was under age 27 at the end of 
2017 can be deducted only if the child was the taxpayer’s dependent. 

• Court-ordered alimony and separate maintenance payments. 

• Qualified conservation contributions of qualified real property interests in New Jersey property, to the 
extent that the contribution amount is deductible for federal income tax purposes. 

• If you provide primary care services in a qualified medical or dental practice located in or within five 
miles of a designated Health Enterprise Zone (HEZ), you may be able to deduct a percentage of the 
net income from that practice. For information on eligibility requirements and how to calculate the 
deduction, see Technical Bulletin TB-56, Health Enterprise Zones.  

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tb/tb56.pdf
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• If you list business losses on Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Business Income Summary Schedule, you may be 
able to use those losses to calculate an adjustment to your taxable income. In addition, you can carry 
forward unused losses to calculate future adjustments. Complete Schedule NJ-BUS-2 in the resident 
return instructions (Form NJ-1040) to calculate the amount of your adjustment and loss carryforward, 
if any. 

Total Property Taxes Paid 
New Jersey residents who pay property taxes (either directly or through rent) report the amount of 
property taxes due and paid for 2017 on Line 37a. For tenants, 18% of the rent paid during the year is 
considered property taxes paid. Do not include payments made for another year, even if those payments 
were made in 2017.  

Property Tax Deduction/Credit 
Homeowners and tenants who paid property taxes, either directly or through rent, on a principal 
residence in New Jersey may qualify for either a deduction (up to 100% of property taxes due and paid 
or up to $10,000, whichever is less) or a refundable credit (up to $50).  

Eligibility Requirements. You are eligible for a deduction or credit only if: 

• You were domiciled and maintained a principal residence as a homeowner or tenant in New Jersey 
during 2017; and 

• Your principal residence, whether owned or rented, was subject to property taxes that were paid 
either as actual property taxes or through rent; and 

• If you rented your principal residence, it had its own separate kitchen and bathroom that you did not 
share with occupants of other units in the building, if there were other units; and 

• If your principal residence was a unit in a multiunit property you owned, the property had no more 
than four units and no more than one of those was a commercial unit; and 

• Your income on Line 28, Form NJ‑1040, is more than $20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or 
married/CU partner, filing separate return), or you and/or your spouse (if filing jointly) were 65 or 
older or blind or disabled on the last day of the tax year. Taxpayers with gross income of $20,000 or 
less ($10,000 if filing status is single or married/CU partner, filing separate return) are eligible for a 
property tax credit only if they were 65 or older or blind or disabled on the last day of the tax year. 

Seniors or Blind/Disabled Persons Not Required to File a Return. You qualify for a property tax credit 
if you (or your spouse if filing jointly) were 65 or older or blind or disabled on the last day of the tax 
year, and your income on Line 28, Form NJ-1040, is $20,000 or less ($10,000 if filing status is single or 
married/ CU partner, filing separate return), and you met the eligibility requirements.  The amount is $50 
(or $25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal residence).  

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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If you are eligible for a property tax credit as either a homeowner or tenant, and you: 

• Are eligible and file for a 2017 Homestead Benefit because you were a New Jersey homeowner 
on October 1, 2017, your credit will automatically be included with your Homestead Benefit. Do not
claim the property tax credit on Form NJ-1040.

• Are not eligible for a 2017 Homestead Benefit because you were not a homeowner on October 1,
2017, you can claim the property tax credit on Form NJ-1040 or you can file the Property Tax Credit
Application, Form NJ-1040-H only. Do not file both Form NJ-1040 and Form NJ-1040-H.

For more information on the Property Tax Credit Application (Form NJ-1040-H), see instructions for 
Form NJ-1040. 

Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) Applicants. If you are eligible for a Senior Freeze for 
2017 and file your application on Form PTR‑1, enter on line 1, Worksheet G, the amount of your 2016 
property taxes as reported on your 2017 Form PTR‑1. (For mobile home owners, this is 18% of 2016 
site fees.) 

If you are eligible for a Senior Freeze for 2017 and file your application on Form PTR-2, enter on line 1, 
Worksheet G the amount of your base year property taxes as reported on your 2017 Form PTR‑2. (For 
mobile home owners, this is 18% of base year site fees.) 

NOTE:  If you owned your home with someone other than your spouse or if the property consists of 
more than one unit, the amount of property taxes you report must reflect your percentage of 
ownership or the proportionate share of property taxes for the unit you occupy as your principal 
residence.  

For more information on the property tax deduction/credit, see instructions for Form NJ-1040. 

Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals 
Pensions, annuities, and certain IRA withdrawals are taxable on the New Jersey return although the State 
taxable amount may be different than the federal amount. When reporting the income, any taxable 
amounts must be included on Line 19a, and amounts that represent a return of contributions that have 
already been taxed are reported on Line 19b. All State and local government, teachers’, and federal 
pensions, and Keogh Plans are treated the same as pensions from the private sector. New Jersey 
provides retirement income exclusions that enable qualified taxpayers to reduce their taxable income. 
For more information, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT‑1, Pensions and Annuities. 

If you are receiving a United States military pension or survivor’s benefit payments, the military pension 
or survivor’s benefit is exempt from New Jersey Income Tax. For more information on military pensions, 
see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT‑7, Military Personnel. 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git1.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git7.pdf
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For New Jersey purposes, an IRA consists of a nontaxable part (your contributions) and a taxable part 
(earnings plus certain amounts, if any, rolled over from pension plans). If your contributions have been 
previously taxed, only the portion of the distribution that represents earnings is taxable. However, a 
qualified distribution from a Roth IRA does not have to be included in taxable income (Line 19a) or 
excludable income (Line 19b) in the year received. For more information on IRA withdrawals, see Tax 
Topic Bulletin GIT‑2, IRA Withdrawals, and Technical Bulletin TB‑44, Roth IRAs.  

Estimated Tax Payments 
Individuals who expect their New Jersey Income Tax liability to be more than $400 after taking into 
account all of their exemptions, deductions, withholdings, and other credits for the tax year are required 
to make quarterly estimated tax payments. This may include taxpayers who do not have sufficient New 
Jersey Income Tax withheld from their wages and/or pension, those who are self-employed, or those 
whose income is from sources such as interest, dividends, or capital gains. Estimated payments are filed 
quarterly in equal installments on a Declaration of Estimated Tax (Form NJ‑1040‑ES). For more 
information on New Jersey estimated tax payments, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-8, Estimating Income 
Taxes. 

Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions 
As a New Jersey resident, you may be eligible for a tax credit on your New Jersey return if you have 
income from sources outside New Jersey that was subject, within the same year, to both:  

• Income or wage tax imposed by another jurisdiction outside New Jersey; and  
• New Jersey Income Tax. 

For this purpose, “jurisdiction” means any state (other than New Jersey) of the United States or political 
subdivision of such state, or the District of Columbia. Therefore, no credit is allowed for taxes paid to the 
U.S. Government, Canada, Puerto Rico, or any other foreign country or territory. 

You must complete Schedule A to calculate the amount of the credit and enclose it with Form NJ-1040. 
You also must enter a two-digit code for the jurisdiction in the boxes at Line 41, Form NJ-1040. A list of 
jurisdiction codes is in the NJ-1040 instructions. You are not required to enclose a copy of the tax 
return(s) filed with the other jurisdiction.  

For more information on credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions, see Tax Topic Bulletins GIT‑3W, 
Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions (Wage Income), and GIT‑3B, Credit for Taxes Paid to Other 
Jurisdictions (Business/Nonwage Income). 

Residents with income from Pennsylvania, refer to Tax Topic Bulletins GIT‑3W or GIT‑3B and the NJ‑
1040 resident return instructions for information on the Reciprocal Personal Income Tax Agreement 
between Pennsylvania and New Jersey.  

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git2.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tb/tb44.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git8.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git3w.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git3b.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git3w.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git3b.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit 
The New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit is a credit for residents of limited income. To take the credit, 
you must have worked and earned wage or business income. The credit reduces the amount of tax you 
owe and also may give you a refund, even if you have no tax liability to New Jersey.  

For Tax Year 2017, most residents who are eligible and file for a federal earned income credit also can 
receive a New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit equal to 35% of the federal benefit. 

NOTE:  If your filing status is married/CU partner, filing separate return, you cannot claim a New Jersey 
Earned Income Tax Credit.  

You must file a New Jersey resident Income Tax return to receive a New Jersey Earned Income Tax 
Credit, even if you are not required to file a return because your gross income is equal to or less than the 
filing threshold amount. (See Filing Requirements.) 

You must provide the full name, Social Security number, and year of birth for each “qualifying child” 
listed on federal Schedule EIC who is not claimed as a dependent on your New Jersey return. 

If you asked the Internal Revenue Service to calculate your federal earned income credit, fill in the first 
oval below Line 51, Form NJ-1040. (Civil union couples should not fill in this oval even if one or both of 
you are eligible for a federal credit and asked the IRS to calculate the amount. For information on how 
civil union couples calculate their New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit amount for Line 51, see 
instructions for Form NJ‑1040. The IRS will provide information about federal earned income credit 
recipients to the Division of Taxation in October 2018. Please allow at least four to six weeks for the 
Division to process the information and issue a check for your New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit.  

Part-Year Residents. If you were a New Jersey resident for only part of the tax year, the amount of your 
credit must be prorated based on the number of months you were a New Jersey resident. For this 
calculation, 15 days or more is a month.  

The Division of Taxation audits returns to make sure taxpayers meet the eligibility requirements 
for this credit. You may be asked to provide documentation to support your claim. 

Sale of Home Exclusion 
If you sell your principal residence, you may qualify to exclude up to $250,000 (or $500,000 for certain 
married/civil union couples filing a joint return) of any gain from your income. Capital gain is calculated 
the same way as for federal purposes. Any amount that is taxable for federal purposes is taxable for New 
Jersey purposes.  

You can claim the exclusion if, during the five-year period ending on the date of the sale, you have:  

1. Owned the home for at least two years (the ownership test); and 
2. Lived in the home as your principal residence for at least two years (the use test). 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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NOTE: If you owned and used the property as your principal residence for less than two years, and you 
qualify for a reduced exclusion for federal purposes, you can claim a reduced exclusion for New 
Jersey purposes. 

You can exclude up to $250,000 (or $500,000 for certain married/civil union couples filing a joint return) 
of gain from the sale of your principal residence if both 1 and 2 below apply.  

1. Neither you nor your spouse, if filing a joint return, is excluding gain from the sale of another home;
2. You or your spouse, if filing a joint return, owned and lived in the home for periods adding up to at

least two years within the five-year period ending on the date of sale.

If you are a married/civil union couple, filing a joint return, both you and your spouse must meet the use 
test to qualify for the $500,000 exclusion. 

If only one spouse meets the ownership and use tests, the qualified spouse can exclude up to $250,000 
of the gain when filing either a joint return or a separate return.  

You cannot exclude the gain on the sale of your principal residence if, during the two-year period 
ending on the date of the sale, you sold another home at a gain and excluded all or part of that gain. If 
you cannot exclude the gain, you must include it in your income and complete Schedule B. However, 
you can claim a reduced exclusion if you sold the home due to a change in health or place of 
employment and you qualify for a reduced exclusion for federal purposes. 

Return Preparation 
The following are examples of completed resident returns (Forms NJ-1040) for various situations. 
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Example 1 
Leonard Fisher (Age 63) 

SS# 999-27-3660 
Evelyn Fisher (Age 56) 

SS# 999-62-8391 
101 Blackwell Road, Apt. B 
Cape May Point, NJ 08212 (Cape May County) 

The Fishers are full-year residents of New Jersey. They are married and file a joint return with no 
dependents.  

Evelyn’s wages ........................................................ $42,731 
Joint taxable interest .............................................. 15,426 
Joint tax-exempt interest ......................................... 7,900 
Joint dividends .......................................................... 27,454 
Leonard’s pension: 

Received this year (3rd yr.) ........................... 36,000 
Leonard’s contributions ............................... 100,000 
Employer’s contributions ..........................  100,000 
Leonard’s Social Security ............................... 15,600 

Loss from rental property 
129 Bay Road 
Cape May, New Jersey.......................................... 524 

NJ Income Tax withholdings .................................. 3,136 
Estimated tax payments .............................................. 400 
Property taxes paid for 2017 .................................. 1,200 
Rent paid ........................................................................ 8,400 
Homestead Benefit received as 

a credit on 2017 property tax bill ..................... 100 

Mr. and Mrs. Fisher lived in their house, located at 18 King’s Court, Cape May, New Jersey (Block 3105.62 
Lot 14.3) since August 9, 1987. On May 23, 2017, they sold the house for $275,000. The cost basis on 
their federal return was $117,000. The Fishers can exclude up to $500,000 of the gain from the sale of 
the principal residence for their filing status. Therefore, they will exclude the entire $158,000 gain on the 
sale of their home on New Jersey Schedule B. They will enclose Schedule B with their Income Tax return 
and keep a copy for their records. 

In addition, they must enclose a completed New Jersey Schedule NJ-BUS-1 showing the loss from their 
rental property. The New Jersey Gross Income Tax Act does not allow losses to be applied to gains in 
other categories of income on Form NJ-1040; therefore, Mr. and Mrs. Fisher will make no entry for rental 
income on Line 22 of their return. However, since they show a loss on Schedule NJ-BUS-1, they complete 
Schedule NJ-BUS-2 to determine whether they can claim an alternative business calculation adjustment 
on Line 34, and the amount of loss, if any, they can carry forward to Tax Year 2018. The Fishers cannot 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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claim an adjustment for 2017, but they are able to carry forward the loss of $524 as indicated on 
Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Part III, Line 12. Mr. and Mrs. Fisher will enclose Schedule NJ-BUS-2 and keep a copy 
for their records. They may need the information from the schedule to complete their return in future 
years. 

Mr. Fisher retired on December 31, 2014. For Tax Year 2015, he completed “Worksheet A – Which 
Pension Method to Use” in the NJ-1040 resident Income Tax return instructions to determine which 
pension method to use. He was able to use the Three-Year Rule Method, and for the past two years he 
was not required to report any taxable pension on his State Income Tax return. Mr. and Mrs. Fisher did 
not submit Worksheet A with their Income Tax return but kept it for their records. This year they used 
the worksheet to help determine the taxable and excludable pension amounts to report on their 2017 
tax return.  

Mr. Fisher is eligible to use the pension exclusion to reduce his income by up to $40,000 because his 
filing status is married/CU couple, filing a joint return and his income (combined with his wife’s income) 
did not total more than $100,000. He will claim $8,000 as his pension exclusion on Line 27a of their 
return. The Fishers cannot use the unclaimed portion of the pension exclusion ($32,000) on Line 27b, 
Other Retirement Income Exclusion, because their joint earned income (total of: wages, net profits from 
business, distributive share of partnership income, and net pro rata share of S corporation income) is 
more than $3,000, as shown in Part I of Worksheet D – Other Retirement Income Exclusion. 

Since Mr. Fisher, who is a former member of the U.S. Armed Forces, was honorably discharged from 
service, he is eligible for an additional exemption of $3,000. To claim the exemption, he will fill in the 
oval at Line 12c of Form NJ-1040 and indicate the number of exemptions. He also will provide official 
documentation certifying that he was honorably discharged from active duty since this is the first time 
he is claiming the exemption. 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/military/vetexemption.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/military/vetexemption.shtml
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Since Mr. and Mrs. Fisher lived at more than one New Jersey residence during the tax year, they must 
complete Worksheet G-1 to determine the amount of property taxes to enter on Line 37a. The Fishers 
received a Homestead Benefit as a credit on their May 2017 property tax bill; therefore, when they enter 
the total property taxes paid in Part I, Column 4, Worksheet G-1, they use the amount of property taxes 
they paid to the municipality for 2017 plus the amount of the Homestead Benefit that was credited on 
their May 2017 tax bill. To determine whether it is better to claim the property tax deduction or the 
property tax credit, the Fishers then complete Worksheet G. Worksheets G and G-1 are in the NJ-1040 
resident Income Tax return instructions. The Fishers determined that they will receive a greater tax 
benefit by taking the property tax deduction.  

The following pages show how Mr. and Mrs. Fisher will complete their New Jersey Income Tax return. 
After taking credit for Mrs. Fisher’s withholdings and their joint estimated tax payments, they will be 
entitled to a refund of $1,848. However, they are requesting that a $10 donation be made to each of the 
five specified check-offs and to the designated fund of their choice. They will receive a refund of $1,788. 
Since they have taxable income of less than $100,000, the Fishers can use either the New Jersey Tax 
Table or the New Jersey Tax Rate Schedules to calculate their tax liability.  
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Example 2 
Javier Mendez (Age 65) 

SS# 999-21-2351 
Domenica Mendez (Age 64) 

SS# 999-35-1443 
125 Madison Street 
Morris, NJ 07082 (Morris County) 

Mr. and Mrs. Mendez are full-year residents of New Jersey. They are married and file a joint return with 
no dependents.  

Javier’s wages ........................................................... $ 2,940 
Joint taxable interest ................................................. 1,000 
Joint exempt interest ................................................. 3,500 
Joint dividends ............................................................. 2,500 
Domenica’s fully taxable pension ......................... 2,500 
Javier’s fully taxable pension .................................. 6,000 
Javier’s 1st year IRA withdrawal ............................ 1,200 
Total joint Social Security  .................................... 17,500 
NJ Income Tax withholdings ........................................ 45 
Rent paid ......................................................................  9,600 

The value of Javier’s traditional IRA on December 31, 2017, was $12,455 with previously taxed 
contributions of $10,000. Mr. and Mrs. Mendez must complete Part I of “Worksheet C – IRA 
Withdrawals” in the NJ-1040 resident Income Tax return instructions to determine the taxable and 
excludable portions of the IRA withdrawal. They will keep the worksheet with their tax records and use 
the information in Part I to complete Part II of the worksheet next year.  

They will combine the taxable portion of the IRA withdrawal with their fully taxable pensions to arrive at 
the total taxable pension to report on Line 19a of the New Jersey Income Tax return. They will report the 
excludable portion of the IRA withdrawal on Line 19b. After determining the taxable amount of their 
pension and IRA income, they will be able to use the pension exclusion to reduce their income by up to 
$40,000 because their total income (Line 26, Form NJ-1040) did not exceed $100,000. Because Mr. and 
Mrs. Mendez have less than $40,000 in taxable pension to report on their tax return, they will complete 
“Worksheet D – Other Retirement Income Exclusion” in the NJ-1040 resident Income Tax return 
instructions to see if they qualify for an additional exclusion.  

As New Jersey residents whose gross income did not exceed $20,000 for the year, Mr. and Mrs. Mendez 
have no tax liability to New Jersey but will file the tax return to claim a refund of withholdings. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mendez will not complete Worksheet G (located in the NJ-1040 resident Income Tax return 
instructions) to determine whether to take a property tax deduction or a property tax credit as their 
income is below the filing threshold amount of $20,000. They are, however, eligible for a property tax 
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credit of $50 and will claim the credit on Line 49, Form NJ-1040. Because Mr. and Mrs. Mendez are filing 
Form NJ-1040, they should not file the Property Tax Credit application, Form NJ-1040-H.

Since Mr. Mendez is claiming the “Age 65 or Older” exemption for the first time for Tax Year 2017, he 
must enclose proof of age with the return. See Exemptions for acceptable documentation. 

The following pages show how Mr. and Mrs. Mendez will complete their worksheets and tax return. 

(Partial Worksheet) 
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Example 3 
Bao Nguyen (Age 45) 

SS# 999-78-5543 
12 Terrace View Lane 
Houston, TX 77052 

Mr. Nguyen was a part-year resident of New Jersey. He lived here from January 1, 2017, to January 31, 
2017. Mr. Nguyen files as head of household with one dependent child attending college full-time 
(Chinh, age 19). 

While a New Jersey resident: 

Bao’s wages (from Phila.) ..................................... $ 4,300 
Bao’s wages (from NJ) .............................................. 2,000 
Unreimbursed medical expenses ............................. 300 
Taxable interest ................................................................. 50 
New Jersey Lottery winnings ..................................... 350 
Total NJ Income Tax withheld ...................................... 16 
Philadelphia wage tax paid ........................................ 140 
Rent paid (one month) ................................................ 850 

Income earned while a nonresident: 
(From outside New Jersey)  ............................. $ 65,000 

Although Mr. Nguyen had gross income not exceeding $20,000 while a New Jersey resident, his gross 
income for the entire year was over that amount. He is required to file a New Jersey resident tax return 
for the time he lived in New Jersey and will prorate all deductions and exemptions.  

Mr. Nguyen can deduct unreimbursed medical expenses paid during the period of time he lived in New 
Jersey that exceeded 2% of his New Jersey income. To arrive at that figure, he will complete “Worksheet 
E – Deduction for Medical Expenses” in the NJ‑1040 resident Income Tax return instructions. 

Mr. Nguyen works in Philadelphia and must pay a Philadelphia wage tax on his salary. To calculate the 
amount of his credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction, Mr. Nguyen will complete a New Jersey 
Schedule A. To determine the amount of salary actually taxed by Philadelphia (to be entered on Line 1 of 
Schedule A), the amount of wage tax deducted from Mr. Nguyen’s salary must be divided by the 
Philadelphia nonresident tax rate (.034741 from January 1 to June 30, 2017, and .034654 from July 1 to 
December 31, 2017). He will enter on Line 41, Form NJ-1040 the total amount of credit allowed from his 
Schedule A. He also must enter at Line 41 the jurisdiction code for Philadelphia, which is “52.”  

The following pages show how Mr. Nguyen will complete his New Jersey tax return, New Jersey 
Worksheet G, Schedule A, Worksheet J, and Worksheet E. When Mr. Nguyen completes Schedule A, he 
determines that he will receive a greater benefit by taking a property tax credit. His prorated credit in the 
amount of $4, along with $16 in New Jersey withholdings, will be applied against his $30 tax liability. A 
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balance of $10 is due with his return, but Mr. Nguyen will enclose a check for $30 so that he can donate 
$20 to the New Jersey Children’s Trust Fund.
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Example 4 
Jackson Spencer (Age 41) 

SS# 999-26-4921 
Kaiya Spencer (Age 39) 

SS# 999-26-5814 
222 Pine Bark Drive 
Voorhees, NJ 08360 (Camden County) 
Block 237 Lot 7.2 

Mr. and Mrs. Spencer are full-year residents of New Jersey. They are married and file a joint return. They 
have two dependent children (ages 16 and 13). 

Jackson’s wages.................................................... $ 12,200 
Kaiya’s wages ............................................................... 4,500 
Joint taxable interest .................................................... 100 
Total NJ Income Tax withheld ................................... 250 
Property taxes paid .................................................... 2,370 
Federal earned income credit ..............................  5,616 

Mr. and Mrs. Spencer’s gross income is below the filing threshold amount of $20,000 (married/CU 
couple, filing joint). Although they have no tax liability to New Jersey, they will need to file the tax return 
to claim a refund of withholdings and to apply for the New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit. 

Mr. and Mrs. Spencer will complete their NJ‑1040 down to Line 28. Since they have no tax liability to 
New Jersey, they will continue completing the return with Line 45. They are not eligible to claim a 
property tax deduction/credit because their income is below the filing threshold, and neither is 65 or 
older or blind or disabled.  

When Mr. and Mrs. Spencer filed their federal income tax return, they were eligible and applied for an 
earned income credit. They will calculate their New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit on Worksheet I in 
the NJ-1040 resident Income Tax return instructions and enter the amount on Line 51 of their NJ-1040.  

The following pages show how Mr. and Mrs. Spencer will complete their New Jersey Income Tax return. 
After taking credit for their withholdings and claiming the New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit, they 
will be entitled to a refund of $2,216. However, they are requesting that a $10 donation be made to the 
designated fund of their choice. So, they will receive a refund of $2,206. 
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Example 5 
Fiona Doolittle (Age 55) 

SS# 999-11-3260 
Eliza Doolittle (Age 57) 
SS# 999-21-1221 
222 Alpacca Avenue 
Princeton, NJ 08540 (Mercer County) 

Fiona Doolittle and her civil union partner, Eliza, are full-year residents of New Jersey and file a joint 
return. They have no dependents, but Eliza is permanently disabled. 

Fiona’s wages .......................................................... $15,731 
Fiona’s taxable interest ............................................. 2,128 
Eliza’s disability benefits ........................................... 3,000 
Rent paid ........................................................................ 8,022 

Fiona and Eliza have combined gross income that is below the filing threshold amount of $20,000 
(married/CU couple, filing joint). They do not have any New Jersey withholdings, and they do not qualify 
for a New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit. Therefore, they will not file a New Jersey resident return, 
Form NJ-1040.  

The Doolittles do, however, meet the eligibility requirements for a property tax credit in the amount of 
$50. Because they (1) are not filing a New Jersey Income Tax return, (2) did not own their home on 
October 1, 2017, and (3) claim an exemption for Eliza’s disability, they will fill out the Property Tax Credit 
Application, Form NJ-1040-H, to receive their credit.  

The following page shows how the Doolittles will complete their property tax credit application. 
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For More Information 
Online 
• Division of Taxation website; 

• Email general State tax questions. 
Do not include confidential information such as Social Security or federal tax identification numbers, 
liability or payment amounts, dates of birth, or bank account numbers in your email; 

• Subscribe to NJ Tax E-News, the Division of Taxation’s online information service. 

By Phone 
• Call the Division of Taxation’s Customer Service Center at 609-292-6400; 

• Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) for Hearing-Impaired Users: 1-800-286-6613 (toll-free within NJ, 
NY, PA, DE, and MD) or 609-984-7300. These numbers are accessible only from TTY devices. Submit a 
text message on any New Jersey tax matter and receive a reply through NJ Relay Services (711). 

In Person 
Visit a New Jersey Division of Taxation Regional Information Center. For the address of the center 
nearest you, visit our website or call the Automated Tax Information System at 1-800-323-4400.  

Forms and Publications 
• Visit the Division of Taxation’s website for forms and publications; 

• Call the Forms Request System at 1-800-323-4400 (within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or 609-826-4400 
(touch-tone phones only) to have printed forms or publications mailed to you. NOTE: Due to 
budgetary constraints, supplies are limited and only certain forms and publications can be ordered 
through this system. 

http://www.njtaxation.org/
https://www.state.nj.us/treas/taxation/contactus_tyttaxa.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/forms.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml

