Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-6
Part-Year Residents

This publication is current for the 2017 tax year and has not been updated to include changes for 2018
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Important

e Qualified taxpayers can exclude more pension and other income on the New Jersey return. The
increased exclusion amounts are being phased in over a four-year period. For Tax Year 2017, the
exclusion amounts are up to $40,000 (married/CU couple, filing joint return), $30,000 (single,
head of household, or qualifying widow(er)/surviving CU partner), or $20,000 (married/CU
partner, filing separate return).

e Veterans who were honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from active
duty in the Armed Forces of the United States are eligible for an additional $3,000 exemption.

e Any reference in this bulletin to a spouse also refers to a spouse who entered into a valid same-
sex marriage in another state or foreign nation and a partner in a civil union (CU) recognized
under New Jersey law.

This document is designed to provide guidance to taxpayers and is accurate as of the date issued.
Subsequent changes in tax law or its interpretation may affect the accuracy of this publication.

Introduction

Part-year residents are subject to tax on income received from all sources (both inside and outside New
Jersey) during the portion of the year that they were residents of the state. Likewise, part-year
nonresidents are subject to tax on any income received from New Jersey sources while they were
nonresidents. This bulletin explains:
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Part-Year Residents

¢ Who is a part-year resident/part-year nonresident for New Jersey Income Tax purposes, as well as
who is a full-year resident or nonresident;

e What your New Jersey Income Tax responsibilities are as a part-year resident/part-year nonresident;
e How to complete a part-year New Jersey Income Tax return; and
e When a part-year resident must file both resident and nonresident Income Tax returns with New

Jersey in the same tax year.

NoTE: This bulletin covers filing requirements for individual residents and nonresidents only. The
examples illustrate how to prepare part-year returns for Tax Year 2017. The forms and amounts
(tax rates, income exclusions, etc.) shown in the text and examples may not reflect current
information for other tax years.

For information on estates and trusts, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-12, Estates and Trusts, and the
instructions for the New Jersey Gross Income Tax Fiduciary Return (Form NJ-1041).

Definitions

For New Jersey Income Tax purposes, your residency status depends on where you were domiciled and
where you maintained a permanent home during the tax year. In general, when you change your
domicile to (or from) this state during the year, you are a resident of New Jersey for part of the year
(part-year resident) and a nonresident of New Jersey for part of the year (part-year nonresident). Your
move is generally considered a change of residency status (resident to nonresident or vice versa) if, at
the time you moved, you intended to permanently leave one home and establish a new, fixed, and
permanent home somewhere else.

Full-Year Resident

You were a full-year New Jersey resident if:

¢ New Jersey was your domicile for the entire year, and you did not satisfy all three conditions for
nonresident status (below); or

¢ New Jersey was not your domicile, but you maintained a permanent home in New Jersey for the entire
year and you spent more than 183 days in New Jersey. (Members of the U.S. Armed Forces stationed
in New Jersey and their spouses who are not domiciled in New Jersey are not residents under this
definition.)

Full-Year Nonresident
You were a full-year New Jersey nonresident if:

¢ New Jersey was not your domicile, and you spent 183 days or less here; or

¢ New Jersey was not your domicile, you spent more than 183 days here, but you did not maintain a
permanent home here; or
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Part-Year Residents

¢ New Jersey was your domicile and you met all three of the following conditions for the entire year:
1. You did not maintain a permanent home in New Jersey; and
2. You did maintain a permanent home outside New Jersey; and

3. You did not spend more than 30 days in New Jersey.

Part-Year Resident/Part-Year Nonresident

If, as a result of a change of your domicile, you met the definition of New Jersey resident or nonresident
for only part of the year, you are a resident for part of the year (part-year resident) and a nonresident for
the remainder of that year (part-year nonresident.

Domicile is the place you consider your permanent home—the place where you intend to return after a
period of absence (e.g., vacation, business assignment, educational leave). You have only one domicile,
although you may have more than one place to live. Your domicile does not change until you move to a
new location with the intent to establish your permanent home there and to abandon your New Jersey
domicile. Moving to a new location, even for a long time, does not change your domicile if you intend to
remain only for a limited time.

The Division will consider many factors when determining if New Jersey is your domicile, including your
intent, where you register to vote, your driver’s license and vehicle registration, where you have family
ties, whether your federal tax return lists New Jersey as a home address, location of bank accounts,
whether you claimed a Homestead Benefit, etc. You can have only one domicile at a time. The burden of
proof is on the person asserting a change of domicile to show that the necessary intention existed to
abandon his or her domicile in one location and to establish a fixed and permanent home in another.

A permanent home is a residence (a building or structure where a person can live) that you maintain
permanently as your household, whether you own it or not. It usually includes a residence your spouse
owns or leases.

Your home, whether inside or outside New Jersey, is not permanent if you maintain it only during a
temporary or limited period of time, no matter how long, for the accomplishment of a particular purpose
(e.g., temporary job assignment). Likewise, a home used only for vacations is not a permanent home.

If New Jersey is your domicile, you are considered a resident for New Jersey tax purposes un/essyou
meet all three conditions for nonresident status. (See Full-Year Nonresident) If New Jersey is not your
domicile, you are only considered a New Jersey resident if you maintain a permanent home and spend
more than 183 days here.

Filing Requirements

Your filing status and gross income determine whether you have to file a New Jersey Income Tax return.
Age is not a factor in determining whether you must file. Even minors (including students) and senior
citizens must file if they meet the income filing requirements.
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Part-Year Residents

To find out whether or not you are required to file a New Jersey Income Tax return, use the "Who Must
File a New Jersey Income Tax Return” chart in either the resident (Form NJ-1040) or nonresident (Form
NJ-1040NR) return booklet or see Who Must File on our website.

Time Period Covered by Return (Full-Year or Part-Year)

The period covered by your return will be 12 months (full-year return) or less than 12 months (part-year
return). Most taxpayers use a calendar year (January 1-December 31) to record their income. Fiscal year
filers use a different period (e.g., July—June). This bulletin assumes that you are a calendar year filer.

New Jersey has two personal Income Tax returns for individuals: Form NJ-1040 for residents and Form
NJ-1040NR for nonresidents. New Jersey does not have separate tax returns for part-year residents or
part-year nonresidents. You must use either Form NJ-1040 or Form NJ-1040NR (or both), depending on
your residency status during the year, and show the income you received during the period of time
covered by the return. Part-year residents use the same form as full-year residents (Form NJ-1040) and
indicate the period of their New Jersey residency above Line 1. The return should show only the income
received during that period. Likewise, part-year nonresidents use the same form as full-year
nonresidents (Form NJ-1040NR) and indicate above Line 1 the period of time they were New Jersey
residents.

If you file a part-year nonresident return, you a/so will file a part-year resident return, unless you had no
income during the part of the year you were a resident. You must allocate your income between the
resident and nonresident returns as appropriate. That is, report the income you received during the time
you were a resident on your part-year resident return, and report the income you received during the
part of the year you were a nonresident on your part-year nonresident return.

Examples

1. Emilia Villanueva was a New Jersey resident from January 1 through December 31. She files a full-
year resident return showing the income she received during the 12-month period January—
December.

2. Kosuke and Yui Watanabe were New Jersey residents from May 1 to December 31. They must file a
part-year resident return and report the income they received during their period of residency (May-
December).

NoTE: If they had income from New Jersey sources between January 1 and April 30, the period when
their residency status was “nonresident,” they must file a New Jersey part-year nonresident
return too. (See Part-Year Nonresidents.)

3. Evette Henderson was a full-year resident of New York who worked in New Jersey from July through
November. She files a full-year nonresident return because she was a nonresident for the entire year.
Her New Jersey nonresident return will show the income she received during the period she was a
nonresident i.e., January-December.

Rev. 12/17 4


http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/njit23.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml

Part-Year Residents

4. Neil Crenshaw worked in New Jersey for the entire year. For three months of the year, he was a New
Jersey resident and for the remaining nine months, a Delaware resident. Neil must file two New
Jersey Income Tax returns: (1) a part-year resident return showing the income he received during the
three months he was a New Jersey resident and (2) a part-year nonresident return showing his
income during the period he was a nonresident of New Jersey.

Residency Status and Income

Your residency status and income determine whether you are required to file a New Jersey Income Tax
return.

Filing Thresholds

Gross Income From All

Filing Status Sources for the Entire Year
Single
Married/CU Partner Filing Separate Return $10,000
Married/CU Couple Filing Joint Return

$20,000

Head of Household
Qualifying Widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner

Full-Year Residents—

o You must file a full-year New Jersey resident Income Tax return if you were a New Jersey resident for
the entire year, and your gross income for the entire year was more than the filing threshold amount
(see chart above).

e You are not required to file a New Jersey Income Tax return if you were a New Jersey resident for the
entire year, and your gross income for the entire year was equal to or less than the filing threshold
amount.

NoTE: If you are a full-year resident and your income is equal to or less than the amount required to file
a tax return, you must file a New Jersey resident return to claim a refund of Income Tax withheld
or estimated payments made. You also must file a return to receive a New Jersey Earned Income
Tax Credit even if you have no tax liability with New Jersey.

Part-Year Residents—

o You must file a part-year New Jersey resident Income Tax return if you were a New Jersey resident for
part of the year, and your gross income from all sources for the entire year was more than the filing
threshold amount (see chart), and you received any income (whether from New Jersey sources or not)
during the part of the year you were a New Jersey resident.
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Part-Year Residents

You are subject to tax on the income shown on your part-year resident return if your gross income for
the entire year was more than your filing threshold amount, even if the income you reported on your
part-year return for the period of New Jersey residency was equal to or less than the filing threshold
amount.

No New Jersey Income Tax is due if the income you received during the entire year was equal to or
less than the filing threshold amount. If your gross income for the entire year was not more than your
filing threshold amount, enclose a copy of your federal income tax return when you file your part-year
New Jersey return. If you did not file a federal return, enclose a statement with your New Jersey return
certifying that your income for the entire year was equal to or less than the filing threshold amount.

NoTE: When you are a part-year New Jersey resident, you are a nonresident for the remainder of that
year. See the filing requirements for part-year nonresidents.

Examples

1. During 2017, Jacinda Owens, single, was a resident of California for 10 months and a New Jersey
resident for two months. Her income as a California resident totaled $23,000, and the income she
received during the two months she was a New Jersey resident was $2,900. Jacinda is subject to tax
on the $2,900 she received as a part-year New Jersey resident because her income for the entire year
was more than the $10,000 filing threshold amount.

2. Marianne Walters, single, was a New Jersey resident from January through September 2017, when
she moved to Florida and became a resident there. Her income as a New Jersey resident totaled
$5,800, and her income while a Florida resident was $600. Marianne is not required to file a New
Jersey return, and she owes no New Jersey Income Tax on the $5,800 she received as a part-year
New Jersey resident because her income for the entire year was not more than the $10,000 filing
threshold amount. However, Marianne must file a part-year resident return to claim any refund of
New Jersey Income Tax that was either withheld or remitted through estimated payments. When she
files her 2017 New Jersey return, Marianne must enclose a copy of her federal income tax return or, if
no federal return was filed, a statement certifying that her income for the year was not more than
$10,000.

Full-Year Nonresidents—

o You must file a full-year New Jersey nonresident Income Tax return if you were not a New Jersey
resident for any part of the year, and your gross income for the entire year from all sources (both
inside and outside New Jersey) was more than the filing threshold amount (see chart), and you
received any amount of income from New Jersey sources during the year.

e You are not required to file a return if you were a nonresident for the entire year, and your gross
income from all sources (both inside and outside New Jersey) was equal to or less than the filing
threshold amount.

Rev. 12/17 6



Part-Year Residents

NoTE: If you are a full-year nonresident and your income is equal to or less than the amount at which
you would be required to file a tax return, you must file Form NJ-1040NR to claim a refund of
Income Tax withheld or estimated payments made.

Part-Year Nonresidents—
If you were a New Jersey resident for part of the year, you were a nonresident for the remainder of that
year. File part-year resident and/or nonresident returns as follows:

e You must file both a part-year resident return and a part-year nonresident return if your gross income
from all sources for the entire year was more than the filing threshold amount (see chart), and you
received income (whether from New Jersey sources or not) during the part of the year you were a
resident, and you received any amount of income from New Jersey sources during the part of the year
you were a nonresident.

File only a part-year resident return if you received income (whether from New Jersey sources or not)
during the part of the year you were a resident, but you had no income from New Jersey sources
during the part of the year you were a nonresident. (See Part-Year Residents.)

o You must file only a part-year nonresident Income Tax return if your gross income from all sources for
the entire year was more than the filing threshold amount (see chart), and you had income from New
Jersey sources during the part of the year you were a nonresident, and you had no income during the
part of the year you were a resident.

No New Jersey Income Tax is due if the income you received from all sources during the entire year
was equal to or less than the filing threshold amount. You must file a return to claim a refund of
Income Tax withheld or estimated payments made, or you are eligible for a New Jersey Earned
Income Tax Credit or other credit. You must enclose a copy of your federal income tax return when
you file your part-year New Jersey return. If you did not file a federal return, enclose a statement with
your New Jersey return certifying that your income for the entire year was equal to or less than your
filing threshold amount.

e You do not have to file either a resident or a nonresident return if you received no income during the
part of the year you were a resident, and you had no income from New Jersey sources during the part
of the year you were a nonresident.

Filing Status Considerations

Spouse With Different Residency Status

In general, you must use the same filing status on your New Jersey return as you do for federal income
tax purposes. If you do not file a federal return but are filing a New Jersey return, use the same filing
status that you would have used if you had filed a federal return, unless you are a partner in a civil union.
For more information, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-4, Filing Status.
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If a married couple files a joint federal income tax return, they also must file a joint New Jersey Income
Tax return. If spouses file separate federal returns, separate State returns also must be filed. However, if
you are a civil union couple, your filing status for New Jersey may not match your federal filing status for
the year.

e One spouse New Jersey resident, other spouse nonresident for entire year. If during the entire tax year
one spouse was a resident and the other a nonresident, separate New Jersey returns can be filed, even
if the couple files a joint federal return. The resident should file a resident return and the nonresident
files a nonresident return. They should calculate income and exemptions as if federal married, filing
separate returns had been filed. The spouses have the option of filing a joint return as residents, in
which case their joint income (from both inside and outside New Jersey) would be taxed as if both
were residents.

o Married/civil union couples, both nonresidents; only one has income from New Jersey sources. If both
spouses were nonresidents of New Jersey during the entire tax year and only one had income from
New Jersey sources, the one who had income from New Jersey sources can file a separate New Jersey
return, even if a joint federal return was filed. The one with income from New Jersey sources can
calculate income and exemptions as if a federal married, filing separate return had been filed. The
couple has the option of filing a joint return, in which case their joint income must be shown on the
nonresident return. For more information on completing the nonresident return, see the instructions
for Form NJ-1040NR.

Remember: You must file a nonresident return if you received any income from New Jersey sources as a
nonresident, and your income from all sources (both inside and outside New Jersey) for the entire year
was more than the filing threshold amount. See chart.

How Residents and Nonresidents Are Taxed

Residents. New Jersey residents are subject to tax on their income from all sources, whether the income
is from inside or outside New Jersey. As a part-year New Jersey resident, you must report on your
resident return all income you received during the time you were a New Jersey resident, whether in the
form of money, goods, property, benefits, or services, unless specifically excluded by law. Married/civil
union couples filing jointly must report the income of both spouses.

The following are some examples of income you must report if earned or received while you were a
resident of New Jersey: wages, fees, or commissions earned in New Jersey or elsewhere (including a
foreign country); interest received on a bank account whether located inside or outside New Jersey; gain
from the sale of property both inside and outside New Jersey; net gambling winnings, including New
Jersey Lottery winnings from prize amounts over $10,000; net profits from a business, regardless of
where the business is located.

Remember: \When completing your part-year resident return, report only the income you received
during the time period covered by your resident return.
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Part-year residents must prorate all exemptions, deductions, and credits, as well as the pension and
other retirement income exclusions, to reflect the period covered by their return. For example, a full-year
New Jersey resident is entitled to a $1,000 personal exemption; whereas a resident for six months is
entitled to a personal exemption of only $500. (See Completing a Part-Year Resident Return.)

For more information on completing the resident return, see instructions for Form NJ-1040.

Nonresidents. For nonresidents, New Jersey Income Tax liability is based on the percentage of their
total income that comes from New Jersey. The income section of the New Jersey nonresident return has
two columns—Column A, income from everywhere, and Column B, income from New Jersey sources. In
the first column, report your income from all sources (both inside and outside New Jersey) as if you were
a resident. In the second column, list only income that was derived from New Jersey sources.
Pennsylvania residents, see page 20.

In accordance with federal legislation (Service members Civil Relief Act, P.L. No. 108-189) nonresident
servicepersons are notrequired to include their military pay in either their “income from everywhere”
(Column A) or “income from New Jersey Sources” (Column B) on the New Jersey nonresident return.

In addition, under the federal Military Spouses Residency Relief Act (P.L. 111-97) a military service
member’s nonmilitary spouse who meets certain requirements is allowed to keep a tax domicile while
moving from state to state. Under the Act, a qualified nonmilitary spouse is considered a nonresident
and is not subject to New Jersey Income Tax on earned income from services performed in New Jersey.
Nonresident civilian spouses are subject to tax on all other types of income from New Jersey sources,
such as a gain from the sale of property.

For more information, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-7, Military Personnel.

Remember: When completing your part-year nonresident return, report in each column only the
income you received during the time period covered by your nonresident return.

As a nonresident, your tax is calculated on your income from all sources as if you were a New Jersey
resident, and then prorated based on the amount of that income that comes from New Jersey sources.
In other words, your final New Jersey Income Tax liability is based on the percentage of your income that
comes from New Jersey.

For more information on completing the nonresident return, see instructions for Form NJ-1040NR.
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COMPLETING A PART-YEAR RESIDENT RETURN

Important Points:

o Enter dates of your New Jersey residency above Line 1;

e Report income, withholdings, and payments for period of New Jersey residency only;

e Prorate exemptions, deductions, exclusions, and credits based on residency period;

¢ If you also complete a part-year nonresident return, allocate your income, withholdings, and
payments between the two returns as appropriate.

If you were a New Jersey resident for )
NJ RESIDENCY OMLY part of the taxable year, give the M| M DIDI/YI|Y
STATUS period of New Jersey residency: From

MM/ DID|/|Y]|Y

To

1. NJ Residency Status. Show the beginning and ending dates of your residency in New Jersey during
the year. If you were a resident for 15 days or more of a month, that month counts as a month of
residence. For example, if you were a New Jersey resident from January 27, 2017, to July 21, 2017,
you were a resident for six months.

14. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (Endose W-2) 14

Be sure to use State wages from Box 16 of your W-2(s). See instructions............... f !
15a. Taxable interest income (See instructions) 15a

(Enclose federal Schedule B if over L5000 e 1 I
15b. Tax-exempt interest income (See instructions) 158

(Enclose Schedule) DO MOT include on Line 15a...o.... f
16, DIVAENES. oo 16 i :
17. Met profits from business (Schedule MJ-BUS-1. Part [ Line 4) 17

(Enclose copy of federal Schedule C, FOmmM L0400 o k k
18. Met gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule B, Line d)_____ 18 i i
19a. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA withdrawals (See instructions) ... 19a \
19b. Excludable Pensions, Annuities, and IRA withdrawals ... |19b ! \
20. Distributive Share of Partnership Income (5chedule MJ-BUS-1, Part I, Line 4)

(See instructions) (Enclose Schedule NJK-1 or federal Schedule K-1h. oo 20 k ,
21 Met pro rata share of 5 Corporation Income (Schedule MI-BUS-1, Part I, Line 4) 21

(See instructions) (Enclose Schedule MJ-K-1 or federal Schedule K-1).. oo '
22. Met gains or income from rents, ro}alhes pah:—nts & CDP}'TIghtS 22

(Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, Line 4).... f
23. Net Gambling Winnings (See instructions).__________________________ 23 i
24 Alimony and separate maintenance payments received 24 I
25, Other (Enclose Schedule) (S8 INSTMUCHIONS) oo 25

2. Income. Complete Lines 14-25. Enter the total amount you received in each category of income
during your period of residency in New Jersey (dates shown above Line 1).
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26. Total Income (Add Lines 14, 153, 16, 17, 18, 193, and 20 throwgh 25) . | 6 | | |,| | | |.-| | | | | | |

27a. Pension Exclusion [See iMEEMBCTRIMIE]. ..o oo eecesssscemeessssstsemm s seeseeees st emeenseestinene

27b. Cther Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and instructions)..... e | 2]"h| | | | | | | | |

Z7c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 273 and Ling 275) oo | 27c

28. Mew Jersey Gross Income (Subtract Line 27¢ from Line 26). o | 28 | | | | | | | |
(See instructions). o 3

3. Pension and Other Retirement Income Exclusion.
(a) Pension Exclusion (Line 27a). The pension exclusion is only available to taxpayers who had total
income for the entire year of $100,000 or less before subtracting any pension exclusion. If you were a
New Jersey resident for only part of the taxable year, you must use your total income for the entire
Yyearto determine whether or not you qualify for the pension exclusion. If you qualify, prorate the
pension exclusion amount by the number of months you were a New Jersey resident by using the
formula below. For this calculation, 15 days or more is a month. Use the prorated pension exclusion
amount when completing Line 27a.

NoTE: When you and your spouse file a joint return and only one of you is 62 or older or disabled,
you can claim the full amount of the prorated exclusion. However, only the income of the one
who is 62 or older or disabled can be excluded.

(b) Other Retirement Income Exclusion (Line 27b). If you (and/or your spouse if filing jointly) were 62
or older on the last day of the tax year, you may qualify to exclude other income on Line 27b. There
are two parts to the total exclusion: Part I, the unclaimed portion of your prorated pension exclusion,
and Part II, a special exclusion for taxpayers who cannot receive Social Security or Railroad
Retirement benefits.

PRORATING THE PENSION EXCLUSION:

Months of NJ Residence

Total Pension Exclusion Amount X B = Prorated Pension Exclusion Amount
Example

A 65-year-old, single taxpayer who was a New 4

Jersey resident for four months of the 2017 Tax $30,000 X 12 ~ $10,000

Year prorates the pension exclusion amount like this:

Do not complete Worksheet D in the NJ-1040 instructions to calculate the total exclusion amount
you are eligible to claim. Instead, calculate your total exclusion as follows:

Part L. Total the earned income (wages, net profits from business, partnership income, and S
corporation income) you received for the entire year. If your earned income for the entire year was
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$3,000 or less and you did not use your entire prorated pension exclusion on Line 27a, you may be
able to use the unclaimed pension exclusion on Line 27b provided total income for the entire year
was $100,000 or less.

Part IL. If you cannot receive Social Security or Railroad Retirement benefits but would have been
eligible for benefits had you fully participated in either program, you also may be eligible for an
additional exclusion, whether or not you used all of your prorated pension exclusion on Line 27a.

NoTE: When you and your spouse file a joint return and only one of you is 62 or older, you can
claim the full amount of the prorated exclusion. However, only the income of the one who is
62 or older can be excluded.

More Information. For more detailed information on pension, annuity, and IRA withdrawal income
and the New Jersey income exclusions, see Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-1, Pensions and Annuities, and
GIT-2, IRA Withdrawals. For information on Roth IRAs, see Technical Bulletin TB-44, Roth IRAs. For
information on calculating your partnership and S corporation income, see Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-
9P, Income From Partnerships, and GIT-9S, Income From S Corporations.

29.

30

3L

32

33

34

35.

36.

Total Exemption Amount (See instructions to calculate amoUnt) ... 29

(Part-Year Residents see instructions) d
Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and Instmuctions) .. e 30 r
Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments oo cescesmsse s 3 ,
Qualified Consema@tiom GO .o et s e ess s 32 ¥
Health Enterprise Zone DeaUCHION ... oo ermesm oo st 33 i
Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule MI-BUS-2, Ling 11) e e K
Total BExemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, and 34) e 33 K
Taxable Income (Subtract Line 35 from Line 28) If zero or less, MAKE MO ENTRY. 36 \ r

Exemptions. You must prorate the exemption allowance amount based on the number of months
you were a New Jersey resident. For this calculation, 15 days or more is a month. First determine the
full value of your exemptions as follows:

From Line 12a x $1,000 =

From Line 12b x $1,500

From Line 12c x $3,000

Total Exemption Amount
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Part-Year Residents

Once you have calculated your Total Exemption Amount, use the formula below and then enter the
prorated exemption amount on Line 29.

PRORATING THE EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE:

Total Exemption Amount X Months of NJ Residence _ Prorated Exemption Amount

12

5. Deductions.
(a) Medical Expenses (Line 30). You can deduct certain medical expenses for which you were not
reimbursed by insurance or any other plan, qualified Archer medical savings account (MSA)
contributions, and health insurance costs of the self-employed. Complete Worksheet E in the
resident return instructions (Form NJ-1040) to calculate your deduction for medical expenses.
Include only those expenses that were incurred and paid during the period of time you were a New
Jersey resident.

(b) Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments (Line 31). You can deduct alimony and separate
maintenance payments paid for the period of time you were a New Jersey resident. Child support
payments are not deductible.

(¢) Qualified Conservation Contribution (Line 32). You can deduct the amount of any qualified
conservation contribution you made during the period of time you were a New Jersey resident.

(d) Health Enterprise Zone (Line 33).If you provide primary care services in a qualified medical or
dental practice you own that is located in or within five miles of a designated Health Enterprise Zone
(HEZ), you may be able to deduct a percentage of the net income from that practice. For information
on eligibility requirements and how to calculate the HEZ deduction, see Technical Bulletin TB-56,
Health Enterprise Zones.

(e) Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Line 34). If you report net business loss(es) on
Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Business Income Summary Schedule, you may be eligible for an income
adjustment based on the business income (losses) incurred for the period of time you were a New
Jersey resident. Complete Schedule NJ-BUS-2 in the resident return instructions (Form NJ-1040) to
calculate the amount of your adjustment.

NoTE: New Jersey does not allow deductions for adjustments taken on the federal return such as
employee business expenses or IRA and Keogh Plan contributions.
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Part-Year Residents

37a Total Property Taxes (18% of Rent) Paid (See instructions) | 37a

7o Bk L PP PP P[] o] | ]
7. County/Municipality Code |:|:|:|:| Fill in oval if you completed Worksheet G-1 € (See instructions)
33, Property Tax Deduction (From Worksheet G, See instructions] .. | 38 | r| | ‘ | | ‘ |

Worksheet G - Property Tax Deduction/Credit

Review the eligibility requirements before completing Worksheet G. Part-year residents, see instructions.

Complete both columnsz of this worksheet fo find out whether the deduction or the credit is betfer for youw.

1. Property Tax. Enter the Property Taxes from Line 373 of Form MJ-1040.
Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) applicants, do not enter the amount from Line 37a. (See instructions.) 1.

2. Property Tax Deduction. Is the amount on line 1 of this workshest $10,000 or more ($5,000 or more if you and
your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal residence)?
<5 Yes. Enter $10,000 (55,000 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the
same principal residence).
< Mo Enter the amount from line 1.
Alzo enter the amount from this line on line 4, column A below. (Ses instructions.)

[

STOP — if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions.
Complete only lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet ).

(See instructions) Column A Column B
3. Taxable Income (From Line 36 of Form MJ- 1040). 3. 3.
4. Property Tax Deduction (Fram line 2 of this worksheet) ... 4, 4. -0-
5. Taxable Income After Property Tax Deduction (Subtract line 4 from ling 3] e, 5. -3
6. Tax you would pay on line 5 amount (From Tax Table/Tax Rate Schedules) .o, 6. 6.
7. Subtract line 6, column A from line 6, column B and enter the result here 7.
E. Is the line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal residence)?
<2 Yes.  You receive a greater benefit by taking the Property Tax Deduction. Make the following entries on Form RU-1040.
Form MU-1040 Ender amount from:
Line 38 Lime 4, column A
Lime 39 Lime 5. column A
Line 40 Lime 6, column A
Line 42 Make no entry

<2 Mo, You receive a greater benefit from the Property Tax Credit (Part-year residents, see instructions before answering "Mo.”) Make the
following entries on Form MJ-1040.

Form MU-1040 Ender amount from:

Lime 38 Make no entry

Lime 39 Lime 5, column B

Line 40 Lime 6, column B

Line 42 £50 (525 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal

residence). Part-year residents, see instructions.
(Keep for vour records)

6. Total Property Taxes (18% of Rent) Paid (Line 37a). Enter the property taxes, or rent constituting
property taxes (18% of rent), due and paid on your qualified principal residence during your period
of residency in New Jersey. Homeowners who received a Homestead Benefit as a credit on their May
2017 property tax bill must add the amount of that credit to the amount of property taxes paid to
the municipality on their principal residence for 2017 and enter the total on Line 37a.

Block/Lot/Qualifier (Line 37b). If you were a homeowner, enter the Block and Lot Numbers of the
property that you owned and occupied as your principal residence on December 31, 2017, provided
property taxes were paid on that home. If you were not a homeowner on December 31, enter the
information for the last home you owned and occupied during the year. Include qualifier if
applicable (condominiums only). You can obtain this information from your property tax bill or from
your local tax assessor. If you were a tenant, make no entry.
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Property Tax Deduction/Credit (Line 38/Line 49). A part-year resident may be eligible to claim a
deduction (up to 100% of property taxes due and paid or up to $10,000, whichever is less) or
refundable credit (up to $50) for property taxes, or rent constituting property taxes (18% of rent),
due and paid during their period of residency.

If you do not claim credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction, complete Worksheet G to determine
the amount of your property tax deduction and whether you should elect to take the property tax
deduction on Line 38, Form NJ-1040 or the property tax credit on Line 49. If you claim credit for
taxes paid to another jurisdiction, first complete lines 1 and 2 of Worksheet G and then complete
Schedule A and Worksheet J to make this determination. Enter on line 1 of Worksheet G the amount
of property taxes or 18% of rent due and paid during your period of residency from Line 37a, Form
NJ-1040. Complete the balance of the worksheet according to the instructions. The minimum benefit
for a full-year resident is $50 ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but occupied the same
principal residence). You must prorate this minimum benefit based on the number of months you
were a New Jersey resident. For this calculation, 15 days or more is a month. After prorating the
minimum benefit, answer the question at line 8 of Worksheet G based on this prorated amount
rather than the minimum benefit amount. You will then be able to determine whether you will
receive a greater benefit by taking the property tax deduction or claiming the prorated credit.

More Information. For information on claiming credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction, see Tax
Topic Bulletins GIT-3W, Crediit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions (Wage Income), and GIT-3B,
Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions (Business/Nonwage Income). For more detailed
information on the Property Tax Deduction/Credit, see instructions for Form NJ-1040.

42
42, Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 41 from LINe 0. et eces e ems e ssesenanes i "
43
43, Sheltered Workshop Tan Creait oo ce s s cereonees I i
44 Balance of Tax after Credit (Subtract Line 43 from Line d2)_ @ A : \

7. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit. Enter the amount of your Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit from
Part IV, line 12 of Form GIT-317. Allocate the total amount of the credit between your part-year
resident and part-year nonresident returns if appropriate.
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48,  Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099)... . 48 "

49, Property Tax Credit (See instructions) . 49

50. Mew Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2015 tax returm ..o

51 Mew Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (See instructions). 51

Fill in Fill in oval if you had the IRS figure your federal eamed income credit
only one  Fill in owval if you are a CU couple claiming the MJ Earned Income Tax Credit

00

52
52.  EXCESS Mew Jersey ULAWF/SWF Withheld (See instructions) (Enclose Form NJ-2450) .. f

53. EXCESS Mew Jersey Dlsabllrtj,r Insurance Withheld (See instructions) 53
(Enclose Form MJ-2450)._... - I

54 EXCESS Mew Jersey Fam |I3-' Leave Insurance Withheld tSEe instru ttu:uns} 54
(Enclose Form MJ-2450)._...

55. Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 48 through 54)__________________________ |33 | i

8. Tax Withheld/Property Tax Credit/Estimated Payments.
(a) Line 48. Enter the amount of New Jersey Income Tax withheld from wages you earned or other
payments you received while you were a New Jersey resident. If your employer combined wages you
earned as a resident and wages you earned as a nonresident on the same W-2, and you earned
some of those wages from New Jersey while a nonresident, include here only tax withheld during the
period you were a resident. Allocate the New Jersey Income Tax withheld between your part-year
resident and part-year nonresident returns. If you did not earn any of the wages on the W-2 while a
nonresident, report the total New Jersey tax withheld that is shown on the W-2.

(b) Line 49. If you are claiming a property tax credit rather than a property tax deduction, enter the
amount of your prorated credit.

(¢) Line 50. Enter the amount of estimated payments to New Jersey for the period of time you were a
resident. If you made estimated payments both as a resident and as a nonresident, enter on your
part-year resident return the payment(s) made to meet the tax liability for your period of New Jersey
residency. Enter on the part-year nonresident return the payment(s) made to satisfy your tax liability
during the part of the year you were a nonresident. Also enter any amounts paid to qualify for an
extension of time to file.

Worksheet I
Earned Income Tax Credit
1. Enter the amount of your federal earned income credit from your 2017 federal Form 1040 or Form 1040A 1L
Fill in the first oval below Line 51 if you asked the IRS to calculate your federal earned income credit.
Civil union couples, see instructions.

2. Enter 35% of amount on line 1 here and on Line 51, Form NJ-1040. Part-year residents, see instructions. 2.

(Keep for your records)

Rev. 12/17 16



Part-Year Residents

9. New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (Line 51). Most residents who are eligible and file for a
federal earned income credit also can receive a New Jersey credit in the amount equal to 35% of the
federal benefit. Complete Worksheet I to calculate the amount for Line 51, Form NJ-1040. However,
you must prorate your credit based on the number of months you were a New Jersey resident. For
this calculation, 15 days or more is a month.

You must file Form NJ-1040 to receive a New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit, even if you are not
required to file a return because your gross income is equal to or less than the filing threshold
amount. (See Part-Year Residents.)

NorTE: If your filing status is married/CU partner, filing separate return, you cannot claim a New
Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (NJEITC).

If you asked the Internal Revenue Service to calculate your federal earned income credit, fill in the
first oval below Line 51, Form NJ-1040. (Civil union couples should not fill in this oval even if one or
both of you is eligible for a federal credit and asked the IRS to calculate the amount. See the
instructions for Civil Union Couples below.) The IRS is expected to provide information to the
Division of Taxation in October 2018. Please allow at least 4—-6 weeks for the Division to process the
information and issue a check for your New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit.

Civil Union Couples. If you file a joint federal return, complete Worksheet I to calculate your NJEITC.
If you did not file a joint federal return and want to determine if you are eligible for the NJEITC,
prepare a federal return as if you were married, filing jointly and calculate the amount of the federal
earned income credit you would have been eligible to receive on a joint federal return. Once you
have determined the amount of the federal credit you would have received as joint filers, you must
use that amount on Worksheet I to calculate your New Jersey credit. Fill in only the second oval
below Line 51 indicating you are a civil union couple.

PRORATING THE NEW JERSEY EARNED INCOME TAX CREDIT:

Months of NJ Residence
12

Total New Jersey EITC Amount X = Prorated New Jersey EITC Amount
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MJ-1040-H STATE OF NEW JERSEY
2017 PROPERTY TAX CREDIT APPLICATION

Single MNJ RESIDEMCY STATUS
ec/CL Co ina io ~ Y Y
Marriad/CU Couple. filing feint return 6. IFyou were a Mew lersey resident for Fram E| |E|‘;|E| |E|

Married/CU Partner, filing separate return ORNLY part of the taxablz year, give the

Head of housshold period of Mew lersey residency: T E| |E|K|E| |E|
Qualifying widow(er)Sundving CU Partner @

Do Not File This Property Tax Credit Application If You:

+ Have Filed Or Will File a 2017 New Jersey Resident Return, Form NJ-1040; Or

+ Were a New Jersey Homeowner on October 1, 2017; Or

+ Were Under Age 65 and NOT BElind or Disabled on December 31, 2017 Or

+ Had New Jersey Gross Income for 2017 of More Than $20,000 (More Than $10,000
if Filing Status is Single or Married/CU Partner, Filing Separate Return).

00000

7a. On December 31, 2007, were you age 65 of older? Yourself = Yes = Mo
Spouse/CL Partner = Yes = Mo
7b. On December 31, 2017, were you blind or disabled? Yourself —— Yes = Mo
Spouse/CL Partner — Yes = Mo

If you (and your spouse/CL partner) did not meet the age or disability requirements, do not file Form MJ-1040-H. See instructions.

8. On October 1, 2017, did you own and occupy & home in Mew Jersey as your principal residence? > Yes <= Mo
If *¥es” STOP. Do not file Form MJ-1040-H. See instructions.

9. Indicate whether at amy time during 2017 you either owned a home or rented a dwelling in Mew Jersey as your principal residence on which
Property Taxes (or rent) were paid. Fill in the appropriate oval. If you were both a homeowner and a tenant during the year. fill in "Both.”

<= Homeowner <= Tenant <= Both <= MNeither (Fill in only one)

If "Homeowner™ or “Tenant” or “Bath,” you may be asked to provide proof of Property Taxes or rent paid on your principal residence.
If you were neither a homeowner nor a tenant, STOP. You are not eligible for a Property Tax Credit. Do not file Form MNI-1040-H.

el DAL LT TR
r -

Enter the amount of income you would have reported on Line 28, Form MJ-1040 if you had filed the tax return. See instructions.

10. Enter your MEW JERSEY GROSS INCOME

10. Property Tax Credit Application Only. Certain eligible senior/disabled homeowners and tenants
can use the Property Tax Credit Application (Form NJ-1040-H) instead of Form NJ-1040 to apply for
the property tax credit only.

Use Form NJ-1040-H onlyif you:
e Were 65 or older or blind or disabled on December 31, 2017, and

e Had gross income from everywhere for the entire year of $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if filing
status is single or married/CU partner, filing separate return), and

¢ Have not filed and will not file a 2017 New Jersey resident Income Tax return, and
¢ Did not own your principal residence in New Jersey on October 1, 2017.
Do not file Form NJ-1040-H if you owned and occupied your principal residence in New Jersey on

October 1, 2017. Your property tax credit will automatically be included with your Homestead
Benefit, provided you file a Homestead Benefit application.
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New Jersey Gross Income (Line 10). When completing Line 10, Form NJ-1040-H, you must include
your gross income for the entire year from all sources (both inside and outside New Jersey).

COMPLETING A PART-YEAR NONRESIDENT RETURN

Important Points:

e Enter the dates you were a New Jersey resident above Line 1;

e Report income, withholdings, and payments for period of New Jersey nonresidency only;
When reporting your income, fill out both Column A and Column B completely;

Prorate exemptions, deductions, exclusions, and credits based on nonresidency period;
If you also complete a part-year resident return, allocate your income, withholdings, and payments

between the part-year resident and part-year nonresident returns as appropriate.

Your Social Security Number Last Name, First Name and Initial (foint filers enter first name and initial of each—Enter spouse’s/CU partner’s last name OMLY if different) Pl label
ace label
| | on form if all
Spouse’s/CU Partner's Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route) Change of Address [ _pmp”nt?d
Social Security Number information
Is correct.
Otherwise,
4 You must enter your 5SN(s) above 4| City, Town, Post Office State Zip Code print or
State of Residency (outside NJ) type your name
and address.
NJ RESIDENCY If you were a New Jersey resident for ANY part of the From To
STATUS taxable year, give the period of New Jersey residency. MONTH DAY  YEAR MONTH DAY  YEAR

Filing Status
(Check only ONE box)
1. O Single

2. O Married/CU Couple, filing joint return
3. O Married/CU Partner, filing separate return

Mame and SSN of Spouse/CU Partner
4. O Head of household
5. O Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner

NZOm—vsSmxm

Regular Yourself [ Spouse/ [0 Domestic
CU Partner Partner

Age 65 or Over [0 Yourself [J Spouse/CU Partner

6.
7.
8. Blind or Disabled [ Yourself [J Spouse/CU Partner
9. Number of your qualified dependent children

10. Number of other dependents

11. Dependents attending colleges (See instructions)

12. Totals (For Line 12a—Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 11)
(For Line 12b—Add Line 9 and Line 10)

12c. Veteran Exemption [ Yourself [ Spouse/CU Partner

1. Residency Status.

(a) Complete the “State of Residency (outside NJ)" box below your Social Security number(s) at the

top of the return. Indicate the place outside New Jersey where you lived for the period of

nonresidency. If you lived at more than one location, give the most recent.

(b) Show the beginning and ending dates of your residency in New Jersey during the tax year.

NoTE: When you file a part-year nonresident return, you are likely to be required to file a part-year
resident return too (see page 6). The part-year resident return covers the period of New
Jersey residency shown above Line 1, and the part-year nonresident return covers the portion
of the year you were not a resident of New Jersey. If you were a nonresident for 15 days or
more of a month, that month counts as a month of nonresidence. For example, if you were a
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New Jersey resident from September 27, 2017, to December 31, 2017, you were a
nonresident for nine months. (See Exemptions.)

. — State {Column &) (Column B)
Driver's License # | | | | | ‘ | | | | | | ‘ ‘ | | AMOUNT OF GROSS INCOME AMOUNT FROM
(Voluntary) (EVERYWHERE) MEW JERSEY SOURCES
14, Wages, salaries, tips. and other employee compensation ...
Check box if you completed Lines 61 through 67 O 14 14
15, Interest... TSRS US OOV I B | 15
16. DIVIdE'ndS S I | 1
17. Net profits Trc-m bhsmess[ thedule MJ- BL.IS 1 F‘art] Line 4] R I ¥
18. Net gains or income from disposition of property (From Line 63-} SO [ I

19. Net gains or income from rents, roj,-alhe-s patents. and u:u::pyngr'rlz.

pa [ =2 =
=3 = oo | = [

(Schedule MJ-BUS-1, Part I, Line 4).... 19
20. Net gambling winnings (See Inst rudmns] S—— . |
21 Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals.. e | 21
22 Distributive Share of Partnership Income (5 thedule NJ EUS l Part I]I Llne 4:| e | 22 22
23. Net pro rata share of 5 Corporation Income (Schedule MJ-BUS-1, Part IV, Line 4)...... [ 23 23

24
25 2

26 26
27a

24 Alimony and separate maintenance payments received ...
25, Other—State Mature and Source
26. TOTAL INCOME (Add Lines 14 through 25).

27a. Pension Exclusion [See Instructions) .

|

27b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion :See WDrL.heet and [nstmthc-ns} — |} 27b
27c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Ling 278) e | 27 2ic
28. Gross Income (Subtract Line 27¢ from Ling 28] e | 28 28

2. Income. Complete both Columns A and B, Lines 14-26. Include only income you received for the
part of the year you were a nonresident. Report in Column A income from all sources (both inside
and outside New Jersey) as if you were a resident; in Column B, show your income from New Jersey
sources. Follow the nonresident return instructions for completing each line. For every entry in
Column A, there should be an entry on the corresponding line in Column B. If none of the income in
Column A is from New Jersey sources, enter “0” in Column B. In certain circumstances, the amount in
Column B can be more than the amount in Column A. No entry is needed on Line 21, Column B since
pension, annuity, and IRA withdrawal income is not taxable to nonresidents. There is also no entry
needed on Line 24, Column B since Alimony and separate maintenance payments received are not
taxable to nonresidents.

Pennsylvania residents are not subject to Income Tax on wages they earn in New Jersey. Therefore,
if you are a Pennsylvania resident, you must report all your wages (including wages earned in New
Jersey) in Column A, and “0” should be entered in Column B.

This exception applies only to wages. Pennsylvania residents are subject to New Jersey tax on other
types of income from New Jersey sources. For example, winnings from a casino or racetrack located
in New Jersey or net profits from a business located in New Jersey must be reported in both Column
A and Column B.
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3. Pension and Other Retirement Income Exclusion.
(a) Pension Exclusion (Line 27a).
Column A: If you were a New Jersey nonresident for only part of the taxable year and had total
income from all sources for the entire year of $100,000 or less, you may qualify for a pension
exclusion if you meet the other eligibility requirements. If you qualify, prorate the exclusion by the
number of months you were a New Jersey nonresident. For this calculation, 15 days or more is a
month. See the description of how to prorate the pension exclusion amount.

NoTE: When you and your spouse file a joint return and only one of you is 62 or older or disabled,
you can claim the full amount of the prorated exclusion. However, only the income of the one
who is 62 or older or disabled can be excluded.

Column B: No entry is necessary in Column B since pension, annuity, and IRA withdrawal income is
not taxable to nonresidents.

(b) Other Retirement Income Exclusion (Line 27b, Columns A and B). If you (and/or your spouse if
filing jointly) were 62 or older on the last day of the tax year, you may qualify to exclude other
income on Line 27b. There are two parts to the total exclusion. Part I is the unclaimed portion of your
prorated pension exclusion, and Part Il is a special exclusion for taxpayers who cannot receive Social
Security or Railroad Retirement benefits. Do not complete Worksheet D in the NJ-1040NR
instructions to calculate the total exclusion amount you are eligible to claim. Instead, calculate your
total exclusion as follows:

Part I. Total the earned income (wages, net profits from business, partnership income, and S
corporation income) you received from all sources for the entire year. If your earned income for the
entire year was $3,000 or less and you did not use your entire prorated pension exclusion on Line
27a, you may be able to use the unclaimed pension exclusion on Line 27b provided total income
from all sources for the entire year before subtracting any pension exclusion was $100,000 or less;

Part II. If you cannot receive Social Security or Railroad Retirement benefits, but would have been
eligible for benefits had you fully participated in either program, you also may be eligible for an
additional exclusion, whether or not you used all of your prorated pension exclusion at Line 27a.

NoTE: When you and your spouse file a joint return and only one of you is 62 or older, you can
claim the full amount of the prorated exclusion. However, only the income of the one who is
62 or older can be excluded.

More Information. For information on calculating your partnership and S corporation income, see
Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-9P, Income From Partnerships, and GIT-9S, Income From S Corporations. For
more information on pension, annuity, and IRA withdrawal income and the New Jersey income
exclusions, see Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-1, Pensions and Annuities, and GIT-2, IRA Withdrawals.
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30.
L
32
33
M
35.
36.
37

Total Exemption Amount (See instructions) ... 30
Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and Instructions) ... 31
Alimony and separate maintenance payments ... 32
Qualified Conservation Contribution ... 33
Health Enterprise Zone Dedwction ... 34
Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule MJ-BUS-2, Line 11)..... 35
Total Exemptions and Deductions {Add Lines 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, and 35)........ 36
TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 36 from Line 29, Column A) .o 37

4.

Exemptions. You must prorate the exemption allowance amount based on the number of months
you were a New Jersey nonresident. For this calculation, 15 days or more is a month. First determine
the full value of your exemptions as follows:

From Line 12a x $1,000 =

From Line 12b x $1,500

From Line 12c¢ x $3,000

Total Exemption Amount

Once you have calculated your Total Exemption Amount, use the formula below and then enter the
prorated exemption amount on Line 30.

PRORATING THE EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE:

Total Exemption Amount x Months of NJ Nonresidence - prorated Exemption Amount
12

Deductions.

(a) Medical Expenses (Line 31). You can deduct certain medical expenses for which you were not
reimbursed by insurance or any other plan, qualified Archer medical savings account (MSA)
contributions, and health insurance costs of the self-employed. Complete Worksheet E in the
nonresident return instructions (Form NJ-1040NR) to calculate your deduction for medical expenses.
Include only those expenses that were incurred and paid during the period of time you were a New
Jersey nonresident.

(b) Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments (Line 32). You can deduct alimony and separate
maintenance payments paid for the period of time you were a New Jersey nonresident. Child support
payments are not deductible.

(¢) Qualified Conservation Contribution (Line 33). You can deduct the amount of any qualified
conservation contribution you made during the period of time you were a New Jersey nonresident.
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(d) Health Enterprise Zone (Line 34). If you provide primary care services in a qualified medical or
dental practice you own that is located in or within five miles of a designated Health Enterprise Zone
(HEZ), you may be able to deduct a percentage of the net income from that practice. For information
on eligibility requirements and how to calculate the HEZ deduction, see Technical Bulletin TB-56,
Health Enterprise Zones.

(e) Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Line 35). If you report net business loss(es) on
Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Business Income Summary Schedule, you may be eligible for an income
adjustment based on the business income (losses) incurred for the period of time you were a New
Jersey nonresident. Complete Schedule NJ-BUS-2 in the nonresident return instructions (Form NJ-
1040NR) to calculate the amount of your adjustment.

NoOTE: New Jersey does not allow deductions for adjustments taken on the federal return, such as
employee business expenses or IRA and Keogh Plan contributions.

40. MEW JERSEY TAX (Multiply amount from Line 38 b %6 0N LINE 39) e eemeereenee 40
41. sheltered Workshop Tax Credit (Enclose Form GIT-317. See instructions). . 41
42, Balance of Tax After Credit (Subtract Line 41 from LINE @00 oo esaneseeenanen 42

6. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit. Enter the amount of your Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit from
Part IV, line 12 of Form GIT-317. Allocate the total amount of the credit between your part-year
resident and part-year nonresident returns if appropriate.

45. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099).. |45
45. Mew Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2016 tax return............ |46 % Also enter on Line 46
* Payments made in con-

47. Tax paid on your behalf by Partnership(s).... ettt ettt eeneeseeseesaessseenoe | T nection with sale of MJ
48. EXCESS M) UIAWF/SWF Withheld [Enclose Form MJ-2450. real property

See instructions).......... IO - * Payments by 5
49, EXCESS MJ IIiusaI:Hllt_\,r ]ndurance Wlthheld [Enclase FDrm N.I 245Cl corporation for non-

See instructions)_________. . | 48 resident shareholder
50. EXCESS M) Famlly Leave Insurance Withheld [Enclode Form NJ-2450.

See instructions).... O SOOI SRS SO SUSNUR OSSO -1 I
51. Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 45 through 50) . EMTER TOTAL—» | 51

7. Tax Withheld/Estimated Payments.
(a) Line 45. Enter the amount of New Jersey Income Tax withheld from wages you earned or other
payments you received while you were a New Jersey nonresident. If your employer combined wages
you earned as a resident and wages you earned as a nonresident on the same W-2, and you earned
some of those wages from New Jersey while a nonresident, include here only tax withheld during the
period you were a nonresident. Allocate the New Jersey Income Tax withheld between your part-year
resident and part-year nonresident returns if you earned wages from New Jersey as a resident and as
a nonresident.

(b) Line 46. Enter the amount of estimated payments to New Jersey for the period of time you were a
nonresident. If you made estimated payments both as a resident and as a nonresident, enter on your
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Part-Year Residents

part-year resident return the payment(s) made to meet the tax liability for your period of New Jersey
residency. Enter on the part-year nonresident return the payment(s) made to satisfy your tax liability
during the part of the year you were a nonresident. Also enter any amounts paid to qualify for an
extension of time to file.

ALLOCATION OF WAGE AND SALARY

PART II INCOME EARNED PARTLY INSIDE (See instructions if compensation depends entirely on volume of business
AMND OUTSIDE NEW JERSEY transacted or if other basis of allocation is used.)
61. Amount reported on Line 14 in Column A required to be allocated .o | BL
62. Total days in taxable year... 62
63. Deduct nonworking days (_munday_., Saturday;, hollday sick leave, vacation, ete) e | B3
64. Total days worked in taxable year (Subtract Line 63 from LiNg 62) e meeeeeeeremeeresmneeeesneee | B
65, Deduct days worked ouBSIe MNEW JEISEY e eeeems e eese s eessresssmssersrmaererereseeceee || B3
66. Days worked in New Jersey (Subtract Line 65 from Line 64) . SOOI SSSOSUUSHSO OSSO N -

[L!”E 56) 3_( = {Include this amount
(Line &4) {(Enter amount from Line 61)  (Salary earned inside N.J) on Line 14, Col. B)

67. ALLOCATION FORMULA

8. Allocation of Wage and Salary Income Earned Partly Inside and Outside New Jersey. Complete
this section only when you have wage/salary income earned partly inside and partly outside New
Jersey and you cannot readily determine the amount of wage/salary income from New Jersey. For
purposes of completing this section, “total days” on Line 62 means the number of days covered by
your part-year return. Complete Lines 61-67 accordingly.

Check the box at Line 14 if you complete this section.
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Part-Year Residents

Example
Part-Year Resident/Part-Year Nonresident

e Arnav Patel, age 35, and Kashvi Patel, age 32, are married and file a joint federal return. They have two
dependents: their 1-year-old son and Mr. Patel’'s 67-year-old mother;

e The family moved to New Jersey from New York City on April 1. They rented an apartment at 123 EIm
St., Montclair, NJ 07042 from April 1 to December 31 for $750 a month;

e The husband worked for the same employer in New Jersey all year; wages for the year were $72,000;
e The wife's wages for part-time job from September to December were $3,000;
e The couple received $6,400 in interest on their joint accounts and $480 in dividends for the year;

e On March 1, they sold 200 shares of jointly held stock in ABC Corp. for $3,500, purchased the previous
year for $2,800;

e They won $75 in the New York Lottery on February 3 and $62 in the New Jersey Lottery on July 29;
e New Jersey Income Tax withheld: $1,983 for Mr. Patel and $52 for Mrs. Patel;

e Four estimated tax payments of $50 each made to New Jersey on April 15, June 15, September 15,
and January 15 of the following year.
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Part-Year Residents

MNJ-1040MR 2017 STATE OF NEW JERSEY INCOME TAX—MNOMNRESIDENT RETURM
four Social Security Number Last M, First Mame and Initial (oies e emer fiest naree and inkial of esch—Erter spouse’s/0l partrsrs st nases Q8L i Sifenent] .

999 | 34 | 0722 | Patel Arnav and Kashvi Dlace label
Spouse’s/CU Partners Home Address (Mumber ard Strest, includiesy apariment numdkssr o rural poute] Change of Addiress | :::F,;:::d,‘
Social Security Nu‘ll'm-r 123 Elm St S

ggg | DJ. | 3664 ' OtﬂF"A'SE.

Tou must enter your S5[s] abowe City, Town, Past OFf Ceat Tin O ) Enrt =
State of l'{::il:hzn:;-I {owtside M) ,MD:};'Itzairm PWJH_IE D—}Dnzez 'rf:d’::;rl::e
Mew York
NJ RESIDEMCY  f you were a New Jersey resident for ANY part of the From 04-01-17 Ta 12-31-17
STATUS taxable year. give the period of Mew Jersey residency. MONTH DAY  YEAR MONTH DAY  YEAR
Filing Status 6. Regular E Yourself [ Spouss/ [0 Domestic
[Chexck only ONE box) CU Partmer Partner

1 O 35ingle i 7. Age65orOver [J Yoursef [J Spouse/CL Partner
2. @ Married/CU Couple, filing joint return ,f' & Blind or Disabled [J Yoursef [ Spouse/CU Partrer
3. [ Married/CU Partner, filing separate return| 3 o \umber of your qualified dependent children

I

010, Number of other dependents
Mame and 55M of SpoussCU Partner r: ) - ) )
4. [JHead of household 11. Depender'lh.at't'endlng -:c:-lle.ges (See instructions) 11
5. []Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner | |12- Totals EEE: Line 12a—had Hgfgﬁaagaﬁ.uigdulnll | 2

12¢ Veteran Exemption [J Yourself [ Spousa/CU Parmer  |q5c

13. Dependent’s Last Mame, First Mame, Middle Initial Dependent's Social Security Mumber Birth Year
E . Patel, Kabir 999 , 52 , 0222 2016
T} . -
2 , Patel, Myra 999 ;36 ;, 8819 1950
(9
o [ ! !
= . .
d__ . / /
GUBERNATORIAL Dio you wish to designate $1 of your taxes for this fund? Yes M [Moter If you check the “Ves” boudes), it wil
ELECTIONS FUMD If joint return, does your spouse/CU partner wish to designate $17 Yas Mg |rot increase: your tax ar reduce your refund.
Driver’s Li & State {Column A) {Column B}
MVers LICEnse | | AMOUNT OF GROSS AMOUNT FROM
(Veluntary) INCOME (EVERYWHERE) | NEW JERSEY SOURCES
14. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee COMPENSATION ..
Check box if you completed Lines 61 threugh 67 O 14 13000 (00| 14 18000 (3D
B =T = O OSSPSR I 11 1600 |00 | 15 0
L T OSSOSO I - 120 (00| 16 0
17. Met profits from business (Schedule MJ-BUS-1, Part L Line 4] ... 17 17
18. Met gains or income from disposidon of property (From Line 60)... o] 18 J00D |00 | 18 i
1% Met gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights
(Schedule NI-BUS-L, PArt IL LIME ) et esmmee s ees e ememtmsseesieseesseesiemeene | L3
20. Met gambling winnings (5ee Instructions) 20
21. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals._... 21
22 Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule MJ-BUS-1, Part L Line 4} ..o | 22
23. Met pro rata share of 5 Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, Line 4) .| 23 23
24 Alimony and separate maintenance payments received ... 24 24
25, Other—5State Mature amnd SOUNCE e | 20 25
26. TOTAL INCOME (Add Lines 14 through 25) et eeensnesseseemenene | 28 204495 (00| 26 18000 (00
27a. Pension Exclusion (See INstructions) . e | 208
27b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and Instructions) . 27b 27b
27¢. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27b) e | 2T 27c
28. Gross Income (Subtract Line 27¢ f1om Ling 26) .o e mees e sesmeneeneemne | 258 20495 (00 | 28 123000 |00
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Part-Year Residents

Mame{s) as shown on Form NJ-1040MR Your Social Security Mumber
Patel, Arnav and Kashvi 999 | 34 | 0722
29. Gross Income (From page 1, Line 28) oo seeeeseemee | 23 20495 (0D | 29 18000 |'III
30. Total Exemption AMoUnt (588 INSEIUICEONE] e e seee e 0 1250 (00
31 Medical Expenses (See Waorksheet and Instructions) 31
32,  Alimony and separate maintenance payments 32
33, Qualified Conservation Contribution . 33
34 Health Enterprise Zone Deduction... - 34
35, Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Sched ule MJ-BUS-2, Line 11] 35
36. Total Exemptons and Deductions (Add Lines 30, 31, 32,33, 34 and 35). ... 36 1250 |00
37. TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 36 from Line 23, Column A} . 37 19245 (00D
38. Tax on amount on Lime 37 (From Tax Table) - 38 269 |00
39, Income Percentage B. (Line 29)
A (Line 29)

40. MEW JERSEY TAX _
(Muktiply amount from Line 38 ___ 26800 8783 % from Line 39 40 236 | 00

41 Sheltered Waorkshop Tax Credit (Enclose Form GIT-317. See instructions) - |41
42 Balance of Tax After Credit (Subtract Line 41 from Line 40)... S S . 236 | 00

43,  Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax. Check box I:| if Form MJ-2210 is enclosed.. 43

44 Total Tax and Penalty (Add Line 42 and Line 43) — |44 236 | 00
45, Total New Jersey Income Tax Withhald (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099) .. 45 496 |00

46. Mew Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2016 tax return 46 50|00 | = "‘]5:‘ Emerrn':'" 'i;e 46
47. Tax paid on your behalf by Partnership(s) 47 " c:ﬁ::cti;r?witﬁ !snale o
48.  EXCESS MJ UL/WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form MN1-2450. See instructions) ... 48 ril real property

43, EXCESS MJ Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. See instr).... 43 i oy non
S0, EXCESS MJ Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. See instr.) 50 resident shareholder

51 Total Payments/Cradits (Add Lines 45 through S0) et emeseeererenee ENTER TOTAL=#» | 51 546 |00

52. If Line 51 is LESS THAN Line 44 enter AMOUNT YOU OWE 52
53. If Lime 51 is MORE THAM Line 44 enter OVERPAYMEMT ... 53 310 |00
L4 Deductions from COwerpayment on Line 53 which you elect to credit to:
(&) Your 2017 Tax ... S |- Y- 1
(B) NJ. Endangered Wildlife Fund O $10, O $20, O Other T gﬁTEF;TR? ON LINE
(C} M. Children’s Trust Fund O 51{|, [m] $E{|. O Other ENTER caC S4A B C, D.EF, ORG
(D) M. Vietnam Veterans' Memorial Fund 0O $10, O $20, O Other AMOUNT 4D WILL REDULE YOUR TAX
(E] M.J. Breast Cancer Research Fund O $10, O $20, O Other oF S4E REFUND
{F] US55 M. Educational Museumn Fund O $10, O $20. O Other | conyrrmeumon | |54F
(5] Designated Contribution |_]_| O $10, O $20. O Other 4G

EMTER TOTAL = | 55
56 310 |00

55, Total Deductions From Owverpayment (Add Lines 54A, B, C, D, E, F, and G)...
L6 REFUND {Amount to be sent to you. Subtract Line 55 from Line 53)

Pay amount on Line 5.2 in full.
Write Sodal Security number{s)
on check or money order and
make payable to:

STATE OF MEW JERSEY-TGI
Davision of Taxation

Revenue Processing Certer

PO Baox 244

) ) Trenton, M 08646-0244
Your signatume Date Spouse’sfCU Partner's Signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign.)

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and
to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true. comrect, and complete. Iif prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this
dedlaration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

You may also pay by e-check or
credit card.
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Part-Year Residents

PARTI NET GAINS OR INCOME FROM List the net gains or income, less net loss, derived from the sale, exchange, or other

DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY disposition of property including real or personal whether tangible or intangible.
Kind of dd o (b) Datz (c) Date sold (d) Gross sales (= g?;hﬂ;;gig:ﬂs (f) Gain or (loss)
acquire :
(a) Kind of property and description (Mo.qday o) (Mo., day, yr.) price instructions) and (dless e)
R expense of sale

57. 200 shs. ABC Corp. 2-15-16 3-1-17 3500 |00 2800 (00 700 00
58. Capital Gains DistriDUTION i s siss s s ems st sens s s ssss et b s 4 b R 8 sk bt ssn et s masatasssns s snes | DO

59. Other Net Gains...um. 59

60. MNet Gains (Add Lines 57, 58, and 59) (Enter here and on Line 18) (If Loss, enter ZERD) ... cceevnsveceesssssenssnssissssennes | 60 700 |00

ALLOCATION OF WAGE AND SALARY
LLUIR IS INCOME EARNED PARTLY INSIDE
AND OUTSIDE NEW JERSEY

(See instructions if compensation depends entirely on volume of business transacted
or if other basis of allocation is used.)

61. Amount reported on Line 14 in Column A required to be allocated ... s | Q1

62. Total days iN taXADIE YEET i e st e o ssss et e as e s Rt s e bt s s maapass st sesirnsnns | D2

63. Deduct nonworking days (Sundays, Saturdays, holidays, sick leave, vacation, etC.) ... | B3

64, Total days worked in taxable year (Subtract Line 63 from LiNg 62) s s | 04

65. Deduct days worked outside NEW JEMSEY . s ssisesssssss s s ssss s s s s ssssssssmsss sssssssssonsasssnsssssssssssesses | 99
66. Days worked in New Jersey (Subtract Line 65 from Line B64)... s s sissessssssmssssssssssmsssssssssssssssssssssses | 00
(Line 66) i
67. ALLOCATION FORMULA > = (Include this amount on

(Line 64) (Enter amount from Line 61) (Salary earned inside N.J.) Line 14, Col. B}

PART I ALLOCATION OF BUSINESS (See instructions if other than Formula Basis of allocation is used.)
INCOME TO NEW JERSEY

BUSINESS ALLOCATION PERCENTAGE (From Schedule NJ-NR-A)

Enter below, the line number and amount of each item of business income reported in Column A which is required to be allocated
and multiply by allocation percentage to determine amount of income from New Jersey sources.

From Line No. $ X % =13
From Line No. $ X % =13
From Line No. $ X % =13
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Part-Year Residents

MNJ-1040
2017

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
INCOME TAX-RESIDENT RETURN

Your Social Security Mumber

olofo]-[3[4]-l7]2]2

Last Name, First Name, and Initial ;e fles e e e and il of sach - Entie o 0L parsee bt nams O6UF E @

Patel, Arnav and Kashvi

Spouse’s/CU Parmer's Social Security Mumber

919|9(-(0]1L[-(3]|6

6| 4

Home Address mumser snd Samet, indusding ssartment mumber or ural mute)

123 Elm St

Changes of Address -

County/Municipality Code [See Table)

7] 2] [3]

City, Town, Paost Office
Montclair

State

MJ

Zip Code

07042

MJ RESIDENCY

If you were a Mew lersey resident for
DMLY part of the xable year, give the

0

7

4|/

o(1(/1

Ta 1

20/ 3|1|/|1]7

STATUS period of Mew Jersey residency: From
{Fill in anly ona) Spouse/ Domestic [ 5 | 2 | EMTER
6. Regular A Yoursclt @ ClJ Partner < Partner MUMBERS

1 <> 3Singls 7. AgefSaorOver ¢ Yoursef ¢ Spouse/CU Partner 7 HERE
2« Maried/CU Couple filing joint return B, Blind or Disabled < Yourself <> Spouse/CL Partner &
i — ?:?Llr::fd';c“l Parmner. filing separate 9. Mumber of your qualified dependent children ... —l 2

Enter Spouse’s/CU Partner's Social Se- 10,  Mumber of other ependens. e eeeess s eessemsssasseesssmssssiees 10

g.;l;?:eNu"l'le" n the bowes provided 11. Dependents attending colleges (See instructions) ... ... 11
e i Tesgriein hminetTien = = 1]

L— ?”::I fying widaw(er)/Sunviving CU 12c. Veteran Exemption > Yourself ¢ > Spouse/CU Partner | 12c
artmer

13. Dependent’s Last Mame,
First Mame, hiddle Initial

Dependent’s Socal Security Mumber

Birth Year

2 Perry, Kabir

[512]-[0]2]2]2]

Fill im owal if dependent does
not have health insurance
including M) FamilyCare/
Medicaid, Medicare, private
or other (see instructions).

191919} [2[0]1]6] =
_Pery, Myra Bl9[s]-le]-[e[e11]9] [A35]0] =
‘ BTN =
d -ty Ll =
GUBERNATORIAL ’ D you wish to designate $1 of your taxes for this fund? 3 Yes | 0 Ho [ e e s wur
ELECTIONS FUND If joint return, doses your spouse/CU partrier wish to designate $17 ¢ Yes ¢ No | teror nduc your nefund

If enclosing copy of death certificate for deceased taxpayer, fill in
(S8 IMSEUCHIOINE] e L

If you do not need forms mailed to you next year, fill in
(S IS LICHOINE ] e e eetene e mees s emeemsnne e L—]

>

=

Under the penalties of perjury, I declare that 1 have examined this Income Tax return, incduding accompanying schedules and state-
ments, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, comect, and complete. If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this
dedlaration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Pay amount on Line 56 im full.
Write Social Security numberis) an
check or money order and make
payable to
STATE OF NEW JERSEY - TGl
Mail yowr check or money order with
your MJ-1040-V payment vowcher
and your return to:

M) Dinvision of Taxation

Reverse Processing Center

PO Box 111
Trenton, M) 08645-0111

IF REFUND:

Your Signature Date Spouse’syCU Partner's Signarture: [if filing jointly, BOTH must sign]  Date
Drriver's License #
[Violuntary. See instructions)
[ authorize the Division of Taxation to discuss my return and enclosures with miy preparer (below). ... L

M) Division of Taxation
Revernee Processing Center

Paid Preparer's Signature (Fill in € if MJ-1040-0 is enclosed)

Federal Identfication Mumber

PO Bax 555

Trenton, B 08547-0555
fou may also pay by e-check or
credit card.
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Part-Year Residents

MJ-1040 {2017) Page 2

14 Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation ([Enclose W-2) 14
Be sure to use State wages from Box 16 of your W-2(s). See instructions ... K 517 r o(o|0 . 00
1%a. Taxable interest income (See instructons)
[Enclose federal Schedule B if over § L 500 153 I 4 r 8/0|0 . 010
15b. Tax-exempt interest income (See instructions) 1Sh
[Enclose Schedule) DO NOT indude on Line 15%a ... i r .
B T 1T OSSO 16 r r 360 . 0[0
7. Met profits from business (Schedule MI-BUS-1, Part I Line 4) 17
[Enclose copy of federal Schedule € Form 2040 e I r
18
18 Met gains or income from dispositon of property (Schedule B, Line 4) . I r
1%a. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA withdrawals (See iNSrucons).. . e eeeeeeemres 1%a R v
19b. Excludable Pensions, Annuities, and IRA withdrawals______ 130 \ .
20. Distributive Share of Partnership Income [Schedule MI-BUS-1, Part I Line 4) 20
[See instructions) (Enclose Schedule MJK-1 or federal Schedule K-1)...oo . I r .
#1. Met pro rata share of 5 Corporation Income (Schedule MI-BUS-1, Part I Line 4) | 7 | | | | | | | | | | |
[See instructions) (Enclose Schedule MJ-K-1 or federal Schedule K-1). U r .
22 Met gains or income from rents, royalties, patents & copyrights 22
[Schedule BU-BUS-1, P IV, LI ). oo cmsessssecesemssesscesssoessssesmeses estseeeeeesess essessseses ! r
23
3. Met Gambling Winnings (See iMStuotions). .o sssm e eeeeneeens I r .
24, Alimony and separate maintenancs paEyments received... 24 R v
2%, Other (Enclose Schedule) (See instuctions) .. 23 . .
26. Total Incomne (Add Lines 14, 15a, 16, 17, 18, 193, and 20 through 25) .o 26 r 6|2 r 116]0 010
27a. Pension Bxclusion (See instructions). e 27a .
27b. Other Retirernent Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and instructions) ... . |27k ,
7¢. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27z and line 270) 2ie I
28
28 New Jersey Gross Income (Subtract Line 27¢ from Line 26) (3ee instructions) ... ... ' 6|2 I 1|6
29, Total Exemption Amount (See instructions to caloulate amount) 23 3 , 7
(Part-Year Residents see instructions) 0
30, Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and instmuciomns]). . e !
31
31 Alimeny and Separate Maintenance Payments i
32
32, Qualified Conservation Contribution .. #
33. Health Entenprise Zone Deductiom.. e 33 b .
34, Ahlernative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule MJ-BUS-2, Line 11).. . 4 B .
35. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 29, 30,31, 32 33 and 34) .. 33 3 K 7150 . 0|0
356, Taxable Income [Subtract Line 35 from Line 28) If zero or less, MAKE MO ENTRY ... 38 P 5|8 P 4/1]0 . 0|0
372 Total Property Taxes (18% of Rent) Paid (See instructions) | 372 , 1 i 21115 00
37b. Block Lot Qualifier
37c. County/Municipality Code I:I:I:I:I Fill in owal if you completed Worksheet G-1 < (See instructions)
38, Property Tax Deduction (From Worksheet G. See instructions) ... L I
33. MEW JERSEY TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 38 from Line 36) -
B zero or less, MAKE NOENTRY .o 33 5(8|/4]1|0[(0|0O
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Part-Year Residents

MJ-1040 (2017) Page 3

A0 TAX (From Tae Table) oo 40 1 J Q1 L1|L||0|0O
41 Credit For Income Taxes Paid to Other Junsdictons a1
Enter ather jurisdiction code (See instructions) r
42 Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 41 from Line 40. 42 ' 1 1 0111 . 010
43 Sheitered Workshop Tax Credit ..o 43 . \
44, Balance of Tax after Credit [Subtract Line 43 from Line 42).__ | , 111011
45 Use Tax Due on Internet, Mail-Order. or Other Out-of-5tate Purchases a5 C' D
(See Worksheet and instructions) If no Use Tax, enter ZERO (00} oo
46, Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax. Fill in € if Form MJ-2210 iz enclosed... . | 48 ; \
47, Total Tax and Penalty (Sdd Lines 49, 45 and 38) oo 47 i 1((0]1]1]|0]0
43, Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld [From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1089)._..__.__ | 48 r 1115(3(9](0|0
43, Property Tax Credit (See instructions) 2| 3|7]5(0
50. Mew Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2016 185 retum oo 50 r (1[5]|0](0]0
51 Mew lersey Earned Income Tax Cradit (S8 inStiutions) ..o e e e eesenereeee 51 I
Fill in Fill in oval if you had the IRS figure your federal earned income credit La—
onlyone  Fill in oval if you are a CU couple claiming the M) Earmed Income Tax Credit <
52, ENCESS Mew lersey ULAWF/SWE Withheld (See instructions) (Enclase Form M1-24500____ ) 52 \ .
53. EXCZESS Mew Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (See instructions) 53
(Endhose Formm M- ettt eeme s e eeme st eeeeeee
54, EXCESS Mew lersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld [See instructions) c4
(Enchose Formm M- oo ss e eees s e eemess s eeeeeee
55. Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 48 through 54} 35 . 11|712]6 . 5|0
56 If Line 55 is LESS THAN Line 47, entar AMOUNT YOU OWE oo 56 s
Fill im <= if paying by e-check or credit card.
If you owe tax, you may make a donation by entering an amount on Lines 53, 80, 61. 62, 63, and/or 64 and adding this to your payment amount
57. If Line 55 is MORE THAM Line 47, enter OVERPAYMEMT oo 57 I 71550
Deductons from Owerpayment on Line 57 which you elect to credit to: )
BB WOUT 2007 BB oottt =3I 2(0(0[|0]0
53, MJ. Endangered Wildlife Fund ... oo Osie O 520 O oOther 3
EMTER
60. M. Children's Trust Furd To Prevent Child Abuse ... s O 520 O Cther 60
AMOUNT
61 MJ. Vietnam Viterans' Memarial Fund.... ... s O $20 O Other 61 .
OF
62, MJ. Breast Cancer Ressarch Fund O s20 O other &2
CONTRIBUTION
63. U.SS. Mew Jersey Educational Museum Fund........... Oswe O sz20 O other 63
4. Other Designated Contribution ... .o Osw0 O s20 O other &4
[See imstructions)
65, Total Deductions from Cwerpayment (Add Lines 58 through ) e 55 ' r 2/0]0 . 0]0
66. REFUND [Amount to be sent to you, Subtract Line 65 from Line 57) 66 . J2 113 [3]0

SIGN YOUR RETURN ON PAGE 1
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Part-Year Residents

Worksheet G - Property Tax Deduction/Credit

Review the eligibility requirements before completing Worksheet G. Part-year residents, see instructions.

Complete both columns of this worksheet to find out whether the deduction or the credit is better for you.

1. Property Tax. Enter the Property Taxes from Line 37a of Form NJ-1040. .
Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) applicants, do not enter the amount from Line 37a. (See instructions.) 1. 1215

2. Property Tax Deduction. Is the amount on line 1 of this worksheet $10,000 or more ($5,000 or more if you and
your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal residence)?
<> Yes. Enter $10,000 ($5,000 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the
same principal residence).
@ |lo. Enter the amount from line 1. .
Also enter the amount from this line on line 4, column A below. (See instructions.) 2. 1215

STOP — if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions.
Complete only lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet J.

(See instructions.) Column A Column B
3. Taxable Income (From Line 36 of Form NJ-1040) 3. 58,410 3. 58,410
4. Property Tax Deduction (From line 2 of this worksheet) 4, 1,215 4, -0-
5. Taxable Income After Property Tax Deduction (Subtract line 4 from line 3) .oceoeccecirccneee. | 52 57,195 5 58,410
6. Tax you would pay on line 5 amount (From Tax Table/Tax Rate Schedules) ... | B 981 [3 1,011
7. Subtract line 6, column A from line 6, column B and enter the result here 7. 30
8. Is the line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal residence)?

<O Yes.  You receive a greater benefit by taking the Property Tax Deduction. Make the following entries on Form MNJ-1040.

Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 38 Line 4, column A
Line 39 Line 5, column A
Line 40 Line 6, column A
Line 49 Make no entry
@ [lo. You receive a greater benefit from the Property Tax Credit. (Part-year residents, see instructions before answering “No.”) Make the
following entries on Form MNJ-1040.
Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 38 Make no entry
Line 39 Line 5, column B
Line 40 Line 6, column B
Line 49 $50 ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal

residence). Part-year residents, see instructions.

(Keep for your records)

For More Information

Online

e Division of Taxation website;

e Email general State tax questions.
Do not include confidential information such as Social Security or federal tax identification numbers,
liability or payment amounts, dates of birth, or bank account numbers in your email;

e Subscribe to AJ Tax E-News, the Division of Taxation’s online information service.

By Phone
e Call the Division of Taxation's Customer Service Center at 609-292-6400;
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http://www.njtaxation.org/
https://www.state.nj.us/treas/taxation/contactus_tyttaxa.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml

Part-Year Residents

e Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) for Hearing-Impaired Users: 1-800-286-6613 (toll-free within NJ,
NY, PA, DE, and MD) or 609-984-7300. These numbers are accessible only from TTY devices. Submit a
text message on any New Jersey tax matter and receive a reply through NJ Relay Services (711).

In Person

Visit a New Jersey Division of Taxation Regional Information Center. For the address of the center
nearest you, visit our website or call the Automated Tax Information System at 1-800-323-4400.

Forms and Publications

¢ Visit the Division of Taxation's website for forms and publications;

e Call the Forms Request System at 1-800-323-4400 (within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or 609-826-4400
(touch-tone phones only) to have printed forms or publications mailed to you. NOTE: Due to

budgetary constraints, supplies are limited and only certain forms and publications can be ordered
through this system.

Rev. 12/17 33


http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/forms.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml



