Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-11
New Jersey Resident Return Examples (Tax Year 2018)

Introduction

The New Jersey Gross Income Tax Act imposes tax on the income of resident and nonresident individuals and
estates and trusts. Residents are subject to tax on all income regardless of where it was earned.

This bulletin illustrates the correct return completion of a 2018 New Jersey Resident Income Tax Return (Form
NJ-1040) and a Property Tax Credit and Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit application (Form NJ-1040-
HW) for full-year and part-year residents in selected situations.

This document is designed to provide guidance to taxpayers and is accurate as of the date issued. Subsequent
changes in tax law or its interpretation may affect the accuracy of this publication.

Changes for Tax Year 2018

¢ Qualified taxpayers can exclude more pension and other income on their New Jersey return. The increased
exclusion amounts are being phased in over a four-year period. For Tax Year 2018, the exclusion amounts
are up to $60,000 (married/CU couple, filing joint return), $45,000 (single, head of household, or qualifying
widow(er)/surviving CU partner), or $30,000 (married/CU partner, filing separate return).

o New tax credits are available for Gold Star Family Counseling and Wounded Warrior Caregivers.

¢ The Child and Dependent Care Credit is available to certain taxpayers who have earned income on the
New Jersey Taxable Income line of $60,000 or less, and paid someone to care for a qualifying person so
they can work or look for work.

e The Property Tax Deduction increased from $10,000 to up to $15,000 ($7,500 if you and your spouse file
separate returns but maintained the same principal residence).

e Effective January 1, 2018, the Income Tax rate for income over $5,000,000 increases from 8.97% to 10.75%.

Filing Requirements

Every resident individual, including minors, whose gross income received during the tax year is more than
$20,000 (or $10,000 if filing status is single or married/CU partner, filing separate return) is required to file a
New Jersey Resident Income Tax Return (Form NJ-1040). If you are a full-year resident and your annual gross
income is equal to or less than the applicable filing threshold amount, you do not need to file a return except
to claim a refund of taxes withheld or estimated taxes paid. You also must file a return to receive a New Jersey
Earned Income Tax Credit even if you have no tax liability to New Jersey. See more information on gross
income.

If you became a resident of this state or moved out of this state during the year, you may be required to file
a New Jersey Income Tax return and pay tax on the portion of income you received while you were a resident
of New Jersey. Part-year residents must prorate all exemptions, deductions, and credits, as well as pension
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Part-Year Residents

and other retirement income exclusions, to reflect the period covered by the return. For more information,
see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-6, Part-Year Residents.

Filing Status

In general, you must use the same filing status on your New Jersey return as you do for federal income tax
purposes, unless you are a partner in a civil union.

If a married couple files a joint federal return, they also must file a joint New Jersey return. If spouses file
separate federal returns, separate State returns also must be filed. However, if you are a civil union couple,
your filing status for New Jersey may not match your federal filing status for the year.

If during the entire tax year one spouse was a resident and the other a nonresident, the resident can file a
separate New Jersey return. The resident calculates income and exemptions as if a federal married, filing
separate return had been filed. The spouses have the option of filing a joint return, in which case their joint
income would be taxed as if both were residents.

If your spouse died during the year, you can file a joint return for the two of you if you did not remarry or
enter into a new civil union before the end of the year. You may be eligible to use the filing status “qualifying
widow(er)/surviving CU partner” for 2018, but only if your spouse died in either 2016 or 2017, you did not
remarry or enter into a new civil union before the end of 2018, and you meet the other requirements to file
as qualifying widow(er) with dependent child for federal purposes.

If you meet the requirements to file as head of household for federal income tax purposes, you can file as
head of household for New Jersey. Certain spouses living apart also can file as head of household for New
Jersey if they meet the requirements to file as head of household for federal purposes. For information on
filing status for federal purposes, contact the Internal Revenue Service. For more information on filing status
for New Jersey purposes, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-4, Filing Status.

NoOTE: Any reference in this bulletin to a spouse also refers to a spouse who entered into a valid same-sex
marriage in another state or foreign nation and a partner in a civil union (CU) recognized under New
Jersey law.

Gross Income

For New Jersey purposes, gross income includes income received in the form of money, goods, property,
benefits, and services. A New Jersey resident must report all taxable income received, whether from New
Jersey sources or not, on the State return.

Taxable Income
Taxable income includes the following:

e Wages and other compensation;

e Interest and dividends;
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¢ Earnings on nonqualified distributions from qualified State tuition program accounts, including the New
Jersey Better Educational Savings Trust program (NJBEST) accounts;

e Earnings on nonqualified distributions from qualified State 529A Achieving a Better Life Experience
program (ABLE) accounts;

¢ Net profits from business, trade, or profession;

e Net gains or income from sale or disposition of property;

e Pensions, annuities, and IRA withdrawals;

e Net distributive share of partnership income;

e Net pro rata share of S corporation income;

¢ Net rental, royalty, and copyright income;

e Net gambling winnings, including New Jersey Lottery winnings from prize amounts exceeding $10,000;
e Alimony;*

e Estate and trust income;

e Income in respect of a decedent (meaning untaxed income that a decedent earned or had a right to receive
while alive;

e Prizes and awards, including scholarships and fellowships;
¢ Value of residence provided by employer;

e Fees for services rendered, including jury duty.

New Jersey taxable income also includes the following that are not subject to federal income tax:

¢ Interest from obligations (such as bonds) of states and their political subdivisions (cities, counties), other
than New Jersey and its political subdivisions;

¢ Income earned by a resident from foreign employment;

e Certain contributions to pensions and tax-deferred annuities;

e Employee contributions to federal Thrift Savings Funds, 403(b), 457, SEP, or any other type of retirement
plan other than 401(k) plans.

*Alimony paid to a spouse could be considered nontaxable if the divorce decree stipulates that the
other spouse who is paying the alimony agrees not to claim it as a deduction. Alimony is taxable to
the recipient under State law N.J.S.A. 54A:5-1(n). However, the Division would consider the terms of
a divorce decree when deciding whether such a stipulation is allowable. You may be asked to submit
a copy of the divorce decree so it can be reviewed by Division personnel.

Exempt Income

The following examples of exempt income should not be included when deciding if a return must be filed.
With the exception of tax-exempt interest, these items should not appear anywhere on the State tax return.

e Social Security benefits;
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¢ Railroad Retirement benefits (Tier 1 and Tier 2);

¢ United States military pensions and survivor's benefit payments;

¢ Life insurance proceeds received because of a person’s death;

e Employee’s death benefits;

e Permanent and total disability, including VA benefits;

e Temporary disability received from the State of New Jersey or as third-party sick pay;
e Workers' Compensation;

¢ Gifts and inheritances;

¢ Qualifying scholarships or fellowship grants;

e New Jersey Lottery winnings from prizes in the amount of $10,000 or less;

e Unemployment Compensation received from the State (but not supplemental unemployment benefit
payments);

e Family Leave Insurance (FLI) benefits;

e Interest and capital gains from: (a) Obligations of the State of New Jersey or any of its political subdivisions;
or (b) Direct federal obligations exempt under law, such as U.S. Savings Bonds and Treasury Bills, Notes,
and Bonds;

e Distributions paid by mutual funds to the extent the distributions are attributable to interest earned on
federal obligations;

e Certain distributions from “New Jersey Qualified Investment Funds;”

e Earnings on qualified distributions from qualified State tuition program accounts, including the New Jersey
Better Educational Savings Trust program (NJBEST) accounts;

e Earnings on qualified distributions from qualified State 529A Achieving a Better Life Experience program
(ABLE) accounts;

e Employer and employee contributions to 401(k) Salary Reduction Plans (but not federal Thrift Savings
Funds);

e Some benefits received from certain employer-provided cafeteria plans (but not salary reduction or
premium conversion plans);

e Benefits received from certain employer-provided commuter transportation benefit plans (but not salary
reduction plans);

e Contributions to and distributions from Archer MSAs if they are excluded for federal income tax purposes;
e Direct payments and benefits received under homeless persons assistance programs;

e Homestead Benefits;

e Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) program benefits;

e Income Tax refunds (New Jersey, federal, and other jurisdictions);
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¢ New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit payments;

o Welfare;

e Child support;

e Amounts paid as reparations or restitution to Nazi Holocaust victims;

e Assistance from a charitable organization, whether in the form of cash or property;
¢ Cancellation of debt;

e Amounts received as damages for wrongful imprisonment;

¢ Qualified disaster relief payments excluded under IRC §139;

e Payments from the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund.

Exemptions

Every resident taxpayer is allowed a personal exemption, even if that individual can be claimed as a dependent
on another tax return. Taxpayers whose filing status is “married/CU couple, filing joint return” are allowed an
additional exemption for their spouse. A member of a domestic partnership that was registered in New Jersey
on the last day of the tax year can claim an exemption for his or her domestic partner, but only if the domestic
partner does not file a New Jersey Income Tax return.

The additional exemptions for age, disability, blindness, or for certain veterans can be claimed only by the
taxpayer and/or spouse. These additional exemptions do not apply to a domestic partner or to dependents.
The exemption for dependents who attend college is in addition to the exemption claimed for that child or
other qualified dependent. This exemption applies only to dependents and does not apply to the taxpayer,
spouse, or domestic partner.

Proof of Age. If either you or your spouse are eligible for an additional exemption for age, you must enclose
proof of age such as a copy of a birth certificate, driver’s license, or church records with your return the first
time you claim the exemption(s).

Proof of Disability. If either you or your spouse are eligible for an additional exemption for disability or
blindness, you must enclose a copy of the doctor’s certificate or other medical records with your return the
first time you claim the exemption(s).

Veteran’s Proof of Honorable Discharge or Release. If either you or your spouse are eligible for a veteran
exemption, you must provide documentation certifying that you were honorably discharged or released
under honorable circumstances from active duty the first time you claim the exemption(s).

Proof of Domestic Partnership. If you are able to claim an exemption for your domestic partner, you must
enclose a copy of your New Jersey Certificate of Domestic Partnership with your return the first time you
claim the exemption. You may be asked to provide additional information at a later date.

Dependent Information. If you are claiming a dependent exemption, you must provide the full name, Social
Security number, and year of birth for each dependent child and other dependent claimed on Form NJ-1040.
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If you qualify for the New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit, you must provide this information for each
"qualifying child” listed on your federal Schedule EIC who is not claimed as a dependent on your New Jersey
return. You also must fill in the oval for each dependent who does not have health insurance coverage
(including NJ FamilyCare/Medicaid, private, or other health insurance) on the date you file the return. Do not
fill in the oval for any dependents who have health insurance.

Deductions

o Medlcal Expenses. Certain unreimbursed medical expenses that were paid during the year can be deducted
on the New Jersey Income Tax return. However, only expenses exceeding 2% of income, as shown on Line
31 of Form NJ-1040, can be deducted. Use Worksheet F to calculate your deduction for medical expenses.

Archer MSA Contributions. Qualified Archer medical savings account (MSA) contributions that do not
exceed 75% of the amount of your annual health plan deductible (65% if you have a self-only plan).

Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction. Self-employed individuals and more-than-2% shareholders of
S corporations are allowed a deduction (up to 100%) for the cost of health insurance for the taxpayer and
the taxpayer’'s spouse or domestic partner and dependents, but only to the extent that the taxpayer has
earned income from the business under which the insurance plan is established. A taxpayer cannot deduct
any amount paid for health insurance coverage for any month in which the taxpayer was eligible to
participate in any subsidized health plan maintained by an employer of the taxpayer or the taxpayer’s
spouse or domestic partner.

NoOTE: Amounts paid for health insurance for a taxpayer’s child who was under age 27 at the end of 2018
can be deducted only if the child was the taxpayer's dependent.

o Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments. Court-ordered alimony and separate maintenance
payments.

e Qualified Conservation Contribution. Qualified conservation contributions of qualified real property
interests in New Jersey property, to the extent that the contribution amount is deductible for federal
income tax purposes.

e Health Enterprise Zone Deduction. If you provide primary care services in a qualified medical or dental
practice located in or within five miles of a designated Health Enterprise Zone (HEZ), you may be able to
deduct a percentage of the net income from that practice. For information on eligibility requirements and
how to calculate the deduction, see Technical Bulletin TB-56, Health Enterprise Zones.

e Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment. If you list business losses on Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Business
Income Summary Schedule, you may be able to use those losses to calculate an adjustment to your taxable
income. In addition, you can carry forward unused losses to calculate future adjustments. Complete
Schedule NJ-BUS-2 in the resident return instructions (Form NJ-1040) to calculate the amount of your
adjustment and loss carryforward, if any.
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Total Property Taxes Paid

New Jersey residents who pay property taxes (either directly or through rent) report the amount of property
taxes due and paid for 2018 on Line 38a. For tenants, 18% of the rent paid during the year is considered
property taxes paid.

Property Tax Deduction/Credit

Homeowners and tenants who paid property taxes, either directly or through rent, on a principal residence
in New Jersey may qualify for either a deduction (up to 100% of property taxes due and paid or up to $15,000,
whichever is less) or a refundable credit (up to $50).

Eligibility Requirements. You are eligible for a deduction or credit only if:

e You were domiciled and maintained a principal residence as a homeowner or tenant in New Jersey during
2018; and

e Your principal residence, whether owned or rented, was subject to property taxes that were paid either as
actual property taxes or through rent; and

¢ If you rented your principal residence, it had its own separate kitchen and bathroom that you did not share
with occupants of other units in the building, if there were other units; and

¢ If your principal residence was a unit in a multiunit property you owned, the property had no more than
four units and no more than one of those was a commercial unit; and

e Your income on Line 29, Form NJ-1040, is more than $20,000 (or $10,000 if filing status is single or
married/CU partner, filing separate return), or you and/or your spouse (if filing jointly) were 65 or older or
blind or disabled on the last day of the tax year. Taxpayers with gross income of $20,000 or less ($10,000
if filing status is single or married/CU partner, filing separate return) are eligible for a property tax credit
only if they were 65 or older or blind or disabled on the last day of the tax year.

Seniors or Blind/Disabled Persons Not Required to File a Return. You qualify for a property tax credit if
you (or your spouse if filing jointly) were 65 or older or blind or disabled on the last day of the tax year, and
your income on Line 29, Form NJ-1040, is $20,000 or less ($10,000 if filing status is single or married/ CU
partner, filing separate return), and you met the eligibility requirements. The amount is $50 (or $25 if you and
your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal residence).

If you are eligible for a property tax credit as either a homeowner or tenant, and you:

o Are eligible and file for a 2018 Homestead Benefit because you were a New Jersey homeowner on
October 1, 2018, your credit will automatically be included with your Homestead Benefit. Do not claim
the property tax credit on Form NJ-1040.

o Are not eligible for a 2018 Homestead Benefit because you were not a homeowner on October 1, 2018,
you can claim the property tax credit on Form NJ-1040 or you can file the Property Tax Credit and
Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit application, Form NJ-1040-HW only. Do not file both Form NJ-1040
and Form NJ-1040-HW.

Rev. 12/18 7



Part-Year Residents

For more information on the Property Tax Credit and Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit application (Form
NJ-1040-HW), see instructions for Form NJ-1040.

Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) Applicants. If you are eligible for a Senior Freeze for 2018
and file your application on Form PTR-1, enter on line 1, Worksheet H, the amount of your 2017 property
taxes as reported on your 2018 Form PTR-1. (For mobile home owners, this is 18% of 2017 site fees.)

If you are eligible for a Senior Freeze for 2018 and file your application on Form PTR-2, enter on line 1,
Worksheet H the amount of your base year property taxes as reported on your 2018 Form PTR-2. (For
mobile home owners, this is 18% of base year site fees.)

NoTE: If you owned your home with someone other than your spouse or if the property consists of more
than one unit, the amount of property taxes you report must reflect your percentage of ownership or
the proportionate share of property taxes for the unit you occupy as your principal residence.

For more information on the property tax deduction/credit, see instructions for Form NJ-1040.

Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals

Pensions, annuities, and certain IRA withdrawals are taxable on the New Jersey return although the State
taxable amount may be different than the federal amount. When reporting the income, any taxable amounts
must be included on Line 20a, and amounts that represent a return of contributions that have already been
taxed are reported on Line 20b. All State and local government, teachers’, and federal pensions, and Keogh
Plans are treated the same as pensions from the private sector. New Jersey provides retirement income
exclusions that enable qualified taxpayers to reduce their taxable income. For more information, see Tax Topic
Bulletin GIT-1, Pensions and Annuities. You also may consult the 7ax Guide on Retirement Income.

If you are receiving a United States military pension or survivor's benefit payments, the military pension or
survivor's benefit is exempt from New Jersey Income Tax. For more information on military pensions, see Tax
Topic Bulletin GIT-7, Military Personnel.

For New Jersey purposes, an IRA consists of a nontaxable part (your contributions) and a taxable part
(earnings plus certain amounts, if any, rolled over from pension plans). If your contributions have been
previously taxed, only the portion of the distribution that represents earnings is taxable. However, a qualified
distribution from a Roth IRA does not have to be included in taxable income (Line 20a) or excludable income
(Line 20b) in the year received. For more information on IRA withdrawals, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-2, /RA
Withdrawals, and Technical Bulletin TB-44, Roth IRAs.

Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions

As a New Jersey resident, you may be eligible for a tax credit on your New Jersey return if you have income
from sources outside New Jersey that was subject, within the same year, to both:

¢ Income or wage tax imposed by another jurisdiction outside New Jersey; and
o New Jersey Income Tax.

Rev. 12/18 8


http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git1.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/documents/pdf/guides/Retirement-Guide.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git7.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git2.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tb/tb44.pdf

Part-Year Residents

For this purpose, “jurisdiction” means any state (other than New Jersey) of the United States or political
subdivision of such state, or the District of Columbia. Therefore, no credit is allowed for taxes paid to the U.S.
Government, Canada, Puerto Rico, or any other foreign country or territory.

You must complete Schedule NJ-COJ to calculate the amount of the credit and enclose it with Form NJ-
1040. You also must enter a two-digit code for the jurisdiction in the boxes at Line 42, Form NJ-1040. A list
of jurisdiction codes is in the NJ-1040 instructions. You are not required to enclose a copy of the tax return(s)
filed with the other jurisdiction.

For more information on credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions, see Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-3W, Credit
for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions (Wage Income), and GIT-3B, Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions
(Business/Nonwage Income).

Residents with income from Pennsylvania, refer to Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-3W or GIT-3B and the NJ-1040
instructions for information on the Reciprocal Personal Income Tax Agreement between Pennsylvania and
New Jersey.
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Child and Dependent Care Credit

New for 2018, the Child and Dependent Care Credit is available to certain taxpayers who have earned income
and paid someone to care for a qualifying person so they can work or look for work.

To qualify, you must be allowed a federal credit for child and dependent care expenses and have taxable
income on Line 40 of $60,000 or less. If your filing status is married, filing separately, you are only eligible for
the credit if you meet certain exceptions for federal purposes.

Use Worksheet J to calculate the amount of your credit.

Gold Star Family Counseling Credit

New for Tax Year 2018, this credit is for mental health care professionals who provided counseling through
the Gold Star Family Counseling program. The amount of the credit is equal to the number of hours of
counseling provided through the program (a minimum of 20 hours and a maximum of 40 hours per year)
multiplied by the TRICARE rate for the service. The credit is nonrefundable and cannot reduce a taxpayer's
Income Tax liability to an amount less than zero.

New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit

The New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit is a credit for residents of limited income. To take the credit, you
must have worked and earned wage or business income. The credit reduces the amount of tax you owe and
also may give you a refund, even if you have no tax liability to New Jersey.

For Tax Year 2018, most residents who are eligible and file for a federal earned income credit also can receive
a New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit equal to 37% of the federal benefit.

NorTE: If your filing status is married/CU partner, filing separate return, you cannot claim a New Jersey Earned
Income Tax Credit.

You must file a New Jersey resident Income Tax return to receive a New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit,
even if you are not required to file a return because your gross income is equal to or less than the filing
threshold amount. (See Filing Requirements.)

You must provide the full name, Social Security number, and year of birth for each "qualifying child” listed on
federal Schedule EIC who is not claimed as a dependent on your New Jersey return.

If you asked the Internal Revenue Service to calculate your federal earned income credit, fill in the first oval
below Line 56, Form NJ-1040. (Civil union couples should not fill in this oval even if one or both of you are
eligible for a federal credit and asked the IRS to calculate the amount. For information on how civil union
couples calculate their New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit amount for Line 56, see instructions for Form
NJ-1040. The IRS will provide information about federal earned income credit recipients to the Division of
Taxation. Please allow at least four to six weeks for the Division to process the information and issue a check
for your New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit.
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Part-Year Residents. If you were a New Jersey resident for only part of the tax year, the amount of your
credit must be prorated based on the number of months you were a New Jersey resident. For this calculation,
15 days or more is a month.

The Division of Taxation audits returns to make sure taxpayers meet the eligibility requirements for
this credit. You may be asked to provide documentation to support your claim.

Estimated Tax Payments

Individuals who expect their New Jersey Income Tax liability to be more than $400 after taking into account
all of their exemptions, deductions, withholdings, and other credits for the tax year are required to make
quarterly estimated tax payments. This may include taxpayers who do not have sufficient New Jersey Income
Tax withheld from their wages and/or pension, those who are self-employed, or those whose income is from
sources such as interest, dividends, or capital gains. Estimated payments are filed quarterly in equal
installments on a Declaration of Estimated Tax (Form NJ-1040-ES). For more information on New Jersey
estimated tax payments, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-8, £stimating Income Taxes.

Wounded Warriors Caregivers Credit

1. New for 2018, this credit is for resident taxpayers who provided care for a relative who is a qualifying
armed services member and have gross income of $100,000 or less (married, filing joint; head of
household; qualifying widow(er)) or $50,000 or less (single; married, filing separate).

A relative is a:

Spouse Parent Child Brother Sister
Grandparent Grandchild Aunt Uncle First Cousin
Nephew Niece Great-grandparent Great-grandchild

A qualifying armed services member is a person who:
e Was honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances by the last day of the tax year;
and

e Has a disability arising from active U.S. military service in any war or conflict on or after September 11,
2001; and

e Has either a 100% disability rating or receives individual unemployability benefits (one disability of at
least 60% or two disabilities with a combined rating of at least 70% and one of those is at least 40%);
and

e Lived with you in New Jersey for at least six months of the tax year.

Complete Schedule NJ-WW(C to calculate the credit. If two or more people care for the same person,
the credit is apportioned based on the share of total care expenses for the year.

You must enclose a copy of your caregiver approval letter with your return. You may be required to submit
additional documentation to verify your eligibility.
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Part-year residents must use their income for the entire year when determining eligibility.

Sale of Home Exclusion

If you sell your principal residence, you may qualify to exclude up to $250,000 (or $500,000 for certain
married/civil union couples filing a joint return) of any gain from your income. Capital gain is calculated the
same way as for federal purposes. Any amount that is taxable for federal purposes is taxable for New Jersey
purposes.

You can claim the exclusion if, during the five-year period ending on the date of the sale, you have:

1. Owned the home for at least two years (the ownership test); and
2. Lived in the home as your principal residence for at least two years (the use test).

NoTE: If you owned and used the property as your principal residence for less than two years, and you qualify
for a reduced exclusion for federal purposes, you can claim a reduced exclusion for New Jersey
purposes.

You can exclude up to $250,000 (or $500,000 for certain married/civil union couples filing a joint return) of
gain from the sale of your principal residence if both 1 and 2 below apply.

1. Neither you nor your spouse, if filing a joint return, is excluding gain from the sale of another home;

2. You or your spouse, if filing a joint return, owned and lived in the home for periods adding up to at least
two years within the five-year period ending on the date of sale.

If you are a married/civil union couple, filing a joint return, both you and your spouse must meet the use test
to qualify for the $500,000 exclusion.

If only one spouse meets the ownership and use tests, the qualified spouse can exclude up to $250,000 of
the gain when filing either a joint return or a separate return.

You cannot exclude the gain on the sale of your principal residence if, during the two-year period ending on
the date of the sale, you sold another home at a gain and excluded all or part of that gain. If you cannot
exclude the gain, you must include it in your income and complete Schedule NJ-DOP. However, you can
claim a reduced exclusion if you sold the home due to a change in health or place of employment and you
qualify for a reduced exclusion for federal purposes.

Rev.12/18 12
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Part-Year Residents

Return Preparation

The following are examples of completed resident returns (Forms NJ-1040) for various situations.

Rev. 12/18 13



Part-Year Residents

Example 1

Leonard Fisher (Age 63)
SS# 999-27-3660
Evelyn Fisher (Age 56)
SS# 999-62-8391
101 Blackwell Road, Apt. B
Cape May Point, NJ 08212 (Cape May County)

The Fishers are full-year residents of New Jersey. They are married and file a joint return with no dependents.

EVElYN'S WAGES ....ooooveerrsiess i $42,731
Joint taxable INterest ... 15,426
Joint tax-exempt interest.......ccoeoevvveereeernnennnns 7,900
Joint diVIdends..........eeeereeeeeeeeeeeeee e 27,454
Leonard's pension:
Received this year (3rd yr.) co.ccoveveevnrennene. 36,000
Leonard'’s contributions 100,000
Employer’s contributions. ..., 100,000
Leonard'’s Social Security........cccooveevrernrennee 15,600

Loss from rental property
129 Bay Road

Cape May, New Jersey........eneneeeeneenenn. 524
NJ Income Tax withholdings ........cccccoevreerirnrenn. 3,136
Estimated tax payments........coooerverneinnineenninns 400
Property taxes paid for 2018..........ccoocovernrrenenenn. 1,300
RENE PAId . 8,400
Homestead Benefit received as

a credit on 2018 property tax bill..................... 100

The Fishers lived in their house, located at 18 King's Court, Cape May, New Jersey (Block 3105.62 Lot 14.3)
since August 9, 1987. On May 23, 2018, they sold the house for $275,000. The cost basis on their federal
return was $117,000. The Fishers can exclude up to $500,000 of the gain from the sale of the principal
residence for their filing status. Therefore, they will exclude the entire $158,000 gain on the sale of their home
on New Jersey Schedule NJ-DOP. They will enclose Schedule NJ-DOP with their Income Tax return and keep
a copy for their records.

In addition, they must enclose a completed New Jersey Schedule NJ-BUS-1 showing the loss from their
rental property. The New Jersey Gross Income Tax Act does not allow losses to be applied to gains in other
categories of income on Form NJ-1040; therefore, the Fishers will make no entry for rental income on Line
23 of their return. However, since they show a loss on Schedule NJ-BUS-1, they complete Schedule NJ-BUS-
2 to determine whether they can claim an alternative business calculation adjustment on Line 35, and the
amount of loss, if any, they can carry forward to Tax Year 2018. The Fishers cannot claim an adjustment for
2018, but they are able to carry forward the loss of $524 as indicated on Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Part III, Line 12.
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Part-Year Residents

The Fishers will enclose Schedule NJ-BUS-2 and keep a copy for their records. They may need the information
from the schedule to complete their return in future years.

Leonard retired on December 31, 2015. For Tax Year 2016, he completed Worksheet A — Which Pension
Method to Use in the NJ-1040 instructions to determine which pension method to use. He was able to use
the Three-Year Rule Method, and for the past two years he was not required to report any taxable pension
on his State Income Tax return. The Fishers did not submit Worksheet A with their Income Tax return but
kept it for their records. This year they used the worksheet to help determine the taxable and excludable
pension amounts to report on their 2018 tax return.

Leonard is eligible to use the pension exclusion to reduce his income by up to $40,000 because his filing
status is married/CU couple, filing a joint return and his income (combined with his wife's income) did not
total more than $100,000. He will claim $8,000 as his pension exclusion on Line 28a of their return. The Fishers
cannot use the unclaimed portion of the pension exclusion ($32,000) on Line 28b, Other Retirement Income
Exclusion. That is because their joint earned income (total of: wages, net profits from business, distributive
share of partnership income, and net pro rata share of S corporation income) is more than $3,000, as shown
on Worksheet D — Other Retirement Income Exclusion.

Since Leonard, who is a former member of the U.S. Armed Forces, was honorably discharged from service, he
is eligible for an additional exemption of $3,000. To claim the exemption, he will fill in the oval at Line 13 of
Form NJ-1040 and indicate the number of exemptions. He also will provide official documentation
certifying that he was honorably discharged from active duty since this is the first time he is claiming the
exemption.
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Part-Year Residents

Worksheet A
Which Pension Method to Use

1. Amount of pension you will receive during the first three years

(36 months) from the date of the first payment ... 1. $108,000
2. Your contributions t0 the plan...........neeseseeee s 2. 100,000
3. SUbtract liN€ 2 from lINE L ...t aee 3. 8,000

(a) If line 3 is "0" or more, and both you and your employer contributed
to the plan, you can use the Three-Year Rule Method.

(b) If line 3 is less than “0,” or your employer did not contribute to
the plan, you must use the General Rule Method.

(Keep for your records)

Worksheet D
Unclaimed Pension Exclusion
Age Requirement: 62 or older
Part-year residents, do not complete this worksheet.

Is income on Line 27, NJ-1040 MORE than $100,000?
< Yes. You are not eligible for the unclaimed pension exclusion.
<@ No. Continue with line 1.

Enter the amount from Line 15, NJ-1040 1

Enter the amount from Line 18, NJ-1040 2

Enter the amount from Line 21, NJ-1040 3. 0
4
5

. 42,371

Enter the amount from Line 22, NJ-1040
Add lines 1, 2, 3, and 4
Is the amount on line 4 MORE than $3,000?
<@ Yes. You are not eligible for the unclaimed pension exclusion. See Special Exclusion below.
<—— No. Continue with line 6.
6. Enter: if your filing status is:

$60,000 Married/CU couple, filing joint return

$45,000 Single; Head of household; Qualifying widow(er)/

surviving CU partner

$30,000 Married/CU partner, filing separate return 6.
7. Enter the amount from Line 28a, NJ-1040 7.
8. Unclaimed Pension Exclusion. Subtract line 7 from line 6. Include this amount on Line 28b, NJ-1040. .... 8.
Joint filers: If only one spouse is 62 or older, only the income of that spouse can be excluded.

vk wNh e

. 42,371

Special Exclusion. If you (and your spouse if filing jointly) will never be eligible to receive Social Security or Railroad
Retirement benefits because your employer did not participate in either program, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-1,
Pensions and Annuities, before entering an amount on Line 28b.

(Keep for your records)
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Part-Year Residents

(Keep for your records)

Worksheet G
PARTI: HOMEOWNERS
Principal residences you owned in New Jersey during 2018
@) (b) © (d) (e)
Number of days in Share of property Share (%) of property Total property Your share of
2018 in this residence owned by you (and used as your taxes paid on this property taxes paid
as an owner your spouse) principal residence property for this on this property
Address period for this period
1. 18 King's Ct. Cape May 143 1.00 1.00 1,300 1,300
2.
3.
4. Your share of total property taxes paid for 2018 for your principal residences (total of column e)
If you were also a tenant in New Jersey during the year, continue with Part II. Otherwise, go to Part IIL. 1,300
PART I: TENANTS
Principal residences you rented in New Jersey during 2018
@) (b) () (d)
Number of days in Total number of Total rent paid by all Total rent paid by you
2018 in this residence tenants who people living in this (and your spouse) for this
Address as a tenant shared the rent residence during this period residence during this period
5. 101 Blackwell Rd. Cape May Pt. 222 1 8,400 8,400
6.
7.
8. Your share of total rent paid for 2018 for your principal residences (total of column d) 8,400
9. Allowable portion of rent. Line 8 x 0.18. Continue to Part III 1,512
PARTIII: TOTAL
10. Add line 4 and line 9. Enter the total here and on Line 38a, Form NJ-1040. Fill in the oval at Line 38c indicating
this worksheet was completed. If your filing status is married/CU partner, filing separate return and both you and your
spouse maintained the same principal residence, use one-half of this amount when completing Line 38a. .......ccocccenevuenees 2,812

Rev. 12/18
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Part-Year Residents

Worksheet H - Property Tax Deduction/Credit
Review the eligibility requirements on page 26 before completing Worksheet H. Part-year residents, see page 30.

Complete both columns of this worksheet to find out whether the deduction or the credit is better for you.

1. Property Taxes. Enter the property taxes from Line 38a, Form NJ-1040.

Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) applicants must use their base year amount. 1. 2,812
(See instructions on page 30.)

2. Property Tax Deduction. Is the amount on line 1 of this worksheet $15,000 or more ($7,500 or more
if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal residence)?
<> Yes. Enter $15,000 ($7,500 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the
same principal residence).
<« No. Enter the amount from line 1. 2. 2,812

STOP — if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions.
Complete only lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule NJ-COJ and Worksheet L
(See instructions on page 32.)

Column A Column B
3. Taxable Income (From Line 37 of Form NJ-1040) 3. 83,611 3. 83,611
4. Property Tax Deduction (From line 2 above) 4. 2,812 4. -0-
5. New Jersey Taxable Income (Subtract line 4 from line 3) 5. 80,799 5. 83,611
6. Tax on line 5 amount (From Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedules) 6. 1,688 6. 1,845
7. Subtract line 6, column A from line 6, column B 7. 157
8.

Is the line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal
residence? Part-year residents, see page 30 before answering “No.”
<« Yes. The Property Tax Deduction is more beneficial for you. Make the following entries on your return.

Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 39 Line 4, column A
Line 40 Line 5, column A
Line 41 Line 6, column A
Line 54 Make no entry
< No. The Property Tax Credit is more beneficial for you. Make the following entries on your return.
Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 39 Make no entry
Line 40 Line 5, column B
Line 41 Line 6, column B
Line 54 $50 ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same

principal residence). Part-year residents must prorate this amount. (See
instructions on page 30.)

(Keep for your records)

Since the Fishers lived at more than one New Jersey residence during the tax year, they must complete
Worksheet G to determine the amount of property taxes to enter on Line 38a. The Fishers received a
Homestead Benefit as a credit on their May 2018 property tax bill; therefore, when they enter the total
property taxes paid in Part I, Column 4, Worksheet G, they use the amount of property taxes they paid to
the municipality for 2018 plus the amount of the Homestead Benefit that was credited on their May 2018
tax bill. To determine whether it is better to claim the property tax deduction or the property tax credit, the
Fishers then complete Worksheet H. Worksheets G and H are in the NJ-1040 instructions. The Fishers
determined that they will receive a greater tax benefit by taking the property tax deduction.
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The following pages show how the Fishers will complete their New Jersey Income Tax return. After taking
credit for Evelyn’s withholdings and their joint estimated tax payments, they will be entitled to a refund of
$1,969. However, they are requesting that a $10 donation be made to six specified check-offs and to the
designated fund of their choice. They will receive a refund of $1,909. Since they have taxable income of less
than $100,000, the Fishers can use either the New Jersey Tax Table or the New Jersey Tax Rate Schedules to

calculate their tax liability.
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Part-Year Residents

New Jersey Resident Return Examples (tax year 2018)

2018 NJ-1040

New Jersey Resident
Income Tax Return

Affix preprinted label below ONLY if the information is correct.

2| Your Social Securlty Number (required) Last Name, First Name, Initial (Joint Filers enter first name and middle initial of each. Enter

2 spouse’s/CU partner’s last name ONLY if different.)

:—ij 7131elefo] Fisher, Leonard and Evelyn

ﬁ Spouse’s/CU Partner’s SSN (if filing jointly) Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number)

: BEHE 101 Blackwell Rd.  Apt. B

g County/Municipality Code (See Table page 50) City, Town, Post Office State ZIP Code

E mm Cape May Point NJ 08212

E Fill in C if federal extension filed. | Fillin € if the address above is a foreign address. l Fill in P if your address has changed.
Part-year residents, provide months/days you were a New Jersey resident during 2018: Fiscal year filers only:

From: EI]D]]_ 8 To: Dj[ljl 8 Enter month of your year end [:I:l 2019

Filing Status

Fill in only one.

1. O  single
2. - Married/CU Couple, filing joint return
3. C:) Married/CU Partner, filing separate return D:IJ'EDEI]:D
Enter 5 's/CU partner's SSN
4. &  Head of Household ArSERERS R pRTISES
5. (- Qualifying Widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner
Indicate the year of your spouse’s/CU partner's death: € 2016 or > 2017
Exemptions
Fill in the ovals that apply. You must enter a total in the boxes to the right and complete the calculation.
Spouse/ Domestic .
2
6. Regular_______....________...._______-se” - CU Partner (- Partner .............. . x $1000= ___2000
7. Senior 65+ (Born D _
11053 01 ST e O self O Spouse/CUPamner ..o x $1,000 =
8. Blind/Disabled...................C_> Self O spouse/CU F’artnerD % $1,000=
9. Veteran .....oooooevonr...... G Self < Spouse/CU Partner x $3,000 =

10. Qualified Dependent Children D]
11_OtherDependents.“_"""““""""““"""““_"""““_"""““""""“_"""““""""“_""""“"""""_""""[:::lﬂ::] % $1,500 =

12. Dependents Attending Colleges (See inSrUctions) ... e sre e

13. Total Exemption Amount (Add totals from the lines at 6 through 12)...........coiiii 130 ,

14. Dependent Information. Provide the following information for each dependent. Fill in oval only if the dependent does not have health
insurance. (See instructions) No Health

Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial Social Securitj Number Birth Year Insurance

0000
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Bulletin GIT-11

Fage 2

15.

16a.

16b.

17.
18.

19.

20a.

20b.

21

22

23.

24,
25,
26.
27.
28a
28b

28c.

29,

30.

31.

32.

33.

34,

35.

36.

37,

38a.

38b.

38c.

39.

40.

Rev. 12/18

Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (State wages from
Box 16 of enclosed W-2(s)) (See instructions)
Taxable interest income (Enclose federal Schedule B if over $1,500)

(See instructions) ............ N, |
Tax-exempt |nterest income (Enclose Schedule)

(See instructions) Do not include on Line1Ba..........cc.cooeinieiiinennieenccnnanne

16b.

oo L TTEICAT2TEI0T0]

|:|| HE ||:|0|0| ofo
L1207 ][T=141[o]o]

Dividends. .. NSNS——— |

Net profits from busmess (Schedule NJ BUS 1 Par‘t I Llne 4) Eljl l l " l l IEI]
(Enclose federal SChedule C)......ovviies e ee e saas e e s naaas eersnnesssnnsnes 100 A A .

Net gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule NJ-DOP, Line 4)........ 19. EI]I—LIJI—LUEI]
Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals (See instructions)..................ccccoeeeeenee. 20a. EI]I_LIHM

Excludable Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals.................cee..e... 20b.

Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part II, Line 4)
(Enclose Schedule NJK-1 or federal Schedule K-1)
Met pro rata share of S Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part lll, Line 4)
(Enclose Schedule NJ-K-1 or federal Schedule K-1)
Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights
(Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, Line 4)

Met Gambling Winnings (See instructions)..........cccc o
Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments received............ccoovoeeevenniriinne.

Other (Enclose documents) (See instructions)............coonveiiiee s

Total Income (Add Lines 15, 16a, 17 through 20a, and 21 through 26)

. Retirement/Pension Exclusion (See instructions) ...........cccocoeveieiiiiiciens 28a.
. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet D and
iNStructions Page 22)........ccrimesmnnmsasanmnssssssesas sssssssasassssssnsssassssssnssss SO

Total Exclusion Amount (Add Lines 28a and 28b) .
New Jersey Gross Income (Subtract Line 28¢ from Lme 2?)

(S0 [N BTTUREHIOTNEY s cmsemsooos s 5 A M B RS RS SR R e SRS

Exemption Amount (Enter amount from Line 13. Part-year residents seeinstr.) ...

Medical Expenses (See Worksheet F and instructions page 24).........cccocoorvninccnencneciens

Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments (See instructions)

Qualified Conservation ContribUtion....... ..o e e

Health Enterprise Zone DedUuction ...
Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Line 11) ..cccoocvneineciene

Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 30 through 35) ............ccooveevoverreerenn,

Taxable Income (Subtract Line 36 from Line 29)

Total Property Taxes (18% of Rent) Paid (See instructions page 25) ...38a.

L TaTe]feToTo][oTo]

2 I:I:ll_I_UI_I_IJl:I:I
» LT TICTTICT]

HE

s
s

.z [T Te][ofoTo]lofo]

» LTSIt ][ofo]
» L IE]To]ol[o]o]

. LTI
__________________ » LTI TICT]
__________________ » LLITICTTICT]
« CLICTTICT]

- LLITICTTICT]

LT Is1leMoTo][olo]

5 I:I:II_I_IJ8 0I_I_IJ6 i E

I:I:I

County/Municipality Code m . m .

Property Tax Deduction (From Worksheet H) (See instructions)..........ccooooiiieniniiienenen

New Jersey Taxable Income (Subtract Line 39 from Line 37) ..........coccvovemrcvnnee.

Fill in - if you completed Worksheet G.

. [L2][sTiT2][o]o]
MR CTR]

.40.

21



Part-Year Residents

New Jersey Resident Return Examples (tax year 2018)

Page 3

41.
42.

43.

44,

45.

48.

47.

48.

49,

50.

51.

52.

53.

54.

55.

56.

o7,

58.

58.

60.

61.
62.

63.

64.
65.

66.

67.

68.

69.

Rev. 12/18

Tax on Amount on Line 40 (Tax Table page 52) ........ccccceniernieenceecneenes

Credit For Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions
(Enclose Schedule NJ-COJ) (See insStructions) .............coceeeevceveereeeveeens

Enter Code

Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 42 from LINe 41) ...t sre e

Child and Dependent Care Credit (See instructions) ............

Fillin € if you are a CU couple claiming the Child and Dependent Care Credit

Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 44 from LiN€ 43) .........coooiiiiiiiiiiiii i cns s

Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit............ocvviee e e s e e ssvaee s asssrae e v s sae ernneessnnnnnes

Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 46 from LiNg 45) .........coooiiiiiiiiiiiiin i

Gold Star Family Counseling Credit (See instructions) ............cccoooiiiiiiiiiiee e

Balance of Tax After Credits (Subtract Line 48 from Line 47) If zero or less, make no entry
Use Tax Due on Internet, Mail-Order, or Other Out-of-State Purchases

(See instructions) If no Use Tax, @Mer 0.00 ...........coovvoooe o e e sonnees

Interest on Underpayment of Estimated Tax ... e s

Fillin € if Form NJ-2210 is enclosed

Total Tax Due (Add Lines 49, 50, @and S1) ... e e e

Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (Enclose Forms W-2 and 1099)

Property Tax Credit (See instructions PAOE 25). ...ttt eie et sea se e e smes easessesas s essesanas

New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2017 tax return ...............cccccocccvveev.e. 55,

New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (See instructions)................

Fill in if you are a CU couple claiming the NJ Eared Income Tax Credit

Excess New Jersey UI/'WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions) .........cccocevienneen. 57.

Excess New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions)

Excess New Jersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions)
Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit (See instructions) ...

Total Withholdings, Credits, and Payments (Add Lines 53 through 60)...................61.

If Line 61 is less than Line 52, you have tax due.

Subtract Line 61 from Line 52 and enter the amount you oWe.............ccccoocoereurevneennnn. B2,

If you owe tax, you can still make a donation on Lines 65 through 72.
If the total on Line 61 is more than Line 52, you have an overpayment.

Subtract Line 52 from Line 61 and enter the overpayment ................ccccoooooevrncvenennn.. B30

Amount from Line 63 you want to credit to your 2019 tax. ... B

Os10lds20 L other oo
Os1000s200 other oo
Os100s20 0 other o
A s10 00520 ] other e
Cs1woCs2000ther oo

Contribution to N.J.

Endangered Wildlife Fund ............cccoooiniicviinnen
Contribution to N.J. Children’s Trus!

Fund To Prevent Child Abuse..............ccooeeeneiinnnen
Contribution to N.J. Vietnam

Veterans' Memorial Fund.............coooeiiiinieniee
Contribution to N.J. Breast

Cancer Research Fund ............ccccooeiiiiicnneninns
Contribution to U.S.S. New Jersey

Educational Museum Fund..................oocooveeeinenns

42,

43.

45,
46,
47.
48.

49,

Fill in 2 ; if you had the IRS calculate your federal earnedlncomecredlt

£

] :
n

:

... 96,

=ls
]

-] L
=
=
=

ssasissss

l

E
[~

:

m
E
[~

-

136}

£

B
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Part-Year Residents

Page 4

70. Other Designated Contribution
(Seeinstructions) ............cooveiiiiiinniieed

71. Other Designated Contribution
TN 100 (o] ) O ———————————

72. Other Designated Contribution
(See instructions) ...........
73. Total Adjustments to Tax Due.vaerpayment amount

(Add Lines B4 through T2) ... e

74. Balance due (Amount you must pay) (Add Line 62 and Line 73)....
Fillin € if paying by e-check or credit card

75. Refund amount (Subtract Line 73 from Line 63) ....

[s10 [ s20 [ other
O s10ds20 ] other EI] 71.
[s10s20 ] other

Enter Code
o
Enter Code

[TTICT]

[T TICT]
. OOOCEEEM

s LT TaeTelo][ofo]

Enter Code

Gubernatorial Elections Fund

Do you want to designate $1 to the Gubernatorial Elections Fund?
If joint return, does your spouse want to designate $17

This does not reduce your refund or increase your balance due.

You Yes - No C::)
-> )

Spouse/CU Partner Yes - No

Health Insurance

have health insurance coverage on the date you file this return.

Indicate whether or not you (and your spouse/CU partner or domestic partner) ;0"' (U Part 335 § :o
: e thi * pouse artner es o

000

Domestic Partner Yes

Signature

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this Income Tax return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than the taxpayer, this declaration is based on all

information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Your Signature Date

Spouse's/CU Partner's Signature (required if filing jointly) Date

Driver's License Number (Voluntary) (Instructions page 42) I I I D I I I I I I I I I I I

Fill in € if death certificate is enclosed.

Fillin € if you do not want a paper form next year.

O | authorize the Division of Taxation to discuss my return and enclosures with my preparer (below).

Paid Preparer's Signature (Fill in C) if NJ-1040-0 is enclosed)

Federal Identification Number

Firm’s Name

Federal Emfloier Identification Number

Keep a copy of this return and all supporting documents for your records.

Tax Due Address

Enclose payment along with the NJ-1040-V
payment voucher and tax return. Use the
labels provided with the envelope and mail to:

State of New Jersey

Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center — Payments

PO Box 111

Trenton, NJ 08645-0111
Include Social Security number and make
check or money order payable to:

State of New Jersey — TGI

You can also make a payment on our website:
www.njtaxation.org

Refund or No Tax Due Address

Use the |abels provided with the envelope
and mail to:
State of New Jersey
Division of Taxation
Revenue Processing Center — Refunds
PO Box 555
Trenton, NJ 08647-0555

Rev. 12/18
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Net Gains or Income From
Disposition of Property

SCHEDULE NJ-DOP
(Previously Schedule B)

Part-Year Residents

2018

List the net gains or income, less net loss, derived from the sale, exchange, or other disposition of property, including real or
personal, whether tangible or intangible.
(a) (b) (© (d) (e) ®
1. | Kind of property and Date acquired | Date sold Gross Cost or other basis | Gain or (loss)
description (mm/dd/yyyy) | (mm/dd/yyyy) sales price | as adjusted (see (d minus e)
instructions) and
expense of sale
Sale of Home
18 King's Ct. Cape May 8/9/87 5/23/18 275,000 117,000 158,000 00
*Less Sale of Principal
Residence exclusion (158,000 00)
2. | Capital Gains Distributions
3. | Other Net Gains
Net Gains (Add Lines 1, 2, and 3.) (Enter here and on Line 19. If loss, enter ZERO here and make no
4. | entry on Line 19.) 0 00
Schedule NJ-BUS-1 New Jersey Gross Income Tax 2018

(Form NJ-1040)

Business Income Summary Schedule

List the net gains or net income, less net loss, derived from or in the
form of rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights. See instructions. Type
of Property:

Net Gains or Income
Part IV From Rents, Royalties,

Rev.

Patents, and Copyrights 1 - Rental real estate 2 — Royalties 3 - Patents 4 - Copyrights
. . Type - Enter
Source of Income or Loss. If rental real estate, Social Security Number/
. number from Income or (Loss)
enter physical address of property. Federal FEIN list above
1. | 129 Bay Rd. Cape May 999-27-3660 1 (524 00)
2.
3.
4. | Net income or (Loss). (Add Lines 1, 2, and 3.)
(Enter here and on Line 23, NJ-1040. If loss, make no entry on Line 23.) 4, (524 00)
Keep a copy of this schedule for your records
12/18 24
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Schedule NJ-BUS-2 New Jersey Gross Income Tax 2018
(Form NJ-1040) Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment
Column A Column B
Reportable Regular Alternative Business
PART I Income (Loss) Business Income Income (Loss)
1. Net Profits from Business la. 1b.
Distributive Share of
2. Partnership Income 2a. 2b.
Net Pro Rata Share of
3. S Corporation Income 3a. 3b.
Net Gain or Income From Rents,
4. Royalties, Patents, and Copyrights 4a. 4b. | ( 524 | 00)
Loss Carryforward From
6. Totals 6a. 6b. | ( 524 00)

PART II Adjustment Calculation

7. Total Regular Business Income 7.
Total Alternative Business
Income/(Loss).
8. (If loss, enter zero) 8.
Business Increment
9. (Line 7 minus Line 8) 9.
10. | Adjustment Percentage 10. 0.50
Alternative Business Calculation
11. | Adjustment (Line 9 x 0.50) 11.

PART III Loss Carryforward to Tax Year 2019

12. | Loss Carryforward to Tax Year 2019 12. ( 524 00)
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Example 2

Javier Mendez (Age 65)
SS# 999-21-2351
Domenica Mendez (Age 64)
SS# 999-35-1443
125 Madison Street
Morris, NJ 07082 (Morris County)

The Mendezes are full-year residents of New Jersey. They are married and file a joint return with no
dependents.

JAVIEI'S WAQES.......ooevereeeeveseen e ssiensien $ 2,940
Joint taxable INterest ... e, 1,000
Joint exempt interest........ovvvenncneneeincnens 3,500
Joint dividends............oeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee e 2,500
Domenica’s fully taxable pension.........cccccouec.... 2,500
Javier's fully taxable pension.........n. 8,500
Javier's 1st year IRA withdrawal ...........cccecueenece. 1,200
Total joint Social Security .......cccooeerneereineenn. 17,500
NJ Income Tax withholdings .........cccoveeeenrinrenrinrinnee 45
ReNt PAI...iiiieeee e ese s 9,600

The value of Javier's traditional IRA on December 31, 2018, was $12,455 with previously taxed contributions
of $10,000. The Mendezes must complete Part I of Worksheet C —IRA Withdrawalsin the NJ-1040 instructions
to determine the taxable and excludable portions of the IRA withdrawal. They will keep the worksheet with
their tax records and use the information in Part I to complete Part II of the worksheet next year.

They will combine the taxable portion of the IRA withdrawal with their fully taxable pensions to arrive at the
total taxable pension to report on Line 20a of the New Jersey Income Tax return. They will report the
excludable portion of the IRA withdrawal on Line 20b. After determining the taxable amount of their pension
and IRA income, they will be able to use the pension exclusion to reduce their income by up to $40,000
because their total income (Line 27, Form NJ-1040) did not exceed $100,000. Because the Mendezes have
less than $40,000 in taxable pension to report on their tax return, they will complete Worksheet D — Other
Retirement Income Exclusion in the NJ-1040 instructions to see if they qualify for an additional exclusion.

As New Jersey residents whose gross income did not exceed $20,000 for the year, the Mendezes have no tax
liability to New Jersey but will file the tax return to claim a refund of withholdings.

Javier and Domenica will not complete Worksheet H (located in the NJ-1040 instructions) to determine
whether to take a property tax deduction or a property tax credit as their income is below the filing threshold
amount of $20,000. They are, however, eligible for a property tax credit of $50 and will claim the credit on
Line 54, Form NJ-1040. Because the Mendezes are filing Form NJ-1040, they should not file the Property Tax
Credit and Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit application, Form NJ-1040-HW.
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Since Javier is claiming the "Age 65 or Older” exemption for the first time for Tax Year 2018, he must enclose
proof of age with the return. See Exemptions for acceptable documentation.

The following pages show how the Mendezes will complete their worksheets and tax return.

Worksheet C - IRA Withdrawals

Part I - Calculating Taxable and Excludable Amounts

1. Value of IRA on 12/31/18.

Include contributions made for the tax year from 1/1/19 — 4/15/19 1. 12,455
2. Total distributions from IRA during the tax year. Do not include tax-free rollovers............ 2. 1,200
3. Total Value of IRA. Add lines 1 and 2 3. 13,655

Unrecovered Contributions:
Complete either line 4a or 4b. Then continue with line 5.

4a. First year of withdrawal from IRA:

Enter the total of IRA contributions that were previously taxed. 4a. 10,000
4b. After first year of withdrawal from IRA:

Complete Part II. Enter amount of unrecovered contributions from line 15. ... 4b.
5. Accumulated earnings in IRA on 12/31/18.

Subtract either line 4a or 4b from line 3. 5. 3,655
6. Divide line 5 by line 3. (Enter the result as a decimal.) 6. .268
7. Taxable portion of this year’s withdrawal. Multiply line 2 by decimal amount on

line 6. Enter here and on Line 20a, Form NJ-1040. 7. 322
8. Excludable portion of this year’'s withdrawal. Subtract line 7 from line 2. Enter

here and on Line 20b, Form NJ-1040. 8. 878

(Partial worksheet)
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Worksheet D
Unclaimed Pension Exclusion
Age Requirement: 62 or older
Part-year residents, do not complete this worksheet. (See instructions below.)

Is income on Line 27, NJ-1040 MORE than $100,000?
< Yes. You are not eligible for the unclaimed pension exclusion.
<@ No. Continue with line 1.

Enter the amount from Line 15, NJ-1040 1

Enter the amount from Line 18, NJ-1040 2.

Enter the amount from Line 21, NJ-1040 3. 0
4
5

Enter the amount from Line 22, NJ-1040
Add lines 1, 2, 3, and 4
Is the amount on line 4 MORE than $3,000?
< VYes. You are not eligible for the unclaimed pension exclusion. See Special Exclusion below.
<« No. Continue with line 6.
6. Enter: if your filing status is:
$60,000 Married/CU couple, filing joint return
$45,000 Single; Head of household; Qualifying widow(er)/

surviving CU partner

vk wNh e

$30,000 Married/CU partner, filing separate return 6.__ 60,000
7. Enter the amount from Line 28a, NJ-1040 7. 8,822

8. Unclaimed Pension Exclusion. Subtract line 7 from line 6. Include this amount on Line 28b, NJ-1040. ... 8.___ 51,178
Joint filers: If only one spouse is 62 or older, only the income of that spouse can be excluded.

Special Exclusion. If you (and your spouse if filing jointly) will never be eligible to receive Social Security or Railroad
Retirement benefits because your employer did not participate in either program, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-1, Pensions
and Annuities, before entering an amount on Line 28b.
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Bulletin GIT-11
New Jersey Resident
Income Tax Return
Affix preprinted label below ONLY if the information is correct.
=| Your Social Security Number (required) Last Name, First Name, Initial {Joint Filers enter first name and middle initial of each. Enter
2 spousa's/CU partnar’s last name ONLY if different.)
E EI ool 201 H2)30s5)1] Mendez, Javier and Domenica
§[ Spouse’s/CU Pariner’s SSN (if filing jointly) Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number)
& & E1{El & {EH 3 3 EA 125 Madison St.
% County/Municipality Code (See Table page 50) City, Town, Post Office State ZIP Code
Moris Ny | 07082
E|Fill in C::)if federal extension filed. | Fill inC:D if the address above is a foreign address. | Fill in C::) if your address has changed.
Part-year residents, provide months/days you were a New Jersey resident during 2018: Fiscal year filers only:

From: Dj[ljl 8 1o Dj[ljl 8 Enter month of your year end [I:l 2019

Filing Status

Fill in only one.

1, C:) Single

2. @  Married/CU Couple, filing joint return
3. €  Maried/CU Partner, filing separate return I I Dl I H:I:I:Ij
4 o Head of Household Enter Spouse's/CU partner's SSN
5. €  Qualifying Widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner

Indicate the year of your spouse's/CU partner’s death: C:) 2016 or C:) 2017
Exemptions

Fill in the ovals that apply. You must enter a total in the boxes to the right and complete the calculation.

Spouse/ Domestic
6. Regular.........ccceoevnvinnnee, - Seif - CU Partner C:D Partner ............... x $1,000 = _2‘000
7. Senior 65+ (Bomn y _ 1,000
in 1953 or earlier) . G Self O spouse/CUPartner ... x $1000= L1000
8. Blind/Disabled................... C Self O Spouse/CUPAMNer ..o % Gl 000 =
9. Veteran .....o.ocerivcnisnninnnns O self O SPOUSE/CU PaMNET ...vvv oo x $3,000 =

10. Qualified DEPENAENE CRIIAIEN ......o.... oo oo eeee oo e eee oo % ;500 =

11. Other Dependents Dj ¥ 34,200 =

12. Dependents Attending Colleges (See INSIUCHONS) ..........o....oveeieeerseeceeee e eee s ssee e ese s x $1,000 =

13. Total Exemption Amount (Add totals from the lines at 6 through 12).....ovooiriieiie e 13. I I 3 II OI 0 I 0 II 0 I 0 I

14. Dependent Information. Provide the following information for each dependent. Fill in oval only if the dependent does not have health
insurance. (See instructions) No Health

Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial Social Securiﬁ Number Birth Year Insurance

0000
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New Jersey Resident Return Examples (tax year 2018)

Page 2
15. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (State wages from EI] - - -
Box 16 of enclosed W-2(s)) (S€€ INSIUCHONS) .........veeervereeeeeereeeeeseeeeesrresvsseeennes 150 , . 1 E m | m m
16a. Taxable interest income (Enclose federal Schedule B if over $1,500) m _ - -
(588 INSOCHONSE) -ccverncemmmmmen o e s T s 1 DA . . .E m EE m
16b. Tax-exempt interest income (Enclose Schedule)
(See instructions) Do not include on Line16a.............cceeeeviicnnenvc s 1600
T DIVITBTIIE. soawervvivsnvwrisvrmiivrimesiirveswsmrsssw s viles e wesvired e oo s oSV P
18. Net profits from business (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part |, Line 4)
(Enclose federal Schedule C)........o e e e e s

19. Net gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule NJ-DOP, Line 4)........ 19. EleI:IjEI:IjEI]
20a. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals (See instructions).............ccccoeeviiieen. 20a. Dj E _
20b. Excludable Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals..........cccceveicvinnenn. 20b. ,E, E .
21. Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part Il, Line 4) Elj EI:D EI:I] EI]
(Enclose Schedule NJK-1 or federal Schedule K-1) ..o 2710 ! i .
22. Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part Ill, Line 4) D] D:lj Djj EI]
(Enclose Schedule NJ-K-1 or federal Schedule K-T) ....cccooiivivceiiiiiinieciiiienecnennn. 22, ! i .
23. Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights m E E m
(Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, Line d) ... 23 ! | A
24. Net Gambling Winnings (See instructions).........ccccooiiieeeein e e e 24, D:I,EEDD:DD:I
25. Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments received.................cccooevevieeennn. 25. EI]D:I]D:I]D]
26. Other (Enclose documents) (See iNStrUctions)...........cccoeerri s e 26. DjD:I]D:DDj
27. Total Income (Add Lines 15, 16a, 17 through 20a, and 21 through 26) .................. 27. EI] . A E .
28a. Retirement/Pension Exclusion (See instructions) ...........c...cocvvevveeennn... 282, , E _
28b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet D and -
INStrUCHONS PAGE 22) ... e e snn e s enen s 20D . | E m m

28c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Lines 28a and 28b) ... 286 ,.
29. New .Ilersey IGwss Income (Subtract Line 28¢ from Line 27) m E E m
(See INSITUCHIONS) ..o e e e e e ennanee s 20 ! | .
30. Exemption Amount (Enter amount from Line 13. Part-year residents see instr.) ....................... 30. ED]EEDEI]
31. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet F and instructions page 24)...........ccccocviiiiinicnnccen 310 I_I_IJI_I_I_IEI]
32. Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments (See instructions) .............cccceeeiiinienncnenn 320 Djjmjm
33. Qualified Conservation ContTBUNON. ........c.ooi et eraaaese s s aessssn snrssmmameesesmeersaasseesennnees DD D:DD:DD]
34. Health Enterprise Zone Deduction ... ceeseesesssrecssssssssseessessssssecsessssss i EI:I]EI:I]EI]
35. Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Line 11) ... 35. EI:DD:I]D]
36. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 30 through 35) ..o 36. D:lj[l:lj[lj
37. Taxable Income (Subtract Line 36 from Line 29)................ EI] E EI:DEI]

38a. Total Property Taxes (18% of Rent) Paid (See instructions page 25) ...38a. DjD:D
oo L L L L LT T T LT T T T T T T Joare [T T T 11

38c. County/Municipality Code m Fillin 2 if you completed Worksheet G.

:
:

39. Property Tax Deduction (From Worksheet H) (See instructions)................ .. 39,

m=
=
O

40. New Jersey Taxable Income (Subtract Line 39 from Line 37) .......coooiiiniancnnnn 40. Dj
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Bulletin GI1-11
Page 3
41. Tax on Amount on Line 40 (Tax Table PAGE 52) .....ovueeevvereeeeeeereeeeeeereeeeeeeeene s eeneeseeeeeesnness o 41 I_LIJEI_UEI]
Enter Code

42, Credit For Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions I I I II I I Im
(Enclose Schedule NJ-COJ) (See instructions) ... 42. i .

43. Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 42 from LiNg 41) ..o e e ernnee e enes S50 I_I_IJ‘EI_IJEI]

44, Child and Dependent Care Credit (See INSIrUCHONS] .........ccocueviieireeeri st s s s 44, DDID]

Fillin € if you are a CU couple claiming the Child and Dependent Care Credit

45. Balance of Tax (Subfract Line 44 from Line 43) ...t e 45.

46, Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit..........c.o.omimisninmsissmmsiem e cnssssiesssessssossssssssss snse $0,

47. Balance of Tax (Subftract Line 46 from Line 45) ... 4T

48. Gold Star Family Counseling Credit (See instructions) ........cc..ocoveene e e 480

49. Balance of Tax After Credits (Subtract Line 48 from Line 47) If zero or less, make no entry..... 49.
50. Use Tax Due on Internet, Mail-Order, or Other Qut-of-State Purchases
(See instructions) If no Use Tax, enter 0.00 ... i ceeeeeees ene DOL

51. Interest on Underpayment of Estimated TaX ............ccoovovivcesioieeeeee e enen s D1
Fill in € if Form NJ-2210 is enclosed

o
N

Eﬁ EEEa:
T

aHHHH  HHEEH HeEHHEH

52, Total Tax Due (Add Lines 49, 50, @Nd 57) ....cccoimemiiiiimmssniimmsimssiisiome s snsssns o sessssss voss

53. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (Enclose Forms W-2 and 1099)................... 53.

o
I
&

54. Property Tax Credit (See instructions page 25).......cooiii e e e e

55. New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2017 tax return ... 55. DE'E
56. New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (See instructions) ... ... 56, DE
Fill in if you had the IRS calculate your federal eamed income credlt
Fill in if you are a CU couple claiming the NJ Earned Income Tax Credit
57. Excess New Jersey UI/WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions) ...........ccccecceeen 37 D‘E
58. Excess New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions)............... 58. DD:D
59. Excess New Jersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions)......... 59. DE
60. Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit (See instructions) ... e 60. DE
61. Total Withholdings, Credits, and Payments (Add Lines 53 through 60)......................61. DI—LIJDiIﬂ
62. IfLine 61 is less than Line 52, you have tax due. DI I l II I I Im
Subtract Line 61 from Line 52 and enter the amount you owe..............ccccoieiiiienanine 62. 1 ) .

If you owe tax, you can still make a donation on Lines 65 through 72.

63. If the total on Line 61 is more than Line 52, you have an overpayment. DI I I ID 9 I 5 I
Subtract Line 52 from Line 61 and enter the overpayment ...........cccooe s incnnes s 63. | |

:
i
-

64. Amount from Line 63 you want to credit to your 2019 tax. . SRTTRURTTRURRUORINY ;- %
65. Contribution to N.J.

Endangered Wildlife Fund.................... s1o00s2000ther ..o B EI:I]EI]
66. Contribution to N.J. Children’s Trust

Fund To Prevent Child ADUSE............................. ClstoCds20Jother. oo 66 EI:I]EI]
67. Contribution to N.J. Vietnam

Veterans' Memorial FUNG....................cc.c.oo.... ClstoCds20 Cdother. oo 67. EI:I]EI]
68. Contribution to N.J. Breast

Cancer Research Fund ...l DS10|:|$20DOther68 Em
69. Contribution to U.5.5. New Jersey

Educational MUSeUm FUNG.............oocc..ooovcreo 1510 L1520 [ Other ..o 69 EI:DEI]
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New Jersey Resident Return Examples (tax year 2018)

Page 4
Enter Code
70. Other Designated Contribution EI] D:D m
(See INSIUCHONS) worrverr oo $10 ] 520 [ Other 70. i
Enter Code
71. Other Designated Contribution m D:D m
(See INStructions) ...........ccccvveiiieneennnecnneeseessesenand O $10 ] 520 [ other 71 .
Enter Code

72. Other Designated Contribution EI] D:D m
(See instructions) .... ceerrerseenersseeenenend 1 310 [ 520 [ Other 72. i
73. Total Adjustments to Tax Due/Overpayment amount | I I " I I |E|j

{Add Lirwes B4 BNOUGN T2)cciunuonsumsncmsnmmimisnsi imaminsnss i samiun s sams denasss vndssius s s asasvssn dascs Rk

Fillin & if paying by e-check or credit card
LT T ICTeTs]0o0o]

75. Refund amount (Subtract Line 73 from Line B3) ... T

Gubernatorial Elections Fund

Do you want to designate $1 to the Gubernatorial Elections Fund? You Yes No

If joint return, does your spouse want to designate $17 Spouse/CU Partner Yes No

This does not reduce your refund or increase your balance due.

Health Insurance

Indicate whether or not you (and your spouse/CU partner or domestic partner) You Yes No 8

have health insurance coverage on the date you file this return. Spouse/CU Partner Yes No

Domestic Partner Yes No O

Signature

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this Income Tax return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than the taxpayer, this declaration is based on all
information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Your Signature Date Spouse's/CU Partner's Signature (required if filing jointly) Date
Driver’s License Number (Voluntary) (Instructions page 42) E I D I I D I D I I
Fillin € if death certificate is enclosed. Fillin ¢ if you do not want a paper form next year.
> | authorize the Division of Taxation to discuss my return and enclosures with my preparer (below).
Paid Preparer's Signature (Fill in CifNJ-1040-0 is enclosed) Federal Identification Number
Firm's Name Federal Employer |dentification Number

Keep a copy of this return and all supporting documents for your records.

Tax Due Address Refund or No Tax Due Address

Enclose payment along with the NJ-1040-V
payment voucher and tax return. Use the Use the labels provided with the envelope
labels provided with the envelope and mail to: and mail to:

State of New Jersey State of New Jersey

Division of Taxation Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center — Payments Revenue Processing Center — Refunds

PO Box 111 PO Box 555

Trenton, NJ 08645-0111 Trenton, NJ 08647-0555

Include Social Security number and make
check or money order payable to:

State of New Jersey — TGI
You can also make a payment on our website:
www.njtaxation.org

Rev. 12/18 32



Part-Year Residents

Example 3

Bao Nguyen (Age 45)
SS# 999-78-5543

12 Terrace View Lane

Houston, TX 77052

Bao was a part-year resident of New Jersey. He lived here from January 1, 2018, to January 31, 2018. He files
as head of household with one dependent child attending college full-time (Chinh, age 19).

While a New Jersey resident:

Bao's wages (from Phila.).......ccocoooervverrvorerrienes $ 6,300
Bao's wages (from NJ) ... 2,000
Unreimbursed medical expenses........cccocovvenrunnc. 300
Taxable iINtErest...... e 50
New Jersey Lottery Winnings........cccocoevveeereceneeeeens 350
Total NJ Income Tax withheld..........cccovivvnrinnnnn. 16
Philadelphia wage tax paid.......cccccoevrrrrrerernren. 140
Rent paid (one Mmonth) ........ccccevveneeenecneineinsis 850

Income earned while a nonresident:
(From outside New Jersey) ... $ 65,000

Although Bao had gross income of less than $20,000 while a New Jersey resident, his gross income for the
entire year was over that amount. He is required to file a New Jersey resident tax return for the time he lived
in New Jersey and will prorate all deductions and exemptions.

Bao can deduct unreimbursed medical expenses paid during the period of time he lived in New Jersey that
exceeded 2% of his New Jersey income. To arrive at that figure, he will complete Worksheet F — Deduction
for Medlical Expenses in the NJ-1040 instructions.

Bao works in Philadelphia and must pay a Philadelphia wage tax on his salary. To calculate the amount of his
credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction, Bao will complete a New Jersey Schedule NJ-COJ. To determine
the amount of salary actually taxed by Philadelphia (to be entered on Line 1 of Schedule NJ-COJ), the amount
of wage tax deducted from Bao's salary must be divided by the Philadelphia nonresident tax rate (.034654
from January 1 to June 30, 2018, and .034567 from July 1 to December 31, 2018). He will enter on Line 42,
Form NJ-1040 both the total amount of credit allowed from his Schedule NJ-COJ and the jurisdiction code
for Philadelphia, which is “52."

The following pages show how Bao will complete his New Jersey tax return, New Jersey Worksheet H,
Schedule NJ-COJ, Worksheet I, and Worksheet F. When Bao completes Schedule NJ-COJ, he determines that
he will receive a greater benefit by taking a property tax credit. His prorated credit in the amount of $4, along
with $16 in New Jersey withholdings, will be applied against his $30 tax liability. He has a balance due of $10,
but will enclose a check for $30 so he can donate $20 to the New Jersey Children’s Trust Fund.
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New Jersey Resident Return Examples (tax year 2018)

2018 NJ-1040

New Jersey Resident
Income Tax Return

Affix preprinted label below ONLY if the information is correct.

Your Social Security Number (required)

Last Name, First Name, Initial (Joint Filers enter first name and middle initial of each. Enter

B EBHEEBEHAB

spouse's/CU partner's last name ONLY if different.)

Nguyen, Bao

Spouse’s/CU Partner's SSN (if filing jointly)

Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number)

12 Terrace View Lane

EEEENEEEN

County/Municipality Code (See Table page 50)

HEEN

ZIP Code
77052

State

X

City, Town, Post Office

Houston

For Privacy Act Nolificalion, See Instructions

Fill in € if federal extension filed.

| Fill in € if the address above is a foreign address. | Fill in @it your address has changed.

Part-year residents, provide months/days you were a New Jersey resident during 2018:

o [O[1][3]1] 1 8

«on PO[L1) 1 &

Filing Status

Fill in only one.

Fiscal year filers only:
Enter month of your year end D:l 2019

1. C) Single
2. C:) Married/CU Couple, filing joint return
Enter S 's/CU partner's SSN
4. - Head of Household MIEr SpoUse's parners
5. (-] Qualifying Widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner
Indicate the year of your spouse’s/CU partner's death: O 2016 o T 2017
Exemptions
Fill in the ovals that apply. You must enter a total in the boxes to the right and complete the calculation.
Spouse/ Domestic .
1
6. Fie:gular............,,...........,.....SBIr C:> CU Partner O Partner .............. . x $1,000 = L0
7. Senior 65+ (Born ] D _
in 1953 or earlier) ............. O self O Spouse/CUParner ..........coooocvereceeseveeeees x $1,000=
8. Blind/Disabled.................... CD Self C) Spouse/CU Partner D % 1,000= —
9. Veleran ..........ccoccoeeneenamnnenes O self (- Spouse/CU Partner D x $3,000 =
1 =
10. Qualified Dependent ChIAIEN ... oo X $1,500 100
11. Other Dependents Dj G i, A —
12. Dependents Attending Colleges (S€€ INSIUCHONS) ........c.verreeeueeeseersseesseseesssee s sesesseans x $1.000= 1000

13. Total Exemption Amount (Add totals from the lines at & through 12).....ccocooiveniecineneees

14. Dependent Information. Provide the following information for each dependent. Fill in oval only if the dependent does not have health

insurance. (See instructions) No Health
Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial Social Security Number Birth Year Insurance
Nguyen, Chinh E BB EAABEEBEEAEEER=
IIIHIHIIIIIIIDCD
LI I HEHIHT 11 <
LA I H I HIEY| [1T] o
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Bulletin GI1-11

Fage 2

15. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (State wages from Elj I_I_u LLIJ -
Box 16 of enclosed W-2(s)) (See instructions) ..........ccooovieviiiieiiciee e 15. i 6 | 3§OQ0 . m m

16a. Taxable interest income (Enclose federal Schedule B if over $1,500) m E — -
LS Ty E g T Lo T, | : - A . . mm ﬂ

16b. Tax-exempt interest income (Enclose Schedule) D I_I_IJ D_I_I |_I_|
(See instructions) Do not include on Line16a..........cc.coovveiiiieniicecceee 1600 i 1 .

18. Net profits from business (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part |, Line 4) Eljl l l " l l IEI]
(Enclose federal Schedule C)..... ..o veeeeerier e vere s srae s s snas e maenaees 18. | | |

19. Net gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule NJ-DOP, Line 4)........ 19. EI]I—I—IJI—LUEI]

20a. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals (See instructions)............................. 20a. EI]I_LIJI_I_IJDJ

20b. Excludable Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals............cccevveeeeneen.. 20b, DEEE

21. Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part II, Line 4) Eljl I I " I I IEI]
(Enclose Schedule NJK-1 or federal Schedule K-1) .....coviiiiiierinnicieesnneeeccsenns 21. A i .

22. Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part lll, Line 4) Eljl l l " l l IEI]
(Enclose Schedule NJ-K-1 or federal Schedule K-1) ..o 22. A i .

23, Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights m l_I_IJ I_I_IJ m
(Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, Line ) ... e 20 | | |

24. Net Gambling Winnings (See instructions)..........cccceoieniiiiien e eeececcvenene 280 EI],[—LUI—LUEI]

25, Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments received....................ocooveiieennnns 25. D]ED]D:DD]

26. Other (Enclose documents) (See instructions)...........ccoonviiiiniieciien e, 260 EI],I_LIJI_I_IJDJ
27. Total Income (Add Lines 15, 16a, 17 through 20a, and 21 through 26) .................. 27. Eljl_l_lﬂ 34540
28a. Retirement/Pension Exclusion (See instructions) ............cccooeiiiieniieens 28a. ED]I:I:DD]

28b. F)ther Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet D and E E m

INSIUCHONS PAGE 22) ..o e sne e enee e 20D | .

28c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Lines 28a _and 28b) 28c D:DD:DD]
T I I | 3| E] 5 00 0
30. Exemption Amount (Enter amount from Line 13. Part-year residents seeinstr.) ........................ 30. EI:I]
31. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet F and instructions page 24).............cccvevviiiciincn 310 E .
32. Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments (See instructions) ..........cccooeniniiiencinnn 320 [—LUI—I—UEI]
33, Qualified Conservation Contribution. .. ... ..o et e e e s eeeeann 33. ED:Dm
34, Health Enterprise Zone Deduction ... et sres e e sssssssesssssssssssssessass 34. ED]D:DD]
35. Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Line 11).....ccoccocenenceeean 35, LLIJ,I_I_IJEIJ
36. Total Exemptions and Deductlions (Add Lines 30 through 35) ......cociieniiniccienenenns [—LUIiliu

37. Taxable Income (Subtract Line 36 from Ling 29).....c.cciiiiiiiiiieneeeiscieee s eceeeae e 37. EI] I_I_Iﬂlﬁlilﬂ
38a. Total Property Taxes (18% of Rent) Paid (See instructions page 25) ...38a. EI:D _

38c¢. County/Municipality Code D:I:D Fill in € if you completed Worksheet G.

39. Property Tax Deduction (From Worksheet H) (See instructions).................n...... 39, LIJI_I_IJEI]
40. New Jersey Taxable Income (Subtract Line 39 from Line 37) ... 400 D],l_l_lﬂm&lﬂ
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New Jersey Resident Return Examples (tax year 2018)

Page 3

2][o]o]

41. TaxonAmountonLine40(TaxTab!epage52)....____.......____........___........____..._........b.éa.____..._....41. I—I—IJDEIJ m

Enter =

42. Credit For Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions 5 I ) | l l IEIiIZ_I
(Enclose Schedule NJ-COJ) (See instructions) ..............ccoeeeeiiiiccene 42, i !

43. Balance of Tax (Subtract Ling 42 from LIN@ 471) ...oovveeiiiiiieiee e aesnesrriee s sessnasas s evsneenaensaes 0 I—LIJDiM

44, Child and Dependent Care Credit (See instructions) ......... SRR - 3 DD:DD]

Fill in C:) if you are a CU couple claiming the Child andDependent Care Credlt

45. Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 44 from LINE 43) ..o vseeresn e evesnne e nne e eee S0, I—LIJDim
46. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit...... ..o e e e ennnes e enneaeeenes S0 I_I_IJ,EI_IJEIJ
47. Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 46 from Lin@ 43) ... e e 47, I_I_UEIiIﬂ
48. Gold Star Family Counseling Credit (See instructions).....ccccceeviviiiriccic e rieesvvneeraeneees 480 I_I_UEI_IJEIJ
49. Balance of Tax After Credits (Subtract Line 48 from Line 47) If zero or less, make no entry.....49. I—I—IJDiIﬂ
50. Use Tax Due on Internet, Mail-Order, or Other Out-of-State Purchases I I l IM
(See instructions) If no Use Tax, enter 0.00 ... e e e D0, ) |
51. Interest on Underpayment of Estimated Tax ... 51.
Fillin € if Form NJ-2210is enclosed

w
(]

0 g

52. Total Tax Due (Add Lines 49, 50, @8N0 37T) .o e s e

53. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (Enclose Forms W-2 and 1099)..................... 53.

] HHE

54. Property Tax Credit (See instrUctions PAGE 25).......cooviiieioee i e e eses s nees e

59. Excess New Jersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions) ........ 59.

S B A
SEEEH ChReR O

55. New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2017 tax return ... 53.
56. New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (See INStrUCtIONS) .........ovoveeieiiiimiierietiicieieeeie st e seesee seeenes DB D
Fill in if you had the IRS calculate your federal eamed income credit
Fill in if you are a CU couple claiming the NJ Earned Income Tax Credit
57. Excess New Jersey UI/WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions) ........occceviecveeennn. 57 D
58. Excess New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions) ............... 58. D

60. Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit (See instructions) .............cocoeiiiiiiees e B0

61. Total Withholdings, Credits, and Payments (Add Lines 53 through 60)...................... 61. ,E‘ . E

62. If Line 61 is less than Line 52, you have tax due. I l l I 10
Subtract Line 61 from Line 52 and enter the amount you owe.............coevevriivvcccnne 62. ;| !

If you owe tax, you can still make a donation on Lines 65 through 72.

HENEN

63. If the total on Line 61 is more than Line 52, you have an overpayment. I I I Im
Subtract Line 52 from Line 61 and enter the overpayment ....................................63. I—LIJ 1

64. Amount from Line 63 you want to credit to your 2019 tax. ... e 64. ,IJ_IJEI_IJEI]

65. Contribution to N.J. EI:D Dj
Endangered Wildlife Fund.... el 510 (] 520 ] Ofther ...65. .

66. Contribution to N.J. Children’s Trust
Fund To Prevent Child ADUSE...........cc....ooocorr. Cs1000 520 I Other ..o 6. N .

67. Contribution to N.J. Vietnam EI:D Elj
Veterans' Memorial Fund...............ocoiiiiiid DS1UD$20DOther6? |

68. Contribution to N.J. Breast EI:I] EI]
Cancer Research FUNd ..............oooooooooooo ClstoC0s20Jother oo 68. |

69. Contribution to U.S.S. New Jersey E m
Educational Museum Fund...............................L 1810 [1g20 (I other ..o 69. .
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Bulletin GIT-11

Page 4
. o Enter Code
70. Other Designated Contribution
(S8 INSUUCHONS) w.eeooroore oo s10 20 O other 70.
. . . Enter Code
71. Other Designated Contribution
(S0 INSHUCHONS) oo [ s10 [ $20 [ other 71
Enter Code

72. Other Designated Contribution

(S0 INSHUCHONS) eeovoooreeeee e [ s10 [ s20 O other

73. Total Adjustments to Tax Due/Overpayment amount

(Add Lines B84 through T2) ... et

74. Balance due (Amount you must pay) (Add Line 62 and Line 73)......cccoeiiieneniniincnnes

Fillin € if paying by e-check or credit card

75. Refund amount (Subtract Line 73 from Line B3) ......c.ccooviiiiiiiiiiiee e

[TTICT]
[TTICT]
[T TICT]

s |:|I_I_I_I|:|ilﬂllilil

. OO CECIR]

o OCITICTTICT]

Gubernatorial Elections Fund

Do you want to designate $1 to the Gubernatorial Elections Fund?
If joint return, does your spouse want to designate $17

This does not reduce your refund or increase your balance due.

-
(-

* You Yes
Spouse/CU Partner Yes

MNo
Mo

S
.

Health Insurance

Indicate whether or not you (and your spouse/CU partner or domestic pariner) You Yes 8
have health insurance coverage on the date you file this return. Spouse/CU Partner Yes
Domestic Partner Yes C:)

000

Signature

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this Income Tax return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than the taxpayer, this declaration is based on all

information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Your Signature

Date

Spouse's/CU Partner's Signature (required if filing jointly)

Date

Driver's License Number (Voluntary) (Instructions page 42) I I I D I D I I D I m

Fill in € if death certificate is enclosed.

Fillin € if you do not want a paper form next year.

> | authorize the Division of Taxation to discuss my return and enclosures with my preparer (below).

Paid Preparer's Signature (Fill in C_ if NJ-1040-0 is enclosed)

Federal Identification Number

HEEN

Firm’s Name

Federal Emfbiel’ Identification Number

Keep a copy of this return and all supporting documents for your records.

Tax Due Address

Enclose payment along with the NJ-1040-V
payment voucher and tax return. Use the
labels provided with the envelope and mail to:

State of New Jersey

Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center — Payments

PO Box 111

Trenton, NJ 08645-0111
Include Social Security number and make
check or money order payable to:

State of New Jersey — TGI

You can also make a payment on our website:
www.njtaxation.org

Refund or No Tax Due Address

Use the labels provided with the envelope
and mail to:
State of New Jersey
Division of Taxation
Revenue Processing Center — Refunds
PO Box 555
Trenton, NJ 08647-0555
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Part-Year Residents

Worksheet F
Deduction for Medical Expenses

1. Total unreimbursed medical expenses 1. 300
2. Enter Line 29, Form NJ-1040 _6,350 x .02 = 2. 127
3. Medical Expenses Deduction. Subtract line 2 from line and enter result here.

If zero or less, enter zero 3. 173
4. Enter the amount of your qualified Archer MSA contributions from federal Form 8853.......ccccoevcnnnceen. 4. 0
5. Enter the amount of your self-employed health insurance deduction 5. 0

6. Total Deduction for Medical Expenses. Add lines 3,
4, and 5. Enter the result here and on Line 31, Form NJ-1040.
If zero, enter zero here and make no entry on Line 31, Form NJ-1040. 6. 173
(Keep for your records)
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Part-Year Residents

Worksheet H - Property Tax Deduction/Credit
Review the eligibility requirements on page 26 before completing Worksheet H. Part-year residents, see page 30.

Complete both columns of this worksheet to find out whether the deduction or the credit is better for you.

1. Property Taxes. Enter the property taxes from Line 38a, Form NJ-1040.

Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) applicants must use their base year amount. 1. 153
(See instructions on page 30.)

2. Property Tax Deduction. Is the amount on line 1 of this worksheet $15,000 or more ($7,500 or more
if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal residence)?
<> Yes. Enter $15,000 ($7,500 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the
same principal residence).
<« No. Enter the amount from line 1. 2. 153

STOP — if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions.

Complete only lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule NJ-COJ and Worksheet L
(See instructions on page 32.)

Column A Column B
3. Taxable Income (From Line 37 of Form NJ-1040) 3. 3
4. Property Tax Deduction (From line 2 above) 4. 4 -0-
5. New Jersey Taxable Income (Subtract line 4 from line 3) 5. 5
6. Tax on line 5 amount (From Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedules) 6. 6
7. Subtract line 6, column A from line 6, column B 7.
8.

Is the line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal
residence? Part-year residents, see page 30 before answering “No.”
<> Yes. The Property Tax Deduction is more beneficial for you. Make the following entries on your return.

Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 39 Line 4, column A
Line 40 Line 5, column A
Line 41 Line 6, column A
Line 54 Make no entry
< No. The Property Tax Credit is more beneficial for you. Make the following entries on your return.
Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 39 Make no entry
Line 40 Line 5, column B
Line 41 Line 6, column B
Line 54 $50 ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same

principal residence). Part-year residents must prorate this amount. (See
instructions on page 30.)

(Keep for your records)
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Schedule NJ-COJ Credit for Income or Wage
(Previously Schedule A) Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdiction
Income properly taxed by both New Jersey and other jurisdiction. (Instructions page 33)
1 | Jurisdiction Name: Philadelphia
" | Do not combine the same income taxed by more than one jurisdiction.
(The amount on Line 1 cannot exceed the amount on Line 2.) 1. 4030
2. | Income subject to tax by New Jersey (From Line 29, NJ-1040) 2. 6.350
3. | Maximum allowable credit percentage. Divide Line 1 by Line 2. (Instructions page 35) 3. 63.4646%

See page 26 to determine if you are eligible for a property tax
benefit. If you are not eligible, only complete Column B.

Column A Column B

4. | Taxable Income (From Line 37, Form NJ-1040) 4, 5885 4, 5885
Enter in Box 5a the amount from Worksheet H, sa. 153
Line 1.
5.
Property Tax Deduction. Enter the amount from
Worksheet H, line 2. (Instructions page 30) 5 153 5 -0-
6. | New Jersey Taxable Income (Subtract Line 5 from Line 4) 6. 5732 6. 5885
7. | Tax on Line 6 amount (From Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedules) 7. 80 7. 82
8. | Allowable Credit (Multiply Line 7 by Line 3) 8. 51 8. 52

9. | Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdiction. Enter 9a. 140
in Box 9a the income or wage tax paid to other
jurisdiction (instructions page 35)

Credit Allowed. Enter the lesser of Line 8 or
Box 9a. This amount cannot exceed your New
Jersey tax on Line 41. 9. 51 9. 52

If you are not eligible for a property tax benefit, enter the amount from Line 9, Column B on Line 42 Form NJ-1040. Make
no entry on Lines 39 or 54, Form NJ-1040.

If you are eligible for a property tax benefit, you must completed Worksheet I on page 34 to determine whether you
receive a greater benefit by claiming a Property Tax Deduction or taking the Property Tax Credit.

Keep a copy of this schedule for your records
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Worksheet I
Which Property Tax Benefit to Use
COLUMN A COLUMN B

. Tax, Enter amounts from Line 7, Schedule NJ-COJ, Columns

A and B here 1 80 1 82
. Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdiction. Enter amounts from Line 9,

Schedule NJ-COJ, Columns A and B here. If you completed more than one

Schedule NJ-COJ, enter the total of all Line 9 amounts (Columns A and B) in

the corresponding column 2 51 2 52
. Balance of Tax Due. Subtract line 2 from line 1 in each column........ccccooenvuuee.. 3 29 3 30
. Subtract line 3, column A from line 3, column B 4 1

5. Is the line 4 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal residence)?
Part-year residents, see instructions for Line 9, Schedule NJ-COJ, on page 35 before answering “No.”
<> Yes. The Property Tax Deduction is more beneficial for you. Make the following entries on your return.

Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 39 Line 5, Column A, Schedule NJ-COJ
Line 40 Line 6, Column A, Schedule NJ-COJ
Line 41 Line 7, Column A, Schedule NJ-COJ
Line 42 Line 2, Column A, Worksheet I
Line 54 Make no entry

<« No. The Property Tax Credit is more beneficial for you. Make the following entries on your return.

Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 39 Make no entry
Line 40 Line 6, Column B, Schedule NJ-CQOJ
Line 41 Line 7, Column B, Schedule NJ-CQOJ
Line 42 Line 2, Column B, Worksheet I
Line 54

$50 ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same principal
residence). Part-year residents must prorate this amount. (See instructions for Line 9,
Schedule NJ-COJ, on page 35.)

(Keep for your records)
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Example 4

Jackson Spencer (Age 41)
SS# 999-26-4921
Kaiya Spencer (Age 39)
SS# 999-26-5814
222 Pine Bark Drive
Voorhees, NJ 08360 (Camden County)
Block 237 Lot 7.2

The Spencers are full-year residents of New Jersey. They are married and file a joint return. They have two
dependent children (ages 16 and 13).

JacksoNn's Wages.........oocvvrveerevnerreensreeseensrones $ 12,200
Kaiya's WagES .....c.ovuurerieeiecereiieeeeiecesesssessseiessenens 4,500
Joint taxable INterest ..., 100
Total NJ Income Tax withheld..........cccooovveereunnnee. 250
Property taxes paid........necneeneenecenecnennne 2,370
Federal earned income credit......cooveeeveeeeeeeeenee.. 5,616

The Spencers’ gross income is below the filing threshold amount of $20,000 (married/CU couple, filing joint).
Although they have no tax liability to New Jersey, they will need to file the tax return to claim a refund of
withholdings and to apply for the New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit.

The Spencers will complete their NJ-1040 down to Line 29. Since they have no tax liability to New Jersey, they
will continue completing the return with Line 50. They are not eligible to claim a property tax deduction/credit
because their income is below the filing threshold, and neither is 65 or older or blind or disabled.

When the Spencers filed their federal income tax return, they were eligible and applied for an earned income
credit. They will calculate their New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit by multiplying their federal earned
income credit by 37%: $5,616 x .37 = $2,078. They will enter this amount on Line 56 of their NJ-1040.

The following pages show how the Spencers will complete their New Jersey Income Tax return. After taking
credit for their withholdings and claiming the New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit, they will be entitled to
a refund of $2,328. However, they are requesting that a $10 donation be made to the designated fund of
their choice. So, they will receive a refund of $2,318.
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New Jersey Resident Return Examples (lax year 2018)

2018 NJ-1040

New Jersey Resident
Income Tax Return

Affix preprinted label below ONLY if the information is correct.
Your Social Security Number (required) Last Name, First Name, Initial (Joint Filers enter first name and middle initial of each. Enter

@E Voorhees NJ 08360

Fill in(::) if federal extension filed. | Fill in(::> if the address above is a foreign address. | Fill in C:) if your address has changed.

5 spouse’s/CU partner’s last name ONLY if different.)
: 1 A B3iEdEHRA Spencer, Jackson and Kaiya

<.ni Spouse's/CU Partner’s SSN (if filing jointly) Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number)

B EREEEE A 222 Pine Bark Drive

g County/Municipality Code (See Table page 50) City, Town, Post Office State ZIP Code
%

Part-year residents, provide months/days you were a New Jersey resident during 2018: Fiscal year filers only:

From: Dj[D]_ 8 To EI]EI]I 8 Enter month of your year end D:l 2019

Filing Status

Fill in only one.

1. O  single
2. - Married/CU Couple, filing joint return
3. C:) Married/CU Partner, filing separate return D:D'DJD:I:D
Enter S 's/CU partner's SSN
4, O Head of Household nter Spouse’s, partner's
5. o Qualifying Widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner
Indicate the year of your spouse's/CU partner's death:  €<_> 2016 or € 2017
Exemptions
Fill in the ovals that apply. You must enter a total in the boxes to the right and complete the calculation.
Spouse/ Domestic .
2
6. Regular___....________...._______.....SEIf - CU Partner (- Partner ............. . x s1,000= 2000
7. Senior 65+ (Born D _
B 1963 07 WA meercrcee O seff O Spouse/CU PAMNer.........ooooooovvvveevveeeee. X $1,000 =
8. Blind/Disabled.................. > Self O Sspouse/CU PannerD x$L000=
9 Veteran .o O self O Spouse/CU PAMNET ... D x $3,000 =
] X $1,500 = 3,000

10. Qualified Depandant CRIAIEN ... e e s s s e s e s
X $1,500 =

12. Dependents Attending Colleges (See instructions) m X $1,000 =
13. Total Exemption Amount (Add totals from the lines at 6 through 12).........oooiiiiieen 130 WLI_]U 0

14. Dependent Information. Provide the following information for each dependent. Fill in oval only if the dependent does not have health
insurance. (See instructions) No Health

Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial Social Security Number Birth Year Insurance
Spencer, Serenity |9|9|9ilT|7|10|3|5|5| HOEHA
Spencer, Kendrick E EEAMNEBEEBEB |2|0|0

(TTHTHTTIT] [
(TTHTHTTIT] [T

0000
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Bulletin GI1-11

Page 2

15. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (State wages from EI] [_ulﬂ M
Box 16 of enclosed W-2(s)) (S€& INSIUCHONS) .......vveveeeeeeeeeeeereeseeeeeseeeeeeeseeees e 15. 1 1 1

16a. Taxable interest income (Enclose federal Schedule B if over $1,500) m 1T000 -
(See instructions) ............ SRRSO | 51 l—I_IJI_I_IJ m

16b. Tax-exempt interest income (Encluse Schedule) DI I I | I I " I I
(See instructions) Do not include on Line16a...............ccccoceiiienecece 16D A .

18. Met prorts from busmess (Scheduie NJ BUS 1 Par‘tl Llne 4] D]l I I " I I |E|j
(Enclose federal Schedule C)........ccccivi veeeeeriieisnsesisensrasssssmsessssssnsssssssssssssssassrasensans 10 A A .

19. Net gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule NJ-DOP, Line 4)........ 19. EI][_I_UI_I_IJDJ

20a. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals (See instructions).................ccoeevevevenne 20a. I:I]I_I_IJI_LIJI:I]
20b. Excludable Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals .. crenrreennnna 20b. DEEE

21. Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule NJ- BUS 1 Par1 I|
(Enclose Schedule NJK-1 or federal Schedule K-1) ............

22. Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-B
(Enclose Schedule NJ-K-1 or federal Schedule K-1) ...

23. Netgains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and cop-\_..r;'-léﬁts S ml I I " I I Im
(Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, Line d) ..o 23. A 1 1

24. Net Gambling Winnings (See instructions)..........cccoceeiieiniiiinen e seeeesvenene 28 EI],I_I_IJI_I_IJD]

25, Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments received. ..........cccooovvevcrncccnenenn. 25, DJD:DED]

26. Other (Enclose documents) (See inStructions)...........covriiiiiien e 260 EI],I_LIJI_I_IJEI]

27. Total Income (Add Lines 15, 16a, 17 through 20a, and 21 through 286)................... 27.

H
g

28b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet D and

28a. Retirement/Pension Exclusion (See instructions) ............cccoooveeieieioinennn. 28a. ED]

S
i

INSLUCHIONS PAGE 22) ....viiiiiieit ittt ee e snseneenes e en s sene e 28D, )
28c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Lines 28a and 28b) . bt ettt et saens e 2800 D:DD:DD]
2 Mo ey Sromsneome G ne e onnez) - (O] EXode] [old]
30. Exemption Amount (Enter amount from Line 13. Part-year residents see instr.) .........c.cccoevevee. 300 EI:DEEDEI]
31. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet F and instructions page 24)...............cn 0 310 EI_IJI_I_I_IEIJ
32. Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments (See instructions) ..........ccccocenvniiiennnccnnnn 32, ED]D:DD]
33. Qualified Conservation ContriBULION. ... ..o e ae e e e e e ennes DD I I
34, Health Enterprise Zone DedUCHION .........ccccceieiriiiiiiteteis et eere et eter e e stesass s asssasssssnnas 34. I l l l
35. Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Line 11) ... 35, LLIJI_I_IJEIJ
36. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 30 through 35) ......ccociieeiinsicenen e LLIJI_I_IJEIJ

37. Taxable Income (Subtract Line 36 from Line 29)...........cccovvveevnee EI] I—LIJ I—Lu EI]
3Ba. Total Property Taxes (18% of Rent) Paid (See instructions page 25) ...38a. Dj EEI: D:D EI]

38¢. County/Municipality Code Fill in € if you completed Worksheet G.

39. Property Tax Deduction (From Worksheet H) (See instructions)..............coooiiiiiiiii 39. LULI—IJD]
40. New Jersey Taxable Income (Subtract Line 39 from Line 37) ..........cocevveiiieeen.. 400 EI]I_I_IJI_I_IJEI]
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New Jersey Resident Return Examples (tax year 2018)

Page 3

41. Tax on Amount on Line 40 (Tax Table page 52) ... 41. I_I_IJEI_IJEIJ

Enter Code

42. Credit For Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions I I l l IEI_IJ EI]
(Enclose Schedule NJ-COJ) (See instructions) ... 42 i 1

43. Balance of Tax (Subtract Lin@ 42 from LiN@ 471) ....ovceeeriiiieeeesiieieraesn e ersnee s sesneanes s ereneenasns vees B30 I-LIJEI-UEI]

44, Child and Dependent Care Credit (See instructions) ... - SO———— . DD:DD]

Fill in C:) if you are a CU couple claiming the Chlld and Dependent Care Credlt

45. Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 44 from Line 43) ... e e 45, I_LIJEI_I_IEIJ
46. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit...... ..o e s e e s 486. I_I_IJ‘EI_IJEI]
47. Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 46 from Ling 43) ... e s e 4 I—LUEI—IJD]
48. Gold Star Family Counseling Credit (See instructions) .....ccccceeviiierieciie e ieieesvvneeraeeees 480 LI_UEI_IJDJ
49, Balance of Tax After Credits (Subtract Line 48 from Line 47) If zero or less, make no entry..... 49. I_I_IJEI_IJEIJ
50. Use Tax Due on Internet, Mail-Order, or Other Out-of-State Purchases D I 0 I
(See instructions) If no Use Tax, enter 0.00 ... sremeer s e see e seee nee S0 |—LI—I |
51. Interest on Underpayment of Estimated Tax ... e e e 51. EE
Fillin € if Form NJ-2210 is enclosed

52. Total Tax Due (Add Lines 49, 50, @8N0 37T) .o e e s e D I—I—IJ‘
53. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (Enclose Forms W-2 and 1099).........c..c.oco. S53. D,EEI] m

54. Property Tax Credit (See iNSrUCHONS PAGE 25).......coemiiiieee oo eeeieiei e eee e eeses ees s enese e e ss s ssescoen s eesssessessseneeen s

55. New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2017 tax return..........ccoccoe e 550

56. New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (See instructions)... .
Fill in 8 if you had the IRS calculate your federal eamed income credlt

Fill in if you are a CU couple claiming the NJ Earned Income Tax Credit
57. Excess New Jersey UI/WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions) ............. ... 57. DEI:D
58. Excess New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions)................ 58. DE
59. Excess New Jersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions) ........ 59. DE
60. Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit (See insStructions) .............coooeneiiininnes e e e B0 DE

61. Total Withholdings, Credits, and Payments (Add Lines 53 through 60)..................... 61. D . . ) E
62. If Line 61 is less than Line 52, you have tax due. DI l l IEI_IJ Dj
Subtract Line 61 from Line 52 and enter the amount you awe..............coooeieiiinneninens 62. 1 ) .

If you owe tax, you can still make a donation on Lines 65 through 72.
63. If the total on Line 61 is more than Line 52, you have an overpayment.

Subtract Line 52 from Line 61 and enter the overpayment ..o 63. DI—LH 218 .
64. Amount from Line 63 you want to credit to your 2019 tax.. T —— < D,I_I_IJ,EI_IJEIJ
65. Contribution to N.J.

Endangered Wildlife Fund................... 5100520 LT 0ther ..o B5. EI:I]EI]
66. Contribution to N.J. Children’s Trust

Fund To Prevent Child ADUSE............cc..c.oocoo.... Llstolds20Jother.....ooooooo.. 66 EI:I]EI]
67. Contribution to N.J. Vietnam

Veterans' Memorial FUNd................ooooooooooorr... Llstolds20 L dother....oooooooo 6T EI:I]EI]
68. Contribution to N.J. Breast

Cancer Research Fund ... DS10D$20[:JOtherBB EI:I]D]
69. Contribution to U.S.S. New Jersey

Educational MUseum FUNG...............cccooocereo -1 810 L1820 L Other...coooococccec .69 D:DEI]

Rev. 12/18 45



Bulletin GI1-11

Part-Year Residents

Page 4

70. Other Designated Contribution
(See INStructions) ... icrecene e e,

71. Other Designated Contribution
[Ses INSrUCtonS) ...........ccooecrreer e e

72. Other Designated Contribution
(See instructions) .. .
73. Total Adjustments to Tax DueJOverpayment amount

[Cs10 [ s20 L other
3100520 other
s10ds20 ] other

Enter Code
o], [Idedfelo]
Enter Code
Enter Code

I:EEII:I:I
OO0

(Add Lines B4 through T2) ... e e (D
74, Baluncahoe it you ot o) (A LISE2 810 L0 T . OO
Fillin & if paying by e-check or credit card
75. Refund amount (Subtract Line 73 from Line B3) ... 190 D . . | B .
Gubernatorial Elections Fund
Do you want to designate $1 to the Gubernatorial Elections Fund? » You Yes No 8
If joint return, does your spouse want to designate $1? Spouse/CU Partner Yes No
This does not reduce your refund or increase your balance due.
Health Insurance
Indicate whether or not you (and your spouse/CU partner or domestic partner) You Yes No 8
have health insurance coverage on the date you file this return. Spouse/CU Partner Yes No
Domestic Partner Yes No C)

Signature

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this Income Tax return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than the taxpayer, this declaration is based on all

information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Your Signature Date

Spouse’s/CU Partner's Signature (required if filing jointly)

Date

Driver’s License Number (Voluntary) (Instructions page 42) D I I I I I I I I I I I I I I

Fillin € if death certificate is enclosed.

Fillin ¢ if you do not want a paper form next year.

> | authorize the Division of Taxation to discuss my return and enclosures with my preparer (below).

Paid Preparer's Signature (Fill in C O if NJ-1040-0 s enclosed)

Federal |dentifi

ation Number

[ 111

Firm's Name Federal Employer Identifilcation Number
Keep a copy of this return and all supporting documents for your records.
Tax Due Address Refund or No Tax Due Address
Enclose payment along with the NJ-1040-V
payment voucher and tax return. Use the Use the labels provided with the envelope
labels provided with the envelope and mail to: and mail to:
State of New Jersey State of New Jersey
Division of Taxation Division of Taxation
Revenue Processing Center — Payments Revenue Processing Center — Refunds
PO Box 111 PO Box 555
Trenton, NJ 08645-0111 Trenton, NJ 08647-0555
Include Social Security number and make
check or money order payable to:
State of New Jersey — TGI
You can also make a payment on our website:
www.njtaxation.org
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Example 5

Fiona Doolittle (Age 55)
SS# 999-11-3260
Eliza Doolittle (Age 57)
SS# 999-21-1221
222 Alpaca Avenue
Princeton, NJ 08540 (Mercer County)

Fiona Doolittle and her civil union partner, Eliza, are full-year residents of New Jersey and file a joint return.

They have no dependents, but Eliza is permanently disabled.

FiONQ'S WAGES ..o $15,731

Fiona's taxable interest......oooeeeeeceeeeeeeeeeenne
Eliza's disability benefits........cooovrvivrirernrinrn.
RENt PAIA..ciiiirieeeiee e saeens

Fiona and Eliza have combined gross income that is below the filing threshold amount of $20,000
(married/CU couple, filing joint). They do not have any New Jersey withholdings, and they do not qualify for
a New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit. Therefore, they will not file a New Jersey resident return, Form NJ-

1040.

The Doolittles do, however, meet the eligibility requirements for a property tax credit in the amount of $50.
Because they (1) are not filing a New Jersey Income Tax return, (2) did not own their home on October 1,
2018, and (3) claim an exemption for Eliza’s disability, they will fill out Part I of the Property Tax Credit and
Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit application, Form NJ-1040-HW, to receive their credit.

The following page shows how the Doolittles will complete their Property Tax Credit and Wounded Warrior

Caregivers Credit application.
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2018 STATE OF NEW JERSEY

NJ-1040-HW PROPERTY TAX CREDIT APPLICATION
WOUNDED WARRIOR CAREGIVERS CREDIT APPLICATION

1. <> Single

2. <« Married/CU Couple, filing joint return NJ RESIDENCY STATUS

3. < Married/CU Partner, filing separate return 6. ifo)r/%JNVZ\e(r;aart’\ﬁV:hJeertii);kr)leeSi)f/j::rt’ From: |:|:| / I:I:I /18

4. <> Head of Household

give the period of New Jersey

5. €« Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner residency: / / 18
To: L/

Do Not File This Application If:

¢ You file a 2018 New Jersey Resident Return, Form NJ-1040; or

e Your income is more than $20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or
married/CU partner, filing separate return). You must file Form NJ-1040.

If you are applying for the Property Tax Credit, complete Part I. If you are applying for the Wounded Warrior Caregivers
Credit, complete Part IL. If you are applying for the Property Tax Credit and the Wounded
Warrior Caregivers Credit, complete both Parts I and IL

PART I — Property Tax Credit

7. Indicate whether at any time during 2018 you either owned a home or rented a dwelling in New Jersey as your
principal residence on which property taxes (or rent) were paid. Fill in the appropriate oval. If you were both a
homeowner and a tenant during the year, fill in “Both.”

<— Homeowner < Tenant <—— Both < None (Fill in only one)

If “Homeowner” or “Tenant” or “Both,” you may be asked to provide proof of property taxes or rent paid on your
principal residence. If “None,” you are not eligible for a Property Tax Credit.

8a. On December 31, 2018, were you age 65 or older? Yourself < Yes e o
Spouse/CU Partner > Yes e o
8b. On December 31, 2018, were you blind or disabled?  Yourself <« Yes e o
Spouse/CU Partner - Yes < No

If you (and your spouse/CU partner) answered “No,"” to all the questions on Lines 8a and 8b, you are not eligible for
the Property Tax Credit.

9. On October 1, 2018, did you own and occupy a home in New Jersey as

your principal residence? <~ Yes < No
If “Yes,” do not complete Part L.
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PART II — Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit

10. Did you provide care for a relative who was a qualifying armed services

. . <« Yes
member (see instructions)?

If "Yes,” enter the name and Social Security Number of the qualifying service member.

You may be asked to provide proof to substantiate your claim.

Last Name, First Name, Initial

If “No,"” you are not eligible for a Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit. Do not complete Part IL

1l1a. Enter the 2018 federal disability compensation of the
armed services member

11b Maximum credit allowed ... 675
11c. Enter the lesser of Ling 11a OF LINE 11Dt sessesssssssssnssenns llc
12. Were you the only caregiver for this service member during the tax year? <> VYes

13. If you answered “Yes," at Line 12, enter the amount from Line 11c.
If you answered “No,” at Line 12, multiply the amount on Line 11c by the

percentage on Line 12 and enter the reSUlt.. ... ssseeeens 13.

Part-Year Residents

<> No
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For More Information

Online

¢ Division of Taxation website;

e Email general State tax questions.
Do not include confidential information such as Social Security or federal tax identification numbers,
liability or payment amounts, dates of birth, or bank account numbers in your email;

e Subscribe to NJ Tax E-News, the Division of Taxation's online information service.

By Phone
e Call the Division of Taxation's Customer Service Center at 609-292-6400;

e Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) for Hearing-Impaired Users: 1-800-286-6613 (toll-free within NJ, NY,
PA, DE, and MD) or 609-984-7300. These numbers are accessible only from TTY devices. Submit a text
message on any New Jersey tax matter and receive a reply through NJ Relay Services (711).

In Person

Visit a New Jersey Division of Taxation Regional Information Center. For the address of the center nearest
you, visit our website or call the Automated Tax Information System at 1-800-323-4400.

Forms and Publications

e Visit the Division of Taxation's website for forms and publications;

e Call the Forms Request System at 1-800-323-4400 (within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or 609-826-4400
(touch-tone phones only) to have printed forms or publications mailed to you. NOTE: Due to budgetary
constraints, supplies are limited and only certain forms and publications can be ordered through this
system.
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http://www.njtaxation.org/
https://www.state.nj.us/treas/taxation/contactus_tyttaxa.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/organization/ts-regional.shtml
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml

