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T Part-Year Residents

Introduction 
Part-year residents are subject to tax on income 
received from all sources (both inside and out-
side New Jersey) during the portion of the year 
that they were residents of the State. Likewise, 
part-year nonresidents are subject to tax on any 
income received from New Jersey sources while 
they were nonresidents. This bulletin explains: 

•	 Who is a part-year resident/part-year non
resident for New Jersey income tax purposes, 
as well as who is a full-year resident or 
nonresident; 	

•	 What your New Jersey income tax respon
sibilities are as a part-year resident/part-year 
nonresident; 	

•	 How to complete a part-year New Jersey 
income tax return; and 	

•	 When a part-year resident must file both resi-
dent and nonresident income tax returns with 
New Jersey in the same tax year. 

Note:	This bulletin covers filing requirements 
for individual residents and nonresidents 
only. The examples illustrate how to pre-
pare part-year returns for tax year 2009. 
Thus, the forms and amounts (tax rates, 
income exclusions, etc.) shown in the 
text and examples may not reflect cur-
rent information for other tax years.

For information on estates and trusts, see  
instructions for the New Jersey Gross Income Tax 
Fiduciary Return (Form NJ‑1041).
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Important
•	 P.L. 2009, c.69, increased the New Jersey 

gross income tax rates on income over 
$400,000 for tax year 2009.

•	 For tax year 2009, the property tax deduc-
tion for homeowners has been limited based 
on age/disability status and income.

• 	The percentage used to calculate the New 
Jersey earned income tax credit (NJEITC) 
increased to 25% of the Federal benefit for 
tax year 2009 and thereafter.

•	 Any reference in this bulletin to a spouse 
also refers to a partner in a civil union 
(CU) recognized under New Jersey law.

Note:	This publication has not yet been 
updated to reflect the changes 
required by the Military Spouses 
Residency Relief Act.

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/militaryspouses_notice.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/militaryspouses_notice.shtml
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Definitions
For New Jersey income tax purposes, your 
residency status depends on where you were 
domiciled and where you maintained a perma
nent place of abode during the tax year. In 
general, when you change your domicile to 
(or from) this State during the year, you are a 
resident of New Jersey for part of the year (part-
year resident) and a nonresident of New Jersey 
for part of the year (part-year nonresident). 
Your move is generally considered a change of 
residency status (resident to nonresident or vice 
versa) if at the time you moved, you intended to 
permanently leave one home and establish a new, 
fixed, and permanent home somewhere else. 

Full-Year Resident
You were a full-year New Jersey resident if:
•	 New Jersey was your domicile for the entire 

year, and you did not satisfy all three condi
tions for nonresident status (below); or

•	 New Jersey was not your domicile, but you 
maintained a permanent place of abode in 
New Jersey for the entire year and you spent 
more than 183 days in New Jersey. (Members 
of the U.S. Armed Forces stationed in New 
Jersey and their accompanying spouses/CU 
partners, if not domiciled here, are not resi-
dents under this definition.)

Full-Year Nonresident
You were a full-year New Jersey nonresident if:

•	 New Jersey was not your domicile, and you 
spent 183 days or less here; or		

•	 New Jersey was not your domicile, you spent 
more than 183 days here, but you did not 
maintain a permanent home here; or

•	 New Jersey was your domicile and you met 
all three of the following conditions for the 
entire year:

1.	 You did not maintain a permanent place 
of abode in New Jersey; and

2.	 You did maintain a permanent place of 
abode outside of New Jersey; and

3.	 You did not spend more than 30 days in 
New Jersey.

Part-Year Resident/Part-Year Nonresident
If, as a result of a change of your domicile, you 
met the definition of New Jersey resident or 
nonresident for only part of the year, you are a 
resident for part of the year (part-year resident) 
and a nonresident for the remainder of that year 
(part-year nonresident).

Domicile is any place you regard as your per
manent home—the place to which you intend to 
return after a period of absence (e.g., vacation 
abroad, business assignment, educational leave, 
etc.). You have only one domicile, although you 
may have more than one place to live. Once 
established, your domicile continues until you 
move to a new location with the intent to estab
lish a fixed and permanent home there. Moving 
to a new location, even for a long time, does not 
change your domicile if you intend to remain 
only for a limited time.

Domicile is based on many factors, including 
your intent, where you register to vote, maintain 
a driver’s license and vehicle registration, have 
family ties, etc. You can have only one domicile 
at a time. The burden of proof is upon the per
son asserting a change of domicile to show that 
the necessary intention existed to abandon his or 
her domicile in one location and to establish a 
fixed and permanent home in another.
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Permanent place of abode is a residence (a 
building or structure where a person can live) 
that you maintain permanently as your house
hold, whether you own it or not. It usually 
includes a residence your spouse/civil union 
partner owns or leases.

A residence, whether inside or outside of New 
Jersey, is not permanent if you maintain it only 
during a temporary or limited period of time, no 
matter how long, for the accomplishment of a 
particular purpose (e.g., temporary job assign
ment). Likewise, a home used only for vacations 
is not a permanent place of abode.

If New Jersey is your domicile, you will be 
considered a resident for New Jersey tax pur
poses unless you meet all three conditions for 
nonresident status. See Full-Year Nonresident 
on page 2. Likewise, if New Jersey is not your 
domicile, you will be considered a New Jersey 
resident only if you maintain a permanent place 
of abode in New Jersey and spend more than 
183 days here.

Filing Requirements
Your filing status and gross income determine 
whether you have to file a New Jersey income 
tax return. Age is not a factor in determining 
whether a person must file. Even minors (in
cluding students) and senior citizens must file if 
they meet the income filing requirements.

To find out whether or not you are required to 
file a New Jersey income tax return, use the 
“Who Must File” chart in either the resident 
(NJ‑1040) or nonresident (NJ‑1040NR) return 
booklet.

Time Period Covered by Return 
(Full-Year or Part-Year)
The period covered by your return will be twelve 
months (full-year return), or less than twelve 
months (part-year return). Most taxpayers use a 
calendar year (January 1–December 31) to record 
their income. Fiscal year filers use a different pe-
riod (e.g., July–June). This bulletin assumes that 
you are a calendar year filer.

New Jersey has two personal income tax returns 
for individuals: Form NJ‑1040 for residents and 
Form NJ‑1040NR for nonresidents. New Jersey 
does not have separate tax returns for part-year 
residents or part-year nonresidents. You must 
use either Form NJ‑1040 or Form NJ‑1040NR 
(or both) depending on your residency status 
during the year, and show the income you re-
ceived during the period of time covered by the 
return. Part-year residents use the same form as 
full-year residents (Form NJ‑1040) and indicate 
the period of their New Jersey residency above 
Line 1. The return should show only the income 
received during that period. Likewise, part-year 
nonresidents use the same form as full-year 
nonresidents (Form NJ‑1040NR), and indicate 
above Line 1 the period of time they were New 
Jersey residents. 

If you file a part-year nonresident return, you 
will also file a part-year resident return, unless 
you had no income during the part of the year 
you were a resident. You must allocate your 
income between the resident and nonresident 
returns as appropriate. That is, report the in
come you received during the time you were a 
resident on your part-year resident return, and 
report the income you received during the part 
of the year you were a nonresident on your part-
year nonresident return.
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Examples
1.	 Mary Smith was a New Jersey resident from 

January 1 through December 31. She files 
a “full-year” resident return which shows 
income received during the twelve-month 
period January–December.

2.	 Harry and Louise Evans were New Jersey 
residents from May 1 to December 31. They 
must file a “part-year” resident return and 
report the income they received during their 
period of residency (May–December).

Note:	If they had income from New Jer-
sey sources between January 1 and 
April 30, the period when their 
residency status was “nonresident,” 
they must file a New Jersey part-year 
nonresident return too. See Part-Year 
Nonresidents on page 6.

3.	 Jane Henderson was a full-year resident of 
New York who worked in New Jersey from 
July through November. She files a “full-
year” nonresident return because she was 
a nonresident for the entire year. Her New 
Jersey nonresident return will show the 
income she received during the period she 
was a nonresident i.e., January–December.

4.	 Adam Crenshaw worked in New Jersey for 
the entire year. For three months of the year 
he was a New Jersey resident and for the re
maining nine months, a Delaware resident. 
Adam must file two New Jersey income 
tax returns: (1) a “part-year” resident return 
which shows the income he received during 
the three months he was a New Jersey resi
dent and (2) a “part-year” nonresident return 
which shows his income during the period 
he was a nonresident of New Jersey.

Residency Status and Income
Full-Year Residents—
•	 You must file a full-year New Jersey resident 

income tax return if you were a New Jersey 
resident for the entire year and your gross 
income for the entire year was more than 
$20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or 
married/CU partner, filing separate return.

•	 You are not required to file a full-year New 
Jersey resident income tax return if you were 
a New Jersey resident for the entire year and 
your gross income for the entire year was 
$20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if filing status 
is single or married/CU partner, filing sepa-
rate return).

Note:	If you are a full-year resident and your 
income is below the amount at which 
you would be required to file a tax re-
turn, you must file Form NJ‑1040 (or 
file electronically using NJ WebFile or 
approved vendor software) to claim a re-
fund of income tax withheld or estimated 
payments made. You must also file a 
return to receive a New Jersey earned in-
come tax credit even if you have no tax 
liability to New Jersey.

Part-Year Residents—
•	 You must file a part-year New Jersey resident 

income tax return if you were a New Jersey 
resident for part of the year and your gross in
come from all sources for the entire year was 
more than $20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is 
single or married/CU partner, filing separate 
return) and you received any income (whether 
from New Jersey sources or not) during 
the part of the year you were a New Jersey 
resident.
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	 You are subject to tax on the income shown 
on your part-year resident return if your gross 
income for the entire year was more than 
$20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or 
married/CU partner, filing separate return), 
even if the income you reported on your part-
year return for the period of New Jersey resi-
dency was $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if 
filing status is single or married/CU partner, 
filing separate return).

	 No New Jersey income tax is due if the in
come you received during the entire year 
was $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if fil-
ing status is single or married/CU partner, 
filing separate return). If your gross income 
was $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if filing 
status is single or married/CU partner, fil-
ing separate return), enclose a copy of your 
Federal income tax return when you file your 
part-year New Jersey return. If you did not 
file a Federal return, enclose a statement with 
your New Jersey return certifying that your 
income for the entire year was $20,000 or less 
($10,000 or less if filing status is single or 
married/CU partner, filing separate return).

Note:	When you are a part-year New Jersey 
resident, you are a nonresident for the 
remainder of that year. See the filing 
requirements for Part-Year Nonresidents 
on page 6.

Examples
1.	 During 2009, Jane Hanson, single, was a 

resident of California for ten months and a 
New Jersey resident for two months. Her 
income as a California resident totaled 
$23,000, and the income she received during 
the two months she was a New Jersey resi
dent was $2,900. Jane is subject to tax on 

the $2,900 she received as a part-year New 
Jersey resident because her income for the 
entire year was more than $10,000.

2.	 Martha Gibson, single, was a New Jersey 
resident from January through September 
2009, when she moved to Florida and be
came a resident there. Her income as a New 
Jersey resident totaled $5,800 and her in
come while a Florida resident was $600. 
Martha is not required to file a New Jersey 
part-year resident return, and she owes no 
New Jersey income tax on the $5,800 she 
received as a part-year New Jersey resident 
because her income for the entire year was 
$10,000 or less. However, Martha must file 
a return to claim any refund of New Jersey 
income tax that was either withheld or re
mitted through estimated payments. When 
she files her 2009 New Jersey return, Martha 
must enclose a copy of her Federal income 
tax return or, if no Federal return is filed, a 
statement certifying that her income for the 
year was $10,000 or less.

Full-Year Nonresidents—
•	 You must file a full-year New Jersey nonresi

dent income tax return if you were not a New 
Jersey resident for any part of the year and 
your gross income for the entire year from all 
sources (both inside and outside New Jersey) 
was more than $20,000 ($10,000 if filing 
status is single or married/CU partner, filing 
separate return) and you received any amount 
of income from New Jersey sources during 
the year.

•	 You are not required to file a full-year non
resident return if you were a nonresident for 
the entire year and your gross income from all 
sources (both inside and outside New Jersey) 
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was $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if filing 
status is single or married/CU partner, filing 
separate return).

Note:	If you are a full-year nonresident and 
your income is below the amount at 
which you would be required to file a tax 
return, you must file Form NJ‑1040NR 
to claim a refund of income tax withheld 
or estimated payments made.

Part-Year Nonresidents—
If you were a New Jersey resident for part of the 
year, you were a nonresident for the remainder 
of that year. File part-year resident and/or non
resident returns as follows:

•	 You must file both a part-year resident return 
and a part-year nonresident return if your 
gross income from all sources for the entire 
year was more than $20,000 ($10,000 if filing 
status is single or married/CU partner, filing 
separate return) and you received income 
(whether from New Jersey sources or not) 
during the part of the year you were a resident 
and you received any amount of income from 
New Jersey sources during the part of the 
year you were a nonresident.

	 File only a part-year resident return if you 
received income (whether from New Jersey 
sources or not) during the part of the year you 
were a resident, but you had no income from 
New Jersey sources during the part of the 
year you were a nonresident. See Part-Year 
Residents on page 4.

•	 You must file only a part-year nonresident 
income tax return if your gross income from 
all sources for the entire year was more than 
$20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or 
married/CU partner, filing separate return) 

and you had income from New Jersey sources 
during the part of the year you were a non
resident and you had no income during the 
part of the year you were a resident.

	 No New Jersey income tax is due if the in
come you received from all sources during 
the entire year was $20,000 or less ($10,000 
or less if filing status is single or married/CU 
partner, filing separate return). If your gross 
income was $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less 
if filing status is single or married/CU partner, 
filing separate return), enclose a copy of your 
Federal income tax return when you file your 
part-year New Jersey return. If you did not 
file a Federal return, enclose a statement with 
your New Jersey return certifying that your 
income for the entire year was $20,000 or less 
($10,000 or less if filing status is single or 
married/CU partner, filing separate return).

•	 You need not file either a resident or a non
resident return if you received no income 
during the part of the year you were a resi
dent, and no income from New Jersey 
sources during the part of the year you were a 
nonresident.

Filing Status Considerations
Spouse/Civil Union Partner With 
Different Residency Status
In general, you must use the same filing status 
on your New Jersey return as you do for Federal 
income tax purposes. If you do not file a Federal 
return, but you are filing a New Jersey return, use 
the same filing status that you would have used 
if you had filed a Federal return, unless you are a 
partner in a civil union. For more information see 
Tax Topic Bulletin GIT‑4, Filing Status.

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git4.pdf
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If a married couple files a joint Federal income 
tax return, they must also file a joint New Jersey 
income tax return. If spouses file separate Fed-
eral returns, separate State returns must also be 
filed. However, if you are a civil union couple, 
your filing status for New Jersey will not match 
your Federal filing status for the year.

•	 One spouse/civil union partner New Jersey 
resident, other spouse/civil union partner 
nonresident for entire year. If during the en-
tire taxable year one spouse/civil union part-
ner was a resident and the other a nonresident, 
separate New Jersey returns may be filed 
(the resident files a resident return and the 
nonresident files a nonresident return), even 
if the couple files a joint Federal return. The 
resident computes income and exemptions as 
if a Federal married, filing separate return had 
been filed. The spouses/civil union partners 
have the option of filing a joint return as resi-
dents, in which case their joint income (from 
both inside and outside New Jersey) would be 
taxed as if both were residents.

•	 Married/civil union couples, both nonresi-
dents; only one has income from New Jersey 
sources. If both spouses/civil union partners 
were nonresidents of New Jersey during the 
entire taxable year and only one earned, re-
ceived, or acquired income from New Jersey 
sources, the one who had income from New 
Jersey sources may file a separate New Jer-
sey return, even if a joint Federal return was 
filed. The one with income from New Jersey 
sources computes income and exemptions as 
if a Federal married, filing separate return had 
been filed. The married/civil union couple has 
the option of filing a joint return, in which 
case, their joint income must be shown on the 

nonresident return. For more information on 
completing the nonresident return, see 
instructions for Form NJ‑1040NR.

Remember: A nonresident return must be filed 
if you received any amount of income from New 
Jersey sources as a nonresident, and your in
come from all sources (both inside and outside 
New Jersey) for the entire year was more than 
$20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or 
married/CU partner, filing separate return).

How Residents and 
Nonresidents Are Taxed
Residents. New Jersey residents are subject to 
tax on their income from all sources, whether 
the income is from inside or outside of New 
Jersey. As a part-year New Jersey resident you 
must report on your resident return all the in
come you received during the period of time 
you were a New Jersey resident, whether in the 
form of money, goods, property, benefits, or ser-
vices, unless specifically excluded by law. Mar-
ried/civil union couples filing jointly must report 
the income of both spouses/civil union partners.

The following are some examples of income 
you must report if earned or received while you 
were a resident of New Jersey: wages, fees, or 
commissions earned in New Jersey or elsewhere 
(including a foreign country); interest received 
on a bank account whether located in or out of 
New Jersey; gain from the sale of property both 
in and out of New Jersey; net gambling win-
nings, including New Jersey lottery winnings 
from prize amounts exceeding $10,000; net 
profits from business, regardless of where the 
business is located; etc.

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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Remember: When completing your part-year 
resident return, report only the income you 
received during the time period covered by your 
resident return.

Part-year residents must prorate all exemptions, 
deductions, and credits, as well as the pension 
and other retirement income exclusions, to re
flect the period covered by their return. For 
example, a full-year New Jersey resident is en-
titled to a $1,000 personal exemption; whereas a 
resident for six months is entitled to a personal 
exemption of only $500. See Completing a Part-
Year Resident Return on page 9.

For more information on completing the resident 
return, see instructions for Form NJ-1040.

Nonresidents. For nonresidents, New Jersey in-
come tax liability is based on the percentage of 
their total income that comes from New Jersey.

The income section of the New Jersey nonresi
dent return has two columns—Column A, in
come from everywhere and Column B, income 
from New Jersey sources. In the first column, 
report your income from all sources (both inside 
and outside New Jersey) as if you were a resi
dent, and in the second column, list only income 
that was derived from New Jersey sources. 
Pennsylvania residents see page 19.

In accordance with Federal legislation (Service
members Civil Relief Act, P.L. No. 108-189) 
nonresident servicepersons are not required to 
include their military pay in either their “income 
from everywhere” (Column A) or “income from 
New Jersey Sources” (Column B) on the New 
Jersey nonresident income tax return. For more 
information, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-7, Mili-
tary Personnel.

Remember: When completing your part-year 
nonresident return, report in each column only 
the income you received during the time period 
covered by your nonresident return. 

As a nonresident, your tax is computed on your 
income from all sources as if you were a New 
Jersey resident, and then prorated according to 
the ratio that your New Jersey income bears to 
your income from both inside and outside New 
Jersey. In other words, your final New Jersey 
income tax liability is based on the percentage 
of your income that comes from New Jersey. 

For more information on completing the non
resident return, see instructions for Form 
NJ‑1040NR.

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git7.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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14. 	 Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (Enclose W-2)...................

15a. Taxable interest income (See instructions) (Enclose Federal Schedule B if over $1,500)	

15b. Tax-exempt interest income (See instructions)...............
	 (Enclose Schedule) DO NOT include on Line 15a

16. 	 Dividends......................................................................................................................

17. 	 Net profits from business (Enclose copy of Federal Schedule C, Form 1040).............

18. 	 Net gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule B, Line 4)........................

19. 	 Pensions, Annuities, and IRA withdrawls (See Instructions).........................................

20. 	 Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Enclose Schedule) (See instructions)........

21. 	 Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (Enclose Schedule) (See instructions)....

22. 	 Net gain or income from rents, royalties, patents & copyrights....................................
	 (Schedule C, Line 3)

23. 	 Net Gambling Winnings (See instructions)...................................................................

24. 	 Alimony and separate maintenance payments received..............................................

25.	 Other (Enclose Schedule) (See instructions)................................................................ 	

completing a part-year resident return
Important Points:
•	 Enter dates of your New Jersey residency above Line 1.
•	 Report income, withholdings, and payments for period of New Jersey residency only.
•	 Prorate exemptions, deductions, and exclusions based on residency period.
•	 If you also complete a part-year nonresident return, allocate your income, withholdings, 

and payments between the two returns as appropriate.

1.	 NJ Residency Status. Show the beginning 
and ending dates of your residency in New 
Jersey during the year. If you were a resident 
for 15 days or more of a month, that month 

NJ RESIDENCY 
	 STATUS

	 If you were a New Jersey resident for 
ONLY part of the taxable year, give the 
period of New Jersey residency: From ToY YD DM M Y YD DM M ///

counts as a month of residence. For exam
ple, if you were a New Jersey resident from 
January 27, 2009, to July 21, 2009, you were 
a resident for six months.

, ,

, , .

14 , , .
15a , , .

16 , , .
17 .
18 , , .

15b

, ,

19 , , .
20 , , .
21 , , .
22 , , .
23 , , .
24 , , .
25 .

2.	I ncome. Complete Lines 14–25. Enter the 
total amount you received in each category 

of income during your period of residency in 
New Jersey (dates shown above Line 1).
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3.	P ension and Other Retirement Income 
Exclusion. 

	 (a) Pension Exclusion (Line 27a). The pen-
sion exclusion is only available to taxpay-
ers who had total income for the entire 
year of $100,000 or less before subtracting 
any pension exclusion. If you were a New 
Jersey resident for only part of the taxable 
year, you must use your total income for 
the entire year to determine whether or not 
you qualify for the pension exclusion. If 
you qualify, prorate the pension exclusion 
amount by the number of months you were 
a New Jersey resident by using the formula 
below. For this calculation 15 days or more 
is a month. Use the prorated pension exclu
sion amount on Line 27a.

Note: When you and your spouse/civil 
union partner file a joint return and 
only one of you is 62 or older or dis-
abled, you may claim the full amount 
of the prorated exclusion. However, 
only the income of the one who is 
age 62 or older or disabled may be 
excluded.

	 (b) Other Retirement Income Exclusion 
(Line 27b). If you (and/or your spouse/civil 
union partner if filing jointly) were 62 years 
of age or older on the last day of the tax year, 
you may qualify to exclude other income 
on Line 27b. There are two parts to the total 
exclusion: Part I, the unclaimed portion of 
your prorated pension exclusion, and Part II, 
a special exclusion for taxpayers who are 

 
Example
A 65-year-old, single taxpayer who was a New 
Jersey resident for 4 months of the 2009 tax year	  
prorates the pension exclusion amount like this: 	

 4  
	

$15,000 
 12	

= $5,000

Prorating the PENSION EXCLUSION:

Total Pension Exclusion Amount    
Months of NJ Residence  = Prorated Pension Exclusion Amount	

12 	

26.	 Total Income (Add Lines 14, 15a, and 16 through 25)..................................................

27a.	Pension Exclusion (See instructions)...........................................................................

27b.	Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See worksheet and instructions)........................

27c.	Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27b)..................................................

28. 	 New Jersey Gross Income (Subtract Line 27c from Line 26)..................................... 	
	 See instructions.

26 , , .
.27a

, , .28

, .27c

.27b
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unable to receive Social Security or Railroad 
Retirement benefits. Do not complete Work-
sheet D in the NJ-1040 instruction booklet 
to calculate the total exclusion amount you 
are eligible to claim. Instead, calculate your 
total exclusion as follows:

	 Part I. Total the earned income (wages, net 
profits from business, partnership income, 
and S corporation income) you received for 
the entire year. If your earned income for the 
entire year was $3,000 or less and you did 
not use your entire prorated pension exclu-
sion at Line 27a, you may be able to use the 
unclaimed pension exclusion at Line 27b 
provided total income for the entire year be-
fore subtracting any pension exclusion was 
$100,000 or less. 

	 Part II. If you are unable to receive Social 
Security or Railroad Retirement benefits, but 
would have been eligible for benefits had 
you fully participated in either program, you 
may also be eligible for an additional exclu-
sion, whether or not you used all of your 
prorated pension exclusion on Line 27a.

Note: When you and your spouse/civil 
union partner file a joint return and 
only one of you is 62 or older or dis-
abled, you may claim the full amount 
of the prorated exclusion. However, 
only the income of the one who is 
age 62 or older or disabled may be 
excluded.

	 More Information. For more detailed 
information on pension, annuity, and IRA 
withdrawal income and the New Jersey 
income exclusions, see Tax Topic Bulletins 
git‑1, Pensions and Annuities, and git‑2, 
ira Withdrawals. For information on Roth 
IRAs, see Technical Bulletin TB‑44, Roth 
IRAs. For information on calculating your 
partnership and S corporation income, see 
Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-9P, Income From 
Partnerships, and GIT-9S, Income From  
S Corporations. 

	

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git1.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git2.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tb/tb44.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/corp/git9p.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/corp/git9s.pdf
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29.	 Total Exemption Amount (See instructions to calculate amount)...........................................................
	 (Part-Year Residents see instructions)

30. 	 Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and instructions)...........................................................................

31. 	 Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments ....................................................................................

32. 	 Qualified Conservation Contribution......................................................................................................

33.	 Health Enterprise Zone Deduction.........................................................................................................

34. 	 Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 29, 30, 31, 32, and 33)..................................................

35. 	 Taxable Income (Subtract Line 34 from Line 28)...............................................................
	 If zero or less, MAKE NO ENTRY.

4.	 Exemptions. You must prorate the exemp
tion allowance amount based upon the num
ber of months you were a New Jersey resi
dent. For this calculation, 15 days or more 
is a month. First determine the full value of 
your exemptions as follows:

From Line 12a______× $1,000 =__________
From Line 12b______× $1,500 =__________
Total Exemption Amount	 __________

Once you have calculated your Total Exemp-
tion Amount, use the formula below and 
then enter the prorated exemption amount on 
Line 29.

5.	 Deductions. 
(a) Medical Expenses (Line 30). You may 
deduct certain medical expenses for which 
you were not reimbursed by insurance or 
any other plan, qualified Archer medical 
savings account (MSA) contributions, and 
health insurance costs of the self-employed. 
Complete Worksheet E in the resident return 
instruction booklet (Form NJ-1040) to cal-
culate your deduction for medical expenses. 
Include only those expenses that were in-
curred and paid during the period of time 
you were a New Jersey resident.

(b) Alimony and Separate Maintenance Pay
ments (Line 31). You may deduct alimony 

and separate maintenance payments paid for 
the period of time you were a New Jersey 
resident. Child support payments are not 
deductible.

(c) Qualified Conservation Contribution 
(Line 32). You may deduct the amount of 
any qualified conservation contribution you 
made during the period of time you were a 
New Jersey resident.

(d) Health Enterprise Zone (Line 33). Eli-
gible taxpayers engaged in providing “pri-
mary care” medical and/or dental services 
at a qualified practice located in or within 
five miles of a designated Health Enterprise 

Prorating the EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE:

  Total Exemption Amount   
	 Months of NJ Residence = Prorated Exemption Amount	

12 	

,

, .29

, .30

31 .,
32 .
33 .
34 .

35 , , .

,
,

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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Zone (HEZ) may qualify for a deduction. 
For information on eligibility requirements 
and how to calculate the HEZ deduction, see 
Technical Bulletin TB-56, Health Enterprise 
Zones.

Note:	New Jersey does not allow deduc
tions for adjustments taken on the 
Federal return such as employee 
business expenses or ira and Keogh 
Plan contributions.

6.	 Total Property Taxes Paid (Line 36a). 
Enter the property taxes, or rent constituting 
property taxes (18% of rent), due and paid 
on your qualified principal residence during 
your period of residency in New Jersey. 

Schedule 1 – Property Tax Deduction/Credit
Review the eligibility requirements before completing Schedule 1. Part-year residents see instructions. 

Complete both columns of this schedule to find out whether the Property Tax Deduction or the Credit is better for you. If you claim a credit for taxes paid 
to other jurisdictions, complete only Lines 1 and 2 of this schedule. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet F.

1.	 Property Tax. Enter the property taxes you paid in 2009 from Line 36a of Form NJ-1040.	  
Property tax reimbursement (Senior Freeze) applicants do not enter the amount from Line 36a. See instructions.	 1._ _______________________

2.	 Property Tax Deduction. Homeowners enter appropriate amount from Chart A. Tenants enter appropriate  
amount from Chart B. If you were both a homeowner and a tenant during the year, see instructions.	 2._ _______________________

STOP if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions. Complete  
only Lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet F. See instructions.

	
		  Column A	 Column B
3.	 Taxable Income (Copy from Line 35 of Form NJ‑1040).................................................................... 	 3.	 3.

4.	 Property Tax Deduction (Copy from Line 2 of this schedule) ........................................................... 	 4.	 4.	 – 0 –
5.	 Taxable Income After Property Tax Deduction (Subtract Line 4 from Line 3) .................................. 	 5.	 5.

6.	 Tax you would pay on Line 5 amount (enter amount from Tax Table/Tax Rate Schedules) ............. 	 6.	 6.

7.	 Subtract Line 6, Column A from Line 6, Column B and enter the result here .............................................................................. 	 7.

8.	 Is the Line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same principal  
residence)?

	Yes.	 You receive a greater tax benefit by taking the Property Tax Deduction. Make the following entries on Form NJ‑1040. 
		  Form NJ-1040	 Enter amount from:
		  Line 36c	 Line 4, Column A
		  Line 38	 Line 5, Column A
		  Line 39	 Line 6, Column A
		  Line 48	 Make no entry

	No. 	 You receive a greater tax benefit from the Property Tax Credit. (Part-year residents, see instructions before answering “No.”) Make 
the following entries on Form NJ-1040.

		  Form NJ-1040	 Enter amount from:
		  Line 36c	 Make no entry
		  Line 38	 Line 5, Column B
		  Line 39	 Line 6, Column B

	 Line 48	 $50 ($25 if you and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same 	
	 principal residence). Part-year residents, see instructions.

36a. 	Total Property Taxes Paid (See instructions)................

36b. 	Indicate your residency status during 2009 (fill in only one oval).......................	

36c. 	Property Tax Deduction (See instructions).................................................................................................

37.		  If filing status is Married/CU Partner, filing separate return (#3, Page 1), and  
	 both spouses/CU partners occupied the same residence, fill in oval................. 	

36c .,

, , .36a

		   Homeowner	   Tenant	   Both

	 Homeowner/Tenant Status (Line 36b). 
Fill in only one oval to indicate whether 
you were a homeowner, a tenant, or both a 
homeowner and tenant during 2009.

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tb/tb56.pdf
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Property Tax Deduction/Credit (Line 36c/
Line 48). A part-year resident may be 
eligible to claim a deduction (up to 100% 
of property taxes due and paid or up to 
$10,000, whichever is less) or credit (up to 
$50) for property taxes, or rent constituting 
property taxes (18% of rent), due and paid 
during their period of residency.

For tax year 2009 homeowners under 65 
years of age and not blind or disabled whose 
New Jersey gross income is more than 
$250,000 are not eligible for the property 
tax deduction. In addition, for homeown-
ers under 65 years of age and not blind or 
disabled whose New Jersey gross income is 
over $150,000 but not over $250,000, the 
maximum deduction is limited to $5,000. 
Homeowners who file separate returns but 
occupy the same principal residence as 
their spouse/civil union partner must use 
their combined income when determining 
eligibility and calculating the amount of 
the deduction. Part-year residents must use 
income from all sources for the entire year 
when determining eligibility and calculating 
the amount of the deduction. Homeowners 
who are not eligible for a deduction because 
their income is over $250,000 can receive a 
property tax credit if they satisfy the other 
eligibility requirements.

If you do not claim credit for taxes paid to 
another jurisdiction, complete Schedule 1 
using Chart A (homeowners) or Chart B 
(tenants) to determine the amount of your 
property tax deduction and whether you 
should elect to take the property tax de-
duction on Line 36c, Form NJ‑1040 or the 
property tax credit on Line 48. If you claim 

credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction, 
first complete Lines 1 and 2 of Schedule 1 
and then complete Schedule A and Work-
sheet F to make this determination. Enter on 
Line 1 of Schedule 1 the amount of property 
taxes or 18% of rent due and paid during 
your period of residency from Line 36a, 
Form NJ-1040. Complete the balance of the 
schedule according to the instructions. The 
minimum benefit for a full-year resident is 
$50 ($25 if you and your spouse/civil union 
partner file separate returns but occupy the 
same principal residence). You must prorate 
this minimum benefit based on the number 
of months you were a New Jersey resident. 
For this calculation, 15 days or more is a 
month. After prorating the minimum benefit, 
answer the question at Line 8 of Schedule 1 
based on this prorated amount rather than the 
minimum benefit amount. You will then be 
able to determine whether you will receive a 
greater tax benefit by taking the property tax 
deduction or claiming the prorated credit.

More Information. For information on 
claiming credit for taxes paid to another ju-
risdiction, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT‑3W, 
Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions 
(Wage Income), and GIT‑3B, Credit for 
Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions (Business/
Nonwage Income). For more detailed infor-
mation on the property tax deduction/credit, 
see instructions for Form NJ‑1040.

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git3w.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git3b.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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8.	 Tax Withheld/Property Tax Credit/ 
Estimated Payments. 
(a) Line 47. Enter the amount of New Jersey 
income tax withheld from wages you earned 
or other payments you received while you 
were a New Jersey resident. If your employer 
combined wages you earned as a resident 
and wages you earned as a nonresident on 
the same W-2, and you earned some of those 
wages from New Jersey while a nonresi-
dent, include here only tax withheld during 
the period you were a resident. Allocate the 
New Jersey income tax withheld between 
your part-year resident and part-year non
resident returns. If you did not earn any of 
the wages on the W‑2 while a nonresident, 
report the total New Jersey tax withheld on 
the W‑2.

	 (b) Line 48. If you are claiming a property 
tax credit rather than a property tax deduc-
tion, enter the amount of your prorated 
credit.

	 (c) Line 49. Enter the amount of estimated 
payments to New Jersey for the period of 
time you were a resident. If you made esti-
mated payments both as a resident and as a 
nonresident, enter on your part-year resident 
return the payment(s) made to meet the tax 
liability for your period of New Jersey resi-
dency. Enter on the part-year nonresident 
return the payment(s) made to satisfy your 
tax liability during the part of the year you 
were a nonresident. Also enter amounts, if 
any, paid to qualify for an extension of time 
to file.

47.	 Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (Enclose Forms W-2 and 1099)............................

48. 	 Property Tax Credit (See instructions).....................................................................................

49.	 New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2008 tax return..........................................

50.	 New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (See instructions).......................................................

	

51.	 EXCESS New Jersey UI/WF/SWF Withheld (See instructions) (Enclose Form NJ-2450).........

52. 	 EXCESS New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (See instructions)
	 (Enclose Form NJ-2450)..........................................................................................................

53.	 Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 47 through 52)............................................................... , ,53 .

, .51

, .50

, ,49 .
.48

, .52

47 , , .

Fill in oval if you had the IRS figure your Federal Earned Income Credit	
Fill in oval if you are a CU couple claiming the NJ Earned Income Tax Credit	

Fill in 
only one

41.	 Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 40 from Line 39)............................................................................

42.	 Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit....................................................................................................

43.	 Balance of Tax after Credit (Subtract Line 42 from Line 41).........................................................

, , .41

, , .42

, , .43

7.	 Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit. Enter  
the amount of your Sheltered Workshop  
Tax Credit from Part IV, line 12 of Form 

GIT-317. Allocate the total amount of the 
credit between your part-year resident and 
part-year nonresident returns if appropriate.  
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9.	 New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit 
(Line 50). If you are eligible and file for a 
Federal earned income credit, you can also 
receive a New Jersey credit in the amount 
equal to 25% of your Federal benefit. Com-
plete the Earned Income Tax Credit Sched-
ule to calculate the amount for Line 50, 
Form NJ-1040. However, you must prorate 
your credit based on the number of months 
you were a New Jersey resident. For this 
calculation 15 days or more is a month.

You must file Form NJ-1040 to receive a 
New Jersey earned income tax credit, even if 
you are not required to file a return because 
your gross income is below the minimum 
income threshold (see Part-Year Residents on 
page 4).

Note:	If your filing status is married/CU 
partner, filing separate return, you 
may not claim a New Jersey earned 
income tax credit.

If you asked the Internal Revenue Service to 
calculate your Federal earned income credit, 
be sure to fill in the first oval below Line 50, 
Form NJ‑1040. (Civil union couples should 

not fill in this oval even if one or both of 
you are eligible for a Federal credit and 
asked the IRS to calculate the amount. See 
the instructions for Civil Union Couples 
below.) The IRS will provide information to 
the Division of Taxation in October 2010. 
Please allow at least 4–6 weeks for the Divi-
sion to process the information and issue a 
check for your New Jersey earned income 
tax credit.

Civil Union Couples. If you file a joint 
New Jersey return and wish to determine if 
you are eligible for the NJEITC, prepare a 
Federal return as if you were married, fil-
ing jointly and calculate the amount of the 
Federal earned income credit, if any, you 
would have been eligible to receive on a 
joint Federal return. Once you have deter-
mined the amount of the Federal credit you 
would have received as joint filers, you must 
use that amount on the Earned Income Tax 
Credit Worksheet to calculate your New Jer-
sey credit. Be sure to fill in only the second 
oval below Line 50 indicating you are a civil 
union couple. 

Prorating the new jersey earned income tax credit:

Total New Jersey EITC Amount      
Months of NJ Residence

  = Prorated New Jersey EITC Amount	
12

Earned Income Tax Credit Schedule
(Keep for your records)

1.	 Enter the amount of your Federal earned income credit from your 2009 Federal Form 1040 or Form 1040A..................................1. _____________  
	 Fill in the first oval below Line 50 if you asked the IRS  

to calculate your Federal earned income credit.
	 Civil union couples, see instructions.
2.	 Enter 25% of amount on line 1 here and on Line 50, Form NJ-1040. Part-year residents, see instructions.    ...........................  2. _____________  
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10.	Tenant Homestead Rebate Application. 
Part-year residents may be eligible for a New 
Jersey tenant homestead rebate if they rented 
and occupied a qualified dwelling in New 
Jersey that was their principal residence on 
October 1, 2009, and they meet all the other 
eligibility requirements. Since eligibility for 
the homestead rebate is based, in part, on 
gross income, your application must show 
your gross income for the entire year. (This 
figure may be different from the amount of 
gross income you reported on Line 28 of your 
part-year resident return.) If your filing status 
is married/CU partner, filing separate return 
and you and your spouse/civil union partner 
maintain the same principal residence, you 

must also list your spouse’s/civil union part-
ner’s income for the entire year. Complete 
the balance of the application according to 
the instructions. Enter only the rent you paid 
for the rental property that was your principal 
residence on October 1, 2009.

Note:	If you owned and occupied a home 
in New Jersey that was your prin-
cipal residence on October 1, 2009, 
you may be eligible for a homestead 
rebate as a homeowner. Applications 
are expected to be mailed to home
owners at the end of April. There is 
no homeowner rebate application in 
the income tax return booklet.

	

TR-1040
2009

STATE OF NEW JERSEY HOMESTEAD REBATE APPLICATION  
(FOR TENANTS ONLY)

1.		  Single
2.		  Married/CU Couple, filing joint return
3. 		  Married/CU Partner, filing separate return
4. 		  Head of household
5. 		  Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner

6.	 If you were a New Jersey resident for  
ONLY part of the taxable year, give the  
period of New Jersey residency:

NJ RESIDENCY STATUS

To

From //

/ /

M M

MM

D D

D D

Y Y

Y Y

	 7.	 On October 1, 2009, I rented and occupied an apartment or other rental dwelling in New Jersey as my principal residence.
		     Yes        No	 If “No,” STOP. You are not eligible for a rebate as a tenant and you should not file this application. See instructions.

	 8.	 On 12/31/09 I (and/or my spouse/cu partner) was    a.   Age 65 or older     b.   Blind or disabled     c.    Not 65 or blind or disabled
		  Fill in only one oval. See instructions.	
	 9.	 Enter the GROSS INCOME you reported on Line 28, Form NJ-1040 

or see instructions.............................................................................................................	
	10.	 If your filing status is MARRIED/CU PARTNER, FILING SEPARATE RETURN and you  

and your spouse/CU partner MAINTAIN THE SAME PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE, enter  
the gross income reported on your spouse’s/CU partner’s return  
(Line 28, Form NJ-1040) and fill in oval   

11.	 TOTAL GROSS INCOME (Add Line 9 and Line 10).........................................................

		  STOP - IF LINE 11 IS MORE THAN $100,000, YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR A TENANT REBATE. 
12.	 Enter the address of the rental property in New Jersey that was your principal residence on October 1, 2009.
		  Street Address (including apartment number)____________________________________  Municipality___________________________________________  
	13.	 Enter the total rent you (and your spouse/CU partner) paid during 2009 for the rental 

property indicated at Line 12...............................................................................................

	14.	 Enter the number of days during 2009 that you (and your spouse/CU partner) occupied the rental property 
indicated at Line 12. (If you lived there for all of 2009, enter 365)...........................................................................

15.	 Did anyone, other than your spouse/CU partner, occupy and share rent with you for the rental property indicated at Line 12?
	     		   Yes      (If yes, you must complete Lines 15a, b, and c) 	     No

	15a.	Enter the total number of tenants (including yourself) who shared the rent during the period 
indicated at Line 14. (For this purpose, husband and wife/CU couple are considered one tenant)........................

	15b.	Enter the name(s) and social security number(s) of all other tenants (other than your spouse/CU partner) who shared the rent.
		  Name________________________________________________________________________    SS#_ ______________/__________ /________________

		  Name________________________________________________________________________    SS#_ ______________/__________ /________________

15c.	Enter the total rent paid by all tenants during the period indicated at Line 14.....................

DO NOT FILE FORM TR-1040 IF YOU WERE A HOMEOWNER ON OCTOBER 1, 2009 (See Instructions)

, , .9

.11 , ,
, , .10

.13 , ,
14

15a

.15c , ,
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Completing A Part-year nonresident return
Important Points:
•	 Enter the dates you were a New Jersey resident above Line 1.
•	 Report income, withholdings, and payments for period of New Jersey nonresidency only.
•	 When reporting your income, fill out both Column A and Column B completely.
•	 Prorate exemptions, deductions, and exclusions based on nonresidency period.
•	 If you also complete a part-year resident return, allocate your income, withholdings, and payments 

between the part-year resident and part-year nonresident returns as appropriate.

1.	 Residency Status.
	 (a) Complete the “State of Residency (out-

side NJ)” box below your social security 
number(s) at the top of the return. Indicate 
the place outside New Jersey where you 
lived for the period of nonresidency. If you 
lived at more than one location, give the 
most recent.

	 (b) Show the beginning and ending dates of 
your residency in New Jersey during the tax 
year.

note:	When you file a part-year nonresident 
return, you are likely to be required 
to file a part-year resident return, too. 
(See page 6.) The part-year resident re-
turn covers the period of New Jersey 
residency shown above Line 1, and 
the part-year nonresident return cov-
ers the portion of the year you were not 
a resident of New Jersey. If you were 
a nonresident for 15 days or more of a 
month, that month counts as a month of 
nonresidence. For example, if you were a 
New Jersey resident from September 27, 
2009, to December 31, 2009, you were a 
nonresident for nine months. See Exemp-
tions on page 21.

	6.	 Regular	

	7.	 Age 65 or Over

	8.	 Blind or Disabled

	9.	 Number of your qualified dependent children

10.	Number of other dependents

11.	Dependents attending colleges

12.	Totals	(For Line 12a—Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 11)
		  (For Line 12b—Add Line 9 and Line 10)

Place label  
on form if all 
preprinted 
information  
is correct. 
Otherwise,  

print or  
type your name  
and address.

Your Social Security Number

Spouse’s/CU Partner’s   
Social Security Number

Last Name, First Name and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each—Enter spouse’s/CU partner’s last name ONLY if different)

Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route)

City, Town, Post Office State Zip CodeYou must enter your SSN(s) above
State of Residency (outside NJ)

NJ RESIDENCY
STATUS

	 If you were a New Jersey resident for ANY part of the 
taxable year, give the period of New Jersey residency.	

From To
month day year month day year

Filing Status 
(Check only ONE box)

1.  	 Single
2.	 Married/CU Couple, filing joint return

3.  	 Married/CU Partner, filing separate return

e 
x 
e 
m 
p 
t 
i 
o 
n 
s

6

7

8
9

10

114.	 Head of household
5.	 Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner

Name and SSN of Spouse/CU Partner

12a 12b

Yourself

Yourself

Yourself

Spouse/
CU Partner
Spouse/CU Partner

Spouse/CU Partner

Domestic 
Partner

×
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2.	I ncome. Complete both Columns A and B, 
Lines 14–26. Include only income you re
ceived for the part of the year you were a 
nonresident. Report in Column A income 
from all sources (both inside and outside 
New Jersey) as if you were a resident; in 
Column B, show your income from New 
Jersey sources. Follow the instructions in 
the nonresident return instruction booklet 
for completing each line. For every entry in 
Column A, there should be an entry on the 
corresponding line in Column B. If none of 
the income in Column A is from New Jersey 
sources, enter “0” in Column B. In certain 
circumstances, the amount in Column B can 
exceed the amount in Column A. No entry is 
needed on Line 21, Column B since pension, 
annuity, and IRA withdrawal income is not 
taxable to nonresidents. 

	 Pennsylvania residents are not subject 
to income tax on wages they earn in New 
Jersey. Therefore, if you are a Pennsylvania 
resident, you must report all your wages 

(including wages earned in New Jersey) in 
Column A, and “0” should be entered in 
Column B.

	 This exception applies only to wages. 
Pennsylvania residents are subject to New 
Jersey tax on other types of income from 
New Jersey sources. For example, winnings 
from a casino or racetrack located in New 
Jersey or net profits from a business located 
in New Jersey must be reported in both Col-
umn A and Column B.

3.	P ension and Other Retirement Income 
Exclusion. 

	 (a) Pension Exclusion (Line 27a).  
Column A: If you were a New Jersey non-
resident for only part of the taxable year 
and had total income from all sources for 
the entire year of $100,000 or less before 
subtracting any pension exclusion, you 
may qualify for a pension exclusion if you 
meet the other eligibility requirements. If 
you qualify, prorate the exclusion by the 

14.	 Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation......................................... 	 14	 14	
15.	 Interest....................................................................................................................... 	 15	 15		
16.	 Dividends.................................................................................................................... 	 16	 16	
17.	 Net profits from business (Enclose copy of Federal Schedule C, Form 1040)........... 	 17	 17
18.	 Net gains or income from disposition of property (From Line 58).............................. 	 18	 18	
19.	 Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights (From Line 61)......... 	 19	 19	
20.	 Net gambling winnings (See Instructions).................................................................. 	 20	 20
21.	 Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals................................................................. 	 21	
22.	 Distributive Share of Partnership Income................................................................... 	 22	 22
23.	 Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income.............................................................. 	 23	 23
24.	 Alimony and separate maintenance payments received............................................ 	 24	 24
25.	 Other—State Nature and Source_ ______________________________________ 	 25	 25	
26.	 TOTAL INCOME (Add Lines 14 through 25).............................................................. 	 26	 26	
27a.	Pension Exclusion (See Instructions)......................................................................... 	 27a	 27a
27b.	Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and Instructions).................... 	 27b	 27b
27c.	Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27b)................................................ 	 27c	 27c
28.	 Gross Income (Subtract Line 27c from Line 26)......................................................... 	 28	 28

(Column A) 
AMOUNT OF GROSS INCOME  

(EVERYWHERE)

(Column B) 
AMOUNT FROM  

NEW JERSEY SOURCES
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number of months you were a New Jersey 
nonresident. For this calculation 15 days or 
more is a month. See page 10 for a descrip-
tion of how to prorate the pension exclusion 
amount.

Note: When you and your spouse/civil 
union partner file a joint return and 
only one of you is 62 or older or dis-
abled, you may claim the full amount 
of the prorated exclusion. However, 
only the income of the one who is 
age 62 or older or disabled may be 
excluded.

	 Column B: No entry is necessary in Col-
umn B since pension, annuity, and IRA 
withdrawal income is not taxable to 
nonresidents.

	 (b) Other Retirement Income Exclusion 
(Line 27b, Columns A and B). If you (and/
or your spouse/civil union partner if filing 
jointly) were 62 years of age or older on the 
last day of the tax year, you may qualify to 
exclude other income on Line 27b. There are 
two parts to the total exclusion: Part I, the 
unclaimed portion of your prorated pension 
exclusion, and Part II, a special exclusion for 
taxpayers who are unable to receive Social 
Security or Railroad Retirement benefits. Do 
not complete Worksheet D in the NJ‑1040NR 
instruction booklet to calculate the total 
exclusion amount you are eligible to claim. 
Instead, calculate your total exclusion as 
follows:

 	 Part I. Total the earned income (wages, net 
profits from business, partnership income, 
and S corporation income) you received 
from all sources for the entire year. If your 
earned income for the entire year was 
$3,000 or less and you did not use your en-
tire prorated pension exclusion at Line 27a, 
you may be able to use the unclaimed pen-
sion exclusion at Line 27b provided total 
income from all sources for the entire year 
before subtracting any pension exclusion 
was $100,000 or less.

	 Part II. If you are unable to receive Social 
Security or Railroad Retirement benefits, but 
would have been eligible for benefits had 
you fully participated in either program, you 
may also be eligible for an additional exclu-
sion, whether or not you used all of your 
prorated pension exclusion at Line 27a.

Note: When you and your spouse/civil 
union partner file a joint return and 
only one of you is 62 or older or dis-
abled, you may claim the full amount 
of the prorated exclusion. However, 
only the income of the one who is 
age 62 or older or disabled may be 
excluded.

More Information. For information on cal-
culating your partnership and S corporation 
income, see Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-9P, 
Income From Partnerships, and GIT-9S, 
Income From S Corporations. For more 
information on pension, annuity, and IRA 
withdrawal income and the New Jersey in-
come exclusions, see Tax Topic Bulletins 
git‑1, Pensions and Annuities, and git‑2, 
ira Withdrawals.

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/corp/git9p.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/corp/git9s.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git1.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git2.pdf
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5.	 Deductions.
(a) Medical Expenses (Line 31). You may 
deduct certain medical expenses for which 
you were not reimbursed by insurance or any 
other plan, qualified Archer medical savings 
account (MSA) contributions, and health 
insurance costs of the self-employed. Com-
plete Worksheet E in the nonresident return 
instruction booklet (Form NJ-1040NR) to cal-
culate your deduction for medical expenses. 
Include only those expenses that were in-
curred and paid during the period of time you 
were a New Jersey nonresident.

	 (b) Alimony and Separate Maintenance 
Payments (Line 32). You may deduct ali-
mony and separate maintenance payments 
paid for the period of time you were a New 
Jersey nonresident. Child support payments 
are not deductible.

4.	 Exemptions. You must prorate the exemp
tion allowance amount based upon the 
number of months you were a New Jersey 
nonresident. For this calculation 15 days 
or more is a month. First determine the full 
value of your exemptions as follows:

From Line 12a______ × $1,000 =_ _________
From Line 12b______ × $1,500 =_ _________
Total Exemption Amount_________________

Once you have calculated your Total Ex-
emption Amount, use the formula below 
and then enter the prorated exemption 
amount on Line 30.

	 (c) Qualified Conservation Contribution 
(Line 33). You may deduct the amount of 
any qualified conservation contribution you 
made during the period of time you were a 
New Jersey nonresident.

	 (d) Health Enterprise Zone (Line 34). Eli-
gible taxpayers engaged in providing “pri-
mary care” medical and/or dental services at 
a qualified practice located in or within five 
miles of a designated Health Enterprise Zone 
(HEZ) may qualify for a deduction. For infor-
mation on eligibility requirements and how 
to calculate the HEZ deduction, see Technical 
Bulletin TB-56, Health Enterprise Zones.

Note:	New Jersey does not allow deduc
tions for adjustments taken on the 
Federal return such as employee 
business expenses or ira and Keogh 
Plan contributions.

30.	 Total Exemption Amount (See instructions).......................................................	 30
31.	 Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and Instructions).......................................	 31
32.	 Alimony and separate maintenance payments.................................................	 32	
33.	 Qualified Conservation Contribution..................................................................	 33
34. 	 Health Enterprise Zone Deduction....................................................................	 34
35.	 Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 30, 31, 32, 33, and 34)..............	 35
36.	 TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 35 from Line 29, Column A).......................	 36		

	Pr orating the EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE:

  Total Exemption Amount  	 Months of NJ Nonresidence   = Prorated Exemption Amount	
12

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tb/tb56.pdf
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39.	 NEW JERSEY Tax  
(Multiply amount from Line 37  x  % on Line 38).......................	 39

40.	 Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit.........................................................................	 40

41.	 Balance of Tax after Credit (Subtract Line 40 from Line 39).............................	 41

6.	 Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit. Enter 
the amount of your Sheltered Workshop 
Tax Credit from Part IV, line 12 of Form 

GIT‑317. Allocate the total amount of the 
credit between your part-year resident and 
part-year nonresident returns if appropriate.

7.	 Tax Withheld/Estimated Payments.
	 (a) Line 44. Enter the amount of New Jer-

sey income tax withheld from wages you 
earned or other payments you received while 
you were a New Jersey nonresident. If your 
employer combined wages you earned as a 
resident and wages you earned as a nonresi-
dent on the same W-2, and you earned some 
of those wages from New Jersey while a 
nonresident, include here only tax withheld 
during the period you were a nonresident. 
Allocate the New Jersey income tax with-
held between your part-year resident and 
part-year nonresident returns if you earned 
wages from New Jersey as a resident and as 
a nonresident.

44.	 Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (Enclose Forms W-2 and 1099).......... 	 44
45.	 New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2008 tax return................... 	 45
46.	 Tax paid on your behalf by Partnership(s)......................................................... 	 46
47.	 EXCESS NJ UI/WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450.  

See instructions)................................................................................................ 	 47	
48.	 EXCESS NJ Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450.  

See instructions)................................................................................................ 	 48
49.	 Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 44 through 48)....................................................	 ENTER TOTAL 	  49

	 (b) Line 45. Enter the amount of estimated 
payments to New Jersey for the period of 
time you were a nonresident. If you made 
estimated payments both as a resident and as 
a nonresident, enter on your part-year resi-
dent return the payment(s) made to meet the 
tax liability for your period of New Jersey 
residency. Enter on the part-year nonresident 
return the payment(s) made to satisfy your 
tax liability during the part of the year you 
were a nonresident. Also enter amounts, if 
any, paid to qualify for an extension of time 
to file.
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8.	 Allocation of Wage and Salary Income 
Earned Partly Inside and Outside New 
Jersey. Complete this section only when 
you have wage/salary income earned partly 
inside and partly outside New Jersey and you 
cannot readily determine the amount of wage/ 

salary income derived from New Jersey. For 
purposes of completing this section, “total 
days” on Line 63 means the number of days 
covered by your part-year return. Complete 
Lines 62–68 accordingly.

62.	 Amount reported on Line 14 in Column A required to be allocated...............................................................	 62
63.	 Total days in taxable year..............................................................................................................................	 63
64.	 Deduct nonworking days (Sundays, Saturdays, holidays, sick leave, vacation, etc.)...................................	 64
65.	 Total days worked in taxable year (Subtract Line 64 from Line 63)...............................................................	 65
66.	 Deduct days worked outside New Jersey.....................................................................................................	 66
67.	 Days worked in New Jersey (Subtract Line 66 from Line 65).......................................................................	 67

68.	 ALLOCATION FORMULA

(See instructions if compensation depends entirely on volume of business  
transacted or if other basis of allocation is used.)

ALLOCATION OF WAGE AND SALARY 
INCOME EARNED PARTLY INSIDE 
AND OUTSIDE NEW JERSEY 

PART III

(Salary earned inside N.J.)
= (Include this amount  

on Line 14, Col. B)
(Line 67)
(Line 65) (Enter amount from Line 62)

×
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Example A
Part-Year Resident/Part-Year Nonresident
•	 John Perry, age 35, and Joan Perry, age 32, 

are married and file a joint Federal return. 
They have two dependents: their one-year-old 
son and Mr. Perry’s 67-year-old mother.

•	 The family moved to New Jersey from New 
York City on April 1. They rented an apart-
ment at 123 Elm St., Montclair, NJ 07042 
from April 1 to December 31 for $750 a 
month.

•	 Husband worked for the same employer 
in New Jersey all year; wages for the year, 
$72,000.

•	 Wife’s wages for part-time job from 
September to December, $3,000.

•	 Couple received $6,400 in interest on their 
joint accounts and $480 in dividends for the 
year.

•	 On March 1, they sold 200 shares of jointly 
held stock in ABC Corp. for $3,500, pur
chased the previous year for $2,800.

•	 They won $75 in the New York Lottery on 
February 3 and $62 in the New Jersey Lottery 
on July 29.

•	 New Jersey income tax withheld: $1,983 for 
Mr. Perry and $52 for Mrs. Perry.

•	 Four estimated tax payments of $50 each 
made to New Jersey on April 15, June 15, 
September 15, and January 15 of the 
following year.
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(Column A) 
AMOUNT OF GROSS 

INCOME (EVERYWHERE)

NJ-1040NR 2009 STATE OF NEW JERSEY INCOME TAX—NONRESIDENT RETURN

13.  Dependent’s Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial	 Dependent’s Social Security Number	 Birth Year

a___________________________________________	 _ ___________ /____________ /_ ______________ 	 _______________

b___________________________________________	 _ ___________ /____________ /_ ______________ 	 _______________

c___________________________________________	 _ ___________ /____________ /_ ______________ 	 _______________

d___________________________________________	 _ ___________ /____________ /_ ______________ 	 _______________

GUBERNATORIAL  
ELECTIONS FUND

Do you wish to designate $1 of your taxes for this fund?
If joint return, does your spouse/CU partner wish to designate $1? Yes No

Note: If you check the “Yes” box(es), it will  
not increase your tax or reduce your refund.

(Column B) 
AMOUNT FROM  

NEW JERSEY SOURCES

14.	 Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation.......................................................... 	 14	 14	
15.	 Interest........................................................................................................................................	 15	 15	

16.	 Dividends....................................................................................................................................	 16	 16	

17.	 Net profits from business (Enclose copy of Federal Schedule C, Form 1040)........................... 	 17	 17

18.	 Net gains or income from disposition of property (From Line 58)............................................... 	 18	 18		

19.	 Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights (From Line 61)...................... 	 19	 19

20.	 Net gambling winnings (See Instructions)...................................................................................	 20	 20
21.	 Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals.................................................................................	 21	 0
22.	 Distributive Share of Partnership Income....................................................................................	 22	 22
23.	 Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income...............................................................................	 23	 23
24.	 Alimony and separate maintenance payments received............................................................. 	 24	 24
25.	 Other—State Nature and Source________________________________________________ 	 25	 25	

26.	 TOTAL INCOME (Add Lines 14 through 25)...............................................................................	 26	 26		

27a.	 Pension Exclusion (See Instructions)..........................................................................................	 27a	 27a		

27b.	 Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and Instructions)..................................... 	 27b	 27b		
27c.	 Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27b)................................................................. 	 27c	 27c	

28.	 Gross Income (Subtract Line 27c from Line 26).........................................................................	 28	 28

18000   0018000   00
1600   00 0

0

0

0

120   00

700   00

75   00

20495   00 18000   00

18000   0020495   00

Yes No

D
EP

EN
D

EN
TS Perry, Jake

Perry, Mary
999
999

52 0222
36 8819

2008
1942

2

22

1
1

999	 34	 0722 Perry, John and Joan

123 Elm St.999	 01	 3664

Montclair	 NJ	 07042New York
04-01-09 12-31-09

	6.	 Regular	

	7.	 Age 65 or Over

	8.	 Blind or Disabled

	9.	 Number of your qualified dependent children

10.	Number of other dependents

11.	Dependents attending colleges

12.	Totals	(For Line 12a—Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 11)
		  (For Line 12b—Add Line 9 and Line 10)

Place label  
on form if all 
preprinted 
information  
is correct. 
Otherwise,  

print or  
type your name  
and address.

Your Social Security Number

Spouse’s/CU Partner’s   
Social Security Number

Last Name, First Name and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each—Enter spouse’s/CU partner’s last name ONLY if different)

Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route)

City, Town, Post Office State Zip CodeYou must enter your SSN(s) above
State of Residency (outside NJ)

NJ RESIDENCY
STATUS

	 If you were a New Jersey resident for ANY part of the  
taxable year, give the period of New Jersey residency.	

From To
month day year month day year

Filing Status 
(Check only ONE box)

1.  	 Single
2.	 Married/CU couple, filing joint return
3.  	 Married/CU partner, filing separate return

e 
x 
e 
m 
p 
t 
i 
o 
n 
s

6

7

8
9

10

114.	 Head of household
5.	 Qualifying widow(er)/surviving CU partner

Name and SSN of Spouse/CU Partner

12a 12b

Yourself

Yourself

Yourself

Spouse/
CU Partner
Spouse/CU Partner

Spouse/CU Partner

Domestic 
Partner

×

×

×
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Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, 
and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this 
declaration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Pay amount on Line 50 in full. 
Write social security number(s) 
on check or money order and 
make payable to:
STATE OF NEW JERSEY-TGI
Division of Taxation
Revenue Processing Center
PO Box 244
Trenton, NJ 08646-0244

You may also pay by e-check or 
credit card.

Your signature Date Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign.)

29.	 Gross Income (From page 1, Line 28)...................................................................................
30.	 Total Exemption Amount (See instructions) ..........................................................................
31.	 Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and Instructions)............................................................
32.	 Alimony and separate maintenance payments......................................................................
33.	 Qualified Conservation Contribution......................................................................................
34.	 Health Enterprise Zone Deduction......................................................................................... 	
35.	 Total Exemptions  and Deductions (Add Lines 30, 31, 32, 33, and 34).................................. 	
36.	 TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 35 from Line 29, Column A)............................................
37.	 Tax on amount on Line 36 (From Tax Table)..........................................................................
38.	 Income Percentage 

39.	 NEW JERSEY TAX 
	 (Multiply amount from Line 37___________  _________ % from Line 38.......................................................................... 	 39
40.	 Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit (Enclose Form GIT-317. See instructions).......................................................................... 	 40
41.	 Balance of Tax After Credit (Subtract Line 40 from Line 39).................................................................................................. 	 41
42.	 Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax.  Check box     if Form NJ-2210 is enclosed................................................. 	 42
43.	 Total Tax and Penalty (add Line 41 and Line 42)................................................................................................................... 	 43
44.	 Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (Enclose Forms W-2 and 1099)...............................
45.	 New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2008 tax return........................................
46.	 Tax paid on your behalf by Partnership(s)..............................................................................
47.	 EXCESS NJ UI/WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. See Instructions)....................
48.	 EXCESS NJ Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. See Instructions).........
49.	 Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 44 through 48).................................................................................... ENTER TOTAL
50.	 If Line 49 is LESS THAN Line 43 enter AMOUNT YOU OWE...............................................................................................
51.	 If Line 49 is MORE THAN Line 43 enter OVERPAYMENT....................................................................................................
52.	 Deductions from Overpayment on Line 51 which you elect to credit to:
	 (A)	Your 2009 Tax..................................................................................................................
	 (B)	N.J. Endangered Wildlife Fund
	 (C)	N.J. Children’s Trust Fund
	 (D)	N.J. Vietnam Veterans’ Memorial Fund
	 (E)	N.J. Breast Cancer Research Fund
	 (F)	 U.S.S. N.J. Educational Museum Fund
	 (G)	Designated Contribution

53.	 Total Deductions From Overpayment (Add Lines 52A, B, C, D, E, F, and G)............................................ ENTER TOTAL
54.	 REFUND (Amount to be sent to you, subtract Line 53 from Line 51)......................................................................................
	

Name(s) as shown on Form NJ-1040NR	 Your Social Security Number

87.83269.00

Perry, John and Joan 999	 34	 0722

B.  (Line 29)
A.  (Line 29)

= %87.83

20495   00

236   00

52A
52B
52C
52D
52E
52F
52G

53
54

NOTE:  
AN ENTRY ON LINE  
52A, B, C, D, E, F, OR G 
WILL REDUCE YOUR TAX 
REFUND 

310   00

29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37 269   00

1250   00

1250   00
19245   00

18000   0029

44

45
46
47
48

49
50
51

496   00
50   00

546    00

310    00

236   00

236   00

ENTER 
AMOUNT  

OF  
CONTRIBUTION

$10,  $20,      Other 
$10,  $20,      Other 
$10,  $20,      Other 
$10,  $20,      Other 
$10,  $20,      Other 
$10,  $20,      Other 0
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62.	 Amount reported on Line 14 in Column A required to be allocated.......................................................................................

63.	 Total days in taxable year......................................................................................................................................................

64.	 Deduct nonworking days (Sundays, Saturdays, holidays, sick leave, vacation, etc.)...........................................................

65.	 Total days worked in taxable year (Subtract Line 64 from Line 63)......................................................................................

66.	 Deduct days worked outside New Jersey.............................................................................................................................

67.	 Days worked in New Jersey (Subtract Line 66 from Line 65)...............................................................................................

68.	 ALLOCATION FORMULA

55.	 200 shs. ABC Corp.	 2-15-08	 3-1-09	 3500   00	 2800   00	 700   00	

56.	 Capital Gains Distribution......................................................................................................................................................	 56

57.	 Other Net Gains....................................................................................................................................................................	 57

58.	 Net Gains (Add Lines 55, 56, and 57)  (Enter here and on Line 18)  (If Loss, enter ZERO).................................................	 58	

List the net gains or income, less net loss, derived from the sale, exchange, or other  
disposition of property including real or personal whether tangible or intangible.

NET GAINS OR INCOME FROM 
DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY

(a)  Kind of property and description
(b)  Date 
acquired 

(Mo., day, yr.)

(c)  Date sold 
(Mo., day, yr.)

(d)  Gross sales 
price

(e)	 Cost or other basis  
as adjusted (see  
instructions) and  
expense of sale

(f)  Gain or (loss) 
(d less e)

PART I

700   00
NET GAINS OR INCOME  
FROM RENTS, ROYALTIES,
PATENTS AND COPYRIGHTS 

List the net gains or net income, less net loss, derived from or in the form of rents, royalties, pat-
ents, and copyrights as reported on your Federal Income Tax Return.

(a)  Kind of property
(b)  Net Rental Income 

(Loss)
(c)  Net Income  
From Royalties

(d)  Net Income From 
Patents

(e)  Net Income From 
Copyrights

59.

60.	 Totals

61.	 Net Income (Combine Columns b, c, d, and e)  (Enter here and on Line 19)  (If Loss, enter ZERO)...................................	 61

PART II 

(See instructions if compensation depends entirely on volume of business transacted 
or if other basis of allocation is used.)

62

63

64

65

66

67

ALLOCATION OF WAGE AND SALARY 
INCOME EARNED PARTLY INSIDE 
AND OUTSIDE NEW JERSEY 

PART III

(e)(d)(c)(b)

ALLOCATION OF BUSINESS 
INCOME TO NEW JERSEY PART IV (See instructions if other than Formula Basis of allocation is used.)

BUSINESS ALLOCATION PERCENTAGE (From Schedule NJ-NR-A)
Enter below, the line number and amount of each item of business income reported in Column A which is required to be allocated 
and multiply by allocation percentage to determine amount of income from New Jersey sources.

From Line No._____________     $________________ × _________ % = $ _ ______________ 	
From Line No._____________     $________________ × _________ % = $ _ ______________ 	
From Line No._____________     $________________ × _________ % = $ _ ______________ 	

(Include this amount on 
Line 14, Col. B)

(Line 67)
(Line 65) (Salary earned inside N.J.)(Enter amount from Line 62)× =
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NJ-1040
2009

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
INCOME TAX-RESIDENT RETURN

Your Social Security Number Last Name, First Name, and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each - Enter spouse/CU partner last name ONLY if different) 

Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Social Security Number Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route)

County/Municipality Code (See Table) City, Town, Post Office State Zip Code

– –

––

Do you wish to designate $1 of your taxes for this fund?
If joint return, does your spouse/CU partner wish to designate $1? NoYes

Note: If you fill in the “Yes” 
oval(s), it will not increase your 
tax or reduce your refund.

NoYesGUBERNATORIAL
ELECTIONS FUND

	 If you were a New Jersey resident for 
ONLY part of the taxable year, give the 
period of New Jersey residency:

1.	 Single

2.	 Married/CU couple, filing joint return

3. 	 Married/CU partner, filing separate return
	 Enter Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Social Security 

Number in the boxes provided above

4. 	 Head of household

5. 	 Qualifying widow(er)/surviving CU partner

(Fill in only one) ENTER
NUMBERS
HERE

 6. 	 Regular 		

 7. 	 Age 65 or Over

 8. 	 Blind or Disabled

 9. 	 Number of your qualified dependent children.........................................

10. 	 Number of other dependents..................................................................

11.	 Dependents attending colleges..............................................

12. 	 Totals (For Line 12a - Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 11)
		  (For Line 12b - Add Lines 9 and 10)............................ 	

6

7

8

9
10

11

12a 12b

Yourself
Yourself

Yourself

Spouse/ 
CU Partner
Spouse/CU Partner
Spouse/CU Partner

Domestic 
Partner

From To
NJ RESIDENCY 
	 STATUS

9 9 9 0 1 3 6 6 4

Perry, John and Joan

Montclair	 NJ	 07042

123 Elm St.

0 317

9 9 9 3 4 0 7 2 2

0 4 0 1 0 9 1 2 3 1 0 9

1

2

2 2

1

13.  Dependent’s Last Name, 	 Dependent’s Social Security Number	 Birth Year	   
	 First Name, Middle Initial

		
			 

a________________________________

b________________________________

c_________________________________

d________________________________

Perry, Jake	
Perry, Mary

2 00 8	
1 49 2

––

––

––

––

9 9 9
9 9 9

5 0 22 2 2
3 6 8 18 9

Fill in oval if dependent does 
not have health insurance 
including NJ FamilyCare/
Medicaid, Medicare, private  
or other (see instructions). 

	

	

	

	

Under the penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this income tax return (and rebate application, if completed), including 
accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. If completing a 
rebate application (Form TR-1040), I also declare that I occupied the rental property for which I am applying for the tenant homestead 
rebate as my principal residence on October 1, 2009. If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this declaration is based on all 
information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

	 Your Signature	 Date

	 Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign)	 Date

Pay amount on Line 54 in full.  
Write social security number(s) on 
check or money order and make 
payable to:
STATE OF NEW JERSEY - TGI
Mail your check or money order with 
your NJ-1040-V payment voucher  
and your return to:
	 NJ Division of Taxation 

Revenue Processing Center 
PO Box 111 
Trenton, NJ 08645-0111

IF REFUND: 
NJ Division of Taxation 
Revenue Processing Center 
PO Box 555 
Trenton, NJ 08647-0555

You may also pay by e-check or  
credit card. For more information go 
to: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation
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14. 	 Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (Enclose W-2)........................

15a.	Taxable interest income (See instructions) (Enclose Federal Schedule B if over $1,500)	

15b.	Tax-exempt interest income (See instructions) ................................................ 
(Enclose Schedule) DO NOT include on Line 15a

16.	 Dividends..........................................................................................................................

17. 	 Net profits from business (Enclose copy of Federal Schedule C, Form 1040).................

18. 	 Net gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule B, Line 4)............................

19. 	Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals (See instructions)..........................................

20. 	 Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Enclose Schedule) (See instructions)............		

21. 	 Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (Enclose Schedule) (See instructions)........

22. 	 Net gain or income from rents, royalties, patents & copyrights (Schedule C, Line 3).......

23. 	 Net Gambling Winnings (See instructions).......................................................................

24. 	 Alimony and separate maintenance payments received..................................................

25.	 Other (Enclose Schedule) (See instructions)....................................................................

26.	 Total Income (Add Lines 14, 15a, and 16 through 25)......................................................	

27a.	Pension Exclusion (See instructions)........................................................................

27b.	Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See worksheet and instructions).....................

27c.	Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27b)......................................................

28. 	 New Jersey Gross Income (Subtract Line 27c from Line 26) See instructions..............	 		

29.	 Total Exemption Amount (See instructions to calculate amount)......................................	
	 (Part-Year Residents see instructions)

30. 	 Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and instructions)......................................................

31. 	 Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments ...............................................................

32. 	 Qualified Conservation Contribution.................................................................................

33.	 Health Enterprise Zone Deduction....................................................................................

34. 	 Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 29, 30, 31, 32, and 33).............................

35. 	 Taxable Income (Subtract Line 34 from Line 28) If zero or less, MAKE NO ENTRY........

36a. 	Total Property Taxes Paid (See instructions)...................

36b. 	Indicate your residency status during 2009 (fill in only one oval).......................
36c. 	Property Tax Deduction (See instructions)......................................................................

37.		  If filing status is Married/CU Partner, filing separate return (#3, Page 1), and  
	 both spouses/CU partners occupied the same residence, fill in oval................. 	

38. 	 NEW JERSEY TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 36c from Line 35) 
	 If zero or less, MAKE NO ENTRY.....................................................................................

NJ-1040 (2009) Page 2
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41.	 Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 40 from Line 39)............................................................................

42.	 Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit....................................................................................................

43.	 Balance of Tax after Credit (Subtract Line 42 from Line 41).........................................................

44.	 Use Tax Due on Out-of-State Purchases (See instructions).........................................................  
If no Use Tax, enter ZERO (0.00).

45.	 Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax. Fill in  if Form NJ-2210 is enclosed..............

46.	 Total Tax and Penalty (Add Lines 43, 44, and 45)......................................................................

47.	 Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (Enclose Forms W-2 and 1099).................................

48. 	 Property Tax Credit (See instructions)..........................................................................................

49.	 New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2008 tax return..............................................

50.	 New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (See instructions)
Fill in oval if you had the IRS figure your Federal Earned Income Credit	   
Fill in oval if you are a CU couple claiming the NJ Earned Income Tax Credit	  

51.	 EXCESS New Jersey UI/WF/SWF Withheld (See instructions) (Enclose Form NJ-2450)...........

52. 	 EXCESS New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (See instructions)
	 (Enclose Form NJ-2450).............................................................................................................

53.	 Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 47 through 52)..................................................................

54.	 If Line 53 is LESS THAN Line 46, enter AMOUNT YOU OWE................................................... 				  
	 Fill in     if paying by e-check or credit card.
	 If you owe tax, you may make a donation by entering an amount on Lines 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, and/or 62 and adding this to your payment amount.

55.	 If Line 53 is MORE THAN Line 46, enter OVERPAYMENT........................................................
	 Deductions from Overpayment on Line 55 which you elect to credit to:

56.	 Your 2010 tax..............................................................................................................................

57.	 N.J. Endangered Wildlife Fund........................................

58.	 N.J. Children’s Trust Fund To Prevent Child Abuse.........

59.	 N.J. Vietnam Veterans’ Memorial Fund............................ 	

60.	 N.J. Breast Cancer Research Fund................................. 	

61.	 U.S.S. New Jersey Educational Museum Fund...............

62.	 Other Designated Contribution.........................................
	 See instructions

63.	 Total Deductions from Overpayment (Add Lines 56 through 62)................................................

64.	 REFUND (Amount to be sent to you. Subtract Line 63 from Line 55)......................................... 		
	

, , .41 0 1 1 0 01
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2 0 00 0
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$10 $20

$10 $20

$10 $20
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Other
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Other

Other

Other

Other

Fill in  
only one

39.	 Tax (From Tax Table) .......................................................................................................

40.	 Credit For Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions
Enter other jurisdiction code (See instructions) (Enclose Schedule A).	 , .40

0 1 1 0 0139 , .

999 34 0722Perry, John and Joan

NJ-1040 (2009) Page 3
Name(s) as shown on Form NJ-1040 Your Social Security Number
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	 7.	 On October 1, 2009, I rented and occupied an apartment or other rental dwelling in New Jersey as my principal residence.
		     Yes        No	 If “No,” STOP. You are not eligible for a rebate as a tenant and you should not file this application. See instructions.

	 8.	 On 12/31/09, I (and/or my spouse/CU partner) was    a.   Age 65 or older     b.   Blind or disabled     c.    Not 65 or blind or disabled
		  Fill in only one oval. See instructions.	

	 9.	 Enter the GROSS INCOME you reported on Line 28, Form NJ-1040 
or see instructions.............................................................................................................	

	10.	 If your filing status is MARRIED/CU PARTNER, FILING SEPARATE RETURN and  
you and your spouse/CU partner MAINTAIN THE SAME PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE,  
enter the gross income reported on your spouse’s/CU partner’s return  
(Line 28, Form NJ-1040) and fill in oval   

11.	 TOTAL GROSS INCOME (Add Line 9 and Line 10).........................................................

		  STOP - IF LINE 11 IS MORE THAN $100,000, YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR A TENANT REBATE. 

12.	 Enter the address of the rental property in New Jersey that was your principal residence on October 1, 2009.

	 	 Street Address (including apartment number)____________________________________  Municipality___________________________________________  

	13.	 Enter the total rent you (and your spouse/CU partner) paid during 2009 for the  
rental property indicated at Line 12..................................................................................

	14.	 Enter the number of days during 2009 that you (and your spouse/cu partner) occupied the rental property 
indicated at Line 12. (If you lived there for all of 2009, enter 365).......................................................................

15.	 Did anyone, other than your spouse/CU partner, occupy and share rent with you for the rental property indicated at Line 12?
	     		   Yes      (If yes, you must complete Lines 15a, b, and c) 	     No

	15a.	Enter the total number of tenants (including yourself) who shared the rent during the period 
indicated at Line 14. (For this purpose, husband and wife/CU couple are considered one tenant)........................

	15b.	Enter the name(s) and social security number(s) of all other tenants (other than your spouse/CU partner) who shared the rent.

		  Name________________________________________________________________________    SS#_ ______________/__________ /________________

		  Name________________________________________________________________________    SS#_ ______________/__________ /________________

		  Name________________________________________________________________________    SS#_ ______________/__________ /________________

15c.	Enter the total rent paid by all tenants during the period indicated at Line 14.....................

14

.13 , ,

.15c , ,

, , .9

, , .10

.11 , ,

15a

572

6 7 5 0 0 0

8 2 6 5 5 0 0

8 2 6 5 5 0 0

TR-1040
2009

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
HOMESTEAD REBATE APPLICATION

(FOR TENANTS ONLY) 

1.		  Single
2.		  Married/CU couple, filing joint return
3. 		  Married/CU partner, filing separate return
4. 		  Head of household
5. 		  Qualifying widow(er)/survivng CU partner

6.	 If you were a New Jersey resident for ONLY 
part of the taxable year, give the period of  
New Jersey residency:

NJ RESIDENCY STATUS

To

From //

/ /

0 0 04 9

90

1

11 2 3

123 Elm St.	 Montclair

If you are ONLY filing Form 
TR-1040:

•	Mail your application in  
the envelope provided.

•	Affix the mailing label  
for PO Box 197. 
 

Under the penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this rebate application, including accompanying documents, and to the 
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete and that I occupied the rental property for which I am applying for 
the tenant homestead rebate as my principal residence on October 1, 2009. If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this declara-
tion is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

	 Your Signature	 Date

	 Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign)	 Date

DO NOT FILE FORM TR-1040 IF YOU WERE A HOMEOWNER ON OCTOBER 1, 2009 (See instructions)
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	 58,410	 58,410
	 1,215	 – 0 –	
	 57,195	 58,410
	 981	 1,011 
		  30

1,215

1,215

Schedule 1 – Property Tax Deduction/Credit
Review the eligibility requirements before completing Schedule 1. Part-year residents see instructions. 

Complete both columns of this schedule to find out whether the Property Tax Deduction or the Credit is better for you. If you claim a credit for taxes paid 
to other jurisdictions, complete only Lines 1 and 2 of this schedule. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet F.

1.	 Property Tax. Enter the property taxes you paid in 2009 from Line 36a of Form NJ-1040.	  
Property tax reimbursement (Senior Freeze) applicants do not enter the amount from Line 36a. See instructions.	 1._ _______________________

2.	 Property Tax Deduction. Homeowners enter appropriate amount from Chart A. Tenants enter appropriate  
amount from Chart B. If you were both a homeowner and a tenant during the year, see instructions.	 2._ _______________________

STOP if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions. Complete  
only Lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet F. See instructions.

	
		  Column A	 Column B
3.	 Taxable Income (Copy from Line 35 of Form NJ‑1040).................................................................... 	 3.	 3.

4.	 Property Tax Deduction (Copy from Line 2 of this schedule) ........................................................... 	 4.	 4.	

5.	 Taxable Income After Property Tax Deduction (Subtract Line 4 from Line 3) .................................. 	 5.	 5.

6.	 Tax you would pay on Line 5 amount (enter amount from Tax Table/Tax Rate Schedules) ............. 	 6.	 6.

7.	 Subtract Line 6, Column A from Line 6, Column B and enter the result here .............................................................................. 	 7.

8.	 Is the Line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same principal  
residence)?

	Yes.	 You receive a greater tax benefit by taking the Property Tax Deduction. Make the following entries on Form NJ‑1040. 
		  Form NJ-1040	 Enter amount from:
		  Line 36c	 Line 4, Column A
		  Line 38	 Line 5, Column A
		  Line 39	 Line 6, Column A
		  Line 48	 Make no entry

	No. 	 You receive a greater tax benefit from the Property Tax Credit. (Part-year residents, see instructions before answering “No.”) Make 
the following entries on Form NJ-1040.

		  Form NJ-1040	 Enter amount from:
		  Line 36c	 Make no entry
		  Line 38	 Line 5, Column B
		  Line 39	 Line 6, Column B

	 Line 48	 $50 ($25 if you and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same 	
	 principal residence). Part-year residents, see instructions.
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.

For More Information
By Phone
•	 Call the Division of Taxation’s Customer	

Service Center at 609-292-6400.
•	 Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) for 

Hard-of-Hearing Users: 1-800-286-6613  
(toll-free within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or	
609-984-7300. These numbers are accessible 
only from TTY devices. Submit a text mes-
sage on any tax matter and receive a reply 
through NJ Relay Services (711).

Forms and Publications
•	 Visit the Division of Taxation’s Web site:
		  Forms — www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/forms.shtml
		  Publications — www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml
•	 Call NJ TaxFax at 609-826-4500 from your fax machine’s phone.
•	 Call the Forms Request System at 1-800-323-4400 (within NJ, NY, PA, DE and MD) or 

609-826-4400 (Touch-tone phones only) to have printed forms or publications mailed to you.  
Note: Due to budgetary constraints, supplies are limited and only certain forms and publications 
can be ordered through this System.

In Writing
New Jersey Division of Taxation 
Information and Publications Branch 
PO Box 281 
Trenton, NJ 08695-0281

Online
•	 Division of Taxation Web site:	

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
•	 E-mail: nj.taxation@treas.state.nj.us
•	 Subscribe to NJ Tax E-News, the Division  

of Taxation’s online information service, at: 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml

	

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/forms.shtml
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
https://www.state.nj.us/treas/taxation/contactus_tyttaxa.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml



