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o Eligible senior/disabled homeowners and
tenants (of New Jersey) who are not required
to file a New Jersey return can use Form
NJ-1040-H to apply for a property tax credit
only.

o The percentage used to calculate the New
Jersey earned income tax credit (NJEITC) is
20% of the Federal benefit.

o New Jersey resident homeowners who re-
ceived a homestead benefit as a credit on
their property tax bill during 2011 see the
information on how to calculate the amount

of total property taxes paid for Line 36a, Form
NJ-1040, on page 13.

o Any reference in this bulletin to a spouse also

refers to a partner in a civil union (CU) recog-
nized under New Jersey law.
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Introduction

Part-year residents are subject to tax on income
received from all sources (both inside and out-
side New Jersey) during the portion of the year
that they were residents of the State. Likewise,
part-year nonresidents are subject to tax on any
income received from New Jersey sources while
they were nonresidents. This bulletin explains:

e Who is a part-year resident/part-year non-
resident for New Jersey income tax purposes,
as well as who is a full-year resident or
nonresident;

e What your New Jersey income tax respon-
sibilities are as a part-year resident/part-year
nonresident;

e How to complete a part-year New Jersey
income tax return; and

e When a part-year resident must file both resi-
dent and nonresident income tax returns with
New Jersey in the same tax year.

NOTE: This bulletin covers filing requirements
for individual residents and nonresidents
only. The examples illustrate how to pre-
pare part-year returns for tax year 2011.
Thus, the forms and amounts (tax rates,
income exclusions, etc.) shown in the
text and examples may not reflect cur-
rent information for other tax years.

For information on estates and trusts, see Tax
Topic Bulletin GIT-12, Estates and Trusts, and

the instructions for the New Jersey Gross Income
Tax Fiduciary Return (Form NJ-1041).
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Definitions

For New Jersey income tax purposes, your
residency status depends on where you were
domiciled and where you maintained a perma-
nent place of abode during the tax year. In
general, when you change your domicile to

(or from) this State during the year, you are a
resident of New Jersey for part of the year (part-
year resident) and a nonresident of New Jersey
for part of the year (part-year nonresident).
Your move is generally considered a change of
residency status (resident to nonresident or vice
versa) if at the time you moved, you intended
to permanently leave one home and establish

a new, fixed, and permanent home somewhere
else.

Full-Year Resident
You were a full-year New Jersey resident if:

e New Jersey was your domicile for the entire
year, and you did not satisfy all three condi-
tions for nonresident status (below); or

e New Jersey was not your domicile, but you
maintained a permanent place of abode in
New Jersey for the entire year and you spent
more than 183 days in New Jersey. (Members
of the U.S. Armed Forces stationed in New
Jersey and their spouses/CU partners who are
not domiciled in New Jersey are not residents
under this definition.)

Full-Year Nonresident
You were a full-year New Jersey nonresident if:

e New Jersey was not your domicile, and you
spent 183 days or less here; or

e New Jersey was not your domicile, you spent
more than 183 days here, but you did not
maintain a permanent home here; or

e New Jersey was your domicile and you met
all three of the following conditions for the
entire year:

1. You did not maintain a permanent place
of abode in New Jersey; and

2. You did maintain a permanent place of
abode outside of New Jersey; and

3. You did not spend more than 30 days in
New Jersey.

Part-Year Resident/Part-Year Nonresident

If, as a result of a change of your domicile, you
met the definition of New Jersey resident or
nonresident for only part of the year, you are a
resident for part of the year (part-year resident)
and a nonresident for the remainder of that year
(part-year nonresident).

Domicile is any place you regard as your per-
manent home—the place to which you intend to
return after a period of absence (e.g., vacation
abroad, business assignment, educational leave,
etc.). You have only one domicile, although you
may have more than one place to live. Once
established, your domicile continues until you
move to a new location with the intent to estab-
lish a fixed and permanent home there. Moving
to a new location, even for a long time, does not
change your domicile if you intend to remain
only for a limited time.

Domicile is based on many factors, including
your intent, where you register to vote, maintain
a driver’s license and vehicle registration, have
family ties, etc. You can have only one domicile
at a time. The burden of proof is upon the per-
son asserting a change of domicile to show that
the necessary intention existed to abandon his or
her domicile in one location and to establish a
fixed and permanent home in another.
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Permanent place of abode is a residence (a
building or structure where a person can live)
that you maintain permanently as your house-
hold, whether you own it or not. It usually
includes a residence your spouse/civil union
partner owns or leases.

A residence, whether inside or outside of New
Jersey, is not permanent if you maintain it only
during a temporary or limited period of time, no
matter how long, for the accomplishment of a
particular purpose (e.g., temporary job assign-
ment). Likewise, a home used only for vacations
is not a permanent place of abode.

If New Jersey is your domicile, you will be
considered a resident for New Jersey tax pur-
poses unless you meet all three conditions for
nonresident status. See Full-Year Nonresident
on page 2. Likewise, if New Jersey is not your
domicile, you will be considered a New Jersey
resident only if you maintain a permanent place
of abode in New Jersey and spend more than
183 days here.

Filing Requirements

Your filing status and gross income determine
whether you have to file a New Jersey income
tax return. Age is not a factor in determining
whether a person must file. Even minors (in-
cluding students) and senior citizens must file if
they meet the income filing requirements.

To find out whether or not you are required
to file a New Jersey income tax return, use
the “Who Must File” chart in either the resi-
dent (Form NJ-1040) or nonresident (Form
NJ-1040NR) return booklet.

Time Period Covered by Return
(Full-Year or Part-Year)

The period covered by your return will be
twelve months (full-year return) or less

than twelve months (part-year return).

Most taxpayers use a calendar year (Janu-

ary 1-December 31) to record their income.
Fiscal year filers use a different period (e.g.,
July—June). This bulletin assumes that you are a
calendar year filer.

New Jersey has two personal income tax returns
for individuals: Form NJ-1040 for residents and
Form NJ-1040NR for nonresidents. New Jersey
does not have separate tax returns for part-year
residents or part-year nonresidents. You must
use either Form NJ-1040 or Form NJ-1040NR
(or both) depending on your residency status
during the year, and show the income you re-
ceived during the period of time covered by the
return. Part-year residents use the same form as
full-year residents (Form NJ-1040) and indicate
the period of their New Jersey residency above
Line 1. The return should show only the income
received during that period. Likewise, part-year
nonresidents use the same form as full-year
nonresidents (Form NJ-1040NR), and indicate
above Line 1 the period of time they were New
Jersey residents.

If you file a part-year nonresident return, you
will also file a part-year resident return, unless
you had no income during the part of the year
you were a resident. You must allocate your
income between the resident and nonresident
returns as appropriate. That is, report the in-
come you received during the time you were a
resident on your part-year resident return, and
report the income you received during the part
of the year you were a nonresident on your part-
year nonresident return.
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Examples

1.

Mary Smith was a New Jersey resident from
January 1 through December 31. She files

a “full-year” resident return which shows
income received during the twelve-month
period January—December.

Harry and Louise Evans were New Jersey
residents from May 1 to December 31. They
must file a “part-year” resident return and
report the income they received during their
period of residency (May—December).

NOTE: If they had income from New Jer-
sey sources between January 1 and
April 30, the period when their
residency status was “nonresident,”
they must file a New Jersey part-year
nonresident return too. See Part-Year
Nonresidents on page 6.

Jane Henderson was a full-year resident of
New York who worked in New Jersey from
July through November. She files a “full-
year” nonresident return because she was

a nonresident for the entire year. Her New
Jersey nonresident return will show the
income she received during the period she
was a nonresident i.e., January—December.

Adam Crenshaw worked in New Jersey for
the entire year. For three months of the year
he was a New Jersey resident and for the re-
maining nine months, a Delaware resident.
Adam must file two New Jersey income

tax returns: (1) a “part-year” resident return
which shows the income he received during
the three months he was a New Jersey resi-
dent and (2) a “part-year” nonresident return
which shows his income during the period
he was a nonresident of New Jersey.

Residency Status and Income
Full-Year Residents—

You must file a full-year New Jersey resident
income tax return if you were a New Jersey
resident for the entire year and your gross
income for the entire year was more than
$20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or
married/CU partner, filing separate return.

You are not required to file a full-year New
Jersey resident income tax return if you were
a New Jersey resident for the entire year and
your gross income for the entire year was
$20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if filing status
is single or married/CU partner, filing sepa-
rate return).

NOTE: If you are a full-year resident and your

income is below the amount at which
you would be required to file a tax re-
turn, you must file Form NJ-1040 (or

file electronically using NJ Webfile or
approved vendor software) to claim a re-
fund of income tax withheld or estimated
payments made. You must also file a
return to receive a New Jersey earned in-
come tax credit even if you have no tax
liability to New Jersey.

Part-Year Residents—
e You must file a part-year New Jersey resident

income tax return if you were a New Jersey
resident for part of the year and your gross in-
come from all sources for the entire year was
more than $20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is
single or married/CU partner, filing separate
return) and you received any income (whether
from New Jersey sources or not) during

the part of the year you were a New Jersey
resident.
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You are subject to tax on the income shown
on your part-year resident return if your gross
income for the entire year was more than
$20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or
married/CU partner, filing separate return),
even if the income you reported on your part-
year return for the period of New Jersey resi-
dency was $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if
filing status is single or married/CU partner,
filing separate return).

No New Jersey income tax is due if the in-
come you received during the entire year
was $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if fil-
ing status is single or married/CU partner,
filing separate return). If your gross income
was $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if filing
status is single or married/CU partner, fil-

ing separate return), enclose a copy of your
Federal income tax return when you file your
part-year New Jersey return. If you did not
file a Federal return, enclose a statement with
your New Jersey return certifying that your
income for the entire year was $20,000 or less
($10,000 or less if filing status is single or
married/CU partner, filing separate return).

NOTE: When you are a part-year New Jersey

resident, you are a nonresident for the
remainder of that year. See the filing
requirements for Part-Year Nonresidents
on page 6.

Examples

1.

During 2011, Jane Hanson, single, was a
resident of California for ten months and a
New Jersey resident for two months. Her
income as a California resident totaled
$23,000, and the income she received during
the two months she was a New Jersey resi-
dent was $2,900. Jane is subject to tax on

the $2,900 she received as a part-year New
Jersey resident because her income for the
entire year was more than $10,000.

Martha Gibson, single, was a New Jersey
resident from January through September
2011, when she moved to Florida and be-
came a resident there. Her income as a New
Jersey resident totaled $5,800 and her in-
come while a Florida resident was $600.
Martha is not required to file a New Jersey
part-year resident return, and she owes no
New Jersey income tax on the $5,800 she
received as a part-year New Jersey resident
because her income for the entire year was
$10,000 or less. However, Martha must file
a return to claim any refund of New Jersey
income tax that was either withheld or re-
mitted through estimated payments. When
she files her 2011 New Jersey return, Martha
must enclose a copy of her Federal income
tax return or, if no Federal return is filed, a
statement certifying that her income for the
year was $10,000 or less.

Full-Year Nonresidents—
o You must file a full-year New Jersey nonresi-

dent income tax return if you were not a New
Jersey resident for any part of the year and
your gross income for the entire year from all
sources (both inside and outside New Jersey)
was more than $20,000 ($10,000 if filing
status is single or married/CU partner, filing
separate return) and you received any amount
of income from New Jersey sources during
the year.

You are not required to file a full-year non-
resident return if you were a nonresident for
the entire year and your gross income from all
sources (both inside and outside New Jersey)
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was $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less if filing
status is single or married/CU partner, filing
separate return).

NOTE: If you are a full-year nonresident and
your income is below the amount at
which you would be required to file a tax
return, you must file Form NJ-1040NR
to claim a refund of income tax withheld
or estimated payments made.

Part-Year Nonresidents—

If you were a New Jersey resident for part of the
year, you were a nonresident for the remainder
of that year. File part-year resident and/or non-
resident returns as follows:

o You must file both a part-year resident return
and a part-year nonresident return if your
gross income from all sources for the entire
year was more than $20,000 ($10,000 if filing
status is single or married/CU partner, filing
separate return) and you received income
(whether from New Jersey sources or not)
during the part of the year you were a resident
and you received any amount of income from
New Jersey sources during the part of the
year you were a nonresident.

File only a part-year resident return if you
received income (whether from New Jersey
sources or not) during the part of the year you
were a resident, but you had no income from
New Jersey sources during the part of the
year you were a nonresident. See Part-Year
Residents on page 4.

o You must file only a part-year nonresident
income tax return if your gross income from
all sources for the entire year was more than
$20,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or
married/CU partner, filing separate return)

and you had income from New Jersey sources
during the part of the year you were a non-
resident and you had no income during the
part of the year you were a resident.

No New Jersey income tax is due if the in-
come you received from all sources during
the entire year was $20,000 or less ($10,000
or less if filing status is single or married/CU
partner, filing separate return). If your gross
income was $20,000 or less ($10,000 or less
if filing status is single or married/CU partner,
filing separate return) and you are filing a
return to claim a refund of income tax with-
held or estimated payments made, or you are
eligible for a New Jersey earned income tax
credit or other credit, enclose a copy of your
Federal income tax return when you file your
part-year New Jersey return. If you did not
file a Federal return, enclose a statement with
your New Jersey return certifying that your
income for the entire year was $20,000 or less
($10,000 or less if filing status is single or
married/CU partner, filing separate return).

o You need not file either a resident or a non-
resident return if you received no income
during the part of the year you were a resi-
dent, and no income from New Jersey
sources during the part of the year you were a
nonresident.

Filing Status Considerations
Spouse/Civil Union Partner With
Different Residency Status

In general, you must use the same filing status
on your New Jersey return as you do for Federal
income tax purposes. If you do not file a Federal
return, but you are filing a New Jersey return,
use the same filing status that you would have
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used if you had filed a Federal return, unless you
are a partner in a civil union. For more informa-
tion see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-4, Filing Status.

If a married couple files a joint Federal income
tax return, they must also file a joint New Jersey
income tax return. If spouses file separate Fed-
eral returns, separate State returns must also be
filed. However, if you are a civil union couple,
your filing status for New Jersey will not match
your Federal filing status for the year.

o One spouse/civil union partner New Jersey
resident, other spouse/civil union partner
nonresident for entire year. If during the
entire taxable year one spouse/civil union
partner was a resident and the other a non-
resident, separate New Jersey returns may be
filed (the resident files a resident return and
the nonresident files a nonresident return),
even if the couple files a joint Federal return.
They compute income and exemptions as if
Federal married, filing separate returns had
been filed. The spouses/civil union partners
have the option of filing a joint return as resi-
dents, in which case their joint income (from
both inside and outside New Jersey) would be
taxed as if both were residents.

o Married/civil union couples, both nonresi-
dents, only one has income from New Jersey
sources. If both spouses/civil union partners
were nonresidents of New Jersey during the
entire taxable year and only one earned, re-
ceived, or acquired income from New Jersey
sources, the one who had income from New
Jersey sources may file a separate New Jer-
sey return, even if a joint Federal return was
filed. The one with income from New Jersey
sources computes income and exemptions as
if a Federal married, filing separate return had

been filed. The married/civil union couple has
the option of filing a joint return, in which
case, their joint income must be shown on the
nonresident return. For more information on
completing the nonresident return, see
instructions for Form NJ-1040NR.

Remember: A nonresident return must be filed
if you received any amount of income from New
Jersey sources as a nonresident, and your in-
come from all sources (both inside and outside
New Jersey) for the entire year was more than
820,000 ($10,000 if filing status is single or
married/CU partner, filing separate return).

How Residents and

Nonresidents Are Taxed
Residents. New Jersey residents are subject to
tax on their income from all sources, whether
the income is from inside or outside of New
Jersey. As a part-year New Jersey resident you
must report on your resident return all the in-
come you received during the period of time
you were a New Jersey resident, whether in the
form of money, goods, property, benefits, or ser-
vices, unless specifically excluded by law. Mar-
ried/civil union couples filing jointly must report
the income of both spouses/civil union partners.

The following are some examples of income
you must report if earned or received while you
were a resident of New Jersey: wages, fees, or
commissions earned in New Jersey or elsewhere
(including a foreign country); interest received
on a bank account whether located in or out of
New Jersey; gain from the sale of property both
in and out of New Jersey; net gambling win-
nings, including New Jersey lottery winnings
from prize amounts exceeding $10,000; net
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profits from business, regardless of where the
business is located; etc.

Remember: When completing your part-year
resident return, report only the income you
received during the time period covered by your
resident return.

Part-year residents must prorate all exemptions,
deductions, and credits, as well as the pension
and other retirement income exclusions, to re-
flect the period covered by their return. For
example, a full-year New Jersey resident is en-
titled to a $1,000 personal exemption; whereas a
resident for six months is entitled to a personal
exemption of only $500. See Completing a Part-
Year Resident Return on page 9.

For more information on completing the resi-
dent return, see instructions for Form NJ-1040.

Nonresidents. For nonresidents, New Jersey in-
come tax liability is based on the percentage of
their total income that comes from New Jersey.

The income section of the New Jersey nonresi-
dent return has two columns—Column A, in-
come from everywhere and Column B, income
from New Jersey sources. In the first column,
report your income from all sources (both inside
and outside New Jersey) as if you were a resi-
dent, and in the second column, list only income
that was derived from New Jersey sources.
Pennsylvania residents see page 19.

In accordance with Federal legislation (Service-
members Civil Relief Act, P.L.. No. 108-189)
nonresident servicepersons are not required to
include their military pay in either their “income
from everywhere” (Column A) or “income from

New Jersey Sources” (Column B) on the New
Jersey nonresident income tax return.

In addition, beginning with tax year 2009, Fed-
eral legislation (Military Spouses Residency
Relief Act, P.L. 111-97) allows a military ser-
vice member’s nonmilitary spouse/civil union
partner who meets certain requirements to keep
a tax domicile while moving from state to state.
Under the Act, a qualified nonmilitary spouse/
civil union partner is considered a nonresident
and 1s not subject to New Jersey gross income
tax on income (wages) earned from services
performed in New Jersey. A nonresident civilian
spouse/civil union partner is, however, subject
to tax on all other types of income earned from
New Jersey sources.

For more information, see Tax Topic Bulletin
GIT-7, Military Personnel.

Remember: When completing your part-year
nonresident return, report in each column only
the income you received during the time period
covered by your nonresident return.

As a nonresident, your tax is computed on your
income from all sources as if you were a New
Jersey resident, and then prorated according to
the ratio that your New Jersey income bears to
your income from both inside and outside New
Jersey. In other words, your final New Jersey
income tax liability is based on the percentage
of your income that comes from New Jersey.

For more information on completing the non-
resident return, see instructions for Form
NJ-1040NR.
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COMPLETING A PART-YEAR RESIDENT RETURN

Important Points:
¢ Enter dates of your New Jersey residency above Line 1.
e Report income, withholdings, and payments for period of New Jersey residency only.
e Prorate exemptions, deductions, exclusions, and credits based on residency period.
¢ If you also complete a part-year nonresident return, allocate your income, withholdings,
and payments between the two returns as appropriate.
If you were a New Jersey resident for
NJ RESIDENCY ONLY part of the taxable year, give the MM DID / Y'Y MM / DD / Y|Y
STATUS period of New Jersey residency: From To
1. NJ Residency Status. Show the beginning counts as a month of residence. For exam-
and ending dates of your residency in New ple, if you were a New Jersey resident from
Jersey during the year. If you were a resident January 27, 2011, to July 21, 2011, you were
for 15 days or more of a month, that month a resident for six months.
14. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (Enclose W-2) 14
Be sure to use State wages from Box 16 of your W-2(s). See instructions................. 4 )
15a. Taxable interest income (See instructions) (Enclose Federal Schedule B if over $1,500) 15a , ,
15b. Tax-exempt interest income (See instructions).............. 15b , ,
(Enclose Schedule) DO NOT include on Line 15a
16
16, DIVIAENAS w.vvttiieiieie ettt ettt et e e e ses s e seses e s e s ssesesesesesesesessh e e e s eses et et eseseseseseseen ’ ’
17
17. Net profits from business (Enclose copy of Federal Schedule C, Form 1040)............ ’ ’
18
18. Net gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule B, Line 4)....................... ’ ’
19. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA withdrawls (See instructions).............c.cocooeinnnnnn 19 y y
20. Distributive Share of Partnership Income (See instructions) (Enclose Schedule)....... 20 , y
21. Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (See instructions) (Enclose Schedule)... 2 y y
. . . . 22
22. Net gain or income from rents, royalties, patents & copyrights ...........cccccoeriiiiennene y ;
(Schedule C, Line 3)
23. Net Gambling Winnings (See inStruCtions) ..........c.coiiiiiiiiieiiie e 23 ’ y
24. Alimony and separate maintenance payments received ..............ccoceviiieieieneeienne 24 , y
25. Other (Enclose Schedule) (See instructions).............ccccooviiiiiiiiiciiiiici e 25 ,
2. Income. Complete Lines 14-25. Enter the of income during your period of residency in

total amount you received in each category

New Jersey (dates shown above Line 1).
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26. Total Income (Add Lines 14, 15a, and 16 through 25)...........cccooceiiiiiiiiiienieeeecee

26

27a. Pension Exclusion (See iNStruCtioNS) .........c.ooiiiiiiiiiiiiierie e

27a

27b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See worksheet and instructions)..............c........

27b

27c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27b) .........ccceviiiieiiiiiicncieeee

28. New Jersey Gross Income (Subtract Line 27c from Line 26)..........ccccoovveveviiincenncns
See instructions.

27c

28

3. Pension and Other Retirement Income
Exclusion.
(a) Pension Exclusion (Line 27a). The pen-
sion exclusion is only available to taxpay-
ers who had total income for the entire
year of $100,000 or less before subtracting
any pension exclusion. If you were a New
Jersey resident for only part of the taxable
year, you must use your total income for
the entire year to determine whether or not
you qualify for the pension exclusion. If
you qualify, prorate the pension exclusion
amount by the number of months you were
a New Jersey resident by using the formula
below. For this calculation 15 days or more
is a month. Use the prorated pension exclu-
sion amount on Line 27a.

NOTE: When you and your spouse/civil
union partner file a joint return and
only one of you is 62 or older or dis-
abled, you may claim the full amount
of the prorated exclusion. However,
only the income of the one who is
age 62 or older or disabled may be
excluded.

(b) Other Retirement Income Exclusion
(Line 27b). 1f you (and/or your spouse/civil
union partner if filing jointly) were 62 years
of age or older on the last day of the tax year,
you may qualify to exclude other income

on Line 27b. There are two parts to the total
exclusion: Part I, the unclaimed portion of
your prorated pension exclusion, and Part II,
a special exclusion for taxpayers who are

PRORATING THE PENSION EXCLUSION:

Total Pension Exclusion Amount x Months of NJ Residence

= Prorated Pension Exclusion Amount

12

Example

A 65-year-old, single taxpayer who was a New
Jersey resident for 4 months of the 2011 tax year
prorates the pension exclusion amount like this:

$15,000 x % = $5,000

10
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unable to receive Social Security or Railroad
Retirement benefits. Do not complete Work-
sheet D in the NJ-1040 instruction booklet
to calculate the total exclusion amount you
are eligible to claim. Instead, calculate your
total exclusion as follows:

Part I. Total the earned income (wages, net
profits from business, partnership income,
and S corporation income) you received for
the entire year. If your earned income for the
entire year was $3,000 or less and you did
not use your entire prorated pension exclu-
sion at Line 27a, you may be able to use the
unclaimed pension exclusion at Line 27b
provided total income for the entire year be-
fore subtracting any pension exclusion was
$100,000 or less.

Part I1. If you are unable to receive Social
Security or Railroad Retirement benefits, but
would have been eligible for benefits had
you fully participated in either program, you
may also be eligible for an additional exclu-
sion, whether or not you used all of your
prorated pension exclusion on Line 27a.

NOTE: When you and your spouse/civil
union partner file a joint return and
only one of you is 62 or older or dis-
abled, you may claim the full amount
of the prorated exclusion. However,
only the income of the one who is
age 62 or older or disabled may be
excluded.

More Information. For more detailed
information on pension, annuity, and IRA
withdrawal income and the New Jersey
income exclusions, see Tax Topic Bulletins
GIT-1, Pensions and Annuities, and GIT-2,
IRA Withdrawals. For information on Roth
IRAs, see Technical Bulletin TB-44, Roth
IRAs. For information on calculating your
partnership and S corporation income, see
Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-9P, Income From
Partnerships, and GIT-9S, Income From

S Corporations.

Rev. 12/07 (Web Update 12/11)
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Bulletin GIT-6

29. Total Exemption Amount (See instructions to calculate amount)............cooeiiiieiiiiiienesee e 29
(Part-Year Residents see instructions)

30. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and inStruCtioNS) ..........c.ooiiiiiiiiiiiiie e 30 ,

31. Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments ............ccoeeiiiiiiiiiiiiie e 31

32. Qualified Conservation CoNtrbULION ............oiiiiiiiiie e 32 ,

33. Health Enterprise Zone DedUCHON. ..............cooiiiiiiic e 33

34. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 29, 30, 31, 32, and 33) ......cccceiieiiiiieeiiieenieeiecnee e 34

35. Taxable Income (Subtract Line 34 from Line 28) .........c.coiiiiiiiiieiiiisieeiee e 35
If zero or less, MAKE NO ENTRY. ’ )

4. Exemptions. You must prorate the exemp- From Line 12a x $1,000 =
tion allowance amount based upon the FromLine 12b____ x $1,500 =
number of months you were a New Jersey Total Exemption Amount
residept. For this cglculation, '1 5 days or Once you have calculated your Total Ex-
more is a month. First determine the full emption Amount, use the formula below and
value of your exemptions as follows: then enter the prorated exemption amount on

Line 29.
PRORATING THE EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE:
Total Exemption Amount x Months of NJ Residence Prorated Exemption Amount
12

5. Deductions. and separate maintenance payments paid for
(a) Medical Expenses (Line 30). You may the period of time you were a New Jersey
deduct certain medical expenses for which resident. Child support payments are not
you were not reimbursed by insurance or deductible.
any other plan, qualified Archer medical ' ‘ o
savings account (MSA) contributions, and (c)‘ Qualified Conservation Contribution
health insurance costs of the self-employed. (Line 32). You may deduct the amount of
Complete Worksheet E in the resident return any qualified conservation contribution you
instruction booklet (Form NJ-1040) to cal- made during th§ period of time you were a
culate your deduction for medical expenses. New Jersey resident.
Incluge Ogly t'}(lio(sle e'xperlllses th'atdwefre. 1n- (d) Health Enterprise Zone (Line 33). Eli-
curred an II:(III Jurlng the %erlo of time gible taxpayers engaged in providing “pri-
you were a New Jersey resident. mary care” medical and/or dental services
(b) Alimony and Separate Maintenance Pay- at a qualified practice located in or within
ments (Line 31). You may deduct alimony five miles of a designated Health Enterprise
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Part-Year Residents

Zone (HEZ) may qualify for a deduction.
For information on eligibility requirements
and how to calculate the HEZ deduction, see
Technical Bulletin TB-56, Health Enterprise

NOTE: New Jersey does not allow deduc-
tions for adjustments taken on the
Federal return such as employee
business expenses or IRA and Keogh

Zones. Plan contributions.
36a. Total Property Taxes Paid (See instructions)................ 36a
) b
36b. Fillin oval if you were a New Jersey homeowner on October 1, 2011.............. [
. . ) 36¢c
36¢. Property Tax Deduction (See iNStrUCHIONS) ...........oiiiiiiiiii e y
Worksheet F — Property Tax Deduction/Credit
Review the eligibility requirements before completing Worksheet F. Part-year residents see instructions.
Complete both columns of this worksheet to find out whether the Property Tax Deduction or the Credit is better for you. If you claim a credit for taxes paid
to other jurisdictions, complete only lines 1 and 2 of this worksheet. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet H.
1. Property Tax. Enter the property taxes you paid in 2011 from Line 36a of Form NJ-1040.
Property tax reimbursement (Senior Freeze) applicants do not enter the amount from Line 36a. See instructions. 1.
2. Property Tax Deduction. Enter the amount from line 1 of this worksheet or $10,000, whichever is less.
(Lesser of line 1 or $5,000 if you and your spouse/CU partner file separate returns but maintain the same
principal residence.) Also enter this amount on line 4, column A below. See instructions. 2.
STOP if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions. Complete
only lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet H. See instructions.
Column A Column B
3. Taxable Income (Copy from Line 35 of FOrm NJ-1040) .........ccccctiiiiiiiiiiiiiie e 3. 3.
4. Property Tax Deduction (Copy from line 2 of this worksheet) 4 4. -0-
5. Taxable Income After Property Tax Deduction (Subtract line 4 from line 3) .........ccccocccvviiiiicnnns 5. 5.
6. Tax you would pay on line 5 amount (From Tax Table/Tax Rate Schedules) ............cccccoeienennne. 6. 6.
7. Subtract line 6, column A from line 6, column B and enter the reSult NEre ...............cccooiviiiieiiiie e 7.
8. Is the line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same principal
residence)?
< Yes.  You receive a greater tax benefit by taking the Property Tax Deduction. Make the following entries on Form NJ-1040.
Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 36¢ Line 4, column A
Line 37 Line 5, column A
Lines 38 and 39 Line 6, column A
Line 48 Make no entry
<> No. You receive a greater tax benefit from the Property Tax Credit. (Part-year residents, see instructions before answering “No.”) Make
the following entries on Form NJ-1040.
Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 36¢ Make no entry
Line 37 Line 5, column B
Lines 38 and 39 Line 6, column B
Line 48 $50 ($25ifyou and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same
principal residence). Part-year residents, see instructions.
(Keep for your records)
6. Total Property Taxes Paid (Line 36a). Jersey. Homeowners who received a home-

Enter the property taxes, or rent constitut-
ing property taxes (18% of rent), due and
paid on your qualified principal residence
during your period of residency in New

stead benefit as a credit on their May 2011
property tax bill must add the amount of
that credit to the amount of property taxes
paid to the municipality on their principal

Rev. 12/07 (Web Update 12/11)
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residence for 2011 and enter the total on
Line 36a.

Homeowner on October 1, 2011

(Line 36b). If you owned and occupied a
home in New Jersey that was your principal
residence on October 1, 2011, and property
taxes were paid on that dwelling, fill in the
oval on this line. Do not fill in the oval if, on
October 1, 2011, you were a tenant or you
were not a homeowner.

Property Tax Deduction/Credit (Line 36¢/
Line 48). A part-year resident may be
eligible to claim a deduction (up to 100%

of property taxes due and paid or up to
$10,000, whichever is less) or refundable
credit (up to $50) for property taxes, or rent
constituting property taxes (18% of rent),
due and paid during their period of residency.

If you do not claim credit for taxes paid to
another jurisdiction, complete Worksheet F
to determine the amount of your property
tax deduction and whether you should

elect to take the property tax deduction on
Line 36¢, Form NJ-1040 or the property tax
credit on Line 48. If you claim credit for
taxes paid to another jurisdiction, first com-
plete lines 1 and 2 of Worksheet F and then
complete Schedule A and Worksheet H to

make this determination. Enter on line 1 of
Worksheet F the amount of property taxes or
18% of rent due and paid during your period
of residency from Line 36a, Form NJ-1040.
Complete the balance of the worksheet ac-
cording to the instructions. The minimum
benefit for a full-year resident is $50 ($25

if you and your spouse/civil union partner
file separate returns but occupy the same
principal residence). You must prorate this
minimum benefit based on the number of
months you were a New Jersey resident. For
this calculation, 15 days or more is a month.
After prorating the minimum benefit, an-
swer the question at line 8 of Worksheet F
based on this prorated amount rather than the
minimum benefit amount. You will then be
able to determine whether you will receive a
greater tax benefit by taking the property tax
deduction or claiming the prorated credit.

More Information. For information on
claiming credit for taxes paid to another ju-
risdiction, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-3W,
Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions
(Wage Income), and GIT-3B, Credit for
Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions (Business/
Nonwage Income). For more detailed infor-
mation on the property tax deduction/credit,
see instructions for Form NJ-1040.

41. Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 40 from Line 39)........cccccoiiiiiiiiiiniiiieceeee
42. Sheltered Workshop TaxX Credit ..........ccooiiirieniiieeseseese e

43. Balance of Tax after Credit (Subtract Line 42 from Line 41)........c.ccccccveinnnne.

41

42

43

7. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit. Enter
the amount of your Sheltered Workshop
Tax Credit from Part IV, line 12 of Form

GIT-317. Allocate the total amount of the
credit between your part-year resident and
part-year nonresident returns if appropriate.

14
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Part-Year Residents

47.

48.

49.

50.

51.

52.

53.

54.

Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099)

Property Tax Credit (See inStructions)............ccoceeiiiiiiiniiieeeeeeeeee e

New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2010 tax return.................

New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (See instructions)............c.ccccccvenene
Fill in Fill in oval if you had the IRS figure your Federal Earned Income Credit
only one  Fj|l in oval if you are a CU couple claiming the NJ Earned Income Tax Credit

EXCESS New Jersey UI/WF/SWF Withheld (See instructions) (Enclose Form NJ-2450) ........ y

EXCESS New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (See instructions)
(Enclose FOrm NJ-2450) ..........cccceiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiici s

EXCESS New Jersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld (See instructions)
(ENclose FOrM NJ-2450) ........cccoiiiiiiieiiieee et

Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 47 through 53).........cccoccveiiniiiiiniieens

................. 47

........................ 49

48

50

51

52

53

54

Tax Withheld/Property Tax Credit/
Estimated Payments.

(a) Line 47. Enter the amount of New Jersey
income tax withheld from wages you earned
or other payments you received while you
were a New Jersey resident. If your employer
combined wages you earned as a resident
and wages you earned as a nonresident on
the same W-2, and you earned some of those
wages from New Jersey while a nonresi-
dent, include here only tax withheld during
the period you were a resident. Allocate the
New Jersey income tax withheld between
your part-year resident and part-year non-
resident returns. If you did not earn any of
the wages on the W-2 while a nonresident,
report the total New Jersey tax withheld on
the W-2.

(b) Line 48. If you are claiming a property
tax credit rather than a property tax deduc-
tion, enter the amount of your prorated
credit.

(c) Line 49. Enter the amount of estimated
payments to New Jersey for the period of
time you were a resident. If you made esti-
mated payments both as a resident and as a
nonresident, enter on your part-year resident
return the payment(s) made to meet the tax
liability for your period of New Jersey resi-
dency. Enter on the part-year nonresident
return the payment(s) made to satisfy your
tax liability during the part of the year you
were a nonresident. Also enter amounts, if
any, paid to qualify for an extension of time
to file.

Rev. 12/07 (Web Update 12/11)
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Worksheet G

Earned Income Tax Credit
. Enter the amount of your Federal earned income credit from your 2011 Federal Form 1040 or Form 1040A...........ccceiiniiniennnns 1.
Fill in the first oval below Line 50 if you asked the IRS to calculate your Federal earned income credit.

Civil union couples, see instructions.

. Enter 20% of amount on line 1 here and on Line 50, Form NJ-1040. Part-year residents, see instructions. ..................... 2.

(Keep for your records)

9. New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit

(Line 50). Most residents who are eligible
and file for a Federal earned income credit
can also receive a New Jersey credit in the
amount equal to 20% of the Federal ben-
efit. Complete Worksheet G to calculate the
amount for Line 50, Form NJ-1040. How-
ever, you must prorate your credit based on
the number of months you were a New Jer-
sey resident. For this calculation 15 days or
more is a month.

You must file Form NJ-1040 to receive a
New Jersey earned income tax credit, even if
you are not required to file a return because
your gross income is below the minimum
income threshold (see Part-Year Residents on

page 4).

NOTE: If your filing status is married/CU
partner, filing separate return, you
may not claim a New Jersey earned
income tax credit.

If you asked the Internal Revenue Service to
calculate your Federal earned income credit,
be sure to fill in the first oval below Line 50,

Form NJ-1040. (Civil union couples should
not fill in this oval even if one or both of
you are eligible for a Federal credit and
asked the IRS to calculate the amount. See
the instructions for Civil Union Couples
below.) The IRS will provide information to
the Division of Taxation in October 2012.
Please allow at least 4—6 weeks for the Divi-
sion to process the information and issue a
check for your New Jersey earned income
tax credit.

Civil Union Couples. 1f you file a joint New
Jersey return and wish to determine if you
are eligible for the NJEITC, prepare a Fed-
eral return as if you were married, filing
jointly and calculate the amount of the Fed-
eral earned income credit, if any, you would
have been eligible to receive on a joint Fed-
eral return. Once you have determined the
amount of the Federal credit you would have
received as joint filers, you must use that
amount on Worksheet G to calculate your
New Jersey credit. Be sure to fill in only the
second oval below Line 50 indicating you
are a civil union couple.

PRORATING THE NEW JERSEY EARNED INCOME TAX CREDIT:
Months of NJ Residence

Total New Jersey EITC Amount X

= Prorated New Jersey EITC Amount

12
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Part-Year Residents

NJ-1040-H STATE OF NEW JERSEY
2011 PROPERTY TAX CREDIT APPLICATION
Single NJ RESIDENCY STATUS
Married/CU Couple, filing joint return ) M| M / D||D / YI|Y
6. If you were a New Jersey resident for From

Married/CU Partner, filing separate return ONLY part of the taxable year, give the

Heacli o.f hou.sehold B period of New Jersey residency: T M M / D D / Y Y
Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner

Do Not File This Property Tax Credit Application If You:

* Have Filed Or Will File a 2011 New Jersey Resident Return, Form NJ-1040; Or

*  Were a New Jersey Homeowner on October 1, 2011; Or

*  Were Under Age 65 and NOT Blind or Disabled on December 31, 2011; Or

* Had New Jersey Gross Income for 2011 of More Than $20,000 (More Than $10,000
if Filing Status is Single or Married/CU Partner, Filing Separate Return).

00000

7a. On December 31, 2011, were you age 65 or older? Yourself S Yes < No
Spouse/CU Partner S Yes < No
7b. On December 31, 2011, were you blind or disabled? Yourself S Yes < No

Spouse/CU Partner S Yes < No
If you (and your spouse/CU partner) did not meet the age or disability requirements, do not file Form NJ-1040-H. See instructions.

8. On October 1, 2011, did you own and occupy a home in New Jersey as your principal residence? S Yes < No
If “Yes,” STOP. Do not file Form NJ-1040-H. See instructions.

9. Indicate whether at any time during 2011 you either owned a home or rented a dwelling in New Jersey as your principal residence on which
property taxes (or rent) were paid. Fill in the appropriate oval. If you were both a homeowner and a tenant during the year, fill in “Both.”
<> Homeowner < Tenant < Both < Neither (Fill in only one)

If “‘Homeowner” or “Tenant” or “Both,” you may be asked to provide proof of property taxes or rent paid on your principal residence.
If you were neither a homeowner nor a tenant, STOP. You are not eligible for a property tax credit. Do not file Form NJ-1040-H.

10. Enter your NEW JERSEY GROSS INCOME ........ccooveimiiiirieenieieneiecsieneneeas 10

H bl

Enter the amount of income you would have reported on Line 28, Form NJ-1040 if you had filed the tax return. See instructions.

10. Property Tax Credit Application Only. e Have not filed and will not file a 2011
Certain eligible senior/disabled homeowners New Jersey resident income tax return,
and tenants can use the Property Tax Credit and
Application (Form NJ-1040-H) instead of ¢ Did not own your principal residence in

Form NJ-1040 to apply for the property tax New Jersey on October 1, 2011.
credit only.

Do not file Form NJ-1040-H if you owned
Use Form NJ-1040-H only if you: and occupied your principal residence in
e Were 65 years of age or older, blind, or New Jersey on October 1, 2011. Your prop-
disabled on December 31, 2011, and erty tax credit will automatically be included
with your homestead benefit, provided you

e Had gross income from everywhere BN
file a homestead benefit application.

for the entire year of $20,000 or less
($10,000 or less if filing status is single
or married/CU partner, filing separate re-
turn), and

New Jersey Gross Income (Line 10). When
completing Line 10, Form NJ-1040-H you
must include your gross income for the entire
year from all sources (both inside and outside
New Jersey).
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COMPLETING A PART-YEAR NONRESIDENT RETURN

Important Points:

o Enter the dates you were a New Jersey resident above Line 1.

e Report income, withholdings, and payments for period of New Jersey nonresidency only.

e When reporting your income, fill out both Column A and Column B completely.

e Prorate exemptions, deductions, exclusions, and credits based on nonresidency period.

¢ If you also complete a part-year resident return, allocate your income, withholdings, and payments
between the part-year resident and part-year nonresident returns as appropriate.

Your Social Security Number Last Name, First Name and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each—Enter spouse’s/CU partner’s last name ONLY if different) 5 \abel
ace label
| | on form if all
Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route) _prepnm_ed
Social Security Number Insf(z:r(;?raélcotn
I .
Otherwise,
+You must enter your SSN(s) above #| City, Town, Post Office State Zip Code print or
State of Residency (outside NJ) typedyogé hame
and aadress.
NJ RESIDENCY  |f you were a New Jersey resident for ANY part of the From To
STATUS taxable year, give the period of New Jersey residency. MONTH DAY  YEAR MONTH DAY YEAR
Filing Status 6. Regular X Yourself [ Spouse/ [ Domestic
(Check only ONE box) CU Partner Partner
1. O Single )E( 7. Age 65 or Over [ Yourself [] Spouse/CU Partner
2. O Married/CU Couple, filing joint return ﬁ 8. Blind or Disabled [ Yourself [ Spouse/CU Partner
. - P
3. O Married/CU Partner, filing separate return -:- 9. Number of your qualified dependent children
(o]
Name and SSN of Spouse/CU Partner N 10. Number of other dependents
4. O Head of household S111. Dependents attending colleges (See instructions)
5. O Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner | [12. Totals (For Line 12a—Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 11)
(For Line 12b—Add Line 9 and Line 10)

1. Residency Status. NOTE:

(a) Complete the “State of Residency (out-

side NJ)” box below your social security

number(s) at the top of the return. Indicate

the place outside New Jersey where you

lived for the period of nonresidency. If you

lived at more than one location, give the

most recent.

(b) Show the beginning and ending dates of
your residency in New Jersey during the tax
year.

When you file a part-year nonresident
return, you are likely to be required

to file a part-year resident return, too.
(See page 6.) The part-year resident re-
turn covers the period of New Jersey
residency shown above Line 1, and

the part-year nonresident return cov-

ers the portion of the year you were not
a resident of New Jersey. If you were

a nonresident for 15 days or more of a
month, that month counts as a month of
nonresidence. For example, if you were a
New Jersey resident from September 27,
2011, to December 31, 2011, you were a
nonresident for nine months. See Exemp-
tions on page 21.

18
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(Column A) (Column B)
AMOUNT OF GROSS INCOME AMOUNT FROM
(EVERYWHERE) NEW JERSEY SOURCES
14. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation ............c.ccccevvveeinineennnen. 14 14
15. Interest...... 15 15
16. Dividends 16 16
17. Net profits from business (Enclose copy of Federal Schedule C, Form 1040).......... 17 17
18. Net gains or income from disposition of property (From Line 59) .........ccccccoeeevnnnne 18 18
19. Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights (From Line 62)........ 19 19
20. Net gambling winnings (See INStruCtions) ...........cceiiiiiiiiiiii e 20 20
21. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals..............ccccccoiiiiiiiiiiiiie, 21 _
22. Distributive Share of Partnership INCOmMe.............coooiiiiiiiiiici e 22 22
23. Net pro rata share of S Corporation INCOME ..........cooiiiiiiiiii i 23 23
24. Alimony and separate maintenance payments received.............cocoeviiiiiieniieeiieesenen. 24 24
25. Other—State Natureand Source s 25 25
26. TOTAL INCOME (Add Lines 14 through 25) .........cccevviiiiiesiinriniere e 26 26
27a. Pension Exclusion (See INStruCtions)...........c.uiiiiiiiiiiiii et 27a
27b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and Instructions) ................... 27b 27b
27c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Lin€ 27b)..........cccoiveiieiieciieiniieecen 27c 27c
28. Gross Income (Subtract Line 27c¢ from Ling 26)..........ccoeiiiiiiieeniiiiiniieiie e 28 28
2. Income. Complete both Columns A and B, Column A, and “0” should be entered in

Lines 14-26. Include only income you re- Column B.

ceived for the part of the year you were a
nonresident. Report in Column A income
from all sources (both inside and outside
New Jersey) as if you were a resident; in
Column B, show your income from New
Jersey sources. Follow the instructions in
the nonresident return instruction booklet
for completing each line. For every entry in
Column A, there should be an entry on the
corresponding line in Column B. If none of 3.
the income in Column A is from New Jersey
sources, enter “0” in Column B. In certain
circumstances, the amount in Column B can
exceed the amount in Column A. No entry is
needed on Line 21, Column B since pension,
annuity, and IRA withdrawal income is not
taxable to nonresidents.

Pennsylvania residents are not subject

to income tax on wages they earn in New
Jersey. Therefore, if you are a Pennsylvania
resident, you must report all your wages
(including wages earned in New Jersey) in

This exception applies only to wages.
Pennsylvania residents are subject to New
Jersey tax on other types of income from
New Jersey sources. For example, winnings
from a casino or racetrack located in New
Jersey or net profits from a business located
in New Jersey must be reported in both Col-
umn A and Column B.

Pension and Other Retirement Income
Exclusion.
(a) Pension Exclusion (Line 27a).

Column A: If you were a New Jersey non-
resident for only part of the taxable year
and had total income from all sources for
the entire year of $100,000 or less before
subtracting any pension exclusion, you
may qualify for a pension exclusion if you
meet the other eligibility requirements. If
you qualify, prorate the exclusion by the
number of months you were a New Jersey
nonresident. For this calculation 15 days or
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more is a month. See page 10 for a descrip-
tion of how to prorate the pension exclusion
amount.

NOTE: When you and your spouse/civil
union partner file a joint return and
only one of you is 62 or older or dis-
abled, you may claim the full amount
of the prorated exclusion. However,
only the income of the one who is
age 62 or older or disabled may be
excluded.

Column B: No entry is necessary in Col-
umn B since pension, annuity, and IRA
withdrawal income is not taxable to
nonresidents.

(b) Other Retirement Income Exclusion
(Line 27b, Columns A and B). 1f you (and/
or your spouse/civil union partner if filing
jointly) were 62 years of age or older on the
last day of the tax year, you may qualify to
exclude other income on Line 27b. There
are two parts to the total exclusion: Part I,
the unclaimed portion of your prorated pen-
sion exclusion, and Part I, a special exclu-
sion for taxpayers who are unable to receive
Social Security or Railroad Retirement ben-
efits. Do not complete Worksheet D in the
NJ-1040NR instruction booklet to calculate
the total exclusion amount you are eligible
to claim. Instead, calculate your total exclu-
sion as follows:

Part I. Total the earned income (wages,

net profits from business, partnership in-
come, and S corporation income) you re-
ceived from all sources for the entire year.
If your earned income for the entire year
was $3,000 or less and you did not use your

entire prorated pension exclusion at Line
27a, you may be able to use the unclaimed
pension exclusion at Line 27b provided total
income from all sources for the entire year
before subtracting any pension exclusion
was $100,000 or less.

Part II. If you are unable to receive Social
Security or Railroad Retirement benefits, but
would have been eligible for benefits had
you fully participated in either program, you
may also be eligible for an additional exclu-
sion, whether or not you used all of your
prorated pension exclusion at Line 27a.

NOTE: When you and your spouse/civil
union partner file a joint return and
only one of you is 62 or older or dis-
abled, you may claim the full amount
of the prorated exclusion. However,
only the income of the one who is
age 62 or older or disabled may be
excluded.

More Information. For information on cal-
culating your partnership and S corporation
income, see Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-9P,
Income From Partnerships, and GIT-9S,
Income From S Corporations. For more
information on pension, annuity, and IRA
withdrawal income and the New Jersey in-
come exclusions, see Tax Topic Bulletins
GIT-1, Pensions and Annuities, and GIT-2,
IRA Withdrawals.
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Part-Year Residents

30. Total Exemption Amount (See inStructions)..........c.ccoeveeiiiiniiiiieniecceeecee 30
31. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and Instructions)............ccccooceeiiinennenn. 31
32. Alimony and separate maintenance payments ...........cccoccceeiviiiiniiee e 32
33. Qualified Conservation Contribution............ccccoeiiiiiiiiie e 33
34. Health Enterprise Zone DeducCtion ..........cc.uuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiee e 34
35. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 30, 31, 32, 33, and 34)............. 35
36. TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 35 from Line 29, Column A)...................... 36
4. Exemptions. You must prorate the exemp- FromLine 12a___ x $1,000 =
tion allowance amount based upon the From Line 12b x $1,500 =

number of months you were a New Jersey
nonresident. For this calculation 15 days
or more is a month. First determine the full
value of your exemptions as follows:

Total Exemption Amount

Once you have calculated your Total Ex-
emption Amount, use the formula below and
then enter the prorated exemption amount on
Line 30.

PRORATING THE EXEMPTION ALLOWAN

Total Exemption Amount X

Months of NJ Nonresidence

CE:

= Prorated Exemption Amount

12

Deductions.

(a) Medical Expenses (Line 31). You may
deduct certain medical expenses for which
you were not reimbursed by insurance or
any other plan, qualified Archer medical
savings account (MSA) contributions, and
health insurance costs of the self-employed.
Complete Worksheet E in the nonresident re-
turn instruction booklet (Form NJ-1040NR)
to calculate your deduction for medical
expenses. Include only those expenses that
were incurred and paid during the period of
time you were a New Jersey nonresident.

(b) Alimony and Separate Maintenance
Payments (Line 32). You may deduct ali-
mony and separate maintenance payments
paid for the period of time you were a New
Jersey nonresident. Child support payments
are not deductible.

(c) Qualified Conservation Contribution
(Line 33). You may deduct the amount of
any qualified conservation contribution you
made during the period of time you were a
New Jersey nonresident.

(d) Health Enterprise Zone (Line 34). Eli-
gible taxpayers engaged in providing “pri-
mary care” medical and/or dental services at
a qualified practice located in or within five
miles of a designated Health Enterprise Zone
(HEZ) may qualify for a deduction. For infor-
mation on eligibility requirements and how
to calculate the HEZ deduction, see Technical
Bulletin TB-56, Health Enterprise Zones.

NOTE: New Jersey does not allow deduc-
tions for adjustments taken on the
Federal return such as employee
business expenses or IRA and Keogh
Plan contributions.
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39. NEW JERSEY TAX
(Multiply amount from Line 37 X Y% 0N LN 38)....ciiiiiiiiiiiee e 39
40. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit (Enclose Form GIT-317. See instructions).........ccccoeeeeveeiiieieiieeeeieenn. 40
41. Balance of Tax After Credit (Subtract Line 40 from Lin€ 39) ........ooiiuiiiiiiiiiiiie e 41
6. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit. Enter GIT-317. Allocate the total amount of the

the amount of your Sheltered Workshop
Tax Credit from Part IV, line 12 of Form

credit between your part-year resident and
part-year nonresident returns if appropriate.

44,
45,
46.
47.

48.

49.

50.

Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099)
New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2010 tax return

Tax paid on your behalf by Partnership(s)

EXCESS NJ UI/WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450.

See INSrUCIONS)....coiiiiiiiiii e

EXCESS NJ Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450.

See INSrUCIONS)....coiiiiiiiiie e

EXCESS NJ Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450.

See INSrUCIONS)....coiiiiiiiiie e
Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 44 through 49)

44
.................. 45 <€ Also enter on Line 45:

............................ 46 ¢ Payments made in
connection with sale of
NJ real property

............................ 47 « Payments by S
corporation for nonresi-

............................ 48 dent Shareholder

............................ 49

..................................... ENTER TOTAL -» | 50 | |

7. Tax Withheld/Estimated Payments. (b) Line 45. Enter the amount of estimated
(a) Line 44. Enter the amount of New Jer- payments to New Jersey for the period of
sey income tax withheld from wages you time you were a nonresident. If you made
earned or other payments you received while estimated payments both as a resident and as
you were a New Jersey nonresident. If your a nonresident, enter on your part-year resi-
employer combined wages you earned as a dent return the payment(s) made to meet the
resident and wages you earned as a nonresi- tax liability for your period of New Jersey
dent on the same W-2, and you earned some residency. Enter on the part-year nonresident
of those wages from New Jersey while a return the payment(s) made to satisfy your
nonresident, include here only tax withheld tax liability during the part of the year you
during the period you were a nonresident. were a nonresident. Also enter amounts, if
Allocate the New Jersey income tax with- any, paid to qualify for an extension of time
held between your part-year resident and to file.
part-year nonresident returns if you earned
wages from New Jersey as a resident and as
a nonresident.
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ALLOCATION OF WAGE AND SALARY

PART Il INCOME EARNED PARTLY INSIDE (See instructions if compensation depends entirely on volume of business
AND OUTSIDE NEW JERSEY transacted or if other basis of allocation is used.)

63. Amount reported on Line 14 in Column A required to be allocated............cccooiiriiiiiiniiiiii i 63

64. Total days iN taXaDIE YA ......... e it ne s 64

65. Deduct nonworking days (Sundays, Saturdays, holidays, sick leave, vacation, etc.) ............cccceeiciieiiiennne 65

66. Total days worked in taxable year (Subtract Line 65 from Ling 64)...........ccccoiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieiin i 66

67. Deduct days worked outSIdE NEW JEISEY .........cceiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii ettt st st snne e 67

68. Days worked in New Jersey (Subtract Line 67 from LiNe 66) ..........cccueeiieiiiaiuiiiiiieiie e siee e 68

Line 68 = ;
69. ALLOCATION FORMULA ELine 66; . (Enter amount from Line 63)  (Salary earned inside N.J.) ggrillijndeeml’scaorln.o;)nt
8. Allocation of Wage and Salary Income salary income derived from New Jersey. For

Earned Partly Inside and Outside New purposes of completing this section, “total
Jersey. Complete this section only when days” on Line 64 means the number of days
you have wage/salary income earned partly covered by your part-year return. Complete
inside and partly outside New Jersey and you Lines 63—69 accordingly.

cannot readily determine the amount of wage/
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Example A

Part-Year Resident/Part-Year Nonresident

John Perry, age 35, and Joan Perry, age 32,
are married and file a joint Federal return.
They have two dependents: their one-year-old
son and Mr. Perry’s 67-year-old mother.

The family moved to New Jersey from New
York City on April 1. They rented an apart-
ment at 123 Elm St., Montclair, NJ 07042
from April 1 to December 31 for $750 a
month.

Husband worked for the same employer
in New Jersey all year; wages for the year,
$72,000.

Wife’s wages for part-time job from
September to December, $3,000.

Couple received $6,400 in interest on their
joint accounts and $480 in dividends for the
year.

On March 1, they sold 200 shares of jointly
held stock in ABC Corp. for $3,500, pur-
chased the previous year for $2,800.

They won $75 in the New York Lottery on
February 3 and $62 in the New Jersey Lottery
on July 29.

New Jersey income tax withheld: $1,983 for
Mr. Perry and $52 for Mrs. Perry.

Four estimated tax payments of $50 each
made to New Jersey on April 15, June 15,
September 15, and January 15 of the
following year.

24
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Part-Year Residents

NJ-1040NR 2011 STATE OF NEW JERSEY INCOME TAX—NONRESIDENT RETURN
Your Social Security Number Last Name, First Name and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each—Enter spouse’s/CU partner’s last name ONLY if different) b abel
ace labe

999 | 34 | 0722 | Perry, John and Joan lace e
Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route) IE;C?IFHI:;IE)(?‘I
Social Seourity Number 123 Elm St. is correct.

999 | 01 | 3664 Otherwise,
#You must gnter your SSN(S) above +[ City, Town, Post Office State Zip Code type‘;rci)r:ror:ame
S"\T;:/fVRerg)eF&y (outside NJ) Montclair NJ 07042 and address.
NJ RESIDENCY  |f you were a New Jersey resident for ANY part of the From 04-01-11 To 12-31-11
STATUS taxable year, give the period of New Jersey residency. MONTH DAY  YEAR MONTH DAY YEAR

Filing Status . Regular X Yourself Spouse/ [ Domestic

1. O Single
2. X]Married/CU Couple, filing joint return
3. [OMarried/CU Partner, filing separate return

(Check only ONE box)

© ® N o

Name and SSN of Spouse/CU Partner
4. [JHead of household 11. Dependents attending colleges (See instructions)

10. Number of other dependents

NWZO——Tv=EmMXxXm

CU Partner Partner

. Age 65 or Over [0 Yourself [ Spouse/CU Partner
Blind or Disabled [J Yourself [ Spouse/CU Partner

. Number of your qualified dependent children

1

5. [JQualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner 12. Totals (For Line 12a—Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 11) 12al 2
(For Line 12b—Add Line 9 and Line 10)
13. Dependent’s Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial Dependent’s Social Security Number Birth Year
E . Perry, Jake 999 , 52 , 0222 2010
L
g v Perry, Mary 999 , 36 , 8819 1944
o
g c / /
d / /
GUBERNATORIAL Do you wish to designate $1 of your taxes for this fund? YeSI NO [Note: If you check the “Yes” box(es), it will
ELECTIONS FUND If joint return, does your spouse/CU partner wish to designate $1? Yes No|notincrease your tax or reduce your refund.
(Column A) (Column B)
AMOUNT OF GROSS AMOUNT FROM
INCOME (EVERYWHERE) | NEW JERSEY SOURCES
14. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation.................ccccoeeririeeenerieeneseseeenns 14 18000 |00 | 14 18000 (00
15, INEEIEST .ottt ettt sttt aea et R b sttt s ettt ettt n et r e ee et et n e nnenene 15 1600 |00 15 0
16, DIVIENAS .ottt bbbtttk ettt et 16 120 |00 | 16 0
17. Net profits from business (Enclose copy of Federal Schedule C, Form 1040) . 17 17
18. Net gains or income from disposition of property (From Lin€ 59) ...........cccevvvveeriririeereriereennn. 18 700 | 00| 18 0
19. Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights (From Line 62)..................... 19 19
20. Net gambling winnings (S€e INStrUCHIONS) ..........cveuiiiieriiieieiee ettt 20 75 100( 20 0
21. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals ... 21 _
22. Distributive Share of Partnership INCOME..........c..cooiiiiiiiiieiiiceeeeeee e 22 22
23. Net pro rata share of S Corporation INCOME ..........cceeeiiiiiieiiiiiiecie e 23 23
24. Alimony and separate maintenance payments received.............c.cccooiiiiiiiiiciiiicccs 24 24
25. Other—State Natureand Source 25 25
26. TOTAL INCOME (Add Lines 14 through 25) ........ceiiieeeiiieeieireeeereseie s 26 20495 [ 00| 26 18000 |00
27a. Pension EXCIUSION (S€€ INSTrUCHIONS).......cuiiiiiiiieiiiieie e 27a
27b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and Instructions) ...........cccccceeeniieenene. 27b 27b)
27c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27D)..........ccooiiiiiiiiiiiiiicc e 27c 27¢c
28. Gross Income (Subtract Line 27¢ from Line 26) ..........coviieiiiiiiiiiiiceeie e 28 20495 | 00| 28 18000 |00
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Name(s) as shown on Form NJ-1040NR Your Social Security Number
Perry, John and Joan 999 | 34 | 0722
29. Gross Income (From page 1, Line 28).... 29 20495 |00 | 29 18000 | 00
30. Total Exemption Amount (See instructions) 30 1250 | 00

31. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and INStrUCtIONS)...........ccceeveirieeierieisereeeeeeeeie s 31
32. Alimony and separate maintenance payments .
33. Qualified Conservation Contribution ...............ccccooiiiiiiiiii e
34. Health Enterprise Zone DedUCHON ............ciiiiiiiiiiieii e

35. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 30, 31, 32, 33, and 34) .......ccccceevreenvnennenns 35 1250 | 00
36. TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 35 from Line 29, Column A).........ccceiiierienneenieeniecanens 36 192451 00
37. Tax on amount on Line 36 (From Tax TabI€) ..........cceceririeieriririereirisieeisieie et neenenes 37 269 | 00
38. Income Percentage B. (Line29) _ 87.83 %
A. (Line 29)

39. NEW JERSEY TAX

(Multiply amount from Line 37 __ 269.00 X 87.83 % from LN 38.......cocueueiirereieierieceieeeiie et 39 236/ 00
40. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit (Enclose Form GIT-317. See iNStruCtIONS) ..........coouiiiiiiiiiiie i 40

41. Balance of Tax After Credit (Subtract Line 40 from Line 39).... R 236! 00
42. Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax. Check box O if Form NJ-2210 is encloSed. ....o..ovweooveoreeeeeereeeeeeeeeenns 42
43. Total Tax and Penalty (Add Line 41 and LiNe 42)........cocciiiiiiiiiiiiiii et 43 236| 00
44. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099). 44 496 | 00
45.  New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2010 tax return ...........ccoceeeniiiencniinnns 45 50 | 00 | <€ Also enter on Line 45:
46. Tax paid on your behalf by Partnership(S).......ocovevivereiereeeeeeseeeeesese e eeestee s eseeseeenes 46 * Payments made in
. \ connection with sale of
47. EXCESS NJ UI/WF/SWF Withheld (From enclosed Form NJ-2450. See Instructions)........ [ 47 NJ real property
48. EXCESS NJ Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. See Instructions)........ 48 * Payments by S
49. EXCESS NJ Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. See Instructions). | 49 ?:;%Zr:ttlsf?af?erhg?gér
50. Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 44 through 49).............ccccoiiiiiiiiiiiii e ENTER TOTAL —| 50 546 |00
51. If Line 50 is LESS THAN Line 43 enter AMOUNT YOU OWE . 51
52. If Line 50 is MORE THAN Line 43 enter OVERPAYMENT 52 310 [ 00
53. Deductions from Overpayment on Line 52 which you elect to credit to:
(A) Your 2012 Tax 53A NOTE:
(B) N.J. Endangered Wildlife Fund O $10, O $20, 538 AN ENTRY ON LINE
(C) N.J. Children’s Trust Fund 0 $10, O $20, 53C 53A,B,C,D, E, F, ORG
(D) N.J. Vietnam Veterans’ Memorial Fund 5 $10, O $20, [0 Other OF 53D ;VIIEI'.:I[JEEDUCE YOUR TAX
(E) N.J. Breast Cancer Research Fund 00 $10, O $20, O Other |CONTRIBUTION( [z
(©) Designated Contbution [ D oper 0520, DOter S0
) ) er 53@]
54. Total Deductions From Overpayment (Add Lines 53A, B, C, D, E, F,and G) ........cccceviviieniiiniienieeeee ENTER TOTAL —*| 54
55. REFUND (Amount to be sent to you. Subtract Line 54 from Line 52)............cccciiiiiiiiiiiiiiiciiciccc e 55 310 |00

Pay amount on Line 51 in full.
Write social security number(s)
on check or money order and
make payable to:

STATE OF NEW JERSEY-TGI
Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center
PO Box 244

Trenton, NJ 08646-0244

You may also pay by e-check or
credit card.

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements,
and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this
declaration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

—- —-
Your signature Date Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign.)
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PART |

NET GAINS OR INCOME FROM
DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY

List the net gains or income, less net loss, derived from the sale, exchange, or other
disposition of property including real or personal whether tangible or intangible.

] o gl)qgf;s (c) Date sold (d) Gross sales @ g;ztd?gs(iteze(rst;?is (f) Gain or (loss)
(a) Kind of property and description (Mo.. day, yr) (Mo., day, yr.) price instructions) and (dless e)
expense of sale
56. 200 shs. ABC Corp. 2-15-10 3-1-11 3500 (00 2800 | 00 700| 00
57.  Capital GaiNS DIStIIDULION. ..ottt e sk e bt h e ek e e s R e bt et e bt s e e e et s bt e et e teabe e e e abeseeenne e 57
58.  Oher NEt GaINS ....c..cuiiiiiieiieti etk et bbb s e bt h et b e b e e b e eb e Sh ekt e b e b et e eb e e b e e b bt eb e b e b e b 58
59. Net Gains (Add Lines 56, 57, and 58) (Enter here and on Line 18) (If Loss, enter ZERO).........cccuvveeriririeenenieieeseaienenes 59 700 | 00
NET GAINS OR INCOME List the net gains or net income, less net loss, derived from or in the form of rents, royalties, pat-
PART Il FROM RENTS, ROYALTIES, ents, and copyrights as reported on your Federal Income Tax Return.
PATENTS AND COPYRIGHTS
) ¢ (b) Net Rental Income (c) Net Income (d) NetIncome From | (e) Net Income From
(a) Kind of property (Loss) From Royalties Patents Copyrights
60.
61. Totals (b) (c) (d) (e)
62. Net Income (Combine Columns b, ¢, d, and e) (Enter here and on Line 19) (If Loss, enter ZERO).... 62
N ATION CERR GE RS ALARG (See instructions if compensation depends entirely on volume of business transacted
PART Il INGERVE EARNCURSIRTLICEERE or if other basis of allocation is used.)
AND OUTSIDE NEW JERSEY ’
63.  Amount reported on Line 14 in Column A required to be allocated............cocuiiiiiiiiiiiiie e 63
64.  Total days iN tAXADIE YOI ..........i ittt e 64
65. Deduct nonworking days (Sundays, Saturdays, holidays, sick leave, vacation, etC.) .........cccccovniiiiiiiniiiiiicc e 65
66. Total days worked in taxable year (Subtract Line 65 from Line 64) ...........cccooiiiiiiiiii e 66
67. Deduct days WOrked OUESIAE NEW JEISEY ........ccuiiiiiiiiiiitieeiee ettt ettt sae ettt a e eab e st e e bt e se e enbeebeeanbeenaeeebeenneean 67
68. Days worked in New Jersey (Subtract Ling 67 from LiNE B6) ..........ccueieeiiiiiieieieeiesie ettt eneen 68
69. ALLOCATION FORMULA (Line 68) - (Include this amount on
(Line 66) (Enter amount from Line 63) (Salary earned inside N.J.) Line 14, Col. B)
ALLOCATION OF BUSINESS ) . . . -
truct f other than F laB f allocati .
PART IV INCOME TO NEW JERSEY (See instructions if other than Formula Basis of allocation is used.)
BUSINESS ALLOCATION PERCENTAGE (From Schedule NJ-NR-A)
Enter below, the line number and amount of each item of business income reported in Column A which is required to be allocated
and multiply by allocation percentage to determine amount of income from New Jersey sources.
From Line No. $ X % =9
From Line No. $ X % =%
From Line No. $ X %=$
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NJ-1040 STATE OF NEW JERSEY
2011 INCOME TAX-RESIDENT RETURN
Your Social Security Number Last Name, First Name, and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each - Enter spouse/CU partner last name ONLY if different)

919]9|—-13]4 —|0|7|2|2| Perry, John and Joan

Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Social Security Number Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route)

olojoj-Jojr]-[3]6]6] 4| 123EmSt

County/Municipality Code (See Table) City, Town, Post Office State Zip Code
[0] Montclair NJ 07042

If you were a New Jersey resident for

NJ RESIDENCY ONLY part of the taxable year, give the

of4]/[o[1]/[1T1] =[1

21/[3]1]/[1]1

STATUS period of New Jersey residency: From
(Fill'in only one) Spouse/ Domestic [ | 2 | ENTER
6. Regular @ Yourself @® CU Partner < Partner NUMBERS

1. < single 7. Age65orOver < Yourself < Spouse/CU Partner K LERE
2. @@ Married/CU Couple, filing joint return 8. Blind or Disabled < Yourself <> Spouse/CU Partner 8
3. < Married/CU Partner, filing separate return N £ lif hil

Enter Spouse’s/CU Partner's Social Security 9 umber of your qualified dependent children ..............c.ccoooiiiiiiieninee 9 1

Number in the boxes provided above 10.  Number of other dependents ............cooieieiiiieiiii e 10 1
4. O Head of household 11. Dependents attending colleges (See instructions)................ 11

5. < Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner |12. Totals (For Line 12a - Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 11)
(For Line 12b - Add Lines 9 and 10)........cccccevveiennnne

12a 2 12b| |2|

13. Dependent’s Last Name, Dependent’s Social Security Number Birth Year
First Name, Middle Initial

Fill in oval if dependent does
not have health insurance
including NJ FamilyCare/
Medicaid, Medicare, private
or other (see instructions).

2 Perry, Jake [o]9f9] -[5]2]-[ol2]2]2] [2[0[1]0] o
»__Perry, Mary [9]9[9] -[3[6]-[8[8[1]9] [1[9[4]4] =
: LT D-Chf-tt iy LIl ] =
d LI -t hf-tr iy il S
GUBERNATORIAL Do you wish to designate $1 of your taxes for this fund? S Yes | © No | lemmouimrerver
ELECTIONS FUND + If joint return, does your spouse/CU partner wish to designate $1? < Yes | <= No | txorreduce yourrefund

Under the penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this income tax return, including accompanying schedules and state-
ments, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this
declaration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

S

Your Signature Date

S

Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

Pay amount on Line 55 in full.
Write social security number(s) on
check or money order and make
payable to:

STATE OF NEW JERSEY - TGI

Mail your check or money order with
your NJ-1040-V payment voucher
and your return to:

NJ Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center

PO Box 111

Trenton, NJ 08645-0111
IF REFUND:

NJ Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center

PO Box 555

Trenton, NJ 08647-0555
You may also pay by e-check or
credit card. For more information go
to: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation
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20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

27a.

27b.

27c.

28.
29.

30.

31.

32.

33.

34.

35.

36

QO

36b.

36¢.

37.

38.

NJ-1040 (2011) Page 2

Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (Enclose W-2)...........ccccccce.. 14 ’ S|7 ’ O 0 0 . O 0
Be sure to use State wages from Box 16 of your W-2(s). See instructions 15 0 0 O 0
a
. Taxable interest income (See instructions) (Enclose Federal Schedule B if over $1,500) ) 4 ) | .
. ) . . 15b
. Tax-exempt interest income (See iNStructions) .............ccoceeveiinceeiininciecenee y 1. ‘
(Enclose Schedule) DO NOT include on Line 15a 16 [ e |
DiIVIAENAS ... y y 3160 . 0]0
Net profits from business (Enclose copy of Federal Schedule C, Form 1040)................ 17 3 ,
Net gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule B, Line 4)...............c.ccce.. 18 ,l | | L
Pensions, Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals (See instructions)............ccccccovvvieiiiineeiiinns 19 i y
N . . . 20
Distributive Share of Partnership Income (See instructions) (Enclose Schedule)........... ’ ’ .
21
Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (See instructions) (Enclose Schedule)....... ’ ’
22
Net gain or income from rents, royalties, patents & copyrights (Schedule C, Line 3)....... y !
23
Net Gambling Winnings (S€e INSLrUCHONS) .........covrveveiiririeeirisieesesieeese e ’ 2
24
Alimony and separate maintenance payments received ................c.coociiiiiicin e d ’
25
Other (Enclose Schedule) (See iNStrUCHIONS)........iuveeeiuriieiiiieieiec e ’ ’ .
26
Total Income (Add Lines 14, 15a, and 16 through 25)..............ccceiiiiiieininiiiciseeeei ] 612 ) 1 610 . 0]0
Pension Exclusion (See instructions) ... =
. . ’ . 27b
Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See worksheet and instructions)....................
27c
Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27b) ........ccccooooieiiiiiiiiiiiicceccie L L1 1 I-L 1 |
, , - 28 | |6|2]|1|e|o]|[0]0
New Jersey Gross Income (Subtract Line 27c from Line 26) See instructions.............. J S N NN ) S ——
Total Exemption Amount (See instructions to calculate amount)..........cccccoveceiiniicennne 29 3 ol 715(0 ‘ 0f0
(Part-Year Residents see instructions) 30 1T 71 10 71 1
Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and instructions) ............cccccueeiieriiiiieniciiieceee, '
Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments ..........c.cccooiiiiiiiiiieiciceee e 31 ,
Qualified Conservation Contribution ............ccc.ccoiiiiiiiciii 32 ;
Health Enterprise Zone Deduction................ccoiiiiiiiiieci e 33 f
Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 29, 30, 31, 32, and 33) ........oevvvecrreevrveernn. 34 3 , 715101]10(0
Taxable Income (Subtract Line 34 from Line 28) If zero or less, MAKE NO ENTRY....... 35 ) S , 41110 . 010
. Total Property Taxes Paid (See instructions).................... 36a y 1 , S 0
Fill in oval if you were a New Jersey homeowner on October 1, 2011 ............... ()
Property Tax Deduction (See instructions) ... 36¢ ,
NEW JERSEY TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 36¢ from Line 35)
If zero or less, MAKE NO ENTRY .....ouiiiiiiii ittt svae e enaee s 37 y 5 8 y 4 1 O . 0 0
TaxX (FFOmM TAX TADIE) .......cveveveceeceeieciecee et 38 1 o111 0|0
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39. TAX (From LiNE 38, PAGE 2) ...ecuiiitiiiiiiiitieiieitt ettt bbbt b et 39 1 ol111 olo
40. Credit For Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions 40
Enter other jurisdiction code (See inStructions) ...........ccccoeviiieniiinienciens ’
41. Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 40 from Lin€ 39).......c.coiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeee e 41 ; 1 ) 0 1 1 O 0
42. Sheltered WOrKSNOP TaX CIEIL ...........ov.eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeseeeeeeeeeeseessesseeeeeseeeeeeesseeeeese e seeeeseesseseeesee e 42 , ,
43. Balance of Tax after Credit (Subtract Line 42 from Line 41)........c.cccceveurrrrieiininieneneeseeenenne 43 1 o111
) H
44. Use Tax Due on Out-of-State Purchases (See inStructions)............ccocueveeiiiieeeniiieie e 44 0 010
If no Use Tax, enter ZERO (0.00). 4 4
45. Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax. Fill in € if Form NJ-2210 is enclosed.............. 45 y )
46. Total Tax and Penalty (Add Lines 43, 44, and 45)..........ccccccoooooomooorooeeeeoseeeeeeeeeoeeeeessseessesssne 46 i 1] 17111]0(0
47. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099).................... 47 1 5 3 9 O 0
) )
48. Property Tax Credit (S€€ iNSIUCHONS) ......c.covevireiieiiieiieriitisiiee ettt st neabens 48| 3|7 510
49. New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2010 tax return .............ccceceiviiinieninenene. 49 ’ ’ 1 50 olo
50. New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (See instructions)
Fill in Fill in oval if you had the IRS figure your Federal Earned Income Credit [ 50 )
only one Fill in oval if you are a CU couple claiming the NJ Earned Income Tax Credit <>
51. EXCESS New Jersey UI/WF/SWF Withheld (See instructions) (Enclose Form NJ-2450).......... 51
)
52. EXCESS New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (See instructions)
(ENClOSE FOIM NU-2450)......cucueureiuceeecieueeieceeeeieusesteseeesseeessesesssssessaeesessasasssssasaeasssseaeseasseasssassnea 52
)
53. EXCESS New Jersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld (See instructions) 53
(ENCIOSE FOM NUJ-2450)...... .ottt ettt b et bt te bt b e abeaneeneabeeeee ,
54. Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 47 through 53) 54 , 11712([6]]|5]|0
55. If Line 54 is LESS THAN Line 46, enter AMOUNT YOU OWE.......ccooviiunieiniinienicineneieeseienneene 55
Fillin < if paying by e-check or credit card. ! !
If you owe tax, you may make a donation by entering an amount on Lines 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, and/or 63 and adding this to your payment amount.
56. If Line 54 is MORE THAN Line 46, enter OVERPAYMENT ............cooouriurreeenneessneessnesssnesenns 56 , J71115[]5]0
Deductions from Overpayment on Line 56 which you elect to credit to:
LY (o TV Al 2R - G SRR OPPINY 57 ) ) 2 0 0 0 O
58. N.J. Endangered Wildlife Fund..........ccccooeiiiinnininnne ] $10 [J $20 [ Other %8
ENTER
. . 59
59. N.J. Children’s Trust Fund To Prevent Child Abuse ......... $10 $20 Other
= = = AMOUNT
60. N.J. Vietnam Veterans’ Memorial Fund................cccco...... ] $10 [J $20 [ Other 60
OF
61. N.J. Breast Cancer Research Fund .................ccccoooe. 1 $10 [J $20 [ Other 61
CONTRIBUTION
62. U.S.S. New Jersey Educational Museum Fund ............... ] $10 [J $20 [ Other 62
63. Other Designated Contribution..............cccccccoviieiiiiiinnn. ] $10 [J $20 [ Other 63
See instructions
64 2
64. Total Deductions from Overpayment (Add Lines 57 through 63) .........ccccceeiieniiiiiieniceniecieeee, ’ ’ O O O 0
65
65. REFUND (Amount to be sent to you. Subtract Line 64 from Line 56)...........ccccceevvenieenieneennnen. ’ ) 5 1 5 5 0
SIGN YOUR RETURN ON PAGE 1
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Part-Year Residents

Worksheet F — Property Tax Deduction/Credit

Review the eligibility requirements before completing Worksheet F. Part-year residents see instructions.

Complete both columns of this worksheet to find out whether the Property Tax Deduction or the Credit is better for you. If you claim a credit for taxes paid
to other jurisdictions, complete only lines 1 and 2 of this worksheet. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet H.

1. Property Tax. Enter the property taxes you paid in 2011 from Line 36a of Form NJ-1040.

Property tax reimbursement (Senior Freeze) applicants do not enter the amount from Line 36a. See instructions. 1. 1,215
2. Property Tax Deduction. Enter the amount from line 1 of this worksheet or $10,000, whichever is less.

(Lesser of line 1 or $5,000 if you and your spouse/CU partner file separate returns but maintain the same 1215

principal residence.) Also enter this amount on line 4, column A below. See instructions. 2. !
STOP if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions. Complete
only lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet H. See instructions.

Column A Column B

3. Taxable Income (Copy from Line 35 of Form NJ-1040) ............cccouimmirimiiciec e 3. 58,410 3 58,410
4. Property Tax Deduction (Copy from line 2 of this worksheet) ............cccooeiiiiiiiiiii 4. 1,215 4 -0-
5. Taxable Income After Property Tax Deduction (Subtract line 4 from line 3) ..........ccccoooviiiiiiiinnnn. 5. 57,195 5. 58,410
6. Tax you would pay on line 5 amount (From Tax Table/Tax Rate Schedul€s) ............ccccoeuurierninennes 6. 981 6 1,011
7. Subtract line 6, column A from line 6, column B and enter the result REre ............ooovviiiii i 7. 30
8. Is the line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same principal

residence)?

< Yes. You receive a greater tax benefit by taking the Property Tax Deduction. Make the following entries on Form NJ-1040.

Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 36¢ Line 4, column A
Line 37 Line 5, column A
Lines 38 and 39 Line 6, column A
Line 48 Make no entry

<« No. You receive a greater tax benefit from the Property Tax Credit. (Part-year residents, see instructions before answering “No.”) Make
the following entries on Form NJ-1040.

Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:

Line 36¢ Make no entry

Line 37 Line 5, column B

Lines 38 and 39 Line 6, column B

Line 48 $50 ($25if you and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same

principal residence). Part-year residents, see instructions.
(Keep for your records)
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For More Information

By Phone Online

e C(Call the Division of Taxation’s Customer e Division of Taxation Web site:
Service Center at 609-292-6400. www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/

o Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) for e E-mail: nj.taxation@treas.state.nj.us
Hard-of-Hearing Users: 1-800-286-6613 e Subscribe to NJ Tax E-News, the Division
(toll-free within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or of Taxation’s online information service, at:
609-984-7300. These numbers are accessible www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml

only from TTY devices. Submit a text mes-
sage on any tax matter and receive a reply
through NJ Relay Services (711).

In Writing

New Jersey Division of Taxation
Technical Information Branch
PO Box 281

Trenton, NJ 08695-0281

Forms and Publications

« Visit the Division of Taxation’s Web site:
Forms — www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/forms.shtml
Publications — www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml
e Call NJ TaxFax at 609-826-4500 from your fax machine’s phone.
¢ (all the Forms Request System at 1-800-323-4400 (within NJ, NY, PA, DE and MD) or
609-826-4400 (Touch-tone phones only) to have printed forms or publications mailed to you.
Note: Due to budgetary constraints, supplies are limited and only certain forms and publications
can be ordered through this System.
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