
Installment Payment Plan (IPP) 
You are encouraged to make payment in full. If you are 
unable to do so, you may be eligible to initiate an Installment 
Payment Plan (IPP). However, any judgments will remain 
outstanding until paid in full. To be enrolled in an IPP, you 
must first remit the installment amount listed on the front of 
your billing notice by the due date. The remaining surcharge 
balance will be billed in monthly installments. 

Change of address 
Surcharge notices are mailed to the last address on record 
with the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). You must always 
maintain a current mailing address with the MVC. If you 
move, the law requires that you notify the MVC within seven 
days. Changing your address with the U.S. Postal Service 
does not change it with the MVC. You must contact the MVC 
directly. 

On the web: www.njmvc.gov 
By mail:   MVC Change of Address 

 Database Corrections Unit 
 P.O. Box 141 
 Trenton, NJ 08666-0141 

You are responsible to pay all surcharges even if you are 
not currently living in New Jersey. Please remember that 
you must always keep your address current with the MVC.

Judgments 
To satisfy a judgment debt, all payments must be made in 
certified funds (U.S. Postal money order, attorney trust 
account check or certified bank check). All uncertified 
payments (personal check, credit card) will delay the filing 
of a Warrant of Satisfaction by two months. 

Dishonored checks 
All checks returned for insufficient funds or reversed credit 
card charges will be subject to a $25.00 dishonored 
payment fee.

Billing questions 
If you have any questions about your surcharges, please 
write to: 

NJ Surcharge Violation Billing Office 
P.O. Box 1502 
Moorestown, NJ 08057-9704 

Please include a daytime phone number and your New 
Jersey driver license number. All surcharge offenses are 
billed immediately when they are posted to your motor 
vehicle record. The billing office does not have the authority 
to reduce your surcharge assessment or change any court 
reported convictions. 

Contact the billing office by 
phone 

Toll-free / Teléfono gratis 

(844) 424-6829

Customer service representatives are available to take your 
calls from 8 AM to 5 PM, Monday through Friday. This 
number is only for surcharge related questions. 

The automated telephone system provides general 
surcharge information 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 

You may find out: 

• How much you owe
• When your last payment was made

Credit/debit card payments (MasterCard, VISA or 
Discover) are accepted. Please have your surcharge bill or 
driver license and your credit/debit card handy when you 
call. 

More information 

If your driver license was suspended/in a suspended status 
before January 1, 2021, please call (609) 292-7500 ext. 
5024, for information on how to restore your driving 
privilege.
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New Jersey law* requires collection of surcharges from 
motorists whose driving records include certain motor vehicle 
offenses. These surcharges are in addition to any court-
imposed fines and penalties or any premiums that may be 
assessed by insurance companies. 

Who is responsible? 
You are responsible for paying your surcharges even if you 
move out of New Jersey. The surcharges apply regardless of 
your current license, registration or insurance status. All 
drivers, whether licensed by the State of  New Jersey or 
another jurisdiction, are responsible for surcharges.

Do not ignore the notices. Even if you file for bankruptcy, you 
may still be responsible for your surcharges.

When are they due? 
The due date for surcharge payments is printed on the bill 
that you receive. Failure to pay the surcharges in full or to 
begin an IPP by the due date may result in the entry of a 
judgment, which will include additional costs, interest and 
fees, in addition to other collection action permitted by the 
law.

If your driver license was suspended/in a suspended 
status before January 1, 2021, you are still responsible 
for all outstanding surcharges and payment of the $100 
driver license restoration fee before your driving privilege 
can be restored.

If you need to set up an IPP to pay your surcharges, please 
call (844) 424-6829.

*(N.J.S.A. 17:29A-35) 

What violations are subject to 
surcharges? 

Alcohol - drug related offenses 

These surcharges are billed each year for three years: 

• In-state operating under the influence of liquor or
drugs (DUI)

• Out-of-state DUI
• Refusal to submit to chemical test

The surcharge for operating under the influence or refusal, 
whether it occurs in New Jersey or another state, is $1,000 a 
year for three years for both a first and a second violation. 

A surcharge of $1,500 for three years is imposed for a third 
or subsequent violation that occurs within three years of the 
first violation. 

If you are convicted of both drunk driving and refusal 
resulting from the same arrest, you will only receive one 
surcharge. 

Point violations 
Surcharges are assessed against any driver who, in the 
preceding three-year period, has accumulated six or more 
points. The accumulation of points shall be calculated as of 
the date the point violation is posted to the driver history 
record. The surcharge for six points if $150, plus $25 for 
each additional point. 

Points reductions are issued for each 12-consecutive 
month period of violation-free or suspension-free driving, or 
completion of an approved license or driver improvement or 
defensive driving course. These points reductions are not 
considered when assessing a driver's three-year record for 
surcharge purposes.

Other actions subject to 
surcharges** 
These surcharges are billed each year for three years: 

Unlicensed driver $100 a year 

No insurance - MOPED $100 a year 
Driving while suspended, 
court or MVC reported $250 a year 

No liability insurance on 
motor vehicle $250 a year 

How to pay your surcharges 

On the web 

Go to NJSVS - Pay By Web (state.nj.us) 

You may pay by: 
• MasterCard, VISA, Discover or e-Check

By telephone 

Call (844) 424-6829 (toll free) 

You may pay by: 
• MasterCard, VISA, Discover or e-Check

By mail 

You must do all of the following: 
• Send the bottom portion of your notice
•

•

Write your NJ driver license number on your
check or money order
Mail to:
New Jersey Surcharge Violation System
P.O. Box 1502
Moorestown, NJ 08057-9704

You may pay by:
• Check
• Money order
• Western Union

Payments must be made payable to “NJ SVS”
DO NOT MAIL CASH!

In person 

You may pay by: 

• MasterCard, VISA, Discover or American Express
• Cash
• Check
• Money order

* *Regulations at N.J.A.C. 13:19-13.1, et seq. 

Surcharge payment may only be made at NJMVC 
Regional Service Centers.

The $100 driver license restoration fee may be paid at 
any MVC Regional Service Centers.
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