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Next-of-Kin Registry 
FAQs 

What is the Next-of-Kin Registry (Sara’s Law)? 

• The Next-of-Kin Registry, established by a statute known as Sara’s Law, is a statewide,
web- based system that allows individuals ages 14 and older to voluntarily submit and
maintain emergency contact information through the New Jersey Motor Vehicle
Commission (MVC).

• The Next-of-Kin Registry will be used by law enforcement officials to locate designated
emergency contacts in the event that an individual is involved in a motor vehicle crash
that renders him or her unable to communicate.

• Information contained on the Next-of-Kin Registry is not a public record.

How is the Next-of-Kin Registry used? 

• The non-public information in the registry will be used exclusively by law enforcement
officials to locate individuals who have been designated as emergency contacts by registry
users.

• In the event that a motor vehicle crash results in serious bodily injury, death or incapacitation
of a driver or passenger, the law enforcement official shall attempt to locate an emergency
contact by accessing the Next-of-Kin Registry.

Who is eligible to use the Next-of Kin Registry? 

• Any individual who legally possesses New Jersey-issued driver’s license, probationary license,
learner’s permit, non-driver identification card or any other MVC-issued permit or license
authorizing an individual to operate a motor vehicle or vessel (i.e., boat) may utilize the
registry.

• Additionally, individuals as young as 14 years old may utilize the Next-of-Kin Registry to
submit emergency contacts if they apply for a non-driver identification card.

How can I participate in the Next-of Kin Registry? 
• Eligible individuals may register (or update) Next-of-Kin information:

o Online - please click here
or
o By mail - print out the form, complete the information and mail it to:

NJMVC       
Driver Management Unit – Data Entry 
P.O. Box 134 
Trenton, NJ 08666-0134 

• Emergency contact information (name/phone number) for up to two (2) individuals may
be entered into the registry.

• It is the sole responsibility of all individuals who utilize the registry to ensure the accuracy of
the information they submit and to keep it up-to-date. Emergency contact information may
be updated at any time.

https://emvc.state.nj.us/mvc/emvc_nok.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/pdf/drivertopics/Next-of-Kin Registry.pdf


Last Updated: 04/13/2016 

I am not old enough to obtain a driver’s license or permit. May I still use the Next-of-Kin Registry? 

• Individuals as young as 14 years-of-age who want to utilize the registry but who do not
possess a driver’s license or permit may apply for a non-driver identification card.

• Anyone under 17 years of age must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian to obtain
the non-driver identification card.

• To obtain a non-driver identification card, the applicant must present 6 Points of ID along
with proof of his or her legal address. Please click here for additional information about the
MVC’s 6 Point ID Verification Program.

How much does a non-driver identification card cost? 

• The cost is $24.00 for a four-year identification card.

Do I need to have a driver's license to access the Next-of-Kin Registry? 

• No. Users of the registry may possess other forms of MVC-issued documents: learner’s permit,
non-driver identification card, agricultural license, moped license or boat license.

Can anyone be listed as an emergency contact in the Next-of-Kin Registry? 

• No. Any emergency contact identified by a registry user must be at least 18 years of age.
• If the registry user is under 18 years of age, the emergency contact must be his or her parent or

legal guardian.

http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/license/6pointid.htm
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