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DIRECTOR’S MESSAGE

The Honorable
Phil Murphy, 
Governor
Members of the New Jersey Legislature 

Dear Governor Murphy and Legislators: 
I am pleased to present the Annual Report of the Division of Taxation for the Fiscal Year which 
ended June 30, 2017. 

This report is more confirmation of the Division’s steadfast commitment to fair and 
comprehensive tax administration for the citizens of New Jersey. In 2017, we implemented a 
reduction of the sales tax rate from 7 percent to 6.875 percent, as well as an increased retirement 
income exclusion and a veteran exemption for income tax filers. 

We also improved our outreach to taxpayers by redesigning our website. The new layout allows 
for rapid access to information through an intuitive portal that tailors offerings to individuals, 
businesses, and tax professionals, and we provided a less complicated and more user-friendly tax 
filing and payment system. Going forward, our plan includes enhanced access to mobile 
applications, smart phones, and tablets. A YouTube channel now provides videos of important 
and helpful information for the public. 

We hope this Annual Report provides you with valuable insight into the ongoing efforts that 
support our critical mission. 

Respectfully submitted, 

John J. Ficara 
Acting Director 

https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/director.shtml
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ORGANIZATION AND ACTIVITIES 

Audit 

Audit is responsible for ensuring 
compliance with all New Jersey tax 
statutes through the audit of tax returns, 
examination of taxpayer records, and 
collection of outstanding tax liabilities. 
Audit also administers the Division’s 
voluntary disclosure and nexus 
programs and State tax credit programs. 
This Activity is divided into two areas:
Business Audit and Individual Audit & 
Audit Services.  

BUSINESS AUDIT
In-State Field Audit 

The In-State Field Audit Branch 
performs audits on local businesses to 
ensure compliance with tax statutes. Ex-
aminations of the taxpayer’s accounting 
records evaluate compliance with rules 
governing all taxes administered by the 

Division, with special emphasis on the 
Corporation Business Tax and Sales and 
Use Tax. Audits are typically performed 
at the taxpayer’s place of business. 

The Branch is comprised of 20 groups 
located throughout the State. Field 
Audit has district offices in Trenton 
(Hamilton Township), Neptune, 
Camden, Northfield, Hackensack, and 
Newark.  

Out-of-State Field Audit 

The Out-of-State Field Audit Branch is 
responsible for performing field audits 
on all payers of New Jersey taxes whose 
accounting records are maintained 
outside the State. The Division has 
regional offices in Des Plaines, Illinois, 

NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF TAXATION 
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and Anaheim, California, with field 
auditors based in Atlanta, Dallas, 
Denver, Houston, Tampa, and New 
Jersey

Excise Tax 

The Excise Tax Branch administers the 
Motor Fuel, Cigarette, and Tobacco 
Products Wholesale Sales and Use 
taxes. It also administers the Al- 
coholic Beverage Tax, Cigarette Tax, 
Litter Fee, Petroleum Products Gross 
Receipts Tax, Public Utility Excise, 
Franchise and Gross Receipts Taxes, 
Radiation Emergency Response Assess- 
ments, Sales and Use Energy Tax, Spill 
Compensation and Control Tax, Trans- 
itional Energy Facility Assessments and
tUniform Transitional Utility Assess-  
ments. The Excise Tax Branch 
additionally administers the Unfair 
Cigarette Sales Act. 
The Branch is  comprised of one 
Field Audit Group and three Office 
Groups. The Field Audit Group 
focuses on Motor Fuel Tax, 
Petroleum Products Gross Receipts 
Tax, Litter Fee, Cigarette Tax, 
and Tobacco Products Wholesale 
Sales and Use Tax returns. The 
three Office Groups perform 
audits, conduct investigations, and 
handle licensing related to taxes 
administered by the Branch. It also 
enforces the Master Settlement Agree- 
ment with tobacco companies. 

Audit Services

The Audit Services Branch primarily 
audits and processes Sales and Use Tax 
refund claims from businesses and 
individuals and Corporation Business 
Tax billings. It also ensures that audit 
assessments generated by the Field Au-
dit Branch, Out-of-State Field Audit 
Branch, Office Audit Branch, and 
Excise Tax Branch are billed timely.  
Two Sales and Use Tax refund groups 
are located in Trenton. They are 
responsible for auditing and processing 
all refund claims for the Sales and Use 
Tax as well as for the Hotel/Motel State 
Occupancy Fee and Municipal 
Occupancy Tax, Cosmetic Medical 
Procedures Gross Receipts Tax, Atlantic 
City Luxury Sales Tax, Cape May 
County Tourism Sales Tax, Domestic 
Security Fee, 9-1-1 System and 
Emergency Response Fee, Motor 
Vehicle Tire Fee, Sales and Use Energy 
Tax, Transitional Energy Facility 
Assessment, Recycling Tax, and the 
Nursing Home Assessment. 
These two groups also are responsible 
for auditing and processing Sales and 
Use Tax refund claims filed by  UEZ- 
certified businesses for property and 
services used exclusively in a UEZ 
zone.  The Corporate Billing Group 
reviews Corporation Business Tax 
filings. The Audit Billing Group provides 
billing and collection support.  

2
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Office Audit 

The primary responsibility of the Office 
Audit Branch is the audit and refund of 
Corporation Business Tax payments. 
Other taxes audited include the 
Financial Business Tax, Insurance 
Premiums Tax, Ocean Marine Tax, 
Retaliatory Tax, Sanitary Landfill Taxes, 
and the Spill Compensation and Control 
Tax.  

The Branch is comprised of seven audit 
groups. Two groups are assigned 
general corporate desk audits, and two 
are responsible for examining taxpayers’ 
records as part of issuance of Tax Lien 
Certificates, Tax Clearance Certificates 
for Domestic Dissolutions, Reinstate-
ments and Foreign Reauthorizations. 

The Special Audit Group is responsible 
for administering the smaller taxes as 
well as reviewing Internal Revenue 
audit changes and Retro S corporation 
election requests. 

The Nexus Audit Group identifies, loc-
ates, and examines out-of-state entities to 
determine if they have unreported tax fi- 
ling and payment obligations. The 
Corporate Refund Audit Group is res- 
ponsible for auditing  Corporation Bus-
iness Tax refund claims.  

INDIVIDUAL AUDIT & AUDIT 
SERVICES
Gross Income Tax Audit  
The Gross Income Tax Audit Branch, 
which is comprised of seven teams, is 
responsible for auditing Gross Income 
Tax returns filed with the State of New 
Jersey. The audits are done using 
criteria developed within the Branch as 
well as with information gathered 
from the federal Internal Revenue 
Service, neighboring states, and 
other New Jersey agencies. The 
section provides technical support to 
the Tax Data Warehouse (TDW 
on audit projects and answers tax- 
payer correspondence generated by 
these projects.  These include the dev- 
elopment of TDW’s Gross Income 
Tax direct billing. The section is also 
responsible for film tax credits and re- 
funds, the Neighborhood Revitalization 
Tax Credit, the Angel Investor Tax 
Credit, authorization of partnership 
refunds, and the pursuit of delinquent 
resident and nonresident taxpayers 
— both separately and in joint 
projects with other Division branches.
Transfer Inheritance & Estate Taxes
The Transfer Inheritance and Estate 
Taxes Branch is comprised of three 
audit teams and one service team. It's 
responsible for the administration of 
Inheritance and Estate Taxes. It 
promulgates regulations, designs tax 
forms and creates tailored instructional 
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Taxpayer
Services

Customer Services

The Customer Services Branch encourages 
voluntary compliance with New Jersey tax 
laws by providing taxpayers with the 
information and assistance they need to 
meet their tax responsibilities. It provides 
similar services to New Jersey residents 
applying for and obtaining Property Tax 
relief benefits. 

The Branch also produces informational 
publications and tax return instructions 
and responds to taxpayer correspondance. 
Information and assistance are delivered 
through the Division's website, by phone, 
and at outreach events. 

The Customer Service Center handles 
thousands of phone calls every day. Call 
Center staff provide general and tech- 
ical information regarding individual 
Income Tax, Property Tax relief pro- 
grams, and most business taxes and 
fees administered by the Division. 

In some cases, this assistance includes 
scrutiny of tax returns for accuracy 
before issuing a refund or a bill. In other 
cases, the team reviews correspondance 
submitted by taxpayers who disagree 
with a  tax notice. 

The Customer Service Center also 
staffs the Tax Practitioner Hotline, a 
special service for tax practitioners 
who need assistance in resolving 
client problems that they have been 
unable to resolve through normal 
channels.  

materials. It also is responsible for tax 
compliance and collection functions, tax 
audits, and the issuance of assessment 
notices and tax waivers. The section 
conducts seminars and conferences, 
assists in court proceedings, and 
provides taxpayer information services.  

Audit Selection & Technical  Support

The Audit Selection and Technical 
Support Unit provides Audit Activity 
with audit candidates and also provides 
audit, technical, and clerical support to 
every aspect of Audit Activity.

4
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The Legislative Hotline assists New 
Jersey legislators seeking to resolve 
constituents’ problems relating to the 
Property Tax relief programs adminis-
tered by the Division.

Technology Solutions provides direct 
support for the Customer Services 
Center and maintains Customer 
Services’ servers and technology 
platforms. The unit is responsible for 
maintaining several services, including:  

NJ WebFile, which provides taxpayers 
the means to prepare and file their 
Income Tax returns on a personal 
computer using the Division’s secure 
internet site. There is nothing to buy, 
and there are no filing fees.  

NJ Homestead Benefit Telefile, an 
automated telephone service that allows 
homeowners to file their Homestead 
Benefit applications by phone 24 hours 
a day/seven days a week during the 
benefit filing season.  

Business Taxes Telefile, which is an 
automated telephone service that allows 
for the filing of various business taxes 
and fees.  

Automated Tax Information System, 

which offers prerecorded general and 
account-specific information to callers 
regarding personal Income Tax, 
Property Tax relief programs, and 
business taxes. It also allows callers to 
order tax returns and informational 
publications.  

Education and Media 

The Tax Education and Media Branch 
consists of three units that communicate 
with people, businesses, and tax 
professionals so they can fulfill tax 
obligations. The branch provides plain 
language guidance so taxpayers can 
properly file forms, pay taxes owed, and 
respond to Division notifications. The 
branch is responsible for ensuring tax 
compliance is convenient and not 
excessively costly for our taxpayers  
and their representatives as well as 
professional tax administrators.  

The Taxpayer Communications Unit 
enhances informational publications 
and written communications for the 
public with concise, uncomplicated 
language and inclusion of clear steps 
that taxpayers can take to resolve ac

Taxation University provides instruct-
ion to the public and tax professionals 
on taxes and programs administered by 
the Division of Taxation. It also helps 
guide the public on how to start, 
change, or  end a business in New 
Jersey. The unit provides educational 
services for the employees of the 
Division and is responsible for creating   
instructional programs designed to  
enhance employee knowledge, skills 
and development. 

Digital Communications and Forms 

Development is responsible for website 
content, social media, and most 
Division forms and instructions.  
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Taxpayer Accounting 

The Taxpayer Accounting Branch 
assists taxpayers by resolving 
discrepancies found on their individual 
Income Tax returns and their 
applications for the Property Tax relief 
programs administered by the Division. 
In some cases, this consists of reviewing 
tax returns to verify the correctness of 
processing before issuing a refund or 
bill. In other cases, the Branch reviews 
correspondence submitted by taxpayers 
who disagree with a notice they received. 

The Branch is responsible for the review 
of Partnership Tax returns and most 
business tax returns. That work entails 
reviewing returns as well as replying to 
correspondence sent to the Division by 
businesses that receive a notification of 
change to their account.  

The Branch employs a Correspondence

Tracking System (CTS) that allows 
correspondence to be processed and 
tracked electronically using imaging 
technology. Taxpayer Accounting is 
responsible for redepositing refund 
checks for Income Tax and Partnership 
Tax and checks for Property Tax relief 
program benefits that are returned to the 
Division. The Branch consists of the 
following units:  

The TGI Correspondence and Review

Units examine individual Income Tax 
returns to correct errors in processing 
and review and process documents sent 
to the Division as a result of a Notice of 
Adjustment. Review of the documents 

includes identifying fraudulently filed 
returns. These units correct accounts 
and issue refunds or bills with letters 
explaining any adjustments or changes 
made to an individual’s Income Tax 
account.  

The Correspondence Unit receives, 
reviews, and responds to emails sent to 
the Division. The majority are general 
requests for information or assistance 
and are replied to directly by unit staff. 
Some requests may be forwarded to 
other parts of the Division for handling. 

A sub-group of the TGI Correspondence 
and Review Unit is the Earned Income

Tax Credit Group. The Earned Income 
Tax Credit Group reviews personal 
Income Tax returns claiming a New 
Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit.  

The unit issues letters requesting 
documentation and adjusts accounts. 
The unit works with multiple sources, 
including the Internal Revenue Service, 
to verify claimant wage and business 
income as well as the reported number 
of dependents to accurately approve the 
correct claim amount.  

The Business Tax/Delinquency Unit

examines more than 20 different types 
of business tax returns. The unit corrects 
processing errors and reviews 
correspondence received that results 
from a Notice of Adjustment.  

The unit is responsible for reviewing 
and approving bills for all of the tax 
types. It also sends letters of explanation 
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or notices detailing Division changes to 
a business’s account when updates are 
made. The unit is responsible for 
creating and updating Business 
Delinquency notices for most types of 
business taxes.  

The unit coordinates the mailing of the 
notices each quarter and is responsible 
for reviewing and responding to all the 
correspondence received. The unit is 
also responsible for answering all 
business tax emails that are received.  

The Partnership Tax Unit reviews and 
corrects processing errors for single-
tiered partnerships. The unit reviews 
correspondence received as a result of a 
Notice of Adjustment, makes any 
necessary corrections to the partner-
ship’s account, and sends refunds or 
bills, including bills for tiered 
partnerships, with letters of explanation. 

Collection & 

Enforcement 

This Activity is comprised of two 
branches: the Collection Services 
Branch and the Field Investigations 
Branch. 

Collection Services Branch 
The Collection Services Branch is 
responsible for the collection of

The Property Tax Relief Programs Unit 
resolves problems related to the State’s 
Homestead Benefit, Property Tax 
Deduction/Credit, and Property Tax 
Reimbursement programs.  

The unit reviews pending Homestead 
Benefit claims, Property Tax Deduction/
Credit adjustments, and Property Tax 
Reimbursement applications; adjusts 
accounts; and approves payments for 
eligible applicants. The unit contacts 
homeowners to obtain information that 
was missing from the original 
applications and resolves account errors 
and omissions based on the documenta-
tion provided. 

The Support Unit processes incoming 
mail for the Branch and redeposits re-
turned checks. 
 

overdue tax liabilities. It uses 
phone calls, correspondence, and filing 
of certificates of debt, license suppres-
sion, levies, pay garnishment, and oth-
er enforcement actions to collect debts. 

This Branch also provides services for 
the taxpaying public, sections of the 
Division of Taxation, and other State 
agencies such as the Motor Vehicle 
Commission, Division of Consumer 

7
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Affairs, Department of Environmental 
Protection, the Lottery Commission, 
and the Department of Law and Public 
Safety.  

A brief description of the functions 
performed by the Collection Services 
Branch follows:  

Attorney General Referral Unit 

coordinates the referral of taxpayers 
(business entity or individual) to the 
Office of the Attorney General for 
additional collection actions. Such 
actions may include instituting wage 
garnishment proceedings, court action 
or pursuing collection on assets in other 
states.  

Bankruptcy Unit ensures that the 
Division of Taxation is compliant with 
U.S. Bankruptcy Code and/or similar 
statutes. This unit is responsible for 
collecting all outstanding New Jersey 
State tax liabilities from debtors who 
have filed for protection under federal or 
State insolvency statutes.  

This includes submitting proofs of claim 
to the courts of jurisdiction. This unit 
works closely with the Attorney 
General’s Office to represent the 
State’s interests in Bankruptcy Court.  

Bulk Sales Unit is responsible for 
examining the tax records of each 
business that disposes of all or part of 
its business assets by sale, transfer, 
or assignment in bulk, other than in 
the normal course of business.  

An escrow from the proceeds of the sale 
secures the interests of the State and 
protects the purchaser. When all 
conditions are satisfied, the State issues 
a Tax Clearance Certificate.  

Casual Sales & Set-Off Unit verifies 
that the appropriate Sales and Use Tax 
is paid on purchases of motor vehicles, 
boats, and aircraft. Investigators review 
information from other State and local 
agencies in pursuit of individuals or 
corporations that have avoided New 
Jersey Sales and Use Tax on their 
vehicle purchases.  

The unit pursues collection action as 
necessary. Investigators administer five 
set-off programs: 

Vendor Set-Off, that holds payments 
due to State vendors and applies the pay-
ments toward deficient taxes;  

SOIL, Set-Off of Individual Liability, 
that withholds Gross Income Tax 
refunds and Property Tax relief 
payments from taxpayers who have 
outstanding tax debts;  

FOIL, Federal Offset of Individual 

Liabilities, that withholds federal 
income tax refunds and applies them 
against State tax liabilities;  

TOP, Treasury Offset Program, that 
withholds federal payments due to 
businesses and applies the payments 
toward State tax deficiencies; and State 
Reciprocal Set-Off, which governs 
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reciprocal agreements with Maryland, 
New York, and Connecticut, where 
income tax refunds in a participating 
state can be diverted to another state 
where a taxpayer owes income tax.  

Contract Liaison Unit provides onsite 
quality assurance and monitors the 
Division’s vendor for adherence to the 
terms of the contract to pursue 
delinquent and deficient taxes. The 
current vendor, Pioneer Credit Recovery, 
pursues taxpayers who fail to respond to 
Division of Taxation notices.  

Payment Plan Liaison Unit conducts 
quality assurance and monitors Pioneer 
Credit Recovery’s management of 
repayment agreements that extend the 
time allotted for payment of State taxes. 
Team members also ensure adherence to 
the terms of the contract and provide 
technical support. 

Judgment Enforcement Unit collects 
overdue liabilities from taxpayers who 
neglected or refused to pay taxes and/ or 
file returns. The primary collection 
instrument is the Certificate of Debt, 
which is filed with the Clerk of the New 
Jersey Superior Court.  

A Certificate of Debt has the same force 
and effect as a Docketed Judgment 
adjudicated in a court of law. This unit 
also focuses on the collection of debt for 
personal Income Tax filers.  

License Verification Unit reviews the 
tax records of businesses licensed by 
State agencies. The goal is to confirm 

that businesses are complying with tax 
law. If a review reveals unsatisfied tax 
liabilities or filing obligations, the 
taxpayer’s business license may be 
suspended. This Unit also reviews the 
tax records of businesses that are apply-
ing for grants, loans, or other incentives 
from other State agencies. A Tax 
Clearance Certificate is a precondition 
to the award by any State agency of 
assistance or incentive to a business.  

This Unit works with various State 
agencies such as New Jersey 
Department of Environmental Protec-
tion, Department of Community Affairs, 
Motor Vehicle Commission, New 
Jersey Lottery Commission, New Jersey 
Economic Development Authority, and 
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control. 

Payment Plan Unit helps taxpayers 
enter repayment agreements and extend 
the time allotted for payment of their 
State taxes. The Unit reviews forms to 
ensure taxpayers qualify for a payment 
plan. Caseworkers send correspondence 
notifying taxpayers whether they have 
qualified for a payment plan.  

The caseworker monitors whether the 
State receives installment payments on 
time and checks accounts for 
compliance with current returns and 
obligations. The unit works closely with 
all parts of Taxation, including the 
Division’s contracted vendor, to ensure 
proper case management.  

Project Enforcement Team deals with 
investigations pertaining to both 
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business and personal tax matters. A 
multifaceted group of investigators and 
support staff are trained in the 
regulations and laws governing many 
types of taxes. They perform reviews, 
conduct analysis, and make 
determinations as to the validity of 
filings. The team manages Business 
Reinstatements, identity theft, and part-
nership fees and taxes.  

Regional Information Centers provide 
in-person assistance to taxpayers. The 
centers accept tax filings and payments. 
Staff are trained to aid taxpayers who 
have received any notification sent by 
the Division as well as to assist with any 
filing requirements. Offices are located 
in Fairlawn, Newark, Somerville, 
Trenton, Camden, Neptune, and 
Galloway.  

Field Investigations Branch  

The Field Investigations Branch 
performs tax collection, enforcement, 
and civil investigation work for the 
Division. The Division assigns Field 
Investigators to seven field offices 
around the State. 
A brief description follows of 
functions performed by the Field 
Investigations Branch:  

Canvassing/Educating Investigators 

visit businesses to verify that they are 
registered and that the owners under-
stand their tax responsibilities.  

The units regularly canvass transient 
vendors at flea markets, art and craft 
shows, entertainment venues, and 
special events. To combat the tax issues 
caused by the underground economy, 
investigators issue on-the-spot jeopardy 
assessments of uncooperative transient 
vendors.

CATCH (Citizens Against Tax 

Cheats) receives and reviews reports of 
possible noncompliance with New 
Jersey taxing statutes and refers them to 
the appropriate Division branch or State 
agency for evaluation and action. 

Boat Program Investigators canvass 
marinas, patrol New Jersey intra-coastal 
waterways, and gather information from 
other state and local agencies in pursuit 
of individuals or corporations that have 
avoided New Jersey Sales and Use Tax 
on their vessel purchases.  

Tax Enforcement investigators contact 
businesses and individuals to secure 
delinquent tax returns, collect out-
standing taxes, and enforce registration 
and licensing requirements.  
If necessary to protect the State’s 
interests, a Certificate of Debt is filed 
with the New Jersey Superior Court, 
followed by the issuance of a Warrant 
of Execution to collect the tax debt. 
If a non-compliant taxpayer is given a 
final warning visit and encouraged to 
make payment arrangements, but still 
doesn’t take sufficient steps to pay, all 
the personal and business assets of the  
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non-compliant tax debtor are subject to 
levy, seizure, and sale at public auction.  

Field investigators, in coordination with 
the Office of Criminal Investigation or 
Court Referral Unit, may also refer 
chronic offenders for prosecution if they 
fail to file and/or pay tax to the 
Municipal Court Program. Accordingly, 
a guilty finding or plea can result in a 
court order to make restitution in 
addition to fines, an order to pay 
collection costs, and probation or jail.  

Revenue Opportunity Units have 
investigators who seek out 
noncompliant taxpayers. These units 
focus on out-of-state entities whose 
business activities in New Jersey create 
nexus and trigger a tax obligation. 
Investigators work with U.S. Customs 
and Border Protection, the New Jersey 
State Police, the Motor Vehicle 
Commission, and local law enforcement 
agencies at weigh stations and vehicle 
safety and emission sites.  

Investigators also visit construction sites, 
warehouses, and other locations where 
nonregistered or noncompliant out-of-
state vendors may be operating. Rev 
Ops investigators also monitor in-state 
businesses believed to be operating in 
the untaxed, unrecorded, underground 
economy.  

Projects included an initiative on 
nonresident personal Income Tax 
verification as well as efforts at ensuring 
compliance of home-based businesses 
as well as compliance with personal 

Income Tax and Corporation Business 
Tax requirements by commercial 
construction companies, athletes, and 
entertainers.  

The unit also participated in initiatives 
aimed at combating abuse of auto dealer 
plates and unreported Sales and Use Tax 
on vehicles, boats, and airplanes.  

When necessary, investigators utilize 
the authority granted in N.J.S.A. 
54:49-5 and N.J.S.A. 54:49-7 to 
make jeopardy assessments and 
demand immediate payment of a pro-
posed tax debt. Failure to satisfy 
the jeopardy assessment may result 
in immediate seizure of available 
assets. 
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Property  

Administration 

Property Administration consists of two 
sections: Policy & Planning and 
Valuation & Mapping. The activities of 
these two sections concern the valuation 
of real and certain personal property. 

Property Administration personnel 
review and prepare comments on 
proposed legislation concerning 
Property Tax issues; review and approve 
reassessment and revaluation programs 
and contracts; develop procedures for 
uniform application of deductions for 
senior citizens and veterans and certify 
the amounts for State reimbursement to 
local taxing districts; oversee the 
administration of the Farmland 
Assessment Act; defend the Table of 
Equalized Valuations; review, classify, 
assess, and tax railroad properties. 

Personnel also compute the 
Railroad Franchise Tax; support 
Property Administration’s data 
processing systems (MOD IV and 
Sales Ratio); and review and approve 
municipal tax maps. They are also 
assigned to  administer biannual Tax 
Assessors’ Certification Exams; 
prepare written guidelines on 
Property Tax programs and statutes 
for assessors and county tax board 
members; and respond to general 
taxpayer inquiries.  

The unit also replies to correspondence 
and legislative referrals regarding 

Property Tax matters, and provides 
services to the public or other local 
government entities.  
It also monitors members of county 
boards of taxation to ensure they meet 
statutory education requirements. Staff 
members serve on the Continuing 
Education Eligibility Board, which 
awards credit for classes relevant to the 
recertification process for assessors. 
Staff members also take on leading roles 
in training, education seminars, and 
courses on local property 
administration. 
These classes are aimed at improving 
the performance of county board of 
taxation members, administrators, 
and municipal and county assessors. 

The following Sections and units are in 
Property Administration: 

Local Property 

Policy and Planning Section

Legislative Analysis/Deductions 

Exemptions/Abatements/ 

Correspondence 

Reviews and prepares comments on 
proposed legislation concerning 
Property Tax matters; reviews and 
develops policies and practices for 
Property Tax deduction, exemption, 
abatement programs, and preferential 
reduced farmland assessment; responds 
to inquiries of the general public, State 
and local tax officials, and members of 
the Legislature with respect to Property 
Tax issues; prepares correspondence, 
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written guidelines, regulations, tax 
forms, and educational materials, 
including the Handbook for New Jersey 
Assessors, on local property taxation. 

Revaluations/Reassessments/Assessor 

Continuing Education.  

Reviews, approves, and monitors 
revaluation and reassessment programs, 
applications, and contracts; compiles 
the annual Farmland Data Report and 
Farmland Rollback Report, administers
  assessors continuing education and re-
certification programs; and collects, re-
views, and maintains employment in- 
formation that pertains to municipal as- 
sessors, such as tenure and term of 
office.  

County Board of Taxation
Assistance/Compliance/Realty 

Transfer Fee/Tax Maps. 

Responds to inquiries on the Realty 
Transfer Fee and monitors the dollar 
amount collected and refunded; 
provides assistance and checks 
compliance for the 21 county boards of 
taxation; prepares written information 
and instructions on various property tax 
statutes and programs for use by county 
tax board members and administrators; 
reviews and approves municipal tax 
maps for conformance to current 
specifications and, as required, for 
municipal revaluations or formal 
certification. 

Revenue Sharing/ 
Homestead Rebate/Audit Unit. 
Reviews and certifies the dollar amounts 
for State reimbursement to local taxing 
districts for senior citizens’ and veterans’ 
property tax deductions; audits 
municipalities that the State reimburses 
for granting the $250 annual property 
tax deductions for senior citizens and 
$250 annual deduction for veterans, and 
assists with the State administration of 
other municipal property tax deduction 
reimbursements; conducts investigations 
of cooperative and continuing care 
ownerships for homeowners' benefit 
updates and conducts periodic inspect-
ions of municipal tax assessors’ 
offices for  compliance with statutes. 

Certified Assessor Examination 

develops, coordinates and administers 
biannual Tax Assessor Certification 
Exams. 

Valuation and Mapping Section  

Equalization and In-House Training 

Equalization and In-House Training. 
Reviews and corrects county equaliza-
tion and county abstracts of ratables for 
all 21 counties; prepares the State 
Abstract of Ratables and the annual 
State Equalization Table; and answers 
all equalization questions.  
This unit prepares and presents 
instructional materials concerning Local 
Property Tax matters for trainees and for 
staff when statutory or policy and 
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practice changes occur. The unit also 
develops and maintains the Handbook 
for County Boards of Taxation.  

Field Unit Provides direct assistance in 
solving problems to 541 municipal tax 
assessors’ offices, one county assessor’s 
office, and 21 county boards of taxation; 
investigates SR-1As, which contain 
information about real property sales, 
for sales ratio purposes; and gathers and 
verifies data for the Table of Equalized 
Valuations.  

The unit works with the Deputy 
Attorney General assigned to the Divi-
sion of Taxation to defend the Table of 
Equalized Valuations during appeals.  

Sales Ratio Oversees the Assessment-
Sales Ratio program and ensures that 
county tax boards and assessors receive 
and send timely electronic transmissions 
of sales data; performs investigations of 
sales ratio methodologies and appraises 
real property; and develops the annual 
Table of Equalized Valuations from the 
data analyzed.  

Appeals of the Table are handled in 
conjunction with a deputy attorney 
general in the New Jersey Tax Court.  

The Table shows the average ratio of 
assessed to true value of real estate for 
each municipality in the State. It is used 
in the calculation and distribution of 
State school aid, to apportion county 
and regional school district taxes, and to 

measure debt limits of local government 
units.  

Valuation and Railroad Property 
Units Equalization and In-House 
Training. Reviews and corrects county 
equalization and county abstracts of 
ratables for all 21 counties; prepares the 
State Abstract of Ratables and the 
annual State Equalization Table; and 
answers all equalization questions.  

This unit prepares and presents instruc-
tional materials concerning Local 
Property Tax matters for trainees and for 
staff when statutory or policy and 
practice changes occur. The unit also 
develops and maintains the Handbook 
for County Boards of Taxation.  

Information Services Supports Prop-
erty Administration in all aspects of 
information processing and new tech-
nologies, applies new technologies to 
current operations, develops relational 
databases, and ensures the efficiency of 
Property Administration's systems as 
well as assists in determining the 
operating policies, procedures, and 
priorities for Property Administration’s 
data processing systems (MOD IV and 
Sales Ratio). 

Information Services also ensures 
that MOD IV vendors are 
approved, monitored, and advised 
on new legislation or policies that 
affect Local Property. 
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and county boards of taxation; and acts 
as liaison for OPRA (Open Public 
Records Act) requests that pertain to 
Local Property Tax data. 

It also maintains the MODIV User 
Manual; handles secure file transfers to 
data centers; maintains Property 
Administration web pages and the portal 
area for municipal and county assessors 

Office of 

Strategic  

Planning & Operations 

Office of the Chief of Staff 

The Chief of Staff’s Office represents 
Taxation’s administration throughout 
State government and provides Divi-
sion-wide support in Management 
Services and Strategic Planning and 
Operations.  

The Chief of Staff’s Office is the liaison 
to the Department of Treasury’s Fiscal 
Office, the Division of Revenue and 
Enterprise Services, Human Resources, 
and Labor Relations and Development. 

The office ensures that the Division 
follows internal control procedures. It 
also facilitates budgetary and IT 
requests and coordinates the handling of 
personnel matters, including 
disciplinary and grievance actions 
concerning Division employees.  

Management Services
Management Services is responsible for 
providing support in the following 
areas:  

Facilities Management. Coordinates 
building maintenance and management 
services for 12 Division offices 
throughout New Jersey and for out-of-
state locations near Chicago area and in 
Anaheim, California. Facilities 
Management monitors all construction 
projects and coordinates physical moves 
for all Taxation locations. In addition, 
Facilities Management is responsible 
for building security, including 
providing employees with photo 
identification and building access cards. 

Records Management/Image Processing

Responsible for the Division’s 
records management and storage. 
The unit maintains a records 
placement and tracking system that 
enables Division personnel to retrieve 
documents and files quickly and 
efficiently.  

Records Management is responsible for 
managing taxpayer requests for copies 
of personal and business tax returns. The 
unit also provides document scanning 
services for various Taxation units. 

Property and Forms. Oversees the 
Division’s warehouse, where office 
supplies, bulk forms, and surplus 
property and equipment are stored.  
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Counsel 

Services 

Conference and Appeals 

The Conference and Appeals Branch

provides taxpayers with a forum for tax 
disputes. The Branch processes protests, 
conducts informal administrative 
conferences, and issues final 
determinations on behalf of the Director. 
These conferences may be conducted 
via correspondence, telephone, or in 
person. The Branch also works with the 
Office of the Attorney General on 

litigation for both taxes and Property 
Tax relief programs.  
The Review Section evaluates all 
incoming protests and appeals for 
compliance with relevant statutory and 
regulatory guidelines, for each of the 
taxes under its mandate.  
Incoming protests and appeals are 
further reviewed to determine whether 
the State faces risks related to the 
collection of protested tax assessments.  
Taxpayers may be asked to pay the out-
standing assessment, furnish a surety 
bond, or provide a letter of credit to stay 
collection. Absent adequate surety, a 
Certificate of Debt will be filed and, 
when appropriate, the State will issue a 
Finding of Responsible Person. The Re-
view Section also pursues collection of 
unprotested components of an assess-
ment.  
The mission of the Conference Section 
is to provide informal administrative 
conferences to taxpayers who protest a 
tax determination. The conferees 
perform a fair and efficient 
administrative review in order to reach 
a resolution of all tax matters before 
them. 
At the end of the conference process, 
the conferee issues a Final Deter- 
mination on tax assessments, 
refund denials, and miscellaneous or 
nonmonetary issues.  
A taxpayer may appeal a Final 
Determination to the Tax Court of New 
Jersey. Once a case is appealed, the 
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Mail Services/Print Processing 
Responsible for the pickup, sorting, 
recording, and delivery of mail for the 
Division, including to field offices and 
other State agencies. The unit also 
handles printing, processing, and 
mailing of taxpayer notices.  

Forms Distribution. Responsible for 
mailing forms and publications in 
response to taxpayer requests and also 
bulk mailing and/or copying of tax-
related documents for special projects 
generated by various branches of the 
Division.  

Vehicle Management: Responsible for 
the Division’s fleet of vehicles including 
budgeting, purchasing, scheduling 
maintenance, generating mileage 
reports, and managing the GPS system. 

Office of 



Appeals Section manages the case, 
acting as the Division’s liaison and 
working with the deputy attorney 
general assigned to defend the Division 
of Taxation. The Appeals Section works 
to ensure that the Director’s position is 
well presented and clearly understood. 

Office of Legislative Analysis 

and Disclosure  

The Office of Legislative Analysis and 
Disclosure is comprised of two units 
with responsibilities ranging from 
legislation review to safeguarding 
confidential State and federal 
tax information to responding to 
Open Public Records Act (OPRA) 
requests.

The Legislation Analysis Unit is 
responsible for reviewing all tax bills 
introduced in the New Jersey State 
Legislature as well as federal legislation 
that may affect the operations of the 
Division. The unit evaluates the admin- 
istrative, fiscal, and policy impli- 
ications of proposals that are 
scheduled for legislative action. 

When necessary, the unit proposes 
amendments to ensure that the Division 
can effectively implement and administer 
a bill; prepares bill comments; and makes 
recommendations about whether the 
Treasurer should oppose or support a par-
ticular bill. Upon enactment of new leg- 
islation, the unit initiates and participates 
in the implementation process. 

In collaboration with the Office of 
Revenue and Economic Analysis, the 
office researches and compiles tax data. 
Annually, a report details New Jersey 
tax breaks and provides an estimate of 
how much revenue is reduced from 
these measures. Examples of tax breaks 
include the income tax deduction for 
property taxes, Economic Development 
Authority tax incentives, the Earned 
Income Tax Credit, and other 
preferential tax rates or special pro-
visions authorized by law.  

The Office of Disclosure facilitates the 
exchange of tax records among state and 
federal agencies. It also recommends 
and implements exchange agreements 
among such agencies.  
It works with the federal Internal 
Revenue Service, the New Jersey 
Department of Law and Public Safety, 
and revenue collection agencies of other 
states. The Office of Disclosure also 
creates and monitors training on how to 
safeguard confidential State and 
federal tax information. It provides this 
training for the Division and 
associated State agencies. 

The Office of Disclosure also ensures 
the Division of Taxation, Division of 
Revenue and Enterprise Services, the 
Office of Information Technology, and 
the Office of Homeland Security and 
Preparedness adhere to IRS data 
security requirements when 
administering federal tax information. 
The Office of Disclosure is one of a few 
similar state agencies nationwide that 
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has been recognized by the IRS for its 
outstanding internal procedures.  

The office is the Division’s central point 
for receipt of public requests for 
information made pursuant to the Open 
Public Records Act (OPRA). Disclosure 
staff reviews the requests, researches 
and compiles data, determines what 
information can be released, and 
prepares the Division’s responses to all 
OPRA requests. 

Regulatory Services 

The Regulatory Services Branch 
provides and publishes advice, 
information, and written guidance to 
promote voluntary compliance with 
New Jersey tax laws. It offers guidance 
both to the Division and the public.  

The Branch handles technical and 
regulatory issues, advises management 
and staff on tax laws administered by 
the Division, drafts new legislation, 
reviews proposed legislation, and 
provides technical assistance in the im-
plementation of new tax laws. 
It analyzes, researches, and responds to 
taxpayers’ inquiries and requests for 
technical advice or letter rulings, and 
issues guidance for the public in the 
form of Technical Bulletins, Technical 
Advisory Memorandums (TAMs), 

Letter Rulings, notices, New Jersey 
State Tax News articles, and Internet 
pages. Members of the Branch act as 
the Division’s liaisons on tax issues 
with the Division of Revenue and 
Enterprise Services, the Economic 
Development Authority, the Urban 
Enterprise Zone Authority, and other 
State agencies.  
Regulatory Services is responsible for 
coordinating and drafting all Division 
administrative rules and notices.  
As such, the Administrative Practice 
Officer, who is tasked with 
working with the Office of 
Administrative Law to oversee the 
promulgation of the Division’s rules 
and their publication in the New Jersey 
Register, is a member of Regulatory 
Services.  

The Branch administers the GIT/REP 
waiver program that addresses the 2 
percent withholding required for 
nonresidents selling or transferring 
property in New Jersey and other real 
property transfer work.  
The Exempt Organization Unit within 
the Branch processes and makes 
determinations on applications for Sales 
and Use Tax Exempt Organization 
Certificates.  
The Executive Secretary to the Sales 
and Use Tax Review Commission is a 
member of Regulatory Services and is 
responsible for providing administrative 
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and professional support to the 
Commission.  

The Commission is statutorily charged 
with reviewing proposed legislation that 
would either expand or contract the base 
of the New Jersey Sales and Use Tax 
Act. The Executive Secretary is 
responsible for coordinating Division 
resources, scheduling and facilitating 
Commission meetings, and issuing an 
annual report on behalf of the 
Commission. 

Taxpayer Advocate 

The Office of the Taxpayer Advocate 
provides an avenue of independent 
review for taxpayers with State tax 
problems that they have been unable to 
resolve through normal channels or who 

are facing “undue hardship” as a result 
of action by the Division of Taxation.  

The OTA can only assist taxpayers 
whose problems fall within the Division 
of Taxation’s jurisdiction. The OTA 
cannot assist with problems that result 
from a determination or action of 
another State department or agency 

The Taxpayer Advocate also is also 
tasked with identifying and proposing 
solutions and changes for systemic 
challenges that increase the burden on 
taxpayers. When appropriate, the 
Taxpayer Advocate will recommend ad-
ministrative or legislative changes to 
resolve, alleviate, and/or mitigate 
identified issues. 
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Office of

Criminal 

Investigation 

The Office of Criminal Investigation 
(OCI) is the Division of Taxation’s law 
enforcement and criminal investigation 
arm. Its primary mission is to investigate 
allegations of violations of the State tax 
code and criminal code. OCI enforces 
all statutes and regulations administered 
by the Division. OCI works closely with 
other federal, state, and local law 
enforcement and criminal justice 
agencies, focusing on economic and 
financial crimes that have tax 
compliance consequences. OCI special 
agents provide emergency management 
support to the Department of the 
Treasury.  

Special agents are sworn, certified, and 
armed law enforcement officers who 
serve on federal and State law 
enforcement task forces, bringing their 
financial investigative expertise and 
resources to multijurisdictional 
organizations serving the citizens of 
New Jersey.

OCI is made up of two Sections: Strat-
egic Investigation, and Operations and 
Enforcement. The Strategic Investi-
gation Section has three units: Financial 
Investigation, Special Frauds, and 
Technical Enforcement. The Operations 
and Enforcement Section consists of 
the Special Investigation, Motor Fuels,

Internal Security, and Intelligence 
units.  

Financial Investigations is staffed by 
special agents and forensic auditors who 
investigate criminal violations in-
volving taxes administered by the 
Division with a focus on Sales and Use, 
Gross Income, and Corporation Busi-
ness taxes.  

The Special Frauds Unit investigates 
tax refund fraud, false filings, and other 
criminal schemes that defraud the State 
of revenue. It assists in implementing 
systems and tactics to prevent unlawful 
refunds. Developing intelligence on 
these schemes helps identify violators 
involved in fraud across multiple 
jurisdictions.  

The Technical Enforcement Unit’s 
primary responsibility is to protect 
monies due the State of New Jersey. It 
reviews records of payments made to 
the State that are dishonored by 
financial institutions.  

The unit helps prosecute violators who 
don’t make good on dishonored checks 
and failed electronic funds transfers. It 
coordinates with the Division’s civil 
units to identify flagrant violators who 
fail to respond to compliance efforts.  

The Special Investigations Units 
consists of special agents who 
investigate violations of the Cigarette 
Tax Act and the Tobacco and Vapor 
Products Tax Act. Contraband 
smuggling and counterfeiting of tax 

20

__________________________________________________________



indicia such as cigarette stamps are 
priority investigations.  

The Motor Fuels Unit consists of 
special agents who investigate 
violations of the New Jersey Motor 
Fuels Tax Act. There are many types of 
fuels and product formulations, and 
special agents must monitor fuel 
taxability across the entire spectrum of 
sales and usage. Special agents also 
ensure the proper licensing of fuel 
dealers and transporters is maintained.  

The Internal Security Unit handles 
confidential and sensitive matters, 
including internal investigations 
regarding professional responsibility; 
background investigations of 
prospective employees; and acts of 
threats, harassment, or intimidation 
made by persons attempting to impede 
the functions of the Divisions of 
Taxation and Revenue and Enterprise 
Services. The Internal Security Unit 
provides training for new employees on 
confidentiality statutes, rules and 
policies, and bribery-awareness issues.

The Intelligence Unit maintains 
relationships with law enforce-
ment and prosecutorial agencies that 
help collect and analyze information

on criminal matters and facilitate 
intelligence-led law enforcement. It pro-
vides a presence at the New Jersey 
Regional Operations Intelligence Center 
and leverages technology through law 
enforcement and intelligence systems 
that bolster criminal investigation 
capability. The Intelligence Unit also 
administers the Division of Taxation’s 
Report Tax Fraud program. The unit 
processes and investigates complaints 
from the public. 
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TAXES AND PROGRAMS ADMINISTERED 

Table 1: Major State Revenue Collections (Net) Fiscal Years 2015–2017 

Revenue Source1 20172  ($)
% of 

Total 2016 ($)
% of 

Total 2015 ($)
% of

Total 

%Change

2016–17 

Collected by the Division: 

Admissions surcharge 452,850 0.0% 372,572 0.0% 668,778 0.0% 21.5% 
Alcoholic Beverage 137,757,529 0.4% 138,798,624 0.4% 138,547,928 0.4% (0.8%) 
Casino Revenue 218,650,195 0.7% 209,417,118 0.7% 206,143,487 0.7% 4.4% 
Cigarette (Total Revenue) 671,972,656 2.1% 677,215,960 2.2% 692,226,235 2.2% (0.8%) 
Controlling Interest Transfer Tax3 4,389,779 0.0% 11,197,615 0.0% 11,291,166 0.0% (60.8%) 
Corporation Taxes: 

Corporation Business4 2,144,029,786 6.6% 2,299,017,310 7.4% 2,738,758,941 8.8% (6.7%) 
CBT Banks & Financials 200,336,277 0.6% 178,190,722 0.6% 127,231,015 0.4% 12.4% 

Cosmetic Medical Procedure Tax5 78,236 0.0% 18,626 0.0% 301,380 0.0% 320.% 
Domestic Security Fee 38,693,007 0.1% 37,822,152 0.1% 35,835,502 0.1% 2.3% 
Environmental Taxes 

Landfill Closure and Contingency 1,863,852 0.0% 1,977,779 0.0% 1,809,732 0.0% (5.8%) 
Litter Control 21,728,529 0.1% 27,362,650 0.1% 22,988,830 0.1% (20.6%) 
Public Community Water Systems 2,698,727 0.0% 2,715,713 0.0% 2,655,292 0.0% (0.6%) 
Recycling 26,749,526 0.1% 29,319,459 0.1% 23,806,638 0.1% (8.8%) 
Spill Compensation 23,240,668 0.1% 23,677,719 0.1% 23,546,288 0.1% (1.8%) 

Gross Income Tax 13,958,119,470 42.8% 13,355,992,259 42.9% 13,250,001,844 42.5% 4.5% 
Hotel Motel Occupancy Fee/Tax 101,206,200 0.3% 98,400,760 0.3% 95,430,338 0.3% 2.9% 
Insurance Premiums 579,641,817 1.8% 605,446,659 1.9% 648,090,140 2.1% (4.3%) 
Meadowlands Collections 4,007,112 0.0% 2,764,784 0.0% 1,024,793 0.0% 
Miscellaneous Revenues 6,520,304 0.0% 1,861,281 0.0% 13,383,905 0.0% 250.3% 
Mobile Telecommunications Fee 121,909,490 0.4% 122,149,890 0.4% 121,631,961 0.4% (0.2%) 
Motor Fuels 532,878,138 1.6% 554,472,717 1.8% 535,549,839 1.7% (3.9%) 
Motor Vehicle Tire Fee 10,177,065 0.0% 9,874,730 0.0% 9,733,855 0.0% 3.1% 
Nursing Home Provider Assessment 130,355,962 0.4% 132,893,464 0.4% 126,613,161 0.4% (1.9%) 
Petroleum Products 873,769,023 2.7% 214,760,068 0.7% 215,064,122 0.7% 306.9% 
Public Utility Excise 17,522,068 0.1% 17,151,540 0.1% 15,570,113 0.0% 2.2% 
Railroad Franchise 7,359,742 0.0% 6,960,745 0.0% 7,761,914 0.0% 5.7% 
Railroad Property 4,761,324 0.0% 4,637,651 0.0% 4,547,030 0.0% 2.7% 
Sales Taxes: 

Sales and Use4 9,591,881,386 29.4% 9,267,703,006 29.8% 9,146,025,530 29.3% 3.5% 
Atlantic City Lux & Promo (Loc Use) 29,325,824 0.1% 29,659,604 0.1% 32,155,755 0.1% (1.1%) 
Tobacco Products Wholesale 25,604,446 0.1% 23,510,450 0.1% 23,329,540 0.1% 8.9% 
Cape May County Tourism (Loc Use) 6,766,199 0.0% 6,951,178 0.0% 6,520,516 0.0% (2.7%) 

0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 27.2%           35,732  
748,629,879 9  2.3%

           28,081    
769,688,165   2.5%

          34,518   
793,508,218 2.5% (2.7%) 

30,243,112,798 92.8% 28,862,011,051 92.8% 29,071,788,304 93.1% 4.8% 

227,971 0.0% 431,830 0.0% 572,257 0.0% (47.2%) 
45,183,686 0.1% 39,823,221 0.1% 51,483,695 0.2% 13.5% 

995,627,539 3.1% 987,000,000 3.2% 960,000,000 3.1% 0.9% 
725,061,194 2.2% 698,410,446 2.2% 692,471,643 2.2% 3.8% 

1,628,136 0.0% 1,605,750 0.0% 1,689,758 0.0% 1.4 
565,735,991 1.7% 

7.2%
513,694,195 1.7% 435,083,539 1.4% 10.1% 

7 2,240,965,442 2 7.2% 2,141,300,892 2 6.9% 4.1% 

Sports and Entertainment Facility Tax6 

Transfer Inheritance and Estate     

Revenue Collected by the Division 

Collected Outside the Division 
State Athletic Control Board 
Casino Control 
Lottery 
Motor Vehicle Fees (total revenue 
Outdoor Advertising (total revenue 
Realty Transfer (total revenue) 
Total Collected Outside the Division 
Total Major State Revenue Collections 

 2,333,464,517  
32,576,577,315 100% 31,102,976,494 31,213,089,196 100.0% 4.7% 

1 Figures are from the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report unless otherwise indicated. 
2 The 2017 figures are subject to adjustment. 
3 Summaries of Revenues, Expenditures and Fund Balances, Governor’s Budget Message. 
4 Includes the on-budget amount of Energy Tax for Sales Tax and CBT. 
5 Imposed effective September 1, 2004. Rate reduced to 4% on July 1, 2012, and to 2% on July 1, 2013. No tax imposed as of July  1, 2014. 
6 New Jersey Division of Taxation Records. 

Note: Some entries for prior years may be revised from earlier versions. Totals may not add due to independent rounding. 
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Taxes and Programs Administered

Admissions Surcharge.......................... 40:48G-1 et seq.

Alcoholic Beverage Tax........................... 54:41-1 et seq.

Atlantic City Casino 
Taxes and Fees.........................5:12-148.1 to 5:12-148.3

5:12-148.8
5:12-173.2

Atlantic City Luxury Sales Tax........... 40:48-8.15 et seq.
54:32B-24.1 et seq.

Atlantic City Tourism 
Promotion Fee..................................... 40:48-8.45 et seq.

Cape May County Tourism Sales Tax....... 40:54D-1 to 10

Cigarette Tax......................................... 54:40A-1 et seq.
56:7-18 et seq.

Controlling Interest Transfer Tax......................54:15C-1

Corporation Business (Net Income 
and Net Worth) Tax............................... 54:10A-1 et seq.

CBT Banking Corporation............... 54:10A-1 et seq.
CBT Financial Corporation.............. 54:10A-1 et seq.

Cosmetic Medical Procedures 
Gross Receipts Tax.................................54:32E-1 et seq.

Domestic Security Fee................................. App.A:9-78

Gross Income Tax................................... 54A:1-1 et seq.

Hotel/Motel Occupancy Fee and 
Municipal Occupancy Tax.................... 54:32D-1 et seq.

Insurance Premiums Tax.......................... 54:16-1 et seq.
54:17-4 et seq.

54:18A-1 et seq.

Landfill Closure and
Contingency Tax .................................. 13:1E-100 et seq.

Litter Control Fee.................................13:1E-213 et seq.

Local Property Tax..................................... 54:4-1 et seq.

Meadlowlands Regional Hotel Use 
Assessment....................................................... 5:10A-85

Motor Fuel Tax..................................... 54:39-101 et seq.

Motor Vehicle Tire Fee..........................54:32F-1 et seq.

9-1-1 System and Emergency
Response Assessment......................... 52:17C-17 et seq.

Nursing Home Assessment................... 26:2H-92 et seq.

Petroleum Products Gross 
Receipts Tax.......................................... 54:15B-1 et seq.

Property Tax Relief Programs............... 54:4-8.67 et seq.

NJ SAVER Rebate...............................54:4-8.58a and
54:4-8.58b

Property Tax Reimbursement .......... 54:4-8.67 et seq.

Public Community Water 
System Tax............................................ 58:12A-1 et seq.

Public Utility Taxes:
Public Utility Excise, Franchise, and 
Gross Receipts Taxes...................... 54:30A-49 et seq.
Railroad Franchise Tax..................... 54:29A-1 et seq.
Railroad Property Tax....................... 54:29A-1 et seq.

Realty Transfer Fee.................................. 46:15-5 et seq.

Recycling Tax........................................13:1E-96 et seq.

Sales and Use Tax................................. 54:32B-1 et seq.

Spill Compensation And 
Control Tax.........................................58:10-23.11 et seq.

Sports and Entertainment 
Facility Tax...........................................34:1B-193 et seq.

Tobacco Products Wholesale 
Sales and Use Tax................................... 54:40B-1 to 14

Transfer Inheritance and Estate Taxes:
Transfer Inheritance............................. 54:33-1 et seq.
Estate................................................... 54:38-1 et seq.

Uniform Transitional Utility 
Assessment........................................ 54:30A-114 et seq.

Statutory Responsibilities
Responsibilities of the Division of Taxation arise under the following statutory provisions:

Tax	 N.J.S.A. Citation	 Tax	 N.J.S.A. Citation
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Homestead Benefit ..........................54:4-8.57 et seq



Admissions Surcharge 

Description

Municipalities are authorized under 
P.L. 2007, C. 302 (as amended by P.L.
2013, C. 84), to adopt an ordinance
imposing a surcharge on admission
charges to a major place of amusement
located in the municipality. The
surcharge is to be paid by customers
and may be imposed only on
admissions to places of amusement at
which admission charges are regularly
paid and that contain fixed seats or
bleacher capacity for no fewer than
10,000 patrons.

The surcharge may not be imposed at 
major places of amusement owned by 
or located on property that is owned by 
the State or an independent State 
authority, or at motion picture 
theaters or amusement parks. 

Rate 

The surcharge is an amount up to 5% of 
any admission charge that is taxable 
under the Sales and Use Tax Act. The 
surcharge must be separately stated on 
any bill or receipt provided to the 
customer and is not to be added to the 
price on which Sales Tax is imposed 

Disposition of Revenues 

The Division of Taxation collects the 
revenue. The Treasurer certifies the 
revenue, and it is distributed to each 
municipality from which it is collected.

Type of Beverage       Rate per Gallon 
Beer .............................................................. $0.12 
Liquor ........................................................... $5.50 
Still Wine, Vermouth, Sparkling Wine ....... $0.875 
Hard Apple Ciders: 
3.2% –7% alcohol by volume ................  $0.15 
Over 7% alcohol by volume ...................  $0.70 

Disposition of Revenues 

The State deposits the revenue in the 
Treasury for general use, except for 
$11 million that is deposited annually 
since  July 1, 1992, into the Alcohol 
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The revenue, if any, received by a 
municipality shall be appropriated as a 
special item of local revenue subject to 
approval by the Division of Local 
Government Services in the 
Department of Community Affairs and 
shall be offset by a municipal 
appropriation of an equal amount for 
public safety purposes. 

Alcoholic Beverage Tax

Description
The Alcoholic Beverage Tax is applied 
to the first sale or delivery of alcohol to 
retailers in New Jersey and is based on 
the number of gallons sold or otherwise 
disposed of in the State. 
The tax is collected from licensed 
manufacturers, wholesalers, State 
beverage distributors, breweries, 
wineries and distilleries. Sales to 
organizations of armed forces 
personnel are exempt; so are sales for 
medicinal, dental, industrial, and other 
non-beverage uses. 

Rate



Education, Rehabilitation and Enforce- 
ment Fund. A small percentage also 
goes to the New Jersey Wine 
Promotion Account. 

Atlantic City Casino 

Taxes and Fees 

Description 

P.L. 2003, C. 116, imposed various
taxes and fees on: the value of rooms,
food, beverages, or entertainment given
away for free or at a reduced price as a
“complimentary;” multi-casino
progressive slot machine revenue; the
adjusted net income of casino licensees;
casino hotel room occupancies; and
casino hotel parking.

P.L. 2004, C. 128, provided for the
gradual phase-out of the tax on the
above casino “complimentaries” until
the tax expired on June 30, 2009. It also
transferred from the Division of
Taxation to the Casino Control
Commission the responsibility for
administering the Casino Compli-
mentaries Tax, the Casino Adjusted Net
Income Tax, the Multi-Casino Slot
Machine Revenue Tax, the Casino
Parking Fee, and the $3 Casino Hotel 
Room Occupancy Fee.

The Division of Taxation no longer 
collected these taxes and fees effective 
September 2004.

P.L. 2011, C. 19, returned
administration and collection
responsibilities for several taxes and
fees that had previously been
administered and collected by the New
Jersey Casino Control Commission to
the Division of Taxation. These include
the Gross Revenue Tax, the Casino
Hotel Room Occupancy Fee, and the
Multi-Casino Slot Machine Revenue
Tax.

Rate 

Taxes and fees are assessed at the 
following rates:  

• 8% on multi-casino progressive 
slot machine revenue;
• 8% on the gross revenue of casino 
licensees;
• $3-per-day fee on each hotel 
room occupied by a guest in a casino 
hotel;
• $3-per-day minimum
casino  hotel parking charge;

 25% on expired gaming-related
obligations.

Disposition of Revenues 

The Atlantic City Casino Taxes and 
Fees are deposited into the Casino 
Revenue Fund, and certain revenues 
from the Casino Parking and Casino 
Hotel Room Occupancy Fees are 
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Jersey rate (excluding the State 
Occupancy Fee) may not exceed 13%. 

On January 1, 2018, the law reduced the 
combined rate for sales subject to both 
Sales Tax and the Atlantic City Luxury 
Tax  from 12.875% to 12.625% (9% 
Atlantic City Luxury Tax and 3.625% 
Sales  Tax). The following rules apply:

Alcoholic beverages that are sold by the 
drink – including bottles of beer and 
wine consumed on the premises – are 
taxable at 9.625% (3% Atlantic City 
Luxury Tax and 6.625% Sales  Tax).

Sales that are subject to both taxes, other 
than alcoholic beverages sold by the 
drink, are taxed at 12.625%. Packaged 
goods are taxed at 6.625%.

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are forwarded to the Casino 
Reinvestment Development Authority. 

Atlantic City Tourism 

Promotion Fee 

Description

Municipalities with convention center 
facilities supported by a local retail 
Sales Tax are authorized under P.L. 
1991, C. 376 (as amended by P.L. 2011, 
C. 18 and P.L. 2012, C. 34), to collect
fees for the promotion of tourism,
conventions, resorts, and casino gaming.
Atlantic City is the only city that
qualifies under the law. The fee is
payable by all hotels, motels, and
rooming houses. For filing purposes,
the tourism promotional26

allocated to the Casino Reinvestment 
Development Authority (CRDA).  

All revenues from the Multi-Casino Slot 
Machine Revenue Tax, the Gross Rev-
enue Tax, and the tax levied on expired 
gaming-related obligations are 
deposited into the Casino Revenue 
Fund. Revenues from the $3 Casino 
Parking Fee are allocated to the Casino 
Revenue Fund ($0.50) and the CRDA 
($2.50). Revenues from the $3 
Casino Hotel Room Occupancy Fee 
are allocated to the Casino Revenue 
Fund ($2) and the CRDA ($1). 

Atlantic City 

Luxury Sales Tax

Description

The Atlantic City Luxury Sales Tax 
applies to the receipts from specified 
retail sales within Atlantic City, 
including sales of alcoholic beverages 
for on-premises consumption; cover, 
minimum, or entertainment charges; 
room rental in hotels, inns, rooming, or 
boarding houses; hiring of rolling chairs, 
beach chairs, and cabanas; and tickets of 
admission within Atlantic City.  Casual 
sales, sales to New Jersey or its 
political subdivisions, sales exempt 
under federal law, and sales by a church 
or nonprofit charity are exempt. 

Rate 
The rate is 3% on sales of alcoholic 
beverages sold by the drink and 9% on 
other taxable sales. The State Sales Tax 
rate is reduced to the extent that the city 
rate exceeds 6%, and the maximum 
combined Atlantic City rate and New



fee is reported and paid by the taxpayer 
on the Combined Atlantic City Luxury 
Tax/State Sales Tax Return. 

Rate 

The rate is $2 per day for each occupied 
room in the case of hotels that provide 
casino gambling and $1 per day for each 
occupied room in other hotels. The fee 
also applies to “no charge” occupancies. 

Disposition of Revenues 

Fees are collected by the Director, 
certified to the State Treasurer, and 
distributed to the Casino Reinvestment 
Development Authority.  

Cape May County Tourism 

Sales Tax  

Description

The Tourism Improvement and 
Development District Act, P.L. 1992, C. 
165, authorized municipalities in Cape 
May County to require certain 
businesses to collect an additional 2% 
retail Sales Tax on tourism-related retail 
sales and/or pay a Tourism 
Development Fee. At present, 
businesses in Wildwood, North 
Wildwood, and Wildwood Crest are 
affected. 

Tourism-related sales include the 
following items (if taxable under the 
Sales and Use Tax Act): room rental 

in hotels, motels, or boarding houses; 
food and drink sold by restaurants, 
taverns, and similar establishments, or 
by caterers (but not including vending 
machine sales); and admission 
charges to amusements (amusement 
rides, movie theaters, sporting, 
drama, or musical events) and cover 
charges in nightclubs and cabarets. 

Rate 

The rate is 2% on tourism-related retail 
sales. The tax is in addition to the  
State Sales Tax. Thus, sales subject to 
the Cape May Tourism and the State 
Sales Tax are taxable at 9%.  
“The Phase 2 Tourism Funding Act” 
imposes a 1.85% Tourism Assessment 
on the rent for any occupancy of a room 
in a hotel, motel, or other transient 
accommodation. The assessment is 
effective on or after April 1, 2003. 

Effective January 1, 2018, businesses in 
Wildwood, North Wildwood, and 
Wildwood Crest collect a 2% Cape May 
Tourism Tax and a 6.625% New Jersey 
Sales Tax on tourism-related sales. 
(Combined rate, 8.625%) This is in 
addition to the 1.85% Tourism 
Assessment and the 3.15% State 
Occupancy Fee on hotel occupancies.

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are collected by the State 
Treasurer and are placed in a special 
reserve fund to pay principal and 
interest on bonds and notes issued by the 
tourism authority for tourism promotion 
projects and activities.  
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The 1.85% Tourism Assessment is 
administered by the Division of Tax- 
ation, and revenues collected are 
deposited in a tourism assessment fund. 

Cigarette Tax 

Description

The Cigarette Tax is collected primarily 
from licensed distributors who receive 
cigarettes directly from out-of-state 
manufacturers. Unless otherwise 
provided by law, every package of 
cigarettes must be stamped before 
being transferred from the original 
acquirer in New Jersey. This tax is not 
imposed on other tobacco products. 
Sales to the United States 
Government or the Veterans 
Administration, and sales in interstate 
commerce are exempt. 

Rate 

The rate is $2.70 per pack of 20 
cigarettes and $3.375 per pack of 25 
cigarettes effective July 1, 2009.  
A distributor is allowed a 0.00174757% 
discount on the purchase of 1,000 or 
more stamps or meter impressions. 

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited in the State 
Treasury for general State use. Pursuant 
to P.L. 2009, C. 70, initial collections 
of $391.5 million are deposited in 
the Health Care Subsidy Fund. 

Controlling Interest
Transfer Tax 

Description

P.L. 2006, C. 33, imposes a Controlling
Interest Transfer Tax on certain
transfers of a controlling interest in an
entity possessing Class 4A commercial
real property. Class 4A commercial
properties are income-producing real
property other than property classified
as vacant land, residential property,
farm property, industrial properties, and
apartments. The sale or transfer of a
controlling interest subject to taxation
may occur in one transaction or in a
series of transactions.

Rate 

The Controlling Interest Transfer Tax is 
imposed at the rate of 1%. There are two 
different methods for calculating the 
tax: 

• If consideration in excess of $1 million
is paid for the controlling interest and
the entity owning the subject
commercial real property owns only the
subject real property, the tax to be paid
by the purchaser is 1% of the entire
amount paid on the sale or
Transfer.

• If the entity owning the subject
commercial real property also owns an
interest in other property, real or
personal, tax is paid on the sale or
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transfer of the controlling interest only 
if the equalized assessed value of the 
subject real property exceeds $1 
million. The tax to be paid by the 
purchaser is 1% of that percentage of the 
equalized assessed value that equals the 
percentage of the ownership interest 
transferred. 

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited in the State 
Treasury for general State use. 

Corporation Business Tax 

Description

The Corporation Business Tax Act 
imposes a franchise tax on a domestic 
corporation for the privilege of existing 
as a corporation under New Jersey law, 
and on a foreign corporation for the 
privilege of having or exercising its 
corporate charter in this State or doing 
business, employing or owning capital 
or property, maintaining an office, 
deriving receipts, or engaging in 
contracts in New Jersey.  

The tax applies to all domestic 
corporations and all foreign 
corporations having a taxable status 
unless specifically exempt. The tax also 
applies to joint-stock companies or 
associations, business trusts, limited 
partnership associations, financial 
business corporations, and banking 
corporations, including national banks. 

Also, a corporation is defined as any 
other entity classified as a corporation 
for federal income tax purposes and any 
State or federally chartered building 
and loan association or savings and 
loan association. 

Taxpayers must pay the greater of their 
liability under the Net Income Tax or the 
alternative minimum assessment. The 
income-based tax is measured by that 
portion of the net income allocable to 
New Jersey.  

The tax applies to net income for the 
firm’s accounting period (calendar year 
or fiscal year), or any part thereof during 
which the corporation has a taxable 
status within New Jersey. The 
alternative minimum assessment is 
based on apportioned gross receipts or 
gross profits. 
Exempt from the tax are certain 
agricultural cooperative associations; 
federal corporations that are exempt 
from state taxation; corporations 
created under the limited-dividend 
housing corporation law; nonprofit 
cemetery corporations; nonprofit 
corporations without capital stock; 
nonstock mutual housing corporations; 
railroad and canal corporations; 
sewerage and water corporations; 
insurance companies subject to 
premiums tax; and certain municipal 
electric corporations. 

Rate 

The rate is 9% on entire net income, or 
the portion of entire net income 
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allocated to New Jersey. For 
corporations with entire net income 
greater than $50,000 and less than or 
equal to $100,000, the rate is 7.5%; and 
for corporations with entire net income 
of $50,000 or less, the rate is 6.5%. 

For periods ending on or after July 1, 
2007, the rate is 0% for New Jersey S 
corporations with entire net income that 
is not subject to federal income taxation, 
as allocable to New Jersey. However, 
New Jersey S corporations remain 
subject to the minimum tax.  

For calendar years beginning in 2006 
and thereafter (privilege periods 
beginning in 2006 through 2011 for 
New Jersey S corporations), the 
minimum tax is based on New Jersey 
gross receipts as follows:  

New Jersey Gross Receipts  Minimum Tax* 
Less than $100,000   $ 500 
$100,000 or more,  
but less than $250,000  750 
$250,000 or more,  
but less than $500,000   1,000 
$500,000 or more,  
but less than $1,000,000    1,500 
$1,000,000 or more   2,000 

*The minimum tax for affiliated or
controlled groups is $2,000 for each
member of a group that has a total
payroll of $5,000,000 or more for a
privilege period.

For privilege periods beginning in 2012 
and thereafter, the minimum tax for 
New Jersey S corporations is based on 
New Jersey gross receipts as follows: 

New Jersey Gross Receipts Minimum Tax*
Less than $100,000  $ 375 
$100,000 or more, 
but less than $250,000  562
$250,000 or more, 
but less than $500,000  750 
$500,000 or more, 
but less than $1,000,000  1,125 
$1,000,000 or more  1,500 

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues collected from general 
business corporations are deposited in 
the State Treasury for general State use. 
Revenues collected from banking and 
financial corporations are distributed 
25% to counties, 25% to municipalities, 
and 50% to the State.  

Article 8, Section 2, paragraph 6 of the 
State Constitution was amended to 
dedicate 4% of Corporation Business 
Tax revenue to fund hazardous 
discharge cleanup, underground storage 
tank improvements, and surface water 
quality projects.  

Chapter 40, P.L. 2002, Section 32 
created within the General Fund a 
restricted reserve fund to be known as 
the “Corporation Business Tax Excess 
Revenue Fund 
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*The minimum tax for affiliated or
controlled groups is $2,000 for each
member of a group that has a total
payroll of $5,000,000 or more for a
privilege period.



History

Corporation Business Taxes date back 
to 1884, when a Franchise Tax was 
imposed on all domestic corporations. 
Between 1884 and 1946, the Franchise 
Tax was based on the total amount of 
capital stock issued by the taxpayer and 
outstanding as of January 1 of each year 
(C. 159, P.L. 1884). 

There was no Franchise Tax on foreign 
corporations prior to 1936, when 
provision was made for an annual tax 
(C. 264, P.L. 1936). This tax was 
replaced in 1937 (C. 25, P.L. 1937) 
with a new Franchise Tax providing 
for allocation of capital stock of foreign 
corporations.  

Effective January 1, 1946 (C. 162, P.L. 
1945), the tax became a Net Worth Tax 
applicable to both domestic and foreign 
corporations and measured by net worth 
allocated to New Jersey. Allocation was 
measured by the greater of an assets 
factor or a three-part business factor 
(property, sales, and payroll).  
Chapter 88, Laws of 1954, increased the 
tax on allocable net worth from 8⁄10 
mills per $1 to 2 mills per $1. 

Chapter 63, Laws of 1958, amended the 
Corporation Business Tax Act by 
adding a tax at 1¾% based on allocated 
net income to the tax based on allocated 
net worth. The 1958 amendment also 
changed the tax year from a calendar 
year for all corporations to a privilege 
period coinciding with the accounting 
year for each taxpayer.  

In 1975, the Corporation Business Tax 
was imposed on banking corporations 
and incorporated financial businesses.  

In 1982, there was enacted into law a 
measure phasing out the Corporation 
Business Tax on net worth. The tax was 
phased out at 25% per year over a four-
year period with taxpayers whose 
accounting or privilege periods began 
on or after April 1, 1983 (C. 55, P.L. 
1982). The Net Worth Tax has been 
eliminated for periods beginning after 
June 30, 1986. 

Net Income Tax rates have changed as 
follows:  
Effective Date   Rate 
January 1, 1959  
(C. 63, P.L. 1958)  1¾% 
January 1, 1967  
(C. 134, P.L. 1966) 3¼ 
January 1, 1968 
(C. 112, P.L. 1968) 4¼ 
January 1, 1972  
(C. 25, P.L. 1972)  5½ 
January 1, 1975  
(C. 162, P.L. 1975) 7½ 
January 1, 1980  
(C. 280, P.L. 1980) 9 

For tax years ending after June 30, 1984, 
a carryover of net operating loss was 
allowed as a deduction from entire net 
income for seven years following the 
year of the loss (C. 143, P.L.1985). 

A surtax of 0.417% was invoked for 
privilege periods ending between July 1, 
1990, and June 30, 1991; and 0.375% 
for privilege periods ending between 
July 1, 1989, and June 30, 1990, and 
July 1, 1991, through June 30, 1993. The 
0.375% surtax on corporate net income 
was repealed effective January 1, 1994. 
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The surtax had been scheduled to end 
July 1, 1994 (C. 3, P.L. 1994). 

A new jobs investment tax credit, 
enacted in 1993 (C. 170), allows 
corporations to take a credit against 
Corporation Business Tax and Property 
Taxes for qualified investments in new 
or expanded business facilities resulting 
in new jobs in the State. The credit 
against Corporation Business Tax is for 
up to 50% of the portion of the tax that 
results from investment in new or 
expanded facilities.  

The credit was extended to midsize 
businesses by P.L. 2002, C. 40. P.L. 
1993, C. 171, allows for a credit against 
Corporation Business Tax for 
investment in qualified equipment. The 
credit is 2% of the cost of qualified 
machinery purchased (the investment 
credit base).  

Taxpayers taking the 2% equipment 
credit may also take an employment 
credit of $1,000 per new employee (up 
to a maximum of 3% of the investment 
credit base). A small business benefit 
was added by P.L. 2004, C. 65. Chapter 
175, P.L. 1993, allows for a credit 
for increased research activities.

Two changes in 1993 brought New 
Jersey Corporation Tax law into closer 
alignment with federal corporation tax 
law. Chapter 172 allows corporations to 
use the federal modified accelerated cost 
recovery system for depreciation of 
property under the New Jersey 

Corporation Business Tax for property 
placed in service for accounting years 
beginning after July 7, 1993.  

Chapter 173 allows, for the first time, an 
S election to be made under New Jersey 
law. As noted above, a New Jersey S 
corporation pays a reduced tax rate on 
that portion of entire net income not 
subject to federal corporate income tax. 
The shareholder is taxed on net pro rata 
share of S corporation income under the 
Gross Income Tax. 

The allocation formula for multistate 
corporations was changed in 1995. 
Under prior law, multistate corporation 
income was allocated to New Jersey 
based on equally weighted New Jersey 
property, payroll, and sales compared to 
total property, payroll, and sales. The 
new formula counts sales twice, so that 
sales account for half the allocation 
formula (C. 245, P.L. 1995). 

The Legislature continued to provide 
additional tax benefits for Corporation 
Business taxpayers. These include a tax 
benefit certificate transfer program 
to assist certain emerging companies 
(C. 334, P.L. 1997), later modified by 
P.L. 1999, C. 140 and P.L. 2004, C. 65, 
and supplemented by a credit transfer 
program P.L. 2004, C. 65, the Small 
New Jersey Based High Technology 
Business Investment Tax Credit Act 
(C. 349, P.L. 1997), the carryforward 
of net operating losses under the 
Corporation Business Tax for certain 
taxpayers (C. 350, P.L. 1997), the 
extension of the carry-forward of the
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research and development tax credit (C. 
351, P.L. 1997), and the Neighborhood 
and Business Child Care Tax Incentive 
program (C. 102, P.L. 1999). 

Other credits against Corporate 
Business Tax liability have also been 
enacted for effluent equipment (P.L. 
2001, C. 321), neighborhood 
revitalization (P.L. 2001, C. 415), HMO 
credit (P.L. 2000, C. 12), the economic 
recovery tax credit (P.L. 2002, C. 43), 
and the remediation tax credit (P.L. 
2003, C. 296).  

Electric utilities and telephone 
companies were subjected to the 
Corporation Business Tax effective 
January 1, 1999.  

Chapter 369, P.L. 1999, excludes certain 
hedge fund activity income of 
corporations of foreign nations from 
taxation under the Corporation Business 
Tax. 

Chapter 12, P.L. 2000, provides that 
holders and former holders of a 
certificate of authority to operate a 
health maintenance organization are 
allowed a Corporation Business Tax 
credit for certain payments they are 
required to make. 

Chapter 23, P.L. 2001, provided for a 
three-year phase-out of the corporate 
taxation of the regular income of S 
corporations with annual income of 
more than $100,000, and for S 
corporations with net income under 
$100,000 whose privilege periods end 

on or after July 1, 2001. Also, the bill 
provides for the adjusted minimum tax 
amount to be rounded to the next highest 
multiple of $10. 

Chapter 136, P.L. 2001, provides for the 
Corporation Business Tax payment 
obligations of certain partnerships and 
limited liability companies for privilege 
periods beginning on and after January 
1, 2001.  

Chapter 40, P.L. 2002, effects the most 
extensive changes in the Corporation 
Business Tax since 1945. This law pro-
vides for a partnership filing fee, an 
alternative minimum assessment, 
nonresident partner withholding, a 
“throwout rule” on corporations 
apportioning income outside New 
Jersey, and new rules for related-party 
transactions.  
It also increases the minimum tax and 
broadens the definition of corporations 
that are subject to this tax. 

Chapter 43, P.L. 2002, includes some 
provisions for incentives in the form of 
Corporation Business Tax credits to 
qualifying taxpayers engaged in a 
business in the qualified municipality 
during the municipality’s “period of 
rehabilitation and economic recovery.”  

P.L. 2004, C. 47, limited the
Corporation Business Tax application of
net operating losses to 50% of taxable
income for Tax Years 2004 and 2005.

P.L. 2004, C. 65, decoupled Corporation
Business Tax from changes in federal
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bonus depreciation and certain 
expensing principles under IRC Section 
179.  

P.L. 2005, C. 127, uncoupled
Corporation Business Tax from many
provisions of the IRC Section 199
deduction for certain qualified
production activities income.

P.L. 2005, C. 318, allows Corporation
Business Tax credit to businesses
providing employment to qualified
handicapped persons at sheltered
workshops.

P.L. 2005, C. 345, provides a credit
under the Corporation Business Tax for
film production expenses incurred in
New Jersey and allows for the transfer
of those tax credits to other taxpayers.
P.L. 2006, C. 38, imposed a 4%
surcharge on the Corporation Business
Tax liability and increases the minimum
tax. The surcharge was in effect between
July 1, 2006, and June 30, 2010.

P.L. 2007, C. 89, increased the amount
of State tax credits granted to businesses
providing funding to qualified
neighborhood revitalization projects.

P.L. 2007, C. 257, established a
Corporation Business Tax credit for
20% of the expenses of producing
certain digital media content in New
Jersey.

P.L. 2007, C. 346, provides that a
business that makes $75 million of
qualified capital investment in a

business facility in an urban transit hub 
and employs at least 250 full-time 
employees at that facility may qualify 
for tax credits equal to 100% of the 
qualified capital investment.  

P.L. 2008, C. 102, provides that a net
operating loss for any privilege period
ending after June 30, 2009, shall be a net
operating loss carryover for each of the
20 privilege periods following the
period of the loss. This 20-year car-
ryover applies only to net operating
losses accruing for privilege periods
ending after June 30, 2009.

P.L. 2008, C. 120, applicable to
privilege periods beginning on or after
July 1, 2010, eliminated the throw-out
provision of the apportionment formula
for Corporation Business Tax and
removes the “regular place of business”
requirement for allocation of income.

P.L. 2009, C. 72, provided a one-year
extension of the 4% surcharge on
Corporation Business Tax liability and
decoupled Corporation Business Tax
from federal Internal Revenue Code
deferral of certain discharge of
indebtedness income.

P.L. 2009, C. 90, provides that a
business that makes $50 million of
qualified capital investment in a
business facility in an urban transit hub
and, with at most three tenants, employs
at least 250 full-time employees at that
facility may qualify for tax credits equal
to 100% of the qualified capital
investment.
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P.L. 2009, C. 120, extended the
Neighborhood Revitalization State Tax
Credit program eligibility to areas that
are adjacent to current qualifying
neighborhoods and that share similar
socioeconomic characteristics with
those eligible neighborhoods.

P.L. 2010, C. 20, temporarily reduced
the annual cap imposed on the
Corporation Business Tax benefit cer-
tificate transfer program available to
certain technology and biotechnology
companies, temporarily suspended the
tax credits provided for qualified film
and qualified digital media content
production expenses, proportionally
reduces the current set-aside for
innovation zone-located companies
under the program, and requires the
State Treasurer to make and file a report
regarding the effectiveness of the
transfer program and the ability of the
tax credits to meet their statutory goals
and objectives.

P.L. 2010, C. 57, created the Offshore
Wind Economic Development Act,
established an offshore wind renewable
energy certificate program, and
authorizes the Economic Development
Authority (EDA) to provide tax credits
for qualified wind energy facilities in
wind energy zones.

P.L. 2011, C. 30, provided for the
creation of benefit corporations, the
purpose of which is to create a “general
public benefit.”

P.L. 2011, C. 59, modified the formula

used to determine the portion of the 
income of a corporation subject to tax by 
New Jersey from a three-factor formula 
to a single-factor (sales) formula and 
established a specialized sales fraction 
formula for airlines that are subject to 
taxation. This change was phased in 
over three years.
 
P.L. 2011, C. 83, removed the limitation 
on the application of the research and 
development tax credit to 50% of the 
liability otherwise due.

P.L. 2011, C. 84, decreased the 
minimum Corporation Business Tax on 
certain New Jersey subchapter S 
corporations by 25%.

P.L. 2011, C. 149, established the Grow 
New Jersey Assistance program to 
encourage businesses to engage in 
economic development, job creation, 
and the preservation of existing jobs 
within New Jersey. The new law 
establishes a $200 million tax credit 
incentive program that emphasizes 
growth of New Jersey-based companies 
through capital investment, creation of 
new jobs, and retention of existing jobs.

P.L. 2012, C. 35, amended the Urban 
Transit Hub Tax Credit Act to increase 
the cap on the total amount of tax 
credits authorized under the Act, and 
extended the application deadline to 
maintain consistency with the 
Grow NJ Assistance Act, except that 
the deadline for applications for tax 
credits for wind energy facilities 
established under P.L. 2010, C. 57 
(C. 34:1B-209.4) is not extended.
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P.L. 2013, C. 14, the New Jersey Angel 
Investor Tax Credit Act, revived the 
expired Small New Jersey-Based High 
Technology Business Investment Tax 
Credit by establishing a Corporation 
Business Tax credit for entities 
investing in New Jersey emerging 
technology businesses.

P.L. 2013, C. 98, prohibits the 
imposition of Corporation Business Tax 
on certain foreign corporations that 
carry passengers into the State in a 
motor vehicle or motorbus and return 
those passengers to a location outside 
the State.

P.L. 2013, C. 161, the New Jersey 
Economic Opportunity Act of 2013, 
merged five current incentive programs 
into two: the Grow New Jersey 
Assistance program (GROW NJ) and 
the Economic Redevelopment and 
Growth Grant program (ERGG). 
GROW NJ is the State’s job creation 
and retention incentive program that 
offers transferable tax credits. ERGG, 
which is the State’s incentive program 
for developers, grants tax benefits based 
on annual incremental State and local 
taxes.

P.L. 2014, C. 13, revised the definition 
of operational income in response to the 
Tax Court’s decision in McKesson 
Water Products Co. v. Director, Div. of 
Taxation, 200 N.J. 506 (N.J. 2009). 
Previously, operational income was 
defined as income from real or tangible 
property if the acquisition, management, 
and disposition of the property

constitute integral parts of the 
taxpayer’s trade or business operations. 

The Court held that all three factors 
must be satisfied in order for income to 
be deemed operational. Under the new 
law, income will meet the definition of  
operational income as long as any one of 
the three factors (acquisition, 
management, or disposition of the 
property) is an integral part of the 
taxpayer’s regular trade or business 
operations.  

The new law also provides Corporation 
Business Tax parity with the federal tax 
treatment of net operating losses 
(NOLs) when an entity receives dis-
charge of indebtedness in certain 
circumstances. 

Installment Payments
of Estimated Tax

Taxpayers are required to make 
installment payments of estimated tax. 
The requirement for making these 
payments is based on the amount of the 
total tax liability shown on the most 
recent return. 

(a) If the total tax liability is $500 or
more, the taxpayer must make
installment payments. These
payments are due on or before the
15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th, and
12th month of the tax year.

(b) If the total tax liability is less than
$500, installment payments may
be made as shown in (a) above or,
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in lieu of making installment 
payments, the taxpayer may   make 
a payment of 50% of the total tax 
liability. 

The Business Tax Reform Act (C. 40, 
P.L. 2002) provides for two significant
changes regarding corporate estimated
tax. First, for the tax year beginning on
or after January 1, 2002, all corporations
must base their fourth quarter payment
on 25% of the actual 2002 tax calculated
under the changes to avoid penalty.

This one-time change supersedes the 
prior rules for estimated returns. The 
fourth quarter payment must be 25% of 
the year 2002 liability even if the 
corporation may have already satisfied 
all or substantially all of its year 2002 
Corporation Tax liability through prior 
years’ overpayments or quarterly 
estimated payments in the first three 
quarters. The corporation must 
nonetheless remit 25% of the year 2002 
tax to avoid penalties. 

Secondly, for large corporations with 
sales of over $50 million, beginning 
with the year 2003, the second and third 
quarter payments, normally due on the 
15th day of the 6th and 9th months, will 
be combined into a single 50% payment 
due on the 15th day of the 6th month.  

No payments will be due for such 
corporations on the 15th day of the 9th 
month, and normal 25% payments will 
be due in the 4th and 12th months. 

Partnerships 

Chapter 40, P.L. 2002, established a 
$150 per partner filing fee for 
partnerships, LLPs, and LLCs deriving 
income from New Jersey sources. In 
general, the $150 per partner fee is based 
on the number of K-1s issued. 
 
For professional service corporations, 
the $150 fee applies for each registered 
professional who owns or is employed 
by the enterprise and is calculated using 
a quarterly average. In addition to the 
filing fee for the year, an installment 
payment equal to 50% of the filing fee 
is also required with the New 
Jersey partnership return. The annual 
fee is capped at $250,000. 
New Jersey partnership payments made 
on behalf of out-of-state corporate and 
noncorporate partners are based on 
taxable income, whether the income is 
distributed or undistributed, and are 
designated as a tax at a rate of 9% for 
Non-resident corporate partners and 
6.37% for noncorporate partners. 
Qualified investment partnerships and 
partnerships listed on a U.S. national 
stock exchange are not subject to the tax. 
The calculation is based on the 
partnership’s “entire net income” 
multiplied by the partnership’s New 
Jersey apportionment percentages 
calculated under the Corporation 
Business Tax, not under Gross Income 
Tax. 
Chapter 40, P.L. 2002, subjects savings 
banks and savings and loan associations 
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to the Corporation Business Tax and 
repeals the Savings Institution Tax and 
the Corporation Income Tax.  

Effective beginning with the 2002 Tax 
Year, P.L. 2003, C. 256, exempts 
investment clubs from the $150 per 
owner annual partnership filing fee and 
from the requirement that partnerships 
remit Gross Income Tax payments on 
behalf of their nonresident noncorporate 
partners.

To meet the current definition of 
an  “investment club,” the partnership 
must have income below $35,000 
per individual (up to a total of 
$250,000) and satisfy other limitations 
and criteria. P.L. 2005, C. 288, requires 
partners and other owners of pass-
through entities to credit payments 
made on their behalf against estimated 
taxes to end double withholding.

In addition, for privilege periods 
beginning on or after January 1, 2007, 
partnerships that are required to make 
tax payments on behalf of nonresident 
partners must make installment 
payments of 25% of that tax on or before 
the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, and 9th 
months of the privilege period, and on or 
before the 15th day of the 1st month fol-
lowing the close of the privilege period. 

P.L. 2014, C. 13, clarifies the
circumstances in which the tax paid by a
partnership on behalf of its nonresident
partners may be refunded in response to
the Tax Court decision in BIS LP, Inc. v.
Director, Div. of Taxation, 2014 N.J.
Tax (App. Div. Apr. 11, 2014).

Banking and Financial
Corporations 

Banking and financial corporations are 
subject to the Corporation Business Tax 
at the rate of 9% on net income or to the 
lesser rates stated above if their income 
meets those thresholds.

Chapter 170, P.L. 1975, provided that 
during each of privilege years 1976, 
1977, and 1978, the amount paid by 
each banking corporation as taxes would 
be the greater of (1) the amount that such 
banking corporation paid in Calendar 
Year 1975 as Bank Stock Tax, or (2) a 
sum equal to the total of taxes paid by 
such banking corporation as 
Corporation Business Tax and Business 
Personal Property Tax.  

Formerly, banks were subject to a tax 
of 1.5% on net worth under the Bank 
Stock Tax Act. Bank Stock Tax was 
formerly administered by the 
Division of Taxation and the 21 
separate County Boards of Taxation. 
The Corporate Tax on banks is now 
administered solely by the Division.  

Financial business corporations were 
formerly subject to the Financial 
Business Tax. These included such 
corporations as small loan companies 
and mortgage finance companies that 
are now subject to Corporation 
Business Tax. 

Chapter 171, P.L. 1975, provided that 
during each of the years 1976, 1977, 
and 1978, each financial 
business corporation would pay as 
taxes, the greater of (1) a sum equal to 
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the amount such financial business 
corporation paid under the Financial 
Business Tax Act in the Calendar Year 
1975, or (2) a sum equal to the total of 
the taxes payable by such financial 
business corporation pursuant to the 
Corporation Business Tax Act.

Chapter 40, P.L. 1978, extended the 
save harmless provision through 1979. 
It expired in 1980. As a result of changes 
in the federal and State banking laws, 
interstate banking is now permitted (C. 
17, P.L. 1996). An administrative rule 
adopted by the Division of Taxation 
(N.J.A.C. 18:7-1.14, effective June 16, 
1997) sets forth certain conditions under 
which foreign banks and certain 
domestic banks will be taxed in New 
Jersey. 

 Corporation Business Tax Collections 

     (In Millions) 

Fiscal Year Collections 

2008  70,850,577 

2009 144,741,199 

2010 130,405,775 

2011 118,280,750 

2012 106,378,294 

2013 164,215,968 

2014 185,979,732 

2015 127,231,015 

2016 178,190,722 

2017 200,336,277 

Investment Companies 

A taxpayer qualifying and electing to 
be taxed as an investment company is 
subject to an allocation percentage of 
40% of the net income base. 
Investment companies are subject to a 
minimum tax of $500.  

Regulated Investment Company means 
any corporation that, for a period 
covered by its reports, is registered and 
regulated under the Investment 
Company Act of 1940 (54 Stat. 789), as 
amended.  

The Corporation Business Tax on 
regulated investment companies was 
eliminated (P.L. 1983, C. 75) on Febru-
ary 24, 1983. Regulated investment 
companies in New Jersey were 
formerly taxed on both entire net worth 
and entire net income. These taxes 
were eliminated and a flat tax of $500 
per year was imposed.  

For privilege periods beginning in 
Calendar Year 2012 and thereafter, 
regulated investment companies are 
subject to the same minimum tax on 
gross receipts as C corporations. 

Real estate investment trusts qualifying 
and electing to be taxed as such under 

Banking and Financial 
Corporations 

’
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federal law are taxed at 4% of entire net 
income. 

Allocation Factor 

A taxpayer’s tax liability is measured 
by net income allocated to New Jersey. 
For privilege periods beginning prior to 
January 1, 2012, this amount was 
determined according to a three-
fraction formula based on an average of 
property, payroll, and sales, which was 
counted twice. The factor was 
calculated by adding the percentage of 
the property and payroll fractions, and a 
fraction representing two times the 
sales receipts, and dividing the total by 
four.  

A single-fraction (sales) formula 
replaced the three-fraction formula. 
This change was phased in over a  
period of three years.  

For privilege periods beginning on or 
after January 1, 2012, but before 
January 1, 2013, the sales fraction 
accounted for 70% of the allocation, 
and the property and payroll fractions 
each accounted for 15% of the 
allocation.  

For privilege periods beginning on or 
after January 1, 2013, but before 
January 1, 2014, the sales fraction 
accounted for 90% of the allocation, and 
the property and payroll fractions each 
accounted for 5% of the allocation.  

For privilege periods beginning on or 
after January 1, 2014, the sales fraction 
accounts for 100% of the allocation. 

For privilege periods beginning on or 
after July 1, 2010, the throwout 
provision of the apportionment formula 
for Corporation Business Tax has been 
eliminated along with the “regular place 
of business” requirement for taxpayers 
to allocate income.  

To allocate less than 100% of income to 
New Jersey, a taxpayer is no longer 
required to show a regular place of 
business exists outside the State. 

The Business Tax Reform Act (P.L. 
2002, C. 40) introduced an alternative 
minimum assessment (AMA) on ap-
portioned gross receipts or gross profits 
of C corporations when the AMA 
exceeds the normal Corporation 
Business Tax. The assessment is based 
on either gross receipts or gross profits, 
with the taxpayer electing which 
formula to use. This formula must also 
be used for the next four tax periods. S 
corporations, professional corporations, 
investment companies, and 
unincorporated businesses are exempt 
from the AMA. The AMA also applies 
to non- New Jersey businesses deriving 
income from New Jersey sources with 
or without physical presence in the State 
that are not currently subject to the 
Corporation Business Tax. 

For privilege periods beginning after 
June 30, 2006, the AMA is $0, except 
for taxpayers claiming exemption under 
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Pub. L. 86-272, for whom the previously 
prescribed rate will continue.  

For privilege periods beginning after 
December 31, 2006, the AMA for 
taxpayers otherwise subject to the AMA 
that consent to jurisdiction and pay the 
Corporation Business Tax is $0.  

The use of net operating losses was 
suspended for Tax Years 2002 and 2003. 
For 2004 and 2005 net operating losses 
were limited to 50% of taxable income. 

Corporation Business Tax Collections 

 (In Millions) 

Fiscal Year  Collections

2008  3,062,378,874 
2009  2,665,161,794 
2010  2,144,566,605 
2011  2,344,428,939 
2012  2,037,103,743 
2013  2,371,400,447 
2014  2,112,908,123 
2015  2,738,758,941 
2016  2,299,017,310 
2017  2,144,029,786

________________________________ 

Cosmetic Medical 

Procedures Gross 

Receipts Tax 

Description

P.L. 2004, C. 53, imposed a gross
receipts tax on the purchase of certain
“cosmetic medical procedures.”
Cosmetic medical procedures are
medical procedures performed in order
to improve the human subject’s
appearance without significantly
serving to prevent or treat illness or
disease or to promote proper functioning
of the body.

The law provides that such procedures 
include, for example, cosmetic surgery, 
hair transplants, cosmetic injections, 
cosmetic soft tissue fillers, 
dermabrasion and chemical peels, laser 
hair removal, laser skin resurfacing, 
laser treatment of leg veins, 
sclerotherapy, and cosmetic dentistry.  

They do not include reconstructive 
surgery or dentistry to correct or 
minimize abnormal structures caused by 
congenital defects, developmental 
abnormalities, trauma, infection, tumors, 
or disease, including procedures 
performed in order to improve function 
or give the person a more normal 
appearance.  

The tax also applies to amounts charged 
for property or facility occupancies, 
such as hospitalization or clinic stays, 
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required for or directly associated with 
the cosmetic medical procedure. 

Rate 

The rate was originally 6% on gross 
receipts from cosmetic medical 
procedures and related property and oc-
cupancies. P.L. 2011, C. 189, phased out 
the tax, reducing the rate to 4% on 
taxable services performed on or after 
July 1, 2012, but before July 1, 2013. 
The rate was further reduced to 2% on 
taxable services performed on or after 
July 1, 2013, but before July 1, 2014. 
For July 1, 2014, and thereafter, no tax 
is imposed. 

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited in the State 
Treasury for general State use. 

Domestic Security Fee 

Description 
A statutory assessment designated as the 
“Domestic Security Fee” is imposed under 
P.L. 2002, C. 34, on motor vehicle rental
companies for each day or part thereof that
a motor vehicle is rented under rental
agreements of not more than 28 days. This
fee applies with respect to rental
agreements in New Jersey entered into on
or after August 1, 2002.

Gross Income Tax 

Description

This graduated tax is levied on gross 
income earned or received after June 
30, 1976, by New Jersey resident and 
nonresident individuals, estates, and 
trusts.

Filing Threshold
For tax years beginning before 
January 1, 1994, filers with incomes 
of $3,000 or less for the entire year 
($1,500 or less for married persons 
filing separately) paid no tax.

Rate 

The fee is assessed at the rate of $5 per 
day on all motor vehicle 
rental companies doing business in 
this State for each rental day a motor 
vehicle is rented under agreements of 
28 days or less. The fee applies only to 
the first 28 days of a rental agreement 
with the same renter. Thus, the 
maximum rental fee in the aggregate is 
$140 even if the actual rental extends 
beyond 28 days. 

Disposition of Revenues 

The fee is paid to the Division 
of Taxation for deposit in the New 
Jersey Domestic Security Account 
established in the General Fund.
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Exemptions For the 1994 to 1998 Tax Years, filers 
with incomes of $7,500 or less for the 
entire year ($3,750 or less for 
married persons filing separately) paid 
no tax.  

The income levels were raised for the 
1999 Tax Year as part of a three-year 
phase-in of higher filing thresholds, and 
filers with incomes of $10,000 or 
less for the entire year ($5,000 or 
less for married persons filing 
separately) paid no tax. For Tax Year 
2000, the filing threshold was 
$10,000 or less for the entire year 
(single filers and estates and trusts), 
$15,000 or less for the entire year 
(married couples filing jointly, 
heads of household, and surviving 
spouses), and $7,500 or less for the 
entire year (married persons filing 
separately).  

For Tax Year 2001 and thereafter, the 
filing threshold is $10,000 or less for the 
entire year (single filers, married 
persons filing separately, and estates and 
trusts), and $20,000 or less for the entire 
year (married couples filing MRLQWO\� 
KHDGV RI KRXVHKROG� DQG VXUYLYLQJ 
VSRXVHV�� (IIHFWLYH IRU WD[ \HDUV 
EHJLQQLQJ RQ RU DIWHU -DQXDU\ �� ����� 
DQ\ UHIHUHQFH WR VSRXVH DOVR UHIHUV WR   ̀
SDUWQHU LQ FLYLO XQLRQ UHFRJQL]HG XQGHU 
1HZ -HUVH\ law. 

• Taxpayer, $1,000;

• Taxpayer’s spouse/civil union partner
or domestic partner who does not file
separately, $1,000;

• Taxpayer 65 years old or more,
additional $1,000; same for spouse/civil
union partner age 65 or older who does
not file separately;

• Blind or totally disabled taxpayer,
additional $1,000; same for blind or
totally disabled spouse/civil union
partner who does not file separately;

• Taxpayer’s dependent, $1,500;

• Taxpayer’s dependent under age 22
and attending college full-time,
additional $1,000;

• Veterans who were honorably
discharged or released under honorable
circumstances, additional $3,000.

Deductions

• Property Tax Deduction (or Credit);

• Qualified conservation contribution;
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• Deduction for eligible taxpayers who
provide primary care medical and/or
dental services at a qualified practice
located in or within five miles of a
Health Enterprise Zone;

• Alternative business calculation
adjustment for taxpayers with business
losses.
Credits 

• Payments of income or wage tax 
imposed by another state (or political 
subdivision) or by the District of 
Columbia, with respect to income 
subject to tax under this Act. This shall 
not exceed the proportion of tax 
otherwise due that the amount of the 
taxpayer’s income subject to tax by the 
other jurisdiction bears to the taxpayer’s 
entire New Jersey income;

• Amounts withheld by an employer 
and payments of estimated tax, 
including any payments made in 
connection with the sale or transfer of 
real property by a nonresident, estate, or 
trust;

• Amounts paid by an S corporation 
on behalf of a nonresident/
nonconsenting shareholder;

• Amounts paid by a partnership on 
behalf of a nonresident partner;

• New Jersey Earned Income Tax 
Credit;

• Excess unemployment insurance,  
disability insurance, and family 
leave insurance contributions 
withheld;

• Property Tax Credit (or Deduction);

• Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit.

Withholding Requirement 

All employers and others who withhold 
New Jersey Income Tax are required to 
file quarterly returns of tax withheld and 
to remit tax on a monthly, quarterly, or 
weekly basis. 

Those with prior year withholdings of 
$10,000 or more are required to remit 
the Income Tax withheld by means of 
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) on or 
before the Wednesday of the week 
following the week containing the 
payday(s) on which taxes were 
withheld. 

Effective for wages paid on and after 
January 1, 2000, certain employers of 
household workers may report and remit 
Gross Income Tax withheld on an 
annual basis. 

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited in the Property 
Tax Relief Fund to be used for the 
purpose of reducing or offsetting 
property taxes. 
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History 

The Gross Income Tax was enacted 
July 8, 1976, retroactive to July 1, 
1976 (C. 47, P.L. 1976. For tax years 
beginning before January 1, 2000, 
pension income for those eligible 
for Social Security by reason of age (62 
years or over or disability was exempt 
as follows: first $10,000 for a married 
couple filing jointly; $5,000 for a 
married person filing separately; and 
$7,500 for a single taxpayer (C. 40, 
P.L. 1977.

Chapter 273, P.L. 1977, extended the 
exclusion allowed for pensions to other 
types of retirement income. The 
exclusion applies to taxpayers who are 
62 years of age or older and whose 
earned income is not more than $3,000. 

An additional exclusion was provided 
for taxpayers age 62 or older who are 
not covered by either Social Security or 
Railroad Retirement benefits. 
Chapter 229, P.L. 1982, increased the 
rate from 2½% to 3½% on amounts in 
excess of $50,000 effective January 
1, 1983. Property Taxes paid on the 

 taxpayer’s homestead became 
deductible from taxable income 
effective for taxes paid after 1984 (C. 
304, P.L. 1985. 

Chapter 219, P.L. 1989, exempted 
pension and annuity income of 
nonresidents from the Gross Income 
Tax. 

The Gross Income Tax Act was 
amended in 1990 to include new 
graduated rates (from 2% to 7%) and 
two new filing statuses (head of 
household and surviving spouse). 

The legislation also increased the 
amount of the exemption for dependents 
from $1,000 to $1,500. In addition to 
these amendments, the legislation 
instituted a new Homestead Rebate 
program and repealed the residential 
Property Tax Deduction and Credit and 
Tenant Credit.  

The legislation extended to heads of 
household and surviving spouses the 
exclusion of up to $7,500 of pension and 
annuity income. These changes took 
effect in 1990, except for the new tax 
rates, which became effective January 1, 
1991 (C. 61, P.L. 1990). 

Chapter 108, P.L. 1993, permitted an 
exemption from an employee’s gross 
income for employer-provided 
commuter transportation benefits. 

State benefits received for a family 
member with a developmental disability 
were removed from the definition of 
income for State tax purposes in 1993 (C. 
98, P.L. 1993). 

Chapter 173, P.L. 1993, included 
subchapter S corporation income in the 
New Jersey Gross Income Tax base, 
effective with tax years beginning after 
July 7, 1993.  
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Chapter 178, P.L. 1993, changed the 
method of calculating the income of 
nonresidents for purposes of New Jersey 
Gross Income Tax. For tax years 
beginning in 1993 and thereafter, a 
nonresident with income from New 
Jersey must calculate Gross Income Tax 
liability as though a resident, and then 
prorate the liability by the proportion of 
New Jersey source income to total 
income. Formerly, the calculation was 
based only on New Jersey source 
income. 

A 5% reduction in the Gross Income 
Tax rates (to 1.9% – 6.650%) was 
enacted for tax year 1994 (C. 2, P.L. 
1994). 

The gross income filing threshold was 
increased to $7,500 from $3,000 for 
individuals, heads of household, 
surviving spouses, married persons 
filing jointly, and estates and trusts 
($3,750 for married persons filing 
separately). (C. 8, P.L. 1994.) 

The State reduced the Gross Income Tax 
rates for Tax Years 1995 and thereafter. 
These rate reductions, combined with 
the 5% rate reductions for all brackets 
enacted as P.L. 1994, C. 2, resulted in 
cumulative decreases from the 1993 Tax 
Year levels of 15%, 7.5%, and 6% for 
certain income brackets (C. 69, P.L. 
1994). 

Gross Income Tax rates were reduced 
again for Tax Years 1996 and thereafter. 
In combination with the prior two rate 
reductions, the cumulative decrease 

from the 1993 Tax Year was 30% for the 
lowest, 15% for the middle, and 9% for 
the highest income brackets. Tax rates 
range from 1.4% to 6.37% (C. 165, P.L. 
1995). 

A Property Tax Deduction/Credit is 
provided on State Income Tax returns 
for resident homeowners and tenants 
who pay Property Taxes, either directly 
or through rent, on their principal 
residence in New Jersey. Benefits were 
phased in over a three-year period, 
beginning with 1996 returns (C. 60, P.L. 
1996). For Tax 

Years 1998 and thereafter, taxpayers 
may take the larger of either a $50 tax 
credit or a deduction of up to $10,000 
for Property Taxes paid. 

Chapter 237, P.L. 1997, exempts New 
Jersey Better Educational Savings Trust 
account earnings and qualified 
distributions. 

Chapter 414, P.L. 1997, exempts 
contributions to medical savings 
accounts that are excludable under 
section 220 of the federal Internal 
Revenue Code, effective for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 1998. 

Chapter 3, P.L. 1998, amended the 
Gross Income Tax Act to adopt the new 
federal exclusions of up to $500,000 in 
gain from the sale of a principal 
residence. 
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Chapter 57, P.L. 1998, provides a Roth 
IRA exclusion from taxable income that 
follows the federal treatment of 
Roth IRAs and certain rollovers to IRAs. 

Chapter 409, P.L. 1998, exempts 
military pensions or military survivors’ 
benefits paid to those 62 years of age or 
older, or disabled under the federal 
Social Security Act, effective beginning 
with Tax Year 1998. 

Chapter 106, P.L. 1998, raised from 
$100 to $400 the threshold at which 
quarterly estimated tax payments are 
required, effective for the 1999 Tax 
Year. 

Effective for the 1999 through 2001 Tax 
Years, certain deductions may be 
available to qualified childcare 
consortium members (C. 102, P.L. 
1999). 

Chapter 116, P.L. 1999, exempts 
qualified distributions from qualified 
State tuition program accounts. 

Chapter 260, P.L. 1999, increased the 
Gross Income Tax filing threshold to 
$10,000 ($5,000 for married persons 
filing separately) for the 1999 Tax Year. 

For married persons filing jointly, heads 
of household, and surviving spouses, the 
threshold increased to $15,000 ($7,500 
for married persons filing separately) for 
Tax Year 2000, and increased to 
$20,000 for Tax Year 2001 and later 
($10,000 for married persons filing 
separately). 

Chapter 94, P.L. 1999, allows certain 
employers of domestic helpers to file the 
withholding tax return annually, instead 
of quarterly or more frequently, for 
wages paid on or after January 1, 2000. 

Chapter 177, P.L. 1999, increased the 
pension exclusion and “other retirement 
income exclusion.” For Tax Year 
2000, the exclusions were $12,500 for a 
married couple filing jointly, $6,250 for 
a married person filing separately, and 
 $9,375 for a single filer, head of 
household, or surviving spouse.  

For Tax Year 2001, the exclusions were 
$15,000, $7,500 and $11,250 
respectively; for Tax Year 2002, the 
amounts were $17,500, $8,750, and 
$13,125. For Tax Year 2003 and later, 
the exclusion amounts are $20,000 for a 
married couple filing jointly, $10,000 
for a married person filing separately, 
and $15,000 for a single filer, head of 
household, or surviving spouse. 

Chapter 222, P.L. 1999, allows self-
employed taxpayers, including more-
than-2% shareholders of S corporations, 
to deduct the cost of health insurance 
for the taxpayer and the taxpayer’s 
spouse and dependents (subject to 
certain limitations) effective for the 
2000 and later Tax Years. 

Beginning with the 2000 Tax Year, C. 
372, P.L. 1999, provides a deduction 
for a qualified conservation 
contribution. 
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Chapter 80, P.L. 2001, established a 
New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit, 
which is a percentage of a person’s 
federal earned income credit. To be 
eligible for the New Jersey credit, a 
person must have had at least one 
“qualifying child” for purposes of the 
federal earned income credit and must 
have had no more than $20,000 in New 
Jersey gross income. 

Chapter 84, P.L. 2001, amended the 
military pension or survivor’s benefit 
exclusion by eliminating the 
requirement that the taxpayer be at least 
62 years old or disabled. 

Under P.L. 2001, C. 93, qualified 
deposits into or withdrawals from an 
“individual development account” 
(established under the New Jersey 
Individual Development Account 
program and 42 U.S.C. s. 604(h) for an 
“eligible individual”), including interest 
earned on such accounts, are exempt 
from Gross Income Tax. 

Effective beginning with the 2002 Tax 
Year, C. 162., P.L. 2001, increased the 
exclusion for commuter transportation 
benefits to $1,200 and authorizes an 
annual inflation adjustment. 

P.L. 2002, C. 40, effective beginning
with the 2002 Tax Year, requires
partnerships to pay a $150 filing fee per
owner (up to $250,000) and a tax
prepayment made on behalf of
nonresident partners.

P.L. 2002, C. 43, effective beginning
with the 2003 Tax Year, created a tax
credit for qualifying first-time
homebuyer-occupants who have
purchased residential property in a
qualifying municipality during the
municipality’s “period of economic
recovery.”

P.L. 2003, C. 9, created an exclusion for
the income of victims who died as a
result of the September 11, 2001,
terrorist attacks. The exclusion applies
for Tax Year 2000 and all later years up
to and including the year of death.

P.L. 2003, C. 246, allows a $1,000
personal exemption for a domestic
partner who does not file separately.

P.L. 2004, C. 40, imposes a tax rate of
8.97% on income over $500,000,
effective beginning with the 2004 Tax
Year.

P.L. 2004, C. 55, requires that
nonresident individuals, estates, or
trusts pay estimated tax on gains from
the sale or transfer of real property in
New Jersey as a condition for recording
the deed. The law is effective for sales
or transfers occurring on and after
August 1, 2004.

Effective with the 2004 Tax Year, 
section 26 of P.L. 2004, C. 65, 
“decouples” the calculation of 
depreciation and section 179 expenses 
from recent federal income tax 
provisions. Under these amendments, 
the expenses must be calculated by 
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applying federal code provisions as they 
were in effect on December 31, 2001 (or 
December 31, 2002, for section 179 
expenses). 

P.L. 2004, C. 139, effective for tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2005,
allows a limited Gross Income
Tax deduction to qualified primary care
physicians and dentists practicing in or
within five miles of a Health Enterprise
Zone.
Effective for tax years beginning on or
after January 1, 2004, C. 63, P.L. 2005,
provides a gross income exclusion for
housing and subsistence allowances
received by members of the active and
reserve components of the U.S. Armed
Forces and by members of the New
Jersey National Guard while on State
active duty.

P.L. 2005, C. 125, authorized a
multistate reciprocal refund set-off
program under which the New Jersey
Division of Taxation may “withhold” a
taxpayer’s Gross Income Tax refund to
forward to another state for an income
tax debt if the other state withholds New
Jersey Gross Income Tax claims from
its personal Income Tax refunds.

P.L. 2005, C. 127, uncoupled New
Jersey Income Tax law from many
provisions of the IRC Section 199
deduction for certain qualified
production activities income.

P.L. 2005, C. 130, limits the pension and
other retirement income exclusions to
taxpayers with gross income of

$100,000 or less, effective for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2005. 

Chapter 210, P.L. 2005, requires 
employers to provide certain employees 
with written notification of the 
availability of both the federal and New 
Jersey Earned Income Tax Credits. 

P.L. 2005, C. 288, requires partners and
other owners of pass-through entities to
credit payments made on their behalf
against estimated taxes to end “double
withholding.”

P.L. 2005, C. 318, allows Gross Income
Tax credits to businesses providing
employment to qualified handicapped
persons at sheltered workshops.

P.L. 2005, C. 345, provides Gross
Income Tax credits for film production
expenses incurred in New Jersey
and provides for the transfer of those tax
credits to other taxpayers.

P.L. 2006, C. 36, authorizes the Director
of the Division of Taxation to permit or
mandate reasonable methods for filing
and paying, which may include
electronic methods of filing and paying.

The law further requires tax 
practitioners who prepared or filed 100 
or more 2005 New Jersey resident 
Income Tax returns to electronically file 
all 2006 New Jersey resident Income 
Tax returns.  

This requirement was extended for Tax 
Year 2007 to preparers who filed 50 or 
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more 2006 Gross Income Tax returns, 
for Tax Years 2008 and 2009 to 
preparers who filed 25 or more Gross 
Income Tax returns for the prior year, 
and for Tax Year 2010 and later to 
preparers who reasonably expect to 
prepare 11 or more individual Gross 
Income Tax returns during the tax year.  

The law imposes a $50 per return 
penalty for noncompliance with this 
mandate, which may be abated, in full or 
in part, at the Director’s discretion. 

P.L. 2006, C. 85, requires any person
(other than a governmental entity, a
homeowner, or a tenant) who maintains
an office or transacts business in New
Jersey to withhold New Jersey Gross
Income Tax at the rate of 7% from
payments made to unregistered,
unincorporated contractors for services
performed in this State.

P.L. 2006, C. 103, establishes the legal
relationship of “civil union” under the
State’s marriage laws. A civil union is
“the legally recognized union of two
eligible individuals of the same sex
established pursuant to this act.”

Parties to a civil union will have the 
same legal benefits, protections, and 
responsibilities as parties to a marriage, 
including those based on tax laws, such 
as those governing Local Property Tax, 
Homestead Benefits, Realty Transfer 

Fees, Gross Income Tax, and Transfer 
Inheritance Taxes. 

P.L. 2007, C. 109, extends the eligibility
of the State Earned Income Tax Credit
to any individual who is eligible for the
federal earned income tax credit and
enhances the benefit amount.

P.L. 2007, C. 114, establishes penalties
for employers who misclassify
construction work employees as
“independent contractors.”

P.L. 2009, C. 69, temporarily adjusted
the New Jersey Gross Income Tax rates
for taxpayers with taxable income
exceeding $400,000 in tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2009,
but before January 1, 2010.

The law provided for adjusted income 
taxation of the following brackets at the 
following rates: over $400,000 but not 
over $500,000 was adjusted from 6.37% 
to 8%; over $500,000 but not over 
$1,000,000 was adjusted from 
8.97% to 10.25%; and over $1,000,000 
was adjusted from 8.97% to 10.75%. 

The law provided that, for the 2009 Tax 
Year, taxpayers who had gross income 
of more than $250,000 and were not (1) 
65 years of age or older or (2) allowed a 
personal exemption as a blind or 
disabled individual, were not eligible for 
the Property Tax Deduction. 

Additionally, the maximum Property 
Tax Deduction was capped at $5,000 for 
taxpayers who had gross income of 
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more than $150,000 but not more than 
$250,000 and were not (1) 65 years of 
age or older or (2) allowed a personal 
exemption as a blind or disabled 
individual. 

The law also provided that, for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2009, 
New Jersey Lottery winnings from 
prizes exceeding $10,000 are taxable for 
New Jersey Gross Income Tax purposes 
and that the New Jersey State Lottery is 
required to withhold Income Tax on 
such taxable winnings at the rate of 3%. 

P.L. 2010, C. 20, temporarily suspended
the tax credits provided for qualified
film and qualified digital media content
production expenses and required the
State Treasurer to make and file a report
regarding the ability of the tax credits to
meet their statutory goals and objectives.

P.L. 2010, C. 27, cut the New Jersey
Earned Income Tax Credit from 25% of
the federal amount to 20% of the federal
amount, effective beginning with the
2010 Tax Year.

P.L. 2011, C. 60, permits taxpayers who
have losses in certain business-related
categories of income to utilize those
losses to calculate an adjustment to their
taxable income (“alternative business
calculation adjustment”), and permits
taxpayers to carry forward unused losses
in those categories for a period of up to
20 years to calculate future adjustments.

P.L. 2013, C. 14, the “New Jersey Angel
Investor Tax Credit Act,” revived the

expired Small New Jersey-Based High 
Technology Business Investment Tax 
Credit by establishing a Gross Income 
Tax credit for individuals investing in 
New Jersey emerging technology 
businesses. 

P.L. 2013, C. 61, expands the
availability of the neighborhood
revitalization State tax credit to include
taxpayers subject to Gross Income Tax.

P.L. 2013, C. 73, clarifies that donors’
contributions to charities are not a factor
in determining where a person is
domiciled for the purpose of defining
tax residency.

P.L. 2013, C. 171, increased
compensation for wrongful
imprisonment and excludes such
compensation from New Jersey gross
income.

P.L. 2015, C. 73, increased the New
Jersey Earned Income
Tax Credit from 20% of the federal
amount to 30% of the federal amount,
effective beginning with the 2015
Tax Year.

P.L. 2016, Chapter 57 makes changes to
various income exclusions, deductions
and credits within the Gross Income Tax
including:

Pension and Other Retirement 

Exclusion – This law increases the 
gross income tax pension and other 
retirement income exclusions for 
qualified taxpayers over a four year 

51



phase-in period. When fully phased in 
for Tax Year 2020, the exclusions will 
be $100,000 for married/civil union 
couples filing jointly, $75,000 for 
individuals, and $50,000 for 
married/civil union partners filing 
separately. 

Earned Income Tax Credit – For tax 
years beginning on or after January 1, 
2016, this law increases the New Jersey 
earned income tax credit (NJ EITC) 
from 30 percent 
to 35 percent, of the allowable federal 
credit. 

Personal Exemptions and Deductions 

– This law establishes a personal
exemption of $3,000 for veterans who
were honorably discharged or released
under honorable circumstances from
active duty in the Armed Forces of the
United States, a reserve component
thereof, or the National Guard of New
Jersey in a federal active duty status, as
defined in N.J.S.38A:1-1. This
exemption is in addition to the $1,000
personal exemption that each taxpayer is
entitled to, and any other additional
exemption for which the veteran is
eligible.

    Gross Income Tax Collections 

(In Billions) 

 Fiscal Year  Collections 

 2008  12,605,545,164  
 2009  10,476,267,266* 
 2010  10,322,942,702* 
 2011  10,617,034,179 
 2012  11,128,418,349 
 2013  12,108,615,149 
 2014  12,311,695,518 
 2015  13,250,001,844 
 2016  13,355,992,259 
 2017  13,959,119,470

*Rates on income over $400,000
temporarily increased from 6.37% –
8.97% to 8% – 10.75% for tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2009,
but before January 1, 2010.
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Hotel/Motel Occupancy Fee/
Municipal Occupancy Tax

Description

P.L. 2003, C. 114, imposes a 
State Occupancy Fee and 
authorizes the imposition of a 
Municipal Occupancy Tax on 
charges for the rental of a room in a 
hotel, motel, or similar facility in 
most New Jersey municipalities.

Rate 

The State Occupancy Fee rate is 7% 
for occupancies from August 1, 
2003, through June 30, 2004, and 5% 
for occu-pancies on and after July 1, 
2004, or at a lower rate in cities in 
which such occupancies are already 
subject to tax:  
Atlantic City — 1%  
Newark and Jersey City — 1%  
The Wildwoods — 3.15%  

The majority of the municipalities that 
have enacted a Municipal Occupancy 
Tax have authorized the tax rate to 
increase to 3% as of July 1, 2004; 
however, Cape May City (Cape May 
County), Glassboro Borough (Glou-
cester County, Berkeley Township 
(Ocean County), and Somers Point City 
(Atlantic County) impose the 
occupancy tax at a rate of 2%.

Disposition of Revenues 

The monies collected from the State 
Occupancy Fee are deposited to the 
General Fund and are statutorily al-
located, in varying percentages, to the 
New Jersey State Council on the Arts 
for cultural projects; the New Jersey 
Historical Commission; the New Jersey 
Division of Travel and Tourism for 
tourism advertising and promotion; and 
the New Jersey Cultural Trust.  

Any amount over the dedication is 
allocated to the General Fund. Collec-
tions from the Municipal Occupancy 
Tax are distributed back to the 
municipality. 

Insurance Premiums Tax 

Description

The Insurance Premiums Tax applies to 
premiums collected on insurance risks 
by every insurance company transacting 
business in New Jersey, inclusive of 
stocks, mutual and assessment 
insurance, and health insurance. The 
tax base is gross contract premiums 
less specified deductions. Annuity 
considerations and reinsurance 
premiums are not taxed. 

Rate 

The rate is 1.4% on group accident, 
health, or legal insurance policies; 2.1% 
on life and non-life insurance com-
panies; 5% on surplus lines coverage; 
5.25% on marine insurance companies; 
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and 2% on foreign fire insurance 

companies. If, for any insurance 

company, the ratio of New Jersey 

business to total business is greater than 

12.5%, the tax is imposed on only 

12.5% of that company’s total 

premiums. Accident and health 

insurance premiums are excluded from 

the taxable premium cap. Another 

1.05% is imposed on accident and health 

premiums.  

P.L. 2011, C. 25, imposed a new tax rate

on captive insurance companies that

primarily insure the risks of businesses

that are related to those entities through

common ownership.

The annual minimum aggregate tax 

calculated for both direct premiums and 

assumed reinsurance premiums for 

captive insurance companies to be paid 

is $7,500 and the annual maximum 

aggregate tax is $200,000. Tax is 

imposed on direct premiums at rates 

ranging from 0.38% – 0.072%. For 

assumed reinsurance premiums, rates 

range from 0.214% – 0.024%.  

Disposition of Revenues 

The tax is prepaid based on the previous 

year’s premiums, with payments due 

March 1 and June 1. Revenues, with the 

exception of some domestic revenues, 

are deposited in the State Treasury for 

general State use.  

Municipalities and counties continue to 

receive payments to replace the revenue 

from the repealed insurance franchise 

tax on domestic insurance corporations. 

The State Treasurer pays an annual 

amount to each county and municipality 

in which the principal office of a 

domestic insurance company is located. 

Payments are made so long as the 

principal office of a domestic insurance 

company remains at the location 

established on January 1, 1981. 

The tax on captive insurers (P.L. 2011, 

C. 25) is collected by the Division of

Taxation, and the revenues are directed

to the Department of Banking and

Insurance to support regulation of the

captive insurance industry.

________________________________ 
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Landfill Closure and 

Contingency Tax 

Description

This tax is levied on the owner or 
operator of every sanitary landfill 
facility located in New Jersey on all 
solid waste accepted for disposal on or 
after January 1, 1982. In addition, the 
owner or operator must make a monthly 
payment of $1 per ton or $0.30 per cubic 
yard for the host community benefit 
surcharge for all solid waste accepted 
for disposal.  

Rate 

The rate is $0.50 per ton or $0.15 per 
cubic yard on all solid waste accepted 
for disposal. The rate for solid waste in 
liquid form is $0.002 per gallon.  

Disposition of Revenues 

All tax revenues are credited to the 
Sanitary Landfill Facility Contingency 
Fund, administered by the New Jersey 
Department of Environmental 
Protection, established to insure the 
proper closure and operation of sanitary 
landfill facilities in this State. 

Litter Control Fee 

Description

The Litter Control Fee is imposed on all 
gross receipts from sales of litter-
generating products sold within or into 
New Jersey by each person engaged in 
business in the State as a manufacturer, 
wholesaler, distributor, or retailer of 
such products. Any retailer with less 
than $500,000 in annual retail sales of 
litter-generating products is exempt 
from this fee. Restaurants are exempt if 
more than 50% of their food and 
beverage sales are for on-premises 
consumption. 

Litter-generating products include beer, 
cigarettes, cleaning agents and toilet-
tries, distilled spirits, food, glass con-
tainers, metal containers, groceries, 
tires, newsprint and magazine paper 
stock, nondrug drugstore sundry pro-
ducts, paper products, plastic and fiber 
containers, soft drinks, and wine. 

 

Manufacturers, wholesalers, and 
distributors of litter-generating products 
pay a fee of 3⁄100 of 1% (0.03%) on all 
gross receipts from wholesale sales of 
such products in New Jersey. Retailers 
are charged at the rate of 2.25⁄100 of 
1% (.0225%) on all gross receipts 
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from retail sales of litter-generating 
products. The fee is paid annually on 
March 15 of each year.  

Disposition of Revenues 
Revenues are deposited in the Clean 
Communities Program Fund and are 
used for litter pickup and removal and 
to provide recycling grants to New 
Jersey counties and municipalities. 

Local Property Tax 

Description

An ad valorem tax, the Local 
Property Tax is measured by property 
values and is apportioned among 
taxpayers according to the assessed 
value of taxable property owned 
by each taxpayer. The tax applies to 
real estate and tangible personal 
property of telephone, telegraph, 
and messenger systems companies, 
and certain personal property of 
petroleum refineries. 

 A local tax —The Property Tax is 
a local tax assessed and collected 
by municipalities for the support 
of municipal and county governments 
and local school districts. No part of 
it is used for support of State 
government.  

Amount of tax (a residual tax) — 
Local Property Tax Amounts are

determined each year, in each munici-
pality, to supply whatever revenue is 
required to meet budgeted expenditures 
not covered by monies available from 
all other sources. School districts and 
counties notify municipalities of their 
Property Tax requirements. Mu-
nicipalities add their own requirements 
and levy taxes to raise the entire 
amount. As a residual local tax, the total 
Property Tax is determined by local 
budgets and not by property valuations 
or tax rates.  

Property assessment (the tax base)

— All taxable property is assessed 
(valued for taxation by local assessors 
in each municipality. Assessments 
are expressed in terms of “taxable 
value,” except for qualified farm land, 
which is specially valued.  

Rate 

The Local Property Tax rate is 
determined each year in each 
municipality by relating the total 
amount of tax levy to the total of all 
assessed valuations taxable. Expressed 
in $1 per $100 of taxable assessed 
value, the tax rate is a multiplier for 
use in determining the amount of tax 
levied on each property. See Appendix 
A for the 2014 general and effective 
Property Tax rates in each municipality.  

Disposition of Revenues 

This tax is assessed and collected 
locally by the taxing districts for 
support of county and municipal 
governments and local school district 
purposes. 
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History 

It may be said that the Property Tax 
originated in 1670 with a levy of one 
half penny per acre of land to support the 
central government. Through the middle 
of the 19th century, Property Taxes were 
levied on real estate and on certain 
personal property at arbitrary rates 
within certain limits called “certainties.” 
In 1851, the concepts of a general 
Property Tax and uniform assessments 
according to actual value were 
developed (Public Laws 1851, p. 273).  

For almost a century following the 1851 
legislation, a continuing effort was 
made to accomplish uniform taxation 
under a general Property Tax. In 1875 a 
constitutional amendment provided that 
“property shall be assessed for taxes 
under general laws and by uniform rules 
according to its true value” (Article 4, 
Section 7, paragraph 12).  

Courts held that the 1875 amendment 
permitted classification of property for 
tax purposes and also exemption of 
certain classes from taxation, or the 
substitution of other kinds of tax “in 
lieu.” Thus began a long period of 
erosion of the “general Property Tax” 
concept.  

In 1884, a State Board of Assessors was 
created and given responsibility for 

assessment of railroad and canal 
property, thus setting the pattern for 
State assessment of certain classes of 
property. Intangible personal
property was eliminated from the 
“general Property Tax base” in 1945 
(replaced with a Corporation Net 
Worth Tax). Such elimination shifted 
the emphasis for tax reform to tangible 
personal property.  

The New Jersey State Constitution 
adopted in 1947 provided that “property 
shall be assessed for taxation under 
general law and by uniform rules. All 
real property assessed and taxed locally 
or by the State for allotment and 
payment to taxing districts shall be 
assessed according to the same standard 
of value, except as otherwise permitted 
herein, and such property shall be taxed 
at the general tax rate of the taxing 
district in which the property is situated, 
for the use of such taxing 
district” (Article 8, Section 1).  

This Article was interpreted to preclude 
any classification of real estate but to 
leave the door open for classified taxes 
on personal property. In 1963 the 
Constitution was amended to permit 
assessment of farm property according 
to its value for agricultural use only. 
Chapter 51, Laws of 1960 (effective for 
Tax Year 1965) provided for such 
classification and also provided other 
significant modifications. 
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Personal property provisions of Chapter 
51, Laws of 1960, were replaced by 
Chapter 136, Laws of 1966. For taxes 
payable in 1968 and until 1993, personal 
property used in business (other than the 
businesses of local exchange telephone, 
telegraph, and messenger system 
companies and other public utilities) 
was subject to the Business Personal 
Property Tax instead of the local tax. 
Personal property is no longer subject to 
any Property Tax, and inventories of all 
businesses are excluded from property 
taxation.  

The 1966 law also provided for 
replacement of local personal Property 
Tax revenues from four tax sources: (1) 
Retail Gross Receipts Tax, (2) 
Corporation Business (Net Income) Tax, 
(3) Business Personal Property Tax and
(4) Unincorporated Business Tax. This
revenue replacement program was
terminated (C. 3, P.L. 1977). Legislation
was passed providing for an annual
appropriation of not less than $158.7
million.

The decision in Switz v. Middletown 
Township, et al., 23 N.J. 580 (1957) 
required that all taxable property be 
assessed at “true value” (100% 
assessment). This was the beginning of 
a series of New Jersey court decisions 
that have been a major factor in the 
development of uniform real estate tax 

assessment. R.S. 54:4-23 was amended 
to provide that when an assessor 
believes that all or part of a taxing 
district’s property is assessed lower or 
higher than is consistent with uniform 
taxable valuation or is not in substantial 
compliance with the law, and that the 
public’s interest will be promoted by a 
reassessment of such property, the 
assessor shall make a reassessment of 
the property not in compliance.  

Prior to making this reassessment, the 
assessor shall first notify in writing: the 
mayor, the municipal governing body, 
the Division of Taxation, the county tax 
board, and the county tax administrator 
of the basis for the reassessment and 
shall submit a compliance plan to the 
county board of taxation and the 
Division of Taxation for approval.  

After reassessment of a portion of a 
taxing district, the assessor shall certify 
to the county board of taxation, through 
adequate sampling as determined by the 
board, that the reassessed portion of the 
taxing district is in compliance with 
those portions of the district that were 
not reassessed.  

A long period of legislative history has 
developed numerous exemptions and 
special Property Tax treatments. These 
are found principally in R.S. 54:4-3.3 
and in R.S. 54:4-3.6. Generally exempt 
are government-owned property; and 
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property of religious, educational, 
charitable, and various types of 
nonprofit organizations. R.S. 54:4-3.6 
was amended to permit a religious or 
charitable organization to lease 
property to another exempt entity for a 
different exempt use without the 
loss of its Property Tax exemption.  

An amendment to R.S. 54:4-3.10 
provided that property owned by any 
exempt firefighter’s association, 
firefighter’s relief association, or 
volunteer fire company would retain its 
tax-exempt status although the 
organization owning the property used 
the property for an income-producing 
purpose on an auxiliary basis provided 
that the auxiliary activity does not 
exceed 120 days annually and the net 
proceeds from the auxiliary activity are 
used to further the primary purpose of 
the organization or for other charitable 
purposes.  

Qualified senior citizens and disabled 
persons are permitted a tax deduction of 
$250 annually as per N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.40 
et seq. 

The veterans’ deduction was increased 
from $50 to $100 for Tax Year 2000, to 
$150 for 2001, $200 for 2002, and $250 
for 2003 and thereafter pursuant to 
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.10 et seq. Wartime 
service periods were also expanded. 

   Local Property Tax 

   Gross Levy (In Billions)

Fiscal Year    Gross Tax Levy

2007  22,130,902,055 
2008 23,213,741,007
2009 24,048,643,407
2010 25,010,905,690
2011 25,646,727,650
2012 26,054,001,420
2013 26,504,427,647
2014 27,114,753,398
2015 27,651,166,920 
2016 28,354,102,097 

___________________________________________

Meadowlands Regional 

Hotel Use Assessment

Description:

P.L. 2015, C. 19, imposes an
assessment on charges for the
occupancy of every room in the hotels
located in the Meadowlands District,
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including any hotels located on State-
owned land. The assessment is imposed 
on room rentals that are currently 

subject to the New Jersey Sales Tax 

and is in addition to the Sales Tax, 

the Hotel/Motel State Occupancy Fee, 

and the Municipal Occupancy Tax, as 

well as any other tax or fee imposed by 

local ordinance on hotel occupancies. 

Rate 

The Meadowlands Regional Hotel Use 

Assessment rate is 3%.  

Disposition of Revenues 

The monies collected from the 

Meadowlands Regional Hotel Use 

Assessment are deposited into the 

Intermunicipal Account and used to pay 

Meadowlands adjustment payments to 

municipalities in the Meadowlands 

District. Any remaining revenue may be 

used to perform projects in the areas of 

flood control, traffic, renewable energy, 

or other infrastructure projects; promote 
the Meadowlands District as a tour-
ism destination; fund the acquisition 

of property for the purpose of open 

space preservation; or fund the creation 

of parks and other recreational facilities. 

Motor Fuel Tax 

Description

A tax on motor fuel is applied to 

gasoline, diesel fuel, or liquefied 

petroleum gas used in motor vehicles on 

public highways. 

Rate 

The general Motor Fuel Tax rate is 

$0.105 per gallon of gasoline. A tax of 

$0.0525 per gallon is imposed on lique-

fied petroleum gas sold or used to propel 

motor vehicles on public highways. 

The diesel fuel tax rate is $0.135 per 

gallon, of which $0.03 per gallon is 

refundable for fuel used in passenger 

automobiles and motor vehicles of less 

than 5,000 pounds gross weight. 

Disposition of Revenues 

Effective Dec. 8, 2016, all revenue  from 
the Motor Fuels Tax and the Petroleum 
Products Gross Receipts Tax was 
dedicated to transportation need. Before 
this dedication, certain revenues were
credited to a special account in the 

General Fund and were dedicated from 
the Motor Fuel Tax, the Petroleum 

Products Gross Receipts Tax, and the 

Sales and Use Tax to the Transportation 

Trust Fund for maintenance of the 

State’s transportation system.

Motor Fuel Bad Debt 

P.L. 2016, C. 66, provides certain fuel

dealers and distributors with refunds of

petroleum products gross receipts tax

and credits against motor fuel tax for

certain bad debts from sale of fuel.
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Motor Vehicle Tire Fee 

Description

P.L. 2004, C. 46, imposes a fee on the
sale of new motor vehicle tires,
including new tires sold as a component
part of a motor vehicle, either sold or
leased, that are subject to New Jersey
Sales Tax. The tire fee is imposed per
tire, including the spare tire sold as part
of a motor vehicle. The tire fee also
applies to sales of new tires in
connection with a repair or maintenance
service.

Rate 

The Motor Vehicle Tire Fee is $1.50 per 
tire. 

Disposition of Revenues 

The revenue collected from the Motor 
Vehicle Tire Fee is deposited in the Tire 
Management and Cleanup Fund 
established in the Department of 
Environmental Protection. Any 
additional revenue collected is available 
for appropriation to the Department of 
Transportation to support snow removal 
operations.

9-1-1 System

& Emergency

Response Assessment

Description
P.L. 2004, C. 48, imposes a fee
on periodic billings to mobile
telecommunications and telephone
exchange customers. This fee is
charged by:

• Mobile telecommunications
companies for each voice grade access
service number as part of mobile
telecommunications service provided to
a customer billed by or for the
customer’s home service provider and
provided to a customer with a place of
primary use in this State; and

• Telephone exchange companies
for each telephone voice grade access
service line provided as part of that
telephone exchange service.

The fee is not applicable to the federal 
government, its agencies, or 
instrumentalities. The law also provides 
an exemption for State, county and 
municipal governments, and school 
districts from the fee imposed on 
telephone exchange services. 
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Nursing Home Assessment

Description

The New Jersey Nursing Home Quality 
of Care Improvement Fund Act, P.L. 

Rate 

The 9-1-1 System and Emergency 
Response Fee is 90 cents for each voice 
grade access service number and line to 
mobile telecommunications and 
telephone exchange customers.

Disposition of Revenues 
The revenue collected pursuant to the 
fee will serve to replace the current 
9-1-1 infrastructure Statewide with a
state-of-the-art enhanced 9-1-1 system.

Revenue collected is also applied to pay 
for costs of funding the State’s capital 
equipment, facilities, and operating 
expenses that arise from emergency 
preparedness, emergency response 
training, counterterrorism measures, 
security at State facilities including 
transportation infrastructure, preparation 
for first responders to chemical or 
biohazard emergencies, and any 
expenses of the Office of Emergency 
Management in the Division of State 
Police in the Department of Law and 
Public Safety. 

2003, C. 105 (as amended by P.L. 2004, C. 
41), established a quarterly assessment on 
nursing homes in order to provide additional 
funds for improving the quality of care by 
increasing Medicaid reimbursement for 
services delivered to those senior citizens 
and other persons residing in New Jersey 
nursing homes.

Rate 

The current rate is $11.89 per non-Medicare 
day to applicable nursing homes. The annual 
assessment rate is calculated by the 
Department of Health and Senior Services, 
and may be up to a maximum of 6% of the 
aggregate amount of annual revenues 
received by applicable nursing homes. 

Disposition of Revenues 

The monies collected from the Nursing 
Home Provider Assessment are statutorily 
transferred, through appropriation, to the 
General Fund and allocated for the support 
of nursing home programs designated by the 
Commissioner of Health and Senior 
Services. The remaining monies, after the 
transfer to the General Fund, along with any 
federal Medicaid funds received by the 
Commissioner, are distributed directly to 
qualifying nursing homes. 
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Petroleum Products

Gross Receipts Tax 

Description

The Petroleum Products Gross Receipts 

Tax is imposed on all companies 

engaged in refining and/or distributing 

petroleum products for distribution in 

this State. It applies to the first sale, not 

for export, of petroleum products 

within New Jersey. 

Home heating oil (including #2, #4, and 

#6 heating oils) and propane gas and 

kerosene used for residential heating 

are exempt from tax. Also exempt from 

tax are receipts from sales of 

petroleum products used by 

marine vessels engaged in 

interstate or foreign commerce; 

receipts from sales of aviation 

fuels used by airplanes in interstate 

or foreign commerce other than 

burnout portion; receipts from sales of 

asphalt and polymer grade propylene 

used in the manufacture of 

polypropylene; receipts from sales to 

nonprofit entities qualifying for 

exemption under the Sales and Use Tax 

Act; and receipts from sales to the 

United States or the State of New 

Jersey. 

Effective January 1, 2001, P.L. 2000, 

C. 156, phased out, over a three-

year period, the Petroleum Products

Gross Receipts Tax for fuel used by any

utility, co-generation facility, or 

wholesale generation facility to 

generate electricity sold at wholesale 

or through certain retail channels. 

Rate 

P.L. 2016, Chapter 57, raised the rate 
on gasoline and LPG sales to 26.6 cents 
per gallon on Nov. 1, 2016. The rate for 
diesel fuel rose to 19.9 cents per gallon 
on January 1, 2017, and to 30.7 cents 
on July 1, 2017. The fuel oil rate rose 
12.4 cents per gallon while aviation fuel 
remained at 4 cents. Eligible taxpayers 
qualified  for a Neighborhood 
Revitalization  State Tax Credit against 
the Petroleum Products Gross Receipts 
Tax pursuant to P.L. 2001, C. 415.

Disposition of Revenues 

Voters approved a constitutional 
amendment on Nov. 8, 2016, dedicating 
all Motor Fuel and Petroleum Products 
Gross Receipts taxes to the 
Transportation Trust Fund.

Property Tax Relief 

The State provides Property Tax relief 

benefits to resident homeowners and 

tenants through a variety of programs. 

Eligibility and filing requirements differ 

for each program.  

Beginning with benefits paid for Tax 

Year 2008, the total amount of all 

Property Tax relief benefits received 

(Homestead Benefit, Senior Freeze 

(Property Tax Reimbursement), 

Property Tax Deduction for senior 

citizens/ disabled persons, and Property 

Tax Deduction for veterans) cannot 
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exceed the amount of Property Taxes (or 
rent constituting Property Taxes) paid 
on the applicant’s principal residence 
for the same year. 

Homestead Rebate Program 

Chapter 61, P.L. 1990, created a new 
Homestead Property Tax Rebate 
program to provide rebates for both 
homeowners and tenants. The new 
program replaced certain other direct 
Property Tax relief programs: (1) the 
original Homestead Rebate program (C. 
72, P.L. 1976), which provided rebates 
to homeowners; (2) the Residential 
Property Tax Deduction and Credit 
provided to both homeowners and 
tenants on their Income Tax returns 
under C. 304, P.L. 1985; and (3) the 
Tenant Credit program (C. 47, P.L. 1976, 
as amended). 

The application for the new Homestead 
Property Tax Rebate was combined with 
the resident Income Tax return 
beginning with the tax return for 1990, 
and benefits were linked to income level 
and amount of Property Taxes paid.

Under this program, rebates ranged 
from $100 to $500 for homeowners, and 
$35 to $500 for tenants, depending on 
the applicant’s filing status, gross 
income, and the amount of Property 
Taxes paid, either directly or through 
rent. Those with incomes over $100,000 
were not eligible for a rebate. 

Beginning in 1992, the amount 
appropriated for Property Tax relief 
programs in the State Budget affected 
the amount of the Homestead Rebate 
paid to some taxpayers. Only taxpayers 
who were 65 years of age or older or 
blind or disabled were eligible to receive 
rebates of $100 to $500 (homeowners) 
or $35 to $500 (tenants), provided that 
their gross income did not exceed 
$100,000.  

For other taxpayers, only those with a 
gross income of $40,000 or less were 
eligible to receive a standard rebate 
amount of $90 for homeowners and $30 
for tenants. Those with gross incomes 
over $40,000 were no longer eligible. 

In November 1992, the New Jersey Tax 
Court ruled that anyone who resides in a 
dwelling that is not subject to Local 
Property Tax is not entitled to a  
Homestead Property Tax Rebate. This 
includes tenants living in subsidized 
housing or other dwellings owned by the 
State, county, municipal, or federal 
government; students living in on-
campus apartments at State colleges and 
universities; and tenants living in 
dwellings owned by religious, charitable, 
or other nonprofit organizations, 
including on-campus apartments at 
private nonprofit colleges and 
universities, if the property is exempt 
from Local Property Taxes. Per-
manently and totally disabled veterans 
and their surviving spouses who do not 

64



pay Property Taxes are also ineligible 
for rebates. 

Chapter 63, P.L. 1999, the NJ SAVER 
and Homestead Rebate Act, created the 
NJ SAVER Rebate program, another 
new, direct Property Tax relief program 
to be phased in over five years 
beginning in 1999. Under the provisions 
of this Act, homeowners who qualified 
for both the Homestead Rebate and the 
NJ SAVER Rebate received either the 
Homestead Rebate or the NJ SAVER 
Rebate, depending on which program 
provided the greater benefit. (See NJ 
SAVER Rebate Program on page 42 for 
a description of that program.)  

This same legislation increased the 
Homestead Rebate income threshold for 
tenants to $100,000 and set the income 
threshold at $40,000 for homeowners 
who were not 65 or older or blind or 
disabled. For 1998, tenants who were 
under 65, not blind or disabled, and who 
had income between $40,000 and 
$100,000 were eligible to receive a $30 
Homestead Rebate provided they filed a 
Homestead Rebate Application by June 
15, 1999.  

The legislation increased this amount to 
$40 for the 1999 Tax Year, $60 for the 
2000 Tax Year, $80 for the 2001 Tax 
Year, and $100 for 2002 and thereafter. 

Chapter 159, P.L. 2001, increased the 
maximum benefit under the Homestead 
Rebate program for homeowners and 
tenants who were 65 or older or disabled 
from $500 to $750 beginning with 

Homestead Rebates paid in Calendar 
Year 2001. For Homestead Rebates paid 
in 2002 and thereafter, the maximum 
amount would be indexed annually to 
the cost of living.  

This legislation also increased the 
maximum tenant Homestead Rebate 
paid in 2001 and thereafter to tenants 
who are not 65 or disabled to $100, 
eliminating the three-year phase-in that, 
under the prior legislation (C. 63, P.L. 
1999), was scheduled to end with 
rebates paid in 2003. It also increased 
the minimum rebate for tenants who 
were 65 or disabled to $100. 

Under State Budget provisions for 
Fiscal Year 2004, Homestead Rebates 
paid in 2003 were not adjusted by the 
cost-of-living increase. 

From 1999 until 2004, both the 
Homestead Rebate and the NJ SAVER 
Rebate programs provided Property Tax 
relief benefits to qualified homeowners. 
Chapter 40, P.L. 2004, the 2004 
Homestead Property Tax Rebate Act, 
folded the NJ SAVER Rebate program 
into the existing Homestead Rebate 
program, and combined certain aspects 
of each, eliminating the NJ SAVER 
Rebate for Tax Years 2004 and 
thereafter. The new program was given 
the acronym “FAIR,” which stood for 
Fair and Immediate Relief.  

The Act also provided that the NJ 
SAVER and Homestead Rebates for 
2003 were to be calculated the same way, 
taking into account the applicant’s filing 
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status, gross income, and the amount of 
Property Taxes paid, either directly or 
through rent. Eligible applicants 
received either the Homestead Rebate or 
the NJ SAVER Rebate. The rebates 
ranged from $500 to $1,200 for 
homeowners, and from $150 to $825 for 
tenants. Homeowners with incomes 
over $200,000 or tenants with incomes 
over $100,000 were not eligible for a 
2003 rebate. 

For Tax Year 2004, rebate amounts 
were determined by income, filing 
status, whether a taxpayer was age 65 or 
older or eligible to claim an exemption 
as blind or disabled for the tax year, and 
whether the taxpayer was a homeowner 
or a tenant on October 1 of the tax year. 
Gross income could not exceed 
$200,000 for eligible homeowners or 
$100,000 for eligible tenants.  

Beginning with Tax Year 2004, tenants 
applied for the rebate on Form TR-1040, 
found in the Income Tax return booklet. 
A separate rebate application was 
mailed to homeowners. Only New 
Jersey residents who were either 
homeowners or tenants on October 1 
and met the other requirements were 
eligible for a rebate for that year. 

The amount appropriated for Property 
Tax relief programs in the State Budget 
for Fiscal Year 2006 affected rebate 
amounts paid for Tax Year 2004. 
Homeowners age 65 or older or disabled 
received rebates of $500 to $1,200. 
Homeowners under age 65 and not 
disabled received $300 to $350. Tenants 

age 65 or older or disabled received 
$150 to $825; and the rebate amount for 
tenants under age 65 and not disabled 
was $75. 

For Tax Year 2005 eligible homeowners 
who were age 65 or older or disabled 
received rebates ranging from $500 to 
$1,200. The amount appropriated for 
Property Tax relief programs in the 
State Budget for Fiscal Year 2007 
affected rebate amounts for 2005 for 
eligible homeowners under age 65 and 
not disabled.  

Rebates for these homeowners ranged 
from $200 to $350.  
Tenants age 65 or older or disabled 
received from $150 to $825; and the 
rebate amount for tenants under age 65 
and not disabled was $75. 

Chapter 62, P.L. 2007, established a 
new system for calculating benefits. For 
Tax Year 2006 eligible homeowners 
received 10%–20% of the first $10,000 
of Property Taxes paid, depending on 
their income level: 

$100,000 or less — 20%  
$100,001 – $150,000 — 15% 
$150,001 – $250,000 — 10% 

Eligible homeowners who were age 65 
or older or disabled received the larger 
of either the applicable percentage of 
Property Taxes paid (see above) or the 
amount by which the Property Taxes 
paid exceeded 5% of gross income, but 
within the range specified based on 
income: 
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 $70,000 or less — $1,200 – $1,000 

 $70,001 – $125,000 — $800 – $600 

$125,001 – $200,000 — $500 

Under the State Budget for Fiscal Year 

2008, eligible tenants age 65 or older or 

disabled received rebates ranging from 

$160 to $860, and tenants under age 65 

and not disabled received from $80 to 

$350. 

The amount appropriated for Property 

Tax relief programs in the State Budget 

for Fiscal Year 2009 affected eligibility 

and rebate amounts for Tax Year 2007 

for both homeowners and tenants. Only 

homeowners with income of $150,000 

or less were eligible, and the rebates for 

homeowners were to be based on 2006 

Property Taxes. 

For Tax Year 2007, eligible 

homeowners received either 10% or 

20% of the first $10,000 of Property 

Taxes paid in 2006, depending on their 

income level: 

 $100,000 or less — 20% 

$100,001 – $150,000 — 10% 

Eligible homeowners who were age 65 
or older or disabled received the larger 
of either the applicable percentage of 
Property Taxes paid (see above) or the 
amount by which the Property Taxes

paid exceeded 5% of gross income, but 

within the range specified based on 

income: 

$70,000 or less  $1,200 – $1,000  
$70,001 – $125,000 — $800 – $600 
$125,001 – $150,000 — $500

Eligible tenants age 65 or older or 

disabled received rebates ranging from 

$160 up to a maximum of $860. 

Tenants under age 65 and not disabled 

received $80. 

The amount appropriated for Property 

Tax relief programs in the State 

Budgets for Fiscal Years 2010 

through 2015 limited eligibility and 

benefit amounts for Tax Years 2008 

through 2012 for homeowners based 

on income (home-owners age 65 or 

older or disabled with gross income of 

more than $150,000 and homeowners 

under age 65 with gross income of 

more than $75,000 were not eligible).  

The Budgets also required that the 

benefits for homeowners be based on 

2006 Property Taxes. For Tax Year 

2008, only tenants age 65 or older or 

disabled were eligible for rebates. No 

Homestead Benefits were issued to 

tenants for Tax Years 2009 through 

2012. 
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For Tax Year 2008, eligible 
homeowners who were age 65 or older 
or disabled received the larger of either 
the applicable percentage of the first 
$10,000 of Property Taxes paid for 2006 
(20% for applicants with gross income 
up to $100,000 or 10% for applicants 
with gross income over $100,000 but 
not over $150,000) or the amount by 
which Property Taxes paid exceeded 5% 
of New Jersey gross income, but within 
the following ranges: 

$70,000 or less — $1,200 – $1,000   
$70,001 – $125,000 — $800 – $600 
$125,001 – $150,000 — $500 

Eligible homeowners who were under 
age 65 and not disabled received either 
20% or 13.34% of the first $10,000 of 
Property Taxes paid for 2006, 
depending on their income level: 

$50,000 or less — 20%  
$50,001 – $75,000 — 13.34% 

Eligible tenants age 65 or older or 
disabled received rebates ranging from 
$160 up to a maximum of $860. 

For Tax Year 2009, eligible 
homeowners who were age 65 or older 
or disabled received one-quarter of the 
applicable percentage of the first 
$10,000 of Property Taxes paid for 2006 
(20% for applicants with gross income 
up to $100,000 or 10% for applicants 
with gross income over $100,000 but 
not over $150,000). 

Eligible homeowners who were under 
age 65 and not disabled received one-
quarter of the applicable percentage of 
the first $10,000 of Property Taxes paid 
for 2006 (20% for applicants with gross 
income up to $50,000 or 13.34% for 
applicants with gross income over 
$50,000 but not over $75,000). 

Benefits for 2009 were applied to 
Property Tax bills for the second quarter 
of 2011. 

For Tax Years 2010 through 2014, 
eligible homeowners who were age 65 
or older or disabled received either 10% 
or 5% of the first $10,000 of Property 
Taxes paid for 2006, based on  income:
$100,000 or less — 10%  
$100,001 – $150,000 — 5% 

Eligible homeowners who were under 
age 65 and not disabled received either 
10% or 6.67% of the first $10,000 of 
Property Taxes paid for 2006, 
depending on their income level: 

$50,000 or less — 10%  
$50,001 – $75,000 — 6.67% 

Credits for 2010 through 2014 were 
applied as follows:  

Tax Year    Applied/Property Tax bills in 
  2010        February 2012 
  2011           August 2013 
  2012 May 2015 
  2013 May 2016 
  2014 May 2017 
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NJ SAVER Rebate Program 

Chapter 63, P.L. 1999, the New Jersey 

School Assessment Valuation 

Exemption Relief and Homestead 

Property Tax Rebate Act (NJ SAVER 

and Homestead Rebate Act), created the 

NJ SAVER Rebate program. Under this 

program New Jersey residents, 

regardless of age or income, who owned, 

occupied, and paid Property Taxes on a 

home in New Jersey that was their 

principal residence on October 1 of any 

year were eligible to receive an NJ 

SAVER Rebate for that year. 

Rebates were calculated by multiplying 

the equalized value of a home by the 

effective school tax rate for the 

municipality in which the home was 

located.  

The equalized value for the calculation 

could not exceed $45,000. Since school 

tax rates varied among municipalities, 

NJ SAVER Rebate amounts varied. The 

legislation provided for a five-year 

phase-in period beginning in 1999. The 

first rebate checks mailed in 1999 

represented 20% of the maximum NJ 

SAVER Rebate and homeowners 

received 40% of the maximum rebate in 

2000. 

Chapter 106, P.L. 2001, amended the 

original legislation (P.L. 1999, C. 63) to 

accelerate the phase-in period of the NJ 

SAVER Rebate program from five years 

to four years. The legislation increased 

the amount to be paid in 2001 from 60% 

to 831⁄3% of the full amount and 

provided for the full benefit amount to 

be paid in 2002. 

The amount appropriated for Property 

Tax relief programs in the State Budget 

for Fiscal Year 2003 affected NJ 

SAVER Rebates for 2001. Only 

homeowners earning $200,000 or less 

received rebates, which were limited to 

the amounts paid for 2000. 

As part of the State Budget for Fiscal 

Year 2004, NJ SAVER Rebates for 

2002 were not paid to any individual or 

married couple with gross income in 

excess of $200,000. Additionally, the 

amount paid was limited to 50% of the 

prior year’s NJ SAVER Rebate check. 

The 2004 Homestead Property Tax 

Rebate Act (P.L. 2004, C. 40) folded 

the NJ SAVER Rebate program into 

the existing Homestead Rebate 

program, and combined certain 

aspects of each, eliminating the NJ 

SAVER Rebate for Tax Years 2004 

and thereafter. See Homestead Rebate 

Program on page 39 for more 

information. 

Property Tax 

Reimbursement Program 

(Senior Freeze)
Chapter 348, P.L. 1997, created the 

Property Tax Reimbursement (“Senior 

Freeze”) program, which effectively 

freezes Property Taxes for eligible New 

Jersey senior citizens and disabled 

persons by reimbursing them for 

Property Tax increases. The first year a 

resident satisfies all the eligibility 

requirements becomes their base year. 
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Residents who remain eligible in 
succeeding years will be reimbursed for 
any increase in the amount of Property 
Taxes paid over the base year amount. 

Residents are eligible if they (1) are age 
65 or older or receiving federal Social 
Security disability benefits; (2) owned 
and lived in a homestead (or mobile 
home that is on a leased site in a mobile 
home park) for at least the last three 
years; (3) lived in New Jersey and paid 
Property Taxes either directly or 
through rent for at least ten consecutive 
years; (4) paid the full amount of 
Property Taxes (or site fees if a mobile 
home owner) due on the home for both 
their base year and the year for which 
they are claiming the reimbursement; 
and (5) meet certain income eligibility 
limits for both the base year and the 
year for which they are 
claiming a reimbursement. 

The income limits will increase in 
subsequent years by the amount of the 
maximum Social Security benefit cost-
of-living increase for that year. 
Applicants must meet all requirements 
for both their base year and the year for 
which they are claiming a 
reimbursement.  

Once an applicant’s base year is 
established, it remains the same as long 
as they remain eligible in succeeding 
years. If a homeowner (or mobile home
owner) does not satisfy requirements 

in one year, then their base year will 
become the next year that they satisfy 
all the requirements. P.L. 2009, C.
129 modified the residency 
requirements for reimbursement 
recipients who lose their eligibility 
temporarily when they move to a 
new home. The legislation
shortened to two full years the period of
time these residents must occupy their
new home before they can again qualify
to resume applying for the Property Tax
Reimbursement. The new residency
rules apply to applications filed for 2010
and after.

Under the provisions of the State Budget 
for Fiscal Year 2004, only applicants 
who received a reimbursement for Tax 
Year 2001 and who met all the 
eligibility requirements, including the 
income limits for 2002, were eligible to 
receive a reimbursement for 2002.  

The amount applicants received for Tax 
Year 2002 could not exceed the amount 
they received for 2001. For 2003, 
reimbursements were issued to all 
eligible applicants for the difference be-
tween their 2003 Property Taxes and 
their base year Property Taxes. For 
eligible applicants who filed 
applications for the first time for 2002 
but did not receive checks, the 2003 
reimbursement represented the 
difference between the amount of their 
2003 Property Taxes paid and the 
amount of their 2001 (base year) taxes. 
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 For 2004 through 2008, 
reimbursements were issued to all 
eligible applicants for the difference 
between their Property Taxes for that 
year and their base year Property Taxes. 

In the case of Rita J. Hawe v. Director, 
Division of Taxation, the Tax Court held 
that, for purposes to determining 
eligibility for the Property Tax 
Reimbursement, annual income does 
not include distributions from an 
annuity that represent a taxpayer’s 
original investment. Only the interest 
generated by the annuity is to be 
included. 

The amount appropriated for Property 
Tax relief programs in the State Budget 
for Fiscal Year 2011 affected 2009 
reimbursement payments. Only those 
applicants who received 
reimbursements for 2008 and whose 
income for 2009 did not exceed the 2008 
income limit were eligible. In addition, 
2009 benefit amounts were limited to 
the 2008 level. 

The amount appropriated for Property 
Tax relief programs in the State Budget 
for Fiscal Year 2012 affected 2010 
reimbursement payments. Only those 
applicants whose income for 2009 did 
not exceed $80,000, and whose 2010 
income did not exceed $70,000 were 
eligible. (The original limit was 
$80,000.) 

The amount appropriated for Property 
Tax relief programs in the State Budget  

for Fiscal Year 2013 limited 2011 
reimbursement payments. Only 
applicants whose income for 2010 did 
not exceed $80,000, and whose 2011 
income did not exceed $70,000 were 
eligible. (The original limit was 
$80,000.)  

The amount appropriated for Property 
Tax relief programs in the State Budget 
for Fiscal Year 2014 limited 2012 
reimbursement payments. Only 
applicants whose income for 2011 did 
not exceed $80,000, and whose 2012 
income did not exceed $70,000 were 
eligible. (The original limit was 
$82,880.)  

The amount appropriated for Property 
Tax relief programs in the State Budget 
for Fiscal Year 2015 affected reim-
bursement payments for 2013. 

Applicants were eligible to receive 
reimbursement payments only if their 
2012 total income did not exceed 
$82,880, and their 2013 total income did 
not exceed $70,000. (The original limit 
was $84,289.) 

The amount appropriated for Property 
Tax relief programs in the State Budget 
for Fiscal Year 2016 affected reim-
bursement payments for 2014. 
Applicants were eligible to receive 
reimbursement payments only if their 
2013 total income did not exceed 
$84,289, and their 2014 total income did 
not exceed $70,000. (The original limit 
was $85,553.) 
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Other Benefits 
Property Tax Deduction/Credit

Annual deduction or refundable credit 
given on the New Jersey resident in-
come tax return. Qualified residents 
may deduct 100% of their Property 
Taxes due and paid or $10,000, 
whichever is less. For tenants, 18% of 
rent paid during the year is considered 
Property Taxes paid. The minimum 
benefit is a refundable credit of $50. 

The amount appropriated for Property 
Tax relief programs in the State Budget 
for Fiscal Year 2010 affected the 
Property Tax Deduction for Tax Year 
2009.  

Homeowners under age 65 and not 
disabled whose gross income was over 
$150,000 but not over $250,000 were 
limited to a $5,000 deduction. The 
Property Tax Deduction was suspended 
for homeowners under age 65 and not 
disabled with gross income over 
$250,000. who were not eligible for a 
deduction because their gross income 
was over $250,000 were still able to 
receive a Property Tax Credit. 

Senior Citizens’ or Disabled Persons’ 

Property Tax Deduction Annual 
deduction of up to $250 from Property 
Taxes for homeowners age 65 or older 
or disabled who meet certain income 
and residency requirements.

Veterans’ Deduction: Annual 
deduction of up to $250 from taxes due 

on the real or personal property of quali-
fied war veterans and their surviving 
spouses/civil union partners/domestic 
partners. 

Property Tax Exemption for Disabled 

Veterans Full exemption from 
Property Taxes on a principal residence 
for certain totally and permanently 
disabled war veterans and their 
surviving spouses/civil union 
partners/domestic partners. Surviving 
spouses/civil union partners/domestic 
partners of servicepersons who died on 
wartime active duty or whose disability 
declaration was granted after death may 
also qualify.  

Public Community Water 

System Tax

Description

The Public Community Water System 
Tax is levied on the owner or operator 
of every public community water 
system in New Jersey based on water 
delivered to consumers, not 
including water purchased for resale, 
on or after April 1, 1984. 

Rate 

The rate is $0.01 per 1,000 gallons of 
water delivered to a consumer. 
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Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited in the Safe 
Drinking Water Fund administered by 
the New Jersey Department of 
Environmental Protection and used to 
ensure clean drinking water in New 
Jersey. 

Public Utility Franchise Tax 

Description

Public Utility Franchise Tax applies to 
all sewerage and water companies 
having lines and mains along, in, on, or 
over any public thoroughfare. 

The rate is either 2% or 5% of a 
proportion of the gross receipts of the 
taxpayer for the preceding calendar 
year. The proportion of gross receipts 
subject to tax is the ratio of the 
taxpayer’s total length of lines or mains 
that are located along, in, on, or over any 
street, highway, road, or other public 
place to the whole length of lines or 
mains. Measurements of lengths of lines 
or mains exclude service connections. 

Administration 

The Franchise Tax levied against the 
sewerage and water companies is 
payable to the State in three 
installments: 35% due May 15, 35% due 
August 15, and 30% due November 15. 

Rate 

The rate is 2% for taxpayers with 
calendar year gross receipts of $50,000 
or less and 5% for taxpayers with calen-
dar year gross receipts exceeding 
$50,000. 

Disposition of Revenues 
Revenues are deposited into an account 
that is used to fund the Energy Tax 
Receipts Property Tax Relief Fund, 
which is distributed to municipalities in 
accordance with P.L. 1997, C. 167. 

Public Utility Gross 

Receipts Tax 

Description 

Public Utility Gross Receipts Tax is in 
addition to the Franchise Tax and is in 
lieu of the local taxation of certain prop-
erties of sewerage and water companies 
in New Jersey. 

Administration 

The Gross Receipts Tax levied against 
the sewerage and water companies is 
payable to the State in three 
installments: 35% due May 15, 35% due 
August 15, and 30% due November 15. 
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Rate

7.5% is applied to the gross receipts for 
the preceding calendar year. 

Disposition of Revenues 
Revenues are deposited into an account 
that is used to fund the Energy Tax 
Receipts Property Tax Relief Fund, 
which is distributed to municipalities in 
accordance with P.L. 1997, C. 167. 

Public Utility Excise Tax 

Description
Public Utility Excise Tax is an 
additional tax on sewerage and water 
public utilities. 

Administration 

The Public Utility Excise Tax levied 
against the sewerage and water 
companies is payable to the State in full 
on May 1. 

Rate (Calendar Year Basis) 

0.625% — on gross receipts subject 
to the Franchise Tax (0.25% for 
taxpayers with gross receipts not in 
excess of $50,000 annually);  
0.9375% — on gross receipts of 
all sewerage and water public utilities. 

Disposition of Revenues 
Revenues are deposited into an account 
that is used to fund the Energy Tax 

Receipts Property Tax Relief Fund, 
which is distributed to municipalities in 
accordance with P.L. 1997, C. 167. 

Railroad Franchise Tax

Description

The Railroad Franchise Tax is levied on 
railroads (or systems of railroads) 
operating within New Jersey. The tax 
base is that portion of the road’s (or 
system’s) net railway operating income 
of the preceding year allocated to New 
Jersey. The allocating factor is the ratio 
of the number of miles of all track in 
this State to the total number of miles 
of all track over which the railroad or 
system operates. 

Rate 

Railroad Franchise Tax is assessed at 
the rate of 10% on the net railway 
operating income of the preceding year 
allocated to New Jersey. The minimum 
is $100 for taxpayers having total 
railway operating revenues in the 
preceding year of $1 million or less and 
$4,000 for taxpayers with operating 
revenues in excess of $1 million in the 
preceding year.  

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited in the State 
Treasury for general State use. 
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Railroad Property Tax

Description

Railroad Tax Law of 1948 as amended 
distinguishes three classes of property: 

Class I: “Main stem” roadbed—that not 
exceeding 100 feet in width. 

Class II: All other real estate used for 
railroad purposes including roadbed 
other than “main stem” (Class I), tracks, 
buildings, water tanks, riparian rights, 
docks, wharves, piers.  

Excluded is “tangible personal 
property”: rolling stock, cars, 
locomotives, ferryboats, all machinery, 
tools. Facilities used in passenger 
service are also excluded, being defined 
as Class III property. 

Class III: Facilities used in passenger 
service: land, stations, terminals, 
roadbeds, tracks, appurtenances, ballast, 
and all structures used in connection 
with rendering passenger service, 
including signal systems, power systems, 
equipment storage, repair, and service 
facilities (N.J.S.A. 54:20A-2).  

The Railroad Property Tax is a State tax 
on Class II property. 

Exemptions 

Main stem (Class I), tangible personal 
property, and facilities used in 

passenger service (Class III) are exempt 
from tax.  

Rate 

$4.75 for each $100 of true value of 
Class II railroad property 

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited in the State 
Treasury for general State use. However, 
under legislation adopted in 1966, the 
municipalities where railroad property 
is located are guaranteed the return of 
certain replacement revenues. No State 
aid has been paid since Calendar Year 
1982, except for 1984–1994 payments 
to those municipalities in which Class II 
railroad property owned by New Jersey 
Transit Corporation is located (P.L. 
1984, C. 58). Since 1995, payments 
have been paid on Class II railroad 
properties owned by New Jersey Transit 
Corporation through the Consolidated 
Municipal Tax Relief Aid program 
administered by the Department of 
Community Affairs. 

Realty Transfer Fee

Description

The Realty Transfer Fee is imposed on 
the recording of deeds evidencing 
transfers of title to real property in the 
State of New Jersey. The Realty 
Transfer Fee is calculated based on the 
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amount of consideration recited in the 
deed. 

The Realty Transfer Fee does not apply 
to a deed: for a consideration of less than 
$100; by or to the United States of 
America, this State, or any 
instrumentality, agency, or subdivision 
thereof; solely in order to provide or 
release security for a debt or obligation; 
that confirms or corrects a deed 
previously recorded; on a sale for 
delinquent taxes or assessments; on 
partition; by a receiver, trustee in 
bankruptcy or liquidation, or assignee 
for the benefit of creditors; eligible to be 
recorded as an “ancient deed” pursuant 
to R.S. 46:16-7;  

acknowledged or proved on or before 
July 3, 1968; between husband and wife, 
or parent and child; conveying a 
cemetery lot or plot; in specific 
performance of a final judgment; 
releasing a right of reversion; previously 
recorded in another county and full 
Realty Transfer Fee paid or accounted 
for, as evidenced by written instrument, 
attested by the grantee, and ac-
knowledged by the county recording 
officer; by an executor or administrator 
of a decedent to a devisee or heir to 
effect distribution of the decedent’s 
estate in accordance with the provisions 

of the decedent’s will or the intestate 
laws of this State; and recorded within
90 days following the entry of a 
divorce decree that dissolves the 
marriage between grantor and grantee; 
issued by a cooperative corporation, 
as part of a conversion of all of the 
assets of the cooperative corporation 
into a condominium, to a shareholder 
on the surrender by the shareholder 
of all of the shareholder’s stock in the 
cooperative corporation and the 
proprietary lease entitling the 
shareholder to exclusive occupancy of a 
portion of the property owned by the 
corporation.  

Chapter 103, P.L. 2006, the Civil Union 
Act, grants civil union couples the same 
benefits, protections, and respon-
sibilities under law as are granted to 
spouses in marriage. The law required 
amendatory language pertaining to par-
tial and total exemptions from the 
Realty Transfer Fee to be included on 
the Affidavit forms (RTF-1 and 
RTF-1EE) and other Property 
Administration forms. 

Rate 

In accordance with Chapter 66, Laws of 
2004, as amended by Chapter 19, Laws 
of 2005, the level or rate of the Realty 
Transfer Fee is as follows: 
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Standard Transactions  

and New Construction

Not Over $350,000 

Consideration              Rate / $500 
___________________________________________ 

 over   but not over 
$   0   $ 150,000   $ 2.00 

  150,000  200,000  3.35 
  200,000  350,000  3.90 

Total Consideration Over $350,000 

 Consideration  Rate / $500 
______________________________________________________ 

 over  but not over 
$  0  $ 150,000  $ 2.90 

 150,000  200,000  4.25 
 200,000  550,000  4.80 
 550,000  850,000  5.30 
 850,000  1,000,000  5.80 

  1,000,000*  6.05 

Senior Citizens or Blind or Disabled 

Persons; Low and Moderate Income 

Housing  

Total Consideration Not Over $350,000 

 Consideration  Rate / $500 
______________________________________________________

 over  but not over 
$  0  $ 150,000  $0.50 

 150,000  350,000  1.25 

Total Consideration Over $350,000 

 Consideration  Rate / $500 
______________________________________________________

 over  but not over 
$  0  $150,000  $1.40 

 150,000  550,000  2.15 
 550,000  850,000  2.65 
 850,000  1,000,000  3.15 

 1,000,000*  3.40

*Additional fee when consideration is

over $1 million

A 1% fee is imposed on grantees
(buyers) on property transfers for
consideration in excess of $1 million for

property class 2 “residential”; class 3A 
“farm property (regular)” if effectively 
transferred with other property to the 
same grantee; and cooperative units, 
which are class 4C. The 1% fee is 
imposed on the entire amount of such 
consideration recited in the deed.  

The 1% fee is not imposed on 
organizations determined by the federal 
Internal Revenue Service to be exempt 
from federal income taxation that are 
the buyers in deeds for a 
consideration in excess of $1 million. 
Chapter 33, P.L. 2006, provides that: 

• A fee of 1% is imposed on Class 4A
“commercial properties” for an entire
consideration in excess of $1 million as
well as the classes already incurring the
1% fee.

• The 1% fee does not apply if real
property transfer is incidental to a
corporate merger or acquisition and the
equalized assessed value of the real
property transferred is less than 20% of
the total value of all assets exchanged in
the merger or acquisition.

• Buyers (grantees) in deeds involving
Class 4A sales recorded on or before
November 15, 2006, that were
transferred pursuant to a contract fully
executed before July 1, 2006, who remit
the 1% fee shall have it refunded by
filing a Claim for Refund with the Divi-
sion within one year following the
recording date of the deed.
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• Affidavit of Consideration for Use by

Seller (Form RTF-1) is required for all
Class 4 property deed recordings.

• A fee of 1% is imposed on nondeed

transfers of a controlling interest in an
entity that possesses, directly or
indirectly, a controlling interest in
classified real property, payable to the
Director, by the purchaser of the
controlling interest.

Disposition of Revenues 

The Realty Transfer Fees per $500 of 
consideration will be allocated 
according to the type of transaction as 
follows: 

Standard (no exemption) 
Total Consideration Not Over $350,000 

County    State New Jersey  
Consideration Treasurer1    Treasurer2 AHTF 

    Over   But not over
$0  $150,000   $ 0.75 $ 1.25 $ 0.00
150,000 200,000 0.75 1.85 0.75
 200,000 350,000 0.75 2.40 0.75  
Total Consideration Over $350,000 

County State New Jersey
Consideration    Treasurer1  Treasurer2      AHTF

    Over  But not over
$ 0 $150,000   $ 0.75 $ 2.15 $ 0.00 
 150,000 200,000       0.75          2.75        0.75
 200,000 550,000       0.75          3.30        0.75
 550,000 850,000       0.75          3.80        0.75
 850,000 1,000,000    0.75          4.30        0.75
 1,000,000 0.75          4.55        0.75 

Senior Citizens or Blind or 
Disabled Persons; Low and 
Moderate Income Housing  
Total Consideration Not Over $350,000 
County               State           New Jersey 
Consideration Treasurer Treasurer AHTF

Over     But not over
$ 0   $150,000       $0.50 $0.00 $0.00  
150,000 350,000    0.50 0.00 0.75  
Total Consideration Over $350,000 

County State New Jersey  
Consideration Treasurer Treasurer3 AHTF
Over    But not over
$ 0    $150,000    $ 0.50 $ 0.90 $ 0.00  
150,000 550,000    0.50 0.90 0.75  
550,000 850,000    0.50 1.40 0.75  
850,000 1,000,000 0.50 1.90 0.75  
1,000,000                0.50 2.15 0.75 

New Construction 

Total Consideration Not Over $350,000 

County State New Jersey  
Consideration Treasurer1 Treasurer2 AHTF 
Over     But not over 
$ 0 $ 150,000  $0.75 $1.003 $0.25 
150,000 200,000     0.75 0.60 2.00  
200,000 350,000     0.75 1.15 2.00  
Total Consideration Over $350,000 

County State New Jersey  
Consideration Treasurer1 Treasurer2 AHTF
Over     But not over
$ 0 $ 150,000 $0.75 $1.90 $0.25  
150,000 200,000 0.75 1.50 2.00  
200,000 550,000 0.75 2.05 2.00  
550,000 850,000 0.75 2.55 2.00  
850,000 1,000,000   0.75 3.05 2.00  
1,000,000                  0.75 3.30 2.00 

1 Under the Public Health Priority Funding Act of 1977, $0.25 
per $500 of consideration is deposited into a special fund.

2Amount per $500 of consideration is deposited as follows: 
Extraordinary Aid Account 
Standard Transactions 

Not over $150,000 $ 0.00 
Over $150,000 but not over $200,000 0.60 
Over $200,000 1.15  

New Construction 

Not over $150,000 $ 1.00  
Over $150,000 but not over $200,000 0.60  
Over $200,000 1.15  
State General Fund  
When the total consideration is over $350,000, a General 
Purpose Fee is imposed as follows:  
Not over $150,000                                                  $ 0.90  
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Over $150,000 but not over $550,000 0.90  
Over $550,000 but not over $850,000 1.40  
Over $850,000 but not over $1,000,000 1.90  
Over $1,000,000 2.15  
3Entire amount is deposited into the State General Fund. 

The proceeds of the Realty Transfer 
Fees collected by the county recording 
officer are accounted for and remitted 
to the county treasurer. In Fiscal Year 
2017, a total of $400,431,144 was paid 
to the State Treasury in Realty 
Transfer Fees and deposited into the 
State General Fund.  Amounts not in 
excess of $25 million paid during the 
fiscal year to the State Treasury from 
the State portion of the basic fee are 
credited to the Shore Protection 
Fund.  
In Fiscal Year 2017, $75,690,965 was 
paid to the State Treasury and credited 
to the New Jersey Affordable Housing 
Trust Fund.  
A “supplemental fee” is allocated 
between the county Public Health 
Priority Fund and the State 
Extraordinary Aid Account. In Fiscal 
Year 2017, the Extraordinary Aid Ac-
count received $87,546,332. 

Recycling Tax

Description

P.L. 2007, C. 311, imposes a Recycling 
Tax on every ton of solid waste accepted 
for disposal or transfer at a solid waste 
facility. Every owner or operator of a 
solid waste facility in New Jersey is 
subject to this tax. The tax is also

imposed on every ton of solid waste 
collected by a solid waste collector that 
transports solid waste for transshipment 
or direct transportation to an out-of-state 
disposal site. 

Rate 

The Recycling Tax is imposed at the rate 
of $3.00 per ton.  

Disposition of Revenues 

The revenue collected from the 
Recycling Tax is deposited in the non-
lapsing, revolving Recycling Fund and 
administered by the New Jersey 
Department of Environmental 
Protection. Moneys in the fund are 
appropriated solely for the following 
purposes and no other: (1) 60% for the 
annual expenses of a program for direct 
recycling grants to municipalities or 
counties in those instances in which a 
county, at its own expense, provides for 
the collection, processing, and 
marketing of recyclable materials on a 
regional basis; (2) 5% for State 
recycling program planning and 
program funding; (3) 25% to provide 
State aid to counties for preparing, 
revising, and implementing solid waste 
management plans; (4) 5% to be used by 
counties for public information and 
education programs concerning 
recycling activities; and (5) 5% to 
provide grants to institutions of higher 
education to conduct research in 
recycling. 
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Sales and Use Tax 

Description

Sales and Use Tax applies to receipts 
from retail sale, rental, or use of tangible 
personal property or specified digital 
products; retail sale of producing, 
fabricating, processing, installing, 
maintaining, repairing, and servicing 
tangible personal property or specified 
digital products; maintaining, servicing, 
or repairing real property; certain mail 
processing services; tattooing, tanning, 
and massage services; investigation and 
security services; information services; 
limousine services; sales of restaurant 
meals and prepared food; rental of hotel 
and motel rooms; certain admission 
charges; certain membership fees; 
parking charges; storage services; sales 
of magazines and periodicals; delivery 
charges; and telecommunications 
services, except as otherwise provided 
in the Sales and Use Tax Act. 

A compensating Use Tax is also 
imposed when taxable property and 
services are purchased and New Jersey 
Sales Tax is either not collected or is 
collected at a rate less than New Jersey’s 
Sales Tax rate. The Use Tax is due when 
such property, or the property on which 
taxable services are performed, comes 
into New Jersey. If sales tax was paid to 
another state, the Use Tax is only due if 
the tax was paid at a rate less than New 
Jersey’s rate. All persons required to 
collect must file a Business Registration 

Application (Form NJ-REG). Each 
registrant’s authority to collect the 
Sales Tax is certified by a 
Certificate of Authority issued by the 
Division, which must be prominently 
displayed at each place of business to 
which it applies. 

Major exemptions include: sales of 
newspapers; magazines and periodicals 
sold by subscription and membership 
periodicals; casual sales except motor 
vehicles and registered boats; clothing; 
farm supplies and equipment; flags of 
New Jersey and the United States; 
unprepared food and food ingredients 
purchased for human consumption; 
food sold in school cafeterias; 
prescription and certain non-prescription  
drugs and other medical aids; motor 
fuels; textbooks; professional and per-
sonal services unless otherwise taxable 
under the Act; real estate sales; tangible   
personal property used in research and 
development; and production machinery 
and equipment.

The Sales and Use Tax Act was 
amended, effective October 1, 2005, to 
conform New Jersey’s law to the 
requirements of the Streamlined Sales 
and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA), 
which is a multi-state effort to simplify 
and modernize the collection and 
administration of sales and use taxes.  

The adoption of the SSUTA resulted in 
significant changes in New Jersey’s tax 
policy and administration, including 
uniform product definitions and changes 
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in the taxability of specific items. In 
addition, the SSUTA provided for the 
creation of a new central registration 
system, certain amnesty provisions, and 
minor changes in the treatment of 
exemption certificates. 

Rate 

Until January 1, 2017, the rate was 7% 
on taxable sales. The State lowered the 
rate to 6.875 percent on that date. It 
fell to 6.625 percent on January 1, 
2018.

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited in the State 
Treasury for general State use 

History 

New Jersey’s first Sales Tax became 
effective on July 1, 1935. The tax rate 
was set at 2%. Chapter 268, P.L. 1935, 
provided that sales taxation would 
cease as of June 13, 1938. 

Sales and Use Tax next became 
effective July 1, 1966. Rate of tax was 
set at 3% (C. 30, P.L. 1966). 

Additional exemptions from the tax 
were provided by C. 25, P.L. 1967. 
Chapter 7, P.L. 1970, increased the tax 
rate to 5% effective March 1, 1970. 
This Act and C. 25, P.L. 1970, 
contained certain transitional provisions 
relating to this increased rate. 

Effective July 1, 1972, sales of alcoholic 
beverages, except draught beer sold by 
the barrel, to any retail licensee were 
made subject to Sales and Use Tax (C. 
27, P.L. 1972).  

The 1972 amendment repealed taxation 
of sales of packaged liquor by retailer to 
consumer. The tax applied at the 
wholesale-retail level. Its base was the 
minimum consumer retail price as filed 
with the Board of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control. 

Sale, rental, or lease of commercial 
motor vehicles weighing more than 
18,000 pounds became exempt from 
Sales and Use Tax effective January 1, 
1978 (C. 217, P.L. 1977). 

Production machinery and equipment 
became exempt from Sales and Use Tax 
effective January 1, 1978.  

The Division took over administration 
of the Atlantic City Luxury Sales Tax (C. 
60, P.L. 1980).  

A new tax imposed on wholesale 
receipts of alcoholic beverage licensees 
at 6.5% of the wholesale price 
superseded the prior tax imposed under 
the Sales and Use Tax law at 5% of the 
minimum consumer resale price (C. 62, 
P.L. 1980).
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Recycling equipment was exempted 
from Sales and Use Tax effective 
January 12, 1982 (C. 546, P.L. 1981).  

The Sales and Use Tax rate increased to 
6% effective January 3, 1983 (C. 227, 
P.L. 1982).

Nonprescription drugs, household paper 
products, and soaps and detergents were 
exempted from Sales and Use Tax 
effective July 1, 1983. 

The Sales and Use Tax rate increased to 
7% effective July 1, 1990. Several major 
exempt items and services became 
taxable July 1, 1990, e.g., cigarettes; 
alcoholic beverages; household soap 
and paper products; janitorial services; 
telecommunications services; and sales, 
rentals, leasing, parts, and services for 
certain commercial motor vehicles (C. 
40, P.L. 1990).  

Chapter 115, P.L. 1990, approved 
November 19, 1990, reinstated, with 
modifications, the exemption for certain 
sales, rentals, leases, and repair and 
replacement parts for commercial motor 
vehicles, retroactive to July 1, 1990. 

Household paper products became 
exempt again September 1, 1991 (C. 
209, P.L. 1991).  

The Sales and Use Tax rate decreased to 
6% effective July 1, 1992 (C. 11, P.L. 
1992). 

Local public pay-phone calls were 
exempted from the tax under a law 
passed January 15, 1993, and retroactive 
to July 1, 1990 (C. 10, P.L. 1993). 

Effective July 1, 1994, retail sales of 
certain tangible personal property in 
Salem County were taxed at 3% (C. 373, 
P.L. 1993).

Sales and Use Tax was repealed on 
ad space in telecommunications user 
or provider directory or index 
distributed in New Jersey effective 
April 1, 1996 (C. 184, P.L. 1995).

Certain radio and television broadcast 
production equipment was exempted 
from Sales and Use Tax effective April 
1, 1996 (C. 317, P.L. 1995).  

Sales and Use Tax was imposed on 
sales of energy (C. 162, P.L. 1997).  
Effective January 8, 1998, the farm use 
exemption applies to tangible personal 
property (except autos and property 
incorporated into a building or 
structure) used “directly and 
primarily” in production for sale of 
tangible personal property for sale at 
farms, ranches, nurseries, orchards,  
and greenhouses (C. 293, P.L. 1997). 

Imprinting services performed on 
manufacturing equipment that is 
exempt under N.J.S.A. 54:32B-8.13 
were exempted from Sales and 
Use Tax effective March 1, 1998 (C. 
333, P.L. 1997). 
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Sales and Use Tax was repealed on 
sales of advertising services, other than 
direct-mail services performed in New 
Jersey, on and after November 1, 1998 
(C. 99, P.L. 1998). 

Chapter 221, P.L. 1999, provides for 
expanded Sales and Use Tax 
exemptions for film and video industries. 

Chapter 246, P.L. 1999, exempts repairs 
to certain aircraft from Sales and Use 
Tax. 

Chapter 248, P.L. 1999, clarifies the 
imposition of New Jersey Sales and Use 
Tax on the retail sale of prepaid 
telephone calling arrangements. The 
statute shifts the incidence of the tax 
from the point of use to the point at 
which the arrangement is sold to the 
consumer. 

Sales and Use Tax exemption for the 
amount of sales through coin-operated 
vending machines was increased from 
$0.10 to $0.25 (C. 249, P.L. 1999). 

The Firearm Accident Prevention Act 
(C. 253, P.L. 1999) exempts sales of 
firearm trigger locks from Sales and Use 
Tax. 

The Secure Firearm Storage Act 
exempts sales of firearm vaults from 
Sales and Use Tax (C. 254, P.L. 1999). 

Chapter 273, P.L. 1999, provides for 
general exemption from Sales and Use 
Tax of costs of purchase and repair of 
commuter ferryboats.  

“Farm use” exemption was revised 
through C. 314, P.L. 1999.  
Chapter 365, P.L. 1999, provides Sales 
and Use Tax exemptions for certain 
purchases by flood victims of Hurricane 
Floyd.  

Chapter 416, P.L. 1999, grants exempt 
organization status under the New 
Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act to the 
National Guard, Marine Corps League, 
and war veterans’ posts or associations. 
This law also created a Sales and Use 
Tax Review Commission. 

Chapter 90, P.L. 2001, provides for a 
Sales and Use Tax exemption for the 
sale and repair of limousines.  

The Uniform Sales and Use Tax 
Administration Act (C. 431, P.L. 2001) 
authorized New Jersey to participate in 
discussions of the Streamlined Sales 
Tax Project in an effort to simplify and 
modernize Sales and Use Tax collection 
and administration.  

Chapter 45, P.L. 2002, brought the Sales 
and Use Tax Act into compliance with 
the federal Mobile Telecommunications 
Sourcing Act.  

Chapter 136, P.L. 2003, provides that 
the receipts from rentals of tangible 
personal property between “related per-
sons” are exempt from Sales and Use 
Tax.  

Chapter 266, P.L. 2003, provides a Sales 
and Use Tax exemption for the sale of 
zero emission motor vehicles. 
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 Through the enactment of P.L. 2005, C. 
126, New Jersey joined a national 
coalition of states in conforming the 
New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act to the 
provisions of the Streamlined Sales and 
Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA).  

The SSUTA was developed over the 
course of several years through the joint 
effort of over 40 states participating in 
the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax 
Project. The underlying purpose of the 
Agreement is to simplify and modernize 
the administration of the sales and use 
tax laws of the member states in order to 
facilitate multi-state tax 
administration and compliance. The 
provisions of the new law took effect 
on October 1, 2005. 
Chapter 44, P.L. 2006, increased the 
Sales and Use Tax rate from 6% to 7%, 
effective July 15, 2006. The law also 
expanded the Sales and Use Tax base 
effective October 1, 2006, by 
imposing tax on various products 
and services that were not 
previously taxed as well as by limiting 
existing exemptions for other products 
and services. 
P.L. 2007, C. 94, provides an exemption
from Sales and Use Tax on energy and
utility services and from the Transitional
Energy Facility Assessment unit rate
surcharge for manufacturing facilities
producing products using recycled
materials and satisfying several precise
and complex criteria (initially
applicable only to one manufacturing

facility in the State). The exemption was 
in effect for seven years, and during that 
time the economic effect of allowing the 
facility’s exemption was reviewed 
annually. 

P.L. 2007, C. 105, effective July 1, 2007,
carved out certain exceptions to two
new impositions of tax that were part of
the expansion of Sales and Use Tax. The
Act amended N.J.S.A. 54:32B-3(h),
which imposes tax on fees and dues for
use of the facilities of health and fitness,
athletic, sporting, and shopping clubs
and organizations.

The amendment exempts such fees and 
dues if the club or organization is either 
an exempt private organization or an 
exempt public entity. The Act also 
amended N.J.S.A. 54:32B-3(i), which 
imposes tax on receipts for parking or 
garaging a motor vehicle, with certain 
exceptions.  

The amendment carved out additional 
exceptions: municipal parking and 
garaging, even when not “metered,” and 
certain parking fees at Atlantic City 
casinos. 

P.L. 2008, C. 123, effective January 1,
2009, repealed the Fur Clothing Retail
Gross Receipts Tax and Use Tax and
replaced it by adding “fur clothing” as
taxable tangible personal property under
the Sales and Use Tax Act (N.J.S.A.
54:32B-1 et seq.).
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P.L. 2009, C. 90, broadened the
exemption provided by P.L. 2007, C. 94
to include any postconsumer material
manufacturing facility instead of only
including manufacturing facilities
producing products using recycled
materials.

P.L. 2009, C. 240, clarified the meaning
of “contiguous property” and removed
limitations on exemption for natural gas
and utility service used for cogeneration.

P.L. 2011, C. 49, made various technical
changes in the Sales Tax law to maintain
compliance with the Streamlined Sales
and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA). The
bill replaced “digital property” with
“specified digital product” and made
other ancillary changes; provided new
compliance provisions that incorporate
SSUTA provisions relieving certain
sellers from liability due to changes in
the Sales and Use Tax rate; removed
remaining references to the term
“vendor,” replacing them with “seller”;
and removed charges for installation as
part of the enumerated charges included
in the definition of “sales price.”

P.L. 2012, C. 40, established a grant
program to provide a one-time rebate of
the Sales and Use Tax paid for the
purchase of certain materials and
supplies used for the construction of
certain off-track wagering facilities.

P.L. 2013, C. 193, provides a Sales and
Use Tax exemption for cosmetic
makeup services provide in conjunction
with reconstructive breast surgery.

P.L. 2014, C. 13, created the 
presumption that a remote seller making 
sales to New Jersey customers of 
tangible personal property, specified 
digital products, or services taxable 
under the Sales and Use Tax Act has 
nexus with New Jersey and is required 
to collect and remit New Jersey Sales 
Tax if that seller enters into an 
agreement to pay a commission or other 
consideration to an independent 
contractor or other representative 
located in this State who refers 
customers to that seller, whether by a 
link on a website or otherwise.

P.L. 2015, c. 170 amended the Sales and 
Use Tax Act to provide a 50 percent 
Sales and Use Tax exemption on the 
sale of new and used boats or other 
vessels (including motorboats, sailboats, 
yachts, and cruisers) and capped the 
amount of Sales and Use Tax so that the 
most that the State can collect on each 
sale is $20,000. As a result, the Sales 
and Use Tax rate goes to half of the 
applicable rate. 

P.L. 2016, Chapter 57, Section 3, 
reduced the Sales Tax rate from 
7 percent to 6.875 percent on and 
after January 1, 2017, and then to 
6.625 percent on  January 1, 2018.

P.L. 2017, c.27, eliminates tax on 
receipts from transportation services 
that originate in this State and are 
provided by a limousine operator on or 
after May 1, 2017.
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Sales and Use Tax Collections 

(In Billions) 

Fiscal Year Collections 
2008 8,915,515,422

2009 8,264,162,457

2010 7,898,166,015

2011 8,144,397,344

2012 8,099,548,866

2013 8,454,788,087

2014 8,849,369,361

2015 9,146,025,530

2016 9,267,703,006

20171 9,591,881,386 

1Rate reduced to 6.875% on Jan. 1, 2017. Previous rate was 7%

Urban Enterprise Zones 

The New Jersey Urban Enterprise 

Zones Act (C. 303, P.L. 1983), 

approved August 15, 1983, 

provides tax advantages and other 

business tools to enhance 

development efforts in the State’s 

economically distressed urban centers.
The statute was amended in 2002 to add 
Urban Enterprise Zone-impacted 
business districts. Urban Enterprise 
Zone-impacted business districts are 

areas that have been negatively 

impacted by the presence of two or more 

adjacent Urban Enterprise Zones. Under 

the program, qualified municipalities 

apply to the Urban Enterprise Zone 

Authority to have a portion of the 

municipality designated as an Urban 

Enterprise Zone or Urban Enterprise 

Zone-impacted business district.  

Businesses must apply to the local 

municipal zone coordinator to be 

certified as a “qualified business” before 

they can take advantage of these 

benefits. 

Initially 10 zones (the maximum 

number provided under the statute) were 

established in: Bridgeton, Camden, 

Elizabeth, Jersey City, Kearny, 

Millville/Vineland, Newark, Orange, 

Plainfield, and Trenton. Chapter 367, 

P.L. 1993, approved January 5, 1994,

allowed for the designation of 10

additional enterprise zones. This

increased the number of zones from 10

to 20, adding Asbury Park/Long Branch,

Carteret, Lakewood, Mount Holly,

Passaic, Paterson, Perth Amboy,

Phillipsburg, Pleasantville, and Union

City.

In 1996, 7 new zones were added: East 

Orange, Guttenberg, Hillside, Irvington, 

North Bergen, Pemberton, and West 

New York. In 2002, 3 additional zones 

were designated: Bayonne City, Roselle 

Borough, and a joint zone consisting of 

North Wildwood City, Wildwood City, 

Wildwood Crest Borough, and West 

Wildwood Borough (P.L. 2001 C. 347). 
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Gloucester City was added effective 
April 1, 2004 (P.L. 2003, C. 285). New 
Brunswick was added as the 32nd zone 
effective July 1, 2004 (P.L. 2004, C. 75). 

In 2002, legislation was passed that 
requires the Urban Enterprise Zone 
Authority to extend a zone’s initial 
designation as an Urban Enterprise Zone 
if the particular enterprise zone meets 
certain requirements.  

The same legislation provides for the 
replacement of the final 5-year period of 
the 20-year Urban Enterprise Zone 
designation for the eligible zones with a 
new 16-year period. 

The possible tax benefits conferred on 
qualified businesses within a designated 
Urban Enterprise Zone include: 

 Corporation Business Tax credits
for hiring new employees;

 Sales and Use Tax exemption for
purchases of building materials, most
tangible personal property, and most
services for business use;

 Unemployment Tax rebates;

 Authorization to impose State
Sales Tax at 50% of the regular rate.

The only benefit conferred on qualified 
businesses within a designated Urban 
Enterprise Zone-impacted business 
district is the authorization to impose 
State Sales Tax at 50% of the regular 
rate. 

Sales Tax Benefits 

A seller within an Urban Enterprise 
Zone or Urban Enterprise Zone-
impacted business district wishing to 
collect Sales Tax at the reduced rate 
must first be certified as a “qualified 
business,” and then apply to the 
Division of Taxation for authority to 
collect tax at the reduced rate.  

No business may collect Sales Tax at the 
reduced rate without the proper 
certification. The certification is valid 
for one year. Recertification is 
automatic unless the business changes 
or loses its qualified status.  

A qualified business may collect Sales 
Tax at the reduced rate only on a face-
to-face retail sale of tangible property to 
a buyer who comes to its business 
location within the zone or district and 
accepts delivery from the location.  

Thus, telephone, mail-order, or catalog 
sales do not qualify for the reduced rate. 
Sales of certain items are not eligible for 
the reduced Sales Tax rate. Tax must be 
collected at the full regular rate on sales 
of: restaurant meals and prepared food, 
cigarettes, alcoholic beverages, energy, 
and the sale, rental, or lease of motor 
vehicles. The reduced rate does not 
apply to sales of any services by a 
qualified business. 

A qualified business may purchase 
items of tangible personal property 
(office and business equipment, supplies, 
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furnishings, fixtures, etc.), and taxable 
services (construction work, repair, and 
installation services, etc.) that are for the 
exclusive use of the business at its 
location in the zone without paying 
Sales Tax. Building materials used at the 
zone location are also exempt from tax, 
whether purchased by the qualified 
business or the contractor.  

The exemption from Sales Tax does not 
apply to purchases or repairs of motor 
vehicles, or purchases of 
telecommunications services and 
energy. Qualified businesses located 
within Urban Enterprise Zone-impacted 
business districts are not entitled to this 
benefit.  

P.L. 2004, C. 65, amended the Urban
Enterprise Zones Act to include a Sales
and Use Tax exemption for energy and
utility service sold to certain qualified
Urban Enterprise Zone businesses.

In order to be eligible, a qualified 
business, or a group of vertically 
integrated qualified businesses within a 
single redevelopment area, must employ 
at least 500 people within an enterprise 
zone, at least 50% of whom are directly 
employed in a manufacturing process.  

P.L. 2005, C. 374, amended the
exemption for energy and utility service
sold to certain qualified Urban
Enterprise Zone businesses by changing
“500 people” to “250 people.” It also
extended the exemption to qualifying
Salem County businesses that employ at
least 50 people.

P.L. 2006, C. 34, effective July 15, 2006,
amended the Urban Enterprise Zones
Act to require that to qualify as a UEZ
business an applicant must meet all
outstanding tax obligations.

The law also required that UEZ 
qualified businesses having annual 
gross receipts of $1,000,000 or more 
obtain exemption from Sales and Use 
Tax on purchases by filing a claim for 
refund of tax, rather than by using a 
point-of-purchase exemption certificate. 

P.L. 2007, C. 328, effective January 13,
2008, instituted a new filing procedure
for qualified Urban Enterprise Zone
(UEZ) businesses claiming a refund of
Sales Tax paid.

Documentation is no longer required to 
be submitted with a refund claim form. 
In addition, the definition of “small 
business” applicable to the UEZ Sales 
Tax Rebate Program was amended by 
raising the maximum annual gross 
receipts threshold from less than $1 
million to less than $3 million.  

P.L. 2008, C. 118, broadened the small
qualified business definition under the
Urban Enterprise Zone Sales Tax
Rebate program by raising the
maximum annual gross receipts
threshold from less than $3 million to
less than $10 million.P.L. 2011, C. 28,
effective for sales or services made or
rendered on or after April 1, 2011,
allows all qualified Urban Enterprise
Zone (UEZ) businesses to be eligible to
receive the Sales Tax exemption at the
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point of purchase regardless of annual 
gross receipts. 

Spill Compensation and 

Control Tax

Description

The Spill Compensation and Control 
Tax is imposed on owners or operators 
of one or more major facilities used to 
refine, store, produce, handle, transfer, 
process, or transport hazardous 
substances, including petroleum prod-
ucts, to ensure compensation for 
cleanup costs and damages due to 
discharge of hazardous substances.  

The tax is also imposed on owners of a 
hazardous substance that is transferred 
to a public storage terminal, and to any 
transferor of a previously untaxed 
nonpetroleum hazardous substance 
from a major facility to one that is a 
nonmajor facility. 

Rate

1. Nonpetroleum hazardous
substances — 53% of fair market
value;

2. Petroleum products — $0.023 per
barrel;

3. Precious metals — $0.023 per
barrel;

4. Elemental phosphorus — $0.023
per barrel; and

5. Elemental antimony or antimony
trioxide — $0.023 per barrel, with
annual approval.

The tax rate may be increased in the case 
of a major discharge or series of 
discharges of petroleum products to a 
rate not to exceed $0.04 per barrel until 
the revenue produced by the increased 
rate equals 150% of the total dollar 
amount of all pending reasonable claims 
resulting from the discharge.  

The tax for an individual taxpayer 
facility that paid the tax in 1986 is 
capped at a certain percentage of the 
taxpayer’s 1986 liability. Other tax cap 
benefits may apply. 

Disposition of Revenues 

The proceeds constitute a fund (New 
Jersey Spill Compensation Fund) to 
ensure compensation for cleanup costs 
and damage associated with the 
discharge of petroleum products and 
other hazardous substances. 

Sports and Entertainment 
Facility Tax

Description

The Sports and Entertainment District 
Urban Revitalization Act (P.L. 2007, C. 
30) authorized eligible municipalities to
create “sports and entertainment
districts” to promote the development
of sports and entertainment facility
projects in the districts. Eligible
municipalities are those falling within a
certain range of population size and
density and that contain part of an
Urban Enterprise Zone.
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Municipalities establishing these 
districts may impose one or more 
specified local taxes and dedicate the 
revenue from some or all of those taxes 
to financing projects in the sports and 
entertainment districts. At present, only 
the City of Millville has adopted an 
ordinance establishing a sports and 
entertainment district. 

Rate 

The tax rate in the Millville sports and 
entertainment district is 2% on receipts 
from retail sales (including rentals) of 
tangible personal property, food and 
drink, rents for hotel occupancies, and 
admission charges that are also taxable 
under the Sales and Use Tax Act. These 
taxes are in addition to any other State 
or local tax or fee imposed on the same 
transaction. 

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited in the State 
Treasury and placed in the Sports and 
Entertainment Facility Revenue Fund 
established for the district. Moneys 
deposited in the fund may be used to 
provide financial assistance to a 
developer toward the costs of financing 
the infrastructure improvements of a 
project.  

Tobacco Products 

Wholesale Sales and Use 

Tax 

Description

The Tobacco Products Wholesale Sales 
and Use Tax is imposed on the receipts 
from every sale of tobacco products, 
other than cigarettes, by a distributor or 
a wholesaler to a retail dealer or 
consumer. Cigarettes are exempt from 
this tax.  

Chapter 448, P.L. 2001, converted the 
Tobacco Products Wholesale Sales and 
Use Tax from one imposed on the price 
that a distributor receives from the sale 
of tobacco products to a seller or 
consumer to one imposed on the 
(lower) price that the distributor pays to 
buy the products from the 
manufacturer.  
Chapter 37, P.L. 2006, amended the 
Tobacco Products Wholesale Sales and 
Use Tax to impose a separate weight-
based tax on moist snuff. Previously, 
moist snuff had been taxed based on 
price with other tobacco products.  
Rate 
The Tobacco Products Wholesale Sales 
and Use Tax is imposed at the rate of 
30% on the invoice price the distributor 
pays to buy the tobacco products, 
excluding moist snuff, from the 
manufacturer. 
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The Tobacco Products Wholesale Sales 
and Use Tax is imposed on moist snuff 
at the rate of $0.75 per ounce on the net 
weight as listed by the manufacturer 
and a proportionate rate on all 
fractional parts of an ounce of the net 
weight of moist snuff.  

Distributors and wholesalers that also 
sell tobacco products at retail or 
otherwise use the tobacco products 
must pay a compensating Use Tax of 
30% measured by the sales price of a 
similar tobacco product, excluding 
moist snuff, to a distributor. Moist snuff 
is taxed at the rate of $0.75 per ounce.  

Disposition of Revenues

Revenues are deposited in the State 
Treasury for general State use. Pursuant 
to P.L. 1997, C. 264, initial collections 
of $5 million are deposited in the 
Health Care Subsidy Fund. 

Transfer Inheritance and 
Estate Taxes

Description

The Transfer Inheritance Tax applies to 
the transfer of all real and tangible 
personal property located in New Jersey 
and intangible personal property 
wherever situated in estates of resident 
decedents. In estates of nonresident 
decedents, the tax applies to real 
property and tangible personal property 
located in the State of New Jersey.  
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The Estate Tax was imposed in addition to 
the Transfer Inheritance Tax on the estates 
of resident decedents. It was phased out and 
was eliminated on January 1, 2018. An 
Estate Tax was payable if the Inheritance 
Tax paid to New Jersey was less than the 
portion of the federal credit for State death 
taxes that is attributable to New Jersey 
property. 

Rate 

The Transfer Inheritance Tax rates depend 
on the amount received and the relationship 
between the decedent and the beneficiary. 
No tax is imposed on Class A beneficiaries 
(father, mother, grandparents, descendants, 
spouses, civil union partners, or domestic 
partners. Class C beneficiaries (brother or 
sister of decedent; husband, wife, or 
widow(er of a child of decedent; civil union 
partner or surviving civil union partner of a 
child of decedent are taxed at 11%–16%, 
with the first $25,000 exempt. Class D 
beneficiaries (not otherwise classified are 
taxed at 15%–16%, with no tax on transfers 
having an aggregate value of less than $500. 
Charitable institutions are exempt from tax. 
For decedents dying on or before December 
31, 2001, the Estate Tax is based on the 
credit for State inheritance, estate, 
succession, or legacy taxes allowable under 
the provisions of the Internal Revenue Code 
in effect on the decedent’s date of death. For 
decedents dying after December 31, 2001, 
the Estate Tax was based on the credit for 
State inheritance, estate, succession, or 
legacy taxes under the provisions of  



the Internal Revenue Code in effect on 
December 31, 2001. 

During 2001 there was no federal estate 
tax due on federal estates of less than 
$675,000. Under the provisions of the 
federal Economic Growth and Tax 
Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001 
(EGTRRA), the applicable federal 
exclusion amounts were increased to: 

2002 and 2003 
2004 and 2005 

$1.0 Million 
1.5 Million  

2006, 2007, and 2008 2.0 Million 
2009 3.5 Million 
2010 Tax Repealed 

The New Jersey Estate Tax exclusion 
was frozen at the 2001 level for 
decedents dying in 2002 and thereafter.

The Estate Tax is an amount equal to 
the federal credit for inheritance, 
estate, succession, and legacy taxes 
allowable under provisions of the 
Internal Revenue Code in effect on 
December 31, 2001.  

A reduction is permitted for that portion 
of the credit that is attributable to 
property located outside New Jersey 
plus any Inheritance Tax paid to New 
Jersey. 

Exemptions From 

The Transfer Inheritance Tax
On December 31, 2016, New Jersey 
capped the Estate Tax exemption at 
$675,000, then raised the cap to $2 
million on January 1, 2017. The 
Estate Tax expired on January 1, 
2018. Before expiration, exemptions 
were granted for:

• All transfers having an aggregate 
value under $500;

• Life insurance proceeds paid to a 
named beneficiary;

• Charitable transfers for the use of 
any educational institution, 
church, hospital, orphan asylum, 
public library, etc.;

• Transfers for public purposes 
made to New Jersey or any 
political subdivision thereof;

• Federal civil service retirement 
benefits payable to a beneficiary 
other than the estate, executor, or 
administrator;

• Annuities payable to survivors of 
military retirees; and

• Qualified employment annuities 
to a surviving spouse, civil union 
partner, or domestic partner.
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Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited in the State 
Treasury for general State use. 

History 

New Jersey first imposed an Inheritance 
Tax in 1892 at a rate of 5% on property 
transferred from a decedent to a 
beneficiary. 

In 1909, legislation was enacted that 
formed the basis of the present Transfer 
Inheritance Tax (N.J.S.A. 54:33-1 et 
seq.).  

In 1934, legislation was enacted that 
formed the basis of the Estate Tax 
(N.J.S.A. 54:38-1 et seq.). On June 30, 
1992, the filing date for estate taxes for 
decedents dying after March 1, 1992, 
was shortened. The due date had been 
the later of 18 months after the date of 
death or 60 days after the federal 
notification of federal estate tax due. 
The new due date is 9 months after date 
of death (C. 39, P.L. 1992). Estate taxes 
are paid by the estate to the extent that 
inheritance taxes are below the federal 
credit for State taxes.  

On February 27, 1985, an amendment to 
the Transfer Inheritance Tax Act (C. 57, 
P.L. 1985) eliminated from taxation
transfers from decedents to surviving
spouses (retroactive to January 1, 1985)
and to other Class A beneficiaries on a
phased-out basis through July 1, 1988.
On July 1, 1988, other Class A
beneficiaries became totally exempt

from the tax. Class C beneficiaries were 
granted a $25,000 exemption effective 
on July 1, 1988.  

In July 2002, legislation (C. 31, P.L. 
2002) was enacted changing the manner 
in which Estate Tax is calculated for the 
estates of decedents dying after 
December 31, 2001. Under the changes 
made to the federal estate tax law, New 
Jersey’s Estate Tax would have been 
phased out over a three-year period. 

P.L. 2003, C. 246, the Domestic
Partnership Act, recognized domestic
partnerships and provided certain rights
and benefits to individuals participating
in them. The Act made significant
changes to the New Jersey Inheritance
Tax for individuals dying on or after
July 10, 2004.

Transfers made to a surviving domestic 
partner were made exempt from the 
Inheritance Tax.  

P.L. 2004, C. 132, enacted August 31,
2004, and effective on the 180th day
following enactment, makes important
changes in the way estates and trusts
must be administered. This change
would indirectly affect both Inheritance
and Estate Tax.

P.L. 2005, C. 331, provides a surviving
domestic partner with the same intestacy
rights as a surviving spouse. Ad-
ditionally, a surviving domestic partner
now has the right to take an elective
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share in a deceased partner’s estate, be 

appointed administrator of the estate, 

and make funeral arrangements. 

P.L. 2006, C. 103, provides a civil union

partner with the same rights as a spouse.

Surviving civil union partners are

exempt from the Inheritance Tax and are

entitled to the same New Jersey Estate

Tax marital deduction as a surviving

spouse.

Transfer Inheritance and Estate Tax 

Collections (In Millions) 

Fiscal Year Collections 
2008 

2009 

2010 

2011 

2012 

2013 

2014 

2015 

2016 

2017

698,694,013 

653,439,759 

581,624,419 

642,182,390 

641,867,808 

623,839,887 

687,436,282 

793,508,218 

769,688,165 

748,629,879

Uniform Transitional 

Utility Assessment 

Description

The Uniform Transitional Utility 

Assessment is assessed against public 

utilities engaged in the sale and/or 

trans-mission of energy (therms of 

natural gas or kilowatt-hours of 

electricity) that were subject to the 

Public Utility Energy Unit Tax prior to 

January 1, 1998, and against 

telecommunication providers 

previously subject to the Public Utility 

Franchise and Gross Receipts Tax 

assessed under C. 4, P.L. 1940. 

Administration 

The Uniform Transitional Utility 

Assessment is assessed against the 

public utility energy companies and the 

public utility telecommunications 

companies, or their successors or 

assignees, and is due May 15. Any 

amount paid by a taxpayer is available 

only as a nonrefundable credit against 

the tax in which the estimation is made, 

and cannot be claimed until after 

August 1 of the year the assessment is 

paid. 

Rate 

For energy taxpayers, the assessment is 

equal to 50% of the total of the 

taxpayer’s estimate of Sales and Use 

Tax on energy (natural gas or 

electricity) and utility service 

(transportation or transmission of 

natural gas or electricity by means of 
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mains, wires, lines, or pipes to users or 
customers) remittance for the calendar 
year and Corporation Business Tax 
liability for the calendar year.  

For telecommunication taxpayers, the 
assessment is equal to 50% of the 
taxpayer’s estimate of its Corporation 
Business Tax liability for the calendar 
year. 

Disposition of Revenues 

Revenues are deposited into accounts 
that are used to fund the Energy Tax 
Receipts Property Tax Relief Fund, 
which is distributed to municipalities in 
accordance with C. 167, P.L. 1997. 
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LEGISLATION AND COURT DECISIONS 

LEGISLATION 

________________________________ 

Administration 

P.L. 2017, c.2 , New Jersey Open Data

Initiative, signed into law on February 6, 
2017, and effective May 7, 2017, 
requires that certain information be 
provided on the Internet to public and 
State agencies. The law calls for a 
standard dataset (a named collection of 
related, digitally stored data) format to 
be used by all agencies under the 
direction of a Chief Data Officer. 

________________________________ 

Corporation Business Tax

P.L. 2017, c.40, Emerging New Jersey 
Technology Holding Companies

Investments, signed into law on May 1, 
2017, effective immediately, and 
applicable retroactively to qualified 
investments made for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2012, 
amends the New Jersey Angel Investor 
Tax Credit Act to authorize a tax credit 

against the Corporation Business Tax 
and Gross Income Tax for qualified 
investments in a New Jersey emerging 
technology business holding company. 

The bill provides that for the tax credit 
to be allowed, 100% of the taxpayer’s 
qualified investment in the New Jersey 
emerging technology business holding 
company must be transferred from the 
holding company to the New Jersey 
emerging technology business holding 
company must be transferred from the 
holding company to the New Jersey 
emerging technology business. 

________________________________ 

Estate Tax

P.L. 2016, c.57, Adjustments to 
Specified State Taxes, phases out the 
New Jersey Estate Tax over two years 
by increasing the tax exclusion 
threshold of $675,000 to $2 million for 
resident decedents dying on or after Jan. 
1, 2017. No Estate Tax will be imposed 
on the transfer of an estate of a resident 
decedent who dies on or after Jan. 1, 
2018.
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____________________________

Gross Income Tax

Pension and Retirement Income Exclu-
sion. P.L. 2016, c.57. Adjustments to 
Specified State Taxes, increases the 
New Jersey Gross Income Tax pension 
and retirement income exclusions over 
four years for certain retired New Jer-
sey taxpayers. The exclusion is only  
allowed if the taxpayer’s gross in-
come is not more than $100,000.  
Earned Income Tax Credit. The law 
increased the New Jersey Earned 
Income Tax Credit (NJEITC) to 35 
percent of the federal benefit amount 
beginning in tax year 2016. The NJEITC, 
which piggybacks on the federal EIC 
program, previously provided a 
refundable Earned Income Tax Credit 
equal to 30 percent of the federal benefit 
amount.  
Veteran’s Personal Exemption. The 
law provides a personal exemption 
of $3,000 for any veteran who is 
honorably discharged or released under 
honorable circumstances from active 
duty in the Armed Forces of the 
United States, a reserve component 
thereof or the National Guard of 
New Jersey in a federal active duty 
status.  
P.L. 2017, c.67, Wounded Warrior 
Caregivers Relief Act, signed into law 
on May 11, 2017, effective immediately, 
and applicable to tax years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2018, provides an 
Income Tax credit to family caregivers 
of certain armed services members with

physical disabilities. A qualified family 
caregiver is eligible for an Income Tax 
credit equal to 100% of the federal 
veteran disability compensation or $675, 
whichever is less.  

P.L. 2017, c.24, Checkoff for Autism 
Programs Fund establishes the Autism 
Programs Fund. It also allows taxpayers 
to donate to the fund by specifying that 
a certain amount of their Income Tax 
overpayments should go to that fund or 
by enclosing a contribution with their 
Gross Income Tax returns. The law is 
applicable to tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2018. 
________________________________

Local Property Tax

P.L. 2016, c.63 — Deferred Mortgage 
Loan and Property Tax Payments,
allows certain National Guard and 
Armed Forces Reserve members to 
temporarily defer mortgage loan 
payments and Property Tax payments 
while in service on federal active duty. 
The mortgage loan deferment remains in 
effect for 60 days after release from 
federal active duty. The deferment for 
Property Tax payments remains in effect 
for 90 days after release from federal 
active duty.

P.L. 2016, c.65 — Stadium and Arena 
Property Tax Exemption clarifies and 
reaffirms that stadiums and arenas 
owned by government entities are 
exempt from property taxation. The bill 
reaffirms that when government entities
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enter into private-public arrangements 
and lease property to for-profit entities to 
achieve stadium and arena uses, that such 
property, including any leasehold interest 
in such property, remains entirely 
tax-exempt. 

____________________________
Miscellaneous

P.L. 2016, c.51, Economic 
Redevelopment and Growth Grant 
(ERGG) Clarification authorizes the 
Economic Development Authority 
(EDA) to award an additional $90 
million in tax credits under the 
Economic Redevelopment and Growth 
Grant (ERGG) Program and clarifies 
Section 6 of P.L. 2009, c.90, by 
reconciling three recent enactments of 
the Legislature, each of which amended 
that section of the law.
P.L. 2016, c.56  Revised New Jersey 
Transportation Trust Fund Authority 
Act.  The law, which  revises the New 
Jersey Transportation Trust Fund 
Authority Act of 1984, establishes the 
State Transportation Infrastructure Bank 
within the New Jersey Environmental 
Infrastructure Trust and renames the 
Trust. Amendments also provide that all 
revenues generated from the Motor Fuels 
Tax and the Petroleum Products Gross 
Receipts Tax are now deposited into the 
Transportation Trust Fund.
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Q.P.L. 2016, c.57, Adjustments to Specified 
State Taxes, amends and supplements some 
State taxes. It decreases the Sales and Use Tax 
rates, phases out the Estate Tax, expands the 
Gross Income Tax pension and re-tirement 
income exclusions, increases the New Jersey 
Earned Income Tax Credit (NJEITC), 
establishes a new veteran's personal exempt-
ion, and creates a cents-per-gallon rate for the 
Petroleum Products Gross Receipts Tax. 

P.L. 2016, c.84, Small Business Bonding 
Readiness Assistance Program, signed into 
law on January 4, 2017, effective 
immediately, and inoperative for 30 days 
following the date of enactment, establishes 
the Small Business Bonding Readiness 
Assistance program in the New Jersey 
Economic Development Authority (EDA). 
The EDA will maintain the program, which 
provides support services to small businesses 
and assists small businesses in securing surety 
bonding so they can bid on public works 
projects or perform contracts offered by the 
State or federal government. The EDA would 
enter into an agreement with a nonprofit 
business advocacy association to provide this 
assistance.
____________________________________
Motor Fuels 

P.L. 2016, c.66, Motor Fuel Bad Debt, 
provides certain fuel dealers and distributors 
refunds of Petroleum Products Gross Receipts 
Tax and credits against Motor Fuel Tax for 
certain bad debts from sales of fuel.



Multiple Taxes

P.L. 2016, c.51, Economic

Redevelopment and Growth Grant

(ERGG) Clarification authorizes the 
Economic Development Authority 
(EDA) to award an additional $90 
million in tax credits under the 
Economic Redevelopment and Growth 
Grant (ERGG) Program and clarifies 
section 6 of P.L. 2009, c.90, by 
reconciling three recent enactments of 
the Legislature, each of which amended 
that section of the law.

Section 6 of P.L. 2009, c.90, imposes 
limits on the overall amount of tax 
credits the EDA may approve under the 
ERGG Program and allocates funding to 
specific geographic regions and 
categories of projects. Prior to the recent 
amendments to this statute, this 
provision of the law limited the overall 
amount of tax credits that the EDA may 
approve under the ERGG Program to 
$600 million. 

advocacy association to provide this 
assistance. 

P.L. 2016, c.56, Revised New Jersey

Transportation Trust Fund Authority

Act, revises the New Jersey
Transportation Trust Fund Authority
Act of 1984. It establishes the State
Transportation Infrastructure Bank
within the New Jersey Environmental
Infrastructure Trust and renames the
Trust. The amendments also provide
that all revenues generated from the
Motor Fuels Tax and the Petroleum
Products Gross Receipts Tax are now
deposited into the Transportation Trust
Fund.

P.L. 2016, c.57, Adjustments to

Specified State Taxes, amends and
supplements specified State taxes. It
decreases the Sales and Use Tax rates,
phases out the Estate Tax, increases the
Gross Income Tax pension and
retirement income exclusions, increases
the New Jersey Earned Income Tax
Credit (NJEITC), establishes a new
veteran’s personal exemption and
creates a cents-per-gallon rate on 
Petroleum Products Gross Receipts Tax.
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Petroleum Products 
Gross Receipts Tax

 

P.L. 2016, c.57, 15B-3 to 15B-10

provides for increases in the Petroleum 
Products Gross Receipts Tax. 
Previously, the Petroleum Products Tax 
was imposed at the rate of 2.75 percent 
on gross receipts from the first sale of 
petroleum products in New Jersey. In 
the case of motor fuels, aviation fuels 
and heating fuels (home heating fuels 
are exempt), this rate is converted to
$0.04 per gallon.
The new law increases the base rate on 

petroleum products, other than highway 
fuel and aviation fuel, from 2.75 percent 
to 7 percent of gross receipts and 
increases the base rate on highway fuel 
from 2.75 percent to 12.85 percent of 
gross receipts.

The new tax rates for highway fuel, 
other than diesel fuel, went into effect 
Nov. 1, 2016. The rate increase on diesel 
fuel will occur in two steps: (1) 70 
percent of the rate increase took effect 
on Jan. 1, 2017, and (2) the full rate 
increase will take effect on July 1, 2017. 

The 12.85% tax on gasoline 
(excluding aviation gasoline), gas- 
oline equivalents and liquefied 
petroleum gas is converted to a cents-
per-gallon rate based on the retail price 
of gasoline before State and federal 
taxes.  The 12.85% tax on diesel fuel, 

diesel fuel equivalents and kerosene 
(other than aviation grade kerosene) is 
converted to a cents-per-gallon rate 
based on the retail price of number 2 
diesel before tax.  

The diesel and kerosene rate increased 
on Jan. 1, 2017, to 70 percent of the 
12.85 percent rate. On and after July 1, 
2017, diesel and kerosene will be taxed 
at the full 12.85 percent rate. These 
cents-per-gallon rates can be adjusted 
quarterly but cannot fall below the rates 
determined on July 1, 2016.  

Each fiscal year from 2018 through 
2026, the State Treasurer may 
determine an adjusted tax rate to 
be imposed beginning each Oct. 1 
so that taxes collected from the 
Motor Fuels Tax on highway fuel and 
Petroleum Products Tax on highway 
fuel do not exceed the highway fuel 
cap amount for any fiscal year.  

The 7 percent tax on fuel oil (excluding 
fuel oil used for home heating use) is 
converted to a cents-per-gallon rate 
based on the pretax retail price of No. 2 
fuel oil.  

The rate can be adjusted quarterly but 
cannot fall below the rate determined 
on July 1, 2016. Initially, the highway 
fuels will be subject to an additional 
cents-per-gallon rate of 4 cents. On 
July 1, 2017, the additional rate on 

100

TYTMCWI
Highlight
delete



diesel fuel and kerosene will be raised to 
8 cents per gallon. 

Review Council

The law establishes a three-member 
review council composed of the State 
Treasurer, the Legislative Budget and 
Finance Officer and a third public 
member selected by both.  

The review council will report to the 
Governor and the Legislature by Jan. 15, 
2020, on the council’s consensus 
estimate of the increase or decrease in 
State revenues caused by each section of 
this law during the three prior fiscal 
years compared to the estimates at the 
time of enactment.  

The review council will monitor the 
actions of the Legislature on an ongoing 
basis for interference with the 
implementation of the provisions of the 
bill. If implementation of this law is 
impeded, the council may certify this 
interference to the Director of the 
Division of Taxation, triggering the 
cessation of imposition of one of the 
components of the Petroleum Products 
Gross Receipts Tax and ending 
collection of that part of the tax. 
________________________________ 

Sales and Use Tax

P.L. 2016, c.54:32B-3, amends section
3 of P.L.1966, c.30 to decrease the Sales
and Use Tax rate from 7 percent to 6.875

percent on Jan. 1, 2017. On Jan. 1, 2018, 
the law further reduces the rate to 6.625 
percent.  

P.L. 2017, c.27, changes for Certain

Limousine Services, amends certain
provisions of the Sales and Use Tax Act
to eliminate the tax charged on receipts
from transportation services that
originate in this State and are provided
by a limousine operator on or after May
1, 2017.
________________________________

COURT DECISIONS
________________________________ 

Administration

Timely Filing Requirement –  
Graziano, Thomas and Bonnie v. 
Director, Division of Taxation, decided 
Sept. 30, 2016, Tax Court Docket No. 
001914-2014. On Feb. 22, 2012, the 
Division issued a request for 
information to Thomas and Bonnie 
Graziano (Plaintiffs) regarding their 
2008 Gross Income Tax return. 

The Plaintiffs failed to respond, and the 
Division issued an arbitrary notice of 
deficiency (notice) by certified mail on 
April 5, 2012, to the Plaintiffs’ last 
known address. The Division received 
the certified mail return receipt, which 
was signed by “Bonnie” on April 12, 
2012.  
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On Nov. 7, 2013, Plaintiffs received a 
collection letter from Pioneer Credit 
Recovery on behalf of the Division. On 
that same date, Plaintiff Thomas sent a 
letter to the Division’s Conference and 
Appeals Branch alleging that he never 
received the notice of deficiency.  

He later claimed that he had forwarded 
it to the accountant who had filed the 
return at issue to resolve the notice. 
After learning that the accountant did 
not timely challenge the notice, Thomas 
hired a new accountant who protested 
the notice and requested a hearing on 
Nov. 22, 2013.  

On Dec. 13, 2013, the Conference and 
Appeals Branch issued a final 
determination denying the Plaintiff’s 
protest as untimely and explaining his 
appeal rights. On March 13, 2014, 
Plaintiffs filed a complaint in Tax Court 
claiming that the Division incorrectly 
calculated the deficiency, and that 
plaintiffs should not be penalized 
because their accountant did not file a 
timely protest.  

The Tax Court found that both the 
protest letter and the complaint were 
untimely. Consequently, the Court held 
that it did not have subject matter 
jurisdiction to hear the merits of the 
case and that the assessment is final. 

Local Property Tax

Property Tax Exemption – Galloway 
Township v. Lucienne Duncan, decided 
Nov.14, 2016; Tax Court. Lucienne 
Reed Duncan served on active duty 
from Aug. 21, 2006, to Sept. 30, 
2010, as a neurologist in the United 
States Air Force. She was stationed at 
Andrews Air Force Base in Maryland 
and provided medical diagnostic 
support in the special medical care unit. 
During her active duty tour, she treated 
military personnel injured in combat, 
including exposure to and suffering 
injury from explosive blasts, gunfire and 
artillery fire. Duncan treated service 
members who suffered shrapnel 
wounds, dismembered extremities, 
traumatic brain injuries, eye injuries, 
paralysis and spinal and head injuries. 
She described her corp’s mission as 
that of a support force providing air 
medical evacuation for all branches.  
Dr. Duncan explained that medical 
treatment has changed since the days of 
the Korean and Vietnam conflicts. 
During that time, surgical units were 
deployed close to the battlefield. Now, 
injured personnel are evacuated to more 
comprehensive medical facilities. 
Andrews Air Force Base is used as such 
for injured soldiers before they are 
transported to the Walter Reed/ 
Bethesda Medical Center System.  
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Duncan testified that 80–85% of the 
injured soldiers would see their first 
doctor at Andrews, and that the 
percentage of medical doctors on 
evacuation flights was less than 5%. 

After her service in the military, Dr. 
Duncan went into private practice with 
AtlantiCare Medical Facility in 
Galloway Township. Due to her 
experiences during active duty in the 
Armed Forces, she was unable to 
continue her career as a neurologist. In 
April of 2013, she was declared to have 
a service-connected 100% permanent 
disability by the United States Veterans 
Administration (VA). The parameters 
for the VA to establish a service-
connected disability are defined by 
federal statute. 

Dr. Duncan served in the United States 
during Operation Enduring Freedom. 
For this statutory wartime service period, 
Dr. Duncan’s service must not only be 
in the “theater of operation” but must 
also be in “direct support” of the 
operation. 

The issue of “theater of operation” was 
considered first by the Tax Court. The 
Court found that Dr. Duncan’s service at 
Andrews Air Force Base was in a 
“theater of operation” of Operation 
Enduring Freedom. The Court 
referenced Wellington v. Township of 
Hillsborough, 27 N.J. Tax 37 (2012).  

As in Wellington, where the service 
member suffered injuries from chemical 
agents collected in the battlefield while 
serving in the United States, so too was 
Dr. Duncan exposed to the dangers of 
war through her experience and direct 
contact with death and trauma from the 
battlefield.  Concerning the issue of 
“direct support,” the Court explained:  

The fact that she was in a permanent 
facility in the United States, instead of 
some medical tent in a war zone in Iraq, 
does not minimize the “direct support” 
she provided in treating severely 
wounded soldiers of battle. Moreover, 
the distance of her stationed facility did 
not diminish the severity of torn limbs 
and other injuries she treated such that 
her service was not an experience of 
war. 

The Court concluded that Dr. Duncan 
qualifies for the disabled veterans’ 
Property Tax exemption. 

Sales and Use Tax

Separately Stated Charges – Premier 
Netcomm Solutions, LLC v. Director, 
Division of Taxation; decided October 
25, 2016; Tax Court Docket No. 
016307-2012; motion for reconsidera-
tion decided January 9, 2017.  

Premier Netcomm Solutions, LLC 
(Plaintiff), a company that provides 
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information technology solutions, was 
audited by the Division of Taxation for 
the period January 1, 2004, to 
December 21, 2010. The resulting Sales 
Tax assessment was based on a review 
of sampled invoices that did not break 
down the taxable and nontaxable 
charges.  

Instead, Plaintiff included all charges 
on one line of the invoice, which made 
the entire invoice subject to Sales 
Tax. In addition, Plaintiff did not 
provide any invoices or other 
evidence that it had paid Sales Tax 
on purchases it made, resulting in the 
Division making a Use Tax 
assessment. 

Plaintiff argued that some of its 
purchases were not taxable because it 
was obvious from the invoice that the 
purchase was for resale. Plaintiff also 
argued that because lessors and certain 
sellers (e.g., Radio Shack, Home Depot, 
and Best Buy) always collect Sales Tax 
on their sales, Plaintiff must have paid 
Sales Tax. The Court upheld the Use 
Tax assessment noting that Plaintiff 
failed to provide evidence of resale and 
that although there is an assumption 
that certain sellers always charge Sales 
Tax, that assumption does not 
constitute proof. 

The Court stated that when taxable and 
nontaxable charges are on the same 
invoice and are not separately stated, the 
entire charge is presumed to be taxable, 
but that presumption can be overcome.  

In this case, some of the invoices 
showed that the sales were destined for 
out-of-state customers.  

Because out-of-state sales are exempt 
under N.J.S.A. 54:32B-3(b), the Court 
ruled that those out-of-state sales were 
not subject to Sales Tax even though 
taxable and nontaxable charges were 
not separately stated. 

In its decision, the Court held that 
charges for services performed in 
connection with pre-written 
computer software prior to October 1, 
2005, were exempt from Sales and Use 
Tax because the law stating that pre-
written computer software was tangible 
property was not enacted until October 
2005.  

The Division filed a motion for 
reconsideration contending that the 
Court erred in so concluding because 
the law enacted in October 2005 
simply enumerated what was always 
taxable. After conducting an in-depth 
review of the Division’s relevant 
publications, notices, and 
regulations, the Court reversed its 
decision, finding that the October 
2005 law simply restated the existent 
law in 2004 that pre-written 
computer software was tangible 
personal property. 

________________________________ 
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Appendix A

General	 Effective	 General	 Effective
County	 Tax Rate	 Tax Rate	 County	 Tax Rate	 Tax Rate

	 2016 General and Effective Property Tax Rates
By Municipality

Atlantic
Absecon City
Atlantic City
Brigantine City
Buena Borough
Buena Vista Township
Corbin City
Egg Harbor City
Egg Harbor Township
Estell Manor City
Folsom Borough
Galloway Township
Hamilton Township
Hammonton Town
Linwood City
Longport Borough
Margate City
Mullica Township
Northfield City
Pleasantville City
Port Republic City
Somers Point City
Ventnor City
Weymouth Township

Bergen
Allendale Borough
Alpine Borough
Bergenfield Borough
Bogota Borough
Carlstadt Borough
Cliffside Park Borough
Closter Borough
Cresskill Borough
Demarest Borough
Dumont Borough
Elmwood Park Borough
East Rutherford Borough
Edgewater Borough
Emerson Borough
Englewood City

Englewood Cliffs Borough
Fair Lawn Borough
Fairview Borough
Fort Lee Borough
Franklin Lakes Borough
Garfield City
Glen Rock Borough
Hackensack City
Harrington Park Borough
Hasbrouck Heights Bor.
Haworth Borough
Hillsdale Borough
Ho-Ho-Kus Borough
Leonia Borough
Little Ferry Borough
Lodi Borough
Lyndhurst Township
Mahwah Township
Maywood Borough
Midland Park Borough
Montvale Borough
Moonachie Borough
New Milford Borough
North Arlington Borough
Northvale Borough
Norwood Borough
Oakland Borough
Old Tappan Borough
Oradell Borough
Palisades Park Borough
Paramus Borough
Park Ridge Borough
Ramsey Borough
Ridgefield Borough
Ridgefield Park Village
Ridgewood Village
River Edge Borough
River Vale Township
Rochelle Park Township
Rockleigh Borough
Rutherford Borough

3.176	 2.919
3.860	 3.353
1.764	 1.663
2.862	 3.215
2.370	 2.511
1.820	 1.820
4.533	 4.318
3.007	 2.924
2.395	 2.211
3.124	 2.004
3.056	 2.824
2.979	 2.763
2.561	 2.583
3.222	 3.284
0.926	 0.885
1.512	 1.382
4.417	 2.542
3.108	 3.169
3.995	 4.232
3.717	 2.214
2.823	 2.907
2.186	 2.297
2.369	 2.148

2.291	 2.246
0.768	 0.651
3.171	 3.082
3.773	 3.379
2.126	 1.925
2.345	 2.167
2.239	 2.184
2.641	 2.189
2.445	 2.082
3.443	 3.077
2.829	 2.771
1.945	 1.503
1.779	 1.492
2.604	 2.485
2.557	 2.336

0.979	 1.014
3.137	 2.828
3.081	 2.695
2.254	 2.073
1.641	 1.508
2.708	 2.596
2.790	 2.561
3.378	 3.143
2.722	 2.495
3.035	 2.649
2.910	 2.456
2.714	 2.533
2.059	 1.817
2.785	 2.515
3.352	 3.275
3.242	 2.938
2.836	 2.712
1.747	 1.678
2.902	 2.591
2.865	 2.546
2.260	 2.116
2.379	 2.097
3.322	 2.858
3.099	 2.957
2.676	 2.416
2.374	 2.180
2.720	 2.497
1.953	 1.964
2.976	 2.511
1.901	 1.705
1.752	 1.592
2.608	 2.238
2.287	 2.300
2.238	 2.012
3.624	 3.527
2.476	 2.232
3.286	 2.828
2.417	 2.490
2.370	 2.380
0.956	 1.022
2.604	 2.553
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General	 Effective	 General	 Effective
County	 Tax Rate	 Tax Rate	 County	 Tax Rate	 Tax Rate

A-2

Bergen (continued)		
Saddle Brook Township
Saddle River Borough
South Hackensack Twp.
Teaneck Township
Tenafly Borough
Teterboro Borough
Upper Saddle River Bor.
Waldwick Borough
Wallington Borough
Washington Township
Westwood Borough
Woodcliff Lake Borough
Wood-Ridge Borough
Wyckoff Township

Burlington	 	
Bass River Township
Beverly City
Bordentown City
Bordentown Township
Burlington City
Burlington Township
Chesterfield Township
Cinnaminson Township
Delanco Township
Delran Township
Eastampton Township
Edgewater Park Township
Evesham Township
Fieldsboro Borough
Florence Township
Hainesport Township
Lumberton Township
Mansfield Township
Maple Shade Township
Medford Township
Medford Lakes Borough
Moorestown Township
Mount Holly Township
Mount Laurel Township
New Hanover Township
North Hanover Township
Palmyra Borough
Pemberton Borough
Pemberton Township
Riverside Township
Riverton Borough
Shamong Township

Southampton Township
Springfield Township
Tabernacle Township
Washington Township
Westampton Township
Willingboro Township
Woodland Township
Wrightstown Borough

Camden		
Audubon Borough
Audubon Park Borough
Barrington Borough
Bellmawr Borough
Berlin Borough
Berlin Township
Brooklawn Borough
Camden City
Cherry Hill Township
Chesilhurst Borough
Clementon Borough
Collingswood Borough
Gibbsboro Borough
Gloucester City
Gloucester Township
Haddon Township
Haddonfield Borough
Haddon Heights Borough
Hi-Nella Borough
Laurel Springs Borough	
Lawnside Borough
Lindenwold Borough
Magnolia Borough
Merchantville Borough
Mount Ephraim Borough
Oaklyn Borough
Pennsauken Township
Pine Hill Borough
Pine Valley Borough
Runnemede Borough
Somerdale Borough
Stratford Borough
Tavistock Borough
Voorhees Township
Waterford Township
Winslow Township
Woodlynne Borough

2.865	 2.274
1.019	 0.908
2.764	 2.682
3.096	 2.932
2.473	 2.182
1.086	 0.997
2.271	 1.825
2.602	 2.654
2.858	 2.788
2.309	 2.144
2.627	 2.345
2.144	 2.085
3.833	 2.608
1.732	 1.778

2.186	 1.958
4.301	 4.396
3.331	 3.250
3.058	 2.737
3.496	 3.372
2.915	 2.557
2.704	 2.715
3.232	 2.880
2.987	 2.775
3.518	 3.284
2.999	 2.828
2.720	 3.024
2.650	 2.650
2.637	 2.752
2.319	 2.419
2.300	 2.184
2.260	 2.371
3.118	 2.555
3.322	 3.020
3.092	 2.814
3.017	 3.014
2.498	 2.090
2.701	 2.925
2.601	 2.382
2.453	 1.806
2.073	 2.094
3.701	 3.418
1.803	 1.671
3.738	 2.271
3.385	 3.496
3.338	 3.066
2.738	 2.606

2.752	 2.523
2.954	 2.827
2.781	 2.632
1.739	 1.789
2.276	 2.246
3.754	 4.001
2.092	 2.354
3.748	 2.801

3.351	 3.425
6.024	 5.975
3.751	 3.969
3.629	 3.892
3.054	 3.117
3.578	 3.632
3.090	 3.736
2.861	 2.776
3.640	 3.429
3.206	 3.404
3.737	 4.041
3.339	 3.381
5.032	 3.665
4.071	 3.563
3.583	 3.725
3.512	 3.330
2.923	 2.908
3.088	 3.103
4.367	 4.954
7.508	 5.141
3.919	 3.855
4.696	 4.580
4.020	 4.040
4.041	 3.964
4.407	 4.358
4.307	 3.919
3.552	 3.365
4.035	 4.608
1.702	 1.700
3.788	 3.785
4.141	 3.969
4.108	 3.967
1.810	 1.796
3.676	 3.344
3.881	 3.637
3.292	 3.265
7.359	 7.779
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A-3

Cape May	 	  
Avalon Borough
Cape May City
Cape May Point Borough
Dennis Township
Lower Township
Middle Township
North Wildwood City
Ocean City 
Sea Isle City
Stone Harbor Borough
Upper Township
West Cape May Borough
West Wildwood Borough
Wildwood City
Wildwood Crest Borough
Woodbine Borough

Cumberland		
Bridgeton City
Commercial Township
Deerfield Township
Downe Township
Fairfield Township
Greenwich Township
Hopewell Township
Lawrence Township
Maurice River Township
Millville City
Shiloh Borough
Stow Creek Township
Upper Deerfield Twp.
Vineland City

Essex	 	
Belleville Township
Bloomfield Township
Caldwell Borough
Cedar Grove Township
East Orange City
Essex Fells Township
Fairfield Township
Glen Ridge Borough
Irvington Township
Livingston Township
Maplewood Township
Millburn Township
Montclair Township
Newark City

North Caldwell Borough
Nutley Township
Orange City 
Roseland Borough
S. Orange Village Twp.
Verona Township
West Caldwell Township
West Orange Township

Gloucester	 	
Clayton Borough
Deptford Township
East Greenwich Township
Elk Township
Franklin Township
Glassboro Borough
Greenwich Township
Harrison Township
Logan Township
Mantua Township
Monroe Township
National Park Borough
Newfield Borough
Paulsboro Borough
Pitman Borough
S. Harrison Township
Swedesboro Borough
Washington Township
Wenonah Borough
West Deptford Township
Westville Borough
Woodbury City
Woodbury Heights Borough
Woolwich Township

Hudson		
Bayonne City
East Newark Borough
Guttenberg Town
Harrison Town
Hoboken City
Jersey City 
Kearny Town
North Bergen Township
Secaucus Town
Union City 
Weehawken Township
West New York Town

0.550	 0.511
0.832	 0.859
0.574	 0.578
1.543	 1.539
1.673	 1.597
1.676	 1.739
1.218	 1.236
0.907	 0.877
0.672	 0.676
0.535	 0.567
1.772	 1.634
1.222	 1.272
1.427	 1.581
2.324	 2.299
1.194	 1.270
1.446	 1.673

4.387	 4.459
2.133	 2.703
3.306	 3.150
2.139	 2.327
2.375	 2.567
4.068	 3.317
3.735	 2.972
2.448	 2.736
2.504	 2.533
3.296	 2.986
2.600	 3.031
2.862	 2.941
2.835	 2.861
2.576	 2.385

3.834	 3.658
3.860	 3.654
2.712	 2.427
2.226	 2.117
5.103	 4.638
2.031	 1.998
2.203	 1.875
3.504	 3.091
5.552	 4.934
2.500	 2.335
3.685	 3.222
2.154	 1.854
3.634	 3.053
3.440	 3.056

2.248	 2.069
3.370	 3.062
4.778	 4.228
2.218	 2.074
3.828	 3.258
3.063	 2.664
2.363	 2.301
3.890	 3.642

3.730	 3.729
2.914	 3.020
3.216	 3.037
3.370	 3.245
3.211	 3.051
3.465	 3.450
3.073	 2.914
2.907	 2.765
2.466	 2.268
3.220	 3.155
3.497	 3.532
4.064	 4.293
3.357	 3.594
3.644	 3.536
4.119	 3.875
2.836	 2.743
4.001	 3.866
3.398	 3.215
3.987	 3.955
3.063	 3.042
4.327	 4.096
4.523	 4.287
4.187	 4.015
3.632	 3.417

7.935	 3.266
9.229	 2.938
3.650	 3.200
7.204	 2.830
1.551	 1.291
7.701	 2.101
	 3.108
5.467	 2.674
3.707	 2.146
6.890	 2.970
5.060	 2.306
7.300	 2.636

1
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A-4

Hunterdon	 	
Alexandria Township
Bethlehem Township 
Bloomsbury Borough
Califon Borough
Clinton Town
Clinton Township
Delaware Township
East Amwell Township
Flemington Borough
Franklin Township
Frenchtown Borough
Glen Gardner Borough
Hampton Borough
High Bridge Borough
Holland Township
Kingwood Township
Lambertville City
Lebanon Borough
Lebanon Township
Milford Borough
Raritan Township
Readington Township
Stockton Borough
Tewksbury Township
Union Township
West Amwell Township

Mercer	 	
East Windsor Township
Ewing Township
Hamilton Township
Hightstown Borough
Hopewell Borough
Hopewell Township
Lawrence Township
Pennington Borough
Princeton 
Robbinsville Township
Trenton City
West Windsor Township


Middlesex	 	
Carteret Borough
Cranbury Township

Dunellen Borough
East Brunswick Township
Edison Township
Helmetta Borough
Highland Park Borough
Jamesburg Borough
Metuchen Borough
Middlesex Borough
Milltown Borough
Monroe Township
New Brunswick City
North Brunswick Township
Old Bridge Township
Perth Amboy City
Piscataway Township
Plainsboro Township
Sayreville Borough
South Amboy City
South Brunswick Township
South Plainfield Borough
South River Borough
Spotswood Borough
Woodbridge Township

Monmouth	 	
Aberdeen Township
Allenhurst Borough
Allentown Borough
Asbury Park City
Atlantic Highlands Borough
Avon-by-the-Sea Borough
Belmar Borough
Bradley Beach Borough
Brielle Borough
Colts Neck Township
Deal Borough
Eatontown Borough
Englishtown Borough
Fair Haven Borough
Farmingdale Borough
Freehold Borough
Freehold Township
Hazlet Township
Highlands Borough
Holmdel Township
Howell Township
Interlaken Borough
Keansburg Borough

2.558	 2.347
2.898	 2.726
2.859	 2.717
3.070	 3.227
3.155	 2.939
2.534	 2.429
2.488	 2.149
2.325	 2.117
3.140	 2.961
2.424	 2.353
3.302	 2.831
3.043	 2.740
3.034	 3.081
3.809	 3.483
2.588	 2.459
2.181	 2.216
1.928	 1.905
2.284	 2.298
2.768	 2.261
3.390	 3.195
2.406	 2.375
2.800	 2.354
2.081	 2.052
2.435	 2.032
2.601	 2.235
2.258	 2.258

3.161	 3.207
5.332	 3.616
2.704	 2.679
4.086	 3.848
2.737	 2.700
2.628	 2.565
2.746	 2.484
2.655	 2.577
2.264	 2.024
2.905	 2.801
5.753	 4.881
2.631	 2.427

3.167	 2.756
1.933	 1.924

12.487	 3.038
10.431	 2.773
5.056	 2.271
2.874	 2.635
7.898	 3.369
6.026	 3.260
5.770	 2.506
8.359	 2.927
5.310	 2.768
2.365	 2.131
5.866	 2.311
5.340	 2.898
4.648	 2.171
2.880	 3.034
2.616	 2.353
2.084	 2.389
4.886	 2.444
2.637	 2.780
4.857	 2.021
5.797	 2.123
7.452	 2.287
3.099	 2.936
9.929	 2.714

2.583	 2.508
0.832	 0.711
3.042	 2.773
2.144	 1.933
2.621	 2.146
1.142	 1.052
1.911	 1.307
1.398	 1.408
1.651	 1.724
1.731	 1.707
0.699	 0.667
2.183	 2.375
2.197	 2.262
1.955	 1.910
2.047	 2.144
2.655	 2.757
2.286	 2.081
2.556	 2.513
2.767	 2.697
2.006	 1.962
2.350	 2.240
1.400	 1.462
3.646	 3.288
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Kinnelon Borough 
Lincoln Park Borough 
Madison Borough 
Mendham Borough 
Mendham Township       
Mine Hill Township 
Montville Township   
Morris Township 
Morris Plains Borough 
Morristown Town     
Mountain Lakes Borough 
Mount Arlington Borough 
Mount Olive Township 
Netcong Borough 
Parsippany-Troy Hills Twp. 
Long Hill Township 
Pequannock Township 
Randolph Township 
Riverdale Borough 
Rockaway Borough 
Rockaway Township 
Roxbury Township     
Victory Gardens Borough 
Washington Township 
Wharton Borough 

Ocean					
Barnegat Township 
Barnegat Light Borough 
Bay Head Borough 
Beach Haven Borough 
Beachwood Borough 
Berkeley Township
Brick Township 
Eagleswood Township 
Harvey Cedars Borough 
Island Heights Borough 
Jackson Township
Lacey Township 
Lakehurst Borough 
Lakewood Township 
Lavallette Borough 
Little Egg Harbor Twp. 
Long Beach Township 
Manchester Township 
Mantoloking Borough

2.585	 2.574
1.984	 1.917
2.147	 2.122
2.021	 1.985
2.004	 1.967
1.391	 1.374
2.175	 2.109
2.756	 2.731
2.131	 2.128
2.163	 2.238
1.323	 1.288
2.153	 2.065
2.490	 2.549
2.279	 2.052
2.143	 1.906
2.107	 2.065
2.868	 2.953
1.433	 1.462
1.305	 1.403
0.709	 0.707
2.110	 2.069
2.960	 3.012
1.764	 1.691
0.683	 0.666
1.377	 1.384
2.032	 1.904
2.789	 2.643
2.372	 2.266
1.813	 1.876
2.172	 2.107

2.752	 2.695
2.192	 2.033
3.424	 2.682
1.934	 1.665
1.759	 1.589
2.611	 2.648
2.320	 2.224
2.386	 2.166
2.402	 2.295
2.171	 1.620
1.433	 1.507
1.731	 1.554
1.106	 0.986
2.689	 2.624

3.251	 2.457
2.590	 2.605
1.875	 1.681
2.117	 1.981
2.065	 1.993
2.525	 2.645
2.257	 2.100
1.773	 1.871
2.143	 2.025
2.689	 2.137
2.527	 2.268
2.594	 2.374
3.111	 3.035
2.573	 3.295
2.769	 2.330
2.348	 2.127
2.151	 2.011
3.660	 2.478
1.960	 1.808
2.844	 2.638
3.082	 2.867
4.203	 2.610
2.501	 2.445
2.423	 2.386
2.847	 2.818

2.629	 2.680
0.862	 0.840
0.825	 0.836
1.326	 1.092
2.332	 2.238
2.069	 2.049
2.134	 2.075
2.366	 2.336
0.991	 0.958
1.858	 1.831
2.192	 2.183
2.035	 2.005
3.050	 2.661
2.860	 2.168
0.949	 0.860
2.319	 2.248
0.986	 0.900
2.534	 2.209
0.694	 0.670

Denville Township
Dover Town
East Hanover Township
Florham Park Borough
Hanover Park Township
Harding Township
Jefferson Township
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Ocean (continued)-
Ocean Township
Ocean Gate Borough 
Pine Beach Borough
Plumsted Township
Point Pleasant Borough
Pt. Pleasant Beach Borough
Seaside Heights Borough
Seaside Park Borough
Ship Bottom Borough
South Toms River Borough
Stafford Township
Surf City Borough
Toms River Twp
Tuckerton Borough

Passaic	 	
Bloomingdale Borough
Clifton City
Haledon Borough
Hawthorne Borough
Little Falls Township
North Haledon Borough
Passaic City
Paterson City
Pompton Lakes Borough
Prospect Park Borough
Ringwood Borough
Totowa Borough
Wanaque Borough
Wayne Township
West Milford Township
West Patterson Borough

Salem		
Alloway Township
Carneys Point Township
Elmer Borough
Elsinboro Township
Lower Alloways Crk. Twp.
Mannington Township
Oldmans Township
Penns Grove Borough
Pennsville Township
Pilesgrove Township
Pittsgrove Township
Quinton Township
Salem City

Upper Pittsgrove Twp.
Woodstown Borough

Somerset	 	
Bedminster Township
Bernards Township
Bernardsville Borough
Bound Brook Borough
Branchburg Township
Bridgewater Township
Far Hills Borough
Franklin Township
Green Brook Township
Hillsborough Township
Manville Borough
Millstone Borough
Montgomery Township
North Plainfield Borough
Peapack & Gladstone Bor.
Raritan Borough
Rocky Hill Borough
Somerville Borough
South Bound Brook Bor.
Warren Township
Watchung Borough

Sussex	 	
Andover Borough
Andover Township
Branchville Borough
Byram Township
Frankford Township
Franklin Borough
Fredon Township
Green Township
Hamburg Borough
Hampton Township
Hardyston Township
Hopatcong Borough
Lafayette Township
Montague Township
Newton Town
Ogdensburg Borough
Sandyston Township
Sparta Township
Stanhope Borough
Stillwater Township
Sussex Borough

1.905	 1.795
2.488	 2.410
2.230	 2.041
2.315	 2.108
1.938	 1.888
1.518	 1.430
2.212	 2.210
1.312	 1.277
1.107	 0.999
2.794	 2.783
2.329	 2.181
1.003	 0.930
2.212	 1.915
2.305	 2.390

4.155	 3.773
5.260	 2.976
4.360	 4.288
5.671	 2.995
3.121	 2.821
2.807	 2.558
3.368	 3.095
4.339	 3.883
6.878	 3.798
4.987	 4.794
3.617	 3.239
2.349	 2.421
3.648	 3.283
5.339	 2.911
3.709	 3.346
3.030	 2.876

2.816	 2.754
2.829	 3.243
2.989	 2.923
2.565	 2.888
1.549	 1.086
2.729	 2.736
2.427	 2.513
3.895	 4.649
3.647	 3.630
2.810	 3.066
3.181	 3.031
2.780	 2.678
3.916	 5.673

2.401	 2.572
3.289	 3.435

1.359	 1.341
1.951	 1.906
1.876	 1.865
3.386	 3.327
2.190	 2.150
2.062	 1.973
1.300	 1.305
2.281	 2.294
2.495	 2.452
2.372	 2.293
3.098	 3.020
2.704	 2.684
2.925	 2.434
3.589	 3.655
1.919	 1.884
2.340	 2.220
2.122	 2.068
3.379	 3.224
3.296	 3.326
2.009	 1.984
2.091	 2.094

2.883	 2.817
3.403	 3.309
2.098	 2.137
3.425	 3.270
2.576	 2.284
3.561	 3.388
2.874	 2.934
3.469	 3.199
3.860	 3.483
2.760	 2.651
2.668	 2.560
3.318	 2.835
2.743	 2.589
2.596	 2.637
4.170	 4.032
3.474	 3.583
2.553	 2.344
3.127	 3.058
4.013	 3.627
2.954	 2.732
3.176	 3.145
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Westfield  Town
Winfield      Township
Warren     
Allamuchy Township 
Alpha Borough 
Belvidere Town 
Blairstown Township 
Franklin Township 
Frelinghuysen Township 
Greenwich Township 
Hackettstown Town 
Hardwick Township 
Harmony Township 
Hope Township 
Independence Township 
Knowlton Township 
Liberty Township 
Lopatcong Township 
Mansfield Township 
Oxford Township  
Phillipsburg Town 
Pohatcong Township 
Washington Boro 
Washington Twp        
White Twp

2.617	 2.916
2.365	 2.115
2.674	 2.706

3.969	 2.161
8.106	 2.388
5.957	 2.435

	 3.679
13.814	 2.756
9.416	 2.754
7.557	 4.056
4.795	 2.798
6.526	 3.326
7.303	 1.979
4.699	 2.439
7.823	 3.476
6.389	 3.681
8.078	 4.661
3.811	 3.739

	 2.591
6.771	 3.109

	 2.657
	 3.110
	 3.908
	 2.292
	 3.114
	 2.476
	 2.766
	 3.008
	 2.641
	 2.206
	 2.824
	 2.860
	 2.838
	 2.955
	 2.958
	 3.041
	 3.553
	 3.569
	 3.677
	 4.003
	 3.297
	 2.148

Vernon Township 
Walpack Township 
Wantage Township 

	Union		 		
Berkeley Heights Twp. 
Clark Township 
Cranford Township 
Elizabeth City 
Fanwood Borough 
Garwood Borough 
Hillside Township 
Kenilworth Borough 
Linden City 
Mountainside Borough 
New Providence Borough 
Plainfield City 
Rahway City 
Roselle Borough 
Roselle Park Borough 
Scotch Plains Township 
Springfield Township 
Summit City 
Union Township 

4.301	 1.854
18.644	 3.188

	 2.220

	 18.906
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Abstract of Ratables and Exemptions 2016
	 Col. 1	 Col. 2	 Col. 3	 Col. 4

taxable value

	 (a)	 (b)
Land	 Improvements 

		  (Includes Partial 
		  Exemptions & 
		  Abatements)

Total Taxable 
Value of 

Land and 
Improvements 
(Col. 1(a) + (b))

Total Taxable 
Value—Partial 

Exemptions and 
Abatements 

(Assessed Value)

Net 
Total Taxable 

Value of 
Land and 

Improvements 
(Col. 2 – 3)COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

$ 15,516,298,854 
77,002,654,839 
13,688,345,503 
11,530,075,249 
30,653,485,500

2,144,868,900
31,841,042,523
6,852,853,900

11,584,280,860
7,498,144,532

15,309,211,327
21,226,594,280
54,055,641,760
37,325,245,237
44,949,935,251

14,050,633,531
1,569,000,631

22,411,230,234
6,583,655,600
9,972,431,510

3,261,757,028

$439,027,387,049

$18,898,514,359 
77,328,202,717 
29,556,778,560 
24,818,669,984 
16,588,286,300

6,282,551,000
43,345,247,432
18,039,050,234
19,123,062,915
12,045,740,355

24,825,156,725
35,402,401,557
58,368,783,570
44,821,280,175
42,413,067,512

20,572,495,987
3,618,391,096

33,903,967,777
9,818,561,336

14,349,836,360

6,962,179,493

$561,082,225,444

$34,414,813,213
154,330,857,556
43,245,124,063
36,348,745,233
47,241,771,800

8,427,419,900
75,186,289,955
24,891,904,134
30,707,343,775
19,543,884,887

40,134,368,052
56,628,995,837

112,424,425,330
82,146,525,412
87,363,002,763

34,623,129,518
5,187,391,727

56,315,198,011
16,402,216,936
24,322,267,870

10,223,936,521

$1,000,109,612,493

$6,528,700
39,265,100
75,761,325
70,278,400

1,113,200

16,475,000
76,630,500
14,402,070
85,325,080
5,338,800

42,120,750
81,794,792
26,301,300
12,645,500
1,235,200

5,839,900
0

5,644,900
0

5,140,600

10,718,500

$582,559,617

 $34,408,284,513 
154,291,592,456 
43,169,362,738 
36,278,466,833 
47,240,658,600

8,410,944,900
75,109,659,455
24,877,502,064
30,622,018,695
19,538,546,087

40,092,247,302
56,547,201,045

112,398,124,030
82,133,879,912
87,361,767,563

34,617,289,618
5,187,391,727

56,309,553,111
16,402,216,936
24,317,127,270

10,213,218,021

$999,527,052,876
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Taxable Value 
of Machinery, 

Implements and 
Equipment of 

Telephone, 
Telegraph and 

Messenger 
System 

Companies

Net Valuation 
Taxable 

(Col. 4 + 5)

General Tax 
Rate to Apply 

per $100 
Valuation

County 
Equalization 

Table—Average 
Ratio of 

Assessed to 
True Value of 
Real Property 

(R.S. 54:3-17 to 
R.S. 54:3-19)

true value
(a) (b)

U.E.Z.	 Class II
	 Abatement	 Railroad
	 Expired	 Property

(C.139, L. 1966)

equalization
(a) 

Amounts 
Deducted 

Under 
R.S. 54:3-17 to 

R.S. 54:3-19

	 Col. 5	 Col. 6	 Col. 7	 Col. 8	 Col. 9	 Col. 10

COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

$     35,291,152
90,073,801
56,339,994
93,233,443
25,419,401

24,316,732
167,151,822
114,667,901
45,384,383
8,748,173

97,393,220
92,160,036
80,359,801
34,501,222
65,003,446

43,757,319
10,113,186
79,510,734
19,865,747
33,927,457

15,343,800           10,228,561,821

$1,232,562,770

$ 34,443,575,665
154,381,666,257
43,225,702,732
36,371,700,276
47,266,078,001

8,435,261,632
75,276,811,277
24,992,169,965
30,667,403,078
19,547,294,260

40,189,640,522
56,639,361,081

112,478,483,831
82,168,381,134
87,426,771,009

34,661,046,937 
5,197,504,913 

56,389,063,845 
16,422,082,683 
24,351,054,727 

$1,000,759,615,646

$1,581,394

$1,581,394

$     315,201,274
380,079,689
388,418,018
435,067,270
821,950,678

149,247,573
0

142,032,509
0

20,798,739

39,831,255
804,621,893
710,695,845
542,660,927
79,944,418

68,438,773
280,468,465

90,829,311
306,382,519

0

124,241,953

$5,700,911,109
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Section A
County Taxes

	 I	 II
adjustments resulting fromequalization

(b) 
Amounts 

Added Under 
R.S. 54:3-17 to 

R.S. 54:3-19 and 
N.J.S.A. 54:11D-7

Net Valuation on 
Which County 

Taxes Are 
Apportioned 
 (Col. 6 – 9(a) 
+ 9(b) – 10(a)

+ 10(b))

County Equalization Table
Appeals (R.S. 54:51A-4)

	 (a) (b)
	 Deduct	 Add
	 Overpayment	 Underpayment

Total County
Taxes

Apportioned
(Including Total 

Net Adjustments)

Appeals and Corrected Errors
(R.S. 54:4-49; R.S. 54:4-53)

	 (c) (d)
Deduct Add

	 Overpayment	 UnderpaymentCOUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

	 Col. 10	 Col. 11	 Col. 12—apportionment of taxes	

$   2,527,887,365
13,962,207,680
3,700,580,176
1,359,384,012
1,225,452,225

546,898,265
8,514,521,632

827,460,799
34,724,898,524
1,667,373,950

3,382,346,404
46,820,826,899
4,077,587,065

10,115,936,761
7,383,106,455

12,004,666,039
140,789,266

1,849,235,515
739,487,986

41,758,687,248

653,526,839

$197,982,861,105

$     36,656,261,756
167,963,794,248
46,537,864,890
37,296,017,018
47,669,579,548

8,832,912,324
83,791,332,909
25,677,598,255
65,392,301,602
21,193,869,471

43,530,574,277
102,655,566,087
115,845,375,051
91,741,656,968
94,729,933,046

46,597,274,203
5,057,825,714

58,147,470,049
16,855,188,150
66,109,741,975

10,757,846,707

$1,193,039,984,248

$   168,420,031.82
408,953,933.28
156,356,154.37
304,302,712.00
103,892,955.85

93,530,124.33
424,791,976.76
161,960,763.66
343,731,797.11
65,487,831.66

256,668,395.20
371,476,908.70
302,459,951.75
226,293,949.29
335,250,299.14

345,172,965.78
53,894,572.93

186,130,127.03
85,116,944.23

347,632,305.19

72,255,198.78

$4,813,779,898.86

$ 10,685,749.97 
 3,935,099.82 

 876,817.25 
 1,663,058.00 

 194,482.03 

815,124.33 
 3,690,968.50 

 960,763.66 
 6,388,044.00 

 98,893.10 

824,556.72 
 2,513,908.70 

 376,959.32 
 909,350.68 

 1,457,925.38 

3,986,743.30 
 960,912.45 
 304,488.65 
 268,246.10 

 2,357,538.84 

485,883.12 

 $43,755,513.92 

 25,572.54 
 20,662.88 

 392,007.57 

 2,450.24 

 14,013.62 
 1,518.87 

 19,041.34 

 $475,267.06 

138,321.52
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(c)
County Open
Space Taxes

(b)
County

Health Service
Taxes

(a)
County
Library
Taxes

V
Net County Taxes
Apportioned Less
Municipal Budget

State Aid
(Col. AIII–IV–

Addendum 1(a))

IV
Municipal Budget

State Aid
(R.S. 52:27D-118.40)

Col. 12—apportionment of taxes

	 Section A
	 County Taxes	 Section B

COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

III
Net County

Taxes
Apportioned

$    157,734,280.80 
 405,044,406.00 
 155,500,000.00 
 302,639,654.00 
 103,698,473.82 

92,715,000.00 
 421,101,008.26 
 161,000,000.00 
 337,343,753.11 
 65,388,938.56 

255,982,160.00 
 368,963,000.00 
 302,475,000.00 
 225,384,598.61 
 333,794,824.00 

341,186,222.48 
 52,933,660.48 

 185,839,652.00 
 84,850,217.00 

 345,274,766.35 

71,788,357.00 

$4,770,637,972.47

904,096.00

200.00

$904,296.00

$   157,734,280.80
405,044,406.00
155,500,000.00
302,639,654.00
103,698,473.82

92,715,000.00
420,196,912.26
161,000,000.00
337,343,753.11
65,388,938.56

255,982,160.00
368,963,000.00
302,475,000.00
225,384,598.61
333,794,824.00

341,186,222.48
52,933,660.48

185,839,652.00
84,850,017.00

345,274,766.35

71,788,357.00

$4,769,733,676.47

 7,358,789.00 
0

 10,480,000.00 
 9,669,478.00 
 8,094,398.37 

0.00
0.00

 4,940,610.00 
0.00

 6,131,049.00 

13,506,813.00
0.00

 14,630,000.00 
0.00

 35,158,260.00 

0.00
0.00

 16,716,759.00 
 4,380,316.00 

0.00

 4,292,636.00 

$135,359,108.37        

$   6,092,489.00 

2,369,580.00 
0.00

 2,295,000.00 

 10,787,500.00 

2,298,736.00

$23,843,305.00 

$     472,633.81 
4,199,094.86

 18,538,246.08 
 7,459,203.40 
 4,766,957.95 

 883,291.23 
 12,568,702.80 
 10,436,626.00 
 6,539,230.16 
 6,366,411.00 

10,854,081.43 
 30,578,960.00 
 17,376,806.26 
 8,027,394.98 

 11,343,866.00 

4,659,727.42 
 1,011,565.14 

 17,444,241.01 
 395,000.00 

 9,916,461.30 

4,303,138.68 

 $188,141,639.51 
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Section C
	 Local Taxes to be Raised for
	    I	 II

district school purposes	 local municipal purposes
(a)

District School 
Budget 

(Adjusted by 
Addendum 1(b))

(b)
Regional

Consolidated and
Joint School Budgets

(c)
Local
School
Budget

(a)
Local Municipal 

Budget 
(Adjusted by 

Addendum 1(c))

(b)
Local Municipal

Open Space

COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

Col. 12—apportionment of taxes

$362,391,541.00
1,892,278,196.00

596,268,438.00
591,781,899.00
138,889,324.00

63,387,122.00
891,744,172.00
382,199,276.00
423,596,653.00
213,089,505.00

369,734,856.00
1,424,235,928.00

962,178,615.00
945,149,675.00
572,089,382.00

561,636,193.00
52,391,671.00

521,614,823.00
207,645,186.00
781,889,311.00

127,430,790.00

$12,081,622,556.00

$    68,180,522.00
264,581,799.00
188,007,802.00
65,763,436.00
20,852,827.00

8,792,474.00
192,751,584.00
69,683,238.00

0.00
132,725,083.00

228,414,025.00
905,231.55

356,648,527.00
291,715,548.00
246,816,370.00

53,805,110.00
24,006,906.00

282,968,806.00
87,986,371.00
85,223,189.00

48,773,643.00

$2,718,602,491.55

$  4,409,798.50
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00

0.00
14,925,225.20

0.00
16,201,190.39

0.00

1,686,795.00
0.00

0.00
5,874,781.00

0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00

4,244,133.00

0.00

$47,341,923.09

$   333,895,318.46
1,126,289,948.52

248,440,795.47
309,468,487.77
195,596,733.76

70,804,917.68
878,294,234.74
190,631,312.11
656,369,564.38
73,813,233.35

293,327,414.26
637,212,508.85
541,781,747.96
461,696,949.98
487,918,478.88

490,067,070.49
26,768,546.57

225,746,707.29
108,097,973.87
628,801,792.85

58,170,755.33

$8,043,194,492.57

$     850,387.00
4,328,641.85

10,143,168.40
2,876,569.17

0.00

0.00
6,100,886.00
2,758,055.18
2,244,698.00
4,520,080.22

6,214,153.42
5,471,932.08

12,331,296.63
10,931,710.63
6,683,743.19

1,932,482.00
363,401.50

14,298,242.67
803,874.95
500,532.83

2,021,559.94

$95,375,415.66
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Section D 
Total Tax Levy 

on Which 
Tax Rate is 
Computed

(Cols. AV + B(a), (b), (c) 
+ CI(a), (b), (c)

+ CII(a), (b), (c))

(a)
Public School 

Property

(b)
Other School 

Property

(c)
Public Property

	            Col. 12	          Col. 13

real property exempt from taxation

COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

$  946,353,626.21
3,746,914,422.26
1,231,643,288.71
1,295,670,413.48

478,404,940.90

240,500,656.29
2,443,423,150.76

826,793,410.48
1,463,310,221.00

502,478,049.84

1,186,130,251.72
2,501,242,251.13
2,221,033,231.94
1,968,469,909.26
1,711,142,525.39

1,468,117,718.27
157,525,582.71

1,272,164,650.00
497,493,193.82

1,877,640,248.07

317,650,355.08

$  1,265,972,567
3,148,349,100
1,483,752,010
2,048,015,480

367,398,500

434,313,000
2,983,093,744
1,109,157,200

892,511,200
397,864,468

1,064,016,776
1,847,352,722
2,092,522,500
1,470,157,800
1,425,673,000

1,260,092,600
203,848,200
919,003,563
408,376,200
748,872,300

259,143,293

$       78,131,200
797,936,600
85,825,600

114,368,700
32,178,900

37,445,200
1,998,051,546

264,173,100
610,199,900

3,099,000

2,524,666,354
1,598,728,700

441,022,500
681,966,800
513,614,300

293,925,300
13,538,900

163,751,591
43,549,900

184,008,300

99,489,789

$   3,332,502,980
9,861,991,000
2,990,111,504
2,227,360,093
1,734,783,600

1,196,314,000
8,763,932,045

889,184,100
2,985,444,680

986,735,257

3,113,809,309
2,268,904,740
5,630,408,600
3,451,099,750
5,161,200,850

2,800,900,000
279,853,800

1,696,288,385
956,938,276

1,499,978,200

522,393,704

(c)
Local Municipal

Library

$4,982,296.03
50,192,336.03
4,264,838.76
6,011,686.14
6,506,226.00

1,548,271.38
26,841,433.76
5,144,293.19

21,015,131.96
443,749.71

6,409,953.61
33,874,690.65
11,316,239.09
25,564,032.06

675,320.32

14,830,912.88
49,832.02

7,535,419.03
1,035,719.00

21,790,061.74

869,475.13

$250,901,918.49 $28,354,102,097.32 $25,829,486,223         $10,579,672,180          $62,350,134,873

II
local municipal purposes

Section C 
Local Taxes to be Raised for 
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(e) 
Cemeteries and 

Graveyards

(f)
Other Exemptions Not 
Included in Foregoing 

Classifications­

(g)
Total Amount of Real 

Property Exempt From 
Taxation 

(Cols. a + b + c + d + e + f)

(a) 
Surplus Revenue 

Appropriated

	            Col. 13	                              Col. 14

real property exempt from taxation­

amount of miscellaneous 
revenue for the support of the 

local municipal budget­

COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

$     29,883,000
747,888,300
29,083,005
90,540,950
5,202,700

7,280,900
200,584,700
20,085,600
67,642,500
13,012,200

41,158,500
128,917,900
171,395,200
74,928,900
38,338,200

133,748,800
3,933,700

37,126,400
8,385,900

114,990,900

8,080,500

$ 3,108,152,056
3,174,332,000

882,920,547
1,469,105,250

517,230,100

419,486,300
2,974,810,887

711,666,800
6,002,596,924

201,263,983

1,065,613,120
2,132,327,008
2,484,578,000

649,759,600
962,717,118

537,574,950
276,747,445
829,944,109
252,157,700

1,037,597,150

137,269,926

$8,384,368,698
19,513,233,700
6,449,609,046
7,537,097,963
3,144,653,100

2,377,432,100
19,886,061,172
3,527,704,300

11,184,519,794
1,850,063,722

8,518,763,710
9,137,207,661

12,162,179,000
7,319,296,950
9,003,449,825

5,999,963,750
904,378,241

4,191,385,033
1,930,454,783
4,198,875,550

1,235,750,989

$   24,501,894.00 
108,083,235.78
 44,624,669.00 
 47,518,114.37 
 27,980,685.41 

16,318,864.25 
 39,212,639.62 
 27,579,742.03 
 54,195,921.00 
 11,448,652.00 

36,077,146.81  
68,922,600.35  
85,404,860.00  

152,566,118.27  
75,188,895.69 

24,981,309.00 
 6,499,753.42 

 46,768,472.97 
 15,514,837.00 
 87,194,939.22 

12,903,005.00 

 

(d)
Church and 
Charitable 
Property

$   569,726,895
1,782,736,700

977,916,380
1,587,707,490

487,859,300

282,592,700
2,965,588,250

533,437,500
626,124,590
248,088,814

709,499,651
1,160,976,591
1,342,252,200

991,384,100
901,906,357

973,722,100
126,456,196
545,270,985
261,046,807
613,428,700

209,373,777

$17,897,096,083            $1,972,208,755           $29,827,850,973           $148,456,449,087 $1,013,486,355.13
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		  Col. 14	 Col. 15	

COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

(b) 
Veterans 

Deductions

deductions allowed

(c) 
Receipts from 

Delinquent Tax 
and Liens

(d) 
Total of Miscellaneous 

Revenues (Cols. a + b + c)

(a) 
Full Estimated 

Amount of Senior 
Citizen, Totally 
Disabled and 

Surviving Spouse 
Deductions Allowed

$    6,029,904.00 
28,554,801.54
 15,445,429.20 
 14,673,900.08 
 4,362,000.00 

5,736,800.00 
 36,748,529.71 
 12,114,700.00 
 8,745,494.94 
 6,078,705.02 

6,385,078.26 
 11,950,443.51  
24,361,348.00  

243,247,739.27  
22,489,040.78 

18,204,032.00 
 4,404,622.01 

 10,114,701.00 
 8,755,181.45 

 24,128,147.49 

 6,859,902.00 

$   210,686,855.85 
 399,993,187.18 
 170,952,694.38 
 321,574,792.35 
 109,263,807.71 

71,040,961.89 
 711,745,114.61 
 115,643,631.53 
 640,492,941.58 
 51,404,358.93 

276,028,350.60  
391,922,875.42  
320,703,777.00  
412,044,058.54  
258,029,674.34 

244,305,007.33 
 42,880,933.18 

 143,548,503.79 
 52,186,929.27 

 321,233,900.96 

47,836,980.23 

$     467,596
955,500
740,375

1,335,250
231,325

538,000
468,750
649,000
527,500

     108,250

450,875
1,115,250

626,500
 459,500 

2,142,750

575,250
176,250
289,562
211,250
711,000

191,500

$ 1,726,750
4,638,125
3,695,500
2,969,750
1,041,400

856,000
1,903,750
2,248,625

944,000
    798,250

1,792,500
4,079,000
3,672,750
 2,721,000 
6,803,750

1,936,910
592,750

1,507,250
1,084,000
2,202,000

788,250

(b) 
Miscellaneous 

Revenues 
Anticipated

$   180,155,057.85 
263,355,149.86
 110,882,596.18 
 259,382,777.90 
 76,921,122.30 

48,985,297.64 
 635,783,945.28 
 75,949,189.50 

 577,551,525.64 
 33,877,001.91 

233,566,125.53  
311,049,831.56  
210,937,569.00  
16,230,201.00  

160,351,737.87 

201,119,666.33 
 31,976,557.75 
 86,665,329.82 
 27,916,910.82 

 209,910,814.25 

28,074,073.23 

 $3,780,642,481.16                $519,390,500.00              $5,313,519,336.29 $12,971,233.08               $48,002,310.00

amount of miscellaneous 
revenue for the support of the 

local municipal budget
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          Col. 16	 Addendum 1	 Addendum 2

state aid adjustment for 
business personal property tax

regional efficiency aid program 
(r.e.a.p.) distribution summary

(c) 
R.E.A.P. 
Tax Rate 

Credit

(b) 
R.E.A.P.

Aid
Credit

(a) 
Eligible

Property 
Assessments

(c) 
Municipal 

Adjustment

(b) 
School 

Adjustment

(a) 
County 

Adjustment

Total Ratables 
Determined 
Pursuant to 
R.S. 54:1-35 

After Equalization 
Under R.S. 54:1-33 

and R.S. 54:1-34COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

0
0
0
0
0

0
0
0
0
0

0
0
0
0
0

0
0
0
0
0

0

0

$   108,060
174,258
95,481

344,817
    7,370

22,634
3,884,707

104,059
0
0

41,558
0
0

489,408
6,323

36,262
80,813

0
0
0

0

$5,395,750

$1,050,108,429 

$1,050,108,429

$    36,600,949,508
167,307,579,443
46,365,461,070
37,040,444,802
47,570,365,657

8,720,496,323
82,868,824,862
25,556,989,505
64,512,792,162
21,126,934,605

43,342,185,909
102,329,008,788
115,597,445,135
91,375,559,843
94,612,370,938

46,441,411,277
4,960,859,251

58,589,021,448
16,892,838,626
65,743,786,409

10,704,216,663

$1,188,259,542,225

$2,404,841 

$2,404,841 

0
0
0
0
0

0
0
0
0
0

0
0
0
0
0

0
0
0
0
0

0

0
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(Summary Addendum to Abstract of Ratables)

UEZ
Abatement

Home
Improvement

Multifamily
Dwelling

Class 4
AbatementCOUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

–
–
–
–
–

–
–
–
–
–

–
–
–
–
–

–
–
–
–
–

–

–

Pollution
Control

Fire
Suppression

Fallout
Shelter

Water/
Sewage
Facility

–
–
–
–
–

$  2,497,300
248,000

2,311,700

–

–
9,785,100

–
198,400
48,600

–
–

501,600
–
–

10,605,000

$26,195,700

$    2,249,800
3,667,200

21,207,300
1,368,400

–

530,000
2,217,200
8,312,440
3,325,300

291,800

24,252,350
51,806,000
2,225,900

12,295,800
1,066,000

1,052,100
–

2,226,100
–

130,500

15,200

$138,239,390

–
–

$       2,500
–
–

–
–
–
–
–

–
–
–
–
–

–
–
–
–
–

–

$2,500

–
–
–
–
–

–
–
–

$2,500,000
–

–
2,428,217
2,102,400

151,300
–

–
–
–
–
–

–

$7,181,917

–
–

$200,600
4,359,000

–

2,457,900
39,401,600

–
–
–

14,929,900 
–
–
–
–

–
–
–
–

4,696,100 

–

$ 66,045,100

$46,000
–
–
–
–

–
–

121,800–
–

–
–
–
–
–

–
–
–
–
–

–

$167,800

–
–
–
–
–

–
–
–

$872,100
–

–
–
–
–
–

–
–
–
–
–

–

$872,100

Renewable
Energy

–
–
–

$822,600
–

–
$5,394,300

–
–
–

–
3,488,600

–
–

49,500

– 
– 
–
–
–

–

$9,755,000
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C-2 2016 Assessed Value of Partial Exemptions and Abatements (continued)
(Summary Addendum to Abstract of Ratables)

Dwelling
Abatement

Dwelling
Exemption

New
Dwelling/

Conversion
Abatement

Multiple
Dwelling/

Abatement

Commercial/
Industrial
Exemption

Total
Assessed

Value (Col. 3
of Abstract)

New
Dwelling/

Conversion
Exemption

Multiple
Dwelling/

ExemptionCOUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

$    158,200
34,514,900

487,155
29,183,000

1,113,200

1,321,300
5,527,600
2,201,730
6,811,280

0

342,600
2,601,400
5,511,500

0
46,100

0
0

393,800
0
0

0

0
0

1,773,871
5,860,900

0

7,500
2,087,800

7,797,800
222,800

0
453,175

1,479,400
0
0

4,787,800
0

1,804,800
0
0

0

$26,275,846             $90,213,765         $32,225,600        $6,420,300          $55,355,900        $16,363,900   $88,030,600     $563,345,418

0
0
0
0
0

0
294,900

0
20,945,300

0

0
0

10,985,400
0
0

0
0
0
0
0

0

$ 3,425,300
0
0
0
0

0
1,265,500

0
908,100

0

0
0

821,400
0
0

0
0
0
0
0

0

0
0

$33,189,700
0
0

0
$19,538,300

0
133,400

0

2,494,500
0
0
0
0

0
0
0
0
0

0

0
0
0
0
0

0
0
0

$16,363,900
0

0
0
0
0
0

0
0
0
0
0

0

$  649,400
1,083,000

0
28,684,500

0

9,661,000
655,300

1,576,200
25,546,100
4,824,200

101,400
11,232,300
3,175,300

0
25,000

0
0

718,600
0
0

98,300

$    6,528,700
39,265,100
56,861,126
70,278,400

1,113,200

16,475,000
76,630,500
14,402,070
85,325,080
5,338,800

42,120,750
81,794,792
26,301,300
12,645,500
1,235,200

5,839,900
0

5,644,900
0

4,826,600

10,718,500
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Summary of 2016 County Tax Board Appeals Reported 
Pursuant to C. 499 P.L. 1979 (N.J.S.A. 54:3-5.1) 

COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

		  Col. 1
dispositions

Assessment
Revised

Assessment
Affirmed Stipulated

Freeze
Act

Dismissed 
With 

Prejudice

Dismissed 
Without 

Prejudice Withdrawn

Property
Tax

Deduction
Granted

Property
Tax

Deduction
Denied

343 615 4,849 0 757 320 274 4 0 0 
741 250 1,517 15 167 865 238 5 1 0 
101 73 1,110 0 101 54 111 13 1 3 
122 86 916 0 111 34 261 78 1 1 
75 27 395 0 56 11 40 2 0 0 

16 13 390 1 13 5 36 27 1 0 
56 201 848 0 206 2,122 352 35 1 0 

110 59 494 0 71 20 86 1 1 2 
466 65 1,492 0 145 601 1,286 0 0 0 
24 14 132 0 9 19 29 0 0 2 

65 30 535 0 105 59 129 0 0 0 
142 230 577 0 131 516 302 0 1 0 

1,408 839 1,892 1 409 133 329 0 0 0 
107 205 426 0 112 134 192 0 1 1 
216 232 1,480 0 266 386 254 22 4 0 

1,013 1,060 600 0 342 1,111 219 2 0 0 
23 20 473 0 55 3 24 0 0 1 

125 29 225 0 32 58 84 3 0 0 
175 193 685 0 75 71 198 0 0 1 
89 345 1,068 2 311 1,234 522 0 0 0 

11 96 179 0 42 65 130 0 0 0 

5,428 4,682 20,283 19 3,516 7,821 5,096 192 12 11 

Farmland
Assessment

Granted
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D
-2 Summary of 2016 County Tax Board Appeals Reported 

Pursuant to C. 499 P.L. 1979 (N.J.S.A. 54:3-5.1) 

Farmland
Assessment

Denied
R.E.A.P.
Credit Other

Class 1

Vacant
Land

Class 2

ResidentialClassification

Class 3A

Farm
Regular

Class 3B

Farm
QualifiedCOUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

­	 Col. 1 	 Col. 2	 Col. 3

dispositions classification

0 0 0 0 2,007 9,169 587 7,866 3 2 
0 2 0 0 16 3,817 95 2,792 0 5 
4 4 0 0 1 1,576 42 1,363 4 5 
6 4 0 0 0 1,620 31 1,438 2 0 
0 14 0 0 0 620 46 504 1 0 

	 0 3 0 0 1 506 22 396 2 0 
2 0 0 0 7 3,830 186 2,035 0 0 
0 2 0 0 0 846 55 673 10 4 
0 5 0 0 3 4,063 146 2,991 0 0 
2 1 0 0 0 232 26 160 15 0 

0 0 0 0 0 923 73 700 3 0 
0 0 0 0 0 1,899 75 1,443 1 1 
0 5 0 0 1 5,017 222 4,345 34 7 
0 0 0 0 0 1,178 58 916 7 0 
3 18 0 20 0 2,901 432 2,325 5 8 

0 0 0 0 59 4,406 133 2,959 0 0 
2 1 0 0 0 602 35 532 7 0 
0 1 0 0 0 557 54 416 7 1 
1 8 0 0 1 1,408 153 1,142 10 8 
0 22 0 0 0 3,593 163 2,457 0 0 

0 0 0 0 0 523 174 293 5 0 
20 90 0 20 2,096 49,286 2,808 37,746 116 41 

Total
Number

of
Appeals

Disaster
Relief
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Summary of 2016 County Tax Board Appeals Reported 
Pursuant to C. 499 P.L. 1979 (N.J.S.A. 54:3-5.1) 

	 Col. 3	 Col. 4	

COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

Class 4 
Commercial 
Industrial 
Apartment Other

classification

667 44 4,599 625 181 1 
4 895 30 1,540 1,183 543 2 

137 25 883 153 38 2 
137 12 851 63 11 17 

68 1 268 124 56 

77 9 204 13 11 0 

1,599 10 1,707 900 202 0 

93 11 563 37 21 5 

784 142 1,352 153 61 0 

19 12 112 60 11 7 

124 23 353 103 31 2 

353 26 822 268 27 1 

400 9 2,003 1,459 455 0 

184 13 449 420 117 1 

123 8 1,573 474 127 19 

1,309 5 3,077 548 92 0 

26 2 255 10 1 0 

72 7 319 103 31 0 

94 1 801 134 25 7 

958 15 1,134 148 22 0 

47 4 253 30 2 0 

8,166 409  49,286 13,748 23,118 7,008 2,065 64 

Total
Number

of Appeals 
by Class

filing fee

Class

$100 $150 $25

9,169 
3,817 
1,576 
1,620 
   620

   506 
3,830 
  846 
4,063 
  232 

   923 
1,899 
5,017 
1,178 
2,901 

4,406 
   602 
   557 
1,408 
3,593 

   523 

$25$5

3,576 
110 
386 
573 
132 

233 
933 
167 

2,292 
16 

357 
578 
230 
47 

642 

638 
326 
22 

397 
1,864 

229 
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Pursuant to C. 499 P.L. 1979 (N.J.S.A. 54:3-5.1) 

COUNTY

Atlantic
Bergen
Burlington
Camden
Cape May

Cumberland
Essex
Gloucester
Hudson
Hunterdon

Mercer
Middlesex
Monmouth
Morris
Ocean

Passaic
Salem
Somerset
Sussex
Union

Warren

TOTALS

Col. 4 Col. 5 Col. 6 Col. 7 Col. 8

4 183 9,169 2,909,436,240 (366,023,440)	 13,184,500 2,556,597,300 
5 434 3,817 3,975,386,806 (318,738,707)	 367,800 3,657,015,899 
1 113 1,576 837,747,185 (55,756,850)	 1,239,700 783,230,035 
0 105 1,620 351,088,200 (32,770,850)	 722,300 319,039,650 
0 40 620 306,630,900 (39,968,000)	 36,800 266,699,700 

0 45 506 126,145,700 (23,534,200)	 0 102,611,500 
0 88 3,830 1,927,481,538 (128,511,063)	 1,609,630 1,800,580,105 
1 52 846 325,184,600 (39,240,700)	 543,400 286,487,300 

11 194 4,063 1,318,137,026 (101,938,655)	 7,394,500 1,223,592,871 
0 26 232 97,192,600 (10,734,800)	 0 86,457,800 

0 77 923 359,655,100 (33,321,700)	 374,300 326,707,700 
0 203 1,899 1,017,057,358 (25,604,884)	 527,500 991,979,974 

12 858 5,017 3,319,343,399 (223,207,970)	 16,607,500 3,112,742,929 
0 144 1,178 1,109,431,384 (58,512,700)	 29,977,700 1,080,896,384 
0 66 2,901 1,158,822,690 (110,356,705)	 2,948,600 1,051,414,585 

0 51 4,406 1,531,413,350 (84,550,000)	 119,300 1,446,982,650 
0 10 602 110,801,102 (20,986,265)	 0 89,814,837 
0 82 557 277,879,172 (20,947,474)	 1,026,300 257,957,998 
0 44 1,408 503,395,400 (28,705,500)	 206,400 474,896,300 
8 417 3,593 690,873,950 (37,531,600)	 1,039,800 654,382,150 

0 9 523 120,468,937 (8,942,051)	 0 111,526,886 

42 3,241 49,286 $22,373,572,637 	 $77,926,030 $20,681,614,553 

Original
Amount of
Assessed 

Valuation Appealed

Total Amount 
of Assessed 
Valuation 
Reduction

Total Amount 
of Assessed 
Valuation 
Increase

Adjusted
Net

Assessments
(Col. 5 – 6 + 7)

	 Other
$25	 No Fee	 Total

filing fee assessed valuation amounts
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Total Taxable Value
Land and Improvements in New Jersey

2007 – 2016

2016 County Values
Atlantic 
Bergen	
Burlington	
Camden	
Cape May	
Cumberland	
Essex	
Gloucester	
Hudson	
Hunterdon	
Mercer	

Middlesex	
Monmouth	
Morris	
Ocean	
Passaic	
Salem	
Somerset	
Sussex	
Union	
Warren	
Total	

$  34,414,813,213
154,330,857,556
43,245,124,063
36,348,745,233
47,241,771,800
8,427,419,900

75,186,289,955
24,891,904,134
30,707,343,775
19,543,884,887
40,134,368,052

$

56,628,995,837 
112,424,425,330 
82,146,525,412 
87,363,002,763 
34,623,129,518 
5,187,391,727 

56,315,198,011 
16,402,216,936 
24,322,267,870 
10,223,936,521 

$1,000,109,612,493

100

200

300

400

500

600

700

800

900

1,000

’07 ’08 ’09 ’10 ’11 ’12 ’13 ’14 ’15 ’16

Billions
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Taxes Administered by the Public Utility Tax Section for 2017
 (Calendar Year Due)

Public Utility Taxes (Excise, Franchise, and Gross Receipts Taxes), 
Transitional Energy Facility Assessment (TEFA), and 

Uniform Transitional Utility Assessment (UTUA)

Assessed by the State and Available for Appropriation and Distribution to Municipalities 
Distribution Subject to Budgetary and Statutory Limitations and Restrictions

Classification­
No. of 

Companies
Excise 
Taxes

Franchise 
Taxes

Gross 
Receipts 

Taxes
UTUA 
(CBT)

UTUA 
(S&U-EN)

PUBLIC UTILITY TAXES

TEFA 


Sewer Companies................

Water Companies................

Energy Companies..............

Telephone Companies.........

Totals...................................

Total Net Tax Assessed..............................................................................................................$511,499,011

11

25

16

3

55

699,844 

$16,819,673

NA

NA

$17,519,517 

2,107,755

$52,358,848

NA

NA

$54,466,603 

$ $    3,535,526

$83,113,670

NA

NA

$86,649,196

$ NA

NA

NA 

NA

$0 

NA

NA

$16,709,574

$1,520,758

$18,230,332

NA

NA

$334,633,363      

NA

$334,633,363 



Individual Income Tax Returns
County Profile 2016

County		 	  Net Charged Tax	

Atlantic	 	
Bergen 437,245	
Burlington	 206,742	
Camden	 229,152	
Cape May	 		

	






Cumberland	 		      63,857,735	
Essex		 346,103 1,093,870,737	
Gloucester	 131,659	                235,303,053	
Hudson	 310,397	 384,433,223	
Hunterdon	 		    318,058,045	

Mercer		 163,935	 560,184,487	
Middlesex	 384,710	
Monmouth	 302,453	
Morris		 238,606

	



Ocean		 264,623	    440,850,315	

Passaic		 238,753	
Salem		 		
Somerset	 158,339	
Sussex		 		
Union		 257,954	

$5,888,920,256
45,957,124,193 
14,724,187,036 
13,341,825,872 
2,397,455,053 

 2,672,863,128   
30,387,106,863 
8,303,841,835 

20,262,806,399                 
7,089,526,778  

14,418,288,907              
26,284,812,633 
29,108,635,204  
28,289,924,123 
14,235,172,350 

12,412,939,639
 1,465,675,944 
19,268,139,653
  4,998,342,846 
20,408,481,374

	






Warren		 		   3,074,756,817	 95,798,574	

Unknown	 3,738		     390,577,189	 17,730,334	

Total	 	           $325,381,404,092	 $10,915,650,147	
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Appendix G

*See New Jersey Statistics of Income for additional information and reports for other tax years.

New Jersey

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/soiintro.shtml


Sussex
Average Income

$81,363
Average Tax

$2,527

Passaic
Average Income

$58,904
Average Tax

$1,360

Morris
Average Income

$128,921
Average Tax

$5,046

Warren
Average Income

$69,299
Average Tax

$1,903 

Hunterdon
Average Income

$127,818
Average Tax

$5,251

Somerset
Average Income

$131,519
Average Tax

$5,400

Essex
Average Income

$94,849
Average Tax

$3,161

Middlesex
Average Income

$76,047
Average Tax

$1,995 Monmouth
Average Income

$105,684
Average Tax

$3,522

Cape May
Average Income

$59,099
Average Tax

$1,734

Cumberland
Average Income

$47,301
Average Tax

$994

Salem
Average Income

$57,752
Average Tax

$1,260

Gloucester
Average Income

$71,122
Average Tax

$1,787

Atlantic
Average Income

$53,094
Average Tax

$1,308

Camden
Average Income

$65,511
Average Tax

$1,629

Burlington
Average Income

$79,422
Average Tax

$2,441

Bergen
Average Income

$114,425
Average Tax

$3,479

Union
Average Income

$86,814
Average Tax

$2,455

Mercer
Average Income

$95,979
Average Tax

$3,417

Hudson
Average Income

$70,318
Average Tax

$1,239

Ocean
Average Income

$61,769
Average Tax

$1,666

H-1
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Appendix H

Statewide Averages
Average Total Income	 $86,946
Average Income Tax	 $2,649

Average Total Income and
Average Income Tax

By County — Tax Year 2015*

*See New Jersey Statistics of Income for additional information
and reports for other tax years.

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/soiintro.shtml
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Sales and Use Tax Collections by Business Type
Return Years 2014–2016
(Dollar Amounts in Thousands)

Business Type	 Number of Vendors	 Total Collections	 % Change

2014	 2015	 2016	 	 2015	 2016	 2014–2015	 2015–2016
Exempt 
Organizations
Manufacturing
Service
Wholesale
Construction
Retail
Government
Not Classified

Totals

792
29,093
94,795
12,459
19,267
68,003

29
6,907

231,345

798
29,956
95,163
12,594
19,313
67,289

30
6,618

231,761

780
28,405
94,751
12,523
19,132
67,407

30
6,365

229,393

  6,664
670,615

2,441,515
433,709
219,923

4,570,887
5,752

128,675
$8,477,740

7,015
717,601

2,507,783
445,292
227,909

4,698,393
540

145,961
$8,750,493

  7,189
717,006

2,580,587
438,829
231,956

4,715,947
533

146,314
$8,838,361

5.3
7.0
2.7
2.7
3.6
2.8

-90.6
13.4
3.2

2.5
-0.1
2.9

-1.5
1.8
0.4

-1.3
0.2
1.0

%

%

%

%

$ $ $



Contact Information

Online
www.njtaxation.org

Email 
nj.taxation@treas.nj.gov

By Phone
Customer Service Center:        609-292-6400 
Automated Tax Information:    800-323-4400

609-826-4400
Homestead Benefit Hotline:     800-238-1233     
NJ Business Taxes Telefile:      609-341-4800

Regional Information Centers































Email Service

Subscribe to NJ Tax E-News, the Division of Taxation’s online information 
service, at: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml
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