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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Understanding Income Tax

This bulletin explains:

1. Determining your residency;
Your tax responsibilities;

How to complete a part-year New Jersey Income Tax return; and

H W

When a part-year resident must file both resident and nonresident Income Tax returns.

Determining Residency

For Gross Income Tax residency determination issues regarding a military service member and their spouse, New
Jersey follows the federal Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. § 3901, et seq, which includes the Military
Spouses Residency Relief Act and Veterans Auto and Education Improvement Act of 2022. If you are not a current
military service member and/or the spouse of an active service member, your residency is determined by where
you were domiciled during the tax year. If you moved in to or out of New Jersey for part of the year, you are a
part-year resident and may need to file a resident tax return to report the income received for the period you
resided here. If you are not domiciled in New Jersey, but received income from sources within New Jersey, you
may need to file a nonresident tax return. Income from sources within New Jersey for a nonresident individual
means the income from the categories of gross income enumerated and classified under chapter 5 of the New
Jersey Gross Income Tax Act to the extent that the income is earned, received or acquired from sources within
New Jersey.

Domicile is the place and state you consider your permanent home — the place where you intend to return after
a period of absence (e.g., vacation, business assignment, educational leave).

You have only one domicile although you may have more than one place to live. Your domicile continues until
you establish a new permanent home elsewhere.

The Division considers many factors when determining if New Jersey is your domicile, including:

e Your intent;

e Where you register to vote;

e Your driver’s license and vehicle registration;

e Where you have family ties;

e  Whether your federal tax return lists New Jersey as a home address;
e Location of bank accounts;

e Whether you participated in a New Jersey property tax relief program. GIT-6
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Permanent Home means a residence that you maintain permanently as your principal residence (main home),

whether or not you own it.

Your home is not considered permanent if you maintain it only during a temporary period of time to accomplish
a specific purpose (e.g., temporary job assignment). There are, however, specific guidelines for military personnel
(see Military Personnel and Families).

If New Jersey is your domicile, you are considered a resident for New Jersey tax purposes, unless:
1. You did not maintain a permanent home in New Jersey;
2. You maintained a permanent home outside New Jersey; and
3. You did not spend more than 30 days in New Jersey.

If New Jersey is not your domicile, you are only considered a resident if you maintain a permanent home and
spend more than 183 days here.

Income Filing Threshold

Your residency status and income determine whether you are required to file a New Jersey Income Tax return.
You are responsible for New Jersey Income Tax, and must file, if your gross income exceeds the following:

Filing Thresholds

In-State and Out-of-State
Filing Status Gross Income for the Entire
Year

Single
Married/CU Partner Filing Separate Return $10,000

Married/CU Couple Filing Joint Return
Head of Household
Qualifying Widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner

$20,000

You do not have to file a New Jersey return under the following circumstances: You received no income during

the part of the year you were a resident, and you had no New Jersey source income during the part of the year
you were a nonresident.
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Understanding Income Tax

Part-Year Resident or Part-Year Nonresident

If you change your domicile and meet the definition of a resident or nonresident for only part of the year, you
are a resident for part of the year (part-year resident) and a nonresident for the remainder of that year (part-year
nonresident.

Filing Requirements
Your filing status and gross income determine whether you have to file a New Jersey Income Tax return. Anyone

who meets the income requirements must file.

See Who Must File to find out whether you are required to file.

Part-year residents must use Form NJ-1040 and indicate the period of their New Jersey residency. The return
should show only the income received during that period. Likewise, part-year nonresidents must use Form NJ-
1040NR and indicate the period of time they were residents.

If you received income from New Jersey sources during both your residency and nonresidency periods, you must
file both a NJ-1040 and a NJ-1040NR. You must report the income you received during the time you were a
resident on your resident return. Report the income received while you were a nonresident on your nonresident
return.

Examples

1. A taxpayer was a New Jersey resident from January 1 through December 31. They file a full-year resident
return showing the income they received that year.

2. Two married taxpayers were New Jersey residents from May 1 to December 31. They had no New Jersey
income prior to becoming residents. They must file a part-year resident return and report the income
they received during their period of residency (May to December).

3. A taxpayer was a full-year resident of New York who worked in New Jersey from July through November.
They file a full-year nonresident return because they were a nonresident for the entire year. Their New
Jersey nonresident return will show the income they received during the period they were a nonresident
(i.e., January to December).

4. A taxpayer worked in New Jersey for the entire year. From January 1 to March 31, they were a New Jersey
resident. From April 1 to December 31, he was a Delaware resident. They must file two New Jersey Income
Tax returns:
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o A part-year resident return showing the income they received during the three months they were
a New Jersey resident; and

e A part-year nonresident return showing their income during the period they were a nonresident
of New Jersey.

Both Part-Year Resident and Nonresident

If you were a resident for part of the year, you were a nonresident for the remainder of that year. File part-year
resident and/or nonresident returns as follows:

You must file both a part-year resident return and a part-year nonresident return if:

* Your gross income from all sources (both in-state and out-of-state) for the entire year was more than
the filing threshold amount (see chart on page 3);

* You received income (whether from New Jersey sources or not) during the part of the year you were
a resident; and

* You received any amount of income from New Jersey sources during the part of the year you were a
nonresident.

File a part-year resident return if:

* You received income during the part of the year you were a resident; and

* Your income for the entire year is over the filing threshold (see chart).

File a part-year nonresident return if:

* You received income from New Jersey during the part of the year you were a nonresident; and

* Your income for the entire year is over the filing threshold (see chart).

Examples

1.

A single taxpayer was a resident of California for 10 months and a resident of New Jersey for two months.
Their income as a California resident totaled $23,000, and the income they received during the two
months they were a resident of New Jersey was $2,900. The taxpayer is subject to tax on the $2,900 they
received as a New Jersey resident because their income from everywhere for the entire year was more
than the $10,000 filing threshold amount.
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2. A single taxpayer was a New Jersey resident from January through September, when they moved to
Florida and became a resident there. Their income as a resident totaled $5,800, and their income while a
Florida resident was $600. The taxpayer is not required to file a return, and they owe no New Jersey
Income Tax on the $5,800 because their income from everywhere for the entire year was less than the
$10,000 filing threshold amount. However, the taxpayer must file a part-year resident return to claim any
refund of New Jersey Income Tax that was either withheld or remitted through estimated payments.

When they file their New Jersey return, they must also enclose a copy of their federal income tax return.
If they did not file a federal return, they must enclose an informal statement — written, signed, and dated
by them — to certify that their income for the year was less than $10,000.

How Residents and Nonresidents Are Taxed

Residents

Residents are subject to tax on their income from all sources, whether the income is from inside or outside New
Jersey. As a part-year resident, your resident return must include all income you received during the time you
were a resident. Married/civil union couples filing jointly must report the income of both spouses.

Part-year residents must prorateall of their exemptions, deductions, and credits, in addition to pension and other
retirement income exclusions, to reflect the time period covered by their return. (In this publication, prorate
means to allocate proportionally over a set time period.) See Completing a Part-Year Resident Return.

For more information on completing the resident return, see instructions for Form NJ-1040.

Nonresidents

For nonresidents, New Jersey Income Tax liability is based on the percentage of their total income that comes
from New Jersey. The income section of the nonresident return has two columns:

1. Column A, income from everywhere, in which you report total income from all sources (both inside and
outside New Jersey combined); and

2. Column B, income from only New Jersey sources.
Pennsylvania residents, see page 24.

As a nonresident, you must calculate your tax on income from all sources as if you were a resident, and then
prorate your tax based on your New Jersey source income.

GIT-6
January 2025
6


https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/current/1040i.pdf

Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Understanding Income Tax

For more information on completing the nonresident return, see instructions for Form NJ-1040NR.

Nonresident service members

You are not required to include your military pay on the New Jersey nonresident return. This is in accordance
with federal legislation (Service members Civil Relief Act, P.L. No. 108-189). Do not report military pay in Column
A or Column B of Form NJ-1040NR.

Income you receive as a nonresident from New Jersey sources other than military pay is taxable.

In addition, under the federal Military Spouses Residency Relief Act (P.L. 111-97), a military service member’s
nonmilitary spouse who meets certain requirements is allowed to keep a tax domicile while moving from state
to state. Under the Act, a qualified civilian spouse is considered a nonresident and is not subject to New Jersey
Income Tax on wages earned in New Jersey. Nonresident civilian spouses are subject to tax on all other types of
income from New Jersey sources, such as a gain from the sale of property.

Military, see Military Personnel and Families.

Completing a Part-Year Resident Return

e Enter your New Jersey residency period above line 1;

e Report income, withholdings, and payments for the period of New Jersey residency only;

e Prorate exemptions, deductions, exclusions, and credits based on residency period;

e If you also complete a part-year nonresident return, allocate your income, withholdings, and payments
between the two returns as appropriate.

1. NJ Residency Status. Show the beginning and ending dates of your residency period. If you were a resident
for 15 days or more of a month, that month counts as a month of residence. So, if you were a resident from
January 27 to July 21, you were a resident for six months.
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Understanding Income Tax

15. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (State wages from

Box 16 of enclosed W-2{2)) (See instructions) e 15.
16a. Taxable interest income (Enclose federal Schedule B if over §1,500)

L= i W L 16a.
16b. Tax-exempt interest income (Enclose Schedule)

{See instructions) Do not include on line 168 16k,
AT DIV RMS ot anne i7.
18. Net profits from business (Schedule MJ-BUS-1, Part |, line 4)

(Enclose federal Sehedube C). .o e e n 18.
18. HNet gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule NJ-DOP. line 4) ... 19.

20a. Taxable pension, annuity, and IRA distributions/withdrawals (See instructions).....20a.

20b. Excludable pension, annuity, and IRA distributions/withdrawals ... 20b.
21. Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part I, line 4)
{(Enclose Schedule NJK-1 or federal Schedule K-1) e 21.
22_ Met pro rata ghare of S Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part il line 4)
(Enclose Schedule NJ-K-1 or federal Schedube B-1) e 22.
23. MNet gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights
(Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, ine 4) ..o 23
24, Met gambling winnings {See INStUCONE] ... cemasseseeecmcems s e e s sanenan 24.
25 Alimony and separate maintenance payments received. ..o 25.
26. Other (Enclose documents) (See InStructons) .. e 26.

2. Income. Complete lines 15-26. Enter the total amount you received in each category of income while you
were a New Jersey resident.

27, Total Income (Add lines 15, 163, 17 through 20a, and 21 through 26) .......... 2T | | | ‘ | | | |

28a. Pension/Retirement Exclusion (See instructions) ... 28a. | | | | | ‘
28h. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet D and | | | | ‘
INSIUCHONS PAOES 2021 ) e e 28b.

28c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add lines 28a and 2800 . 28c. | ‘ | | 1 |
29. Mew Jersey Gross Income (Subtract line 28c from line 27) | | | ‘ | | |
(R NS O NS Y e 29.

3. Pension and Other Retirement Income Exclusion.

a. Retirement/Pension Exclusion (line 28a). This is only available if your entire income for the year was
$150,000 or less. If your income for the entire year is between $0 and $100,000, prorate the maximum
exclusion amount from this chart based on the number of months you were a New Jersey resident. See
the example on the next page. If your income for the entire year is over $100,000, do not prorate the
exclusion amount. See instructions for Form NJ-1040.
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Understanding Income Tax

If you and your spouse file a joint return, and only one of you is 62 or older or disabled, you can claim
the full amount of the prorated exclusion. However, only the income of the one who is 62 or older or
disabled can be excluded.

b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (line 28b). If you (and/or your spouse if filing jointly) were 62 or older
on the last day of the tax year, you may qualify to exclude other income on line 28b.

There are two parts to the total exclusion:

1. Part, the unclaimed portion of your prorated pension exclusion; and

2. Part II, a special exclusion for taxpayers who cannot receive Social Security or Railroad Retirement
benefits.

Prorating the Pension Exclusion:

Months of NJ Residence

Total Pension Exclusion Amount x 1 = Prorated Pension Exclusion Amount
Example
A 65- -old, single t h New J 4

year-old, single taxpayer who was a New Jersey $45000 X = = $15000

resident for four months of the 2024 Tax Year prorates - 12
the pension exclusion amount like this:

Do not complete Worksheet D in the NJ-1040 instructions to calculate the total exclusion amount you are eligible
to claim. Instead, use Worksheet E.

More Information. For more detailed information on pensions, annuities, and IRAs, see Retirement Income
and Roth IRAs. For information on calculating your partnership and S corporation income, see Income From
Partnerships and Income from S Corporations.

4. Exemptions. You must prorate the total exemption allowance amount (line 13) based on the number of
months you were a resident. For this calculation, 15 days or more equals a full month. Use the formula below,
and then enter the prorated exemption amount on line 30.

Prorating the Exemption Allowance:

Line 13 x 12 = Prorated Exemption Amount

GIT-6
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Understanding Income Tax

30. Exemption Amount (Enter amount from line 13. Part-year residents seeinstr) ... 30

31. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet F and instructions) ... 31

32. Alimony and separate maintenance payments (See instructions) ... ....32

33. Qualified Conservation ContribUtion. ... i 33.

34. Health Enterprise Zone Deduction ... 34.

35. Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule NJ-BUS-2, line 11) ... 350

36. Organ/Bone Marrow Donation Deduction (See instructions) ... 36.

| | HEE ENEEE
38. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add lines 30 through 37¢)...... 38.

39. Taxable Income (Subtract line 38 from line 29) ... _.................30 ‘ ‘

Deductions.

a. Medlical Expenses (line 317). You can deduct certain medical expenses for which you were not reimbursed

by insurance or any other plan, qualified Archer medical savings account (MSA) contributions, and self-
employed health insurance costs. Complete Worksheet F, located in the NJ-1040 instructions, to
calculate your deduction for medical expenses while you were a resident.

Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments (line 32). You can deduct alimony and separate
maintenance payments paid while you were a resident. You cannot deduct child support payments. Refer
to the Tax Guide on divorce for more information.

Qualified Conservation Contribution (line 33). You can deduct the amount of any qualified conservation
contribution you made while you were a resident.

Health Enterprise Zone (line 34). If you provide primary care services in a qualified medical or dental
practice you own, that is located in or within five miles of a designated Health Enterprise Zone (HEZ), you
may be able to deduct a percentage of the net income from that practice. See Health Enterprise Zones
for information on how to calculate the HEZ deduction.

Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (line 35). If you report net business loss(es) on Schedule NJ-
BUS-1, Business Income Summary Schedule, you may be eligible for an income adjustment based on the
loss(es) incurred during your residency period. Complete Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Form NJ-1040 to calculate
the adjustment amount.
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£ Organ/Bone Marrow Donation Deduction (line 36). If you donated an organ or bone marrow to another
person for transplantation, you may be eligible to deduct up to $10,000 of unreimbursed expenses for
travel, lodging, and lost wages as a result of your donation. The deductions must be claimed in the year
in which the expenses occurred, and you may be asked to provide supporting documentation.

g. New Jersey College Affordability Deductions (line 37a-c). If your gross income was $200,000 or less, you
may be eligible to deduct certain educational expenses. You can deduct up to $10,000 of contributions
made during the year into an NJBEST (New Jersey Better Educational Savings Trust) account on line 37a;
deduct up to $2,500 of principal and interest paid during the year on an NJCLASS (New Jersey College
Loans to Assist State Students) loan on line 37b; or if you, your spouse, or your dependent enroll in or
attend a New Jersey institution of higher education, you can deduct up to $10,000 for tuition costs paid
during the year on line 37c.

New Jersey does not allow deductions for adjustments taken on the federal return, such as employee business
expenses or IRA and Keogh Plan contributions.

40a. Total Property Taxes (18% of Rent) Paid (See instructions page 25) .....40a. | ‘ | | ‘ | |
40b. Indicate your residency status during 2024 (fill in only one oval) ...

41. Property Tax Deduction (From Worksheet H) (See instructions)...........oooooooeooeeee. eeaes .41 I | ‘ ‘ 1 |
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Worksheet H

Property Tax Deduction/Credit
Review the eligibility requirements on page 25 before completing Worksheet H. Part-year residents see page 30.

Complete both columns of this worksheet to find out whather the deduction or the credit is batter for you.

|. Property Taxes. Enter the property taxes from line 40a, Form NI-1040.
Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) applicants must use their base year amount.
(See instructions on page 30.)
2. Property Tax Deduction. s the amount on line | of this worksheet 515,000 or more (57,500 or more
if you and your spouse file separate retums butl maintained the same main home)?
< Yes. Enter 315.000 (57500 if you and yvour spouse file separate retums but maintained the
same main home).

< No. Enter the amount from line 1. >
STOP —ir you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions.
Complete only lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule NJ-COJ and Worksheet 1.
(See instructions on page 31.)
Column A Column B
3. Taxable Income (From line 39 of Form BMI-D080) e, 3 3,
4. Property Tax Deduction (From line 2 above) e, 4. 4. -0-
5. New Jersey Taxable Income (Subtract hne 4 from e 3 e 5. 5.
. Tax on line 5 amount (From Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedules) ..o f. i}
7. Subtract ling 6, column A from line 6, column B e 1.

& Is the line T amount $50 or more (323 if vou and your spouse file separate refurns but maintained the same main home)?
Part-year residents see page 30 before answering “MNo.”

< Yes. The Property Tax Deduction 1 more beneficial for vou. Make the following entries on Vour retum.

Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 41 Line 4, column A
Line 42 Line 5, column A
Line 43 Line 6. column A
Line 56 Make no entry

< Mo. The Property Tax Credit is more beneficial for you. Make the following entries on your return.

Farm NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 41 Make no entry
Line 42 Line 5, column B
Line 43 Line 6, column B
Line 56 550525 if you and your spouse file separate refurns but maintained the same main

home). Part-year residents must prorate this amount. (See instructions on
page 30.)

(Keep for your records)
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6. Total Property Taxes (18% of Rent) Paid (line 40a). Enter the property taxes, or 18% of your rent, due and
paid on your qualified principal residence (main home) while you were a resident.

Property Tax Deduction/Credit (line 41/line 56). Part-year residents may be eligible to claim a deduction
(up to 100% of property taxes due and paid or up to $15,000, whichever is less) or a refundable credit (up to
$50) for property taxes, or 18% of rent, due and paid during their residency period.

If you do not claim credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction, complete Worksheet H to determine the
property tax deduction and whether you should take the property tax deduction on line 41, Form NJ-1040 or
the property tax credit on line 56.

If you claim credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction, first complete lines 1 and 2 of Worksheet H, and then
complete Schedule NJ-COJ and Worksheet I to make this determination. Enter on line 1 of Worksheet H the
amount of property taxes, or 18% of rent due and paid, while you were a resident from line 40a, Form NJ-
1040.

Complete the remainder of the worksheet according to the instructions. The maximum credit for a full-year
resident is $50 (or $25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but lived together). You must prorate this
amount based on the number of months you were a resident. For example, if you were a resident for nine
months, you are eligible for a maximum credit of $37.50. After prorating, answer the question at line 8 of
Worksheet H based on this prorated amount. This will determine whether you will receive a greater benefit
by taking the property tax deduction or claiming the prorated credit.

More Information. For information on claiming credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction, see Credit for Taxes
Paid to Other Jurisdictions (Wage Income) and Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions
(Business/Nonwage Income). For more detailed information on the Property Tax Deduction/Credit, see the
instructions for Form NJ-1040.
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
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46. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit . e B | | ‘ ‘ | ‘

8. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit (line 46). Enter the amount of your Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit from

Part IV, line 12 of Form GIT-317. Allocate the total amount of the credit between your part-year resident and
part-year nonresident returns, if appropriate.

47. Gold Star Family Counseling Credit (See instructions) ... 47. ‘ ‘ i ‘ ‘ i ‘

. Gold Star Family Counseling Credit (line 47). This credit is for mental health care professionals who
provided counseling through the Gold Star Family Counseling program. The amount of the credit is equal to
the number of hours of counseling provided through the program (a minimum of 20 hours and a maximum
of 40 hours per year) multiplied by the TRICARE rate for the service. The credit is nonrefundable and cannot
reduce your Income Tax liability to an amount less than zero.

If you claim this credit, we will need to verify your eligibility. You will be asked to provide copies of the
following:

e A statement with the number of counseling hours donated to Gold Star families in New Jersey along
with the TRICARE rate for those counseling services; and

e A letter from the Gold Star Counseling Program verifying your participation; and

e A copy of your New Jersey State license from one of the following:

o The State Board of Medical Examiners, the State Board of Psychological Examiners, the State Board
of Social Work Examiners, the State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners, the Alcohol
and Drug Counselor Committee, the Professional Counselor Examiners Committee, or the
Certified Psychoanalysts Advisory Committee.

48. Credit for Employer of Organ/Bone Marrow Donor (See instructions) ... 48. | ‘ i | ‘ . |

10. Credit for Employer of Organ/Bone Marrow Donor (line 48). If you are an employer who provided paid

time off to an employee who missed work to donate an organ or bone marrow for transplantation, you may
be able to claim a credit. The paid time off must have been in addition to any other paid time off for which
the employee was entitled. If you qualify, you can take a credit of 25% of the employee’s salary for up to 30
days of time missed from work for each donation.

You may be asked to provide documentation indicating that you are eligible to claim the credit, such as
employee pay statements and a letter from a physician.
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents

Understanding Income Tax

53c. Shared Responsibility Payment (See Instructions) ..o S3cC. | | | | 1 |
REQUIRED Enclose Schedule NJ-HCC and fillin [__|

54, Total Tax Due (Add lines S0 oUW S3CY e ee e e e eme e ea e o4, | | | J | | | |

11. Shared Responsibility Payment (line 53c). If you are a resident who is required to file a return, you must
have minimum essential health coverage for the year, unless you qualify for an exemption, or qualify for
a waiver by participating in the New Jersey Easy Enrollment Health Insurance Program. Part-year residents
must have coverage or qualify for an exemption for each month of their New Jersey residency or qualify for
a waiver. If you or anyone in your tax household did not have the required coverage and does not qualify for
an exemption, you owe a shared responsibility payment.

Your tax household includes you, your spouse (if filing jointly), and any individuals you claim as dependents
on your NJ-1040. It also includes individuals you can, but do not, claim as dependents on your return.

Refer to the NJ-1040 instructions for more information on how to complete Schedule NJ-HCC and calculate
your shared responsibility payment.

If your income on line 29 is under the filing threshold for your filing status, you do not owe a shared
responsibility payment. Do not complete line 53c.

55. Total NJ Income Tax Withheld | | |
(Enclose Forms W-2 and 1099)(Part-year residents, see instr.) ...l 55, ' ,
h6. Property Tax Credit (See NSt CtonS Do 2 e e e 56.
7. Mew Jersey Estimated Tax Paymenis/Credit from 2023 tax retum ... A7 | i | | ,
8. Mew Jersey Eamed Income Tax Credit (See inStructions) ... .o 58,
Fill in if you had the |RS calculate your federal eamed income credit
Fill in if you are a CU couple claiming the MJ Earned Income Tax Credit
59 Excess New Jersey UI'WWF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form MJ-2450) (See instructions) . 59 i }
G0. Excess New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form MNJ-2450) (See instructions) .............. 60. , 0 i 040
61. Excess Mew Jersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form MJ-2450) (See instructions)........ 61. )
62. Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit (See instructions) ... 62. ,
63. Pass-Through Business Alternative Income Tax Credit (See instructions) . 63. | ' | | |
64. Child and Dependent Care Credit (See INSUCtioNS) .. 64. \
Fill in if you are a CU couple claiming the Child and Dependent Care Credit
65, MNew Jersey Child Tax Credit (See instructions) . vowngsron 00es el G5 |
G6. Total Withholdings, Credits, and Payments (Add lines 55 through 65).............. G6. | ' | | \ :
January 2025
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12. Tax Withheld/Property Tax Credit/Estimated Payments.

a. Line 55. Enter the amount of New Jersey Income Tax withheld from wages you earned or other payments
you received while you were a resident. If your employer combined wages you earned as a resident and
wages you earned as a nonresident on the same W-2, allocate the New Jersey Income Tax withheld (box
17) between your part-year resident and part-year nonresident returns and enter only the tax withheld
while you were a resident. If you did not earn any of the wages on the W-2 while a nonresident, report
the total New Jersey tax withheld that is shown on the W-2.

b. Line 56. Enter the amount of your prorated credit (if any).

¢. Line 57. Enter the amount of estimated payments to New Jersey for your period of residency. If you made
estimated payments both as a resident and as a nonresident, enter on your part-year resident return the
payment(s) made to meet the tax liability for your period of residency. Enter on the part-year nonresident
return the payment(s) made to satisfy your tax liability during your non-residency period. Also enter any
amounts paid to qualify for an extension of time to file.

13. New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (line 58). You must file Form NJ-1040 to receive a New Jersey Earned
Income Tax Credit. Most residents who are eligible and file for a federal earned income credit can also receive
a New Jersey credit equal to 40% of the federal benefit. Calculate the amount with this formula:

Federal earned income credit x 4 =

Part-year residents must prorate the credit based on the number of months you were a resident.

If the IRS is calculating your federal credit, fill in the first oval below line 58, Form NJ-1040. The IRS is expected
to provide clarifying information to the Division of Taxation. Please allow at least 90 days for the Division to
process the information, after which the New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit will be issued as part of your
Income Tax refund.

GIT-6
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Understanding Income Tax

PRORATING THE NEW JERSEY EARNED INCOME TAX CREDIT:
_Months of NJ Residence

Total New Jersey EITC Amount x 12

= Prorated New Jersey EITC Amount

14. Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit (line 62). This credit is for resident taxpayers who provided care for a
relative who is a qualified armed services member and has gross income of $100,000 or less (married, filing
joint; head of household; qualifying widow(er)) or $50,000 or less (single; married, filing separate).

A relative is a:

Spouse Parent Child Brother Sister
Grandparent Grandchild Aunt Uncle First Cousin
Nephew Niece Great-grandparent Great-grandchild

A qualifying armed services member is a person who:

e Was honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances by the last day of the tax year;
and

e Has a disability emerging from active U.S. military service in war or conflict on or after September 11,
2001; and

e Has either a 100% disability rating or receives individual employability benefits. (Those benefits result
from one disability of at least 60% or two disabilities with a combined rating of at least 70%, and one
of the two disabilities is at least 40%); and

e Lived with you in New Jersey for at least six months of the tax year.
Complete Schedule NJ-WWoC to calculate the credit. If two or more people care for the same person, the

credit is divided based on the share of total care expenses for the year. If you claim the credit, you will be
asked to provide copies of the following:

e Your Schedule NJ-WWC;

e A letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs stating that the qualified armed service member has
Individual Unemployability status; and

e Your most recent VA benefit letter.

Part-year residents must use their income for the entire year when determining eligibility.

GIT-6
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63.

64.

65.

Child and Dependent Care Credit (See instructions)

)

Rt

Understanding Income Tax

Pass-Through Business Alternative Income Tax Credit (See instructions) ... 63. ‘

if you are a CU couple claiming the Child and Dependent Care Credit

Mew Jersey Child Tax Credit (See instructions) ........................ yowngeron 120088 Bl .

Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents

15. Pass-Through Business Alternative Income Tax Credit (line 63). For more information on the Pass-

Through Business Alternative Income Tax Credit, visit our website.

16. Child and Dependent Care Credit (line 64). This credit is available to certain taxpayers who have taxable

income, shown on line 42, of $150,000 or less, and paid someone to care for a qualifying person so they can
work or look for work. To qualify, you must be allowed a federal credit for child and dependent care expenses.
If your filing status is married, filing separately, you are only eligible for the credit if you meet certain
exceptions for federal purposes.

Worksheet J
Child and Dependent Care Credit

Enter your federal credit for child and dependent care expenses.........cccccveeeeen L

Enter your taxable income from
line 42, NJ-1040. If blank, enter zero.......ccoeeeen 2.

Enter the percentage below based on the amount on line 2.

Ifline 2 is Enter %
$30,000 or less 50%
Over 530,000 but not over 560,000 40%
Over 560,000 but not over 590,000 30%
Over 590,000 but not over 5120,000 20%
Ower $120,000 but not over 5150,000 10%
Over $150,000 not eligible 3 %
Multiply line 1 by the percentage on line 3. Also enter this amount on
line 64, NI-1040. Part-year residents see page 44, ... A
(Keep for your records)
PRORATING THE CREDIT ALLOWANCE:
Total Credit Amount x 12 = Credit Amount
January 2025
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Understanding Income Tax

17. New Jersey Child Tax Credit (line 65). If your taxable income is $80,000 or less, you are eligible for a credit

for each dependent who is under the age of 6 on the last day of the tax year. If your filing status is married
filing separately, you are not eligible for this credit.

GIT-6
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e L ozNidoso

Property Tax Credit Application
Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit Application

Do Not File This Application If:

= You file a 2024 New Jersey resident return, Form NJ-1040; or

= Your income is more than $20,000, excluding Social Security income ($10,000 if filing status is single or
married/CU partner, filing separate refurn). You must file Form NJ-1040.

You can use Form NJ-1040-HW even if you are eligible for only ONE of the credits.
If you are applying for the Property Tax Credit, complete Part I. If you are applying for the Wounded Warnor
Caregivers Credit, complete Part Il. If you are applying for both credits, complete both Parts | and 11

Part | — Property Tax Credit

7. Indicate whether at any time during 2024 you either owned a home or rented a dwelling in Mew Jersey as your
principal residence (main home) on which property taxes (or rent) were paid. Fill in the appropriate oval. If you
werne both a homeowner and a tenant during the year, fill in “Both_ "

(Fill in only one)

If “Homeowner” or “Tenant™ or “Both,” you may be asked to provide proof of property taxes or rent paid on your
main home. If “None,” you are not eligible for a Property Tax Credit.

8a. On December 31, 2024, were you age 65 or older? Yourself
Spouse/CL Pariner

8b. On December 31, 2024, were you blind or disabled? Yourself

Spouse/CL Pariner

If you (and your spousefCU partner) answered “Mo” to all the questions at lines 8a and 8b, you are not eligible
for the Property Tax Credit.

GIT-6
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Part Il — Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit

9. Did you provide care for a relative who was a qualifying armed services
member (see instructions)?

If “Yes,” enter the name and Social Security number of the qualifying service member.

Enter your relationship to the qualifying service member.

You may be asked to provide proof to substantiate your claim.

If “No,” you are not eligible for a Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit. Do not complete Part 1.

10a. Enter the 2024 federal disability compensation
of the armed services member

10b. Maximum credit allowed

10c. Enter the lesser of ine 102 orline 100 . 10c. | | ! |
11. Were you the only caregiver for this service member during the tax year?

If “No," enter your share (percentage) of the total care expenses for the year
12, Ifyou answered “Yes™ at line 11, enter the amount from line 10c.

If you answered “No” at line 11, multiply the amount from | | |
line 10c * S fromline 1. 12.

18. Property Tax Credit and Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit Application Only. Certain eligible
senior/disabled homeowners and tenants can use the Property Tax Credit Application (Form NJ-1040-HW)
instead of Form NJ-1040 to apply for the Property Tax Credit and/or the Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit
only.

If you are applying for the Property Tax Credit, use Form NJ-1040-HW only if you:

e Were 65 or older or blind or disabled on December 31, 2024; and

e Had gross income from everywhere (in-state and out-of-state) for the entire year of $20,000 or less (or
$10,000 or less if filing status is single or married/CU partner, filing separate return); and

e Have not filed and will not file a 2024 New Jersey resident Income Tax return; and

¢ Did not own your principal residence in New Jersey on October 1, 2024.
GIT-6
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Do not file Form NJ-1040-HW if you owned and occupied your principal residence in New Jersey on October
1, 2024. Your property tax credit will be included with your ANCHOR benefit, provided you file a ANCHOR
application.

If you are applying for the Wounded Warrior Caregiver Credit, use Form NJ-1040HW only if you:
¢ Have not filed and will not file a 2024 New Jersey resident Income Tax return; and

e Had gross income from everywhere (in-state and out-of-state) for the entire year of $20,000 or less (or
$10,000 or less if filing status is single or married/CU partner, filing separate return). Part-year residents
must use income for the entire year.

Completing a Part-Year Nonresident Return

Important Points:
e Enter the dates you were a New Jersey resident above line 1;
e Report income, withholdings, and payments for the period of New Jersey nonresidency only;
e  When reporting your income, fill out both Column A and Column B completely;
e Prorate exemptions, deductions, exclusions, and credits based on the nonresidency period;

e If you also complete a part-year resident return, allocate your income, withholdings, and payments
between the part-year resident and part-year nonresident returns as appropriate.

Check box if this is an amended return [J

Your Sacial Security Nurmber Larst Mame, First Mame, and MJ RESIDENCY STATUS

If you were a New Jersey
resident for ANY part of the
tax year, give the period of
New Jersey residency.

| | From
ncy {outside MJ Crty, Town, Post Office Siate P Code MONTH Dy YEAR

To

WONTH Dy YEAR

Filing Status 6. Regular B Yourself DO Spousel DO Domestic
CU Partner Partner

{Check only ONE box)

. Osingle 7. Age B5 or over DYourself B Spouse/CU Partner
: EMarneq-‘CU Couple. & Blind or Disabled  DYourself B Spouse/CU Partner
filirg joint returm

3. [JMarried/CL Partner,
filing separate return

=]

9. Veteran Exemption DYourself O Spouse/CU Partner

10. Number of your qualified dependent children

11. Mumber of other dependents

Hame and 33M af Spouse/CU Pariner
. [Head of Househeld
. JQualifying Widow(er)y
Surviving CU Partner

EXEMPTIONS

4

12. Dependents attending colleges (See Instructions)

wn

13. For line 13a — Add lines 6, 7, 8, and 12. For line 13b — Add
lines 10 and 11. For ling 13c — Enter amount from line 9.

FOR PRIVACY ACT NOTIFICATION SEE INSTRUCTIONS

GIT-6
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents

Understanding Income Tax

1. Residency Status.

a. Complete the “State of Residency (outside NJ)” box below your Social Security number(s) at the top of
the return. Indicate where you lived outside New Jersey while you were a nonresident. If you lived at more
than one location, give the most recent.

b. Show the beginning and ending dates of your New Jersey residency during the tax year.

When you file a part-year nonresident return, you are likely to be required to file a part-year resident return, too
(see page 5). The part-year resident return covers the period of New Jersey residency shown above line 1, and
the part-year nonresident return covers the portion of the year you were not a resident of New Jersey.

) Siate {Column A} {Column B)
Driver's License # | [ I | [ I | I I | I I [ I l | I | Amount of Gross Income Amount From MNew Jersey
(Weluntary) (Everywhere) Sources
15. Wages, zalaries, tips, and other employee compensation
Check box if you completed lines 69 through 75 |:| ..................................... 15. 15
T IR ..ottt n e mmmemmmn e bt e e e e m e mn bbbt mtenan 16. 16
AT DIVIBMES oottt e e e m e s e s e mneean 17 17
18. Net profits from buginess (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part | line 4) ... 18. 18
18. Net gains or income from disposition of property (From line 68)................... 18. 18
20. Net gains or income from rents, rovalties, patents, and copyrights (Schedule
MNI-BUS-1, Part 1, e ) e 20 20
21. Net gambling winnings (See Instructions) .. ... 21 g
22. Taxable pensions, annuities, and IRA distributions/withdrawals....................... 22. _
23. Digtributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1,
Prart I, I ) et e e nnen 23 23
24 . Net pro rata share of 5 Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV,
D1 et n e e es e ennen 24 24
25. Alimony and separate maintenance payments received ... eecmeaeens 25. | _
26. Other - State Mature and Sourcet — 26 26
27. Total Incomea (Add lines 15 through 28) . 27. 27
2Ba. Pension/Retirement Exclusion (See Instructions) ... 2Ba. _
28b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheeat and
[t T - OSSO 28b. 28b.
2B8e. Total Exclusion Amount (Add line 28a and line 28b)..........oooommmeoeeeeee 28e. 28c.
289 Gross Income (Subtract line 28c from Bne 27 ) .. 29. 29,
January 2025
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
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Income. Complete both Columns A and B, lines 15 to 27. Include only income you received while a
nonresident Report in Column A income from all sources (both inside and outside New Jersey) as if you were
a resident; in Column B, show your income from New Jersey sources. Follow the nonresident return
instructions for completing each line. For every entry in Column A, there should be an entry on the
corresponding line in Column B. If none of the income in Column A is from New Jersey sources, enter “0” in
Column B. In some circumstances, the amount in Column B can be more than the amount in Column A.

You do not need to report income on line 22, Column B since pension, annuity, and IRA income is not taxable
for nonresidents.

No entry is needed on line 25, Column B, since alimony and separate maintenance payments received are
not taxable for nonresidents.

Pennsylvania residents are not subject to Income Tax on wages they earn in New Jersey. Therefore, if you
are a Pennsylvania resident, you must report all your wages in Column A, and enter “0” in Column B.

Pennsylvania residents are subject to New Jersey tax on other types of income from New Jersey sources.

Pension and Other Retirement Income Exclusion.

a. Pension Exclusion (line 28a). Column A: If you were a New Jersey nonresident for only part of the year
and had total income from all sources for the entire year of $150,000 or less, you may qualify for a pension
exclusion if you meet the other eligibility requirements. If your income for the entire year is $0 through
$100,000, prorate the maximum exclusion amount from this chart based on the number of months you
were a nonresident. Time spent as a nonresident for 15 days or more equals one full month. (See the
description of how to prorate the pension exclusion amount on page 9).

Column B: Do not make an entry in Column B since pension, annuity, and IRA income is not taxable for
nonresidents.

b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (line 28b, Columns A and B).1f you (and/or your spouse, if filing jointly)
were 62 or older on the last day of the year, you may qualify to exclude other income on line 28b. There
are two parts to the total exclusion. Part I is the unclaimed portion of your prorated pension exclusion,
and Part II is a special exclusion for taxpayers who cannot receive Social Security or Railroad Retirement
benefits. Do not complete Worksheet D in the NJ-1040NR instructions to calculate the total exclusion
amount you are eligible to claim. Instead, use Worksheet E in the NJ-1040NR instructions to calculate
your total exclusion as follows:

e Part L. Total the earned income (wages, net profits from business, partnership income, and S
corporation income) you received from all sources for the entire year.
GIT-6
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents

Understanding Income Tax

If your earned income for the entire year was $3,000 or less, and you did not use the entire prorated
pension exclusion on line 28a, you may use the unclaimed pension exclusion on line 28b if your total
income from all sources for the entire year — before subtracting a pension exclusion — was $150,000
or less;

e Part II. If you cannot receive Social Security or Railroad Retirement benefits, but would have been
eligible for benefits had you fully participated in either program, you also may be eligible for an
additional exclusion, whether or not you used all of your prorated pension exclusion on line 28a.

When you and your spouse file a joint return, and only one of you is 62 or older, you can claim the
full amount of the prorated exclusion. However, only the income of the one who is 62 or older can be
excluded.

More Information. For information on calculating your partnership and S corporation income, see Partnership
Income and Income From S Corporations. For more information on pension, annuity, and IRA withdrawal

income and the New Jersey income exclusions, see Retirement Income.

30. Total Exemption Amount (See Instructions ). ... 30.
31. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and Instructions) ... 31,
32_ Alimony and separate maintenance PayYmMENIS ... e 32.
33, Qualified Conservation Contribution ... e 33
34. Health Enterprise Zone Deduction ... e e 34
35. Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule NJ-BUS-2, line 11).... 35,
35, Organ/Bone Marmow Donation Deduction (See instructions)............... 36,
ATE. MIBEST DadUofio. .. ..o e mcs s emm e e me e e s e emmm e e e ATa.
ATh. MICLASS DEdUtiom ..ot emes e e e e e m e e m e e et e s ems e 3Tk,
37c. MJ Higher Education Tuition Deduction ... ITe.
38. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add lines 30 through 37e). oo 38,
38. Taxable Income (Subtract line 38 from line 29, columm A)._. . 39,

4. Exemptions.

You must prorate the total exemption allowance amount (line 13) based on the number of months you were
a New Jersey nonresident. For this calculation, 15 days or more equals a full month. Use the formula below,
and then enter the prorated exemption amount on line 30. GIT-6
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PRORATING THE EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE:

Manths of NJ Nanresidence
Line 13 x 12 = Prorated Exemption Amount

5. Deductions.

a.

Medical Expenses (line 37). You can deduct certain medical expenses for which you were not reimbursed
by insurance or any other plan, qualified Archer medical savings account (MSA) contributions, and health
insurance costs of the self-employed. Complete Worksheet F in the nonresident return instructions to
calculate your deduction for medical expenses. Include only those expenses that you incurred and paid
while you were a nonresident.

Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments (line 32). You can deduct alimony and separate
maintenance payments paid while a nonresident. Child support payments are not deductible.

Qualified Conservation Contribution (line 33). You can deduct the amount of any qualified conservation
contribution you made while a nonresident.

Health Enterprise Zone (line 34). If you provide primary care services in a qualified medical or dental
practice you own, that is located in or within five miles of a designated Health Enterprise Zone (HEZ), you
may be able to deduct a percentage of the net income from that practice. For information on the HEZ
deduction, see Health Enterprise Zones.

Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (line 35).1f you report net business loss(es) on Schedule NJ-
BUS-1, you may be eligible for an income adjustment based on the losses you incurred while a
nonresident. Complete Schedule NJ-BUS-2 to calculate the amount of your adjustment.

Organ/Bone Marrow Donation Deduction (line 36). If you donated an organ or bone marrow to another
person for transplantation, you may be eligible to deduct up to $10,000 of unreimbursed expenses for
travel, lodging, and lost wages as a result of your donation. The deductions must be claimed in the year
in which the expenses occurred, and you may be asked to provide supporting documentation.

New Jersey College Affordability Deductions (line 37a-c). If your gross income was $200,000 or less, you
may be eligible to deduct certain educational expenses. You can deduct up to $10,000 of contributions
made during the year into and NJBEST account on line 37a; deduct up to $2,500 of principal and interest
paid during the year on an NJCLASS loan on line 37b; or if you, your spouse, or your dependent enroll in
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or attend a New Jersey institution of higher education, you can deduct up to $10,000 for tuition costs
paid during the year on line 37c.

You cannot take deductions for adjustments listed on your federal return, such as employee business
expenses or IRA and Keogh Plan contributions.

42 New Jersey Tax (Multiply amount from line 40 X % from line 41) 42.

43. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit (Encloge GIT-317. See Instructions) ... | 3L

. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit (line 43). Enter the amount of your Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit from
Part IV, line 12 of Form GIT-317. Allocate the total amount of the credit between your part-year resident and
part-year nonresident returns if appropriate.

44 Gold Star Family Counsaling Cradit (See InStructions ) ... oo meeeeeeeee | 4L

. Gold Star Family Counseling Credit (line 44). Enter the amount of credit you can take if you are a mental
health care professional who provided counseling through the Gold Star Family Counseling program. If you
were a part-year nonresident, include only the hours of counseling provided through the program while you
were a New Jersey nonresident.

45. Credit for Employer of Organ/Bone Marmow Donor (See instructions) ..o | 400

. Credit for Employer of Organ/Bone Marrow Donor (line 45). If you are an employer who provided paid
time off to an employee who missed work to donate an organ or bone marrow for transplantation, you may
be able to claim a credit. The paid time off must have been in addition to any other paid time off for which
the employee was entitled. If you qualify, you can take a credit of 25% of the employee’s salary for up to 30
days of time missed from work for each donation.

You may be asked to provide documentation indicating that you are eligible to claim the credit, such as
employee pay statements and a letter from a physician.
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Understanding Income Tax

50. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and
1099) (Part-year nonresidents see iINstructions) ..o 50. )
) . Also enter on line 51:
51. New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2023 return « Payments made in con-
(Sellers of NJ real property see instructions) .. 51. nection with =ale of MJ real
_ ) property
52. Tax paid on your behalf by Partnership(s) ... 82. + Payments by S corpo-
ration for nonresident
53. Excess NJ UI'WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) ..o A3. shareholder
54_Excess NJ Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) ... | 54 000
55. Excess NJ Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) .......... a5,
56. Pass-Through Business Alternative Income Tax Credit (See instructions)....... 56.
57 Total Payments/Credits (Add lines 50 throuagh 58 L AT.

9. Tax Withheld/Estimated Payments.

a. Line 50. Enter the amount of New Jersey Income Tax withheld from wages you earned or other payments
you received while you were a nonresident. If you sold real estate in New Jersey, do not include the 2%
nonresident seller’s tax payment on this line. If your employer reported your total earnings on one W-2,
allocate the New Jersey Income Tax withheld between your part-year resident and part-year nonresident
returns if you earned wages from New Jersey as a both resident and as a nonresident.

b. Line 57. Enter the amount of estimated payments made to New Jersey while you were a nonresident. If
you sold real estate in New Jersey, include the 2% nonresident seller’s tax payment on this line. If you
made estimated payments both as a resident and as a nonresident, enter on your part-year resident
return the payment(s) made to meet the tax liability for your period of New Jersey residency. Enter on the
part-year nonresident return the payment(s) made to satisfy your tax liability during the part of the year
you were a nonresident. Also, enter any amounts paid to qualify for an extension of time to file.

10. Pass-Through Business Alternative Income Tax Credit (line 56). For more information on the Pass-
Through Business Alternative Income Tax Credit, visit our website.
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents

Understanding Income Tax

See instructions if compensation depends entirely on volume of business
transacted or if other basis of allocation is used.

Mote: Residents of states that impose a convenience of the employer test, see
instructions before completing Part 11.

Allocation of Wage and Salary
Income Earned Partly Inside and
Outside New Jersey

69. Amount reported on line 15 in column Arequired to be allocated ... | B
T0. Total days in T3XahIe YA ... e e e e 70.
71. Deduct nonworking days (Sundays, Saturdays, holidays, sick leave, vacation etc ) . |71
72. Total days worked in taxable year (subtract line 71 from line 700 ..o | T2
73. Deduct days worked outside New JEISEY . e mmeeneneeee | T
74. Days worked in Mew Jersey (subiract line T3 from e T2). e emee s mmeem e | T
75. Allocation Formula {Line 74) x = {Include this amount on
(Line 72) (Enter amount from line 69)  {Salary eamed inside N.J.) line 15, col. B)

11. Allocation of Wage and Salary Income Earned Partly Inside and Outside New Jersey. Complete this
section only when you have wage/salary income earned partly inside and partly outside New Jersey, and you
cannot readily determine the amount of wage/salary income from New Jersey. For purposes of completing
this section, “total days” on line 70 means the number of days covered by your part-year return. Complete
lines 69 to 75 accordingly.

Check the box at line 15 if you complete this section.
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Understanding Income Tax

Sample Returns

Part-Year Resident/Part-Year Nonresident

Arnav and Kashvi Patel are married and they file jointly. They have two dependents: their 1-year-old child
and Arnav’'s 67-year-old mother;

The family moved to New Jersey on April 1. They rented an apartment for $1,800 a month;
Arnav worked for the same New Jersey employer all year; wages for the year were $97,000;
Kashvi's wages for a part-time job in New Jersey from September to December were $6,000;
The couple received $1,400 in interest on their joint accounts and $480 in dividends for the year;

On March 1, they sold 200 shares of jointly held stock in ABC Corp. for $3,500. They purchased the stock
in 2019 for $2,800;

They won $75 in the New York Lottery on February 3 and $62 in the New Jersey Lottery on July 29;
New Jersey Income Tax withheld: $1,983 for Arnav and $104 for Kashvi;

They made four estimated tax payments of $50 each to New Jersey on April 15, June 15, September 15,
and January 15 of the following year.
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Understanding Income Tax

Income Tax Return

__ Tl
o (NN

[]

Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents

LIl
|I| ”| New Jersey Monresident ror tax vear January 1, 2024 — December 31, 2024
or

Other Tax Year Beginning

20

Ending 2025

Check b-m:EI Il applcadion for federal exiension ks atiached or enier
confrmation number

Check box if this is an amended retum O
w Your Socal Sacurity Mumber Lacst Mama, First Hane, and Infiad {hoind filers enter frst name and initial of sach MJ RESIDENCY STATUS
Enter spouse/CU partner a5 name only i different ) " are 8 New Jerse
= . s you were 8 New lersey
[=} 999 | 99 | Soas Patel Amav &Kashvi resident for ANY par E
; Spouse's/CU Fartner's Social Security Number | Home Addness (Number and Streef, incl. apt. & or rural rote) Crangs of addresa[] | 2K ¥E&L give he perio
=1 123 Main st Fomagn address New Jersay residency.
& | | <2 g 5 04/01/2024
b From
& | Stabe of Residency (ouiside NJ) City, Town, Post Office Stake ZIF Code MOKTH Doy YEAR
o . o 1291000
u Montclair NJ 071043 Y T uDHTH DAY YEAR
'Z" Filing Status 8. Regular E Yourself ] EEG;SE ] gomesﬁc
E (Check only ONE bax) LU FPartner amner
= 1. O Single 7. Age 65 or over O ourself O Spouse/ZU Parner
& D Mamied/CU Couple, Y & Bind or Disabled [ vourself [ Spousa/Cl Parner
filing joint retum =

E 3. O Marmied/CU Pariner, = 8. Weteran Exemption O vourseff O Spouse/CU Partner
= filing separate retum % 10. Mumber of your qualified dependeant children
-
E Hame and 52N of SpoussiCU Parner ﬁ 1. Mumiber of ather dependents
o |4 OHead of Household W 12, Dependents attending colleges (See Instructions)
o o N
e | D?”J'.@"géﬂdpme'-" 13. Forfne 123 — Add fnes 6, 7, & and 12. For fine 130 - Add
e =Unming artner lines 10-and 11. For line 13c — Enter amount from line 8 12¢

14. Dependent's Last Mame, First Name, Middle Initial Diependent’s Social Security Mumber Birth Year
| g Patal, Kiran £og ] B2 4621 1G22
== a I I
=t Fatel, Lakshmi
g g b - 0, T 5710 1856
L O
[W=] I f
Lad L Cc I I
[~}

- d JI JI _—
GUBERNATORIAL | Do you want to designate $1 of your taxes for this fund? If joint es Mo :ﬁb::0:';?;?;:0105:9[3':9;';33;@:.DIIL_
ELECTIONS FUND | refum, does your spouse/CU partner want to deskgnate §17 Yeg MO | rafund. ¥ ¥

State (Column A) (Column B)
Driver's License # Amount of Gross Income Amoiunt From Mew Jersey
wesr L LTI TN TTTTT T[] (Everymbers Sources

15. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employes compensation

Check boo if you completed lines 68 through 75 D e 15. 24,250 15. 24,250
QLT == O OO O 16. 350 16.
AT, DHVIEEIIES oo e e amemsscse st enseasesmsessomracssnssnsesracsanee | 1T 120 17.
18. Met profits from business (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part |, line ). 18. 18.
18. Met gains or income from disposifion of property (From line 88)... - 0. 700 18.
20. Met gains or income from rents, myalhes patents, and mpgmghls (Schedule

MJ-BUS-1, Part 1, line 4)... . 20. 20.
21. Net gambling winnings (See Instructions) 21. 21.
22 Taxable pensions, annuities, and IRA distributionsiwithdrawals.__ 22 _
23. Distributive Share of F'anr.ershlp Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1,

Part |l line 4. —_— 23 23
24_ Met pro rata share of 5 Comporation Income (Schedule NJ-BLIS-1, Part IV,

line 4)... 24, 24,
25 Alimony and separate maintenance payments received 25. _
28. Cther — State Mature and Source 26. 28.
27. Total Income (Add lines 15through 26) 7. 25,420 7. 25,420
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NJ-1DS0NR {2024) Page 2

Mame{s) 5 shawn on Form N-10£0NR

Your Social Securty Numbar
999

99 9985
28a. Pension/Refirement Exclusion (See Instmections) ..., | 283
28b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (Ses Worksheet and
LT T O OOV .- -
28¢c. Total Exchesion Amount (Add fine 2Ba and line 2Bb).................... | 2Bc 2Bc.
29, Gross Income (Subtract ling 28¢ rom e 27) e, | 28 25,420 20.| 24420
30. Total Exemption Amount (See Instructions). . ao. 1,250
31. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and Instructions) .. 31
32. Alimony and separate maintenance payments. ... 3z
33, Qualified Conservation ComtrBuBon ... e 33
34. Health Enterprise Zone Dedetion ... 34,
35, Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule MJ-BIUS-2, line 11).... 35.
36, OrganBone Marrow Donation Deduction (See instructions)................ 38,
T3 NJBEST Deduetion. . .o | OTAL
AT NJCLASS Deduction .| 3Th
37c. NJ Higher Education Tuwition Deduction .. | 3Tc
38, Total Exemptions and Deductions {Add lines 30 throwgh 37c)..oeecceee 38, 1.250
38. Taxable Income (Subtract line 38 from line 23, coRMN A).covovoccscees | 38, 24,170
40. Tax on amount on line 32 (From Tax Table)... ..o, 40. 353
41. Income Percentage B. (line 20) - 95 o
A (Fne 20)
353.00
42 New Jersey Tax (Multiply amount from line 40 — ﬂb from line 1) 42 ar
43, Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit (Enclose GIT-317. See INSIUCHonS] . .o ce e 43,
44, Gold Star Family Counseling Credit (See Instrucions] ... | S
45. Credit for Employer of Organ/Bone Mamow Donor (See iNStuctions] ... 43
48, Total Credits (Add lines 43, 44, and 40 e | 2L
47, Balance of Tax After Credits (Subtract ling 46 from ng 42). oo | 4T 337
48, Interest on Underpayment of Estimated Tax. Check box O if Form NJ-2210NR isenclosed ... 43.
42 Total Tax Due (Add ine 47 and ine 48] ..o oo | 48 3T
50. Total Mew Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and
1020} (Part-year nonresidents see instructions) ..o, | S0 496 )
_ i X o Al anter on Nne 51
51. New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2023 retumn . =0 - Payments mads In con-
{Sellers of MJ real property see iNStUCHONS) ..o - naction with eale of M.J real
_ R L _ property
52, Tax paid on your behalf by Partnershipis) ... 52 = Payments by  corpo-
ratien for nonrasident
53. Excess NJ UWF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) ..ooooovevcecece 53. sharsholder
54, Excess M. Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form MJ-2450) ... | 54. 0 (00
55. Excess M.J Family Leawe Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form MNJ-2450) ... 55,
L 58. Pass-Through Business Alternative Income Tax Credit (See instructions)....... 58, J GIT 6
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Understanding Income Tax

N.-1040NR {2023) Page 3

Mame(s) as shown on Form NJ-1040MNR Your Social Secunty Number
Fatel Amav & Kashwi 59 |99 | 9985
57. Total Payments/Credits (Add lines 50 through 56} | BT 546
8. If line 57 is less than line 49, you have tax due.
Subiract line 57 from line 49 and enter the amount you owe _. SRR (- = 2
If you owe tax, you can still make a donation on lines 614 thmugh E‘IF
59, If line 57 is more than line 49, you have an overpayment. 209
Subdract line 49 from line 57 and enter the ovempaymye e 59.
60. Amount from ine 59 you want to credit 1o Your 2028 180 s G0.
] NOTE:
61. Amount you want to credit to: An entry on lines 60 through
61F will reduce your tax refund
(&) N.J. Endangered Wildlife Fund Osi0, %20, Qother | 614
(B) M.J. Children's Trust Fund Qs o, D320, Dother | 51B.
(C) M. Vietnam Veterans' Memonial Fund Osz10, 13520, Oother | 81C.
(D) M. Breast Cancer Research Fund n51 o, 1520, Octher | 51D
(E) U.5.5. N.J. Educational Museum Fund Os= 0, D520, Oother | 81E.
(F) Designated Contribution [ | | Osio, Cs20, Qother [ 81F
62. Total Adjustments to Tax DusfOverpayment (Add lines 60 through 81F) ..o B2.
63. Balance due (If line 58 iz more than zero, add line S8 and e B2) ..o 63,
&4. Refund amount (If line 59 is more than zero, subtract linge 62 from N S9) ... ecaeeeenee. | B 209

Under penalties of perjury, | deiare that | have examined this return, Including accompanying schedules and statements, andtothe bestofmy | Pay amount on line 63 in
knowiedge and belief, It 15 brue, corTect, and complete. If prapared by & person omer than taxpayer, this deciaration 15 based on all INMatan of | fyull, Write §ocial Security

which the: prapares ias any knowledgs. numberis) on check or money

order and make payable to:
State of New Jersey — TGI
Division of Taxation

w -
ge | tou Signaturs Date SpOUse'S/CLU Farner's Signature (ITAling |ointty, BOTH must sign) 2;";;:925;”“55'“9 Center
; : " Cap i !

% If enclesing copy of death certificate for deceased taxpayer, check box (See |nstn.|ct|:un5.|:] Trenton, NJ 08546-0244
= | authorize the Division of Taxation to discuss my return and enclosures with my preparer (below) EI
o You ean also make a payment
- on our website: nji.gow/taxation
w

Paid Preparer's Signature Federal Identification Mumber

Firmm's Mame Firm's Federal Employer Identification Number
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents

Understanding Income Tax

Het Gains or Income From Lizst the net gains or income, leas net loss, derved from the sale, exchange, or other
Disposition of Property disposition of property including real or personal whether tangible or intangible as reported
on federal Schedule D.
(b) Date (e} Cost or other
P - Nkl (c) Date sold | ;4 I ) basis as adjusted (f) Gain or {loss)
(a) Kind of property and description . aquired Mo.. day. yr.) (d) Gross sales price (see instructions) (dless &)
(Mo, day, yr.)
and expense of zale
B5. 200 shares ABC Corp. 2152019 INMF2023 3,500 2,800 700
66, Capital Gaing DIStrBUEION ...t e e e e e e e nes nen e nen e nrnmmne | PR
LTy = OSSO USSR UUSURUUUURRTUR I - 7 8
68. Met Gains (Add lines 65, 66, and 67) (Enter here and on line 19) (If loss, enter ZEro) e 68. 700

See instructions if compenszaticn depends entirely on volume of business
transacted or if other basis of allocation is used.

MNote: Residents of states that impose a convenience of the employer test, see
instructions before completing Part 11.

Allocation of Wage and Salary
Income Earned Partly Inside and
Outside New Jersey

69_ Amount reported on line 15 in column A required to be allocated ... 69.
T0. Total days in taxable Wear ... e e e een 70.
T1. Deduct nonworking days (Sundays, Saturdays, holidays, sick leave, vacation, etc) ... T1.
72. Total days worked in taxable year (subtract line 71 from ine TO) oo | P2
T3 Deduct days worked outside e Jommmy et eea e e e et e n e e s e m e e 73
74_ Days worked in New Jersey (subtract Bne 73 fom e 72 o e e e 74,
75. Allocation Formula (Line74) x = {Include this amount on
(Line 72) (Enter amount from line 69)  (Salary eamed inside N.J.)  line 15, col. B)

Allocation of Business . . . . L
m Income to New Jersey {See instructions if other than Formula Basis of allocation is used.)

Business Allocation Percentage (From Schedule NJ-NR-A)

Enter below the line number and amount of each item of business income reported in column A that is required to be allocated and multiply by
allocation percentage to determine amount of income from New Jersey sources.

From Line Mo. 3 X % =35
From Line No. 5 X =%
From Line No. 5 X =3
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Understanding Income Tax

Patel, Aamav & Kashvi

g9l SS9 H9(91117

123 Main 5t
o 7.1 3 Montclair
alalioinl/2 4 T3 2

Filing Status

Fill im anly one.

1. Singhe
2 X Marmried/CU Couple, filng joint return
3 Married/CU Partner, filing separate return | |
4 Head of Household
b Quakfying Widow{erj/Surviving CU Partner
Indicate the year of your spouse’s/CLU partner’s death:
Exemptions
& % Spouse/
B Regular..... e CU Partner
7. Senior 65+ (Bom i
n 1858 or earlier) ... Self Spouse/CU Partner
8. Blind/Disabled. .........cocoeeee Self Spouse/CU Partner
G Weteran .o Self Spouse/CU Partner

10. Qualified Dependent Children

11. Other Dependents

12. Dependents Attending Colleges (See instructions)

13. Total Exemption Amount (Add totals from the lines at & through 12}

14. Dependent Information. Provide the following information for each dependent.

Drivision

2022

Diomestic
Partner

or

2024 NJ-1040

NJ 07043
X
2023
2000
\1 1,500
‘ 1 1,500

[TTTTT] R
IT-
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16a.

16ib.

20b.

21.

23

4.,
5.
26.
7.
2Ba.
ZEb.

2Bc.
28,

3.

3.

35.

36.

ITa.

38,

38,

40a.
40b.

41.

Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Understanding Income Tax

Wapges, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (State wages from

Patel, Aamav &

Box 18 of enclosed W-2{s)) (See instructions) .o T8
Taxable interest income (Enclese federal Schedule Blfmner $1 500y

{See instructions) ... SRS, | - X
Tax-exempt inferest mcome iEncIcse 5shedule,

{See instructions) Do net include on line 183, . 16D
Dividends... e S SEUSSORSS, |
Net profits frc:m hus.lness (Schecule NJ-EIUS 1 F'ar'1 I_ ne 4:|

{Enclose federal Schedule C).... SOOI, . 3
Wet gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule NJ-DOP. Ene 4) ... 18.

. Taxable pension, annuity, and IRA distributionsiwithdrawals (See instructions) ___20a.

Excludable pension, annuity, and IRA distributionsfwithdrawals (See instr) 20b.
Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule MJ-BUS-1, Part I, line 4)

{Enclose Schedule MJKE-1 or federal Schedule K-1) .
Wet pro rata share of 5 Corporation Income (Schedule .
{Enclose Schedule MJ-E-1 or federal Schedule K1) e
Met gains or income from rents, royallies, patents, and copyrights

(Schedule MJ-BUS-1, Part IV, e d) oo e

al

Wet gambling winnings (See instructions) ...

Alimony and separate mainienance paymenis received ...

Other (Enclose documents ] {See iNSUCHONS]. . oo

Total Income (Add lines 15, 183, 17 through 203, and 21 through 26) ... 27.

Pension/Retirement Exclusion (See instructions) ... ... .28a. |
Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet D and |
nsiructions pages 20-21)...

Total Exclusion Amount (Add lines 28a and 28b) ...
New Jersey Gross Income (Subtract line 28c from line 2?]
(SEE MBS ) oo e e

Exemption Amount {Enter amount from line 13. Part-pear residents see instr.) ...
Medical Expenses (See Worksheet F and instructions). ..o
Alimony and separate maintenance payments (See instructions)

Qualified Conservation Comtriburtion ... ...

Health Enterprise Zone Deduction ...

Alternative Business Calculation Adjusiment (Schedule MJ-BUS-2, line 11) s

Organ/Bone Marrow Donation Deduchon (See instrections) .

Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add lines 20 throwgh 378). e
Taxable Income (Subtract line 38 from line 28) ..o

Total Property Taxes (18% of Rent) Paid (See instructions page 25) .__40a_ |
Indicate your residency status during 2024 (fill in only one oval)..........

Property Tax Deduction (From Worksheet H) (See instructions)

Kashvi

999-99-0985

EEEBERRE
[ ]

2o /(o]

| ]
LIzl lo][olo
EEEEEE
EEEEEN
EEEEEE
L L]
(L0
EEEEEE
aDl&'U:DD
i
EEEEEN
8o |[1]e]o][o]o
3 EU.DB
EEEEN
3 s Jo|[o]o
7 6 |[4 1 Jo |[o o
HEE
x
aBanalae
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1] B

42

43

45,

46.

47,

45,

40,
0.

0.

1.

2.

63,

65,

6.
i

. Shared Responsibility Payment (See instructions) ...

Patel, Aamav & Kashvi

New Jersey Taxable Income (Subtract line 41 from line 38) ..o 42, |

Credit For Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions
{Enclose Schedule MJ-C0J) (See instructions) ... 44,

Tax on amount on line 42 (Tax Table page 54) e L |

Balance of Tax (Subiract Bne 44 from line 43)....
Sheltered Workshop Tax Credi. e e e e ane e eece
Gold Star Family Counseling Credit (See MSiruchons ) ... BT 1
Credit for Employer of Organ/Bone Marrow Dener (See instructions) .o 28, 1

Total Credits (Add lines 48 through S8 e ane e 1
Balance of Tax After Credits |

(Subtract line 48 from line 45) If zero or less, make no entny. ... cococeececce 500

Use Tax Due on Internet, Mail-Order, or Cther Jut-of-State Purchases

(See instructions) fno Use Tax, nfer D00 . ane e S L 1

Interest on Undempayment of ESimated Ta e cee e 1
Fillin if Form MJ-2210 is enclosed

. Fill im ewal if anyone in your tax household does not currently have health insurance.

{Enclose NJ-EZ Enroll form){ See instructions) ..

. I you indicated at line 53a that someecne in your tax household does not have health

nsurance, fill in oval to allow Get Covered New Jersey to help you obtain coverage ..o
{See instructions)

REQUIRED Enclose Schedule MJ-HGCE and fill in

Total Tax Due (Add lines 50 through 532) e B |
Total NJ Income Tax Withheld
{Enclose Forms W-2 and 1088)(Part-year residents, see imstr) ... 55 1

Property Tax Credit (e Insretions Page 2 e e eme e oot e e st eenec e

Mew Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2023 tao retum .o 5T | 1

Mew Jersey Eamed Income Tax Credit (See instructions) ..
Fill in fyou had the IRS caleulate your federal eamed income credit
Fill in fyou are a CU couple claiming the NJ Eamed Income Tax Credit

. Excess Mew Jersey UI'WF/SWEF Withheld (Enclose Form MJ-2450) (See instructions) oo BEL 1

Excess New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450) (See instructions) .. 60 1
Excess Mew Jersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form MJ-2450) (See instructions) ... 61, 1

Wounded Warrior Caregivers Credit [See instrucions] .o B 1

Pass-Through Business Alternative Income Tax Credit (See instructions) ...

Chidd and Dependent Care Credit (See instructions) e e een 1
Fill in T you are a CU couple claiming the Child and Dependent Care Credit

Mew Jersey Child Tax Credit (See instructions) ... IS

Total Withholdings, Credits, and Payments (Add lines 55 through 85) .86, | 1
If line 88 is less than line 54, you have tax due. | | |
Subtract line 66 from line 54 and enter the amount you owe ..o BT

If you owe tax, you can still make a donation on lines 70 through 77.

4 |[o]o
17 ][o]o
117 ][00
|l|? U|ﬂ
o|[o]o
(1]
[1]7][o]o
|9 _'L_Uﬂ
EU:UD
of[ofo
10}
al1llofo
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o $%. B R by

I

If the total on line 88 is more than line 54, you hawe an overpayment.

6.

TT.

TE.

0.

Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Understanding Income Tax

Patel, Aamav & Kashvi

Subtract line 54 from line 86 and enter the overpayment............_

Endangered Wildlife Fund ...

. Contribution o N.J. Children’s Trust

Fund To Prevent Child Abuse ...

. Contribution o N.J. Vietnam

Veterans' Memorial Fund.......oooecee

. Contribution o N.J. Breast

Cancer Research Fund ...

. Contribution o U.5.5. New Jersey

Educational Musewm Fund.......ooeee.

. Other Designated Contribution

(See instreclions) .o

Other Designated Confribution
(See instuclions) .

Other Designated Contribution

{See instructions)
Total Adjusiments fo T

e/Jverpayment amount

{Add lines BB throwgh T 7 e e

Balance due (If line 87 is more than zeno, add line 67 and ne T8) ... ...

Fill in f paying by e-check or credit card

Refund amount {If line 88 is more than zero, subiract Bne 7B from line B8)._..

e OO
. L]

. Amount from Ene 88 you want io credit to your 2025 @x. .o
. Contribution to N.J.

| TE.

» LI

L]

w O]

999-99-0985
3|2|4.D|ﬂ
L[]
L[]
L[]
L[]
L[]
[ 1L ]
(1107
[T
HEE
[ 1]
[ T[]
322 ][o]o

GIT-6
January 2025
38



)

Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents

Understanding Income Tax

Worksheet H - Property Tax Deduction/Credit
Review the eligibility requirements on page 25 before completing Worksheet H. Part-year residents, see page 30.

Complete both columns of this worksheet to find out whether the deduction or the credit is better for you.

1. Property Taxes. Enter the property taxes from line 40a, Form NJ-1040.
Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) applicants must use their base year amount.
(See instructions on page 30.)

1. 2,916

2. Property Tax Deduction. Is the amount on line 1 of this worksheet $15,000 or more ($7,500 or more
if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same main home)?
<> Yes. Enter $15,000 ($7,500 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the
same main home).
<l \o. Enter the amount from line 1.

2. 2,916
STOP — if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions.
Complete only lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule NJ-COJ and Worksheet L
(See instructions on page 31.)
Column A Column B
3. Taxable Income (From line 39 of Form NJ-1040) 3. 76,410 3. 76,410
4. Property Tax Deduction (From line 2 above) 4. 2,916 4. -0-
5. New Jersey Taxable Income (Subtract line 4 from line 3) 5. 73,494 5. 76,410
6. Tax on line 5 amount (From Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedules) 6. 1,417 6. 1,520
7. Subtract line 6, column A from line 6, column B 7. 103
8. Is the line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same main home?)

Part-year residents, see page 30 before answering “No.”
<l Ycs. The Property Tax Deduction is more beneficial for you. Make the following entries on your return.

Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 41 Line 4, column A
Line 42 Line 5, column A
Line 43 Line 6, column A
Line 56 Make no entry
<" No. The Property Tax Credit is more beneficial for you. Make the following entries on your return.
Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 41 Make no entry
Line 42 Line 5, column B
Line 43 Line 6, column B
Line 56 $50 ($25 if you and your spouse file separate returns but maintained the same
main home). Part-year residents must prorate this amount. (See instructions on
page 30.)

(Keep for your records)
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Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Understanding Income Tax

Connect With Us.

Email your State tax questions;

Visit a Regional Information Center;
Call (609) 292-6400;
Subscribe to our NJ Tax Alert E-News;

Follow us on:

£ > xOlin}

The forms and amounts referred to in this Bulletin are those for Tax Year 2024. This document is designed to
provide guidance to taxpayers and is accurate as of the date issued.

Any reference in this publication to a spouse also refers to a spouse who entered into a valid same-sex marriage
in another state or foreign nation and a partner in a civil union (CU) recognized under New Jersey law.
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https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/assets/contact/taxation/contact-taxation.shtml
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/contact.shtml
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/organization/ts-customer.shtml
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/civilunionact.shtml
https://www.facebook.com/njtaxation
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtN4NzI6i32MmP8Z2pdlD4Q
https://twitter.com/nj_taxation
https://www.instagram.com/nj_taxation/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/njtaxation
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