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State of New Jersey 
Unclaimed Property Administration (UPA) 

Reporting Procedures - Safe Deposit Boxes/Tangible Property 
 

The following information is intended as a guide summarizing your obligation- to report unclaimed safe 
deposit boxes and other tangible items. The basis for this document is to support the New Jersey Uniform 
Unclaimed Property Act (N.J.S.A.46:30B et.seq.). 

 
General Reporting Information 

 
The statutory reporting cycle for safe deposit box/tangible items is July 1st through June 30th. Items that 
have been deemed abandoned for at least 5 years within this time frame are eligible for escheatment or 
liquidation per N.J.S.A.46:30B-45. The preliminary unclaimed safekeeping report for this property must be 
submitted to this office before November 1st of the report cycle ending June 30th. All reports (preliminary 
and final) must be submitted through the UPA’s online reporting application. 

 
Unclaimed Property Safe Deposit Box Reports must be created and submitted in a format that is in 
compliance with the NJ UPA’s current standards. Please visit our Holder Reporting Information page here 
for more information. 

 
 Each owner’s contents must be inventoried individually but the lot of items must be reported 

together by box/unit. 
 Only lien charges applicable to a specific box/unit may be applied to that box/unit. 
 If an auction is held, sales proceeds and related sales expenses applicable to a specific box/unit 

should be applied to that box/unit. 
 Collectible cash or coins must be maintained in its original form and not deposited with regular 

cash. 
 A listing of safekeeping specific reporting codes may be viewed here. 
 Safe Deposit Box (SDB) property should be submitted on a separate report limited to safe deposit 

box contents and non-collectable cash (including auction proceeds). 
 

Proper Inventory of Contents 
 

One year after contact has been lost with the owner of the items, the bank/business entity may drill (if 
needed), inventory, and securely store the items in a new location. This process must be completed by an 
authorized representative of the bank/entity with a notary present. It is preferred that the notary be an 
independent representative. The contents of the box, along with the notarized, detailed inventory of the 
contents shall be placed in a sealed bag. The listing of contents should include the owner’s name, last known 
address, Tax ID#, and assigned safe deposit box number. This sealed bag should be stored in a secure 
location (general vault, etc.). 

 
 

https://www.unclaimedproperty.nj.gov/reportinginfounclaim.shtml
https://www.unclaimedproperty.nj.gov/pdf/safekeepingreportingcode.pdf
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Contraband 
 

If weapons or contraband items (guns, bullets, knives over 4 1/2 inches long, illegal drugs, etc.) are found 
at the time of drilling and inventorying, the Holder should immediately notify the proper authorities. Do 
not wait 5 years to inform the proper authorities. Follow your internal policy regarding Contraband. 
The Holder must document the action taken. 

 
Handling and Reporting of Cash 

 
Any non-collectable cash/coins that are in a safe deposit box when the box is drilled should be counted, 
logged on the inventory listing and deposited into an escrow account. These funds are to be included in the 
preliminary and final safekeeping report submitted to the UPA. Use NAUPA code ‘SD02’ for the cash 
deposit. These funds are to be remitted via one of the payment options in the UPA’s online holder reporting 
application. 

 
Estimating Values 

 
An estimated value must be provided for each individual tangible item listed on the report per N.J.A.C. 
17:18-1.4. 

 
Holder Liquidation of Contents 

 
A holder of safekeeping is encouraged to conduct its own sale or auction (NJ Rev Stat § 17:14A-51). This 
is the only way to ensure the Holder may recover any lien charges. If a holder conducts a sale or auction of 
safekeeping contents, the proceeds less any lien charges, storage costs, and advertising costs must be 
reported and remitted to the state five years after the lease or rental period has expired. The report must 
identify the individual items sold as well as items not sold on the preliminary safekeeping report. The excess 
proceeds must accompany the Unclaimed Safekeeping Report. The lien charges and sale expenses may 
only be deducted from each individual box/unit. The Holder may not add together proceeds from all 
box/units and seek total reimbursement for all lien charges and sale expenses. Proof of costs for each 
individual box/unit must be maintained by the holder. Each box/unit must be accounted for separately in 
all respects. 

 
Due Diligence Notification 

 
Holders are required to issue a notice to the apparent owner of property pending escheatment. This must 
take place 120 and 60 days before the preliminary report is submitted to the UPA. The Holder may use 
either the last known address for due diligence sent via postal mail or the last known email address for an 
electronic notice. The Due Diligence Notification only pertains to owners whose total property is valued at 
or above $50.00 (N.J.S.A. 46:30B- 50). 

 
Destruction of Contents 

 
Contents that remain after a sale or auction may be destroyed by the holder if they meet the definition of 
“worthless” per (N.J.A.C. 17:18-1.6).  If the Holder is not auctioning the items than the identification of 
worthless items needs to take place prior to the creation and issuance of the preliminary report. If items on 
the preliminary report are flagged as worthless and thus in line to be destroyed prior to the delivery of 
tangible items to the UPA, the UPA will confirm this during step 2 of the safekeeping reporting process. 
Once items are confirmed to be worthless by the Safekeeping Unit they need to be destroyed prior to 
delivery of items to the state and labeled as such on the final report submission. The Holder can determine 
the manner in which the items are destroyed (N.J.A.C. 17:18-1.6). 

 
“Worthless” items include personal letters, food items (of any type), clothing (exclusive of furs), dentures, 
eyeglasses, personal prosthetic devices, inexpensive trinkets, ashtrays, paperweights, High School/College 
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textbooks, notebooks-with/without personal writing, personal snapshots/pictures, newspapers/magazines, 
personal documents, certificates, diplomas, receipts – gas/electric/telephone/rent, training manuals (any 
profession), paperback books, and paper clips/elastic bands (N.J.A.C. 17:18-1.4). 

 
Sample Safekeeping Property Detail Descriptions 

 
 Miscellaneous Papers 
 Important papers – Ex. Wills, birth certificates, passports and SSN cards 
 Jewelry – Ex. Silver tone Ring with Clear Stone, gold tone ring with blue stone, gold tone 

bracelet, silver tone earring with clear stone, silver tone ladies watch with leather band, etc. 
 Savings Bond – Ex. 13 $50 Series EE RNO John Smith 
 Paper Stock Certificate – Ex. 2 Shares ABC Company RNO Jane Smith 
 Silverware – Ex. Set of 6 Silver Salad Forks 
 Collectible coins – Ex. 2 1893 Morgan Silver dollar pieces (note: all coins dated 1965 and prior 

are considered collectible due to the silver content), 1827 Half Eagle $5 gold coin, etc. 
 Cash $50.26 – mark the property detail as “Deposited” and enter $50.26 in Face Value field. 

 
Outcome Designation of Safekeeping Property Types 

 
 Miscellaneous Papers – Destroyed 
 Jewelry, Collectable Cash/Coins, Foreign Currency, Baseball Cards, Ingots, etc. (tangible items 

of value) - Inventoried or Auctioned 
 Cash (not collectable) – Deposited, reported as cash 
 Guns/Ammunition/Illegal Drugs – Do not Inventory – Bank is required to call local Police 

Department for pick-up. Obtain copy of the Police Incident Report for file. 
 Rx Drugs - Drop off at local Police Station in the Drop Box designated for Rx Drugs. 

 
Delivery of Items to the State 

 
The Holder must package everything belonging to an individual owner(s) in one sealed, single use security 
bag. The outside of the security bag should be labeled with the Holder Name, Report Year, Owner Name(s) 
and Safe Deposit Box Number. Please label the sealed security bag clearly and in a manner that will survive 
over time. If there is a need for multiple security bags you must label the bags accordingly (ex. “1 of 4”, 2 
of 4”, etc.). If the items are an uncommon size or weight please contact the Safekeeping Unit for additional 
guidance. The UPA has no intention of opening these bags once received. If a successful claim is made on 
reported tangible items, the UPA will return the items to the owner in the same sealed, single use security 
bag that the items were delivered in. 

 
Record Retention 

 
A holder of unclaimed safekeeping contents is required to maintain records related to safekeeping items for 
a period of five years after the report is filed with the State. This includes any records related to the original 
postings, certifications by notary public, lien charges, details of a sale (if applicable), storage costs, 
advertising costs, the Unclaimed Property Report submitted to the State of New Jersey Unclaimed Property 
Administration, or other records related to the safekeeping contents. 
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