

State of New Jersey

DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE
PHIL MURPHY
Governor
PO Box 328
TRENTON, NJ 08625-0328

Marlene Caride Commissioner

SHEILA OLIVER Lt. Governor

TEL (609) 292-7272 FAX (609) 292-0944 RICHARD MUMFORD
Acting Director of Banking

BULLETIN NO. 19-04

TO: ALL REAL ESTATE BROKERS AND REAL ESTATE BROKER-

SALESPERSONS

FROM: RICHARD MUMFORD, ACTING DIRECTOR OF BANKING

RE: CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT EXEMPTION FOR

BROKERS AND BROKER-SALESPERSONS LICENSED FOR 40 YEARS

OR MORE

N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.2a to -16.2g ("the Act") requires real estate brokers, broker-salespersons, and salespersons to complete continuing education ("CE") as a condition of renewing their licenses. P.L. 2017, c. 200, which was effective August 7, 2017, provides an exemption from the CE requirement for real estate brokers and broker-salespersons who have been licensed as a real estate broker or broker-salesperson for 40 years or more. This Bulletin provides guidance on how to apply for the exemption, pending the promulgation of rules by the Real Estate Commission ("Commission").

To apply, a licensee must submit a completed application, a copy of which is attached to this Bulletin and is also available on the Commission's website at https://www.state.nj.us/dobi/division_rec/licensing/continuingeducation/40plusexemption.pdf.

All applications for the CE exemption for the 2019 license renewal must be submitted by March 15, 2019. Applications may be submitted: by email to realestate@dobi.nj.gov; by mail to NJ Real Estate Commission – Education Bureau, P.O. Box 328, Trenton, NJ 08625-0328; or by fax at (609) 292-0944.

To qualify for the CE exemption, an applicant must have been licensed as a real estate broker or broker-salesperson for 40 years or more. The 40 years of licensure need not be continuous. Only years of licensure as a real estate broker or broker-salesperson count towards the 40-year requirement; years of licensure as a salesperson do not count.

An applicant for the exemption relying exclusively upon his or her New Jersey licensing history to apply for the exemption need not submit additional documentation with the application.

An applicant relying upon a licensing history from other jurisdiction(s) to fulfill the 40-year requirement must provide a certified license history from the other jurisdiction(s) and any other documentation demonstrating that his or her licensure in the other jurisdiction(s) is substantially similar in nature and responsibility to licensure as a broker or broker-salesperson in New Jersey.

If an applicant's request for the CE exemption is approved, the applicant will be notified by regular and certified mail. Once an applicant has been granted the CE exemption based upon 40 years of licensure as a broker or broker-salesperson, he or she will not be required to reapply for an exemption for future license terms. Those exempt licensees are not obligated to take CE courses but may take CE courses if desired.

If a CE exemption application is denied, the applicant will receive written notification by regular and certified mail of the reason for denial and the available process to appeal the denial.

2/26/2019 Date

Richard Mumford Acting Director of Banking

AR REC Continuing Education Bulletin/Bulletins