Defined Contribution Retirement
Program (DCRP) if Ineligible
for PERS or TPAF Enrollment

Information for:

Employees below the minimum
salary or hours required

for PERS or TPAF enrollment

The Defined Contribution Retirement Program
(DCRP) was established July 1, 2007, under the
provisions of N.J.S.A. 43:15C-1 et seq. The DCRP
provides eligible members with a tax-sheltered, de-
fined contribution retirement benefit, along with life
insurance and long-term disability coverage.

ELIGIBILITY

This fact sheet addresses DCRP membership for
employees who do not earn the minimum salary or
work the minimum hours required for enrollment in
the Public Employees’ Retirement System (PERS)
or Teachers’ Pension and Annuity Fund (TPAF). Em-
ployees who are already enrolled in a New Jersey
State-administered retirement system should refer
to the Defined Contribution Retirement Program
(DCRP) Enrollment Due to Maximum Compensation
Limits Fact Sheet. Elected and appointed officials
should refer to the Defined Contribution Retirement
Program (DCRP) for Elected and Appointed Officials
Fact Sheet. These fact sheets are available on our
website at: www.nj.gov/treasury/pensions

Employees hired on or after November 2, 2008, and
on or before May 21, 2010, must earn a minimum
base salary of $9,300* or more per year to be eligible
for enroliment in Tier 3 of the PERS or TPAF.

Any employee otherwise eligible to enroll in Tier 3 of
the PERS or TPAF who does not earn the required

minimum annual salary, but earns a minimum base
salary of $5,000 or more, must be enrolled in the
DCRP.

Employees enrolled after May 21, 2010, must work a
minimum of 35 hours per week if a State employee,
or 32 hours per week if a local government or local
education employee, to be eligible for enroliment in
Tier 4 or Tier 5 of the PERS or TPAF.

Any employee otherwise eligible to enroll in Tier 4 or
Tier 5 of the PERS or TPAF who does not work the
required minimum hours, but earns a minimum an-
nual base salary of $5,000 or more, must be enrolled
in the DCRP.

ENROLLMENT

The employer is responsible for enrolling a DCRP-
eligible employee as of the starting date of eligibility
— by using the DCRP Enrollment Application avail-
able on the Employer Pensions and Benefits Infor-
mation Connection (EPIC), available on our website.

Enroliment is required for eligible employees. There
is no option for waiver of DCRP enrollment for these
individuals.

When enrolled in the DCRP, members contribute
5.5 percent of the base salary to a tax-deferred in-
vestment account established with Empower (former-
ly Prudential), which jointly administers the DCRP

investments with the New Jersey Division of Pen-
sions & Benefits (NJDPB). Member contributions are
matched by a three percent employer contribution.

Contributions are required from the date of DCRP el-
igibility. If any back deductions are owed, employers
must schedule and remit them to the DCRP.

If Eligible Later for the PERS or TPAF

If an employee enrolled in the DCRP earns sufficient
salary or works sufficient hours at a later date to qual-
ify for enroliment in the PERS or TPAF, the employee
will be enrolled in the PERS or TPAF.

Upon becoming a PERS or TPAF member, contribu-
tions to the DCRP will cease; however, prior contri-
butions remain invested in the DCRP pending retire-
ment or termination of employment.

Contributions to the DCRP cannot be transferred to
the PERS or TPAF, and service credit as a DCRP
member cannot be purchased as PERS or TPAF ser-
vice credit.

A PERS or TPAF employee may once again become
eligible for the DCRP if:

* The annual salary falls below the minimum sal-
ary required for PERS or TPAF Tier 3 member-
ship; deductions will cease and the member will
contribute to the DCRP plan;

*The Tier 3 minimum base salary is subject to adjustment annually in accordance with changes in the Consumer Price Index.
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* The number of work hours falls below the min-
imum hours per week required for PERS or
TPAF Tier 4 or Tier 5 membership; deductions
will cease and the member will contribute to the
DCRP plan;

* The annual salary is in excess of the maximum
compensation limit (members enrolled in the
PERS or TPAF on or after July 1, 2007) — see
the Defined Contribution Retirement Program
(DCRP) Enrollment Due to Maximum Compen-
sation Limits Fact Sheet; or

» The employee becomes a State or local elected
or appointed official — see the Defined Contri-
bution Retirement Program (DCRP) for Elected
and Appointed Officials Fact Sheet.

Transfer of PERS or TPAF Membership

Employees who are PERS or TPAF members and
transfer to another PERS or TPAF position are sub-
ject to the minimum salary or minimum hours of their
existing PERS or TPAF membership tier if any of the
following situations apply:

» The member transfers to a PERS- or TPAF-eligi-
ble position without a break in service;

» Any break in service is 24 consecutive months or
less from the date of the last PERS or TPAF pen-
sion contribution, and the account has not been
withdrawn;

* Any break in service is 24 consecutive months
or less from the end of an approved leave of ab-
sence; or

* The member’s job is lost through no fault of the
member (laid off or position is abolished — not
terminated voluntarily or for cause) and the
member returns to PERS or TPAF employment
within 10 years of the termination date.

If a member transfers into the PERS or TPAF after a
break in service that falls beyond the exceptions de-
scribed above, the member will be subject to the Tier
4 or Tier 5 minimum hours requirement,* regardless
of the previous membership tier status.

If the work hours fall below the Tier 4 or Tier 5 mini-
mum requirement, the employee will be ineligible for
transfer into the PERS or TPAF but will be eligible
for DCRP enrollment if the annual salary is at least
$5,000.

PERS and TPAF Maximum Wage

In addition, Tier 2, Tier 3, Tier 4, and Tier 5 mem-
bers are subject to a maximum wage limit for PERS
or TPAF pension contributions. The maximum wage
limit for 2024 is $168,600 and is subject to annual ad-
justment. Members who earn in excess of the annual
maximum wage will be enrolled in the DCRP in addi-
tion to the PERS or TPAF. See the Defined Contribu-
tion Retirement Program (DCRP) Enrollment Due to
Maximum Compensation Limits Fact Sheet for more
information.

Vesting

Employer contributions are not vested in a DCRP
member’s account until after the member com-
mences the second year of employment, unless at
the time of initial employment the member either 1)
participates in a program substantially similar to the
DCRP program, or 2) is a member of another New
Jersey State-administered retirement system.

As a vested member, you have a right to a benefit at
retirement based on both the employee and employ-
er contributions to the DCRP.

WITHDRAWAL

Withdrawal occurs when a non-vested DCRP
member separates from covered employment and

submits a request to Empower for a withdrawal of
contributions. Only the member’s contributions are
available for withdrawal — employer contributions
are forfeited. After a withdrawal, the individual is el-
igible for reenrollment in the DCRP, or enroliment in
another New Jersey State-administered retirement
system, upon return to covered employment.

RETIREMENT

Retirement occurs when a vested DCRP member
separates from covered employment and elects to
receive a distribution of funds containing both em-
ployer and employee contributions plus interest. This
action deems the former participant as retired and,
therefore, ineligible to re-enroll in the DCRP or par-
ticipate in any other New Jersey State-administered
retirement system.

An ABP/DCRP Withdrawal Request Acknowledg-
ment Receipt must be completed in order to receive
funds. This form is available in the “Publications”
section of our website.

Applying For Retirement

Six months before retirement, a member should con-
tact the employer and Empower for information re-
garding DCRP benefits and options.

A DCRP member may elect to receive all or a portion
of his/her account in a lump-sum distribution, or in
a variety of periodic payment methods. Please con-
tact your administrative services provider for more
information. All returns of contributions and earnings
are considered taxable in the year they are received;
therefore, the type of payout plan should be consid-
ered carefully prior to retirement.

There is no minimum retirement age under the
DCRP. The member will automatically be considered
retired, regardless of age, if there is any distribution
of vested contributions.

*Tier 4 or Tier 5 members must work a minimum of 35 hours per week if a State employee, or 32 hours per week if a local government or local education employee.
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Amember may take a distribution at any time after ter-
mination of employment; however, if you return to pub-
lic employment in New Jersey, you cannot participate
in any New Jersey State-administered retirement sys-
tem. DCRP members considering future employment
in a position covered by any of the New Jersey State-
administered retirement systems should carefully
consider this impact before requesting a distribution.

Health Benefits at Retirement

It is important to note that service time from enroll-
ment in the DCRP cannot be used to qualify for State
Health Benefits Program (SHBP) or School Employ-
ees’ Health Benefits Program (SEHBP) coverage at
retirement. Please contact your employer’s human
resources office or benefits administrator to ask
about health benefit coverage options available in
retirement.

LIFE INSURANCE COVERAGE

While employed, a DCRP member is covered by
employer-paid life insurance, payable to designated
beneficiaries in the amount of 1.5 times the annu-
al base salary on which DCRP contributions were
based. This coverage is available without a medical
examination to members under age 60. Newly en-
rolled members 60 years of age or older must under-
go a medical examination to qualify.

DCRP members will continue to be insured for up to
two years if on an approved leave of absence without
pay for personal iliness.

Note: The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) classifies
all life insurance coverage over $50,000 as a fringe
benefit subject to taxation. While the amount of the
life insurance coverage is not taxable, the premium
required to pay for the life insurance coverage is tax-
able. Members can elect to waive insurance cover-
age over $50,000 at any time.

Upon retirement, life insurance under the DCRP
reduces to % of the annual base salary on which
DCRP contributions were based.

This life insurance coverage is available in retirement
only to:

* Members age 60 or older if the member has
completed 10 years of participation in the DCRP;
or

* Members of any age if the member has complet-
ed 25 years of participation in the DCRP.

The member also must have been an active employ-
ee in the 12 months immediately preceding the initial
receipt of a retirement annuity payment.

Conversion

Other than the retired insurance benefit previously
described, life insurance coverage under the DCRP
ceases 31 days after termination of employment.
During the 31-day period following termination of em-
ployment, a member may convert existing group life
insurance coverage (less any amount of coverage
carried over into retirement) into an individual policy,
without medical examination. For more information,
see the Conversion of Group Life Insurance Fact
Sheet.

LONG-TERM DISABILITY COVERAGE

A member is eligible for employer-paid long-term dis-
ability insurance coverage after one year of participa-
tion in the DCRP.

The member becomes eligible for the long-term dis-
ability benefit after six consecutive months of total
disability due to an occupational or non-occupational
condition.

To be considered totally disabled due to sickness or
accidental bodily injury, the member must be unable
to perform any and every duty pertaining to his/her
occupation. The member need not be confined to
home, but must be under a doctor’s regular care.

If a member is totally disabled, he/she is eligible to
receive a regular monthly income benefit up to 60
percent of the base salary on which DCRP contribu-

tions were based during the 12 months preceding the
onset of the disability. While disabled, the member’s
and the employer’s mandatory contributions are au-
tomatically credited to the member’s retirement ac-
count.

The monthly income benefit is offset by any other
periodic benefit the member may be receiving, such
as Workers’ Compensation, short-term disability, or
Social Security.

Eighteen months after the onset of long-term disabil-
ity eligibility, the member must be unable to engage
in any gainful occupation for which the member is
reasonably suited by education, training, or experi-
ence. Total disability is not considered to exist if the
member is gainfully employed, incarcerated, or if the
disability resulted from an act of war or was intention-
ally self-inflicted.

Long-term disability benefits will be paid as long as
the member remains disabled or until the member
attains age 70. Should the member begin receiving
payments under the retirement annuity, these bene-
fits terminate.

CONTACTING THE DCRP

For more information regarding the DCRP,
please visit Empower's DCRP website at:
https://empower.com/njplans or call toll-free
866-657-3327.

This fact sheet has been produced and distributed by:

New Jersey Division of Pensions & Benefits
P.O. Box 295, Trenton, NJ 08625-0295

(609) 292-7524
For the hearing impaired: TRS 711 (609) 292-6683
www.nj.gov/treasury/pensions

Page 3

March 2024

Fact Sheet #82


http://www.nj.gov/treasury/pensions

