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INTRODUCTION

N.J.S.A. 43:15A-142 et seq. established special retire-
ment benefits for members of the Public Employees’ 
Retirement System (PERS) employed by the Division 
of Workers’ Compensation of the Department of Labor 
as Workers’ Compensation Judges. Members who are 
eligible for enrollment in the Workers’ Compensation 
Judges (WCJ) Part of the PERS retain many regular 
PERS benefits, including those in the areas of retire-
ment options, Disability Retirement, and contributory 
life insurance coverage. Other benefits have been add-
ed that are similar to those of the Judicial Retirement 
System.

This Guidebook Addendum addresses the benefits that 
are specific to the WCJ Part. If a topic is not specifical-
ly addressed in this addendum, WCJ members should 
refer to the information in the Public Employees’ Retire-
ment System (PERS) Member Guidebook.

Benefits and provisions of the PERS are subject 
to changes by the legislature, courts, and other 
officials. While this guidebook addendum out-
lines the benefit and contribution schedules of 
the PERS, it is not a final statement. Complete 
terms governing any employee benefit program 
are set forth in the New Jersey Statutes Anno-
tated. Regulations, new or amended, are pub-
lished in the New Jersey Register by the State 
Office of Administrative Law supplementing the 
New Jersey Administrative Code.

MEMBERSHIP

P.L. 2007, c. 92 (Chapter 92) closed the WCJ Part of 
the PERS to new members as of June 8, 2007. Work-
ers’ Compensation Judges who were enrolled to the 
WCJ Part prior to its closure remained members of the 
WCJ Part. Those appointed on or after July 1, 2007, 
who did not have an existing Tier 1 PERS membership, 
were required to enroll in the Defined Contribution Re-
tirement Program (DCRP).

P.L. 2021, c. 140 (Chapter 140), reopened the WCJ Part 
of the PERS. Workers’ Compensation Judges required 
to enroll in the DCRP on or after June 8, 2007, who 
have not received a distribution from the DCRP, will be 
enrolled retroactively into the WCJ part of the PERS 
and receive a retirement benefit based on the WCJ 
Part. See the “Types of Retirement” section. Workers’ 
Compensation Judges hired on or after June 30, 2021, 
will be enrolled in the WCJ Part of the PERS as of their 
date of hire.

Eligibility

Any person employed in an eligible job title by the Divi-
sion of Workers’ Compensation prior to June 8, 2007, 
was eligible to be enrolled in the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Judges Part. 

Eligible Job Titles

Eligible titles for membership in the WCJ Part include:

•	 Chief Judge;

•	 Administrative Supervisory Judge;

•	 Supervisory Judge; and

•	 Judge of Compensation.

Contribution Rate 

N.J.S.A. 43:15A-25 increased the member contribution 
rate for the WCJ Part from five percent to 5.5 percent of 
base salary, effective July 1, 2007. It then increased to 
6.5 percent of base salary, effective with the first pay-
roll on or after October 1, 2011. Subsequent increases 
phased in over seven years (each July 1st) bring the 
total pension contribution rate to 7.5 percent of base 
salary as of July 1, 2018.

The minimum repayment amount for pension loans or 
for the cost of a purchase of service credit corresponds 
with the increases in the contribution rate for any repay-
ments certified after the date of a rate change.

RETIREMENT

Individuals classified as Workers’ Compensation Judg-
es have a special set of retirement terms.

Service Credit

Workers’ Compensation Judge service — your total 
years of service in the WCJ Part.

Regular PERS service — the aggregate years of 
PERS service in titles other than those in the WCJ Part. 
This includes service purchased or transferred into the 
PERS.

In the aggregate of public service — the total years 
of both WCJ Part service and regular PERS service.

Salary

Final Salary — the contractual salary on which your 
pension contributions are based as of the date of your 
retirement or death.

Final Average Salary — your average salary for the 
three years immediately preceding your retirement. If 
your last three years are not your highest years of sal-
ary, your retirement allowance will be calculated using 
your three highest fiscal years (July 1 - June 30) of sal-
ary.
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Mandatory Retirement — Retirement is mandatory 
for a Workers’ Compensation Judge on the first of the 
calendar month after you reach the age of 70. 

Types of Retirement

There may be several types of retirement for which you 
qualify. You will normally retire with the retirement type 
that gives you the highest benefit.

Note: If you retire with less than five years of WCJ Part 
service or do not meet the required years of aggregate 
service for a retirement under the WCJ Part, you may 
qualify for a Service, Early, Veteran, or Deferred Retire-
ment under the regular PERS. See the PERS Member 
Guidebook or the Retirement — How to Apply for PERS 
and TPAF Members Fact Sheet for more information.

The following are the retirement qualifications and cal-
culations that are unique to the WCJ Part.

Service Retirement

Eligibility for a Service Retirement is based on your age 
and years of service in the WCJ Part, as well as your 
total years of regular PERS service. A Workers’ Com-
pensation Judge is eligible for a Service Retirement 
upon turning age 60.

Your annual retirement benefit is calculated using 75 
percent of your Final Salary if you are:

•	 Age 60 or older with 20 or more years of Workers’ 
Compensation Judge service.

•	 Age 65 or older with 15 or more years of Workers’ 
Compensation Judge service.

•	 Age 70 or older with 10 or more years of Workers’ 
Compensation Judge service.

Your annual retirement benefit is calculated using 50 
percent of your Final Salary if you are:

•	 Age 60 or older with five or more consecutive years  
of Workers’ Compensation Judge service, and 20 

or more years in the aggregate of public service.

•	 Age 65 or older with five or more consecutive years 
of Workers’ Compensation Judge service, and 15 
or more years in the aggregate of public service.

Early Retirement

You are eligible for an Early Retirement if you are un-
der age 60 with five or more consecutive years in the 
WCJ Part, with a combined total of 25 or more years in 
the aggregate of public service. An Early Retirement is 
calculated using two percent of Final Salary for each 
year of service up to 25 years, plus one percent of Final 
Salary for each year of service over 25 years, with an 
actuarial reduction for every month under the age of 
60. You should contact the New Jersey Division of Pen-
sions & Benefits for a retirement estimate to determine 
the reduction.

Deferred Retirement

You are eligible for a Deferred Retirement if you leave 
after completing five or more consecutive years of WCJ 
Part service with an aggregate of public service of 10 
years or more.

A Deferred Retirement is payable at age 60. The an-
nual retirement benefit is calculated using two percent 
of your Final Salary for each year of service up to 25 
years, plus one percent of Final Salary for each year of 
service over 25 years.

If you apply for a Deferred Retirement and die prior to 
your retirement becoming effective at age 60, your ben-
eficiary is only entitled to a return of your contributions 
plus interest.

Veteran Retirement

If you are a qualified military veteran, you may take a 
Veteran Retirement if it provides a higher benefit than 
the WCJ Part. The qualifications for Veteran Retire-
ment are the same as those for regular PERS mem-
bers and are described in detail in the PERS Member 
Guidebook.

Ordinary and Accidental  
Disability Retirement

Ordinary and Accidental Disability Retirement is avail-
able for members of the WCJ Part. See the PERS 
Member Guidebook for a detailed description of ben-
efits.

SURVIVOR BENEFITS

Active Survivor’s Benefit

In the event of your death as an active member of the 
WCJ Part, there is a survivor’s benefit of 25 percent 
of your Final Salary that is payable to your surviving 
spouse, civil union partner, or domestic partner (see 
“Definitions” section). In addition, 10 percent of the Fi-
nal Salary is payable to one surviving child (see “Defini-
tions” section), or 15 percent of your Final Salary to two 
or more surviving children.

If there is no surviving spouse/partner, or if your spouse/
partner dies, remarries, or enters a new partnership af-
ter your death, 15 percent of your Final Salary is pay-
able to one surviving child, 20 percent of Final Salary 
shared equally to two surviving children, or 30 percent 
of Final Salary shared equally if there are three or more 
surviving children.

If there is no surviving spouse/partner or child, 20 per-
cent of the Final Salary shall be payable to one surviv-
ing dependent parent (see “Definitions” section) or 30 
percent of Final Salary shall be payable in equal shares 
to two surviving dependent parents.
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Definitions

•	 Spouse —  A person to whom you were married 
for at least four years prior to the date of your death 
(see note) and who has not remarried or entered 
into a civil union. A photocopy of the Marriage Cer-
tificate is required for verification. 

•	 Civil Union Partner — A person of the same sex 
as defined by P.L. 2006, c. 103 (Chapter 103), 
with whom you were partnered in a civil union for 
at least four years prior to the date of your death 
(see note) and who has not entered into a new civil 
union or married. A photocopy of the New Jersey 
Civil Union Certificate or a valid certification from 
another jurisdiction that recognizes same-sex civ-
il unions is required for verification. See the Civil 
Unions and Domestic Partnerships Fact Sheet for 
details.

•	 Domestic Partner — A person of the same sex 
as defined by P.L. 2003, c. 246 (Chapter 246), with 
whom you were partnered in a domestic partner-
ship for at least four years prior to the date of your 
death (see note) and who has not entered into a 
civil union or married. A photocopy of the New 
Jersey Certificate of Domestic Partnership dated 
prior to February 19, 2007, or a valid certification 
from another jurisdiction that recognizes same-sex 
domestic partners is required for verification. See 
the Civil Unions and Domestic Partnerships Fact 
Sheet for details. 

Note: In cases of death as a result of an accident 
during the performance of regular or assigned 
duties, and provided death is not a result of will-
ful negligence, the four year marriage/partnership 
requirement is waived.

•	 Child — An unmarried child who is under the age 
of 18, or a child of any age who is disabled because 
of mental or physical incapacity and is incapable 

of any substantial, gainful employment because of 
the impairment. This incapacity must be expected 
to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 
months as affirmed by the Medical Review Board.

•	 Parent — A parent of the member who was re-
ceiving at least one-half of his or her support from 
the member in the 12-month period immediately 
preceding the member’s death. Benefits for one 
dependent parent will terminate if the surviving 
parent subsequently remarries.

Retired Survivor’s Benefit

There is no automatic survivor’s benefit once you retire. 
At retirement you will have the same options available 
to all PERS members when selecting a survivor’s re-
tirement allowance.

For more information see “Optional Settlements at Re-
tirement” in the PERS Member Guidebook.

GROUP LIFE INSURANCE DEATH BENEFIT

Most active members of the WCJ Part are covered by 
two types of group life insurance:

•	 Noncontributory Group Life Insurance; and 

•	 Contributory Group Life Insurance.

Retired members may have Noncontributory Group 
Life Insurance in effect during retirement if the retiree 
has at least 10 years of service credit or retired on a 
Disability Retirement.

Noncontributory Group Life Insurance

For active members enrolled in Noncontributory Group 
Life Insurance, the benefit amount is 1½ times your Fi-
nal Salary.

For retired members with Noncontributory Group Life 
Insurance:

•	 If you retire on an Early or Service Retirement, the 

death benefit payable to your beneficiary(ies) is 
one-fourth of your Final Salary.

•	 If you are approved for an Ordinary or Accidental 
Disability Retirement and you die before the age 
of 60, the death benefit payable to your benefi-
ciary(ies) is equal to 1½ times your Final Salary. 
If death occurs after age 60, the death benefit is 
equal to one-fourth of your Final Salary.

Contributory Group Life Insurance

For active members enrolled in Contributory Group Life 
Insurance, the benefit amount is equal to 1½ times your 
Final Salary.

No retired Contributory Group Life Insurance benefit is 
offered.

When group life insurance is reduced at retirement, 
you have 31 days after termination of employment to 
convert the amount of insurance that was reduced to 
private individual insurance coverage with the Pruden-
tial Life Insurance Company, or a policy from another 
insurance carrier. For additional information see the 
Conversion of Group Life Insurance Fact Sheet.

OTHER PROVISIONS OF THE PERS

The rules regarding Purchasing Service Credit, Loans, 
Health Benefits Coverage at Retirement, and With-
drawal from the PERS are the same as those for reg-
ular PERS members. Please see the PERS Member 
Guidebook or your benefits representative for more in-
formation regarding these benefits.


